Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 432 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Come back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at theCome back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at the bottom of the ocean, built almost entirely from scratch in the BioShock Infinite engine. Gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges the best parts of BioShock and BioShock Infinite: new weapons, new Plasmids/Vigors, Tears, Sky-Lines, and Big Daddies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    It’s an affectionately crafted homage to the first game, retroactively building on the grim story and Ayn Rand-ian themes, galvanising them with a fresh perspective whilst simultaneously tying Rapture more wholly into the Columbian narrative. It’s intelligent, indulgent and nostalgic in equal measure, left dangling on a transfixing narrative hook. It’s everything we love about BioShock, condensed.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    After completing the first episode of this Bioshock Infinite: Burial at Sea, it clearly appears that mixing Bioshock and Bioshock Infinite universes was a very good idea indeed, and maybe the best reason for a solo DLC. Going through Rapture is a true joy, and the meeting with Elizabeth as a pin-up is great. The gameplay, the art direction and the scenario are still very interesting. The only drawback are the two hours of play sold for 15€. You should go for the Season Pack!
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    77
    While Forza Motorsport 5 delivers the best-looking experience in the franchise’s history, it’s impossible to recommend at a full-price purchase. The revamped in-game economy makes getting cars seem like a chore, which in turn makes the idea of races seem like one – and that’s a very bad thing for a racing game since you’ll be doing a lot of that.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Part One of Burial at Sea is predicated on so many constants and variables that it will undoubtedly prove divisive. It feels all too brief, even as half of a two-part whole, but it delivers a rich storyline that builds to a suitably stunning climax.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    You might have been to the city before, but in Burial at Sea, it remains as alluring a creation as it ever was.
  6. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Practically oozing fan service from every pore, Burial at Sea is both as glorious and as imperfect as Rapture itself.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    50
    Burial at Sea seems a prime example of the tail wagging the dog, and the result is an adventure with fantastic sights and sounds that don't come together in a meaningful way.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 90
  2. Negative: 12 out of 90
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Short for a $15 game, but then again, it's Bioshock. It's not about the length of the game, it's about the quality.

    I would rather have a
    Short for a $15 game, but then again, it's Bioshock. It's not about the length of the game, it's about the quality.

    I would rather have a quality A+, polished game, than a long and unfinished one.

    This is definitely worth the purchuse
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    The first story based DLC for Bioshock: Infinite is a fantastic return to rapture. Piecing together the connections between worlds isThe first story based DLC for Bioshock: Infinite is a fantastic return to rapture. Piecing together the connections between worlds is incredibly entertaining and i cant wait for part 2. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Let me start by saying I did not have an issue with the length of this DLC as so many others have. I played on 1999 difficulty, and theLet me start by saying I did not have an issue with the length of this DLC as so many others have. I played on 1999 difficulty, and the scarcity of supplies caused this episode to play out in a very deliberate, considered way, more of a survival horror than the original Bioshock. It took me nearly 4 hours to complete, but I did scavenge every nook and cranny, collecting all the audio logs and savoring every detail. And there are details aplenty. Rapture redone in the Infinite engine, especially in its pre-fall splendor, is sumptuous, a stylish, smoke-filled environment that's full of character. The NPCs here are more interesting instead of everyone having one attitude "all hail the Prophet!" the denizens of Ryan's world, by philosophy, are more diverse, more intellectually keen.

    Aside from scarcity and difficulty, the combat doesn't turn over any new stones. The new Old Man Winter vigor is a rehash of the freezing plasmid in the original Bioshock, and the weapons play as slight modifications to their Infinite counterparts. While introducing sky rails to Rapture seems a little forced, they do add Infinite's important dimension and thrilling immediacy to the gameplay.

    I've heard the twist ending is ineffective because you know a twist is coming I'd disagree on that front as well. The content of that twist is still very surprising, even if you've braced yourself for it. It's a well thought out narrative with a few gaps that need bridging, but there's no reason not to believe they'll be covered in Episode 2, which I eagerly await.
    Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    It's short, 30 mins to 2 hrs, but still made me happy to be back in Rapture. I loved BioShock Infinite and BioShock, it's nice how they'reIt's short, 30 mins to 2 hrs, but still made me happy to be back in Rapture. I loved BioShock Infinite and BioShock, it's nice how they're trying to tie up the two worlds. And because it was short, it makes me excited for the next episode. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    I liked the short rush through Rapture, but every Addon just feels not like a real game, so I think you should stop that Addon stuff and justI liked the short rush through Rapture, but every Addon just feels not like a real game, so I think you should stop that Addon stuff and just go on to develope the next game. However if you look at Crysis Warhead you know that an Addon can be good in quality and quantity. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    An entertaining addition to the game and all of the environments are very well done like in the original. the combat us more of the same withAn entertaining addition to the game and all of the environments are very well done like in the original. the combat us more of the same with fast paced running gunning, jumping from rails and blasting enemies with super powers. the story could have used a little more depth and for the 15.00 dollar price tag though its just far to short. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2014
    0
    Overpriced DLC to the one of the most overrated video games of all time. All the plot elements in Bioshock Infinite have been done before inOverpriced DLC to the one of the most overrated video games of all time. All the plot elements in Bioshock Infinite have been done before in Star Trek, Sliders, Quantum Leap and Fox's Fringe. So don't listen to the durps that try to convince you it's original and hasn't been done before.

    As for the DLC, 15 bucks for one hour of gameplay? Don't encourage this greed, just say no to this overpriced filth.
    Expand

See all 90 User Reviews