User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3104 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    Bioshock is a phenomenal and groundbreaking video game with one of the most imaginative gameworlds ever. The underwater utopia of Rapture is an artistic and fun city to explore. Bioshock’s innovative narration tells the story of Rapture’s high-class citizens through the accessible audio logs scattered throughout the city. The voice acting is brilliant and following the tales of theseBioshock is a phenomenal and groundbreaking video game with one of the most imaginative gameworlds ever. The underwater utopia of Rapture is an artistic and fun city to explore. Bioshock’s innovative narration tells the story of Rapture’s high-class citizens through the accessible audio logs scattered throughout the city. The voice acting is brilliant and following the tales of these secondary characters spruces up Bioshock’s overall story. This method of narration is very effective, because it doesn’t interrupt the main focus of Bioshock: the gameplay. Simply referring to this game as just a first person shooter is doing Bioshock a disservice. It features revolutionary RPG mechanics and unrivaled level design. Scrounging around an area for unique ammunition, Eve hypos, and invaluable weapon upgrade stations are rewarding experiences. Most importantly, participating in Bioshock’s clever level design will prepare you for the chaotic skirmishes with Big Daddies, which are menacing guardians that protect the little Adam factories with their massive drills, rivet guns, and rocket launchers. There are two forms of currency in Rapture: dollars and Adam. Dollars are acquired through conventional means, such as searching crates or cracking safes. However, Adam can only be gathered by the orphaned girls venturing through Rapture in search of “angels”. Unfortunately, Bioshock is no masterpiece, especially the PC port. You cannot rebind plasmids or weapons to a particular hotkey, and hacking machines are time consuming and temporarily bring Bioshock’s exciting gameplay to halt. In addition, the game is also plagued with some mouse sensitivity and audio problems. However, the sound and mouse issues are fixable. Bioshock’s unrivaled story and groundbreaking gameplay mechanics deliver a nearly perfect gaming experience. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played, hands down. 2K never fails to please. Firstly, the plot is AMAZING. The voice acting is extremely well done, better than most games these days. The gameplay is really cool and new, with the plasmids and everything. The graphics are good to look at, despite some texture errors as the level loads (but that's expected). The music and generalThis is one of the best games I have ever played, hands down. 2K never fails to please. Firstly, the plot is AMAZING. The voice acting is extremely well done, better than most games these days. The gameplay is really cool and new, with the plasmids and everything. The graphics are good to look at, despite some texture errors as the level loads (but that's expected). The music and general ambiance is really cool, making it one of the most immersive games I've ever played. If you're into good story, and a generally good experience rather than just looking for explosions (*Cough Call of Duty Cough*) then this is DEFINITELY the game for you. As a side note, I have to say I am sick to death of people on metacritic **** about either the game crashing or about the "huge score that the game doesn't deserve". If you think the game deserves a 7, give it a damn 7 and not a 0 just to bring the average score down...an average is the COLLECTIVE opinion of everyone. Those people giving it a **** score to change the big score need to think more about everyone else...your opinion isn't the one that should be shown. Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    A very sound game with some unique features but too short for my liking and the ending is poor. On the other hand, the setting is visually stunning, the story is well told and thoughtful (especially the tapes) and the plasmid idea is interesting. One gets the impression that mixing philosophical and moral issues with liberal amounts of violence tends to confuse people. This kind of thingA very sound game with some unique features but too short for my liking and the ending is poor. On the other hand, the setting is visually stunning, the story is well told and thoughtful (especially the tapes) and the plasmid idea is interesting. One gets the impression that mixing philosophical and moral issues with liberal amounts of violence tends to confuse people. This kind of thing only works once and even then not for everyone. A shooter is a shooter no matter how you dress it up, but Bioshock dresses it up extremely well and is definitely a game that is worth playing and that will be remembered. I didn't find that much replayability myself, but when I did play I was thoroughly entertained, except perhaps for the ending. An FPS devotee should not miss it. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    This is an epic beginning to an epic franchise. It's got story. It's got action. It's got puzzles. It's got everything! It just doesn't have its story told through videos. Even better: The story and interactions happen while you're playing. You save the game whenever you want. The graphics are excellent and the controls too. A diverse range of weapons and equipments. Splendid!
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Certainly one of the greats when it comes to video games. It is filled with fun mysterys and great action i love it certainly give it a 10/10 at some parts it may make you say creeeeeeeeeeeepy but its not really a scary game. you have to try it.
  6. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    Can just appreciate the unique design and gaming experience this game delivered. Very well made and enjoyable to play. Just missing some features increasing replay value, thats all. Also a big thank you to 2k for not ruining the game by trying to press a mediocre coop mode into it. This current game generation a lot of potentially good singleplayer games got ruined this way.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Bioshock is both overrated by critics and underrated by users. In my opinion it's too flawed to be scored a 96/100 but it's definitely not a terrible game like most people will tell you. I like the setting, the story, and the gameplay for the most part, except I have one major problem. The vitachambers make the difficulty balance seem a little lazy. You can turn them off, sure but I don'tBioshock is both overrated by critics and underrated by users. In my opinion it's too flawed to be scored a 96/100 but it's definitely not a terrible game like most people will tell you. I like the setting, the story, and the gameplay for the most part, except I have one major problem. The vitachambers make the difficulty balance seem a little lazy. You can turn them off, sure but I don't think they should have built a game surrounding a concept like that. Otherwise I feel the gameplay is strong, the weapons are cool though there could have been more plasmids, and it's rather lengthy too, around 12-15 hours your first time. The story is surprisingly deep but it's unfortunate that most of it is told only through dialogue. Worth a play if you ask me. Expand
  8. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Great graphics for it's time,fascinating story,and the ending is so touching.
    So violent,yet so deep.
    With all if it's faults(due being the first bioshock game),it is really a "must play"!
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Hands down, the most immersive video game I've ever played. It has the best atmosphere I have ever seen- the setting was initially terrifying, which thrilled me, and this aspect was augmented by challenging gameplay. You are given abilities to play according to your style, using weapons adapted to your preferences. The storyline is a strong point, which is rare for a FPS. The only downsideHands down, the most immersive video game I've ever played. It has the best atmosphere I have ever seen- the setting was initially terrifying, which thrilled me, and this aspect was augmented by challenging gameplay. You are given abilities to play according to your style, using weapons adapted to your preferences. The storyline is a strong point, which is rare for a FPS. The only downside to the game is the repetitive hacking of machines, which got dull after the first 20 hacks. I would highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a memorable FPS. I will never forget this game. Expand
  10. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    This game is a real gem, full of horrible moral dilemmas and unique gameplay mechanics. Yes you can go through the whole game with just the starter weapons, but what's the fun in that with so many different toys to play with? The biggest problem I had was with the ending; You are either Mother Teresa or a baby eater. It's really sad that they're milking this for all it's worth because it'sThis game is a real gem, full of horrible moral dilemmas and unique gameplay mechanics. Yes you can go through the whole game with just the starter weapons, but what's the fun in that with so many different toys to play with? The biggest problem I had was with the ending; You are either Mother Teresa or a baby eater. It's really sad that they're milking this for all it's worth because it's really a good game on it's own. Expand
  11. 6nd
    Nov 23, 2013
    9
    While it is currently raining here, I thought I'd take this as a chance to flesh out my continued obsession with Ken Levine's beautifully zeitgeist; 'Shock Series'.

    Anywhore, as I have stated a few days earlier (and in the introduction). I love Ken's work, it's the superior pacing, the fresh storytelling, and the bold craftsmanship. All of which comes together, and forms a lovely
    While it is currently raining here, I thought I'd take this as a chance to flesh out my continued obsession with Ken Levine's beautifully zeitgeist; 'Shock Series'.

    Anywhore, as I have stated a few days earlier (and in the introduction). I love Ken's work, it's the superior pacing, the fresh storytelling, and the bold craftsmanship. All of which comes together, and forms a lovely reprise that allows us. Nay, gives us the ability to stand atop our chairs, finally see what's beyond the heaping pile of the rubbish we usually have had slopped on our plates, and demand better. But after playing System Shock 2, and seeing what advanced game play mechanics we're capable of achieving on the shoddy, limited, broken, and eyebleedingly simple caveman hardware of the late 90's, I got to thinking. How can we keep demanding a dumbed down, overtly simple, and linear experience? A excellent example would be the spiritual successor to the late great System Shock, BioShock. Now I know this sounds like nitpicking, but I found a multitude of instances where it's lack of key successive element's disheartening, E.G. The sexy RPG side, and if anyone reading this has played SS2, than you know exactly what 'sexy' I'm referring to. Actually, come to think of it. I'm starting to rethink using the word zeitgeist. But getting back to my current rant. It's the lack of these element's that were the sole responsibility for it's change from: Serious, and personalized role playing en devour. To: simplistic, and user friendly pick up and play shooter.

    Now, don't get me wrong. I've said it twice, and I'll say it again. I love the work that 2K, Irrational, Looking Glass, and Levine put into those games worlds. Really it's just sad to see the majority rule of the ignorant masses, how they have come to completely control the previously unfettered epic that was the development industry, then proceeded to hurl it like a derailed train flung directly into a bridge abutment.

    But, I digress. Any real complaints sitting in my head when playing BioShock are usually reconciled, and quite quickly I might add, by the fact that you can shoot swarms of bee's from your hands. And anything that allows you to shoot swarms of bee's from one's hands, well I say it deserves a break, at least for that.
    Expand
  12. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    I was very pleased with this game. The story is especially the strongest points of this game, along with its setting. Difficulty wise, you'll probably only find a challenge if you play on the hardest difficulty settings, and even then you'll be swamped with ammo and money all the time. The combat also feels a bit... 'meh'. It doesn't really have a lot to the combat, however they did a veryI was very pleased with this game. The story is especially the strongest points of this game, along with its setting. Difficulty wise, you'll probably only find a challenge if you play on the hardest difficulty settings, and even then you'll be swamped with ammo and money all the time. The combat also feels a bit... 'meh'. It doesn't really have a lot to the combat, however they did a very good job with the variation with the Plasmids. I really enjoyed using those. I also found it extremely pleasing to look at, seeing the ruins of what was once a very inspiring city built underwater being filled with mutated humans and armored wrecking machines called Big Daddies brings in a lot of atmosphere.

    In short, the setting and story-line is unexpectedly fantastic, though the combat will fall a bit short after a few hours of playing and should definitely be played on the hardest difficulty for the best challenge.
    Expand
  13. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. Top-notch 1950s soundtrack, very atmospheric underwater setting. Weapon & plasmid combat balance "feels" just right. Good voice acting, great plot (and plot twist). Nice low frequency rumbles of the Big Daddies (if you have decent headphones or speakers). Bioshock is one of the best games I've ever played, up there with Deus Ex, etc, for "top 5 games of the decade"). AFantastic game. Top-notch 1950s soundtrack, very atmospheric underwater setting. Weapon & plasmid combat balance "feels" just right. Good voice acting, great plot (and plot twist). Nice low frequency rumbles of the Big Daddies (if you have decent headphones or speakers). Bioshock is one of the best games I've ever played, up there with Deus Ex, etc, for "top 5 games of the decade"). A worthy "spiritual successor" to System Shock 2. It's sad that a 2007-era game (which doesn't feel "dated" at all compared to many others) is of a far higher "polished" finished production quality than many bug-ridden 2013 games... Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    I couldn't understand the hype over Bioshock infinite- Bioshock 1 will always remain in my heart as the best Bioshock of them all, the story is amazing and gameplay is pretty fun. I'd say the story and execution of the story bumps this game to 93, gameplay wise it's around 80.
    Recommended!
  15. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Bioshock has a creepy atmosphere not just in the game but when u consider the whole point of the game which is man having ultimate power.Voice acting is top notch likewise is the level of detail gone on to make the game.The story is mysterious and creepy for most parts and the characters are just brilliant.The only negative about this game is that it has to end and wraps up too quickly.
  16. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    I don't know any other game which has such a great climate as BioShock. It can be really scary at some moments! If you haven't played in BioShock yet, do it now!
  17. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    just buy it it,s goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooddddddddddddddd
  18. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    Finish the game on a good path. A mixed bag from the game. The development of skills of the character during the game it's definitely a plus. Not many shooters can please pumping. Yet the AI ​​is not very bad as well. Plot too thought out. On the other hand repetitive missions first you are being driven through the whole mission, then after a couple of hours finally reaching the goal,Finish the game on a good path. A mixed bag from the game. The development of skills of the character during the game it's definitely a plus. Not many shooters can please pumping. Yet the AI ​​is not very bad as well. Plot too thought out. On the other hand repetitive missions first you are being driven through the whole mission, then after a couple of hours finally reaching the goal, know that the door that separates you from moving to the next level is closed and to open it you have to build something in the amount of n pieces (photographs, objects it.p). To do this one more time to go through all the locations, again make the same enemies while carefully seek out the requested items. "Second passage" of this same mission also takes a lot of time and rather boring. Expand
  19. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. The story alone had me playing this all day long, the only time I stopped was to use the restroom. Not to mention the fact that the controls are so new and fresh as well as fun. The game was also based off of a massive novel by Ayn Rand called "Atlas Shrugged". This game compelled me to go read the entire book. And it was a great book, and you canThis is the best game I have ever played. The story alone had me playing this all day long, the only time I stopped was to use the restroom. Not to mention the fact that the controls are so new and fresh as well as fun. The game was also based off of a massive novel by Ayn Rand called "Atlas Shrugged". This game compelled me to go read the entire book. And it was a great book, and you can really see how it fits in with the world of Rapture. This adds a whole new depth of feel for the game once you read the book. Overall this is not just a game, but it is an experience. So much so that you just have to go through it to understand the genius of it. I am proud to list this as my favorite game. Expand
  20. May 31, 2014
    10
    The Ocarina of Time of First Person Shooters.
    I've played lots of games over the years and very rarely has something stood out like BioShock. I was late to the game on this one, playing it years after it came out, but the incredible amount of work put into it made it stand out, even against better looking games.
    It will always be timeless. Goldeneye, halo and call of duties will come and
    The Ocarina of Time of First Person Shooters.
    I've played lots of games over the years and very rarely has something stood out like BioShock. I was late to the game on this one, playing it years after it came out, but the incredible amount of work put into it made it stand out, even against better looking games.
    It will always be timeless. Goldeneye, halo and call of duties will come and go, but Bioshock deserves to join the ranks of Half-life 1 as one of the greatest games in which one shoots other people.
    Story doesnt matter. Characters dont matter. Graphics dont matter. Only what you feel with the gun floating in front of your face matters.
    Very few games give me what I call the Ocarina of Time paradox--I want to play them over and over in order to re experience them, but it becomes less special as I play it more times. I can't wait until enough time has passed for me to play this game again.
    Expand
  21. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    This is one of the greatest stories I've ever experienced, as well as some of the best gaming mechanics and progression. There's this constant, strange feeling of fascination as you react to the insanity of the characters around you. The world is beautiful and believable with just a few complaints; recurring models and voice actors persistently remind you that it's just a game. Also,This is one of the greatest stories I've ever experienced, as well as some of the best gaming mechanics and progression. There's this constant, strange feeling of fascination as you react to the insanity of the characters around you. The world is beautiful and believable with just a few complaints; recurring models and voice actors persistently remind you that it's just a game. Also, nearing the games completion, there's a fantastic cut-scene that seems to be preparing you for the game's conclusion, but as it turns out, there are several more areas to explore. This might end up making these last few areas feel a little slow, as it did for me, because you're ready for an epic finale but not shown one for quite a while. If you look past these things, Bioshock is hands down one of the best gaming experiences of the past decade. Expand
  22. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of those "Why on earth didn't I play this game sooner" games. I hesitant to call this game a work of art, because that sounds horridly pretentious. The shooter aspect is alright, the game itself isn't terribly difficult, the graphics are dated by 2013 standards, and the horror moments are not enough to compare it to horror games. That said, this game has am amazing score, aThis is one of those "Why on earth didn't I play this game sooner" games. I hesitant to call this game a work of art, because that sounds horridly pretentious. The shooter aspect is alright, the game itself isn't terribly difficult, the graphics are dated by 2013 standards, and the horror moments are not enough to compare it to horror games. That said, this game has am amazing score, a totally immersing environment, sufficient levels of creepy without going too overboard, lots to explore, and a story that blatantly mocks Ayn Rand while making you think she had many good ideas.

    If you haven't played this game yet, you really should. It's an experience.
    Expand
  23. Jwv
    Jan 11, 2014
    10
    One of the best singleplayer experiences out there, and probably the best game I played after Half-Life 2. Extremely cool combat, although more kinds of enemies would have been welcome; great sound-effects; good story and plot-twist; consequences for player choice (albeit minor); and one of the coolest concepts in the history of gaming ever! One of the best things of the game are itsOne of the best singleplayer experiences out there, and probably the best game I played after Half-Life 2. Extremely cool combat, although more kinds of enemies would have been welcome; great sound-effects; good story and plot-twist; consequences for player choice (albeit minor); and one of the coolest concepts in the history of gaming ever! One of the best things of the game are its gorgeous, large sand-box levels that just beg to be explored, there are also a lot of player-triggered events in each level, the levels and its inhabitants are dynamic and each level has its own unique theme. Expand
  24. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    Calling BioShoch a mere video game is quit inaccurate,it would be more accurate to call it a philosophy book in which you turn pages by brutally murdering splicer(I like to call them sploicers) and other things, namely the big daddies and turrets; and the powerful quotes are instead represented by the Little sisters and the choice they offer, and occasionally-if we're lucky-actual quotesCalling BioShoch a mere video game is quit inaccurate,it would be more accurate to call it a philosophy book in which you turn pages by brutally murdering splicer(I like to call them sploicers) and other things, namely the big daddies and turrets; and the powerful quotes are instead represented by the Little sisters and the choice they offer, and occasionally-if we're lucky-actual quotes by my all time favorite video game character Andrew Ryan the man who provided me with my personnel motto and the must influential phrase of my adolescence :"A man chooses.A slave obeys".
    But don't you think for a moment that the robust story and philosophy of BioShock isn't supported by the gameplay; because it is, up to date BioShock's gamplay is still one of the most original and solid gamplays ever presented in an FPS, heck... sometimes you even get more immersed in the gameplay than the story. I mean you have guns-which is always a plus-;plasmids(aka: the plusest plus of all pluses, maybe after the portal gun and some other stuffs); hacking; gene tonics...extra,extra. What else would you ask for?you know other than taking the HL2 approach and enabling mods; imagine BioShock with mods,Oh yeah;OK now stp imagining before you **** your pants.
    All in all, the original BioShock is a must-play no matter who you are;it got story, gamplay , and more importantly: Andrew Ryan.
    Expand
  25. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    Some glitches with Windows 8 (yes it's old) but once fixed I could enjoy it though a bit late, good graphics for the time, beautiful scenery like Arcadia, the only problem I have is that it's still very hard to me even on medium difficulty setting, I do lose lives so often!
  26. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    Bioshock is more than just an extremely polished and entertaining first-person shooter; It's an uncompromising vision of one man's attempt to create a utopian society and the terrifying aftermath that his became his legacy. This stands as one of the best examples of video games as an art form: Bold, fresh, and leaving the player with more questions than answers. This game must beBioshock is more than just an extremely polished and entertaining first-person shooter; It's an uncompromising vision of one man's attempt to create a utopian society and the terrifying aftermath that his became his legacy. This stands as one of the best examples of video games as an art form: Bold, fresh, and leaving the player with more questions than answers. This game must be experienced. Now, would you kindly go play it? Expand
  27. Sep 17, 2014
    10
    Great gameplay, immersive setting, a rather haunting story and the rather frequent jumpscares. My favorite game of all time. Now, if you haven't played the game, would you kindly go do so?
  28. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    If I were to be comparing this game to some of the good old fps and pegs, this game would suck. It would be WAY too simple, but if I were to be comparing this to a modern day fps or rpg this would be a brilliant game. I would also compare it to system shock 2, but I never played that(it's illegal to not have played it, I know). This game is a fantastic blend of rpg and fps. The gameIf I were to be comparing this game to some of the good old fps and pegs, this game would suck. It would be WAY too simple, but if I were to be comparing this to a modern day fps or rpg this would be a brilliant game. I would also compare it to system shock 2, but I never played that(it's illegal to not have played it, I know). This game is a fantastic blend of rpg and fps. The game should only take about 20 hours to beat, quite short for a rpg. But it's game mechanics and game play are brilliant, I just wish that it would be a little more challenging.
    One thing that I don't like about this game is that its theme is very dark and gloomy. Although it really fit the game well, it gets VERY sickening and gloomy. It took me a long time to beat it because I got really sick of the gloomy underwater dark and depressing theme, so I took breaks from it that lasted for months. It isn't really the developer's fault, they did a really good job of creating the theme. It is just very annoying or rather sickening after a while. I would give it an eight but I think the game is just made to be like that and it gave me a wonderful experience(no I don't do drugs).
    The game also have a really weird scare factor. The game-play itself isn't that scary, but the soundtrack and audio made it seem scary as shirt. It's not really the jump out of your seat type scary, more of a daunting type and it never gets old.
    Overall it is a brilliant game, it just lacks a bit more of a challenge, and the theme was a bit annoying. Otherwise this game is brilliant(compared to other games of the same time). Also I forgot to mention that it had probably the BEST story of all of gaming!
    Expand
  29. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    Bioshock may just be one of my favourite games of all time. The game is dark, creepy, fun and challenging. Even not it's possibly one of the most interesting worlds gaming has ever come up with. The dark, fallen city of Rapture gives of that feeling of terror that only well made and immersive game worlds can bring you. The design of the city is beautifully crafted, with interestingBioshock may just be one of my favourite games of all time. The game is dark, creepy, fun and challenging. Even not it's possibly one of the most interesting worlds gaming has ever come up with. The dark, fallen city of Rapture gives of that feeling of terror that only well made and immersive game worlds can bring you. The design of the city is beautifully crafted, with interesting characters, ideas and a city that looks like an underwater New York, making the game even more chilling. Not only that, but the game is an extremly fun shooter. The weapons feel great, the crafting is fun, the enemies are interesting and the story surprising and engaging. This is a game you simply have to play to understand the simple joy of. Expand
  30. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    I just want to say before I start my basic "Pros and cons" Review,I love the "Bioshock" games!

    Pros:

    Amazing game-play

    Amazing story!!!

    Amazing art!

    kinda scary.

    Super powers!

    Cons:

    It's a little bit Cliché'd

    KHAAN

    There is really nothing else bad about this game,It's worth a buy :D

    So I give this game a : 9/10
  31. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    This game really is one of a kind. It should 100% be above HL and HL2. Those awful games are only up there because they were made by Valve. BUT BIOSHOCK. Dear god, this is a masterpiece. 10/10 You gotta play it for the time of your life.
  32. Oct 14, 2014
    9
    some people says this game is strange, creepy, and weird. but i don't think so, i think this game is unique cause the gameplay are really different from FPS game i ever play. most of this game is a puzzle, yea i say this because something in here is like puzzle like "go to here", "go to there", go to "blahblahblah" and many more. but im interesting in some stage in here, especially killsome people says this game is strange, creepy, and weird. but i don't think so, i think this game is unique cause the gameplay are really different from FPS game i ever play. most of this game is a puzzle, yea i say this because something in here is like puzzle like "go to here", "go to there", go to "blahblahblah" and many more. but im interesting in some stage in here, especially kill enemies with "HAND POWER!!". i want to give 10/10 in here but i think i can't because this game is Awesome but not really outstanding game i think Expand
  33. Nov 18, 2014
    9
    Brilliant. The only thing keeping it from a "10" for me was the mediocre third act. Had they found a way to end it after the "big" reveal in act two, I would have left feeling like I'd just played a masterpiece of storytelling, character, dialogue and haunting visuals. As it is, it's a near masterpiece.
  34. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    Bioshock's dark but beautiful world of Rapture creates a believable environment just a step outside of possibility.
    The story, characters, action and music weave together to create an unforgettable piece
  35. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    I played this game back when it was first released and I was blown away. I hadn't played anything like it. I found it to be completely original and very engaging. Great story and cool gameplay mechanics. Just an all-around wonderful title.
  36. DavidMoser
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Although gameplay and plot advancement are still mostly standard FPS fare, the many uses of "Plasmids" lend an exciting and creative element that helps immerse you in a beautifully crafted social experiment gone wrong. The story is well thought out and keeps you playing, nervous at every step and jumping at shadows in the flickering lights of Rapture. The many layers of morality areAlthough gameplay and plot advancement are still mostly standard FPS fare, the many uses of "Plasmids" lend an exciting and creative element that helps immerse you in a beautifully crafted social experiment gone wrong. The story is well thought out and keeps you playing, nervous at every step and jumping at shadows in the flickering lights of Rapture. The many layers of morality are explored as you try to rediscover what exactly happened to this place, the only record of which is given piece by piece in the audio diaries of residents. For those looking for an interesting break from their WWII shooter, this is a godsend. Expand
  37. TL.
    Aug 25, 2007
    8
    A very good game, but not a great one. The play mechanics really needed to be tweaked--since you respawn at the closest "vita chamber" you can wear enemies down by fighting, dying and respawning ad nauseum. The story is completely predictable, an amalgamation of every worn out science fiction cliche in the book and the characters are all kind of blah. None of them stick with you for more A very good game, but not a great one. The play mechanics really needed to be tweaked--since you respawn at the closest "vita chamber" you can wear enemies down by fighting, dying and respawning ad nauseum. The story is completely predictable, an amalgamation of every worn out science fiction cliche in the book and the characters are all kind of blah. None of them stick with you for more than five minutes after you finish the game. Compare the stereotypical villain from Bioshock with Robert Culp's fussy, supercilious head scientist in Half-Life 2. Expand
  38. Nacho
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    If you're going to review a game, at least make educated statements. The reason a reviewer's grapical problems existed was because his video card was NOT up to the REQUIRED system specifications. It's not enough to have a DirectX 9 video card, it also must support Shader Model 3. It gives the video card specs right on the box. If this is ignored there will be nothing butIf you're going to review a game, at least make educated statements. The reason a reviewer's grapical problems existed was because his video card was NOT up to the REQUIRED system specifications. It's not enough to have a DirectX 9 video card, it also must support Shader Model 3. It gives the video card specs right on the box. If this is ignored there will be nothing but graphical 'glitches'. I orinally scored this at 10, because I couldn't give it a 9.8, because I felt it was that good. The game is still excellent, but now that I've completed about 70% of the game, I feel that it could have used one more month of QA testing. The widescreen thing was a design decision which is being adressed by developers now. However, there are just enough on the issues that have come up since the games release to make me re-assess. Mostly the widescreen decision. But the copy protection for the non-digital purchasers is a slap in the face to those that spend hard earned money. I don't know of any other software that would require me to un-install it, before I do a system format, or I lose one of my validations. So if I have a system crash and have no way to recover other than format my HD, there goes an activation. If I just forget because I haven't played the game for a while . . .there goes another activation. I guess I'd just have to resort to some other means of getting my game to work. This copy protection is one of the reasons piracy is so prevalent on the Internet. If I hadn't purchased this game off of Steam, and purchased it in a store. I'd be looking for an alternate means of running the software, if you catch my meaning. Expand
  39. TomJ.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    The + AMBIANCE, GFX, ART, SOUND! The - Gameplay, Repetitive, AI, Replay After only 3 hours, the game got boring, kill, kill, open door, save or kill girl, blah. i was expecting more then just repetitive gameplay. this game shoulda been more like an adventure, what a waste of beautifull environments. Conclusion Just another FPS. with great gfx , sound & art.
  40. LiboW.
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    This game is superb in its execution. For people who have "missed something," play it again; you might find a change in combination weapons/plasmids or something else that would fill that missing gap. Though comparing oblivion and bioshock is like comparing apples and oranges. If oblivion received such wide-acclaim (which btw is still one of my fav. games of all time), then bioshock by This game is superb in its execution. For people who have "missed something," play it again; you might find a change in combination weapons/plasmids or something else that would fill that missing gap. Though comparing oblivion and bioshock is like comparing apples and oranges. If oblivion received such wide-acclaim (which btw is still one of my fav. games of all time), then bioshock by means deserves it also. Just because a game is linear, doesn't mean it's bad (halflife 1/2 was extremely linear, just because you had some "space" in some places doesn't render it a grand theft auto type of a game), the linearity allows for a movie like composition, which was the effect bioshock was going for. Expand
  41. AhrelF.
    Sep 14, 2007
    8
    Good game because of it's story and setting. Without both I doubt that many would be as enamored with it. A fairly standard shooter, you've probably done everything this game offers in other games, so don't expect anything new. But what it does do, it does right and on point. The main problem is the AI, it isn't living up to that 2nd letter at all. Only the Big Daddies Good game because of it's story and setting. Without both I doubt that many would be as enamored with it. A fairly standard shooter, you've probably done everything this game offers in other games, so don't expect anything new. But what it does do, it does right and on point. The main problem is the AI, it isn't living up to that 2nd letter at all. Only the Big Daddies and Little Sisters execute some modicrum of intelligence, and it's definitley not dynamic. Everything else is so heavily scripted any season gamer will recognize when and where to use certain skills for maximum benefit. I would have liked it to be a little more transparent. And there is very little environment interaction outside of burning oil, or electrifying water. Big Daddies are pushovers on anything but Hard mode. I was quite let down by how easy they were to put down, esp as you grow more nad more powerful. The hardest ones are the first three you encounter...if you choose to kill them then. Of course you can come back later and wipe hte floor without even being touched about mid-way through the game. Don't even ask about near the end of the game....you're a steam roller then. Aside from those qualms, it's a great game. But I can't give it more than an 8.0 -- it's mroe style less substance. Not a bad thing, but certainly undeserviing of anything too much higher in this gamers opinion. Expand
  42. ZachO.
    Sep 24, 2007
    8
    Certainly not a bad game by any standards, I had a fun time through and through with it. Yet, there is plenty holding it back. For starters it is obvious the game was designed around the Xbox, the interface makes this plain and clear. The lack of an inventory system hurts the game in my opinion, what you mean I have to eat that candy bar as soon as I touch it? The game is also BUGGY. It Certainly not a bad game by any standards, I had a fun time through and through with it. Yet, there is plenty holding it back. For starters it is obvious the game was designed around the Xbox, the interface makes this plain and clear. The lack of an inventory system hurts the game in my opinion, what you mean I have to eat that candy bar as soon as I touch it? The game is also BUGGY. It would only run properly if I reformatted to XP, and it would not work at all under Vista. The DRM is also a huge annoyance and VERY intrusive. But, like I said, once the game works it is very immersive and fun as mentioned countless times before below me. I just wish there wasn't so much holding it back. Expand
  43. VincentL.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    Awesome FPS ... perfect atmosphere and graphism ... One point lost because of it's so short !!
  44. FotisJ.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    Impressive grafics and interesting game play on the plus side, on the negative side is the fact that we play a dumbed down version of System Shock. Certainly a game you shouldn't miss but no real milestone in the genre history.
  45. MilesM.
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    Amazing graphics, original storyline and characters, amazingly customizable weapons and abilities, fluid sound and replayability for different outcomes give this game a perfect 10.
  46. PhilT.
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    Overall a good game. Good graphics and the gameplay is, for the most part, fun. In my opinion it is worth the purchase price. I enjoyed the gameplay, with the multiple ammo types and plasmids. It was a lot of fun, switching back and forth depending on the situation. The audio is top-notch, easily the best part of the game. Honestly, the problem was with plot points. The endings were Overall a good game. Good graphics and the gameplay is, for the most part, fun. In my opinion it is worth the purchase price. I enjoyed the gameplay, with the multiple ammo types and plasmids. It was a lot of fun, switching back and forth depending on the situation. The audio is top-notch, easily the best part of the game. Honestly, the problem was with plot points. The endings were definitely rushed, and it disappointed me that choices I made literally in the first 3 hours of the game so directly influenced the ending. I guess I fell victim to expecting too much of the narrative, and I tried to play the middle in terms of morality. I didn't want to pick one path over another, since I figured it was an game that was deeper than it turned out to be in the end. That was a mistake, as trying to play the middle chose my ending for me. Even though the game touts itself as being morally gray, it essentially makes it black and white in the end. Make one decision, just one, that it deems morally reprehensible and you get a the 'bad guy' ending. You literally have to be a saint the entire game to get the 'good guy' ending. That is extremely disappointing. The ending completely ruined the game overall for me. Up until literally the last 15 minutes of the game I would have rated this easily 90+. After finishing it...not so much. Oh well, I still have some hope for the Half Life story. Hopefully it will resolve itself in a satisfactory manner (Although I'm a pessimist and I doubt they will pull it off I can hope they will actually follow through). All that being said, it's a fun game that I recommend. I just don't think it warrants the scores of 90+ it is getting. Maybe, just maybe, if I am in a good mood, it gets a 90. After playing through the whole thing I say it is definitely high 80's, but not high 90's. A good spiritual successor to System Shock, and I am glad a game like this is being made and I don't regret spending my money on it, but definitely not better overall than System Shock 2. SS2 was much, much, MUCH better in terms of story, although Bioshock probably has SS2 beat in terms of overall gameplay. I would personally prefer story over gameplay, but meh. You take what you can get. Expand
  47. SteveC
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    As far as FPSs go, its one of the top 5 for me. Complaints that the complex weapon/power system is "boring" obviously stem from the fact that it isn't a run-n-gun splatterfest. it's the thinking-man's FPS. The countless combinations of powers and weapons lead to unique and meaningful attack choices for specialized enemies. As for the wrench, need we look in the direction of As far as FPSs go, its one of the top 5 for me. Complaints that the complex weapon/power system is "boring" obviously stem from the fact that it isn't a run-n-gun splatterfest. it's the thinking-man's FPS. The countless combinations of powers and weapons lead to unique and meaningful attack choices for specialized enemies. As for the wrench, need we look in the direction of Halo 2 or Half-life? Melee weapons are always going to be powerful, the reason being that in order to use them you have to get very close to your enemy, and at that range its tough to miss. Eliminate your expectations, the game accomplishes accomplishes its own goals. If you die thirty times in a row, its not because the game isn't good, it's because you aren't. Expand
  48. AdrianB.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing. If you got to do something you can do it in milion different ways. Also every time you load the game opponents are in different spots so sometimes it is not very easy to finish a mission.
  49. DanT.
    Sep 6, 2007
    8
    This is a very good game, and hats off to Irrational for doing a great job creating an imaginative art deco setting with its own unique atmosphere that doesn't fall into one of the predictable cliches of medieval fantasy, future sci-fi or modern day ultra-realism. But there's nothing in this game in terms of gameplay that Irrational didn't do 8 years ago with System Shock This is a very good game, and hats off to Irrational for doing a great job creating an imaginative art deco setting with its own unique atmosphere that doesn't fall into one of the predictable cliches of medieval fantasy, future sci-fi or modern day ultra-realism. But there's nothing in this game in terms of gameplay that Irrational didn't do 8 years ago with System Shock 2. In fact it's bit more simplistic. The story is decent, but is mostly told via a bunch of audio tapes, recorded and left lying about for no good reason. The lack of any grey area in the moral choices posed to the player is genuinely frustrating to anyone whose morals aren't either diabolical or saintly - That'd be most human beings. Again, a very good game, worth playing, but presently being overhyped by people who have either never played Deus Ex and/or System Shock 2, or love those games SO much they're going to give anything like them a perfect score. Irrational will do a more progressive game like this in future, this is really just a prettier version of what they've done just as well in the past. Expand
  50. JasonL.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    This game is unbelieveable. It truely is a match for Half Life 2 in terms of graphics, gameplay, storyline, immersion and just plain coolness. It continues in the same "scariness" of System Shock 2 which we all fondly remember but takes advantage of all the new technology since then to make this a memorable experience.
  51. Josh
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    The storyline the visuals, the sound, everything is perfect. Another main thing I enjoy is how scary it is. I think alot of people forget about that fact.
  52. ColtonS.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    One of the best games of all time, its original, creepy, and exciting in all shapes and forms.
  53. KevinL.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    Absolutely breath taking, this game has probably the best atmosphere in a game ever. The plot is extremely well written, the game play is very unique and the characters are unforgettable. Your missing out one of the best games ever made if you haven't played this.
  54. brandonl.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. The level of detail and the amount of work gone into the game with an intense and unpredicatable AI. What is so greate about this game is how they intergrate 'Plasmids' they do it ever so balanced so you neither use gun or plasmids too much of the other. The game gives you a choice, be good, or be evil. This makes for 2 great twists (I personally choose This game is amazing. The level of detail and the amount of work gone into the game with an intense and unpredicatable AI. What is so greate about this game is how they intergrate 'Plasmids' they do it ever so balanced so you neither use gun or plasmids too much of the other. The game gives you a choice, be good, or be evil. This makes for 2 great twists (I personally choose good) there was so much to do in this game I could not stop playing. Expand
  55. DylanB.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Overall, the game was excellent. One of the best games I have played in a long time. Graphics are exceptional, gameplay and storyline are extremely good. But, the one thing I found lacking was finding the Little Sisters. There were parts where I looked everywhere and could not find the Little Sister even though there was supposed to be one on the level. Definately worth the money.
  56. DerekN.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    This game is so sick and I really enjoyed playing it.
  57. BrianW.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    This game is breathtaking, absolutely stunning and absolutely sick. I wish to thank the absolutely warped genius minds that created this. Buy it.
  58. JustinC.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best games ever. Ignore the users who criticize it, they are just too stupid to understand the themes behind the game (no exaggeration, this game is a work of art). The fact that people consider this game sub par is representative of how degraded our society has become, preferring mindless shooting games like Halo 3 instead of truly deep games like this one.
  59. KurtG.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing, a superb adrenaline rush the whole way through.
  60. MonkeyV.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    It really is just that good. I have been playing PC games since 1980, and I this is easily one of the most impressive and wonderful gaming experiences of my life. I urge any and all players to take the time to play Bioshock. I can guarantee you it is worth it.
  61. KimV.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Game of the Year 2007, I don't really think much else needs to be said, for indepth information I suggest reading one of the numerous reviews giving the game a perfect score.
  62. Cory
    Apr 5, 2008
    8
    Very good game over rated quit a bit but still a great game none the less.
  63. JamesF.
    Apr 6, 2008
    9
    Incredible game, don't come into it expecting something other than a Story driven FPS. The departures are evident only after playing it through a couple levels. The ability to customize how you kill enemies, is where this game takes on a life of its own. The story is deeply engaging, and the combat is challenging, with out being ridiculous. There are no puzzles, only gameplay, with Incredible game, don't come into it expecting something other than a Story driven FPS. The departures are evident only after playing it through a couple levels. The ability to customize how you kill enemies, is where this game takes on a life of its own. The story is deeply engaging, and the combat is challenging, with out being ridiculous. There are no puzzles, only gameplay, with great story elements, and customization. The best FPS I have ever played, and would beg anyone to buy it, and give it a couple levels to let it sink in. Expand
  64. LiamW.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Bioshock was probably the best game i have ever played. The storyline, graphics, and game overall were wonderful. You could even see the tiny little watermarks on the fish.
  65. FrazerS.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    This game is brilliant, i played it through with crap graphics the first time and it still scared the hell out of me. The rating of 10 is used with caution though as no game is perfect; it's a good game but at the end of the day it's just another shooter with good graphics that make the appeal of it larger. At the end of the day, if you want a good fright, buy this.
  66. Jake.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    This is an AMAZING GAME and a MUST BUY!!! great story line with wonderful graphics. Keeps you ready but surprised at every turn!
  67. JoshM.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    one of the most innovative and original games in years. my only complaint is that the hacking minigame gets boring after the first playthrough.
  68. RyanD.
    Sep 5, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. It combines the literary works of Ayn Rand with an excellent shooter RPG. The story is very well written with lots of exposition and plot twists. The graphics for water effects are the best so far. The audio, including the voice acting, is top notch. Lots of ways to kill your enemies provides replay value.
  69. MichaelK.
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    BioShock provides a linear guide, but at the same time, freedom. It has an incredible attention to detail, unsurpassed atmosphere, and solid, varied gameplay. To those who find the game to easy, I suggest upping the difficulty. The ammo will run low, the fear will set in, and the Big Daddies become something to truly fear. It challenges the political, philosophical and ethical norms and BioShock provides a linear guide, but at the same time, freedom. It has an incredible attention to detail, unsurpassed atmosphere, and solid, varied gameplay. To those who find the game to easy, I suggest upping the difficulty. The ammo will run low, the fear will set in, and the Big Daddies become something to truly fear. It challenges the political, philosophical and ethical norms and even subverts its own medium. A rarity not to be missed. Expand
  70. bioshockrules
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    HIgh quality gaming. Great storyline, great graphical performance and stability. Wide range of weapons more varied than the traditional guns and grenades. Each weapon has upgrades and some can be invented. Enemy turrets and cameras can be hacked to your advantage or purchased. Economic system is great. AI superb. One person rated it 3 and said it was not challenging. I bet he hasnt played HIgh quality gaming. Great storyline, great graphical performance and stability. Wide range of weapons more varied than the traditional guns and grenades. Each weapon has upgrades and some can be invented. Enemy turrets and cameras can be hacked to your advantage or purchased. Economic system is great. AI superb. One person rated it 3 and said it was not challenging. I bet he hasnt played it on hard without vita-chambers. Strategy is important. No encounter ever plays out the same. Genetic modification and Ecological AI is cool. This is the best game in the universe. Cant wait for Bioshock2 and Bioshock3. If you dont play this game, you truly miss out on the game to be. You got to be silly not to play this game. 2K games has really done a great job. 5 stars for them. The only bug is that upon launching the game in Vista, the game switches from full screen to windowed. It only happens once and the game quality more than makes up for that is relatively tiny bug compared to the game's performance. Expand
  71. myname
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    To undying zombie: try to rate the game for what it IS, not for what it isn't..retard. you focused on such things as the promises and securom. okay, the vita-chambers suck but thanks to it, you aren't forced to watch the loading screen often. a similiar thing was introduced in Prey and the only difference was, that you had to shoot thingies. BioShock is absolutely perfect, To undying zombie: try to rate the game for what it IS, not for what it isn't..retard. you focused on such things as the promises and securom. okay, the vita-chambers suck but thanks to it, you aren't forced to watch the loading screen often. a similiar thing was introduced in Prey and the only difference was, that you had to shoot thingies. BioShock is absolutely perfect, wonderful etc. Dumping the whole shooting aspect, the idea of Rapture itself, the style, the characters, plot, plasmids, music, graphics, Daddies and Sisters and conections to Ayn Rand's Filosophy...it's just perfect. i've finished it a few times and still start it again. Expand
  72. TimF
    May 20, 2009
    10
    I don't see what everyone else posting their own votes are complaining about. BioShock is simply the best singleplayer FPS out there. Lowering the game from a 10 to a 1 simply because they are new to gaming and can't be bothered to play the game on a real computer is shameful. The puzzles are an extraordinarily nice touch to break monotony and the AI is amazing. This game I don't see what everyone else posting their own votes are complaining about. BioShock is simply the best singleplayer FPS out there. Lowering the game from a 10 to a 1 simply because they are new to gaming and can't be bothered to play the game on a real computer is shameful. The puzzles are an extraordinarily nice touch to break monotony and the AI is amazing. This game deserves a 9 simply for the storyline. All the other reviews only touch on how inept they (the user reviewer) are at seeing a game as a game, not playing it on a real computer, their own single-minded sight and its brilliance. BioShock is an amazing game and shouldn't be singled out because someone else cant run it and another has no idea how to install it. Expand
  73. Yugemos
    May 28, 2009
    10
    This game was REALLY buggy when i first got it and i had problems similar to those posted here but i upgraded my graphics card to an 8500gt 512mb and it ran perfectly. most of the time, the bad visuals and bugs are the computers fault. now on to the game good points: the visuals are beautiful (if you have a good enough graphics card) and the storyline is great. the plasmids make a nice This game was REALLY buggy when i first got it and i had problems similar to those posted here but i upgraded my graphics card to an 8500gt 512mb and it ran perfectly. most of the time, the bad visuals and bugs are the computers fault. now on to the game good points: the visuals are beautiful (if you have a good enough graphics card) and the storyline is great. the plasmids make a nice change from your average run and gun gameplay. Rapture is an extremely beautiful place and even with the great story there still an enormous amount of backstory that you can discover with the tapes. bad points: the vita chambers are a bit of an immersion breaker (but you can fix that with a patch) the end boss is kinda stupid and easy to kill. [MAJOR-SPOILERS] at the end when you turn into a big daddy, it seems forced and you're practically just a man with a fishbowel on his head (hopefully better in bioshock 2) but the good far outweigh the bad and my only problem with ths game is that i cant find my disk :'-( 10/10 everytime. Expand
  74. GJMot
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    From start to finish Bioshock delivers an epic, defining and innovative realm for gamers. Whether you played sims to doom, you should definatley realise the amazing attention payed to the storyline of the game. I am shocked to read so many negative responses, simply because they didnt understand the story or even finish playing the game!?!? You cannot provide an accurate review if you From start to finish Bioshock delivers an epic, defining and innovative realm for gamers. Whether you played sims to doom, you should definatley realise the amazing attention payed to the storyline of the game. I am shocked to read so many negative responses, simply because they didnt understand the story or even finish playing the game!?!? You cannot provide an accurate review if you never played the game from having a crappy computer.... Now back to the good stuff :D The setting is indeed unique and wonderous, something never achieved before except in books. Characters are unforgettable and endless details like the posters, costumes, accents and traits all combine to do one thing, make us want MORE!!! Once more, the art deco is something never done before in the gaming industry and deserves full recognition. I cannot help but rofl everytime I hear the circus of value (vending machine), that thing is gold! "Come back when you get some money buddy" lol lol lol I think we all wish for a bioschock multiplayer...but i guess we'll have to wait for BS2. So for anyone wanting to know a final word of advice, play it from start to finish....THEN review it. For once critics got it right on the money! Expand
  75. NickG.
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    I wanted to try this out when i viewed the positive reviews it has got.When I finished it ,i was not disappointed at all.It has some unique features i have never seen before,all visuals were perfect,as well as the storyline.Also,there weren't any bugs in the game,although some people experienced some...Depends on the PC probably.Anyway,you gotta try this out!
  76. CharlesS
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    To call Bioshock a video game is an understatement. Nay, it is an insult. For Bioshock is more than a game, it is an experience. The writing for the storyline in this game is the best that i have ever seen, and i've seen quite a bit. It takes you out of your place of mind throws you down the rabbit hole into the city of Rapture. This is the best movie i have ever seen, because it is To call Bioshock a video game is an understatement. Nay, it is an insult. For Bioshock is more than a game, it is an experience. The writing for the storyline in this game is the best that i have ever seen, and i've seen quite a bit. It takes you out of your place of mind throws you down the rabbit hole into the city of Rapture. This is the best movie i have ever seen, because it is more than a video game. The characters have such depth, that it almost feels as if you are playing a memory. Expand
  77. JoeS
    Aug 6, 2009
    8
    I have to say. This game was very fun. IT was enjoyable but not one of those trashy run and gun shooters. This game is very deep and involving. However it is overrated!!! I went in thinking this would be the greatest game ever conceived. It was great, just not that great.
  78. HunterK
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    The most amazing game I played so far. It is like you are litterally playing through a movie. Such a perfect storyline! I have played this game at least 18 times and still counting!
  79. N.Davidson
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    I personally think BioShock is THE best game ever made. The setting, the atmosphere, the characters, the voice acting, the story, all of it was written and executed beautifully. The only thing worth speaking negatively about are some of the music choices and the well-known sound skip issue for the PC, but you're so immersed in this great game that you hardly even care. Please I personally think BioShock is THE best game ever made. The setting, the atmosphere, the characters, the voice acting, the story, all of it was written and executed beautifully. The only thing worth speaking negatively about are some of the music choices and the well-known sound skip issue for the PC, but you're so immersed in this great game that you hardly even care. Please BioShock 2, carry on the legacy. Expand
  80. zachS.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    The content in bioshock is amazing. The guns, plasmids, recordings all take you into a game story I've never seen attempted. The story of rapture and learning what the hell it was was very interesting as well. Plus the way people became paranoid like Sander Cohen through splicing was funny to me as well, haha. Played through a few times, bioshock 2 is a must-get.
  81. S.K.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Unfortunately, this game's user score is marred by people who can't grasp the simply astounding story and great narrative mixed with beautiful visuals and great FPS gameplay. They say nothing new, they say linear, but this game offered something more only certain gamers can understand.
  82. BrianK.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    I am a huge fan of System Shock 2 and figured that BioShock was the underwater version. After playing through this (somewhat easy) game I found that the story compelled me to move on. I was very impressed with the visuals, voice acting and story line twists. I gave it a 9 because once you beat it a couple times you just feel finished. I hope for a franchise.
  83. Angel
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    The best game since Half-Life.
  84. ThomasK.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Incrediable game! The environment is rich with sights and sounds and the steampunk influence is wonderful! While the end is a bit anticlimatic the game is still a hit!
  85. VinceB.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Bioshock tells a very mysterious and turbulent story that has twists and turns around many a corner, the biggest twist tying the whole story together, justifying some unavoidable linear game-play. With lush visuals and a great sound scape, Bioshock deserves a 10 by all means.
  86. JamesO.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Bioshock puts many of my favourite FPS's to shame in its story, strategy and atmosphere. Its pure brilliance. The only reason I haven't given it 10 is because I believe that no game is perfect. Bioshock is as close to perfect as you can get but not quite there.
  87. MaxM.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    THIS GAME OWNS. The only thing that lets the game down is the vita-chambers other-wise the game is cool.
  88. DiogoF.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    The game is completely amazing, I loved it, the ending is kick a..! The only problem is that it hasn't a an multiplayer feature, othewise it would be perfect.
  89. BobS.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This game blends a compelling and deep story and moral dillemas with great gameplay. It truly is one of the best games made in recent history.
  90. MikeP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    A dark and magnificent artwork which makes other games look like children's toys. The combat is a fusion of RPG style spells and gritty FPS combat, and the storyline is (apart from its miserably bad ending) mature, stylish and thought-provoking.
  91. TomasB.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Most atmospheric, depressive and genius masterpiece of decade.
  92. JasonR.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    If video games are uniformly not considered "art," then Bioshock proves that "art" is worse off for it. Combining engrossing gameplay, peerless atmosphere, and brilliant storytelling, Bioshock sets the bar for the medium. And it sets the bar very, very high.
  93. KieferM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    8
    A Freakishly beautiful and twisted game with a sinister story. Theres a couple of glitches, but seeing how good this game is, i will over-look them.
  94. J.C.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Bioshock is one of those rare gems in the FPS world. Rich graphics and superb weapon selection/modification is bench mark for most FPSs now a days but what BioShock brings to the table is what most lack; intest, moving story dialog. The story and it's characters are amazing. From unique looks to great voice acting the game can really draw you in. I must play and instant classic in my book.
  95. JamesM.
    Oct 28, 2007
    8
    While this game is visually stunning (if you have the rig to handle high detail graphics), the gameplay is just good, not great. It is not in the same league as the Half-Life 2 series and should be metascored around 92. I gave it an 8 because no one deserves a 10 and Half-Life 2 is 9. The user rating of 8.5 is perfect in my opinion.
  96. MehmetT.
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    Bioshock is a shooter with some minor elements of RPG in it, and it does a excellent job of portraying that in the gameplay. You have a good selection of weapons (and upgrades for them) and loads of biomodications. These allow you to dispatch the creepy and dangerous denizens of Rapture in a multitude of satisfying ways. On top of all of this the game boasts top notch graphics (my Bioshock is a shooter with some minor elements of RPG in it, and it does a excellent job of portraying that in the gameplay. You have a good selection of weapons (and upgrades for them) and loads of biomodications. These allow you to dispatch the creepy and dangerous denizens of Rapture in a multitude of satisfying ways. On top of all of this the game boasts top notch graphics (my computer is pretty average by today's standards and the game still looked impressive) and sound effects (the score is pretty impressive too but also really creepy). The game is also supported by a solid story told through audio diaries and radio transmissions, which further reinforce the feeling of desolation and ruin of the city of Rapture. Some people criticize the game for being too short, but I think the game ends just when things might start to get boring. Also the game was remarkably stable on my system as it only crashed once from start to finish. So, if you are in any way interested in good shooters, an intriguing story and a captivating atmosphere; go buy this game, like now. Expand
  97. DougF.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    Unlike any other game on the market! Excellent graphics, superb sound, fantastic original story, and great gameplay with unique and fun combat system!
  98. SlickV.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    One of the best games of the year! If your feeling cautious, because of bad reviews, download the demo and you will see...fantastic....beautiful....imaginative....challenging. I purchased it for xbox 360 worth every dollar!
  99. DavidS.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    Very solid game. While I had to contend with the bugs, gameplay is very action oriented, driving storyline, and the impressive score all help to make this game immersive and keeps ya hooked. However, did feel like things were kinda trailing near the end in relation to the beginning, but you will play this title more than once, and exploring is a rewarding experience. If you were a fan of Very solid game. While I had to contend with the bugs, gameplay is very action oriented, driving storyline, and the impressive score all help to make this game immersive and keeps ya hooked. However, did feel like things were kinda trailing near the end in relation to the beginning, but you will play this title more than once, and exploring is a rewarding experience. If you were a fan of the Deus Ex series at all, give this game a try. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. A dark and astonishing masterpiece...I spend my career, and my gaming life, waiting for a moment when a game just astonishes me, when I can't believe what I'm seeing, what I'm doing. BioShock has five. [Sept 2007, p.66]
  2. 100
    The hours spent playing this masterpiece were the perfect encapsulation of why videogaming is such a favourite waste of time for so many of us. Thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. BioShock isn't simply the sign of gaming realising its true cinematic potential, but one where a game straddles so many entertainment art forms so expertly that it's the best demonstration yet how flexible this medium can be. It's no longer just another shooter wrapped up in a pretty game engine, but a story that exists and unfolds inside the most convincing and elaborate and artistic game world ever conceived.
  3. 97
    There is art here, despite what many would say isn't possible with games, from Roger Ebert to game designers like Hideo Kojima... BioShock stands as a monolithic example of the convergence of entertaining gameplay and an irresistibly sinister, engrossing storyline that encompasses a host of multifaceted characters. This is an essential gaming experience.