User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1055 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2017
    5
    As a video game this is a horrible mess, that seems to have undergone enough testing to qualify for pre-pre-alpha status.
    One thing I enjoyed about it, however, was the physics of driving in reverse, that got me thinking of a perpetual motion apparatus. Didn't take long until I realized that there is no way you could harvest the energy of a virtual object moving at the speed of light
    As a video game this is a horrible mess, that seems to have undergone enough testing to qualify for pre-pre-alpha status.
    One thing I enjoyed about it, however, was the physics of driving in reverse, that got me thinking of a perpetual motion apparatus. Didn't take long until I realized that there is no way you could harvest the energy of a virtual object moving at the speed of light without any terminal velocity in sight. I give it a 5, because it runs virtually on any machine, and provides whole seconds of entertainment.
    Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    I'm not going to lie, this game earned a 6 from me, not for the graphics or mechanics, but for the half-hour of laughter it brought me. The best part of the game is driving in reverse at negative 25 sextillion mph. I also feel that it's ironic because when you drive over bridges you are under the road. Overall, good for thirty minutes of laughter.
  3. Dec 24, 2013
    7
    everybody thinks that the game is bad, because of all the bugs it has, but in reality it's just so fun to play you can't stop, and i have to give it a good rating
  4. Feb 21, 2016
    7
    to me this is not the worst game ever its fun driving thru buildings and it sais you're winner its so funny and fun this game so why does lot of people hate it this game is pretty good
  5. Jul 30, 2016
    6
    i like this game is not perfect but its gliches are funny go faster than sonic drive outta the map if you are
    looking for a good racer this in not for you
  6. DavidM
    Jan 8, 2010
    6
    A work of modern art, though shallow gameplay and linear story brings down the score it's still a solid game. Perfect for those who enjoy racing backwards IN THE SPEED OF LIGHT!
  7. KevinF.
    Jan 25, 2009
    6
    Ok, I would give this game a 0, but it's so bad, SO BAD, it's fun. I doubt there is any other racing game like this one. It's unique. I agree with everyone saying it's terrible, but I give it a 6 for the effort... wait, there wasn't any. The game was released in pre-alpha stage, so of course it's bad, but like I said before, it's fun(ny) You'll Ok, I would give this game a 0, but it's so bad, SO BAD, it's fun. I doubt there is any other racing game like this one. It's unique. I agree with everyone saying it's terrible, but I give it a 6 for the effort... wait, there wasn't any. The game was released in pre-alpha stage, so of course it's bad, but like I said before, it's fun(ny) You'll laugh when you play this. That's why I gave it a 6. Thanks for reading. Expand
  8. Dec 29, 2014
    5
    god damn this game. one of the most broken,glitchy and buggy games i have ever seen but god damn can it be fun sometimes. Seriously the glitches only make this more hilarious than it already is. i dont know about you but i would piuck this over cod any day
  9. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    This game is incomplete, but funny nonetheless: 1 of the 5 maps doesn't work, but the other ones look like reasonable maps. The Physics, although unrealistic, are just hilarious. The AI is terrible, but because it doesn't finish, it gives you kind of a free roam mode in the infinite emptiness. Graphics are a bit bad, but because it's an old game, I'll forgive the game for this. Sounds areThis game is incomplete, but funny nonetheless: 1 of the 5 maps doesn't work, but the other ones look like reasonable maps. The Physics, although unrealistic, are just hilarious. The AI is terrible, but because it doesn't finish, it gives you kind of a free roam mode in the infinite emptiness. Graphics are a bit bad, but because it's an old game, I'll forgive the game for this. Sounds are rather good. So that's what brings me to my score, it's broken in a good way! Expand
  10. QuintonR.
    Oct 29, 2008
    5
    The best thing about this game is the fact that other people actually played it and the reviews they give. Something has to be the worst game ever and we're lucky we have such a shining example. However, I don't own nor have played this, so I'll give it a... well it doesn't really matter. How about the first yellow score on the list.
  11. KevinFranco
    Jan 29, 2009
    6
    This game is so bad, SO BAD, SO BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD, but, it is fun. Fun in a sense of how bad this game possibly is. Released in pre-alpha stage... it's awful. PLay it for how bad it is, not for how bad it is. You'll have fun going backwards at 70 quintillion, which I have done.
  12. May 27, 2015
    7
    This game is not and I mean not terrible, sure it has some issues (a lot actually) but should we hate on this poor fellow? No!. Sure by gaming standards this should get a 4/10 or lower but by fun standards this game is great, games are supposed to be fun aren't they? Its about how much fun the game actually is, it's not the quality. Just look at all those people giving Big Rigs: Over theThis game is not and I mean not terrible, sure it has some issues (a lot actually) but should we hate on this poor fellow? No!. Sure by gaming standards this should get a 4/10 or lower but by fun standards this game is great, games are supposed to be fun aren't they? Its about how much fun the game actually is, it's not the quality. Just look at all those people giving Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing 10/10's! I bet all those people were having a blast, admiring the game by how fun it is than just pointing out the flaws. Wouldn't be fun to be driving all over the place, going through everything which goes in your way? I would!. And are you sick of losing you $%& off on those other piece of $%#^& racing games? well in Big Rigs you are always the winner! so you don't have to cry your $%# off whenever you lose! how awesome is that? Expand
  13. Dec 30, 2017
    7
    Great gameplay and story. Had to deduct for the lack of additional dlc content over the years.
Metascore
8

Overwhelming dislike - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 5 out of 5
  1. Cheat Code Central
    10
    Imagine a game that would make "Smokey and the Bandit" look like Gilbert and Sullivan. I know it's difficult to imagine but Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing is so pathetic it makes a sandpaper-and-vinegar enema sound positively delightful. Not that I would know.
  2. 0
    This is hands-down, the worst videogame to ever see the light of day. Really.
  3. netjak
    0
    Since there are absolutely NO categories that this game can claim to have completed, it gets a 0. In everything. Gameplay is a 0 because those goal you have in the game isn't really a goal. With no competition, and no cargo, it's degenerated into 3D connect the dots. With no clipping, the Graphics score a 0. There's no audio, and with no gameplay, there's no replay. It's an aboslute failure in all departments of what a game should be.