BioShock 2 PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1315 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 10, 2017
    7
    Bioshock 2 is quite an imprvoment gameplay wise over the original, story and narrative is also pretty good if not on same level with first one, its only fault is having number 2 on the box which for many people means returning to an already explored setting, but for me who never completed original Bioshock, the sequel felt like a pretty fresh experience.

    Where it falls short for me
    Bioshock 2 is quite an imprvoment gameplay wise over the original, story and narrative is also pretty good if not on same level with first one, its only fault is having number 2 on the box which for many people means returning to an already explored setting, but for me who never completed original Bioshock, the sequel felt like a pretty fresh experience.

    Where it falls short for me personally and why i cant score it higher than i'd like to is down to its PC port with constant crashes if you run the game in DX 10 mode, even then in DX 9 game can crash, it even crashed right when i was saving which corrupted and deleted my save file. If you dont manually save every 5 - 10 minutes you risk losing progress and waste the time of your life by doing it again.
    Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2017
    8
    Comparing the first and second parts of BioShock, I definitely give the palm of the championship to the original game. From the continuation, after all, I wanted to get much more vivid emotions and rich impressions. But it is important to understand that it is with unreasonable expectations that most of the claims to BioShock 2 are connected. If we consider it in isolation from itsComparing the first and second parts of BioShock, I definitely give the palm of the championship to the original game. From the continuation, after all, I wanted to get much more vivid emotions and rich impressions. But it is important to understand that it is with unreasonable expectations that most of the claims to BioShock 2 are connected. If we consider it in isolation from its predecessor, we get a very atmospheric, deeply worked shooter with complex non-ordinary mechanics and a tolerable script. It all depends on which side to look at. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2017
    8
    BioShock 2 does not try to improve upon what the first game set up, instead annoyingly contains itself within a safe zone. It still works, but not as impressive as the first time back in 2007.
  4. Jun 19, 2017
    10
    A touching story of a bond that must be mended, BioShock 2 changes a few game play mechanics since you are playing as a Big Daddy, but it's still an interesting concept. The horror is turned down a bit but there's still plenty of atmosphere, beautiful underwater settings, more crazier villains, and a heart wrenching gripping story. BioShock adds more to the dramatic lore and story ofA touching story of a bond that must be mended, BioShock 2 changes a few game play mechanics since you are playing as a Big Daddy, but it's still an interesting concept. The horror is turned down a bit but there's still plenty of atmosphere, beautiful underwater settings, more crazier villains, and a heart wrenching gripping story. BioShock adds more to the dramatic lore and story of Rapture. A nice video game sequel worth playing, and excellent story of love, sacrifice, bonds, idealism, and epic adventure! Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2017
    9
    Awesome game. Every bit as good as the second with improvements. Story of Rapture continues from the first, and it interesting all the way to the end. The last actual Bioshock game with 3, a decent game in its own right, being something entirely different with the Bioshock label on it.
  6. Oct 25, 2016
    6
    Similar to the game: a great story, but the environment is too dark and repetitive for my taste. In terms of gameplay, it doesn't add too much to the previous installment (and, personally, I don't like FPS too much).
  7. Sep 18, 2016
    8
    Game: Bioshock 2
    Genre: First Person Shooting - Horror
    Developer: 2K Games System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 84/100 Value Score: 8.4/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 8/10 • GamePlay: 9/10 • Graphics: 8/10 • Sound: 8/10 • Music: 6/10 • Length: 9/10 • Replay Value: 7/10 • Player Value: 9/10 Pros +Great story and atmosphere just like the first game +Addition of multiplayer
    Game: Bioshock 2
    Genre: First Person Shooting - Horror
    Developer: 2K Games
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 84/100
    Value Score: 8.4/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 8/10
    • GamePlay: 9/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 8/10
    • Music: 6/10
    • Length: 9/10
    • Replay Value: 7/10
    • Player Value: 9/10

    Pros
    +Great story and atmosphere just like the first game
    +Addition of multiplayer versus modes and characters
    +Multiple Endings based on a morale decision you make within the game just like the first game
    +Minverva's Den DLC features an additional 2-3 single player campaign with a different cast of characters and story

    Cons
    -Some sound effects do not work at all (this is a known glitch and sadly there is no fix to this) however the DLC sound effects work fine.
    -Visuals at certain points in the game look like they are from the 6th gen rather than the 7th gen which Bioshock is from.
    -Like the first game some visual effects are in 30 FPS rather than 60 FPS
    -Some mechanics from the first game are missing such as the hacking pipes mini game
    -At one point in the game there is a sound glitch where it plays the big sister's theme continually until you finish the level
    -Some parts in the game felt rushed and out of place - some portions of how some mechanics were introduced were far better represented in the first game than this game such as the introduction of abilities.
    Expand
  8. Sep 9, 2016
    0
    88 on metacritic for this? I want some of what the "professional" reviewers were smoking. Totally overrated AAA trash, like the first Bioshock, which was garbage, but WORSE. Don't bother with this, this isn't worth your time or attention. We have games like this to blame for the sad state of AAA gaming today. Never trust any professional critic who signed with his name a good score for88 on metacritic for this? I want some of what the "professional" reviewers were smoking. Totally overrated AAA trash, like the first Bioshock, which was garbage, but WORSE. Don't bother with this, this isn't worth your time or attention. We have games like this to blame for the sad state of AAA gaming today. Never trust any professional critic who signed with his name a good score for this game, you have been warned. Expand
  9. Jul 24, 2016
    10
    I don't know why people consider this the worst Bioshock; it easily exceeds Infinite in terms of story and gameplay, and it at least makes more sense than Infinite. It certainly doesn't overtake Bioshock 1, but it's right behind it. Bioshock 2 gave us a more personal look at Rapture and showed us the human side of the enemy. It improved the gameplay and introduced duel wielding, whileI don't know why people consider this the worst Bioshock; it easily exceeds Infinite in terms of story and gameplay, and it at least makes more sense than Infinite. It certainly doesn't overtake Bioshock 1, but it's right behind it. Bioshock 2 gave us a more personal look at Rapture and showed us the human side of the enemy. It improved the gameplay and introduced duel wielding, while Infinite turned the game into a standard FPS wave shooter with very little exploration and no morality choices. The developers of this game could do wonders with the Bioshock series now that Irrational has abandoned it. I'd love to see them take the helm, and what new stories await us. Expand
  10. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    Its masterpiece, great game, great story, I like it.
    I think is a best game of seria Bioshock
    BUY THIS RIGHT NOW!!!
    I LOVE PLAY A GRANDFATHER, YEAH!!!
  11. Jan 3, 2016
    8
    Excellent story, Amazing Atmosphere with varied and challenging combat. But a bit too familiar.

    Graphics: 7
    Game play : 9
    Combat: 8
    World Design: 9
    Content: 7
    Immersion: 9
    Story: 9
  12. Dec 1, 2015
    8
    Big dady........
    ........... . .
  13. Sep 10, 2015
    8
    good... at all...
    Just like I hoped: Bioshock but sadly with Windows Live I really liked this game, nice graphics, bioshock gameplay and good Story but with WinLive you just can't play without saving every minute soo... only 8/10
  14. Sep 8, 2015
    7
    Even though I disliked Bioshock, I thought I'd at least try this game though it's sort of more of the same, I liked playing as a Big Daddy at the end of the first game so I thought it may make me enjoy this game more.

    I enjoy this game more, overall the game is much more fun. I don't feel bored playing it like I did with the first Bioshock. I like the story of being a Big Daddy, the
    Even though I disliked Bioshock, I thought I'd at least try this game though it's sort of more of the same, I liked playing as a Big Daddy at the end of the first game so I thought it may make me enjoy this game more.

    I enjoy this game more, overall the game is much more fun. I don't feel bored playing it like I did with the first Bioshock. I like the story of being a Big Daddy, the story is very interesting and gameplay has improved you can now use both a plasmid and weapon at once, it makes things quicker instead of feeling so sluggish like the first Bioshock was so slow having to switch between a plasmid and a weapon.

    And I like that hacking seems better and you can now hack cameras as well instead of just destroy them.

    I reccomend having several saves as saving can be glitchy. I saved my game and it crashed in the process deleting the save that I was saving over, I previously had 4 saves and now had 3, so it must of deleted the save which caused it to crash or the crashing caused it to delete?? Iam not sure.
    It's a joy to be able to alt tab out of game without getting a black screen of death.

    When you open a map, you can't close it again by pressing the map key, but by clicking on a button at the bottom of the screen that says close or by pressing B on a XBox controller with no way to remap the key for PC controls. Controller exclusive controls on a PC game is annoying.

    I like this game much more than the first Bioshock.
    Expand
  15. Aug 24, 2015
    8
    Compared to Bioshock 1:

    + More personal story, in my opinion better + More varied locations, including water portions where you swim around + More incentive to switch weapons (that are more interesting) + More enemies + An actual difficulty (you no longer kill everyone with the first weapon, you have to hack, set traps, shoot, drill, take photos ...) + Overall, the levels are
    Compared to Bioshock 1:

    + More personal story, in my opinion better
    + More varied locations, including water portions where you swim around
    + More incentive to switch weapons (that are more interesting)
    + More enemies
    + An actual difficulty (you no longer kill everyone with the first weapon, you have to hack, set traps, shoot, drill, take photos ...)
    + Overall, the levels are longer (even though there are not as many of them) and their design is better, each level feels like a large adventure that happpens on your journey and usually each level
    is around 1-2 hours long if you explore everything
    + Better hacking minigame that can be solved every time
    + A good ending portion of the game with several surprises

    - The Little Sister business is more annoying this time and takes longer (you have to find them, use them to harvest 2 corpses, then return them, then find another, 2 more corpses etc.)
    - Horrible map screen with overlapping floors that will confuse you a lot and stupid zoom that does not allow you to see the whole map on screen.
    - Once again, way too many upgrades, out of which most of them you are not going to use (despite that, it's slightly better than in the previous game)
    - Worse photography feature that does not let you know how much you've progressed in research, you have to look it up yourself
    - Considerably shorter than the first game, especially if you don't explore - and still few hours shorter even if you do
    - Vastly similar to B1 in mechanics, more innovations would have been nice (still underwater, you still collect plasmids and tonics, all the shops are the same, you also fight against splicers,
    you still rescue LS etc.), they could've thought of new things while keeping the soul of the first game, this feels a little lazy, especially when you consider you did this in B1, including
    playing as a Big Daddy and harvesting ADAM)
    - It's quite unrealistic how weak the character you play as is when even the basic Splicers can practically kill you, even further in the game. I know he's just a guy in a suit of BD, but still.
    In B1 the suit raised your defenses immensely, here it feels like you're walking with a T-shirt.
    - Subtitles often appear too late
    - Crashing issues

    Overall, it's better in almost every important aspect compared to its predecessor - better story, better environments, better difficulty, more weapons and enemies.

    The only real negatives are the Little Sisters (you'll get used to that though, moreover it is a side quest) and the map.
    LS would be fine if you could keep one and rescue everything but it's stupid that each one can only gather 2 adam resources. Because you have to backtrack a lot as you have to capture
    all LS, that makes the horribleness of the map screen a lot more obvious, because you'll be having a hard time to figure out where the hell to go. Lower floors SHOULD NOT be visible on the map.
    The colors are too similar as well. And the zoom is bad. The Bioshock 1 map wasn't ideal either (those arrows were somehow confusing), but it was definitely much better than this mess.
    Because I used the map a lot so as not to miss anything, it pissed me off enough to warrant a point loss.
    The other point loss is for various reasons, mostly for crashing without giving any sort of error.

    8/10 as opposed to B1's 6/10
    Expand
  16. Aug 10, 2015
    9
    Great game... The game is so imersive and you don't see the time pass. One of the best FPS I've played in this year. =D
    Um excelente jogo, imersivo você não nota o tempo passar,e foi um dos melhores FPS que eu joguei esse Ano =D
  17. Jul 29, 2015
    10
    Perhaps the game lack from the originality of the first and with the elimination of others atractive aspects, but it compensate with a more closer interaction with the little sisters and the strong bond between the protagonist and his little sister, the more charming aspect of the little sisters (more prettier) make you love it in the end. The first one like me more but soon was forgottenPerhaps the game lack from the originality of the first and with the elimination of others atractive aspects, but it compensate with a more closer interaction with the little sisters and the strong bond between the protagonist and his little sister, the more charming aspect of the little sisters (more prettier) make you love it in the end. The first one like me more but soon was forgotten while the second carved more in my mind for the feeling implied and I wont forget it easily. Expand
  18. Jun 24, 2015
    8
    BioShock 2 is the sequel to the highly successful BioShock game, and I must say 2K Games have really improved the graphics on the game! It is absolutely beautiful and very rich and diverse, there are new splicers to kill, the new and scary Big Sisters and the return of the famous Big Daddy!

    What I love about this sequel is that now you can play as a Big Daddy and rip the enemies apart
    BioShock 2 is the sequel to the highly successful BioShock game, and I must say 2K Games have really improved the graphics on the game! It is absolutely beautiful and very rich and diverse, there are new splicers to kill, the new and scary Big Sisters and the return of the famous Big Daddy!

    What I love about this sequel is that now you can play as a Big Daddy and rip the enemies apart which is really satisfying and makes me cringe my teeth whenever I do such a task, its awesome! (Used to do the same with the new Shadow Warrior with the Katana mechanic)

    Although the game looks beautiful and has done some improvements that BioShock suffered with, sadly, the game is not as good as the first one. Don't get me wrong, the game is awesome and really cool to return to Rapture, but sadly, it does fall flat

    Some of the missing sound effects that was a constant problem and the downgrade in audio quality in the first game have been resolved to a certain extent, however once or twice I have noticed a missing sound effect or two but till now I haven't noticed a downgrade in audio quality

    The textures on the signs and billboards are just horrible, and my gaming PC can play this on high, let alone if the game had an Ultra High option, but, the textures just look horrible

    The difficulty has been slightly tweaked from the last one, thankfully Splicers are no longer as stupid as the first game, however they are really cruel and I have died multiple times on Medium difficulty, I understand you have to die once or twice but not most of the time, it makes me just want to stop playing the game

    The first BioShock was creepy and a bit scary, however this sequel is not as scary. The only bit that made me a bit scared was the first encounter of the Big Sister, its loud screech did make me jump out of my seat and the few jumpscares of splicers popping out here and there is in this sequel, but it is not as scary as the first game

    The story (till where I have reached), is pretty poor, Although it is good, it doesn't have a OMG plot twist like in the first BioShock, its just mentioned to you and that's it! Nothing more, nothing less! However, I haven't finished the game and this is just a first impressions review, so, who knows?

    And... the fetch quests are back! BUT there is not as much as the first game, but I still hate fetch quests, developers just put them in the game in my opinion just to lengthen the story!

    I have heard from many people who have played the sequel saying that the game is not as long as the first one, if you check my playtime, I finished BioShock in 6 hours, and I am already (probably) half way through the game and according to Steam I have just played 2 hours of it! So if the length of the game is short, then it is a pretty short game!

    Even though all the above stuff I mentioned may be a bit negative, don't feel discouraged to buy this sequel, its not bad nor is it unplayable, its just not as good as the first game but if they ever have another 2K Weekend or sale and are selling the BioShock Triple Pack for 15.00EUR or less, GET IT, it is worth the money

    Now, Subject Delta, like this review and buy the game, would you kindly? But that was in BioShock, I hear many people scream and shout!
    Expand
  19. May 19, 2015
    9
    Bioshock 2 takes place 8 years after the first Bioshock where you play as Subject Delta, a Big Daddy that was revived. This game offers more content than the first Bioshock because you will play with weapons and plasmids at a time. The gameplay is more brutal than the first Bioshock. And like the first game, you can upgrade your character, weapon, and plasmids. The game may crash once in aBioshock 2 takes place 8 years after the first Bioshock where you play as Subject Delta, a Big Daddy that was revived. This game offers more content than the first Bioshock because you will play with weapons and plasmids at a time. The gameplay is more brutal than the first Bioshock. And like the first game, you can upgrade your character, weapon, and plasmids. The game may crash once in a while eventhough you have a good spec so be sure to save as often as you can. Bioshock 2 is a worthy sequel to the first Bioshock. The story is very complex as the first Bioshock. I recommend to play the first game before playing Bioshock 2. Expand
  20. Mar 8, 2015
    9
    Bioshock 2 is a FPS game developed by 2K Games and released in 2010. The game follows the universe Rapture, but begins 2 years before the first Bioshock, then you move immediately in 1968.The protagonist is a Big Daddy, called Subject Delta, which was designed to protect the Little Sisters. The game is very similar to the first in the series, just bring many improvement in graphics andBioshock 2 is a FPS game developed by 2K Games and released in 2010. The game follows the universe Rapture, but begins 2 years before the first Bioshock, then you move immediately in 1968.The protagonist is a Big Daddy, called Subject Delta, which was designed to protect the Little Sisters. The game is very similar to the first in the series, just bring many improvement in graphics and more. I had little problems with the sound, but it was not a problem in how to ruin the game. Expand
  21. Jan 19, 2015
    9
    A very good succesor of the first Bioshock game.

    It gives you the possibility to play as a new character and shows you and alternate story of the Rapture world. For me it was even better than the first part.
  22. Jan 5, 2015
    9
    Great story, great graphics, great atmosphere/environment, great weapons, great exploration. To be honest I find it difficult to find any flaws with this game, aside from the fact that multiplayer is completely dead.

    I really enjoyed guarding the little sister while she harvests, and the ability to simultaneously use plasmids and weapons was a very welcome change from the first
    Great story, great graphics, great atmosphere/environment, great weapons, great exploration. To be honest I find it difficult to find any flaws with this game, aside from the fact that multiplayer is completely dead.

    I really enjoyed guarding the little sister while she harvests, and the ability to simultaneously use plasmids and weapons was a very welcome change from the first Bioshock. Big Sister was also a great addition.

    Much of the core game of Bioshock is still here, but I think that is what makes the game so good.

    Took me 22 hours, loved every second of it. Definitely recommend.
    Expand
  23. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    This is the successor of the highly praised BioShock where you play as Big Daddy in Rapture roughly 10 years after the events of the original. It shares many similarities of the first edition but also some notably differences. Good is that you may visit Rapture again and that ammo is not as scarce; the bad thing is that the controls (i.e. weapon / plasma) work differently compared toThis is the successor of the highly praised BioShock where you play as Big Daddy in Rapture roughly 10 years after the events of the original. It shares many similarities of the first edition but also some notably differences. Good is that you may visit Rapture again and that ammo is not as scarce; the bad thing is that the controls (i.e. weapon / plasma) work differently compared to BioShock 1. This is quite unhandy if you play them after each other. The biggest drawback is that it was originally bound to GFWL, but that is removed these days (although I had to re-buy it for my Steam account). All in all a good successor to the original. Not sure why this got so many negative reactions. Expand
  24. Dec 2, 2014
    8
    Without knowing, I wrote a review for the PC version of Bioshock 2, which is the one you're reading now. I haven't played Biosock 2 for PC, so I wrote my actual review on the system I played it on (Xbox 360). I couldn't find a way to delete this one, so instead, I just wrote a message letting you know about this accident.

    Game's decent. 8/10
  25. Nov 19, 2014
    7
    After the joy of the original I was ready to like this game. A lot. Back to Rapture! And, to its credit, game-play is smooth, the enemies are more varied and, in many cases, tougher and the weapons are inventive. However, it seems like the game lost its soul somewhere. The haunting, beautiful visuals of the first were lacking. The story was simply less compelling, absent the wonderfullyAfter the joy of the original I was ready to like this game. A lot. Back to Rapture! And, to its credit, game-play is smooth, the enemies are more varied and, in many cases, tougher and the weapons are inventive. However, it seems like the game lost its soul somewhere. The haunting, beautiful visuals of the first were lacking. The story was simply less compelling, absent the wonderfully crafted Ryan. I cared about the characters less. I felt like I was playing a competent, first person shooter. The first time around, I felt like I was taking part in a masterpiece. This...was just a video game. A good one, but just a game. Expand
  26. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    Outstanding game. Great story. Great script. Great voice acting. Great graphics. Great replay value. I mean we all have different tastes but this is a Great first person shooter with RPG elements that I highly recommend.
  27. Aug 25, 2014
    5
    As a "game" 4 as an interactive experience 7

    I got this game on a steam sale after pasing it up 4 years ago. I played System Shock as a kid and loved bioshock as well. Game-play is boring, simple shooter style. Trick the dumb AI, played it on hard wasn't challenged at all. No penalty for dying. Lots of ammo, even though it's all nerfed, finding enough medkits is another story.
    As a "game" 4 as an interactive experience 7

    I got this game on a steam sale after pasing it up 4 years ago. I played System Shock as a kid and loved bioshock as well.

    Game-play is boring, simple shooter style. Trick the dumb AI, played it on hard wasn't challenged at all. No penalty for dying. Lots of ammo, even though it's all nerfed, finding enough medkits is another story.

    The story is nice, made-for-tv movie level good, but still very "video-game". Voice acting, is great, music is wonderful.

    Overall a snorefest through mudsville, watch the cut scenes on youtube and buy the soundtrack and save your time.

    about to give bioshock 3 a go...lets see if it is any better.
    Expand
  28. Aug 23, 2014
    8
    "You had me under a gun... and yet you just walk away? No monster alive turns the other cheek. No monster does that. A thinking man does that." - Grace Holloway

    Set 8 years after the events of the first initial game , BioShock 2 follows Subject Delta, a prototype Big Daddy brought back to life and sent on a quest to recover the Little Sister he was bonded to prior to his death,
    "You had me under a gun... and yet you just walk away? No monster alive turns the other cheek. No monster does that. A thinking man does that." - Grace Holloway

    Set 8 years after the events of the first initial game , BioShock 2 follows Subject Delta, a prototype Big Daddy brought back to life and sent on a quest to recover the Little Sister he was bonded to prior to his death, Eleanor, from the clutches of the new leader of Rapture, Sofia Lamb. Welcome to the Rapture!. another success!
    Expand
  29. Jul 31, 2014
    4
    Positive thing about Bioshock 2 could have been that after a huge disappointment that was the first Bioshock for me, I didn't expect anything at all and part 2 could only surprise me in a positive way, right? No. The problem is that this was exactly, and I mean EXACTLY the same thing all over again. It felt like playing the same game again, the differences were so slight that it remindedPositive thing about Bioshock 2 could have been that after a huge disappointment that was the first Bioshock for me, I didn't expect anything at all and part 2 could only surprise me in a positive way, right? No. The problem is that this was exactly, and I mean EXACTLY the same thing all over again. It felt like playing the same game again, the differences were so slight that it reminded me the cosmetic differences between Doom 1 & 2. Once again extremely overrated title that many people consider to be something more than what it really is and the game that almost destroyed all my faith in the series, but the Infinite fortunately saved the reputation 3 years later. 4/10 Expand
  30. sft
    Jul 4, 2014
    10
    Big Sister knows best

    Bioshock was a wonderful game (5/5) and BIOSHOCK 2 is no less an achievement. 2K have taken all the elements that made the original so great and have tweaked them in all the right ways to make the second game even better than the first. The inventive story behind Rapture is further developed and the weapons, combat, hacking, and upgrade progression have all been
    Big Sister knows best

    Bioshock was a wonderful game (5/5) and BIOSHOCK 2 is no less an achievement. 2K have taken all the elements that made the original so great and have tweaked them in all the right ways to make the second game even better than the first. The inventive story behind Rapture is further developed and the weapons, combat, hacking, and upgrade progression have all been improved. The various classes of hysterical splicers still wander around chattering hilariously to themselves and several new enemies have been introduced to add range to the combat. The plasmids and weapons have been improved and you can now wield both at the same time (although you can’t use them simultaneously -- that would make things too easy). The voice acting remains excellent as does the writing, and the story of Rapture is wrapped up nicely in an unusually poignant ending. A true AAA game -- highly recommended.
    Expand
  31. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    This game is quite solid but is not as good as the first one. This is the one to skip in the series. However, it stands as a beautiful game which can be quite enjoyable if you are a fan of the series.
  32. Jun 2, 2014
    7
    First Bioshock was a masterpiece and, if i didn't play it, i would give the second chapter a higher score. But.. there's some new things but not so many and though we have another really good story behind the game.. i don't think it is involving as the first. Graphic is the same, looks like recycled. And it's short, but if you can buy it ina bundle for cheap (like i did) it's a good experience.
  33. May 31, 2014
    10
    How good is this game? Well, even with 745 positive reviews, I still feel like it deserves more praise! I personally like BioShock 2 more than its predecessor. It's longer, with less jump scares and a more elaborate story than #1. This allows you to really soak in Rapture's atmosphere, get to know characters more intimately and being a Big Daddy gives you more freedom to explore rapture atHow good is this game? Well, even with 745 positive reviews, I still feel like it deserves more praise! I personally like BioShock 2 more than its predecessor. It's longer, with less jump scares and a more elaborate story than #1. This allows you to really soak in Rapture's atmosphere, get to know characters more intimately and being a Big Daddy gives you more freedom to explore rapture at a slower pace.

    Gameplay has improved since the last game, too. Not only does it allow for plasmids and guns to be used simultaneously, but the developer has also added means to play a more tactical game with traps and devices, thus adding more variety to how one approaches a situation.

    Dialogues and monologues are solid, levels present more variety and are designed to be more open instead of only having small rooms connected by tight passages. Sound effects are also top notch, leaving nothing to be desired.

    Overall, after playing a ton of games over the past 20+ years including all games of the BioShock series and DLCs, BioShock 2 still remains my favorite game of all time and I would very much recommend it to any fan of fiction and FPS.
    Expand
  34. May 29, 2014
    9
    Awesome game but delta is just the worst and weakest big daddy ever but I do like him it's that his armor is like a pillow and I have played hundreds of shooters and I was good at it but when I got out of mission 2 that's when it all went to hell my ass was being kicked by the splicers and I meant the weakest they are how can a pipe attack take a quarter of my health it's a good game butAwesome game but delta is just the worst and weakest big daddy ever but I do like him it's that his armor is like a pillow and I have played hundreds of shooters and I was good at it but when I got out of mission 2 that's when it all went to hell my ass was being kicked by the splicers and I meant the weakest they are how can a pipe attack take a quarter of my health it's a good game but be ready to visit the chamber or what ever it's called a lot. Expand
  35. May 20, 2014
    8
    Not a bad story but inferior to the original, the plot isn't new, the world of Rapture isn't new to us anymore, but the gameplay is improved, so unless you hated the gameplay in the original game for some reason, and the original had good gameplay, or you only come to experience the plot and story, its a recommendation.
  36. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    BioShock 2 spoiler-free review.
    BioShock 2 is a sequel that proudly carries the name, with enough tweaks and changes to make it worthwhile.
    Let's start with the world. It's more of the same from the original but with upgraded graphics and effects, making it a lot more enjoyable. In BioShock 2 you controll a Big Daddy, and it's gratifying. That's the problem as well. While in the first
    BioShock 2 spoiler-free review.
    BioShock 2 is a sequel that proudly carries the name, with enough tweaks and changes to make it worthwhile.
    Let's start with the world. It's more of the same from the original but with upgraded graphics and effects, making it a lot more enjoyable. In BioShock 2 you controll a Big Daddy, and it's gratifying. That's the problem as well. While in the first BioShock you were killed with ease, here, the enemy A.I offers from little, to no challenge. They introduced Big Sisters, which come after you harvest or save the 3 little sisters in an area (and you will, because Big Daddies are not a challenge anymore). They are the toughest enemies in the game, but I think they must have killed once or twice throughout the whole game. The sound and music are just as good, delivering an overall better experience (mostly the music, it's brilliant). The hacking element is much better, and I never got tired of it. Harvesting or saving Little Sisters do the same in BioShock 2 than in BioShock 1, they change a few plot points, but not much else. The difference with Little sisters is that each Little Sister can take ADAM from especific bodies before harvesting or saving them. This addition is genius, as it consists in keeping the Little Sister safe while she takes the ADAM. This requires planning and strategy which is a really nice change for the game. The story. Now, many won't agree, but I considered it better and also much more relatable story than the previous. It was more focused and more engaging, and I enjoyed every bit. There's also the mutiplayer, which is fun, but I don't really see myself playing it long-term.
    After all, BioShock 2 keep itself fresh and innovative enough to make a more enjoyable and focused game than the first.
    Average Score: 9.1
    Expand
  37. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Amazing sequel and the best atmosphere of all time!
    Positives:
    - Excellent Atmosphere
    - Excellent Story
    - Excellent Gun Play
    - Excellent Voice Acting
    Negatives:
    - Too Short
  38. Feb 21, 2014
    5
    I really. Really wanted to like this game.

    Techincal side of things: What the hell? Is it because I'm running a lower end computer? Suddenly BS2 didn't like my computer, forcing me to put BS2 into DX9 and making everything look poorly. Then there was *No Manual Plasmid Reload* which meant that you'd either have to edit a config file or fire off what little EVE you had left so Delta
    I really. Really wanted to like this game.

    Techincal side of things: What the hell? Is it because I'm running a lower end computer? Suddenly BS2 didn't like my computer, forcing me to put BS2 into DX9 and making everything look poorly. Then there was *No Manual Plasmid Reload* which meant that you'd either have to edit a config file or fire off what little EVE you had left so Delta would reload. There's NO Weapon/Plasmid wheel, and coming back from Bioshock Infinite, that was ridiculous. What genius decided to have it in console releases, but not on PC? And multiplayer, don't make me laugh. Obvious console port is obvious (especially when the prompts for what buttons to push >>Are Xbox 360, not PC, buttons
    Expand
  39. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    The gameplay and depth are both improvements over the original installment. However, the story, lore, atmosphere, and length are not as good. In addition, they added a lame multiplayer mode to an obviously singleplayer only game. Overall not as good as the original.
  40. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    There are very few differences between Bioshock 1 & 2. They both share the same graphics engine. However, PC gamers cannot properly enjoy the new particle effects featured by the DirectX10 support without encountering major stability issues. Therefore, the graphical improvements made from Bioshock 1 are rather incremental. Both games both share the same audio problems and issues withThere are very few differences between Bioshock 1 & 2. They both share the same graphics engine. However, PC gamers cannot properly enjoy the new particle effects featured by the DirectX10 support without encountering major stability issues. Therefore, the graphical improvements made from Bioshock 1 are rather incremental. Both games both share the same audio problems and issues with the mouse sensitivity and controls. However, as long as you know what files to open and which values to change, the crazy mouse sensitivity and skipping sound should plague you no more than it did in Bioshock 1. This sequel did not take the franchise in a new direction the way Mass Effect 2 or System Shock 2 did. However, much like God of War 2, Bioshock 2 had a nearly perfect prequel. As a result, they took an already winning recipe of extraordinary level design and phenomenal combat, and cleverly refined and modified this formula into another incredible experience in Rapture. Bioshock 2 delivers a less memorable experience, but certainly not an all-around worse experience. This sequel takes place 10 years after the events of Bioshock 1 and places the player in the glorified fish tank of Rapture. Evolution has taken its toll on this underwater utopia, and has become a darker and creeper place with incredibly impressive aesthetics. Bioshock 2 handles moral choice and its consequences incredibly better than the first game. It focuses more on personal confrontations and less on the philosophy behind Rapture. The ending is much more meaningful and emotionally overwhelming as the repercussions of your choices unfold into an incredibly satisfying conclusion. The secondary goals of finding and defending Adam stuffed corpses offers incredibly rewarding challenges. In addition, Bioshock 2 features new and overwhelmingly powerful enemies that keep the gameplay fresh. Exploring the underwater skyscrapers in Rapture has never been this much fun. Expand
  41. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    BioShock 2 improves what was already a good game by adding a better story and more interesting gameplay. The Big Sisters are also a great addition as they help make the game a bit scary, an aspect that the first game lost after a few hours of gameplay, as soon as you got used to it. But the Big Sisters will give you creeps every time with their crazy screams.
    The only thing that this game
    BioShock 2 improves what was already a good game by adding a better story and more interesting gameplay. The Big Sisters are also a great addition as they help make the game a bit scary, an aspect that the first game lost after a few hours of gameplay, as soon as you got used to it. But the Big Sisters will give you creeps every time with their crazy screams.
    The only thing that this game didn't live up to was the great ending that the first one had. Though the game did have a decent ending, it simply couldn't compare to the one in the first game. Not gonna go into detail though as that would be too much of a spoiler.
    Overall I would give this game 8,5/10 if I could, but since I can't i'll just leave it at an 8.
    Expand
  42. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    The biggest con of this game is the save system. The game doesn't auto save on certain events, just the level beginnings and you know what it is very frustrating. The game sometimes crashes and you have to start at your latest save. You can manually save the game but I don't want to save game every 5 minutes.
  43. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    When I first bought bioshock 2 I was very disappointed with the lack of controller support, but they recently added it! The game is much more enjoyable now
  44. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Ah, yes, a return to Rapture is just what I needed before taking to the skies in Bioshock Infinite, and what an emotionally charged return to Rapture it is. Bioshock 2 took every gameplay and story element from it's predecessor, and improved them greatly. The new hack mechanic, the new dual plasmid and weapon combat, all combined with feeling like an unstoppable force in the suit of a bigAh, yes, a return to Rapture is just what I needed before taking to the skies in Bioshock Infinite, and what an emotionally charged return to Rapture it is. Bioshock 2 took every gameplay and story element from it's predecessor, and improved them greatly. The new hack mechanic, the new dual plasmid and weapon combat, all combined with feeling like an unstoppable force in the suit of a big daddy make this an engrossing gameplay experience.The interactions with some of the characters, specifically the decisions whether or not to kill them, is engaging because you are instantly rewarded or penalized based on your decision. The father-daughter bond between you and Eleanor is one of the most important parts of the game; she is seriously a driving force, and is center-stage in a beautiful, unforgettable ending. Expand
  45. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    The continuation of one my favourite games. It lacks a lot from the original game, but it also a great game, especially for Bioshock fans. It expands the world of Rapture and now some of the unanswered questions are cleared, and the ending is perfect again.
  46. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Play as a big daddy from the first game? Interesting idea, but did it work? Was the protagonist too far removed from you to really care? For me the game worked, not in the same ballpark as the first but it did indeed work. Just not as well as the original, not by a long chalk.
  47. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    Even though it's a complete rehash of the first game, and suffers from an extremely malignant case of consolitis (with low-quality textures and 360 button graphics all over the place) I prefer this one. Taking on the role of a Big Daddy and interacting with the little sisters plays a large part in this, but endlessly shooting up splicers eventually gets too boring after a while. As ever,Even though it's a complete rehash of the first game, and suffers from an extremely malignant case of consolitis (with low-quality textures and 360 button graphics all over the place) I prefer this one. Taking on the role of a Big Daddy and interacting with the little sisters plays a large part in this, but endlessly shooting up splicers eventually gets too boring after a while. As ever, an average FPS with above average narrative. Expand
  48. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    This is another great game, though it doesn't exactly live up to its predecessor. The mechanics are much the same as the previous installment, though some minor improvements have been made to the combat and genetic skill trees to make it slightly more fluid. All this taken into account however, the story feels like much more of an afterthought than did that of the first game (probablyThis is another great game, though it doesn't exactly live up to its predecessor. The mechanics are much the same as the previous installment, though some minor improvements have been made to the combat and genetic skill trees to make it slightly more fluid. All this taken into account however, the story feels like much more of an afterthought than did that of the first game (probably because, to a point, it was). Although it is still a great shooter, you don't lose much of the bioshock experience by leaving this particular installment out. Great mechanics, great atmosphere, great graphics, but the story is definitely lacking. Expand
  49. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    With the first Bioshock being a ground-breaking piece of art, Bioshock 2 falls short of it's predecessor. This time around, you play as Delta, the first successful Big Daddy. You want to find your original "Little Sister", but she has been put into custody of a corrupt politician who plans to create a woman made of all the great minds of Rapture.
    The game's single player campaign is
    With the first Bioshock being a ground-breaking piece of art, Bioshock 2 falls short of it's predecessor. This time around, you play as Delta, the first successful Big Daddy. You want to find your original "Little Sister", but she has been put into custody of a corrupt politician who plans to create a woman made of all the great minds of Rapture.
    The game's single player campaign is slightly lacking. It has enough substance, such as new weapons, powers, and enemies to keep the player somewhat interested during the majority of it, but it was not varied enough from the original game's formula.
    One of the redeeming factors of the game as a whole is the multi-player. It takes place before the events of the original game, and retains the weapons and powers from the first. It gives the player something to come back to after the single player game.
    Overall, the game had some problems, but the game was still descent enough to keep the same charm of the original game.
    Expand
  50. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily the worst BioShock game i have played, only played 1 and 2 also played them in order 1 then 2, I felt very much bored with bioshock 2 and for some odd reason the game looked like compared to the 1st, THE BEST MOMENT IN THE GAME IS PROBS WHEN YOUR A LITTLE SISTER, its rad, bioshock 2 7/10 Expand
  51. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  52. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    Good... at all...
    Just like I hoped: Bioshock but sadly with Windows Live I really liked this game, nice graphics, bioshock gameplay and good Story but with WinLive you just can't play without saving every minute soo... only 8/10
  53. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    The good: Not going to lie.... Best game I've ever played. When playing the first Bioshock, I felt the controls were very "clunky". It was just annoying to switch between weapons. Bioshock 2 added dual wield. The plasmids were fun and all. But my favorite part by far was the weapons! The drill was amazing. The characters were amazing, and seeing through the eyes of a little sister addedThe good: Not going to lie.... Best game I've ever played. When playing the first Bioshock, I felt the controls were very "clunky". It was just annoying to switch between weapons. Bioshock 2 added dual wield. The plasmids were fun and all. But my favorite part by far was the weapons! The drill was amazing. The characters were amazing, and seeing through the eyes of a little sister added to my total infatuation with Rapture. The thing that made this game that almost made me cry was how sweet the little sisters are. The say the cutest and sweetest things to you. The graphics are amazing too. My FAVORITE thing about this game is that there are different endings. That's my favorite thing ever in any videogame. And apparently there are 6! This may be why I didn't like Infinite as much. The bad: The problems I have with this game are things that take out immersion. Drill fuel. The drill fuel was annoying because apparently you're the only Big Daddy that needs drill fuel. The rest can drill away while in the beginning you can only hold a drill spin for 5 seconds. While the Little Sisters were adorable and all, there was just something that really bothered me. After you kill her Big Daddy, she starts crying. But if you walk close to her she acts like nothing happened and smiles at you. When you step away she immediately starts crying again. It's not too important but it still took me out of the game a bit. All in all this game was amazing. Even with the few things wrong with it I still had the most fun I've ever had in a videogame. Even Infinite wasn't as good as this. Expand
  54. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    A simplified review for novice gamers
    Graphics:
    Magnificent graphics they did a great job in it
    Sound:
    Not as great as the previous bioshock but still its very good
    Game play:
    Quite the same as bioshock only faster
    Story:
    Impressive story line with multiple endings
    Overall Bioshock 2 is a great game but not as great as the first one was.
  55. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    I haven't played the first Bioshock and don't know how it compares to this sequel. As standalone game Bioshock 2 has unique dark atmosphere and some interesting design choices.

    Bioshock offers just right amount of different weapons, which all have they uses. On the other hand, I only used selected few plasmids although they all seems useful enough. Battles are typically very intense and
    I haven't played the first Bioshock and don't know how it compares to this sequel. As standalone game Bioshock 2 has unique dark atmosphere and some interesting design choices.

    Bioshock offers just right amount of different weapons, which all have they uses. On the other hand, I only used selected few plasmids although they all seems useful enough. Battles are typically very intense and lots of fun. Especially big daddy sister fights and when you have to protect little sisters from swarms of enemies can be exciting.

    Main problem with this game is the plot and storytelling. At best, the story is messy and uninteresting. Most of the dialog and NPC characters are left very superficial. The inherent weirdness of the game also makes it hard to relate to any of the main characters and I didn't find myself caring too much of any of them.

    If you find copy of this game cheap, I would recommend it as fun shooter with some RPG elements. If you're searching for game with good story, this ain't it.
    Expand
  56. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    What I have been reading on Metacritics disgraces me, this game deserves a lot higher score, not just from the critics but from the users as well. Critics say the game doesn't have the mystery and thrill of design that the original had and people say that it lacks its unique appeal. These people should be banned from metacritic! Sure the design isn't unique but I think it's better, and whoWhat I have been reading on Metacritics disgraces me, this game deserves a lot higher score, not just from the critics but from the users as well. Critics say the game doesn't have the mystery and thrill of design that the original had and people say that it lacks its unique appeal. These people should be banned from metacritic! Sure the design isn't unique but I think it's better, and who wouldn't want to come back to good old Rapture. By the way, the ending is great with multiple endings suiting the players who want to play the way they want to. Rapture looks beautiful, level design is interesting and it has the best bad guy I have ever seen. So don't put this game down, it deserves a 10 out of 10, be smart enough to realise that with no denying it. The beginning is great and the length is great. Do me a favour and score this game 10 out of 10, do it for justice and the lord. Expand
  57. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Rapture, the second time around, loses a little bit of the awe factor since the environments look familiar already instead of something new and yet-to-be-explored. The story is kinda iffy, in my opinion, but there are a good amount of new things to use and to do. I do really love the combat gameplay since I find it fun to play and it is much improved over the first game. I still found itRapture, the second time around, loses a little bit of the awe factor since the environments look familiar already instead of something new and yet-to-be-explored. The story is kinda iffy, in my opinion, but there are a good amount of new things to use and to do. I do really love the combat gameplay since I find it fun to play and it is much improved over the first game. I still found it rather enjoyable and the relationship between the character (Delta) and Eleanor was actually well done in my opinion, so while it isn't as excellent as the first game it is still a good one. Expand
  58. May 30, 2013
    9
    I give the first bioshock a 10/10, but i would give this a 9/10.
    It feels like a little boring though, but i still like it.
    The game isn't that bad, if the first Bioshock never existed. XP
  59. May 25, 2013
    8
    It's like expansion of original Bioshock, just more of it. There are lot of new super interesting plasmids, that allows us variety of combat tactics, story is nothing great, but ok, enemies more interesting than in original. But overall Bioshock 2 is not an improvement, it's more like on the same level.
  60. May 21, 2013
    5
    Bioshock 2: The long awaited sequel to Bioshock. While In no means a bad game, its in no means a GOOD game, let me explain:
    1. The graphics are to cartoonish! While this works in games like TF2, here it's just out of place. In the first level, I'm greeted with a dark environment, wich is expected, because its Bioshock. But I look up, AND THERES FREAKIN PINK CORAL!
    2. The voice acting is
    Bioshock 2: The long awaited sequel to Bioshock. While In no means a bad game, its in no means a GOOD game, let me explain:
    1. The graphics are to cartoonish! While this works in games like TF2, here it's just out of place. In the first level, I'm greeted with a dark environment, wich is expected, because its Bioshock. But I look up, AND THERES FREAKIN PINK CORAL!
    2. The voice acting is So-so. Some of the parts, like Alexander the Great, and Dr.Suchong are amazing performances, all the others seem like the actor didn't want to be there.
    3. The Big Sisters, while nicely designed, are just a boss that shows up when the game slows down.
    4. I enjoyed playing as the Big Daddy, I really did, but making you go on escort missions CONSTANTLY just to get adam is stupid! Each time you get adam, its a all out war, and should be planned out.
    5. The endings....oh god those endings. While longer than the first ones, there just boring to watch and leaves you feeling unsatisfied.

    Its still a good game, but certainly not as good as the first installment. If you want a simple shooter, this might be for you. But If you loved the first one, maybe just watch a lets play, because hardcore fans (like myself) will not enjoy this game.
    Expand
  61. Edd
    May 15, 2013
    10
    I really love this game,Best textures,graphics,sound effects,storyline,characters and all of IT TOO FANTASTIC I mean Come on THIS GAME IS SWEET SUBJECT DELTA WILL BE THE BEST
  62. May 9, 2013
    9
    another great shooter and more of bioshock which was an amazing game the story is good but not as great as the previous one but the gameplay is much better and you get to play as a big daddy how great is that simply a great successor to the first game
  63. May 4, 2013
    8
    Bioshock 1 had a good story line and great atmosphere, but the polish in game mechanics/play was lacking. Bioshock infinite had very smooth gameplay, a great story and dreadful gameplay/mechanics so much was missing and it was uncontrollably linear (run and gun don't think) I thought as to why they even called it Bioshock as it would have been better under a different name.

    Bioshock 2
    Bioshock 1 had a good story line and great atmosphere, but the polish in game mechanics/play was lacking. Bioshock infinite had very smooth gameplay, a great story and dreadful gameplay/mechanics so much was missing and it was uncontrollably linear (run and gun don't think) I thought as to why they even called it Bioshock as it would have been better under a different name.

    Bioshock 2 on the other hand had a weaker story compared to the other two, but it really wasn't so bad. The atmosphere was just as good if not better than the first and was way better than infinite. Now what sets apart Bioshock 2 from the rest of the pack is that the game play mechanics were superb, the atmosphere amazing and not too linear while there were the best guns, plasmids and upgrades. Bioshock 2, in my opinion, was by far the best game out of the trilogy. I loved it.
    Expand
  64. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    this game is a masterpiece. everything about this game is great. the combat is unique and fun. the dual wielding of powers and weapons really make it good. the story is fantastic as well, its one of the best videogame stories ever!!!! the game also has much more player choice which affects the ending.
    rapture is still super awesome and provides one of the greatest videogame locations
    this game is a masterpiece. everything about this game is great. the combat is unique and fun. the dual wielding of powers and weapons really make it good. the story is fantastic as well, its one of the best videogame stories ever!!!! the game also has much more player choice which affects the ending.
    rapture is still super awesome and provides one of the greatest videogame locations ever!!!
    i dont have any complaints about the game. this game is just perfect!!!!!!!!!!! this is a must buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    bioshock 2 is one of the best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  65. Apr 21, 2013
    4
    Bioshock 2 is a poor game. The combat is dull and repetitive, there are no interesting puzzles to solve, the plot is boring, the characters are difficult to care about, and the level design is as repetitive as the combat is. While the original Bioshock's story managed to pull through the mediocre gameplay elements, Bioshock 2 fails to do so, and is not worth your time or money.
  66. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    Although the magic from the first Bioshock is lost, it manages to be a very enjoyable title with some interesting new weapons and a solid story. It lacks the powerful atmosphere of its predecessor but still has original ideas left that delves into the world of Rapture. And the ending is certainly more satisfying than the one in the first Bioshock.
  67. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Bioshsock 2 is the sequel to its first game. However story is not connected, you take the role this time as a citizen of rapture A big daddy, 10 years after the happenings in the first game. Once you entered the game you know what to expect from being a big daddy. Story is good but its not as engaging as the first one was but still its quiet interesting This time you can protect littleBioshsock 2 is the sequel to its first game. However story is not connected, you take the role this time as a citizen of rapture A big daddy, 10 years after the happenings in the first game. Once you entered the game you know what to expect from being a big daddy. Story is good but its not as engaging as the first one was but still its quiet interesting This time you can protect little sisters as your a big daddy. The guns are different and you have a wide variety if choices among the weapons. Plasmids are still the main feature of the game and they work as awesome as they did in Bioshosck one. Story still takes place in the Rapture but you will be going to new places that we did not visit in Boshsock one. SOme of this places have familiar sens due to the nature of Rapture but it never feels the same. Every area as a large amount of loot and places to discover. New enemies have been added to game such as the big sisters and new splicers. General the gameplay follows the same mechanism as the first game along with some new features. Eventhough the new features may not that be much but having a new and sequel to what we had in Bioshsock one is still amazing, The gameplay is still awesome. Graphics are much better than the first game, textures are not much more detailed thanks to new techs. The environments are sometimes bigger but still they have much as nice details in themselves. Finally you dont wnat to miss this game Expand
  68. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    This is just a reboot of BioShock and where the original had a lot of interest for me it was not a very engaging story. Furthermore in an attempt to make the controls "better" for the PC they made them far worse. If I had paid full price I would have been very disappointed. I may eventually play it all the way through but for now I have more than enough interesting games to explore.This is just a reboot of BioShock and where the original had a lot of interest for me it was not a very engaging story. Furthermore in an attempt to make the controls "better" for the PC they made them far worse. If I had paid full price I would have been very disappointed. I may eventually play it all the way through but for now I have more than enough interesting games to explore. This might have made an interesting DLC but is not worthy as a sequel to its far superior predecessor. Thank god I got it for free with my BioShock Infinite preorder. Expand
  69. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    Extreamly good game without many featuresin relation to the first game.
  70. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    There is no other game that I felt compassion and protective love against a character eventhough I am not a father myself. I'm not gonna talk about the gameplay its obvious and its not the winning side of this game. Its the FEEELINGS that this game made me taste that is worthwhile. (Maybe the walking dead came close to the same feelings)
  71. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    the game is like the previous release. but with new enemies and some new powers. i guess, if let you play as another person might be better. it is still a great game regardless. nothing really memorable to me, although the choice to save or eat the little sisters were interesting. some levels were fun but some were an annoying go around experience. not as unpredictable and scary as thethe game is like the previous release. but with new enemies and some new powers. i guess, if let you play as another person might be better. it is still a great game regardless. nothing really memorable to me, although the choice to save or eat the little sisters were interesting. some levels were fun but some were an annoying go around experience. not as unpredictable and scary as the first but it has more action though. Expand
  72. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    BIoshock 2 is amazing. It has a smarter story than the first one, with some real amazing moments and a better ending. All that and the game has a much slicker interface. You can wield the better plasma options alongside your weapons against the more imaginative enemies. The bosses are more interesting (well, Sander Cohen withstanding). Big Sister beats Big Daddy any day. The upgradeBIoshock 2 is amazing. It has a smarter story than the first one, with some real amazing moments and a better ending. All that and the game has a much slicker interface. You can wield the better plasma options alongside your weapons against the more imaginative enemies. The bosses are more interesting (well, Sander Cohen withstanding). Big Sister beats Big Daddy any day. The upgrade system is also more enjoyable and deeper. I loved the first game. But I saw the twists coming. I think it's because I played System Shock 2. Bioshock was excellent. Bioshock 2 is a masterpiece. Expand
  73. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    I bought this game on the winter sale in Steam. And I was not able to play it? because was furious of a persistent demands to register in MS Live. And also from the fact, that game settings are not saving, possibly because of the fact that I did not enter the MS Live, but it just puts the game in a worse light.
  74. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    Honestly, I would have rated this game a 7-8 if it wasn't for windows live. I couldn't get windows live to work once and I seriously can't see why I needed it to play single player through steam. It's a cheap, lazy means of DRM and I was annoyed as hell by it. As for the game, I played about 2 hours and just got bored. It was the same stuff as in bioshock 1 and it just didn't really gripHonestly, I would have rated this game a 7-8 if it wasn't for windows live. I couldn't get windows live to work once and I seriously can't see why I needed it to play single player through steam. It's a cheap, lazy means of DRM and I was annoyed as hell by it. As for the game, I played about 2 hours and just got bored. It was the same stuff as in bioshock 1 and it just didn't really grip me. I can see why some people might love that type of game, which is why I rated it as high as I did. I'm just tired of ubiquitous shooters with simplistic mechanics. But, if you loved Bioshock 1 and you're starving for more, you'll probably like this game because it gives you lots of almost exactly that. Expand
  75. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    Bioshock 2 is a thoroughly enjoyable game which improves on many aspects of the first game, but suffers a bit from lack of originality. In this game the 'morality system' matters a little bit more than in its predecessor, but in the end it mostly just determines whether you see the 'good' or 'bad' ending cinematic. There is also a improved array of plasmids and upgrades, a quicker andBioshock 2 is a thoroughly enjoyable game which improves on many aspects of the first game, but suffers a bit from lack of originality. In this game the 'morality system' matters a little bit more than in its predecessor, but in the end it mostly just determines whether you see the 'good' or 'bad' ending cinematic. There is also a improved array of plasmids and upgrades, a quicker and simpler hacking minigame, and a greatly improved research system. However, the basic gameplay remains the same and the storytelling is very similar. The story itself is not bad, but I found it less interesting and engaging than Bioshock, especially since you (presumably) already know all about Rapture--and thus there is far less mystery and shock value. Still well worth playing tho, especially if you enjoyed the first game. Expand
  76. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    Boring, glitchy and pretty irritating.
    Also managed to screw up my saved games and after a while stopped running.
    I regret buying this game.
    One of the few titles I am sorry I spent money on.
  77. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    I had played and enjoyed the original Bioshock a number of years ago- though I
  78. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Continued on from the original with a great setting and unique combat system while telling a great story amongst all this.

    Tacked on Multi-Player which was average but worth it for the single player.
  79. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The game might have been pretty much "recycled" from the first release, Bioshock 1, but a formula that works perfectly shouldn't be altered too much. All our favourite plasmids are still there, like electro shock, incinerate and so on, but with vast upgrades, as well as completely new and fun plasmids, like the cyclon trap. The game's approach to fast paced shooting sequences is stillThe game might have been pretty much "recycled" from the first release, Bioshock 1, but a formula that works perfectly shouldn't be altered too much. All our favourite plasmids are still there, like electro shock, incinerate and so on, but with vast upgrades, as well as completely new and fun plasmids, like the cyclon trap. The game's approach to fast paced shooting sequences is still there, with your character packing some serious heat, but also being extremely vulnerable to shotgun shell right in the face, which makes you feel like a glass cannon; in my opinion the perfect feel.
    What I liked the most, though, is the freedom given to you in this game. Within boundaries, of course. You are entitled to different approaches to problems. You can set up traps, sneak around dealing devastating sneak attacks or just come bargin in, kicking down the door wielding plasmids in one hand and a rocket launcher in your other hand and mashing in faces with drill attacks. Playing this game really took me back; I really felt like a kid unwrapping his first pc game and being totally immersed playing it.
    The story is also pretty grand, with consequence system resulting in a superb twist and with an ending that really nails the spot and makes you smile :) Not gonna spoil anything, so go try the game out ;)
    Although the game play and immersion might seem flawless, there are matters that deserve some criticism. The rpg elements are superb in this game, giving people the freedom of altering the character just the way they like it, but after some upgrades your character feels quite overpowered for the content. The only thing that saves it is the fact that you still take loads of damage from enemies, creating fast paced action with little time to react, with emphasis on the proactive game play. Early releases of the game also included some nasty bugs, but as of today, these seem to be ironed out and the game should run flawlessly.
    A big thumbs up from me; just finished the game and I want more!
    Expand
  80. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Bioshock 2 is a worth successor to Bioshock 1. It improves upon a number of the issues with Bioshock 1 (e.g. you can use weapons and plasmids, you can use more tonics, and they changed the hacking game). The story line is not as strong for this game, but it is still the driver in this game. I can't say anything bad about the game, except that it is not as groundbreaking as its predecessor.Bioshock 2 is a worth successor to Bioshock 1. It improves upon a number of the issues with Bioshock 1 (e.g. you can use weapons and plasmids, you can use more tonics, and they changed the hacking game). The story line is not as strong for this game, but it is still the driver in this game. I can't say anything bad about the game, except that it is not as groundbreaking as its predecessor. Highly recommended. Expand
  81. Nov 11, 2012
    5
    One of the worst games I've played. how does a game with almost no new functionality over the first have 4 times the bugs. The first Bioshock was amazing, the only game with a story I cared about. It was compelling, this just had melodrama. i hated all the characters the missions were forced, and so far I've seen nothing that adds anything to the story of rapture. the levels are 3 teiredOne of the worst games I've played. how does a game with almost no new functionality over the first have 4 times the bugs. The first Bioshock was amazing, the only game with a story I cared about. It was compelling, this just had melodrama. i hated all the characters the missions were forced, and so far I've seen nothing that adds anything to the story of rapture. the levels are 3 teired mazes and i spend the whole game getting shot and having no clue who is shooting me. the audio is **** where the original was masterful. being a big daddy is cool, but it was better in the first one. this is just escort missions. did the same team even make this? Expand
  82. Oct 15, 2012
    1
    i am so mad, ima go buck nasty, who creates game like this. i am angry about it. i get NO ladies playing this game whatsoever no girls wanna play this with me
  83. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    Despite a completely new storyline, new enemies and weapons, and updated graphics, this game felt a lot like more of the same. There really weren't many parts of this game that made me feel like I was playing a different game than Bioshock, not that I'm complaining.
  84. Jul 7, 2012
    5
    Doesn't match the hype. I hate not finishing games, but this one really just feels like a waste of time. I played the first one and found it not to be ground-breaking, but it had an original storyline and world, with some interesting gameplay. ----Now, this one, while it doesn't ruin anything from the first one, it doesn't do a single thing to improve it, and it seems just that muchDoesn't match the hype. I hate not finishing games, but this one really just feels like a waste of time. I played the first one and found it not to be ground-breaking, but it had an original storyline and world, with some interesting gameplay. ----Now, this one, while it doesn't ruin anything from the first one, it doesn't do a single thing to improve it, and it seems just that much less original since it comes after the Bioshock 1 and does so little to improve the world, the gameplay, or the story. I daresay the story is a little more simple and less inspired, hence the reviewers who trash this title. Still, it's a little inaccurate to give this an atrocious score. It still has its assortment of interesting little baddies and nostalgic tapes. You can still catch yourself laughing while cringing at the snatches of conversation you hear between the other inmates of your little slice of hell. You still scan the walls for bits of nostalgic flavor - you just find yourself less surprised and less effected because it all feels like you've been here before. And you have...both your character and you... in Bioshock 1. And there the story was just a little more gripping. Expand
  85. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    Games for Windows Live failed a mandatory update and destroyed my saved games, which seem to be kept on a remote server. Bioshock 2 is thoroughly contaminated with DRM and installs gigabytes of junk.
  86. May 20, 2012
    4
    Pretend your eating bland and mediocre food and your still hungry no matter how much you eat so you just keep on eating, that's a sum up of this game, for a price of 20$ on steam it is NOT WORTH IT, maybe MAYBE 5 bucks as this is what i payed for it, I was not pissed considering price and game play that i got but this is a really boring story with levels involving you doing the same stuffPretend your eating bland and mediocre food and your still hungry no matter how much you eat so you just keep on eating, that's a sum up of this game, for a price of 20$ on steam it is NOT WORTH IT, maybe MAYBE 5 bucks as this is what i payed for it, I was not pissed considering price and game play that i got but this is a really boring story with levels involving you doing the same stuff over and over again, your fighting the same enemies and you get a somewhat interesting story line but the tedious game play just crushes it completely.

    If you you really liked the game play of bioshock one and I mean you really just want to play anything that has all of that game play style, you might want to buy this one on sale.
    Expand
  87. May 11, 2012
    9
    I really love how they created a big city under the sea. It's like an whole new culture was created in the game. This game has very good voice acting, like the first Bioshock. The plasmids, weapons and hacking are better than the first game. The story is not that good, comparing to the first game, but still very enjoyable. Some people complained that the game is a little too short (AndI really love how they created a big city under the sea. It's like an whole new culture was created in the game. This game has very good voice acting, like the first Bioshock. The plasmids, weapons and hacking are better than the first game. The story is not that good, comparing to the first game, but still very enjoyable. Some people complained that the game is a little too short (And yes, it is in fact shorter than the first game), but I think it is the perfect length a game can have. You can finish the game before you got bored of it. BioShock Infinite is coming, and because of the fun brought to me by BioShock and BioShock 2, I am really looking forward to BioShock Infinite. Expand
  88. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    Its a different game than the first one. First game introduced an amazing world and amazing set of characters. This one has the feel of "been there", but it innovates enough with the concept of you being a Big Daddy, introducing Big Sisters and giving little improvements, such as balancing of plasmids that make as enjoyable of an experience as the first one.
  89. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, the GOTY 2010! The ending was the best I've ever seen in my life, and everything has been improved in the sequel, only bad in multiplayer with some problems.
  90. Mar 15, 2012
    1
    its forced sequel to bioshock 1, one of its big innovations is having the ability to use a plasmid and a gun at the same time :0. sadly the game is lacking in any kind of story give a **** and that's why i give it 1
  91. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Being the Encore to one of my favorite games of 2007 I had high expectations for this game, this is inevitably the downfall of ND 3RD Et Cetera of games. This expectation of a better game than the first brings down many games or at least for me it does. But Bio shock 2 managed to pull it off. The story telling was much more in depth and holes where few and far between almost unnoticeableBeing the Encore to one of my favorite games of 2007 I had high expectations for this game, this is inevitably the downfall of ND 3RD Et Cetera of games. This expectation of a better game than the first brings down many games or at least for me it does. But Bio shock 2 managed to pull it off. The story telling was much more in depth and holes where few and far between almost unnoticeable in some areas. It excels in this area that Bio shock struggled to get around. But the gameplay is not as good, the first game put story aside to bring you into this mysterious and powerful place where pretty much everything can kill you with ease if you don't use tactics. This changed in the second one where practically the only thing more powerful than you and you might struggle with is the big sister but any any gamer with OK hand eye co-ordination will not struggle at all. The plasmids are brought to mind whilst playing Bio shock being just one of the many defining features, in the first they had this method of one at a time where you would have to change from plasmid to weapon, this brought a new level of tactics to the game as you must think before you act, Bio shock 2 turned this feature into a button mash as you through as much at your enemy as possible with the knowledge that they will die.The weapons themselves however have been smartly updated and changed to fit a big lumbering monster. This brings me to the final point I wish to make the little sisters, they turned the most annoying part of Bio shock 1 into a common place event. But now for the rating 9/10 because even through all its flaws I still play it over and over because of it amazing scenery, epic story line and gameplay that just makes you feel like your the boss and everyone else has to work up to your level. Would i recommend it definitely. Should you think of going for infinite yes and if you have not played Bio shock 1 yet I think you should give it a go, but don't go in expecting to rampage through everything like your a tank it doesn't work on the original. Expand
  92. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Bioshock 2 is more of the same, or perhaps less of the same. However since the original bioshock's world was so staggeringly inviting and original, more of the same in this context is not bad. I guess what I am saying is that it takes more than two games set in the same world for genre fatigue to set in. This game also makes some mild improvements to the gameplay and mechanics, it's storyBioshock 2 is more of the same, or perhaps less of the same. However since the original bioshock's world was so staggeringly inviting and original, more of the same in this context is not bad. I guess what I am saying is that it takes more than two games set in the same world for genre fatigue to set in. This game also makes some mild improvements to the gameplay and mechanics, it's story is solid - although not as masterful as the originals - and the game still maintains a sense of emotional weight. It's major downfall for me is it's length, and a more enclosed world that feels a little more like a rails-first-person-shooter than bioshock has any right to feel. I enjoyed the heck out of this game - although it's absolutely a step in the wrong direction. Expand
  93. Jan 21, 2012
    7
    To me, the original Bioshock was better than this one. It seemed by trying to make a multiplayer, they just forgot about the singleplayer. The game was good, but it seemed that they should've focused on the singleplayer a bit more because I found the multiplayer terrible and that the multiplayer downgraded the singleplayer expierence. I also didn't like the idea of the game and should'veTo me, the original Bioshock was better than this one. It seemed by trying to make a multiplayer, they just forgot about the singleplayer. The game was good, but it seemed that they should've focused on the singleplayer a bit more because I found the multiplayer terrible and that the multiplayer downgraded the singleplayer expierence. I also didn't like the idea of the game and should've gone with another idea. Overall, I would suggest if you're a Bioshock fan, to not buy the game unless you want to play a sequel that is disappointing compared to the original. Expand
  94. Jan 19, 2012
    5
    Won't run. Huge crazy mess in forums to fix it. In 2012 it shouldn't take over 30 minutes max to setup a game and have it function. 5 hours later I'm at square one. If it worked it would probably be around 8 if it's close to the first game.
  95. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Excellent game, the story is its strongest point. With touches of role on the management of items / powers / enhancements, this first-person game one of the most engaging, although it is recommended to play the first one to understand and enjoy 2. The game very well optimized, has excellent graphics and an incredible atmosphere, addictive gameplay and duration of the campaign is quite longExcellent game, the story is its strongest point. With touches of role on the management of items / powers / enhancements, this first-person game one of the most engaging, although it is recommended to play the first one to understand and enjoy 2. The game very well optimized, has excellent graphics and an incredible atmosphere, addictive gameplay and duration of the campaign is quite long (about 20 hours and a bit more). The changes between the previous (That was one of the best games of 2007) are not very noticeable, and this does not mean it is bad, and that remains the highlight of the first delivery. The only criticism is the multiplayer, not because it is bad (although I miss a bit to at least be "addictive"), but that all servers are empty. But the singleplayer and is a gem, so it should not be a problem this. Expand
  96. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    As always - Bioshock kick arse! Perhaps not as pleasant as the original (but common - let's face it - it was awesome because it was so new, and unique) the second part still is a fun shooter-walker! :) enjoyed it a lot. Can't wait to play Dead Space 2!
  97. Jan 1, 2012
    6
    Bioshock 1 instantly impressed with its unique design and kept the player hooked with its uncommon gameplay and story through the game. Now with bioshock 2 it is somehow like hearing the same joke twice in a row. It fails to deliver enough new elements to be interesting. While i would really love to tell positive things about this game since i generally really like the combination of 3dBioshock 1 instantly impressed with its unique design and kept the player hooked with its uncommon gameplay and story through the game. Now with bioshock 2 it is somehow like hearing the same joke twice in a row. It fails to deliver enough new elements to be interesting. While i would really love to tell positive things about this game since i generally really like the combination of 3d shooter with slight rpg elements i just honestly can not do so. I did not even manage to finish the game, just got bored after a while and stopped playing it. Sure will give it a second chance some time and maybe even enjoy finishing it than, but at its release it just disappointed me. 6/10 Expand
  98. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    This is the second part of an amazing game but i think is not in the same high level of the first Bioshock. The graphics is a little worst, the gameplay the same but it has one more time a very nice story and an amazing cinematic ending.
  99. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    simply copy of Bioshock however still perfect to play, good story.... minus a point because of technical issues with GFW - solved after 2 hours findings on internet
  100. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    Bioshock 2 is a game that improves on the gameplay and the mechanics of its successor, yet fails to deliver on any of the important aspects of what made the first installment great. Namely, the story, of which there is almost none. Perspective takes a turn as you now play, 10 years after the initial Bioshock, as a Big Daddy. Early on, the Little Sister that you are bonded to is taken away,Bioshock 2 is a game that improves on the gameplay and the mechanics of its successor, yet fails to deliver on any of the important aspects of what made the first installment great. Namely, the story, of which there is almost none. Perspective takes a turn as you now play, 10 years after the initial Bioshock, as a Big Daddy. Early on, the Little Sister that you are bonded to is taken away, and the entire game involves your efforts of trying to rescue her. Whereas in the original, 2K provoked thought and the formation of opinions on matters of ethical issues, they failed to deliver anything akin to that in the sequel. I know that a game as good as Bioshock is incredibly hard to live up to, but I can't help but feel that the effort put into the second one was minimal at best. Graphics have improved, thankfully, as has the combat system, but that doesn't make up for the fact that I had to sit through an uninteresting story with characters (specifically Eleanor) whose voices weren't emotional enough to get me to care about them. This game was a letdown from the first, but it wasn't a complete waste. It's still worth getting, so long as you don't pay too much for it. On the plus side, the multiplayer is strangely addicting, and very underrated. Expand
  101. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    This is the second part of an amazing game but i think is not in the same high level of the first Bioshock. The graphics is a little worst, the gameplay the same but it has one more time a very nice story and an amazing cinematic ending.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. PC Gamer
    90
    Similar and slightly improved mechanics make this a worthy sequel, despite a sadly less-memorable story. [Mar 2010, p.70]
  2. 86
    A conservative return to Rapture, but full of quality.
  3. If 2K had managed to tell a story that equalled or bettered that found in the original, we'd have been left with an unquestionably better experience, rather than just a more exciting, smarter shooter.