User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1755 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    I played some extremely bad games but nothing could prepare me for borderlands 2 arguably the worst game on the **** UNIVERSE. The guns are so weak that i feel like im shooting peas at the enemy,the shields get destroyed after 3 hits 3 MOTHER**** HITS, the enemies are so overpowered that even if you are 2-3 levels above them THEY CAN STILL EASILY KILL YOU.The level scaling for the quests is BROKEN one quest has you killing a level 30 enemy WHILE IT SAYS YOU NEED TO BE LEVEL 28 THUS RESULTING IN THE ENEMY KILLING YOU IN 1 HIT even if you do all the side quests and farm enemies for xp THE GAME STILL REMAINS HARDER THAN MOTHER**** DARK SOULS . WTF GEARBOX WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU? borderlands 1 was amazing but this piece of broken ass **** can suck the dick of a hippopotamus Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    7
    So funny! The fist play through is pure pleasure. But by the second, third and DLC, I was saturated. Coop was sometimes awesome, but insanely powerful loot turned coop into a walk. Because of the crazy loot, many parts have real badasses to fight that are impossible to solo, but a piece of piss in a group. It was nearly fantastic, but then came over leveling, where you can get matched up with people 8+ lvls stronger than you, but you cant tell because lvls stop being numeric at 72. I don;t see the point in wandering around a make believe world where your buddies make the enemy evaporate, while you collect stuff. If only the difficulty balancing was done right. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Amazing game! wonderful gameplay, amazing story, hilarious humor! What more can you ask for a game? It's funny, good, amazing, wonderful! (Especially in Co-Op!)

    If i could i would rate this game:

    87 Gazzilion / 10!
  4. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Absolutely crazy, funny , whack and most of all fun. This game is all about loot, bossing and having a good time, with the endless amount of easter eggs, references and pop culture. It's a game both fun solo and with friends, though recommended playing with friends as it does enhance the experience (except when it comes to splitting loot). The classes are all fun and unique and each have their unique style of play. I really have few gripes about this game, one being that legendaries all of a set mob to farm. However, you are going to have a good time nonetheless 10/10. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    I wanted this games ever since it was announced , I played about 80 hours of the first game and i liked it alot . I got the bl2 goty edition on steam and over a weekend I put in 60 hours , the most obvious thing they changed is that it actually has a story , with enjoyable characters and funny dialogue . I would never say any game is perfect and never will I give a perfect score , but I loved this game , so if you liked the first game , go ahead Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Buy this game if you have friends who will play it with you online.
    This is one of the best online gaming experiences out there.

    For single player it gets old pretty quickly although you'll have plenty of hours to enjoy it as well.
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Hilariously dark characters, flawless gameplay, interesting story lines, great DLC, what's not to LOVE about this game. I enjoyed it so much I bought the Xbox 360 version AND the PC version. I have played through it at least a dozen times thus far and see no end in sight. It is fantastic. 10 out of 10. Best game ever made with the exception of Super Mario Bros. It is so good I can actually forgive Gearbox for the abomination that is Aliens: Colonial Marines. Expand
  8. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    This game is really fun. Seriously, its not terrible unbalanced like the first game, where you will level up too fast and enemy's will likely present no threat at all.

    You can unlock better weapons by loot, or by using rare keys, which will give you great and unique weapons or shields. You can also unlock achievements which instead of giving you XP like in the first game, will give you
    the chance to give your character a really tiny boost in health, shield, ammo, damage etc. (Forever)

    It offers more variety of enemy's, and the game fells more "alive". The characters are interesting and the humor is good (Not like a "HAHAHAHAHAHA" type of humor but it will make you laugh sometimes.)

    The storyline is better (Well, now there is ACTUALLY a story line)

    Oh, I forgot, the ending doesn't suck like in the first one.
    Expand
  9. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Simply awesome. This game is the best game I've played in ages, when you reach max level, you have so many things to do, it never ends. NPCs are hilarious, easter eggs are awesome. It's perfect.
  10. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    all my god this is great and you may be thinking this may be boring and plain well no there is hole new story then just opening a vault but i shall not spoil it for you and like first one there are four vault hunters that are zero maya aston and salvador that are smilier then the ones in the first ones and there are two dlc characters you can get and there are bazzilons bazzions 20000000000 more bizzilon guns to find and collect and like the first one the gun manufactures are malliwain torque dahl tediore and valdalf and also there are different elements that are corrosion fire electricity slag that does more damage if you don't now what that means and explosions and more variety of enemies that you will have to use different strategies to defeat like a older your going to use corrosion to do more damage to loaders and more i won't spoil to use and jack is one of the most funny villains i have ever seenveichal controls are amazing now and there where some funny npcs in the first game but this one has much more like the always extremely hot mad moxxi and always funny scooter his big big breasted sister ellie and the crazy tiny tina and the skill tress but there are 2 problems with it one there is annoying when we can't make a full customised vault hunter well sure there are lots of skins but still and i now not every game needs this but borderlands 2 needs it and second one there can be lag a lot well except for pc Expand
  11. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    I've played this game for hours and hours and there's something about it that's very fun. The music and graphics are great, I really enjoyed the cellshading look and the western style tunes. The game runs very smoothly thanks to the Unreal Engine. The story is not very complex and the bad guy is too childish for my taste.

    On higher difficulties you keep running into fights that are just
    annoying, it's very imbalanced unless you spend time farming good items. You can't make up for the lacking items with skill either, because the enemies are many, they are faster than you and they kill you with 1 or 2 hits. It's a game of numbers.
    A dodging mechanism is badly missing from this game, so all you can do is run in circles, shoot and hope for the best. Same in multiplayer. People are dying left and right. It's either kill fast or die slowly, because dying in this game takes about 30 seconds including the mostly useless down state and a very long and equally annoying respawn animation. Gun fights are obviously the core of a shooter and I'm afraid BL2 gets them wrong.
    Then there are the unrealistic weapons that have negative side effects that often take away the fun. The bullet spread is also very high compared to other shooters, so it's pretty much spray and pray all the way. Not that you could aim precisely anyway, with all the status effects blurring and covering the screen... I dig that they went out of their way to adjust the game for PCs instead of porting it 1:1 from consoles, but the game still feels really console-ish in that regard.

    In the end, the game is enjoyable, despite its flaws.
    Expand
  12. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    I had so much fun playing this game alone and even more with friends, but felt it was just Borderlands 1.5. This game really brought fun to the table as soon as you pop it into your disc tray or launch it from Steam. It makes you laugh, yell, and smile at your monitor while playing this game. Although it was a blast to beat, and perfect, it didn't really bring a whole lot of new content to the franchise. This is to be expected of every game of course, but at times it felt like an expansion to the original Borderlands, doing the same types of missions from the first. This game really was amazing though with more weapons, vehicles, characters, and a new story following the first game. I recommend this to play with buddies on the weekends. I have put 59 hours on just the base game, but still haven't picked up the DLC, and am glad to put more into it. Get this game and have fun. Expand
  13. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    I just love this game. Yes, it gets repetitive. Yes, its sometimes hard.
    But, I CANT STOP LOVING THIS GAME.
    It looks awesome, its fun, buy game of the year if you like Loot'N'Shoot's
  14. Mar 9, 2014
    5
    I finally decided to give this a chance because I was really curious about the humor. Figured I'd be in for a lot of action and fun. Well... if killing the same random enemies on dumb fetch quests over and over, getting relatively worthless loot and thus hearing one joke per hour is your kind of fun, maybe this game is for you.
    The respawn mechanics are simply ridiculous. Enemies spawning
    during boss battles - alright. I'm not a fan of it when it happens so much but still. But then having to fight ALL enemies yet again after finishing a boss and backtracking (because why put a fast travel point maybe after a boss battle when you can stretch the game out by having the player go through the same **** multiple times) is unacceptable.
    And the loot system reeks of Torchlight. Within just a couple of hours of playing, you'll probably simply stop picking up white gear because it's useless anyway. There is so much useless loot that it's more of a chore checking it out rather than being excited about what one might get.
    Also, the controls don't really feel all that great. And It seems to me that the cel-shaded graphics make it more difficult to aim when you aim down the sights.
    It feels like a bit like a bad combination of COD and Torchlight to me. I don't understand why on earth people enjoy it that much.
    Expand
  15. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    I love it. Alot. How much is "alot" you might say? Well, how does 346 hours of playtime sound? Everything about it is wonderful, the guns, the quests, the characters, the skills, the mobs, all of it. There is only one thing I don't like about it (granted, it does bug me quite a bit), and thats the speed of leveling. It feels like if you do the side quests all the way through, by the time you're in the level 20 zone you're level 30! This however can be avoided by skipping most (but not all) of the side quests the first time through and instead waiting till playthrough 2 or a new character to do them. Or, if you like being a god in a low level zone, then go ahead and pwn all of everything! Either way, its a must buy if you can deal with the over-leveling, and I still really love this game. Expand
  16. Mar 5, 2014
    6
    I tried really hard with this game.

    It looks wonderful and its very flashy, but its just not very interesting.

    I played a good 10+ hours and didn't really enjoy any of it. The best word I could find to describe this game is "bland". You will do the same thing over, and over, and over... in the same locations over and over and over (they look just the same). Also, the voice acting CAN
    become incredibly irritating and juvenile.

    It's a shame. Because the look of the game was really interesting. I could only recommend this to people that play nothing but bland console games and don't know any better, or teenage kids who might find the subject matter amusing.
    Expand
  17. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    With out a doubt, Borderlands 2 is one of my favourite games, with nearly 40 hours of game time I think I may have some credentials. I'll start of by rebutting the arguments of people giving this game a poor score.
    This game may get repetitive but that's the beauty of it, the second this game becomes slightly boring you can change your skill tree, change your character or simply change
    your gun type.
    People say is a spray type of game, well whats not fun about that?
    The graphics are nothing that's going to blow your mind but they do the trick and have never seemed dull or boring.
    The humour of the game still makes me laugh even in my third play through.
    However I never played the first instalment of Borderlands and they game may just be a slight improvement but hey, for me the game when i first launched it felt entirely new!
    Expand
  18. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    I'm 40 hours into the game but I got bored and ditched it (almost finished it). It's a very good game when compared to the rest of the FPS junk out there. I've finished the original Borderlands twice and this one not even once - both games have a substantially long long play time but the first one, even with the paper thin story was very captivating and had a nice feel of mystery to it. Most great things from the original game are here too, bigger and better. What's the problem then? Well, the few things that are NOT bigger and better, in fact they are abysmall. Humor is almost completely lost, main antagonist is seldom funny and he tries too damn hard, complete with real-life references aimed at mom's basement reddit dwelling teenagers - it definitely kills the mystery. Jokes feel like something that came out of **** constantly poking fun at its own bad writing. The only part of the game that was really immersive and a proper "Borderlands feel" to it was the Caustic Caverns and I think Borderlands fans will agree here, it is the hardest and most fantastic part of the game, it has stunning level design, spectacular monsters and captivating story behind it - the whole place was truly creepy complete with Borderlands' trademark black humor. After that level though, everything else was "meh". What made me quit the game though was the new item system where you get a purple (epic) gun with super short range but a super uber snipe scope - original Borderlands had its "funny weapons", yes, but in amounts of good taste. In this one though, MOST of the stuff is randomly geneated junk and you have an OCEAN of purple/orange items to compare in hopes of finding an ideal gun - this becomes a tedious and boring task. In first BL, ANY orange gun was probably better than what you currently had, in this one though you will have plenty of orange/yellow guns that are completely useless. As you progress in the game this will happen more often. You will end up using a purple weapon 10 levels behind you because all you can find is total junk even aften killing a major boss 5 times. With the "gun skill" attribute removed I was happy thinking now I can use any gun but I just can't FIND any gun that's even remotely usable. With that said I rage quitted the game after I finally found an orange Vladoff minigun but it had some ridiculously extreme attributes that conflicted with each other e.g. over the top precision that you don't need in the first place and too high fire rate but as compensation for those "awesome stats" it had massive recoil effectively making it unusable. Expand
  19. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    I got hooked from the very beginning, and just enjoyed it as a great fresh change from my other games. Good sense of humor, and cool boss fights made it even better. The gameplay is a little linear, but in a smart way, so it does not bother that much. Respawning enemies made it a little worse, and annoying, but I guess it is just me, and no game would be perfect for everyone. Boss fights might be slightly stressful, and I personally was tired of it, but still after all it rewards with a good feeling of achievement. Besides after getting through the first map, more gun selection awaits, so next boss fights would be less stressful.

    Perfectly balanced difficulty makes it a really exciting experience. The bad side of that would be no time to relax. Respawning enemies, boss fights, traps, and constant need to improve, and progress does not leave any room to take a breath, and enjoy the "safe room" time.

    But still I have this feeling that I want to go back to it, so why not to leave 9/10? Also there is a multiplayer, for a plus.
    Expand
  20. Feb 20, 2014
    9
    In borderlands 2 you are a vault hunter who nearly dies but you are saved by a Siren named angel who wants you to help her to destroy the vault key and free her. It`s a co-op game and heavily loot driven. I suggest you play with at least one player.
    The game is awesome because you can acquire a lot of different weapons. I thinks you should hack the game because it’s easier to get better
    weapons and fight better enemies.
    If you are going to play solo you definitely should hack because the game gets so difficult sometimes playing alone.
    Expand
  21. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    The replay factor is crazy: I"ve got characters of all classes and still haven't got tired of the game even playing single player most of the time. The variety of missions and DLC makes the game live much longer. Story is cool, great voice acting, beautiful graphics, precise controls and and a serious pack of fun.
  22. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    Having not played the original, Borderlands 2 offers a gameplay structure that is entirely new to me. This game is a great showcase of how to integrate FPS and RPG elements together. Most of the FPS elements you could want are here: lots of enemies, weapons, locations, voice overs and a strong overall presentation. The RPG elements are also great: you gain experience and levels, find items and you can complete quests in large open worlds in the order that you like. Enemies also respawn so you can gain experience by farming in the same area. You can also find money and loot to spend at gun and ammo machines, a mechanic that very much reminds me of Bioshock. Aside from the successful integration of two genres, the game's presentation is excellent. The colour style is great and the whole cartoonly look really creates a vibrant world full of attitude. The voice acting is strong with a rich dialogue and a great sense of humour. The game's characters also have great personality, although I found Claptrap to be rather annoying and a weaker version of Wheatly from Portal 2. What makes the gameplay experience even better is that you can play the campaign cooperatively with friends and work together to complete quests. Expand
  23. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    Borderlands 2 is an all around fun game. The loot is infinite! Not really but you get the point. there is so much loot. over all the game has an amazing story line with 4 play through's. The mobs have amazing and very fun commentary. And it adds a hole new feel to the game with coop mode. you can trade loot and money with other people, not to mention the risks of dueling Items. over all this is a spectacular game and i cant wait for Borderlands 3. Expand
  24. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    A truley amazing game! Very fun, lots of things to do, and the graphics are great! Borderlands gives you a feeling that you are on a sweet planet with a great storyline (makes me laugh a lot). Nice FPS system with leveling, and many options for gear and builds! Great game and I highly recommend to anyone! I didn't give it a 10 though, only because the DLC is expensive and there is too much of it. Expand
  25. Jan 24, 2014
    8
    A damn good game. Funny as hell and challenging.
    I'm normally not a 1st person shooter kinda' guy but I gave it a go and 60 hours and two characters (Zero and Krieg), later, I'm sold.
    I only have some minor quibbles with the game:
    1. I wish you could have a 1st person/3rd person option much like Skyrim.
    2. The missions are LONG! You feel like hopping in to do something quick, good
    luck!
    3. There should be more "evenness" with weapon and gear distribution.
    4. Chat in groups is HORRIBLE! Unless you click on Y to either type yourself or see what someone else typed, you have no idea if a teammate is giving a direction or saying anything because chat doesn't pop up when someone types. You see it of course, but your teammates don't unless they check for messages.
    Other than that, the game is fun as hell!!
    Expand
  26. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    Easily one of my favorite games of 2013. Great exploration, good story, tons of action, rewarding co-op, very challenging gameplay. Ultimate Vault Hunter Mode is too hard to solo, you'll need to play it with others. Also the final DLC, Raid on Digistruct Peak is not a new story campaign but instead a small set of near impossible challenges that will have you grinding to "OP 8" which is another way of saying level 80 without the extra 8 skill points. In other words the final DLC seems rushed and unnecessary.

    The psycho and mechromancer add-ons are fun, but don't buy them unless you really like the game.
    Overall amazing game. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  27. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Expansive storytelling and a fair amount of sandbox running around are delights that make this FPS really truly great. Finding replayability a little boring? Explore. Explore. Explore. My hope is that borderlands has established a foothold in GURPS-esque (for those who don't know look up GURPS) gameplay and may push this to be a larger MMORPG in the coming iterations. Kudos for continued success!
  28. Jan 13, 2014
    8
    One of my all-time favorite games. Very enjoyable characters and the dialogue is very well near spot-on perfect! Gameplay keeps you coming back hours on end with loads of unique guns and endless hours of farming! The story was well thought out and was miles better than the original Borderlands. However, if you are looking for a drastic change from the original, then you may be underwhelmed with the same type of gameplay. Though I personally don't mind the lack of difference in this game, as it truly is a game worth playing. Expand
  29. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    The game play itself is good enough, but I have two complaints that I believe prevent the game from scoring a ten from me.

    The first being, the cartoon-like graphics spoil it for me. Personally, I find it difficult to find certain things and after half an hour I get eye strain. If the graphics were like that of a classic 2012 shooter, then I could raise the score to eight.

    Now I know
    this second point will sound stupid, but this is very significant to me. Your robot companion throughout the game, claptrap, is so immensely annoying that if this were a real life situation, I would have committed suicide after the numerous futile attempts to destroy that annoying little c*nt.

    Apart from those two factors, the NPCs and weapons are responsive and I enjoy playing with them.
    Expand
  30. Dec 30, 2013
    5
    I simply do not understand the rave reviews for this game. Sure, it’s open world and can play coop, but the shooting itself isn’t great. The enemy variety is not great and the story is not very absorbing either. Pretty much, the first person shooting rpg aspect is far from what Far Cry 3 developed while the fun shooting mechanics and environment is far from what Bulletstorm developed. You end up with a poor mixture of both with repeated mission types, the need to grind (which I don’t find fun), uninteresting enemies and very bland shooting, especially compared to the type of first person shooting found in a game like Bulletstorm. The one thing this game has over others is co-op, but the kind of chaos it creates makes any of the writing and story obsolete.
    If you want an FPS with heavy RPG, try Fallout 3
    If you want an FPS with crude humour, vibrant colours and fun diverse shooting and weapons, try Bulletstorm
    If you want an FPS with CO-OP, try Left 4 Dead
    If you want a boring combination of all this, then you have Borderlands 2
    Expand
  31. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Great Game. In-jokes with cultural references a plenty as well as humorous writing draw you into the story and keep you wanting to play more. Comic book graphics are done well and gameplay makes sense. You can enjoy this game for its dialogue, its loot hunting/collecting (similar to Diablo 2) or its well-done dlc (even holidays get their own stories and in-game analogies). Co-op matching seems to be difficult to use and clunky (if you don't have friends to play with), but the single player game is so immersive you don't really care. Once you complete the story and discover the third party save-editor, the game goes downhill quickly, but I played for over 100 hours before I reached that point, and I still enjoy hearing the stories again. Expand
  32. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    Borderlands 2 is a really good game that could have been great.
    There are a few things that drags it down in my opinion.
    1. The shooter mechanics are intentionally unprecise. Large bullet spread combined with huge sway, absence of proper sights on many (most un-scoped) weapons combined with many fast and agile enemies can make the game frustrating.
    2. The weapons are just too random in
    their abilities/function. Sure, there are thousands, but 95% of them sucks big time. The chance of you finding just what you want is microscopic, and then finding an upgrade... good luck. I would have preferred a modular system, like Dead Space 3.
    3. You sometimes have to fight through certain areas multiple times.
    4. Many enemies are massive bullet sponges.
    5. WASD keys aren't usable as navigation in the menus (might seem nitpicky, but come on, really? It just screams bad port).

    All in all, B2 is a good game that could have been a 10 with some changes. The story is pretty good and well told, and Handsome Jack (the badguy) is hilarious.
    The Mechromancer is fun to play, even if I've struggled with finding a build I'm completely satisfied with.
    Expand
  33. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Bought this game while i was deployed as a way to play with friends and family. It is amazing! From the graphics, hilarious voices, awesome weapons, the script. It's all amazing. The difficulty scales with how many you have in your party. I love the dev team who continue to put on content for this amazing game!!
  34. Dec 15, 2013
    3
    It is a simple game. The mere fact that things reappear in each new game takes away a lot of excitement to the game. The RPG elements are very poorly included, have virtually no relevance or projection within the game. It is an ordinary shooter I think.

    Aesthetically it is an attractive game. But neither has characters too intriguing to excite. Perhaps the most interesting are
    psychopaths, but are irrelevant. Expand
  35. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    i played this game 4-5 months. i love everything in this game. weapons, enemies, caracters, story. and more important the references are awesome. YOU CAN SLAP THE JEFFREY MAN anyway if you call you GAMER you MUST play this game.
  36. Dec 4, 2013
    5
    Not sure why this game gets so much buzz and hype it makes me realize just how much people must like mindless FPS shooters (but then, I already knew this long ago, from the popularity of games like Unreal Tournament)

    The fact of the matter is that this game has some great production quality (graphics, sound, etc)... but it's lacking where the game really counts: FUN factor, and a sense
    of accomplishment.

    The graphics are a nice twist, and go with the whimsical, dark-carnivalesque post apocalyptic theme. The vibrant colors and intricate props can get a little cluttered and overkill at times, making it hard to really focus on anything (or to see enemies)... but that's a minor annoyance, and it's still a nice feel.

    The audio is excellent, with some very fine voice talent work and great delivery of lines and jokes. The humor and "feel" of the game is what pushes it up to a 5.

    However, there are major flaws which make this game just... not as fun as it should be:

    They call this an FPS/RPG. It's really not. I would call a game like Fallout 3 an RPG with a slight hint of FPS (not done very well); Borderlands is an FPS with a slight hint of RPG (not done very well).

    And it's a no-brainer run-and-gun, at that. That's my biggest problem with it. There's not really any sense of tactics or strategy involved. It's simply "get the most powerful gun you can, have good aim, make sure your ammo is stocked, and blast away... run around a little bit to find other cover... get in a vehicle and then you are basically invincible... etc.

    The feel of it is almost identical to Dead Island another hack-and-slash, run-and-gun smashfest, but at least in that you are dealing with zombies so it makes sense. The idea of an "open world" with characters to talk to, but not really any puzzles to solve, just quests the characters give you to "go to a destination" and then "kill X" or "retrieve Y." However, I found the level design and variety in Dead Island much better-done than Borderlands 2.

    The level design, tactics, and resource management are what have made games like Half-Life so great. Borderlands 2 is seriously lacking in this department. You will essentially never run out of weapons or ammo everywhere you look, there are piles of goods lying around. This makes it fairly easy to avoid dying (especially when you throw in the last-ditch effort you can give after being downed), and even if you do die, there's not much of a problem, as you respawn somewhere you recently passed no real penalty or problem.

    I haven't played in co-op mode, which I assume plays something like Dead Island (but worse)

    In short, what does it tell you that I am spending my time writing this review right now instead of playing the game?? (At least I was smart enough to wait for it to go on sale, and got it for $10. At that price, I don't feel bad... it's given me some enjoyment, it's just getting tedious and repetitive after a few short hours, which was never the case with games like Half-Life 2 or Fallout 3...)
    Expand
  37. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    Really nice game, large choice of weapons, beautiful graphics, interesting characters, large world to explore, interesting quests, interesting vehicle mini game, add a nice touch of humor and you have a near perfect game, only gave it 9 because i never give 10,I'm a firm believer that there is always room for improvement.
  38. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    I got borderlands 1 and 2 for £17 and I have to say I'm really impressed the game can last you about over 100 hours more if you buy the DLC or play on harder difficulty the story is really interesting and it's coming from the developer who got left with the utter fail Aliens: colonial marines it is an excellent recovery
  39. Nov 26, 2013
    0
    Everything you find now will be useless in 15 minutes completely killing your desire for you, the "treasure hunter". to pick up the "treasure". Fail safe check in the form of "save your life" to check if you've been slaving away at picking up the soon to be useless loot. Don't bother with that one gold in the locker, in 15 minutes, lockers will have 10 times as much gold in them. Only one real active skill and the rest are passive useless skills that barely do anything when compared to how quickly your new item damage scales. Put your one point in your active skill and feel free to ignore the rest of your skill tree. The game also requires no skill required. Add that all together and you have a perfect little hamster wheel. How long will you keep running inside the hamster wheel is all up to you. Expand
  40. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    After playing the Borderlands I was eagerly awaiting for the sequel to come out. Once it did, my expectations for it were correct. It's a great game with an amusing storyline. It doesen't take itself very seriously and it works in its favour. The only problem I had with it was that there weren't enough different "wacky" weapons (most of them were simmiliar).
  41. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Overall the game is very entertaining, for the first little bit at least. Once you get closer to the end of the game it starts to feel like you have been doing the same thing for the last however many hours, and it starts to get a a bit boring. The graphics and gameplay have been improved since BL1, but it still feels much like the first one, with just a bit more stuff to find, and a lot more guns. The story is well done as it was last time, and the controls work well and are crisp. Expand
  42. Nov 18, 2013
    6
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (0/2)

    Wildcard (-1)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  43. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Such a fantastic game, because of: really fun and satisfying gun play, constant excitement for finding new and better loot and silly humour, which compliments the cell-shaded graphics style perfectly. This style of graphics looks surprisingly nice and texture quality is pretty good. However, another huge advantage that this game has over many in it's genre, is a fantastic PC port part, as the fps and general performance are constantly good, and for me at least, there are little to no game crashes or bugs. You do experience the occasional bug, but it is nothing immersion-breaking, or worrying. however, the UI is functional at best and was clearly designed with a console in mind, so it is sometimes a bit awkward to switch or compare weapons.

    On to the few negatives this game has, one of which is not the game's fault. The jump-in co-op is a fantastic feature of this game, but I highly recommend only doing this with friends, as random matchmaking tends to put you with someone who is not necessarily inclined to share loot with you. While money and ammo is shared throughout your group, those really great guns that you can find only belong to the person that picks them up, so this can be a problem, albeit not the game's fault. Another bad thing about this game is only based from what I have heard. I have many friends who have played both the original Borderlands and it's sequel, and every single one has suggested that it is effectively the same game, with better variety of guns, better graphics, and more improved features. However, I can't comment on this, as I have never played the original myself.
    Overall, a thoroughly satisfying and fun experience, where you can lose a couple of hours without even knowing it. Thorough recommendationf or me, especially at the cheap price of £6.79 I got it in this year's Steam summer sale.
    Expand
  44. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    Borderlands 2 is the best kind of sequel one that takes what the original does well and improves what it does poorly, in this case the story. The antagonist of Borderlands 2 Handsome Jack has got to be one of the most memorable game characters out there not just beacuse of his cruel acts but for the humor surrounding him.

    Theres lots of fun to be had in Borderlands 2 while i mainly
    played through it in single player and really enjoyed it i had an even better time playing it in co-op with friends. What does take away from the experience for me is that the NPCs in the game while funny and unique dont actually move around nor do they join you on missions, theres also very few of them which is a shame. I also disliked that at times the game felt more than a little grindy which took away from an otherwise great experience. Expand
  45. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    One of the most enjoyable games I have ever had the opportunity to play. Unrivalled story,content, characters and gameplay wrapped up in edgy, cel shaded graphics that makes it infinitely cool.
  46. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    It's quite simple. any game that can give you 100+ hours of game play value WITHOUT any multi-player component is nothing short but a great accomplishment. Great graphics, great characters and addictive gameplay. Too bad that the missions tend to repeat themselves and the quest are quite simple.
    The co-op is also great and offers a great experience with friends if you want to take on the
    biggest bosses. Expand
  47. Nov 7, 2013
    3
    I love the original borderlands. This sequel is a failure.

    First off, guns on B2 look too cartoony as compared to B1. It's so bizarre in designs that you'd think it's an alien gun, unlike in B1 where it's more or less recognizable and familiar.

    Claptrap and General Knoxx were funny in B1, now in B2 you get this really annoying bad guy named Jack that tells you tasteless jokes,. not
    funny but plain irritating. On top of that they added some things that I felt to be completely out of line, like the first recorder and it's story(google it). It just sets the tone for a really depressing game. I can only play through it once, as it is that depressing and tasteless. It seemed the sense of humor of the devs got sucked out by some aliens or something.

    Also one of my biggest gripes is the huge downgrade of backpack capacity. You can tell from the excuse that Gearbox posted that the writer was trying really hard to come up with a reasonable response to the small backpack. They really screwed the pooch there.

    They would have had more success and revenue if they followed the B1 formula or just release B1 DLCs.
    Expand
  48. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Best. Game. Ever.

    The game simply work, sassy jokes and characters, good humor, amazing stories and sub stories. This game will never make you regret the purchase done!
  49. Nov 2, 2013
    5
    The game boast a lot of guns and an memorable villain, both of which are true. However I find it hard to imagine that many people invest themselves into the game after 1 play-through (unless they do co-op). On PC there are several bugs: invisible walls, disappearing bullets, vending machine glitches, enemy's freeze up, enemies shot at nothing, enemies fly off the map.

    The initial
    play-through (normal) is relatively balanced but challenging. There are a good deal of missions and a lot of location. After completing the game you unlock true-vault hunter mode (play+) which isn't about enemies using tactics requiring strategy, but a race between you and them to become ridiculously overpowered. They move faster than you can turn, leap 2 stories, run backwards at full speed without hitting anything. The health bar is the same for every enemy, but not all level 50s are made the same. One has to grind through basic enemies that have 10x your health, so you'll need to unload mass amounts of bullets even into low level enemies. Loot drops greatly impact how you spec your character as well as how you play. While I don't mind some amount of farming, you have to farm a lot which involves having to reload from your saves over and over for hours to unlock one item then move onto the other (that's if the item is farmable or you've farmed enough to be able to farm a better item). Spending 20 hours to find one gun and hope it's the right level and variation isn't a lot of fun. There isn't any change of pace. Aside from killing enemies, there almost nothing to do (challenges would be the exception but most of those involve killing enemies).

    The dialogue is good though the overall story isn't that impressive. The skill trees have several options, but each character only has 1 special skill and all of the options are passive. Characters can have different clothes or heads but that's it for customization; mostly color swaps.

    If you are into looting guns and firing guns until your fingers go numb, this game is for you. If replaying the same scenarios over and over isn't your thing, then I would avoid this game.
    Expand
  50. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Borderlands 2 kept me busy for over 100 hours so far and I am still playing it extremely much. I love the graphic style, the humor and the shoot'n'loot mechanics, but this game frustrates me really often.
    If I start a mission that should be suitable for my level (same or lower minimum level) I die dozens of times because the enemies are still too strong for me. This results in me farming
    lower levelled enemies and quests until I am at least five levels higher than the minimum.
    But, yeah, aside from that, Borderlands 2 is an excellent game.
    Expand
  51. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    One of the best shooters of the decade! The game itself looks dazzling, and gameplay is engaging and can keep you entertained for tens or hundreds of hours. With hundreds of guns and side-quests, it's hard to turn the game off until you complete every mission, get the best guns to find, and slay the deadliest foes.

    Great characters keep you entertained with one of the most important
    factors of the game humour. Cheesy yet hilarious jokes and references will keep you grinning through the game. Despite this, the emotion is amazing, with heartbreaking losses and betrayal. Co-op is also an important factor, as completing missions with friends is always an entertaining experience. Replayability is near infinite with open world action and upgrades plus new game modes to challenge you.

    The map is big with some locations that would cause you to want to plunge into. DLC with upgrades, missions and maps will continue to keep you glued to the game. Achievements are plentiful to keep achievement hunters happy. Overall, this game is massive. With infinite replayability and hours of fun, and dubstep, Borderlands 2 is an experience you must jump into.
    Expand
  52. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Bigger and better than the original game in every possible imaginable way. Not only that but this game has some of the best dialogue and greatest characters ever to appear in a game. Pretty much a must have experience. Now.. I'm off to save up for a pony made of diamonds.
  53. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    Decent gameplay, but a single active skill is a bit of a waste of a skill-tree system, which means that the characters aren't all that different from each other (can limit replay value). Also, the game is somewhat obsessed with squeezing you for money. The season pass includes neither the game itself, nor even all of the DLC.
  54. Oct 12, 2013
    1
    This is by far the best co-op game I've played to date. The level progression is a grind at first but gets powerful later on. Both the theme and story were greatly improved from the first borderlands. Taking on a comedy theme has put color on the harsh world of pandora in a way that make it shine. Of all I can tell you the only thing i need to say is if you have friends to play with and you love co-op games I recommend this game to you.

    If you are still reading you're probably wondering why I gave this game a bad score. Well it is because I highly disagree with how Metacritic bases there reviews. Instead of taking the collective scoring of all their reviews, they take the reviews that were voted most helpful. For example: a game gets the reviews, one 1/10 and six 10/10. If the one 1/10 get lets say four positive votes and the six 10/10 get none, the end score will be 2/10 for the game. I do highly recommend this game I just hope people read before finding a review helpful.

    If you agree with me please up-vote this review, and may I wish you a wonderful day.
    Expand
  55. Oct 8, 2013
    3
    Okey look, i didn't like the first game. It was way to repetitive and just boring. Slow intro and for me it was a bad experience. Even COOP, was boring. But i gave B2 a chance, to justify if I really hated Borderlands as much as i hated the first game. Now..Borderlands 2 also starts with a incredible boring intro, not as bad as the first but it was still bad. After you've gotten like 2/3 of the games story it starts to get interesting, but its never an engaging ride. I don't feel a connection to any of the characters at all. But then again i shouldn't take the game seriously. The humor is ok, its not hilarious. (Just smiles)
    The gameplay isn't that fun to play, takes the average FPS shooter gameplay add some boring enemy's and there you have Borderlands 2 main structure.

    The Good:
    - Lead cast has a great voice actors
    - Great music
    - They keep the same visual design

    The Bad:
    - The minor cast has a pretty bad voice act..
    - They have a LOT of Low-Res textures
    - Boring enemy
    - Not engaging
    - The ending
    - Its boring to play coop.

    I know a lot of people might disagree, but this is my honest opinion. And i didn't have any fun with the game just as the last game.
    Expand
  56. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    I consider that this game has a lot to offer. yes some say it's the first borderlands ,version 2.0 but playing the 1st borderlands, i don't feel that way. it's hell of a lot fun even if you play alone, but in co-op everything gets better the story gets much deeper and it has more replay-ability value consider adding this to your game collection
  57. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    I love this game! I am a huge fan of B1 and in B2 i get exactly what i was expecting. It is a must have for all B1 fans. Awesome graphics and perfect gunplay!
  58. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice work is great. You have to listen to the various things the bandits say when you are fighting them. They often die with a funny one-liner.

    It's a run and gun with LOTS of guns, much like the first Borderlands, only MORE polished and with deeper
    levels of writing. I can't see where the dreary "I'm so serious" 4 and 5 review scores are coming from. We are talking about VIDEO games. This one has a fine balance between instant fun and long term 'purpose'.

    There are a few minor mechanics that could be improved. The player character could certainly benefit from a jet pack or another way to get around faster! Bigger levels and easier access to the structures through a climbing mechanic would be nice. Otherwise great work Gearbox.

    I like it so much I just went and bought ALL the DLC at full price, to be sure the developers get a taste of my money! They deserve it for making one of the most entertaining and lighthearted gun romps out there tight now.

    Orctowngrot
    Expand
  59. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    The game is one of my favorite shooter.A very godd prosecution for Borderlands 1. Not to easy and not to hard and the Multiplayer is one of the bests.
  60. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    The same great style of Borderlands, good voice acting, good characters, etc. I actually played this one all the way through unlike the original. Unfortunately that's not enough to unlock all the skill trees and apparently they expect multiple replays. Mulitplayer jumping in and out of games is pretty seamless and well done. There are exploits to let you hold on to your premium chest keys and wikis with all the codes if you're in to gear hoarding. Expand
  61. sft
    Sep 16, 2013
    8
    I ain’t gonna bite, pro’ly 2

    Almost everything I loved about the original Borderlands is here in BL2. I say almost because the only thing that’s missing is some of the charm and humour of the original. But BL2 is still a great game, and it improves on the original in one area the variety of enemies. Again the visuals and sound design are impressive. There are plenty of maps to explore
    as you complete the numerous missions. The combat is well-balanced and challenging without being frustrating. And there are, as advertised, “bazillions” of weapons (too many, in my opinion it’s gets a bit tedious deciding what to keep and what to sell or dump). And it’s a great multiplayer game too, especially with friends. I guess it’s hard to match what was an excellent game first time around, but Gearbox have just about managed it despite not being quite as memorable as the first. Expand
  62. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    I like this game because it's beautiful (graphics and all) to the point and has lots of shooting to do. The story is also likeable. It has a non-linear setting and it's a no-nonsense game. No disappointments.
  63. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    played B1 and it was nice, but the trailes and previews of B2 really didnt look to good for me, so i decided 1st not to buy it. But a freind of mine did and keep telling me how great it is so i decided to give it a shot and boy i am glad i did. i played that game over 400+ hours for now, and its the most brilliant and fun game which was ever released imho, i cant wait till they release Borderland 3 tbh, i am curious how it continues. Expand
  64. Sep 8, 2013
    6
    Borderlands 2 is a good game that fails to reach its full potential due to design choices that limit the enjoyment of single-player gamers. The game is great, even for single-players, until the plot has ended, and the extras begin. Then, the game becomes unplayable unless you join a multiplayer group, because the post-game enemies can't be defeated alone, and require group mates. This means that many players will be left out in the cold, and the money they spent on all the DLC will be wasted. An ok game, but should have been complete for both single and multi-players. Otherwise, it should just advertise itself as multiplayer, and not try to fool single player gamers into buying it. Expand
  65. Sep 6, 2013
    7
    Pretty standard FPS fare that demands to be played co-op, the solo experience tends to be a little monotonous; go here, kill this, repeat. Has some neat customization and funny dialogue but often feels as though it's fishing for memes.
  66. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed the first game, it was unique, but it lacked any real direction, and got very redundant. Borderlands 2 vastly improves upon the first game by having a very immersive and well acted storyline that really brings the characters to life and immerses the players in the games world. The action is more fast based and explosive than the first game, and the loot options seem more practical and refined.

    Overall, this game is amazing. Probably the best game of its genre in years. They must have done something right, because I cant wait for new DLC to be release so I can play the game more. Bring on part 3!!!
    Expand
  67. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    I loved the original Borderlands for so many good reasons: it was a innovative for a fps, with actually good mechanics of an RPG without losing the fps touch at all. Add also a lot of exploration, a lot of black humour, gore, blood and whatever gets in your mind, no wonder Borderlands was a great game (not a master piece: it had some flaws and it was repetitive at a certain point). When this game was announced I was very curious and I couldn't wait to get it. In the end, I had to wait for a discount instead...but there are good things in the game anyway: the mechanics are almost the same, if not THE same as the previous, but with some good tweaks in controls, weapons (some have unique ways to shoot just like the previous game), classes and so forth. The new things are not a lot really: we got some more customzation, we have a bank and the possibility to store items for your alts, we got some better controls now and much more fluid (than the previous). Also the inventory is much better designed (ALWAYS than the previous game) and some better shooting (it's much more handy and less stiff). But there's not really much else to add really, because it's almost the same game.

    Except it's plagued with DLC.

    BUT WAIT, before anything else I want to say that I don't dislike the dlcs: I had all of them in the original Borderlands and it was fine. But here it's different, because the game was plagued from DLC literally from day 1 with an embaressing release of dlc in a very short time (first came out 21 september, the season pass, then 9 october, then 16 october, then 20 november and so on, until now). But again, as I said, Im not saying I'm against them...but I feel ripped off to the bones like this, because while they aren't relevant for the game, they tried to take away as much as they could from day one, and give it us back as DLC (and each dlc is 10 bucks by the way, so it's not cheap either). Sure, also the original game had dlc but they came out with good distance between them and I could play the game before trying the extra content. In here, it was so fast, I could barely keep up even when there was a discount and I at least wanted the 2 extra classes, which was 20 for both and 25 for the game when discounted. In other words, I felt ripped off from their greed and from a "humble yet innovative" game as Borderlands now we get a "hungry for money" game that whenever they can, they'll serve us another dlc for another 10 bucks. The dlc, in other words, may discourage you for the big amount of them, and I feel sad to see this game becoming a greedy franchise. Still a very good game and fresh to its core, but just too greedy to feel satisfied.
    Expand
  68. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    This game comes off as a more finished version of Borderlands. About 10 hours in, the visuals are nicer, the combat is fun (same), and there seems to be more NPC talking. The killer for me was the decision to replace the Borderlands protagonists with... mutant-twin-copypasta, lame across the board versions of the Borderlands protagonists. It's my fault for not pre-ordering the game, but I'm now facing the prospect of waiting until mid-October and shelling out another $10 to play as a character that doesn't seem to be eerily familiar (reasonable or not, I almost instantly feel hostile toward developers who do this). During the DLC of Borderlands I started to feel like I was getting tired of exploring Pandora, and though I was excited going in my enthusiasm for Borderlands 2 is quickly waning. Too much focus was put on trying to make the story "better," and the game as a whole suffered. I played Borderlands when I wanted to mindlessly drive around, kill things, and collect guns. I would have honestly been happier with the same playable characters and new adventures. Expand
  69. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Excellent game, the brilliantly wide variety of guns, gadgets and missions keeps you coming back for more and more, and the boss fights get more and more epic. A truly special game I was happy to complete.....

    Only for it to get even better in multiplayer!

    A really great game.
  70. Aug 24, 2013
    4
    I'm sure this review will get bombarded with downvotes by blind fanboys, but the truth must be told.

    Being a huge fan of Borderlands 1, i couldn't wait to try out BL2. A few hours into the game, however, I realized this wasn't the sequel I was hoping for. In fact, it is much, much worse than i could have anticipated. I'll start off with the good: The graphics are upgraded and the
    locations are more varied and stylized than BL1. The story is better and the characters are more likeable. Weapon variety is increased and there are even more weird bonuses to keep your weapons interesting. And that's about where the good ends. Everything else in BL2 is a downgrade from BL1.

    Yes the story is good, but it tries to be emotional but the nature of this game doesn't support it. There is so much childish humor and stupid jokes that I can't take what's happening seriously at all. They totally wasted the effort of the story writers by making this game so childish. Normally I can take a joke or two, but every other minute you're bombarded with toilet humor that it just ends up getting annoying and it's a shame. Enemy AI has been seriously screwed with. Enemies move around so erratically that it makes landing shots on them more of a chore than an enjoyment. There are also enemy spawns everywhere and Gearbox made absolutely no effort whatsoever to hide them. See a black abyss? That's a spawn, you better watch your back! This game was released in 2012, there is absolutely NO excuse for this crap. I can't even count how many times a suicide enemy spawned right next to me and cost me a death. Speaking of deaths, they come so cheaply, especially in singleplayer, that you'll often feel cheated. You'll rarely have a "good" weapon, and if you do, it's by pure luck. So you'll either have to waste tons and tons of ammo on enemies, or spend hours farming bosses.

    The game is also clearly designed only for Coop. The difficulty for someone going solo is so immense, it's ridiculous. You'll have to spend hours upon hours farming good weapons to advance in the story on the harder difficulties. I can't remember any point in BL1 where i felt the need to actually farm a boss for a good weapon because i had nothing that could take out enemies that were the same level as me. Grindlands 2 would more a more proper name for this title.

    PC optimization is terrible. I have a mid-range PC and it struggles to keep the framerate above 10. I viewed forums and this is a common theme I've found. The ingame UI (which is supposedly made for PCs) is insanely glitchy and frustrating to use. There are tons of bugs and glitches present, I've been caught in the ground, fallen through terrain, etc, so many times i can't even count. The sad part is that this has happened right along the quest route for main missions. There has been little to no effort put into ironing out these bugs. There's more flaws I'd love to mention, but I'm running out of room in this review.

    I've read all these positive reviews by critics and users and I find it surprising that so few people are able to realize the flaws in this game. People should be ashamed of themselves for rating this crap above a 5/10. It's reasons like this that this industry is lacking initiative and individuality. If people keep praising broken garbage like Borderlands 2, we'll keep receiving the same recycled crap year after year. In closing, if you're interested in this game, get Borderlands 1 instead. If you already own Borderlands 1, stick with it and forget about this "game."
    Expand
  71. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    This game delivers.
    It's got good music, funny dialogues, quests and claptrap. It even got me into buying a helmet to customize the looks of my Assasin.
    I got a solid 70 hours of gameplay and there's still plenty to discover and complete if I want to.
  72. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    The best game i ever missed.
    I saw it on steam, was bored after a week full of customer meetings and gave it a try.
    As RPG and Shooter fan, also as old Shadowrun lover i was totally sucked in by the great atmospehere in the game. The flow, they style, the music and the game pacing and mechanics. All works together in a great symbiosis. Would have been my top choice as game of the year
    for 2012 if i wouldnt have missed it.
    Now after so many game-letdowns i finally found a great game where i didnt expected it.
    BUY BUY BUY. have fun. germany out.
    Expand
  73. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Absolutely amazing! I've invested 190 hours as of now, and not one of them was dull. Borderlands 2 is better in every aspect than the first, excluding two things. The only things keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the removal of weapon proficiencies and the gun manufacturers S&S munitions, and Atlas. Other than that, this game is nothing short of a masterpiece. With it's chaotic, fast-paced firefights, it's awesome co-op multiplayer, and great leveling system, I can't put a price on this game that I wouldn't be willing to pay. Expand
  74. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    This game is just plain fun. Playing the first Borderlands and being extremely let down by the storyline, I was really hesitant to pick up this and play it, but glad I did.

    I am very satisfied how the developers tried to keep some combat elements familiar to Borderlands 1, but expanded and improved on them as well. Some sequels (Mass Effect series comes to mind) are notorious for
    completely redoing the combat system and physically changing the feel of the game, but not so with BL2.

    The storyline was extremely satisfying and tied up many loose ends from the first game, and was somehow both dark and humorous at the same time. The side quests were not mindless milk runs, and I genuinely enjoyed completing them for the interaction with the NPC's in the game.

    The enemies gave enough variety and difficulty to keep combat interesting the entire game, and the add-on packs even more so.

    I think one of the best features is that this game is fun both as a single player campaign or as multiplayer. The dynamics are very different for both playstyles, but both are equally fun.

    One negative I will point out with this game is how the graphics engine is coded and all of the glitches and bugs it produces. Similar to Crysis, it does require significant horsepower to run, and it is not because the graphics are "just so phenomenal". Its because the rendering software was not optimized properly. During some parts of the game, I found myself in the heat of combat only to receive the lag spike of death and losing all progress since my last save.

    Overall, extremely happy with this game.
    Expand
  75. AWG
    Aug 13, 2013
    7
    Never played the first one but I was intrigued by the critical acclaim Borderlands 2 received so I tried it up.
    My opinion is that it's a good game, but it's not a masterpiece. Graphics are awesome and some missions are really well designed but the overall story is not that intriguing and the neverending blabbering by Clap Trap is annoying as hell.
  76. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    If i had imagined game like Diablo but in genre of FPS it would have been Borderlands 2! Great loot system, great weapons/items variability. intelligence of AI is best for me so far i've never play any shooter with such crafty enemies. Actually this is rare case when i spend all the weekend playing the game.
  77. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Well done Gearbox. Except for a bit of stutter in the menus the PC port is great. It's basically Borderlands all over again, but nothing wrong with that: excesses of run and gun with an insane amount (of mostly crappy) loot to sort through. Dozens of time wasting 'challenges' and 'unlockables'. Numerous tough set pieces that kill you and make you try again. Bundled with an accessible, enjoyable multiplayer. In short this game is a near-perfect (mindless) shooter. The humour is amusing, the gunplay is fun (and tough at times). Character skill trees do the job. And if you can snap up the season pass on sale, this game is BIG, giving gamers plenty of time to waste if they so desire. Nothing at all to complain about here. However since I find the game personally a little empty, long-winded and (dare I say it) boring, it scores 9/10 from the orctowngrot. Expand
  78. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    I can't even start to describe the amounts of laughs, fun and action this game packs.
    A true gem that combines RPG and FPS so well, by using inginious characters spiced qith superb sarcasm and beautiful graphics.
    I can't stopped playing it, and it already have 4 DLCs, and a level cap increase!!
  79. Aug 5, 2013
    4
    I pre-ordered this game because my friends had hyped up how cool it was going to be, lesson learned never listen to uninformed consumers opinions. First of this game has great PC options custom FOV, runs well, supports good resolutions......I just don't find the game fun, 8hrs in and I still have where is the fun moments dropped at 8hrs in and never picked it back up.
  80. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    Its a slight improvement to the original game. There's nothing particularly mind blowing about either title. Its cheap fun, with graphics and artwork that remind me of comic books.
  81. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 does not change the gameplay in any significant way, but it does fix every single flaw that was present in the original, where Borderlands 1's greatest weaknesses became Borderland 2's greatest strength. This sequels has more colorful environments, an engaging story, an entertaining cast of characters and much greater enemy variety which draw you into the experience just as much as the core gameplay mechanics do making this feel like a whole package. Expand
  82. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Gearbox has made another spectacular game that is great to play with friends or alone. With the almost never ending DLC that always add to the challenge to this game. With all games it has its bugs, but with updates they can be fixed. It just takes some time. I love playing this game with friends with finding all the humor, bugs, and Easter eggs. So i would love to rate this game a full 10/10!
  83. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    really love it!!! best game ever. got over the 900 hour playtime. and im still enjoying the game. the mix of action and humor makes this game perfect!! im looking forward to the next dlc's.
  84. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    The first 10 hours were pretty cool, the graphics were special and new for me, the wide palette of guns seemed to be great, falling from any height without die was interesting and the chance to get back to life with one single kill is awesome. In nutshell I enjoyed the game a lot in the begining and I thought: I'll buy some more DLC for it.

    But after few entertaining hours it's became
    boring and annoying.

    The AI sometimes was so stupid that NPCs does not even attacked me (therefore boss fights were easier than dealing with some simple soldier). Also the game loves to spawn enemies behind your back which is really annoying. (AI couldn't fire under a particular angle so if you are under them you won't be hurt.) The collective AI is "hyper sensitive" so if you shoot one soldier each of them will attack you in no time in a particular radius. (Combine this with spawning behind your back).

    I loved that "invisible walls" are rare but after few missions I've realised that this is just a mark of lazy level design. There are lot of unfinished part of the game and sometimes I've to jump 3-4 time in order to get forward.

    The missions became boring and repetitive which means you have to do the same each time.

    About the huge number of guns: It's impossible to get a perfect gun that perform well in every aspects. There will be always something wrong. Seriously!

    I've tried to force myself to finish at least the main story but i couldn't. This game is not hard but some annoying feature ruins the whole feeling. Pleasure was relevant only in the early hours. (After that period "rage quit" became a more common event.)
    Expand
  85. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    I'm kinda late to the party but I have to say I liked this game alot. It had alot of flair and over the top violence and humor that made the first one a good game but they did alot to make it a bit more accessible for the single-player. The story is alright. It would really help if you've played the first one to know what's going on as they don't give you a great chance at figuring things out but it's not necessary to play the game. This game is easily one of the funniest games I've ever played. Some of the jokes are just so superb that I found myself having to pause for a minute cause of laughter. The gameplay is fun and there's a ton of stuff to do, especially if you buy the DLC for the game. The biggest issue I had is still the fact that the game sometimes asks to much of the player. I feel like some of the quests you do can take almost an hour and the reward is most often lackluster. I personally only picked up guns from a few places throughout the game as I found myself not even doing most of the side missions cause the rewards were fairly bad. Plus the story gets really serious toward the end, which kills the vibe the game had going for it the rest of the time. This story was meant for humor, as were the characters. But the end of the game is just one buzz kill after another. It's definitely what you expect to happen but they went about it in the worst way possible. The game is best played with 4 people but can be played with one. While I wouldn't have voted it for any GotY awards last year, it's still a great game to play, no matter the big problems it faces. With the prospect of more DLC incoming, you could potentially play this game for quite a long time going forward. Expand
  86. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    This is a great FPS with a funny storyline that had me dodging bullets and giggling the entire time. Great and constant DLC support will keep you shooting for a long time.
  87. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    As someone who played the first one for nearly 100 hours. I can proudly say I have thoroughly enjoyed the second one racking up over a 100 so far and still playing.

    This game improves the weaknesses of the first game and reinforces its strengths. Its graphics and physics are improved, but they still maintain the cartoon-y/ comic book-y style. There is a lot more variation in the amount
    of guns you can come across and a lot of interesting styles of guns. The story is more in depth, although not amazing, but most people don't play Borderlands for the story, they play it for the amazingly addictive game play, which they improved even more. What I really like in Borderlands 2 is there is a bigger variety of characters you can play as, some who are slow paced ranges units, and then the faced paced, up close, Have loads of fun while you get your ass kicked, but at the same time kick ass" style characters.

    Overall: If you enjoy blind violence, astronomically huge environments, psychotic characters, and dark humor, this is the game for you.
    Expand
  88. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Giving this title anything less than a 10 would be unthinkable. It is so incredibly rich in its design that you can feel the intelligence of the developers bleeding through everywhere. This game marks a new era in first person shooters. I've put over 200 hours into the game so far and it always manages to feel new every time I sit down to play it. I have to make myself stop playing usually.

    The greatly improved on the game dynamics and interface over the original Borderlands. It's perfectly polished for the PC this time. The graphics are great and the DLCs are actually good enough to merit buying them. The storyline in conjunction with the models and voice acting is insanely compelling. You all rock, keep it up!
    Expand
  89. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    just buy this game! if you are thinking of buying this game just do it right now you will have hours of fun playing this game and the pc port is great i have had no problems
  90. Jul 25, 2013
    5
    Well, this is basically "Wasted Potential: The Game". I disliked the first Borderlands game, and didn't want to play the second one. I also heard it being called "Boredomlands" and "Memelands", so... yeah...
    When I got it for free with GTX660 however, I decided to give it a try. Initially, it all felt ok. But then... Let's sum it up: repetitive fetch/kill quests, frequently respawning
    enemies (which considerably messes with completing secondary (and sometimes even primary) quests), idiotic checkpoint placement, horrible map designs (in terms of ease of moving), a lot of content is put into overpriced DLC etc.

    On the upside, it has nice visual designs, variate loot. and big maps.

    In the final accord, game has too many poor design choices to be good
    Expand
  91. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 is a great example of a fun game (to play with friends.)
    The basic storyline is just taken from Borderlands (the first game) Where the characters are trying to get to the vault. The same thing happens in this game, except it is with different characters and some 'Different' Objectives.
    The game tries to make you play with your friends. I have noticed (while playing by
    myself) that it becomes extremely hard to complete bosses on your own, but when you have a friend play with you, you can kill him first try For example, Wilhelm (a boss) took me two days, or 20 tries, to beat by myself, but then with a friend, it is one try. When it says has joined the struggle! The creatures of pandora strengthen!' I think what it means is has joined the (non) struggle! The creatures of pandora Weaken!' I have yet to beat the game, but somehow this game makes me coming back for more. My friend is kind of obsessed with this game, he is really good at it aswell. We were playing it together one night, and we agreed that we would complete the game and do True vault hunter mode, and then I bought ultimate vault hunter mode for both of us. The thing is, you will get bored of the game sometimes, and leave it for a month or two, and then when you have nothing to do, you go to it and say "Please forgive me, oh great Borderlands 2, I need your great therapy for my looting lust". In fact, I haven't been able to not play the game for at least a month, because the great multiplayer keeps bringing me back. The gameplay has no 'special' features to it, but in it's core it is just an RPG/FPS/MMO game, where it's fun to mess around online. Overall, I would only buy this game if other people on your friends list have the game and actually want to play it with you. The repetitiveness is easily forgiven through the great feeling of killing a massive robot and getting your first legendary weapon from it. My rating of this game would be a 87%, in other words, it's a great game, for a great price. As long as you don't mind a little bit of repetitive missions and storyline, the developers took their time to render and program over 100,000+ guns, which you will enjoy. Buy it only if you want it. Expand
  92. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    Don't play this game alone! Bring at least one friend, otherwise it becomes boring real fast. This was made for Co-op play.
    Otherwise this game is much better in every aspect compared to the first:
    Multiplayer is now handled trough Steam and not gamespy. Locations are bigger, look nicer. If you have nVidia, you can turn on some cool PhysX particle effects. There are much more kinds of
    guns, everyone can find their favorite.
    Finally, the game has a much more detailed and more interesting storyline than the first. Yes, there are some stupid 9gag level jokes, but they can be ignored. Other than these stupid references, the writing is relatively smart, and entertaining.
    And last but not least there is the fantastic soundtrack, which is much less irritating than in the first game. I didn't want to turn it off after several hours, and that's a plus.
    Expand
  93. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Only drawback is I wish my friends played more really haha. The game also looks amazing on PC. I played this albeit not all the through, on 360 and PS3 before almost exclusively switching to PC games.
  94. Jul 22, 2013
    3
    Season pass doesn't include half of the DLC available. in my opinion, if the season pass is sold on the idea that you will be getting ALL the DLC included in the coming season charging for like a level cap increase is
  95. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Being a huge fan of Borderlands 1 i had to get the second one! From my prospective this game is almost perfect. the graphics are good, the story is good, the game play is good and the list goes on and on.
    For those of you who liked the first one, i really recommend this game.
  96. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    A much better game than the first, I have really only one complaint and that is to have the weapon vendors carry good weapons I spend a lot of time scavenging for and the vendors carry the crappiest of gear and for me it is disappointing.
  97. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic and is a great successor to what was originally a great game. The classes, while bearing a striking resemblance to the vault hunters of the first game, are better defined and feel fresh compared to the classes of the original. The gameplay is just as good as you would expect, the storyline is good (although, just like in the 1st borderlands, you can tell that they stretched it out at points, and the endings are mostly identical), and the characters are great. The game really shines in multiplayer though- I'm glad that they have cross-platform play between the Mac and PC, but it's currently out-of-synch because of a patch update for the PC that has yet to come out for Mac. Other than that, the game is fantastic. Expand
  98. Jul 18, 2013
    4
    Great graphics, a huge improvement over the first borderlands. Which was one of the favorite games on the PS3! But something was missing. I felt, the worlds, were bigger. But that was just it, they were just bigger. I didn't have any fear of my character dying. The graphics were just too colorful. The whole experience just felt like a "game". I put in over 40 hours into this game. and its painful for me to give this game a 4 out of 10. But Borderlands 2, just did not do it for me. Not serious enough, too childish, too colorful. Expand
  99. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    A bit of mmo, bit of fps, and a bit of everything cool... Like Dishonored tried to do so... It would cut for the youngsters who just started to play kind of games but it would definitely not enough balanced for the oldsters like me who started to play games like early 90's... So... It is fun, but just mediocre, if you are not "really" new to this genre you may even really like this...
  100. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    the game is nice all in all not many bugs generally this game rocked i can highly recommend this game for everybody who wants a good laugh. and a challenge buy this game and you will get good laugh though the game is a bit boring at the start the funner missions starts later in the game
  101. Sep 20, 2012
    0
    I tried to love this game, I really did. Being a huge fan of Borderlands 1 when it first released, I had no choice but to purchase the sequel. I put about 12 -15 hours into the game so far...and I cannot help but feel bored. I feel like I've already done all of this before..three years ago. Yes the graphics are better and color schemes have vastly improved..but I cannot give this game any higher than a 2/5 at this point. I know many players right now are enjoying the hell out of this game. I truly envy all of them. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 92
    It’s addicting, full of creative gags and amazing battles (especially in co-op mode) and it keeps dangling that loot-carrot in front of your face. Add that crazy humor on top and you have a synonymous for the world ‘entertainment’. [November 2012]
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for something with a ponderous story full of morality and contemplation – one best savored alone – then you'll need to look elsewhere. Borderlands 2 delivers tons of lighthearted, occasionally juvenile fun with immense replayability, and is best approached with a few buddies in tow. It doesn't revolutionize the concept pioneered by its forebear, but it refines it to a razor-sharp edge and offers some of the most fun you can have in a cooperative action RPG this side of Diablo II. And if nothing else, it's got lots of Claptrap.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    94
    The moment at which my endearingly annoying robot companion Claptrap fashioned himself a Mohawk out of some animal fur I collected he earned a spot on my all-time favorite robot list.