Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 16, 2012
    70
    A more-than-capable shooter that is a blast to play. Shame about the pings. [Sept 2012, p.59]
  2. Jul 22, 2012
    70
    Blacklight: Retribution is a good, but hardly great multiplayer-shooter. It´s solid entertainment for a while, but does not nothing new, that will knock you of your boots.
  3. PC Gamer
    Jun 19, 2012
    70
    The shooting is precise, but the overwrought customization system sacrifices depth for brute-force completely. [Aug 2012, p.62]
  4. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    If Blacklight: Retribution was a full fledged commercial product, it wouldn't make it to a decent score: the free to play business model instead deserves some attention from the FPS junkies with empty pockets, in particular those who truly can't stand Team Fortress 2.
  5. Apr 10, 2012
    65
    Blacklight: Retribution doesn't stand out from the crowd, but this free-to-play shooter offers a decent amount of bang for your non-buck.
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    50
    The fact that it's free-to-play is almost the only point of interest in this derivative shooter - and even that is far less appealing once you get into the details.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 353
  1. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    I've read several low reviews on the site that I believe this game does not deserve due to ignorance and laziness. I'm going to try and giveI've read several low reviews on the site that I believe this game does not deserve due to ignorance and laziness. I'm going to try and give my opinion. Anyone that beats on this game for its "p2w" status has obviously not played it long enough, or is blatantly lazy and demands that everything be handed to "it" on a silver platter. This is my view. I have not spent a single penny on Blacklight Retribution. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->>The graphics are pretty good, the environments are colorful, and its cyberpunk theme is presented very nicely. However, if you're looking for BF3 level graphics, go play BF3. It's a shooter. If you're too busy staring at the wall textures, then you should really be doing something else.--------------------------------------------------------------------------->>Many people have also hit on this game on its "complexity", stating that it has too many elements, the gun customization is too complicated, the tutorial is too complicated, HRV is too complicated. They are all impatient idiots who are all unwilling to just sit down for a few minutes and learn. The system is not hard. It just requires some getting used to. If you want a simpler game, go and play some **** generic Korean FPS like Combat Arms. -------------------------------------------------------->>The cash shop/paying IRL is another thing I've been seeing as a complaint here. It is also one of the biggest parts of an F2P game. As such, this section will be the longest. Let me get this straight: --The ONLY things that are only obtainable in BL:R via money only are heroes, cosmetic items, taunts, a few profile customization options, and a COUPLE gun receivers. That is it. Everything else, and I mean everything (every single gun part, every single piece of armor, every single piece of equipment) is obtainable permanently by just playing the game. ---------------------------------------------------``Premade weapons(only permable by zen) can be obtained by gp for a very low daily price-200gp. That's about 1.5 matches, which will take a MAXIMUM of 15 minutes. That's a hell of a lot better than other F2P games. -----------------------``Just like other F2P FPS, you can earn Zen(in game money) by doing surveys or offers via the BL:R website. ---------``Items are unlocked on a per level basis. HOWEVER, every single time that you level up, you automatically get a free weapon tag as well as 1 of each item that has been unlocked for 3 DAYS. --``ALSO, People who think that you can only unlock weapons for 1 day with GP are illiterate, lazy, and do not follow the tutorial. In the purchase option, hit the little arrow next to "1 day", and choose a period of time. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------``Perming items is not that hard with GP. Your most expensive weapon part is a receiver at 5000 GP. At 150gp a game, that's only about 30-40 matches. Those that whine and complain about the game being a "grind for gp" need to take the immediate gratification/item needing dick out of their ass and go back to COD. The game is fun, even with the standard equipment. Need proof that standard equipment isn't pure **** and is actually viable? Go search "z3roarmada" on Youtube. >>Next, the gameplay. BL:R has a mechanic called HRV, in which you can see the location of every single player, depot, vehicle, and objective on the map for a limited time, with a set recharge. "AHMAHGAWD THAT'S OP" It's not if everyone can do it. With that added mechanic, situational awareness is key, and ambushes are nigh impossible. Many players are unused to this and throw their anger in the form of a bad score. The gameplay is straightforward and recognizable, with your typical DM, TDM, CTF, and KOTH, and escort. It also has Kill Confirmed (a spin off of TDM), as well as Netwar and Domination(similar to KOTH). ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------>>One last thing. The customization in this game is amazing. The guns(all of them) you use(as long as they're not premade) can be customized with a unique receiver, muzzle, barrel, magazine, stock, scope, weapon tag, as well as a skin. Fun-wise, I think that this game is one of the best that I've played, especially for the price of free. I have dumped a few weeks on this game, and it has not bored me yet. This overview, while definitely not the best, covers what I think should help clear some things up. Damn Metacritic and its lack of allowing me to organize my wall of text. Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Blacklight Retribution is an amazingly well made free-to-play shooter game. Controls are solid, player builds are very well balanced, pace isBlacklight Retribution is an amazingly well made free-to-play shooter game. Controls are solid, player builds are very well balanced, pace is fast and exciting, maps are varied and interesting. Customization is deep and complex and very satisfying. Gaining experience points in matches to level up and unlock more gear is also very satisfying. This is an excellent game overall! Full Review »
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    Game is a cheap remake of a game which failed as an "Arcade price" game(Tango Down) Like tango down, the maps are terrible, the graphics areGame is a cheap remake of a game which failed as an "Arcade price" game(Tango Down) Like tango down, the maps are terrible, the graphics are terrible, the guns feel fake, the gameplay feels fake.

    The game is INCREDIBLY biased; For example, if you put money towards the game, you can get hugely unfair advantages like being pretty much invincible having a much more powerful gun; Stuff which you can't get from just playing the game.

    There are MUCH better F2P FPS games out there, To list a few that are TONS better than this:

    Team Fortress 2-Probably the best FPS ever made, For free
    Battlefield Play4Free-Battlefield 2, another one of the best FPS games ever made-For free
    Warface-This one is especially good! Battlefield 3 standard!

    Don't ever play this, any other good reviews are people who have clearly never played the games I listed above
    Full Review »