Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 399 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Come back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at the bottom of the ocean, built almost entirely from scratch in the BioShock Infinite engine. Gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges the best parts of BioShock and BioShock Infinite: new weapons, new Plasmids/Vigors, Tears, Sky-Lines, and Big Daddies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    It’s an affectionately crafted homage to the first game, retroactively building on the grim story and Ayn Rand-ian themes, galvanising them with a fresh perspective whilst simultaneously tying Rapture more wholly into the Columbian narrative. It’s intelligent, indulgent and nostalgic in equal measure, left dangling on a transfixing narrative hook. It’s everything we love about BioShock, condensed.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    After completing the first episode of this Bioshock Infinite: Burial at Sea, it clearly appears that mixing Bioshock and Bioshock Infinite universes was a very good idea indeed, and maybe the best reason for a solo DLC. Going through Rapture is a true joy, and the meeting with Elizabeth as a pin-up is great. The gameplay, the art direction and the scenario are still very interesting. The only drawback are the two hours of play sold for 15€. You should go for the Season Pack!
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    77
    While Forza Motorsport 5 delivers the best-looking experience in the franchise’s history, it’s impossible to recommend at a full-price purchase. The revamped in-game economy makes getting cars seem like a chore, which in turn makes the idea of races seem like one – and that’s a very bad thing for a racing game since you’ll be doing a lot of that.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Part One of Burial at Sea is predicated on so many constants and variables that it will undoubtedly prove divisive. It feels all too brief, even as half of a two-part whole, but it delivers a rich storyline that builds to a suitably stunning climax.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    You might have been to the city before, but in Burial at Sea, it remains as alluring a creation as it ever was.
  6. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Practically oozing fan service from every pore, Burial at Sea is both as glorious and as imperfect as Rapture itself.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    50
    Burial at Sea seems a prime example of the tail wagging the dog, and the result is an adventure with fantastic sights and sounds that don't come together in a meaningful way.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 86
  2. Negative: 10 out of 86
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Short for a $15 game, but then again, it's Bioshock. It's not about the length of the game, it's about the quality.

    I would rather have a
    quality A+, polished game, than a long and unfinished one.

    This is definitely worth the purchuse
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    First of all, I would love to say thanks to team of Irrational Games for bringing me back to Rapture. I cant describe how wonderful to go back to one of my favorite places in videogames world. All i can say game design and atmosphere are incredible, I made about 200 screenshots! Well done!
    I love the story. Its good to meet Booker and Elizabeth again.
    DLC is quiet harder than the game itself, you are suffering from a lack of ammo and large amount of damage from splicers. And its a good thing!
    So I will give this DLC 10/10, because I got everything I was expecting from this DLC. And I`m looking forward to Episode 2! The end of the Episode 1 left me so hungry for more.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    The entire DLC actually feels quite different from any Bioshock the pre-fall rapture has a much more modern feel, while the department store has a lot more of a horror element than seen anywhere in Infinite.. A lot of the plot doesn't quite go along quite well, but the minor references to Infinite and the amazing ending made this a nice little escape. Don't expect too much it took me 3 hours, and I didn't find much replay value. Also, consider buying the season pass instead, as the $15 price is a little bit hefty. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2014
    8
    It feels good to be back in Rapture. The biggest selling point for the first episode of Burial at Sea is seeing Rapture in its prime. The first hour or so where you can freely walk through a large open area inside rapture is awesome.
    It does come with its downsides, the pacing feels kind of weird because of the combat overkill in the second half of the game. The biggest disappointment besides its short length is the second area. Booker and Elizabeth are sent to a sunken down part of rapture where splicers run rampant.
    It looks like a environment from the first game and i would have rather spent more time in Rapture in its glory. Overall i think this is a good piece of dlc and a must have for every Bioshock fan.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    I was ambivalent about it until the end... then I really liked it. I enjoyed the combat which has definitely been improved since infinite. I think my biggest complaints are: that since you are in Rapture, you should use the Rapture names for the plasmids (electro bolt not shock jockey), buying plasmid power-ups from gene banks and not gatherer gardens (what's up with that?), the story--there just wasn't really anything leading up to the ending (which I loved BTW), and that there aren't eve hypos. But shout out to the ever amazing Sander Cohen and Fitzgerald (Piano Explosion man) cameos. I can't wait to play episode 2! Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    This was a good continuation of the Rapture story intertwined with the new Colombia Story. I love seeing Booker and Elizabeth in the world of Rapture. The story and scenery were the only really big changes in addition of Bioshock, other then that the controls are still just as smooth and fun as Infinite. The scenery is amazing, I love seeing Rapture in its glory days, where Andrew Ryan beats Fontain. The story is the only place that really causes problems for me. While it is still the good classic writing that we've come to expect from Irrational Games, its way to short. There is more that could have been added to this dlc to make it more worth the money. For this reason alone the game three points. But its still a very good game and makes me excited for part 2. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2014
    0
    Overpriced DLC to the one of the most overrated video games of all time. All the plot elements in Bioshock Infinite have been done before in Star Trek, Sliders, Quantum Leap and Fox's Fringe. So don't listen to the durps that try to convince you it's original and hasn't been done before.

    As for the DLC, 15 bucks for one hour of gameplay? Don't encourage this greed, just say no to this overpriced filth.
    Expand

See all 86 User Reviews