Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6283 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soonInitially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    You gotta play the game, if only to watch the breathtaking beauty of Columbia. No other setting in videogaming history can hope to getYou gotta play the game, if only to watch the breathtaking beauty of Columbia. No other setting in videogaming history can hope to get anywhere near close the sheer awesomeness of the flying city of Bioshock Infinite. Apart from that, the gameplay is good (although not flawless), the longevity is average for the genre and the plot is one of the best ever seen for a first person shooter - that may not sound particularly impressive, considered that the average plot for a first person shooter is nonexistent, but the plot of Bioshock Infinite is actually good, and the game ends with a bang. This game is a must play, period. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Well, I'm fresh from completing the game. And I must admit, I never in my gamer-life played one so good, with so well written plot, heavilyWell, I'm fresh from completing the game. And I must admit, I never in my gamer-life played one so good, with so well written plot, heavily filled with emotions, with amazing written characters meaning by it, of course Elizabeth, but also Rosalind and Robert Lutece, Comstock, and many, many more. Last hours of game are an emotional rollercoaster. And the ending left me on my knees all choked up.
    I never were so bewitched(and I'm a woman!) with a game companion like that since Half Life2. Damn, I deem Elizabeth as even higher than Alyx.
    With such great, well thought plot comes also very dynamic, satysfying, maybe sometimes chaotic gameplay that shows that it is a true shooter. But this game is enhancing every part of it. I never really was into gameplay, but in this game it was very pleasurable experience. Elizabeth only makes it better. Believe me she makes the difference :)
    Also, soundtrack is masterpiece. I especially love "Will the circle be unbroken" but there's a lot of music in game dynamic during fights, heating your blood, sometimes nostalgic when needed, and there's also Cindy Lauper ;)
    I can't say anything bad about this game. It's the most perfectly made game I had a pleasure to play. Well done Irrational, well done indeed. You rocked my world. Now... would you kindly give us even more such mind blowing games? :)
    Buy it, play it, you won't regret this. This game has a soul.
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts withThe graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    As it always happens with this franchise, the new bioshock title is a must have. The story is intelligent and full of impresive twists, theAs it always happens with this franchise, the new bioshock title is a must have. The story is intelligent and full of impresive twists, the graphics are great and the flawless music is probably going to recieve a lot of awards. I won't give it a 10 however, because of its reduced duration, and because, while fantastic, it's not as brilliant as the first one. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    Bioshock Infinite does a lot of things right. Elizabeth is one of the best characters to ever appear in a game and the world is beautiful;Bioshock Infinite does a lot of things right. Elizabeth is one of the best characters to ever appear in a game and the world is beautiful; unfortunately many little things keep the game from the level of greatness a lot of people are laying upon it. Pacing is inconsistent, many abilities feel completely similar with only cosmetic differences, and the lack of save anywhere is inexcusable, especially when both previous Bioshock titles allowed it. Lastly, while beautifully realized, the world of Columbia just isn’t as interesting or as “real” as Rapture from the previous Bioshock games.

    The game is still very good but it’s still disappointing because it could have been truly great.
    Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    The game is not bad but I must say that I enjoyed the first Bioshock more and to a lesser degree Bioshock 2. It just doesn't have that gemThe game is not bad but I must say that I enjoyed the first Bioshock more and to a lesser degree Bioshock 2. It just doesn't have that gem quality the first one did. As a shooter it is mediocre. As a story driven action adventure the story is only mildly compelling with the usual go here do this, go here do that. Many of its spells/augmentations seem to be there just as filler as they don't really add much to the game. The art direction is very good but that's to be expected from Irrational, if only they didn't use the same rather outdated engine. The game was also a bit repetitive. The quality is there as a triple A game would demand but it just didn't dazzle me as much as Dishonored did, which I think competes well in this genre. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    Graphics are fantastic, there's a kind of poesy but it's not enough

    In fact, this game is an empty FPS, a corridor game I can't
    Graphics are fantastic, there's a kind of poesy but it's not enough

    In fact, this game is an empty FPS, a corridor game

    I can't understand why this game is rated so high, "gameplay" remembers late 90's before Half Life 1
    Expand

See all 1442 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.