Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    90
    Shoot em’ Up fans will love it, and I have a feeling newcomers to the genre will be drawn in by its stylish looks and awesome soundtrack. Whack it on and take it for a spin – Bit.Trip Fate is another cracker.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    80
    Bit.Trip FATE is a fun game, but definitely not the best in the series. While it is a good challenge, a lot of the time it feels more tedious than fun, especially for a rail-shooter type game that literally has you on a fixed rail. While not a bad game in any sense, there are better Bit.Trip games out there.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    80
    Whether you play with the keyboard/mouse setup or use a 360 pad, you’ll get solid controls. It’s a challenging, but rewarding game and its surreal audio/visual combination will be stuck in your head for quite some time.
  4. Jul 17, 2013
    80
    Bit.Trip games are less like versions of established genres and more akin to interpretations of them. It's like Gaijin Games waved the correct badge to get in the door, but then took a hard turn and veered off the map after they got through. Bit.Trip Fate interprets shoot ‘em ups through an electrocardiogram line and renders it a tool for exploitation rather than a railed limitation. It’s weird, it’s distinctive, and it’s great while it lasts.
  5. Aug 8, 2013
    74
    It’s a light, 2D arcade shooter that’s great for killing some time if you’re waiting for your wife to get ready, but if you’re looking for immersive gameplay and a deeper level of engagement, or beautiful, eye-catching graphics, you’ll be better off looking somewhere else.
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    70
    Those in the market for a challenging retro shooter with a plethora of modern flourishes will find plenty to enjoy in bit.Trip Fate. While I prefer the colorful accessibility of the Runner series, Fate is the darkest and most gruelling chapter in Commander Video’s illustrious adventure, and at its low asking price, PC gamers should consider it a worthy addition to their Steam library.
  7. Sep 13, 2013
    69
    FATE has all the touchstones of a BIT.TRIP game--the hunt for flawless execution, the grueling score optimization. It serves up the same boiled-down punishing appeal. [Nov 2013, p.74]
  8. Aug 1, 2013
    65
    BIT.TRIP FATE is best suited to shooter fans who enjoy the challenge of besting their high score by repeating the same levels multiple times. It does provide plenty of challenge, and even on the default difficulty I had my hands full simultaneously watching my character and firing reticle.
  9. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    Bit.Trip Fate is a beautiful 2-D side-scrolling shoot-em-up with a strong dubstep soundtrack. But it’s the weakest entry in the series.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    5
    I love the Bit.Trip games immensely, one of my favorite game series of all time. The reason why I'm giving this a 5 is because the PC version has a bug where you can only move the cursor so far low. It makes it nearly impossible to play. The developers are currently working to fix this bug, which isn't even happening to anyone, only certain people. FATE is an amazing game, but I'd recommend picking it up on the Wii instead of on PC. Full Review »