Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You have been kidnapped, imprisoned, and tortured. The wizard Irenicus holds you captive in his stronghold, attempting to strip you of the powers that are your birthright. Can you resist the evil within you, forge a legend of heroic proportions, and ultimately destroy the dark essence that haunts your dreams? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    It's a great chance for all the fans out there to relive history of western RPG. Enhanced graphics and interface make this a great remaster of an immortal classic.
  2. 90
    Baldur’s Gate II is not a game to be missed. With an epic story, memorable characters, hundreds of hours of dungeon crawling, questing and adventuring, Baldur’s Gate stands tall among the classics.
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    85
    It’s very convenient and nice. It’s convenient and nice to not have to install a handful of mods on the original version in order to get it to look not terrible. It’s convenient and nice to have small quality-of-life things added that new players won’t even notice while Baldur's Gate veterans will likely welcome them with open arms.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition has a similar problem to the previous installment: it has to compete against lots of free mods. Fortunately the developers have learned a thing or two and now the game has longer, more complex missions and some clever technical novelties. It's still a game for older, more hardcore gamers, but it's important to appreciate the fact, that Enhanced Edition finally offers a lot more than any free mod does.
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition is a well-executed restored piece, unlocking tens of hours of great fun to the new generation of gamers, while making it possible to remind the best game by BioWare to those, who remember it, in a comfortable way.
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    70
    As much as I've gotten used to modern, hold-your-hand RPGs like Mass Effect 3, there is something to be said for this take-no-prisoners blast from the past, especially if you love old-timey D&D as much as I do.
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    60
    I said it before on the first game and I'll say it again here. There is nothing to recommend this version of Baldur's Gate II over the original version available on GOG.com.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 69
  2. Negative: 15 out of 69
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I strongly disagree with views this game is over-priced.

    Beamdog is doing great work extending the long term viability of these classic
    titles. The enhanced version of Baldur's Gate was superior to the GOG version (which I also own). This version is a legitimate rebuild and extension of a great game that allows it to seamlessly function on new systems. Thanks for a great rebuild of a great game! If you at all have any love for this game, be sure to support all the honest efforts to extend its playability into the future. People who moan about $26 as 'too much' for a game like this are losing perspective on the true value of work in this industry and perchance need spend less time playing games and more time working in the REAL world. You want the industry to support classic games? Support mods by all means, but also definitely BUY games like this so that the teams doing the work can continue to provide great games for all of us. Buy the GOG version. Mod your original version AND buy this. Then you will truly be in a position to give an honest (and constructive) review. I wonder how many 'fans' ready to score bomb this are sitting on big libraries of torrent-stolen games.

    Most irritating thing is that if these butt-hurt moaners really can't afford it, they only have to wait a few months till they can get it for pennies on a Steam sale. How painful that is NOT!

    Get some bloody perspective!

    Orctowngrot
    Collapse
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    $25 for countless hours of quality entertainment...well worth it, especially considering that this is an enhancement of the best computer RPG ever made, and it plays excellent on a Mac! You can't even take your girlfriend to the movies for $25 these days, a measly 2 hours of entertainment. It takes all freakin' night just to finish 1 dungeon in this masterpiece. If you enjoy fantasy role playing games, this game is required playing! Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    The game works flawlessly. If you enjoyed the original Baldur's Gate, you will love this game too. The new companions are very interesting and their storylines made me want to keep playing. The graphics are also slightly better and allow for more zooming in or out. There are also more interesting items and different class kits to spice things up. Definitely would recommend! Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Time for Planescape Torment: Enhanced Edition,
    as that will be necessary in case Tides of Numenarema will fail us. I certainly hope not.
    Gotta keep then best them best RPGs coming. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game and a big improvement over the original Baldur's Gate 2. For the most part the new characters work really well with the old ones and the new areas look stunning. Not that the other characters quest lines are lacking in any way but Dorn's quest line in particular is just a blast.

    I'm not really huge on the stylized menu but to me its really a small change that means very little.

    The new kits (they were in BGEE as well) look great. As does the unique character colouring that players can get depending upon their class or kit.

    Voice acting has I think generally been improved compared to BGEE. I've found that the multiplayer still has a few stability issues but it is still an improvement from the archaic multiplayer system in the original.

    The Black Pits 2 I've found is really fun. I haven't had a chance to play through it all though but so far I'm enjoying it.

    Basically I would say its certainly worth the $25 price tag. All 4 of the NPC's have much more extensive quest lines compared to what they got in BGEE. They also stretch across both the Shadows of Amn and Throne of Bhaal sections of the game.
    Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    First, let me lead off with why BG2EE is the best version of Baldur's Gate 2: the EE version actually allows me play BG2.

    The glitchy old
    Infinity Engine has been overhauled by Beamdog so that it's now compatible with newer Intel chipsets. Previously, I had been unable to get the game to work on my computer despite digging through a bevvy of mods and forum-post fixes that were dated anywhere from circa 2005 to 2011. So when I heard of the Enhanced Edition I knew I would pony up whatever the asking price was regardless of what other "extras" they threw in.

    What I didn't realize was that the game would ultimately sell me on the legitimacy of its $25 price tag. Obviously with this being a decade old game and available on the cheap at GOG.com, the price tag is the enormous elephant in the room for any purchaser, and accordingly this review wouldn't be complete without a discussion on the bargain-value proposition. Are you getting your money's worth for the extra $20?

    In two words: hell yes.

    Once you see the quality and content of the new NPC's, their new personal quests, the Black Pits, the new areas, and the general overall graphic improvements (including the ability to zoom way out praise the lord for this) you'll be sold. Not only those features, but the inclusion of altogether new classes like the Shadowdancer and Sun Soul Monk help keep the game fresh. Considering the going rate for DLC these days (as I look pensively at the $29.99 price tag for the new X-Com expansion on Steam) I can say that BG2EE is worth it.

    If you're on a budget I would encourage anyone to pick up BG2 in any form that they can get it (well, assuming you can get the old version to work on your computer, at least). But, if you can spare the extra change, you'll be picking up the best version by a mile with BG2EE.
    Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2014
    0
    I see a lot of people complaining about the game being overpriced and they are correct but for the wrong reasons. The game is overpriced because they are charging mostly for features that have been provided by the community for free for a decade now.. Spend 10 minutes on google and save your money. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews