Bionic Commando Rearmed Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bionic Commando Rearmed sees a return of the intense 2D side-scrolling, shooting, and grappling action from the much-loved 1988 Bionic Commando on the Nintendo Entertainment System. Bionic Commando Rearmed brings the amazing gameplay up to date with new visuals, new weapons, online rankings,Bionic Commando Rearmed sees a return of the intense 2D side-scrolling, shooting, and grappling action from the much-loved 1988 Bionic Commando on the Nintendo Entertainment System. Bionic Commando Rearmed brings the amazing gameplay up to date with new visuals, new weapons, online rankings, a reworked musical score, and the addition of a two-player co-op mode. Local multiplayer mode for up to four players. Total modern visual revamp, including dynamic shadows, particle effects, and environmental damage. Reworking of musical score. Cross-game interoperability - complete specific parts of Bionic Commando Rearmed to unlock new content and hints for the Bionic Commando sequel. In-game art designed by one of Capcom's most talented artists, Toshiaki Mori. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    The soundtrack to Bionic Commando: Rearmed is a fantastic piece of work, a deft contemporary reworking of classic 8-bit NES tunes. In fact, it's so good that Capcom put it up for sale on the iTunes Store months ago to build hype for the game.
  2. Bionic Commando: Rearmed is terrific in almost every way, revitalizing a classic but long-dormant game in an exciting way that stands on its own, but also serves as a potent reminder that there's a new retail sequel on the horizon that'll bring all this crazy swinging to 3D environments.
  3. 93
    From top to bottom, Bionic Commando Rearmed is an incredible game that's well worth owning.
  4. Bionic Commando Rearmed is a first-rate downloadable title, and if you don't mind 2D platforming gameplay with a bit of old school challenge, this is one to check out.
  5. BCR is at once beautifully reminiscent of its era, and polished enough to be palatable to a modern audience. The core grappling and swinging mechanic is satisfying, the weapons a joy to wield and the levels are imaginatively designed.
  6. PC Format
    82
    A must-have for anyone who has fond memories of the golden age of games, whether you played the original or not. [Oct 2008, p.108]
  7. PC Gamer
    70
    Still, Bionic Commando is packed with enough challenges and modes to woo even the most suicidal Spencer back into battle. [Dec 2008, p.58]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Nov 1, 2017
    10
    The original Bionic Commando on the nes was one of my favorite games. "Rearmed" is a remake of the original game. They have updated a lot butThe original Bionic Commando on the nes was one of my favorite games. "Rearmed" is a remake of the original game. They have updated a lot but they haven't strayed from what made the game so much fun.

    1) All the graphics have been redone but all the set pieces are exactly where you remember them.
    2) All the music has been re-scored with new music faithful to the original themes.
    3) Some of the bosses have been completely revamped. If you will recall some of the bosses in the original game were ridiculously easy so this is a great improvement. They have done a great job recreating those boss fights in ways that incorporate your bionics.
    4) Many of the weapons from the original game were replaced with more useful weapons. So instead of shooting straight up and down, it now ricochets at angles. This new gun fulfills the same purpose as the original but in a much more useful way.
    5) They also updated some of the items from the original. For example, instead of a communications backpack you get a key card. This takes the game forward into the modern era.

    If you are looking to play it to remember your childhood this is a faithful update to the game. If you are looking to see whats new in the Bionic Commando games buy it bundled with the latest game.
    Expand
  2. RafaelD.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    Great remake , a dream for anyone who enjoy classics , and probably the first NES classic on HD !
  3. QuentinC.
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best videogame remakes out there. the graphics are amazing and the controls are just like they were on the NES. (with the This is one of the best videogame remakes out there. the graphics are amazing and the controls are just like they were on the NES. (with the additonal controls for the new features of course) multiplayer is awesome and is good for hours of fun. and the plot is a nice revamp of the original. the music is AMAZING! and the new powerups and bosses put a nice toutch on a game that was already awesome. and for the people with " frame skipping" on a computer that supposedly "can play the newest games" i think you need a lesson not only in what makes a good game, but in basic computer skills. Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    It's a good game! I enjoyed it till the end! The controls felt a bit hard at the beginning, but this can be due to the fact that I neverIt's a good game! I enjoyed it till the end! The controls felt a bit hard at the beginning, but this can be due to the fact that I never played this game before (the old version). This includes the area selection, I had problem going to 1 diagonal. My last complain is that the game on easy felt a bit difficult, apart from the bosses. But since I haven't played arcade games in a while, this can be only my problem.
    Except those little details, I had great fun! I really enjoyed the game, playing with my gf x]
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    Bionic Commando Rearmed is a reboot for NES classic Bionic Commando. There are some added features like new graphics and being able to switchBionic Commando Rearmed is a reboot for NES classic Bionic Commando. There are some added features like new graphics and being able to switch weapons easily during missions but the gameplay is pretty much the same as back then. Problem is that I really like the old pixel art and the new "style" doesn't quite fit the atmosphere. It's still definitely a fun and good game but I recommend playing the old one on Nintendo or setting up an emulator to enjoy the original experience. Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    2
    (My weird english vs. Weird game)
    The graphics is pretty good, and the shooting is not bad, but there is no jump button. I can jump.. a weak
    (My weird english vs. Weird game)
    The graphics is pretty good, and the shooting is not bad, but there is no jump button. I can jump.. a weak 5 years old kid can jump. And The Bionic GODD*MN Commando, he can't jump. He is an elite soldier, for god sake! He can't even jump! He need to use his bionic arm, to jump over a simply box! It's.. i mean, what is this? If i want to go through a box, i aint gonna cut off my arm, and swing over it, i just simply gonna do one simply thing: JUMP!
    Trial and error gameplay, frustrating and lame controls..
    Don't buy this.
    Expand
  7. OnurB.
    Aug 30, 2008
    0
    I can't believe anyone is giving this thing (I can't call it a game) more than 0. Well maybe it was good in the 60s or 70s , but I can't believe anyone is giving this thing (I can't call it a game) more than 0. Well maybe it was good in the 60s or 70s , but the controls suck, no story, no fun at all, has very bad graphics and has frame skipping in my computer which can play the newest games. Definitely a zero. I'd rather go play prince of persia, at least it could run on a 386dx. Stay away from this game. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews