Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 896 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There's definitely some re-tread going on with Batman: Arkham Origins, but the combat, the relatively good story (B-list villain aside), the powerful feeling of being Batman in video game form has only muted my enthusiasm for the franchise by the smallest of margins.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    The PC version of Batman: Arkham Origins is absolutely the best in terms of detail, smoothness, drawing distance and particle effects, though it suffers from a series of annoying glitches.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    If you’re a Batman fan you should already have Batman: Arkham Origins, but anyone else might want to hold off a couple of weeks for some patches to come through.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    74
    An OK effort for an Arkham game, Batman Arkham Origins feels too similar to Arkham City and there are a few game breaking bugs that prevent it from being worthy to stand with the other two.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The story is the best in the series but, when it comes to gameplay, Warner Bros. Montreal seem to have taken the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” mantra and done the exact opposite.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Uninventive, but still enjoyable thanks to the quality of the basic mechanics on offer. Unfortunately, the PC version's bugs make it a much harder sell than it should be.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 230
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    I did not encounter many bugs during my playthrough, so my review may differ from yours. This game fixed all of the issues the previous game had, and did even more. The world is massive, full of activity, and the graphics are mesmerising. The combat is still as brilliant as it always has been, and I thought the boss fights fully incorporated it. The boss fights are plentiful, and designed very well. The villains are also brilliantly voice acted, and designed. The superhero gaming experience we've all been waiting for. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    i don't understand the amount of hate to this game every one is giving this game bad credits only for lack of innovation a game like arkham city was so perfect that i can't think of anything to add to it because of its perfection i only need a solid story and that's what i found in this game yes there was some few glitches but they're not big deal as you soon will be consumed in the amazing graphics amazing story outstanding sound tracks and i must say that Batman'c character in this game is the BEST he is a total badass i hope to see more from the series in the future Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    The whole reason I became a huge Batman fan is because of the Arkham franchise. I would easily give it a 9 if it weren't for the bugs. And not just solely on PC, but on consoles too. The game was clearly rushed with the amount of bugs on launch and there's no excuse for the multiplayer problems with the console beta tests. Besides these frustrating bugs though, the game is very well done for a first attempt with a first attempt of Warner Bros. Once all the bugs are cleaned out I'm sure it'll be much more enjoyable. A lot of critics will say that this game is "more of the same" and just a personal input for these people: It is no different from Call of Duty, Battlefield or any other big name games. This combat system is what made these particular Batman games the best out of all the terrible previous attempts. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    This game wasn't made by Rocksteady, but by WB's internal studio. In result it's not as good as it could be. From the first minutes it feels a bit unpolished. Later some serious bugs appeared. Combat somehow feels not as good as in previous game. Something was broken there. Navigating the city although not as fluid as it was. But still it's a very good game. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two reviews:

    One, the gameplay: Just as great as Arkham City. It's grittier, Batman is a hothead, earlier versions of criminals. I love it. The characterizations are great, especially the Joker. A couple new enemies, a couple new gadgets. It's a blast to play and viscerally satisfying to be the Batman. The holiday atmosphere is a nice addition. I think it's a worthy addition to the Arkham games and captures the philosophy, style, and play of the other two very well.

    Two, the technical stuff: Unlike the other two games, this game was released with game-stopping bugs, glitches, poor AI, and idiotically obvious problems that HAD to be fixed before releasing. I would absolutely not buy this game until they release at least one patch. Maybe two. The only redeeming things I can say about this is that 1.) you can _generally_ fix whatever glitch you encounter by restarting the last save and 2.) the main story doesn't seem to hit a glitch wall. With restarts you can finish it. Forget about the sidequests; from broken comm towers to bugged out disruptor you'll have a tough time finishing the Riddler or Penguin sidequests.

    I have a great time playing this game, right up until I hit one of the many glitches. Then I get frustrated and turn it off and resolve to wait until the patch. Then I convince myself it's worth playing because it's still a blast and try it again. Rinse and repeat. Going to be a great game when they get things fixed. Until then, stay away.
    Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2014
    0
    Perfect storyline, a much more menacing joker, surprising electrocutioner death. You would think this would be the best game ever...right? Wrong. The windows in this game shined waaaayyyy too much and one of Anarchy's eyes was darker than the other. WTF rocksteady? you did great in arkham city and gtav but what was this? It was also stupid how they said that they would be giving everyone a stimulus package because of all the glitches, but yet there was no 500,000$ put in my warner bros account. i could've used that money to buy the noel suit. nice job rocksteady. Expand

See all 230 User Reviews