User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 59
  2. Negative: 15 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    1
    What a total bore this thing was! The other expansion packs have been quite interesting but it seems that this and the new +11 level ultra pack2 just plain suck. If you're buying this on Steam with the season pass I guess it's worth it, but I recommend playing this pack with low expectations. The pirate expansion, the arena battles, and other packs are far better made. thumbs down!
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    0
    B2 was awesome game when it came out and was pure 10 here on MC. First 2 DLC's was somehow good (1st better than 2nd). Then problems started. They ruined whole game first with months of waiting for level cap. There was no point to play for people who had characters on level 50. And after that "Sir Hammerlock DLC". That is probably dullest and pointless DLC in gaming history. Further, it seems to me that they are targeting new content specially for coop play which produce pretty stupid gameplay for us which do not play in parties! Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2013
    4
    Short
    Well, I bought the Borderlands 2 Season Pass and tried the Big Game Hunt DLC. I entered this DLC at level 36. I finished the DLC at level 39, which is good leveling. However, this DLC is very short. I did all story missions and two side missions. The DLC took me about 2 hours to complete. I'm happy I didn't spend 10 bucks on this DLC, because I would be asking for a refund. I like
    the story, I think the villain is funny also. I wish the story was 13 chapters instead of 3. And yes, there are only 3 chapters in this DLC. I believe in the Pirate's Booty DLC, there were 13. And in the Mr. Torque DLC, I believe it was around the same. Good, story, but WAY too short. 3 out of 10. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    Almost completely unplayable. First off I am playing as Zero. In the main game and the first DLC (captain scarlet) i walked through the final bosses like nothing, then i get to the cabin at the beginning of this DLC and get absolutely stomped into the ground by witch doctor. It would seem that this is an enemy meant for no other purpose than to be annoying as all hell. Burn it down to 75% health.... heals its self to full. Burn it down to 50% health.... It heals its self most of the way to full then turns into an invincible tornado that is almost a 1 shot kill, heals its self and then summons a bunch of enemies. Then on top of this it has as much health as some of the mini bosses (if not more), is pretty much immune to melee, is totally immune to head shots, and is able to heal not only its self but every other enemy on the damn map every 10 seconds (it summons most of these and upgrades them to badasses too). Not even 30 minutes in and I have rage quit and have no intention of returning to this DLC. Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    5
    This DLC is a little hard to review, but it boils down to balance. Want to take in a lower level toon? I took in a level 34 Mechromancer and was repeatedly killed by the now infamous Witch Doctor. The goons aren't even all that easy, but are manageable on their own. Add in one Witch Doctor, and be prepared for second winds and respawns. However, roll in with a higher level toon (I took in a lvl 50 Berzerker with legendary weapons) and had no problems whatsoever. Cakewalk even. So balance right off the bat is screwey. I would rather go through this DLC with my mid level Mechromancer to work towards getting that toon to lvl 50. But it seems infuriating to the point of not being worth it. For the little time I've spent with the rest of the DLC, Hammerlock is an OK character, but isn't as well suited as a main focus for DLC as he just isn't quite as engaging or funny. All in all, this season pass seems like a great big letdown. I played through Captain Scarlette (which I liked, good balance and such but no new gear worth getting). I played through Torgue, but I didn't care much for it. Torgue tokens were a good idea, but the weapons were lackluster. This seems like the weakest DLC of the three. They seem to keep getting worse. I'm almost afraid to see what's coming out as the 4th DLC from the season pass. If Gearbox has better content up their sleeves, they are taking their sweet time. Hopefully we get one reaaaallly solid last DLC for the 4th DLC in the season pass. Otherwise, I'm going to have a hard time spending extra money on more DLC outside of this season pass as it's slowly been leaving a sour taste in my mouth with each new release. Collapse
  6. Jan 23, 2013
    5
    Fairly short main story, some side quests to keep you busy. I went in with a level 50 character and end game gear and i didnt have much of a problem so i cant talk a lot about the difficulty though i can see how some enemies can be fairly annoying for lower level characters. Dissapointing overall I expected a lot more from this DLC, it had a lot of potential!
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    5
    Pretty weak, honestly. The new vehicle is just annoying to use, the witch doctors are resistant to too many attacks that they're annoying to fight, and the number of enemies that have one hit kills makes fighting everything annoying.

    It seems like they're rushing these things out too quickly, the quality is slipping in a hurry.
  8. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    Almost completed it. Basically if you dig the past DLC's this one is worth playing. Is it better? Nope. It's fairly short, the characters and humor aren't as good as past entries. Still it's fun while it lasts. That being said, some things you should know. As others have stated previously, this DLC is difficult. I'd say be at level 35 at least before heading in. I can see some people rage quitting after being killed by a witch doctor for the umpteenth time. On the positive side to that I found I used the rocket launcher and shotgun a TON more than any other previous entry which was kinda "new" for me. Also used "slag" weaponry/grenades ALOT more. Another irksome thing was having completed a side quest having to go through waves of re-spawned enemies in an already cleared area just to complete it! It didn't bother me alot but others may find it unacceptable.

    Aergus itself is a tad barren with not a ton of different areas//buildings to check out, but again not that big a deal for me.

    Loot drops are pretty consistent with other entries.

    NOTE!
    I played this in TVH mode starting at level 38, so the "normal" mode may differ a bit but probably not much.

    All in all a decent DLC worth a go, but I feel is better suited to more hardcore players. Casual fans may pass and shouldn't feel like they missed much.

    Did I mention to have a rocket launcher and grenades fully stocked at all times?
    Expand
  9. Jan 16, 2013
    5
    You'd think with the title this DLC would have you interacting quite a bit with Sir Hammerlock, but not really. He's just a quest giver, and that's all this really is, just a collection of fetchquests for more XP/loot. If you're already max level, there is literally no reason to come here. Like some other reviewers mentioned, enemies are bullet sponges and many possess one-hit-kill moves to add "challenge", but really all they add is frustration. You're safe giving this one a pass. Expand
  10. Jan 16, 2013
    6
    All things considered, it isn't bad. However, it falls more within the purview of disappointment. There are indeed some sidequests to keep you busy (not a terrible lot of them though), but the main story itself is rather short (rather jarring compared to the other two DLCs, which are still kind of short when taking sidequests out of consideration). I certainly didn't expect another General Knoxx, but as of yet, this is the weakest of the three DLCs in Borderlands 2. I'm hoping that the fourth DLC would be substantially better, and possibly even cover the Hyperion space station obstructing the moon. Expand
  11. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    I have played Borderlands 2 about 500 hours. I have played PT1, PT2 and reached level 50. Was PT1 fun? Yes. Was PT2 fun? Not at all. This is the reason, why I stopped playing PT2 immediately after reaching level 50 and instead played all characters in PT1. Now there is this new DLC. I traveled in "normal" mode to Aegrus with a Mechromancer level 33 (Anarchy build), a level 30 Impaler shield and level 30 purple weapons. My first fight with the witch doctor at the catch-a-boat location was so frustrating (although I had about 100 anarchy stacks), that I rage-quited the game. Why? You can't headshot a witch doctor. He is partially immune against melee attacks. He heals the mob, even far away from him. He has a nearly one-shot kill ability. He has all sort of elemental attacks. He is a bullet sponge. I don't know, why Gearbox thinks, every DLC has to be harder and more frustrating. It seems, that this DLC is for hardcore players only. But there are normal players out there. I like Borderlands 2, therefore 4 points. The DLC is not worth a point at all. Sit down Gearbox and think about it. I think, it's time to quit playing Borderlands 2. Expand
  12. Feb 11, 2013
    0
    This DLC is a little hard to review, but it boils down to balance. Want to take in a lower level toon? I took in a level 34 Mechromancer and was repeatedly killed by the now infamous Witch Doctor. The goons aren't even all that easy, but are manageable on their own. Add in one Witch Doctor, and be prepared for second winds and respawns. However, roll in with a higher level toon (I took in a lvl 50 Berzerker with legendary weapons) and had no problems whatsoever. Cakewalk even. So balance right off the bat is screwey. I would rather go through this DLC with my mid level Mechromancer to work towards getting that toon to lvl 50. But it seems infuriating to the point of not being worth it. For the little time I've spent with the rest of the DLC, Hammerlock is an OK character, but isn't as well suited as a main focus for DLC as he just isn't quite as engaging or funny. All in all, this season pass seems like a great big letdown. I played through Captain Scarlette (which I liked, good balance and such but no new gear worth getting). I played through Torgue, but I didn't care much for it. Torgue tokens were a good idea, but the weapons were lackluster. This seems like the weakest DLC of the three. They seem to keep getting worse. I'm almost afraid to see what's coming out as the 4th DLC from the season pass. If Gearbox has better content up their sleeves, they are taking their sweet time. Hopefully we get one reaaaallly solid last DLC for the 4th DLC in the season pass. Otherwise, I'm going to have a hard time spending extra money on more DLC outside of this season pass as it's slowly been leaving a sour taste in my mouth with each new release. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    70
    It's a solid few hours worth a look. [Apr 2013, p.111]
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    87
    Just like the perfect AC/DC song, Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt might occasionally drag, but whenever it counts, it gives you exactly what you paid for.
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    75
    The final DLC for Borderlands 2 has two faces. One is that of many new things: interesting maps, different from everything we got to know and a variety of completely new, well designed opponents. That's the "good face". The "bad face" is presented by the means of the shortest and most dull single player campaign yet. When compared to other two add-ons, Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt is the weakest one. But this doesn't change the fact, that fans should consider buying it, because it's most definitely worth the price.