Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1055 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There's definitely some re-tread going on with Batman: Arkham Origins, but the combat, the relatively good story (B-list villain aside), the powerful feeling of being Batman in video game form has only muted my enthusiasm for the franchise by the smallest of margins.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    The PC version of Batman: Arkham Origins is absolutely the best in terms of detail, smoothness, drawing distance and particle effects, though it suffers from a series of annoying glitches.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    If you’re a Batman fan you should already have Batman: Arkham Origins, but anyone else might want to hold off a couple of weeks for some patches to come through.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    74
    An OK effort for an Arkham game, Batman Arkham Origins feels too similar to Arkham City and there are a few game breaking bugs that prevent it from being worthy to stand with the other two.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The story is the best in the series but, when it comes to gameplay, Warner Bros. Montreal seem to have taken the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” mantra and done the exact opposite.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Uninventive, but still enjoyable thanks to the quality of the basic mechanics on offer. Unfortunately, the PC version's bugs make it a much harder sell than it should be.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 250
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it mayPlayed 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Very very great game i don't understand people saying it ruined the sequel! I recommend it to everyone interested in batman and who enjoyedVery very great game i don't understand people saying it ruined the sequel! I recommend it to everyone interested in batman and who enjoyed arkham city. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    -This is supposed to be before Arkham asylum and you have gadgets and moves more than Arkham asylum?!
    -Gameplay is almost the same from
    -This is supposed to be before Arkham asylum and you have gadgets and moves more than Arkham asylum?!
    -Gameplay is almost the same from Arkham city with only new Ninjas and electric gloves.
    -Only the menu soundtrack is good but the other are not good enough,still Arkham asylum has the best soundtrack.
    -Graphics is almost the same and Batman's suit is not as good as the previous games,still Arkham asylum's Armored suit is the best suit.
    -Epic story that will keep you playing wanting to what's exactly going on with many Epic villains but there's the same mistake in Arkham city, i mean many viilains didn't take their chance and only appeared in one part of the game like Copperhead.
    -Awesome side missions with villains that could be included in the main story too.
    -City is almost the same with no citizens or people walking in steets, i mean they could make a city like this in grand theft auto with many citizens and cars.
    -i've seen some glitches and bugs like this grate that i couldn't pass through in the Burnley tower,so i couldn't complete the riddler mission.
    -Awesome and challenging Bossfights(damn that Bane bossfight...) and enemies.
    -Challenge mode is still Epic.
    Totally this game just added more fun but the developers didn't do anything to move the series forward,so you gonna play only just for the story and more challenge maps.
    the game took me about 16 hours
    Arkham asylum was something very new at its time so i gave it a 10.
    Arkham city did too many improvements so i gave it a 10.
    so this game takes a 9 for adding more fun and awesome villains
    Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    If you have played either of the two previous arkham games you are going to feel at home with arkham origins, it still has the same fantasticIf you have played either of the two previous arkham games you are going to feel at home with arkham origins, it still has the same fantastic combat system and predator rooms however they added a fantastic new addition to game play with the added feature of detective mode even though the game could of done with more of this feature if im honest A brilliant game and one of the better games of 2013 Expand
  5. May 20, 2015
    7
    Alot of people have said this is the worst Batman Arkham game that has been made so far. And that is true. However, this is still a good gameAlot of people have said this is the worst Batman Arkham game that has been made so far. And that is true. However, this is still a good game that, while it may not live up to the standards set by the first two games, it is still good on its own.
    The main problem with the game is the fact that everything in this game is, seemingly, a copy and paste from Arkham City. From the world it's in to the combat system, everything here feels the same and that's because it is the same. Some minor changes to the gameplay and the different way the Riddler Trophies are set up now (they are datapacks instead of trophies) is about all thats different here.
    The story kinda makes up for that in the fact that they had a great premise that had an average ending. The game had alot of promise but it's clear they didn't put alot of effort into the game. WB was content with taking about 75% of Arkham City, throwing a few new bad guys in there, and calling it a day. It's still worth playing but not to the point that City and Asylum were at when they were released.
    Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    The first thing I noticed when playing was the worsening in the quality of graphics. This is strange because it uses the same engine as ArkhamThe first thing I noticed when playing was the worsening in the quality of graphics. This is strange because it uses the same engine as Arkham City but it has poorer shadows and is glitchier than Asylum. After going through the intro phase of the game, you begin the EXACT same way as City. You must defuse Penguin's frequency disrupters, fight in a gladiator arena and then defeat his ace etc. Did they literally just re-image a few characters, back grounds, and call it a day? It continues down this path and is littered with melodramatic catch phrasing to top off poor dialogue. It feels more like Die Hard than Batman.

    I love the series and I didn't want to think this was just expanded DLC but the story line matches up too closely with the fact that Black Mask, Falcone, Julian Day, and other B listers were set up in the last game (I love the under appreciated villains btw). It is apparent they just wanted an opportunity to cut corners and sell Joker statues. Continuity is all askew until you realize this was meant to take place after Arkham City and be done by Rocksteady.

    Only buy if you HAVE to have Batman, like me. I just hope this doesn't mark the end of a series like Gears of War Eday: a money grab by expanding DLC.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Too many bugs and lags
    many troubles with batclaw!!handling have troubles too in fights
    i think they ruined the game may many crashes.And
    Too many bugs and lags
    many troubles with batclaw!!handling have troubles too in fights
    i think they ruined the game
    may many crashes.And multiplayer have many bugs too
    Expand

See all 250 User Reviews