User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 60
  2. Negative: 8 out of 60

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TW
    Dec 10, 2005
    0
    Do not let the Electronic Arts employees and fanboys who post 9s and 10s on here (and who know little to nothing of software design) fool you - this game is -garbage-. In BF2 you get a game that is far more feature-SHALLOW than the orginal. Fewer features, much poorer play-balancing, and virtually no challenge (unless you are a diehard conqeust-only player). I purchased the original BF2Do not let the Electronic Arts employees and fanboys who post 9s and 10s on here (and who know little to nothing of software design) fool you - this game is -garbage-. In BF2 you get a game that is far more feature-SHALLOW than the orginal. Fewer features, much poorer play-balancing, and virtually no challenge (unless you are a diehard conqeust-only player). I purchased the original BF2 and had to deal with EA's virtually non-existent tech support while trying to get the game to run on my computer. Once it was installed and actaully working (poorly) I spent the next two weeks constantly enduring helecopters gunning me down while they were taking *multiple* tank gun hits - that's balanced? The expansion has done nothing to address this, or the multitude of other problems that make this game more aggrivating than enjoyable to play. This 'expansion' essentially amounts to a map pack that costs you $30 - meanwhile the original game has been released for five months and virtually none of the bugs that were in the game since day one have been address by any of the three 'patches' EA has released. This is corporate greed at it's worst. My suggestion to you is try and play this on some poor slob's computer who has already been fleeced for the $30 cost of the expansion and see for yourself before you buy. After an hour or two of dealing with all of the above irritations you'll be throwing -his- copy of the game in the trash - and I think you'll agree that you're better off saving your money. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2010
    7
    I'd the latest game patches installed, but still no leaning left/right for this game. The goof is about attaching all those C4 explosives onto a quad/beach bike, then speed the bike all around the place, sharp brake it to a full stop right by one or two enemy vehicle(s) that has about 4 to 6 guys in it/them ... got off the quad/beach bike and quickly press the detonator button that's readyI'd the latest game patches installed, but still no leaning left/right for this game. The goof is about attaching all those C4 explosives onto a quad/beach bike, then speed the bike all around the place, sharp brake it to a full stop right by one or two enemy vehicle(s) that has about 4 to 6 guys in it/them ... got off the quad/beach bike and quickly press the detonator button that's ready in hand ... BOOM! So easy for the expert difficulty mode, I really wished there's an option to assign more enemy bot numbers to the opposition army. The medic guy could drive me up the walls sometimes, the priority for the medic guy to rescue the down and injured first, regardless of how close the enemy is (like just few metres away), so in the end both the medic guy and the just saved player (after one resurrected by the medic guy) was gunned down altogether right after the medic guy saved a bot/player, should have made the medic guy more wiser and shoot the enemy if there's one nearby, or make some hot-keys (when down and injured, press either the keyboard key 1 to 3) so the downed player could order the medic guy to save/rescue the player or to shoot the enemy first. The mouse sensitivity couldn't be set higher for flying the choppers and jets, there are all sort of mice made all around the world, the sensitivity of my mouse are normal, but this game's flight-mouse sensitivity is not normal, I need to flung the wireless mouse off my desk to turn the F-15 Eagle jet around. It's hard to fly the F-15 at the pretty-above-and-near-take-off speed, as the mid-low flying speed could get the jet lost control and crash easily, there's no constant/fixed thrust rate for the afterburners by pressing the 1 to 9 keys on the keyboard, one needed to press and hold down the "W" key to make the jet accelerate and fly, you take a glimpse at the flying speed to the mid-left of the screen, the next thing you know was that you almost flew out of the small fly zone or missed the bombing target! Yes, flying the chopper needed a joystick, or else you could barely aim at a target or fly low enough to dodge some rockets. Expand
  3. TelyS.
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    Arguably, BF2's best feature are the brilliantly designed maps, and Special Forces gives you more of em. You can complain about the lack of new modes but I'm willing to bet that everyone would end up sticking to the original conquest mode in the long run.
  4. AnthonyB.
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    This is the best online game I've ever played. Can't stop playing it. A few bugs distract but don't take away from the game play.
  5. SpecOPSPlayer
    Jul 4, 2006
    8
    Not the best, but still a welcome expansion. The price is set too high for this expansion, although its a great expansion to add. i would say to those who complain about it off center fireing, is that all weapons dont exactly shoot Dead Center. If you want real physics, dont complain. I'm looking forward to other additions.
  6. FPSDaily
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    Has great realistic movements as well as great weapons and vehicles. this add on for BattleField Two definetly is a great game for those who like First Person Shooters and like the privlalage to drive vehicles.
  7. Tobin
    Sep 13, 2006
    3
    Pathetic...... right out of the box and into computer crash mode. GREAT! IF I would have known this thing was a video card disaster I wouldn't have bought it and my computer is on-top of the world so what does that tell you? EA screwed up!! what does it take to make this thing work? you got me. nothing like throwing money into the toilet and trying to figure out HOW to get it back.Pathetic...... right out of the box and into computer crash mode. GREAT! IF I would have known this thing was a video card disaster I wouldn't have bought it and my computer is on-top of the world so what does that tell you? EA screwed up!! what does it take to make this thing work? you got me. nothing like throwing money into the toilet and trying to figure out HOW to get it back. This one sucks! I don't recommend it at all Expand
  8. MarkT.
    Nov 23, 2005
    9
    I would have given this a ten, except for the irritatingly long load times - and beware that players are having trouble with the essential new patch that was released on the same day. But the wait did seem to be worth it: not so much for the new forces, which are fun to be sure, but the great new maps, with much more of an emphasis on fighting on foot through dark corridors, village I would have given this a ten, except for the irritatingly long load times - and beware that players are having trouble with the essential new patch that was released on the same day. But the wait did seem to be worth it: not so much for the new forces, which are fun to be sure, but the great new maps, with much more of an emphasis on fighting on foot through dark corridors, village streets. I spent way too long last night fighting over a submarine pen, which was very well thought out. Vehicles are still an important feature, for sure, if nothing else for getting to places, and the attack helicopter pilots always seem to win the most kills, but for intense fun, foot is the way to go. These maps are much better suited for those who are less exicted about sitting in a tank than climbing up walls and zipping down from rooftops. The fora are full of griping, and we will see plenty here, about the technical hitches. It does seems amazing that EA again has released a buggy product. But the gameplay rocks. Expand
  9. JimboS.
    Nov 30, 2005
    7
    I'm a huge fan of BF and am very impressed with the new maps, equipment, and character groups. On the other hand, I'm really bored with playing the same game mode and dont understand why EA couldnt come up with other modes like demolition, breach, etc. There are so many possible modes for a game that focuses on modern combat and we're stuck fighting over flags :( I have to I'm a huge fan of BF and am very impressed with the new maps, equipment, and character groups. On the other hand, I'm really bored with playing the same game mode and dont understand why EA couldnt come up with other modes like demolition, breach, etc. There are so many possible modes for a game that focuses on modern combat and we're stuck fighting over flags :( I have to say that EA is notorious for releasing buggy/glitched games and BF2 is definitely one of them. Many people are having trouble playing the game becuase of problems with the EA downloader software and the 1.12 patch that was released in order for players to access the server list. EA is the number one publisher in the world according to Game Developer magazine and there are no excuses for releasing games that do not function properly. I personally feel that they've gotten so big that customer service is low on the list of their priorites as long as the $$$ is rolling in. Expand
  10. DomH.
    Jul 11, 2007
    5
    The rating is simple: For gameplay and fun level this game earns a resounding 10 that is if it works, which is hardly ever a trait that earns it a 0 but..... this is about the quality of the game not the frequency of issues so i cannot blank the original 10 out of the rating this gets a 5, which is still not good, but what do you expect when you unleash bug heaven.
  11. JerryL.
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    Got the game on release day and havn't stopped playing it since. Amazing new content for a battlefield expansion. I reccommend this game to every bf2 player. It seems some people are having performance and installation problems. I think these kinks will all get sorted out and the the game will last for a long time due to the high spec requirements.
  12. TravisL.
    Dec 12, 2005
    0
    Buyer beware - I've never played a game worse than this one. I'll try to list some of the reasons, but the honest truth is that there are so may problems with this game that it's almost impossible to list them all. Here's some of the low-lites: -*Requires internet play* (single player isn't there) -Internet server selection screen lists servers that cannot be Buyer beware - I've never played a game worse than this one. I'll try to list some of the reasons, but the honest truth is that there are so may problems with this game that it's almost impossible to list them all. Here's some of the low-lites: -*Requires internet play* (single player isn't there) -Internet server selection screen lists servers that cannot be joined. -Internet server screen frequently, spontaneously, and inexplicably drops all servers from list so there's nothing to join - requiring restart of game. -Punkbuster claims an unmodified game has been modified and will not allow you to play on any ranked servers (the only way to get points). -Tanks take impact damage going over small hills at low speed -- hills that a person on a bicycle could traverse safely at high speed (no, I'm not kidding). And, my favorite new bug that was added after the new Spec. Ops. expansion (that I paid $30 for): -Grenade launcher sight is now off-centered - sporadically fires to the right (but not consistently, so that you can adjust for the sight's poor design). It amazes me that the biggest independent game designer in town (EA) can release a game in such a poor state, and then let several months pass and do virtually nothing to fix the innumerable problems that make me rate this game a ZERO. I will not play it anymore. I strongly suggest buyers steer clear of this one. Ifyou want a good shooter try Counterstrike Source, or the original Battle Field (1). Expand
  13. Al
    Dec 29, 2005
    8
    If you realy must have it, go for it. Otherwise, stick with the original BF2. I gues that new maps and new units make the original a bit expandable if you get bored playing original maps all the time. However, I dont think we need to pay $30 to only experiance new maps. It seems like something EA has already had in the bag during the release of the BF2, but decided to release as an If you realy must have it, go for it. Otherwise, stick with the original BF2. I gues that new maps and new units make the original a bit expandable if you get bored playing original maps all the time. However, I dont think we need to pay $30 to only experiance new maps. It seems like something EA has already had in the bag during the release of the BF2, but decided to release as an expansion for the xmas shopping. I must say I expected more realistic enviroment, something like the American Army Spec Ops game. As always try before you buy... Expand
  14. JamesH.
    Dec 4, 2005
    7
    Like the expansion because of the new maps mostly, but the new forces and weapons are a plus also. However I agree a great deal with what Jimbo S. posted: it's the same old "take the flag" shtick. The flag opton could remain, bu why not alternate obejctives, like blowing something up or rescuing hostages? You know, the kind of ops that real special forces do? I also think that this Like the expansion because of the new maps mostly, but the new forces and weapons are a plus also. However I agree a great deal with what Jimbo S. posted: it's the same old "take the flag" shtick. The flag opton could remain, bu why not alternate obejctives, like blowing something up or rescuing hostages? You know, the kind of ops that real special forces do? I also think that this expansion, along with the core game, are horrenduously flawed. The periods where one can't logon to even play the game still persist as well as mundane flaws like being kicked for teamkilling when such an offense was not committed. Also, being a former Marine, I can attest to the games striking lack of realism with respect to the USMC. We did not have "medics", the Army has those, we have Navy Corpsman. Also, the spec ops kit is obviously modelled after Delta Force, which a division of the Army. We have Recon and Force Recon, which should have been the spec ops kit. Also, the sniper weapon unlock, the Barrett sniper rifle, should not take more than one shot to kill. It's a FIFTY caliber weapon, that's a half-inch thick bullet, which would dismember a person who is shot with it, for which reason it is ONLY an anti-vehicle weapon. Expand
  15. EvanP.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    Adds so much to the gameplay. The new maps are amazing and add great close quarters combat as well as some long open areas for sniping. Like the new crossbow zipline addition and absolutely love the grappling hook that allows you to go anywhere you possibly could ever want. Would have liked possibly adding another type of gameplay other than conquest. Overall it is still a great addition Adds so much to the gameplay. The new maps are amazing and add great close quarters combat as well as some long open areas for sniping. Like the new crossbow zipline addition and absolutely love the grappling hook that allows you to go anywhere you possibly could ever want. Would have liked possibly adding another type of gameplay other than conquest. Overall it is still a great addition to the already great Battlefield 2. Just to everyone who gives it a horrible score just because it doesn't work on their crappy computer, please don't rate it if you haven't played it because if you actually had the computer to play it you'd see how great this game is. When everyone finally gets the good computer to run this they will be amazed how good it was especially for being released over a year ago. Expand
  16. Paul
    Sep 24, 2007
    4
    Well, it's a real shame that once again hackers/cheaters have gotten their hands on this one too. ANYONE who opposes the fact is a cheating loser as well. And to think that these a**holes actually "think" they have any skills whatsoever. NO...YOU ARE NOT ANY GOOD AT ALL. I mean being shot with a silenced 9mm from 200 yds?...ROTFLMAO! The accuracy in this game is already badWell, it's a real shame that once again hackers/cheaters have gotten their hands on this one too. ANYONE who opposes the fact is a cheating loser as well. And to think that these a**holes actually "think" they have any skills whatsoever. NO...YOU ARE NOT ANY GOOD AT ALL. I mean being shot with a silenced 9mm from 200 yds?...ROTFLMAO! The accuracy in this game is already bad enough, but to cheat for stats? Is nothing sacred for those who like fairplay and sportsmanship anymore? Like I said, oppose this and you're a contributing cheat...and ALSO like I said YOU HAVE NO SKILLS STATPADDER good for nothings. Game could have been real great but Punkbuster comes up short. Still unplayable almost due to punks. If you are mature, you realize death is gonna' come for you in this game...plenty. But you guys with major points for nothing, 1 mile kills with a pistol, and shooting through walls all while going undetected is a laugh. You are only good in your own mind, some of us like the satisfaction of actually EARNING our merits. Thanks and good luck and good fortune to all of you who are honest in life's different endeavours and.....GAMES!! :D Expand
  17. JesseC.
    Dec 31, 2005
    9
    Special Forces adds extremely exciting elements to an already awesome multiplayer game. Bugs and glitches aside, you are missing out if you don't get this game. Wait for a patch for Special Forces, but I haven't even seen too many bugs on my version. No problems installing, never any server troubles either!
  18. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    Good expansion that added much and let gamers spend extra hours after each corner of 'Battlefield 2' was well known. I personally enjoyed russian military forces and of course a hook, that had changed perception of the maps and added extra strategy to the gameplay.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. These supermen are capable of feats ordinary Battlefield grunts could only dream of, wielding 12 new firearms and racing across eight huge new maps in 10 new vehicles. Them's a lot of numbers, but then this is definitely no ordinary game. [GamesMaster]
  2. This close to Christmas, Special Forces is probably for the game’s most loyal fans only — the folk who have played it so much that they are already desperate for new features to layer upon their already intense online experiences.
  3. With its focus on infantry and urban combat, Special Forces delivers more of the intense and insanely fun Battlefield 2 gameplay; at least, it does if you can get it running.