Battle Worlds: Kronos PC

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    70
    Battle Worlds: Kronos is a tactical strategy game that borrows from classics such as Battle Isle and Panzer General. Missions take long and demand your complete devotion, which makes the game fun but slow at certain times.
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Solid, entertaining, and as a whole a top-notch turn-based strategy game that's not only great to play but even to look at. Just if it was a bit smarter now and then, and if it wasn't trying to present both its shallow universe and its story background as something amazing.
  3. Nov 28, 2013
    65
    Even though we appreciate the attempt to bring new life to the turn-based strategy genre, Battle Worlds: Kronos has proven not the be the best way to do it. A true fan would still be able to get a lot of fun out of this game, but the predictive A.I. and boring missions won't attract any new players.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    65
    Battle Worlds: Kronos delivers an "old school" strategic experience, packed with lots of missions and game modes, but it's also very hard to approach.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Feb 24, 2014
    60
    A solid strategic base brought low by cheap AI and some shonky net code. [March 2014, p.56]
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    Battle Worlds: Kronos is a game with its heart in the right place, but it’s difficult to enjoy. Attractive presentation and intriguing strategic elements are present, but the hours of campaign gameplay are largely fluffed by an extreme level of difficulty – and that’s thanks to a ridiculous number of enemies in lieu of smart AI.
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    Battle Worlds: Kronos is a very classic but effective turn based strategy game. The concept requires thinking and AI gives trouble. Too bad that the realization comes from another era, and the art direction is so uninspired.
  8. Nov 18, 2013
    59
    The worst thing is that the campaign missions are simply boring. The weak AI spends most of the time waiting until you get close to its units, while scripted events often put you at an unfair disadvantage for the sake of creating drama.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Two days in:

    It's a quality game. Watching the developer video really connected with me. I feel gameplay in modern titles has suffered, as
    Two days in:

    It's a quality game. Watching the developer video really connected with me. I feel gameplay in modern titles has suffered, as more efforts end up going into graphics and animations with your typical release. That being said, Battle Worlds still has pretty cool artwork and watching things explode is always a pleasure when in the game. Cutscene videos have extremely good quality, and almost dwarf the in game graphics by comparison.

    Where Kronos seems to shine most, is in the gameplay. The wide variety of units, and depth came to me as a surprise. From what I've seen, the tactical capacity, and room for creative strategic ideas is enormous. As a chess player, this was great to see for me.

    It's an engaging game, and requires a lot of planning, thinking, and concentration. The UI is very streamlined, and makes the complexity of the game easy to interface with (think Civ 5).

    For being turn based, command transitions are very smooth, and almost make it feel real time. Honest to the advertising, it does seem well optimized.

    Overall, the game plays like a modernized, more action packed model of Alpha Centauri, spliced with Advanced Wars. I will keep the rating updated as I continue to play. So far, very impressive. I'm having a lot of fun with it. Still haven't tried multiplayer.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    I really do enjoy the game and i think players of the Battle Isle series will have fun with it too .
    Regarding the difficulty grade i think
    I really do enjoy the game and i think players of the Battle Isle series will have fun with it too .
    Regarding the difficulty grade i think an average TBS player like me can beat the campaign and there is
    a score system that makes it interesting for hardcore players as well trying to reach a high rating .
    The story and the dramatic presentation is only average in my view but the core game is fun to play
    and flawless for me .
    I cannot agree to the point that all advantages are on the attackers side as if you have missions where
    you have to defend an area or object you can gain defense advantages with a carefull placement of units .
    The ingame graphics is nice for a turn based game and the rock scissors paper mechanic of the
    different units is clearly understandable and working well .
    A part of the game is to read and understand a map and then make a concious decision in which direction you want to advance first , which might need a bit of figuring out the right way .
    As an old Battle Isle fan i like Battleworld Kronos very much and feel at home very quickly with the game.
    All in all iam having fun playing it and hope many people will support the game so that we see an
    expansion beeing made or maybe a part 2 of it .
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Good: This game is a ton of fun for any avid strategy player. There is a wide variety of units with varying strengths and weaknesses. GoodGood: This game is a ton of fun for any avid strategy player. There is a wide variety of units with varying strengths and weaknesses. Good unit upgrading system, with the ability to bring back veteran units in future battles. No base building allows more focus on the battle. Good variety of maps. Although there are not a ton of campaign missions, each one take days to complete which is a refreshing change from typical RTS games. Good baseline difficulty.

    Bad: Cheesy dialog and story. I agree with EvilKoala: No defense bonuses, which means 15% Flank bonus on attacks for each adjacent unit heavily favours the attacker. Also no modifiers for terrain reduces the depth of strategy.

    Verdict: Great game that is lots of fun, and will keep you occupied for hours at a time. One other thing, no one has really said anything anywhere, but the game has an uncanny resemblance to my old Turbo Grafix 16 favourite Military Madness (later re-done as Nectaris Military Madness).
    Full Review »