Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Bionic Commando: Rearmed is terrific in almost every way, revitalizing a classic but long-dormant game in an exciting way that stands on its own, but also serves as a potent reminder that there's a new retail sequel on the horizon that'll bring all this crazy swinging to 3D environments.
  2. 100
    The soundtrack to Bionic Commando: Rearmed is a fantastic piece of work, a deft contemporary reworking of classic 8-bit NES tunes. In fact, it's so good that Capcom put it up for sale on the iTunes Store months ago to build hype for the game.
  3. 93
    From top to bottom, Bionic Commando Rearmed is an incredible game that's well worth owning.
  4. If you're short on patience or have a nervous disorder, then you should approach Rearmed with caution. If, however, you love the genre and harbor fond memories of the original, then this game will seem like a gift from the Eighties God of Shooty Bang-Bang.
  5. 90
    Gorgeous re-imagining of the original, lots of gaming for your buck.
  6. Gentlemen, get yourselves Bionic Commando Rearmed. It is well worth every damned electronic cent you spend on it. Shinkiro was (Metal Slug, Dead Rising, King of Fighters) the driving force in BCRs art-design, which makes it all the more a killer retro-portation. [Issue#15]
  7. Bionic Commando Rearmed on PC is an extraordinary opportunity to reunite action and arcade lovers with one of most emblematic titles of the past. With good taste and scrupulous respect for the original game, Grin releases its best game thanks to stunning graphics and spotless game play values.
  8. Bionic Commando Rearmed is a first-rate downloadable title, and if you don't mind 2D platforming gameplay with a bit of old school challenge, this is one to check out.
  9. A must-have for anyone who has fond memories of the golden age of games, whether you played the original or not. [Oct 2008, p.108]
  10. BCR is at once beautifully reminiscent of its era, and polished enough to be palatable to a modern audience. The core grappling and swinging mechanic is satisfying, the weapons a joy to wield and the levels are imaginatively designed.
  11. For its current price, Bionic Commando: Rearmed is close to a free lunch.
  12. 80
    A deeply respectful remake of an arcade classic that is as enjoyable and relevant today as it was 20 years ago.
  13. For eight quid though, Bionic Commando Rearmed is a masterful remake, even if it's one you'll never muster the patience to finish. [Nov 2008, p.75]
  14. Remake as it should be – every personal observer will be pleased, every skeptic will be convinced that the original game built its legendary status deservedly. Rearmed excels in presentation with humor and fantastic co-op mode on the other side you have to face very user un-friendly controls and excessive difficulty. [Sept 2008]
  15. Still, Bionic Commando is packed with enough challenges and modes to woo even the most suicidal Spencer back into battle. [Dec 2008, p.58]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 8 out of 22
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    2
    I wanted to like this game but it is killed by the same crappy control scheme that the original NES version was infamous for. Back in thoseI wanted to like this game but it is killed by the same crappy control scheme that the original NES version was infamous for. Back in those NES glory days, we kids never questioned why a bionic commando would be unable to jump or climb over an obstacle. Now, though, it’s stupid and frustrating.

    Many positive reviews celebrate this as being a “hard” game, but all of its difficulty stems from the crappy controls. It shouldn’t be rewarded for bad design. I could get over not being able to jump or climb if the grappling mechanics were smooth and responsive, but they aren’t. They’re clunky & counter intuitive. And this in a game full of instant death areas that oh by the way gives you a certain number of lives to get through each level.

    I stopped this after about an hour, once I reached a level with a secret area I could not get into after dying & starting all the way over five times. I knew exactly what I had to do and it wasn’t very complicated, but the controls are so unresponsive it became impossibly hard. Then I thought about how, if I did manage to make it into the secret area, I would have to navigate back out the way I came and survive through the rest of the level and the boss fight. If I ran out of lives before that, I’d have to do the entire level all over again. Who thinks that’s fun?

    This game could have been great if they had retooled the grappling system and the level designs. Instead they essentially lifted everything straight from the NES original aside from the graphics. If they weren’t going to update the controls, they should have at least given infinite lives & checkpoints inside levels since the gameplay boils down to tons of trial, error & luck. I bought this during a Steam sale and I regret the purchase. My advice is to get an emulated version of the original NES version. It will give you almost the same experience.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2011
    0
    Awkward controls, lack of movement options (can only shoot left/right, no jumping) and poor AI. I'm surprised this game got high ratings inAwkward controls, lack of movement options (can only shoot left/right, no jumping) and poor AI. I'm surprised this game got high ratings in this day and age. Full Review »
  3. TimB
    Sep 20, 2009
    0
    I can't stand doing the same thing over and over and over again. (Esp. if I'm not getting paid for it). This game has awesome music I can't stand doing the same thing over and over and over again. (Esp. if I'm not getting paid for it). This game has awesome music and graphics - but the game-play is horrible. This is a frustrating puzzle game with a combat element tacked on. If you like having to repeat a sequence many times before you can move onto the next sequence - fail - and then have to start right from the very beginning again - then this is the game for you. The cute graphics and amazing sound track wear off before you complete any given sequence and the control system is awkward - horribly awkward - and unintuative. My advice is read the story on Wikipedia and download the soundtrack off of YouTube - or buy the sound track. The game is teh suck. Full Review »