Blackguards PC

Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    87
    If you are a seasoned turn-based strategy gamer, you can really sink your teeth into this one and get a run for your money. If you are not, you will still get both that run for your money and a crash course in applied survivor tactics.
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    86
    Blackguards is a good romp with a rich established RPG world to draw from.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    85
    Blackguards was a nice surprise: gaming system is solid and interesting, and the puzzle-like battles hold interest until the end. At times they are even challenging. Although patches might have changed that. [Feb 2014]
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    85
    It's a gorgeous game with memorable battles. But because the game's focus is obviously on combat, no matter how pretty the towns are, they feel like backdrops for your character sheets and inventory.
  5. Feb 5, 2014
    85
    The game mechanics remain faithful to its tabletop roots.
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    80
    Blackguards is a wonderful tactics game with some rough edges. The core gameplay and character progression elements are easily some of the best in the genre, but as battles tend to drag on and more and more enemies scream “owAUGH,” the interest tends to fade.
  7. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    If you can get past traveling the world map on rails, every location and quest chosen in order for you, the combat is rich enough to make Blackguards worthwhile, and I think comfortably places it near the upper end of that range.
  8. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    It sure took its sweet time, but in the end, Blackguards managed to really enthrall me. If the Hamburg-based developer continues in this manner, The Dark Eye fans have a lot to look forward to.
  9. Jan 24, 2014
    80
    The five chapter campaign offers dozens of hours of gameplay, but I would be ecstatic with the prospect of creating my own adventures.
  10. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    Blackguards is a great success for Daedalic Entertainment, a great achievement not only for the remarkable playability and exceptional turn-based setting, but also and above all as the first role-playing game of the hanseatic software house.
  11. Games Master UK
    Mar 10, 2014
    78
    The interesting cast and subtle writing (with plenty of subtle plot points to uncover) paper over the cracks. [Apr 2014, p.78]
  12. Jan 30, 2014
    78
    I wish that Blackguards' character progression system wasn't such a mess, because if it worked, I'd be delighted to recommend the entire low-fantasy role-playing package without hesitation.
  13. Jan 26, 2014
    77
    Blackguards isn't a bad game. Far from it: actually, it's pretty good. But there is plenty of unused potential here, both in story and in gameplay.
  14. GameStar
    Jan 27, 2014
    76
    With lots of different opponents, unpredictable battles, varied battlefields and lots of specializations, Blackguards is one of the most diverse strategy games lately, but it high degree of randomness can be frustrating.
  15. Apr 13, 2014
    75
    Daedalic's first time in the world of RPG is one of those to remember. Blackguards is not a flawless game: it has a slow gameplay that after hours and hours can be boring, technically it is not that great and has an annoying problem of balancing the difficulty. Yet it remains a great role-playing game.
  16. Feb 5, 2014
    75
    Blackguards is a strong RPG with top-notch tactical combat that's let down by some needless complexity and less-than-convincing voice-acting.
  17. Feb 3, 2014
    75
    It was rather fun to play a turn-based tactical RPG in this style, but I wish it had just a bit more life to it and not feel so stiff.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 74
  2. Negative: 19 out of 74
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    4
    It's a solid turn-based game that's 15 years late. Battles are repetitive, only 8 out of 100 skills are actually useful. Gameplay is a seriesIt's a solid turn-based game that's 15 years late. Battles are repetitive, only 8 out of 100 skills are actually useful. Gameplay is a series of (very similar) tactical battles. The RPG-part is clicking through dialogue. Game gets boring really fast. Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    Blackguards is a turn-based fantasy, often dark and frequently humorous, RPG.

    While still a beta product it is polished and one of the best
    Blackguards is a turn-based fantasy, often dark and frequently humorous, RPG.

    While still a beta product it is polished and one of the best RPG's I have played in a while. It is a good feeling to catch myself laughing at the well voice acted humorous dialogue, which I haven't experienced to this degree since way back in games such as KOTOR and Jade Empire. Daedalic Entertainment might just be the new old pre-EA BioWare we all fondly remember.

    Probably the only frustrating thing I experienced was the questionable stated odds of a spell succeeding, but I am also not sure if that percentage was meant to take into account the defender's resistances.

    I give it a 9 because it is hard to me to envision a better RPG without my mind drifting back to old BioWare. So this is a real user score, not an artificially inflated rating meant to preemptively fend off the incoming 0's from reviewers that found fault in this product.

    I eagerly await the Chapter 5 release...
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    I've been playing the game from it's early access beginning, and I have logged more hours in it than I care to say. The graphics are wellI've been playing the game from it's early access beginning, and I have logged more hours in it than I care to say. The graphics are well done, the voice acting is excellent, and assuming you like turn based combat you will be in heaven. There is a demo for those who need to try it first. I haven't had this much fun playing a game in quite a while. Full Review »