Bit.Trip Runner PC

Bit.Trip Runner Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Race across the Moon, kicking down crystal walls and sliding under chomping moon-slugs! Bound through the Robotic Mines and face off against the MinerMech! Dash through the Big City on a quest to find friends and defeat the final boss together!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    Bit.Trip Runner is glorious to behold and hear, but when it comes time to play it is often a frustrating experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30
  1. May 4, 2012
    10
    Incredible memorization game with a big focus on rhythm. Extremely fun from start to finish! Fantastic controls that are extremely responsive.Incredible memorization game with a big focus on rhythm. Extremely fun from start to finish! Fantastic controls that are extremely responsive. Well worth checking out! Collapse
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    This game is a wonderful accidental find. Take Temple Run, Guitar Hero, McPixel, and Cat Mario, put them in a blender, and you get BIT.TRIPThis game is a wonderful accidental find. Take Temple Run, Guitar Hero, McPixel, and Cat Mario, put them in a blender, and you get BIT.TRIP RUNNER. Dodging obstacles and collecting coins/power ups (Temple Run), to the beat (Guitar Hero) a wonderful progressive electronic soundtrack, all with a pixelated protagonist (McPixel), and one of the most frustrating, but also rewarding games I've played (Cat Mario). Hard to say if it's worth the $10 on steam (I got it with the indie bundle). If you can find it for less, this is a must buy. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    Aka: OH GOD WHY DO I GET SO ANGRY WHEN I FAIL?

    Bit.Trip Runner is the third in the Bit.Trip series, which makes a break from convention of
    Aka: OH GOD WHY DO I GET SO ANGRY WHEN I FAIL?

    Bit.Trip Runner is the third in the Bit.Trip series, which makes a break from convention of the previous two. This time, you actually play as Commander Video in a side-scrolling platformer. The screen moves at a cracking pace while you run constantly in a 3D retro 8-bit inspired world. Your basic functions are to jump, slide, and kick your way around/through obstacles, while collecting gold and powerups, to reach the finish line at each stage.

    While this seems simple enough, and it is easy early on, it quickly delves into devious territory, requiring the utmost attention and rhythm. As with the previous Bit.Trip titles, the gameplay is heavily dependent on the music. As you collect powerups, the music becomes more and more intense, so you know after a few of them (and when that glorious rainbow trails behind you), you’re close to the end. It’s often much easier to time your jumps with the music, rather than looking at when obstacles are coming up.

    But if you fail; fall down a gap, hit a wall, etc, it immediately carries you all the way back to the beginning, and starts straight away in that dull pre-powerup music. It’s incredibly demoralising, to know that you were so close, only to go right back to the start music. Particularly on the longer levels (damn you, Odyssey).

    Because of the instant reload times, much like Super Meat Boy (who also gets a sneaky cameo), it forces you to keep trying, and keep trying, until you finally triumph. And you will retry. A lot.

    Only one other game has ever made me more frustrated than this (you’ll keep, Dark Souls). I’d have the final powerup, rainbow trailing behind me, knowing the end is near, only to miss-time an easy jump and go all the way back to the start. My desk is not fist-pound rated, but it should be. What makes it frustrating, is that on paper, it is so simple. All it is, is timing and reflexes and knowing the right inputs. There’s no other tactics that that. But the timing here can be unforgiving.

    Makes it all the better when you do finally complete a level you were stuck on forever.

    This is the best of the Bit.Trip series; if you want to start somewhere, this is the game to buy.
    Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2014
    6
    BIT.TRIP Runner share a good idea, but ultimately it's still a pretty repetitive game, which hurts the eyes to strength, and you will getBIT.TRIP Runner share a good idea, but ultimately it's still a pretty repetitive game, which hurts the eyes to strength, and you will get tired quickly. Despite this, the sounds are pretty good, just what catches the game's history Runner is hard enough to understand, we wonder just what is the meaning of this game ^^ Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2011
    6
    The game wasn't even on my radar before I picked it up in the Humble Indie Bundle, and when I loaded it up and played the first level, I wasThe game wasn't even on my radar before I picked it up in the Humble Indie Bundle, and when I loaded it up and played the first level, I was immediately excited. The visual design of the game, as well as bouncy platform that synced up nicely with bouncy, happy 8-bit inspired beats instantly warmed my heart. However, the game did not waste its time becoming a frustrating experience. I didn't even get out of the first zone before I turned the game off with a sigh. Imagine playing a rhythm game like guitar hero, but every time you missed a note, you had to start the entire song over again. If they were to take another stab at this idea, but fix a couple of the more frustrating set pieces (e.g., stairs are a HUGE pain) and perhaps add a rewind mechanic so that the cost of mistakes was not so high, then the fun would not be quite so outweighed by the frustration. I have continued to play this game, but I play it in short bursts, usually quitting when my teeth start to grind. Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    5
    At first it's frustrating. Some hours will pass and it becomes enjoyable, somehow. Then you realize that this offers limited gameplay, poorAt first it's frustrating. Some hours will pass and it becomes enjoyable, somehow. Then you realize that this offers limited gameplay, poor visuals, lousy sounds, and close to no fun. The controls are responsive, and the title song is enjoyable, but beyond that, there is nothing; like a phone game. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    1
    Never before has a greek legend (Sisyphus) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sisyphus been so accurately portrayed. I felt just like King SisyphusNever before has a greek legend (Sisyphus) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sisyphus been so accurately portrayed. I felt just like King Sisyphus pushing the boulder up the hill only to have it roll down again so I had to start over and over forever. This is the computer game equivalent of CHOOSING to ram pinecones up your bottom until they pop back out again of their own accord. Bleeeeeeeeee! Expand

See all 30 User Reviews