Battlefield 3 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5016 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions andAs bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield 3 - Operation Guillotine Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    As a complete package Battlefield 3 absolutely delivers and if you don't have some angry agenda against Origin it's a must-play. The PC version in particular ushers in a new era of graphical magnificence and the disparity between the consoles begs Sony and Microsoft to up the ante. Shooters don't come much better than this and it's a great way to kick off this year's holiday game rush.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    95
    Battlefield 3 offers one of the best multiplayer modes out there. The Frostbite 2 engine is capable of amazing things in order to show the most realistic war we've seen to date. Its only flaws are an extremely short campaign and a co-op mode that could have been much better.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    93
    Maybe Battlefield 3's off-line side is a little bit irregular, but its multiplayer options and amazing graphics justify the necessary upgrade of our computers. Those players looking for a game full of innovation will be disenchanted; however if you're looking for an amazing competitive on-line experience, this is it.
  4. 90
    Battlefield 3 is amazing. The single player campaign is definitely the weakest link, even though it's more than just decent. The co-op missions are fun, but online multiplayer is the main reason you should get Battlefield 3. Here, the game doesn't disappoint in any way and stands as the strongest entry of the series so far. This is the best multiplayer experience I've had this year.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    An extremely beautiful looking game that takes advantage of the hardware in every way possible, resulting in an experience that's so huge and fulfilling that it will keep you satisfied for years to come, especially with all the DLC map packs int he pipelines.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    What kind of game is Battlefield 3? Well made, extremely impressive, pretty and rich in content. But still it has some flaws and suprising peculiarities.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    I enjoyed my time with Battlefield 3's multiplayer, and I wish my thoughts about the game could end there. Unfortunately it also tried to force a totally unnecessary single-player game on me, and the browser interface looks like it came straight out of the 90s.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Seriously, a must have for any true FPS player.

    It isn't exactly what i wanted, but hey it is still a great IP, and better than ever. Frost
    Seriously, a must have for any true FPS player.

    It isn't exactly what i wanted, but hey it is still a great IP, and better than ever.

    Frost Bite 2, gives this game a heart and soul. The game play has evolved from BF2 and has incorporated several ideas from Bad Company 2, the game that kept the itch at bay.

    Politics aside, this game on PC out beats any of the competition, including its past games. The fact that no Xbox or PS3 games has ever seen such a wide multi-player. The PC version automatically gets 2 points over the Xbox and PS3 counterparts, because 24 player is nothing compared to 64 players. I can't see my buying the console versions, especially since they want you to pay to play online.

    32x32 is awesome, and i expected nothing less, however i did expect some more, like 48x48, or 64x64. These new battlefields are so beautiful that i have spent time just exploring, so i can live with 64 player since having 64 guys shooting at me wouldn't give time to take in the Frost Bite that has attacked my heart!

    The kicker is the "Back to Karkand" pack, which gives us old BF2 players complete nostalgia, just like watching the old X-Men or Transformers cartoon.

    All in All, I must say that out of every FPS ever made, and the impact of their releases, because of this, this game must be no less than a 9.5, and a solid 10 for being the best FPS ever created when it comes to army/war games.
    Expand
  2. aw1
    Oct 31, 2011
    10
    I'm playing on pc on ultra settings. This is the best fps ever. This game has the best visuals I have ever seen in a computer game. I justI'm playing on pc on ultra settings. This is the best fps ever. This game has the best visuals I have ever seen in a computer game. I just can't believe it what I'm seeing it is so good. I love that you die so quickly. It is so real. ....I DO NOT get all the complaints about this game... I really don't. Ok, I need to go back to the battlefield... Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    great game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have reallygreat game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have really outdone themselves Collapse
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Happy to see some developers actually deliver a good product.
    Graphics very good, Story is good and the missions as pilot and tank driver a
    Happy to see some developers actually deliver a good product.
    Graphics very good, Story is good and the missions as pilot and tank driver a nice change from the regular FPS. Compliments for a very good game.
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    The game looks and plays great. There are some issues, but there seems to be with any of the releases these day. They'll get addressed after aThe game looks and plays great. There are some issues, but there seems to be with any of the releases these day. They'll get addressed after a patch cycle or two. The game feels like a return to the days of 1942 and BF2. I've not had any desire to play the single player so I'll not even reference. Battlefield started out as a multi-player franchise, they should just let it stand at that. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2011
    6
    An average shooter with some good graphics. Very linear and static. It does steal a lot from the COD franchise. There are alot of problemsAn average shooter with some good graphics. Very linear and static. It does steal a lot from the COD franchise. There are alot of problems with the mp version and the sp version is very linear and quite average in comparison to other great fps(Crysis1). Too much shine and not enough substance. Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2017
    0
    - No bots
    - No mods
    - No commander - No VOIP - No artillery - No bots - No level editor - Annoying blue tint - Horrible lens flares -
    - No bots
    - No mods
    - No commander
    - No VOIP
    - No artillery
    - No bots
    - No level editor
    - Annoying blue tint
    - Horrible lens flares
    - Terrible netcode
    - Terrible balance issues
    - Gadgets need to be unlocked
    - Weapons for vehicles need to be unlocked
    - Servers full of hackers
    - Horrible DLC policy
    - Boring campaign
    - Co-op is a ghost town
    - "Battlelog" service requring Internet for multiplayer

    This game sucks.
    Expand

See all 1521 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.