Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 90
    The matter is simple – the game is free to play and, if you take my word for it, an excellent shooter. In a perfect world, it would knock the CoD series on its ass. Of course, in a perfect world its name wouldn't be Blacklight: Retribution and in a perfect world, it would have better ballistics and the graphics would be equally as good on all lanes.
  2. Apr 18, 2012
    90
    This is not only a great example of a professional and credible free-to-play game, but it's also one of the best first-person shooters I've played.
  3. 85
    The biggest concern I usually have with free to play games is that they are actually "pay-to-win". That doesn't seem to be the case here, and while yes, you'll have more fun early on if you spend some real cash on the game, you're not held back by any barrier if you decide to not pay a cent other than your time. Download the game on steam and try out Blacklight: Retribution, as it is a very good game and the price is right.
  4. Apr 14, 2012
    85
    Great shooting mechanics and deep customization options make for an addictive combination, and its free-to-play model makes it easy to jump into with no upfront cost.
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    81
    Like many shooters, most gamers won't likely play for the long haul, but for the cost of free it's entirely worthy of a download and your time. Hell, you might even be inspired to spend a few bucks.
  6. Jul 23, 2012
    80
    A rather good multiplayer first-person shooter which can be enjoyed without the need to plonk down any hard cash.
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    80
    Blacklight's a smart and polished take on a very tried-and-true formula, and if that's what you're looking for, there's really no better F2P option.
  8. Apr 26, 2012
    80
    Blacklight: Retribution is a good game, although anyone who wants to play seriously will definitely need to invest some time and money in order to be really competitive. As someone who doesn't play a lot of keyboard and mouse shooters, I particularly appreciated the tutorial, which allows you to get familiar with the controls in a non-combat environment. With solid shooting, unique play mechanics and no barrier to entry, Retribution is a good choice for fans of PC shooters, or anyone who wants to give the genre a try.
  9. Jul 30, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. May 4, 2012
    78
    It's free. Good FPS with optional price. The usual online and look the same. Zombie Studios has done a good job, but nothing amazing.
  11. 76
    A polished, enjoyable shooter with a fast pace and unique mechanics that are easy to learn and fun to employ. Whatever minor fumbles it may make, the compelling design overrides them to the point where the game is easy to recommend. Plus, it's free. Who doesn't like free?
  12. Aug 6, 2012
    75
    Retribution is worth your time under one condition –you like online shooters, you don't get carried away with emotions and will treat this game as entertainment and not a fierce match to the death. Game mechanics is perfect, you can easily feel differences between weapons, even after a slight modification. The game uses Unreal Engine 3, is well optimized and looks nice, although the industrial style and sterile locations prevent you from being astonished. I'm not a hardcore shooter fan, so after a while – even with all the weapons and customization – I became bored. Retribution offers nothing new.
  13. Apr 30, 2012
    75
    Blacklight: Retribution is a free2play shooter which give its best only with a credit card.
  14. Apr 20, 2012
    75
    For FPS fans looking for a cheap fix, this game will definitely do a good job of keeping you happy for a while (or at least till Battlefield 2143 comes out). There's a lot of fun to be had here, and because the price of admission is free, that makes the deal even sweeter. Just bear in mind that there are still a few rough edges here and there.
  15. Sep 16, 2012
    70
    A more-than-capable shooter that is a blast to play. Shame about the pings. [Sept 2012, p.59]
  16. Jul 22, 2012
    70
    Blacklight: Retribution is a good, but hardly great multiplayer-shooter. It´s solid entertainment for a while, but does not nothing new, that will knock you of your boots.
  17. Jun 19, 2012
    70
    The shooting is precise, but the overwrought customization system sacrifices depth for brute-force completely. [Aug 2012, p.62]
  18. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    If Blacklight: Retribution was a full fledged commercial product, it wouldn't make it to a decent score: the free to play business model instead deserves some attention from the FPS junkies with empty pockets, in particular those who truly can't stand Team Fortress 2.
  19. Apr 10, 2012
    65
    Blacklight: Retribution doesn't stand out from the crowd, but this free-to-play shooter offers a decent amount of bang for your non-buck.
  20. Jul 16, 2012
    50
    The fact that it's free-to-play is almost the only point of interest in this derivative shooter - and even that is far less appealing once you get into the details.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 127
  2. Negative: 36 out of 127
  1. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    I've read several low reviews on the site that I believe this game does not deserve due to ignorance and laziness. I'm going to try and giveI've read several low reviews on the site that I believe this game does not deserve due to ignorance and laziness. I'm going to try and give my opinion. Anyone that beats on this game for its "p2w" status has obviously not played it long enough, or is blatantly lazy and demands that everything be handed to "it" on a silver platter. This is my view. I have not spent a single penny on Blacklight Retribution. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->>The graphics are pretty good, the environments are colorful, and its cyberpunk theme is presented very nicely. However, if you're looking for BF3 level graphics, go play BF3. It's a shooter. If you're too busy staring at the wall textures, then you should really be doing something else.--------------------------------------------------------------------------->>Many people have also hit on this game on its "complexity", stating that it has too many elements, the gun customization is too complicated, the tutorial is too complicated, HRV is too complicated. They are all impatient idiots who are all unwilling to just sit down for a few minutes and learn. The system is not hard. It just requires some getting used to. If you want a simpler game, go and play some **** generic Korean FPS like Combat Arms. -------------------------------------------------------->>The cash shop/paying IRL is another thing I've been seeing as a complaint here. It is also one of the biggest parts of an F2P game. As such, this section will be the longest. Let me get this straight: --The ONLY things that are only obtainable in BL:R via money only are heroes, cosmetic items, taunts, a few profile customization options, and a COUPLE gun receivers. That is it. Everything else, and I mean everything (every single gun part, every single piece of armor, every single piece of equipment) is obtainable permanently by just playing the game. ---------------------------------------------------``Premade weapons(only permable by zen) can be obtained by gp for a very low daily price-200gp. That's about 1.5 matches, which will take a MAXIMUM of 15 minutes. That's a hell of a lot better than other F2P games. -----------------------``Just like other F2P FPS, you can earn Zen(in game money) by doing surveys or offers via the BL:R website. ---------``Items are unlocked on a per level basis. HOWEVER, every single time that you level up, you automatically get a free weapon tag as well as 1 of each item that has been unlocked for 3 DAYS. --``ALSO, People who think that you can only unlock weapons for 1 day with GP are illiterate, lazy, and do not follow the tutorial. In the purchase option, hit the little arrow next to "1 day", and choose a period of time. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------``Perming items is not that hard with GP. Your most expensive weapon part is a receiver at 5000 GP. At 150gp a game, that's only about 30-40 matches. Those that whine and complain about the game being a "grind for gp" need to take the immediate gratification/item needing dick out of their ass and go back to COD. The game is fun, even with the standard equipment. Need proof that standard equipment isn't pure **** and is actually viable? Go search "z3roarmada" on Youtube. >>Next, the gameplay. BL:R has a mechanic called HRV, in which you can see the location of every single player, depot, vehicle, and objective on the map for a limited time, with a set recharge. "AHMAHGAWD THAT'S OP" It's not if everyone can do it. With that added mechanic, situational awareness is key, and ambushes are nigh impossible. Many players are unused to this and throw their anger in the form of a bad score. The gameplay is straightforward and recognizable, with your typical DM, TDM, CTF, and KOTH, and escort. It also has Kill Confirmed (a spin off of TDM), as well as Netwar and Domination(similar to KOTH). ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------>>One last thing. The customization in this game is amazing. The guns(all of them) you use(as long as they're not premade) can be customized with a unique receiver, muzzle, barrel, magazine, stock, scope, weapon tag, as well as a skin. Fun-wise, I think that this game is one of the best that I've played, especially for the price of free. I have dumped a few weeks on this game, and it has not bored me yet. This overview, while definitely not the best, covers what I think should help clear some things up. Damn Metacritic and its lack of allowing me to organize my wall of text. Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Blacklight Retribution is an amazingly well made free-to-play shooter game. Controls are solid, player builds are very well balanced, pace isBlacklight Retribution is an amazingly well made free-to-play shooter game. Controls are solid, player builds are very well balanced, pace is fast and exciting, maps are varied and interesting. Customization is deep and complex and very satisfying. Gaining experience points in matches to level up and unlock more gear is also very satisfying. This is an excellent game overall! Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    0
    Payed $10 for the game and stupidly activated the limited time XP booster. At the time of writing the games servers have been almostPayed $10 for the game and stupidly activated the limited time XP booster. At the time of writing the games servers have been almost completely unavailable for over 6 hours. I would suggest against buying this game until the server issue has been sorted out. Full Review »