Bastion Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1292 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bastion is an action rpg form Supergiant Games.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    93
    Bastion is one of the most original titles I've played in quite some time. From the charming graphics to the smooth vibes of the narrator perfectly blended with a magical soundtrack, and the 10-12 hours of action-packed exploration and combat, Bastion is like kicking back with your favorite interactive storybook.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    92
    Although I truly believe that Bastion could have doubled its length in terms of gameplay, I'm glad that the story didn't risk imploding on itself. Don't let anyone tell you this is a Diablo clone–that would cheapen Bastion; it needs to be heard to be believed.
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Overall, this game is well worth the price, and then some.
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    90
    Even the "New Game Plus" mode with its full arsenal of potions and gods is not enough to quench the Bastion thirst. Oh, how I wish it had randomly-generated maps, an expansive loot system, RPG stats, and dozens of quests... But that would have been a completely different game. Bastion, first and foremost, is a beautiful story with a beginning, a climax and ending(s). "A proper story", as the old man Rucks would say.
  5. 87
    Even if Bastion is short (just a few hours, depending on how many challenges you're keen on passing with a gold medal rating) it's one of the few games in which the New Game+ (rewinding the whole adventure but keeping the endgame resources) was just as much fun as the first playthrough. The content might be identical, but you've probably missed out on a few platforms the first time around, so you'll have the opportunity of discovering them and testing out your untapped weapons as well.
  6. Sep 1, 2011
    85
    Bastion is a wonderfully diverse game that offers up a great deal of flexibility in how you approach its many challenges.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 343
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I promise you, that bastion will deliver that exact feeling. After a while, everything thats happening around makes perfect sense, and the narration throughout the game, is such an amazing idea, i don't think it has been done before, this successfully. It would be an absolute crime for you not to buy this game!
    Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    There is no other option than to give this game a perfect 10.
    It's mix of combat and story is perfect topped off with a fantastic soundtrack
    There is no other option than to give this game a perfect 10.
    It's mix of combat and story is perfect topped off with a fantastic soundtrack that you will want to listen to over and over.
    The graphics are perfect for this isometric game, mixing old school isometric graphics with a bright colorful style makes any screenshot from this game into a work of art.

    The games story and narration are fantastic. I highly recommend this game if you enjoy semi-retro or indie platformers.
    Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played in my entire life. Period. The graphics, the narraration, the gameplay, the story, THE MUSIC OH GODOne of the best games I've ever played in my entire life. Period. The graphics, the narraration, the gameplay, the story, THE MUSIC OH GOD THAT SOUNDTRACK IS AMAZING...everything is just perfect. Worth every penny. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    good music, fun gameplay. my problem with the narrator is that my mother language is not english so if i want to follow everythink he says igood music, fun gameplay. my problem with the narrator is that my mother language is not english so if i want to follow everythink he says i have to focus on the narrator or subtitles, if it would be translated into other language i would enjoy it a lot more. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    I bought the game on sale after playing through the demo and loving it, and three days later I've completed it... for the first time. Now, I'mI bought the game on sale after playing through the demo and loving it, and three days later I've completed it... for the first time. Now, I'm not a fan of hack-n-slash gaming nor of RPGs; but Bastion got through my initial prejudice. It manages to strike just the right balance between action that's never repetitive, almost always challenging without demotivating, and just plain fun; character development and upgrades that keep you engaged and looking to experiment without overwhelming you with options; and above all, a compelling and immersing story that keeps you wanting to find out what happens next. The graphics are beautiful even if not state-of-the-art. The game is displayed in an animated pseudo-3D isometric view, with some cut scenes hand-drawn. This isn't your latest realistic FPS with the latest GFX, but it suits the game just fine. My only issue here is that the character's movement sometimes seems robotic and reminiscent of 90's-style frame-animated isometric shooters.


    The soundtrack -- a pretty important element for me in games -- passes my "Will I listen to this later?" test with flying colors. In fact I'm going to buy it despite the relatively steep price compared to the game itself ($10 for the OST, $15 for the game, and no actual discount when buying the two together). The story, as mentioned, is the heart of the game. It unfolds slowly, bit by bit, in the narrator's old, raspy voice, mirroring and shedding light on your actions. This ambitious concept could've gone wrong in so many ways, and yet the folks at Supergiant Games got it pretty near perfect, to the point that it is an almost profound experience at times. The narration is a huge boost to the storytelling aspect of the game and makes it that much easier to immerse yourself in it, but that won't be worth anything without a good story, which Bastion luckily has. Like Braid before it, Bastion knows how to tell a good story, using your in-game actions to advance the plot -- but not always in the way you expected, making you wonder who's playing with whom. I think this element could've been used a little more heavily, but I'm still very happy with the result. The game play is intuitive and simple, yet complex enough to keep your interest. There are a variety of different mechanics all interacting with each other, so you never sink into a repetitive routine or "farming". Sometimes it feels a little too linear -- most maps basically have a single path you'll have to go through -- but then, when it matters, the game presents you with some tough choices and lets you choose without bias and with no obvious right or wrong answers. All in all, it's an very enjoyable game that doesn't require a huge commitment but certainly leaves its mark on you. I'm definitely going to play the last part again to explore some other choices, and then there's "New Game Plus" which promises a different experience altogether (haven't tried it yet). Supergiant definitely made an effort to provide replay value here and that's appreciated. Even without it, the primary story line is good enough that I'd be completely content to just wrap it up, 3 days after I started playing, with just the story and the soundtrack as memories of the experience. So, aside from some minor issues, I think this is a pretty amazing game, definitely worth its price. Try out the demo if you haven't yet, and then go play the real thing. You'll be richer for it.
    Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    Good game overall, neat graphics, nice game play, cool story, challenging levels. In all this I still think there was a bit too much monotonyGood game overall, neat graphics, nice game play, cool story, challenging levels. In all this I still think there was a bit too much monotony to the game, and it was shorter than I expected. The character modifications were too few also. I enjoyed the idea of having special levels just to get a good challenge with the weapons. The overall western-dystopia genre is very polished in this one. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    0
    This game is one of the worst games that I have ever played. The viewpoint of the game was not to my liking and made the game near unplayable.This game is one of the worst games that I have ever played. The viewpoint of the game was not to my liking and made the game near unplayable. The controls were ghastly and even with the use of an xbox controller were not great. The ending was disappointing and the story in general was dull and unoriginal. The use of a narrator was obviously an attempt to cover the terrible flaws of the game by the company. Overall I would not play this game again if someone paid me. Collapse

See all 343 User Reviews