Binary Domain PC

Binary Domain Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Binary Domain puts players in the middle of a fast-paced and intense battle for humanity in robot-invaded 2080 Tokyo. Fighting through the derelict lower levels of the city, players control an international peace-keeping squad that soon starts to question their surroundings and the choicesBinary Domain puts players in the middle of a fast-paced and intense battle for humanity in robot-invaded 2080 Tokyo. Fighting through the derelict lower levels of the city, players control an international peace-keeping squad that soon starts to question their surroundings and the choices they are making. Are the robots becoming more human, or are humans becoming more like machines? Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 18, 2012
    80
    If you can get over the weak beginning the game will catch you – Binary Domain is a breathtaking shooter set in a Hollywood style. A must-have for all fans of "robots-went-angry" situation. [June 2012]
  2. May 2, 2012
    80
    Binary Domain is a nice surprise. Shooting mechanics are really well-devised, with an astounding mecha design and boss fight. Unfortunately the light rpg squad aspect of the game doesn't work properly.
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    May 28, 2012
    78
    An interesting and honest action/shooter, it should have worked more on the features that strive to set it apart from other games of the genre. But even in its current version, Binary Domain is fun and worth investing time into, especially if you are a fan of sci-fi and frenzied shooters. [June 2012]
  4. May 7, 2012
    73
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. May 2, 2012
    72
    Whenever the authors finally get the chance to tell their story it evolves further than "Gears of Blade Runner". Nonetheless Binary Domain gets stuck in the middle between the eastern excellence of bossfights and the western school of modern shooter action. Unfortunately the PC version suffers from sluggish and not fully customizable controls.
  6. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    Less Hot Shots and more Hot Fuzz. [July 2012, p.66]
  7. May 4, 2012
    40
    Binary Domain looks and plays the third-person, cover-based shooter part, but it's really just a soulless imitation. And I'd love nothing more than to bash its robot brains in.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 76
  2. Negative: 15 out of 76
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    I'm not sure if I played the same game everyone else has.This game is totally one of the best Third Person Shooters I have ever played.AwesomeI'm not sure if I played the same game everyone else has.This game is totally one of the best Third Person Shooters I have ever played.Awesome graphics,great music,engaging and interesting story and solid gameplay.What else can I expect?

    Of course there were some flaws in the PC port,but those can be fixed as easily as running the configuration tool and doing small options tweaks,like showing keyboard buttons for example,something people have complained about.They patched the game for those options to be default now anyways,so there's no problem anymore.

    Seriously,this is a must-play for anyone with a slight interest in shooters and/or cyberpunk-themed stuff.
    Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    I have never playing this game before and I sum up the score by 10. The Game-story is very good, the Graphics are awesome and the robots are so good .
  3. Mar 14, 2016
    9
    No me esperaba gran cosa del juego pero me sorprendio y mucho. El unico fallo que le encuentro es el sistema de fidelidad y la duracion totalNo me esperaba gran cosa del juego pero me sorprendio y mucho. El unico fallo que le encuentro es el sistema de fidelidad y la duracion total del juego, se hace un pelin corta. Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    Good story, good graphics and gameplay. The only reason why I didn't give it a 10 was that the voice controller ability wasn't working as wellGood story, good graphics and gameplay. The only reason why I didn't give it a 10 was that the voice controller ability wasn't working as well as it could have. This game is 10 hours flat. So if you have nothing to do over a rainy weekend, this game is a good diversion.

    Essential for anyone who is into robopacalypse style fiction: see Do Andriods Dream of Electric Sheep, I, Robot and Robopacalypse.
    Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2015
    7
    this game is common shooter game. game concept is good. but a latter part is boring. and i cannot immersed in the storyline. a view of worldthis game is common shooter game. game concept is good. but a latter part is boring. and i cannot immersed in the storyline. a view of world of robotech is good. but they didn't make use of it. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2014
    5
    Based on completing game ( OCD for you ;) )

    Graphics :- Pretty good but some bad textures and over use of bloom and shine spoil them.
    Based on completing game ( OCD for you ;) )

    Graphics :-
    Pretty good but some bad textures and over use of bloom and shine spoil them.
    Art direction is very good though, some great robot designs and the way robots come apart has been well thought through. The levels look good , you know where you are visually . nice contrast between the murkier depths to the clean upper part of town.

    Story :-
    Stereotypes and cliches abound and the pacing is awful. The lead character acts like a spoilt hormonal teenager. Writers forgot this is a visual medium with all the infodumps. Might work for a cheap soap but hey you didn't buy the game for story.

    Audio :- Nothing to right home about. Music is generic, guns go bang to a satisfactory level.

    Gameplay :-

    The voice chat thing sounds ok on paper but execution is awful. I turned it off. you will still get asked repeatedly inane things by the team. You can ignore these but it will slow down the game as they will repeat and hold the game up. Don't worry about the relationship rating which should make your guys more effective if good. It doesn't , your ai buddies are pretty useless and remain useless even if you spend money upgrading weapon and skills for them.Spend all your credits on you.
    The pacing of the gameplay needs it's on mention as it's bad. Lots of cut scenes all over the place , the lead starts a monologue with an infodump after the the first chapter just at a point when you start really getting into the action and want to be killing robots. At least the cut scenes can be skipped. You cannot do this when you ai buddies start having a ramble and slow you down to a snails pace . The same snails pace is used in 'rest' areas which would be fine if much to do in them but there is not and it just serves to drag it out more than necessary
    The level design is ok , most of it is fairly generic corridor shooter stuff with some arena areas for bosses , a good mix of assault , escape ,chases, defend the point etc. Some levels could do with more checkpoints as the chance of insta gib is very high in some while other are a breeze. Also the use of qte's is very meh and adds nothing.
    The thing that will keep you going is the killing of robots. It doesn't get boring ,you can just blast at them which does work but will eat your ammo. Aiming for heads will cause them to malfunction and go after their buddies, certain bots have weak spots which will kill them quicker. The variety of them is pretty good and often come in large waves so you are kept busy during the fighting sections.

    Controls :-
    This gets it's own section as it's a port. A port that has had little thought gone into it re controls.

    If you intend to use m&b you will suffer. Mouse aim is bound like a button 1 for 1. You cannot do swift movement of mouse to get precise aim as you would in a normal pc game as it only translates to one or two moves . You will need to do small controlled moves to get best aim.

    Using a controller is fine but the layout of binds is odd regardless of input choice and having one bind doing multiple things means you end up sticking to cover when trying to run past it quite often unless you take a wide berth which you cannot always do due to design and camera angles which at times is very poor.

    Overall the robots make the game without them it would just be another sub par cover shooter
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2012
    0
    Totally messed up controls. I am surprised mouse is supported at all. Game is introducing you to these messed up commands by messages whichTotally messed up controls. I am surprised mouse is supported at all. Game is introducing you to these messed up commands by messages which contain pictures of gamepad buttons and NO actual keyboard input. Its amazing that anyone can get such a complex project to this stage and forget to update few VERY important introductory messages. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews