Battleground Europe: World War II Online Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Report for duty to this first-person, online action game where players choose to fight alongside and against thousands of other players on the battlefields of western europe. Grab a rifle and experience heart-stopping infantry action or choose to advance your skills in one of dozens ofReport for duty to this first-person, online action game where players choose to fight alongside and against thousands of other players on the battlefields of western europe. Grab a rifle and experience heart-stopping infantry action or choose to advance your skills in one of dozens of accurately modeled combat vehicles, naval vessels or aircraft. Succeed and help the cause of the Allied or Axis forces. Fail and watch your side get pushed back and struggle for a foothold. Volume one in The Virtual Battlefield Series, Battleground Europe features the armies, vehicles, weapons and equipment found on the battlefields of Western Europe 1939-1942. [GMX Media] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. If the game weren’t huge enough already with so many different options that it almost seems like three different games put together, they plan on only going farther and making it bigger and more enjoyable. This game will truly stand the test of time, and over time it will only get better and better.
  2. AceGamez
    80
    Fighting through the streets with two hundred Allied or Axis troops on your side is what makes this an amazing game to play and one that is completely unique.
  3. Every death is a frustration, every kill a hard-won victory and for every firefight that has you sweating with tension, there'll be another that will have you wanting to stick pencils into your eyes just to relieve the boredom of guarding a backwater choke point. War is like that, apparently, and Battleground Europe is as real as it gets. [PC Zone]
  4. Compulsive is what Battleground Europe has the potential to be, if you give it a chance. But also if you fall in with the right players, in the right place, at the right time.
  5. 60
    Such complexity ultimately helps to make the game what it is for those who take the time to figure it out, but many gamers will find the lack of help and guidance here a real hindrance.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 10 out of 41
  1. LukeM.
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    I play this game it is number 1 war simulator this is the only and will only be the true virtual battlefield this game combines all the I play this game it is number 1 war simulator this is the only and will only be the true virtual battlefield this game combines all the elemnts of war into a great online game. Expand
  2. E.C.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    Simply the best project ever. It will never end, and can now only be improved.
  3. May 18, 2012
    10
    Good Game, steep learning curve, once there though, nothing else like it, most addictive game ever,
    Play, Tanks, Bombers, Fighters, Assorted
    Good Game, steep learning curve, once there though, nothing else like it, most addictive game ever,
    Play, Tanks, Bombers, Fighters, Assorted infantry, Captain a Destroyer, Patrol Boat. AA Gun, Anti Tank Gun, Mortars etc, Played many games, but this is what i always go back to.
    Collapse
  4. JohnK.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    Been playing a year now and omg this game rocks, yes its a sim of sorts and even if you don't like sims you'll like this. As for Been playing a year now and omg this game rocks, yes its a sim of sorts and even if you don't like sims you'll like this. As for lag and fps... I have a 4 year old pc and have minor probs but no issues that will prevent me from playing or enjoying this game. Its not a game for everyone so I suggest playing first on a trial basis before paying. I scored a 9 because there will always be room for improvement no matter how good the game. Expand
  5. Garand
    May 25, 2006
    8
    Give the game a try. Been playing since November 2002 when the Mac OS version came out. Sign up for the free trial (14-days). I gave the game Give the game a try. Been playing since November 2002 when the Mac OS version came out. Sign up for the free trial (14-days). I gave the game a full month and been playing ever since. Not for everyone but you will find something with this game to hang on to once you get started. Perhaps its the tank sim, plane sim, a squad, the ability to para jump on town, commmand of a squad or unit, etc. Something will make you come back. Expand
  6. JK
    Jan 31, 2006
    5
    This game has a lot of cool stuff about it. It also has many draw backs. It's biggest draw back is the time it consumes if you want to This game has a lot of cool stuff about it. It also has many draw backs. It's biggest draw back is the time it consumes if you want to be part of a command attack. Everything is so orginized that is takes too long to get things going. You can't really make your own action cause you can only spawn where there is a command mission posted. I played with a trail account, and after finding a truck icon, I clicked on that mission and spawned out in the middle of field. After I ran into town there were a lot of people standing around doing nothing. I thought all the enemy were dead. Next thing you know I am read screen, then black screen, Dead. After I died it said you can't spawn there again. I never found the group again. I played for 2.5 hours and never saw an enemy. Everyone in the chat were saying ei, et, ea was here or there but I never saw them. The next time I played I was able to find action quickly. I saw and was killed and even made a kill. So I give a 50% rateing cause 1/2 my time was good, the other half was spent wondering around. Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2017
    0
    The game was good. But for whatever reason 3 days in I was banned for threatening somebody I never even heard of. Sent them an email and haveThe game was good. But for whatever reason 3 days in I was banned for threatening somebody I never even heard of. Sent them an email and have yet to receive a response as to who or why. I wouldn't recommend this game to my worst enemy. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews