Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up yourBorderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 500
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice work is great. You have to listen to the various things the bandits say when you are fighting them. They often die with a funny one-liner.

    It's a run and gun with LOTS of guns, much like the first Borderlands, only MORE polished and with deeper levels of writing. I can't see where the dreary "I'm so serious" 4 and 5 review scores are coming from. We are talking about VIDEO games. This one has a fine balance between instant fun and long term 'purpose'.

    There are a few minor mechanics that could be improved. The player character could certainly benefit from a jet pack or another way to get around faster! Bigger levels and easier access to the structures through a climbing mechanic would be nice. Otherwise great work Gearbox.

    I like it so much I just went and bought ALL the DLC at full price, to be sure the developers get a taste of my money! They deserve it for making one of the most entertaining and lighthearted gun romps out there tight now.

    Orctowngrot
    Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Giving this title anything less than a 10 would be unthinkable. It is so incredibly rich in its design that you can feel the intelligence ofGiving this title anything less than a 10 would be unthinkable. It is so incredibly rich in its design that you can feel the intelligence of the developers bleeding through everywhere. This game marks a new era in first person shooters. I've put over 200 hours into the game so far and it always manages to feel new every time I sit down to play it. I have to make myself stop playing usually.

    The greatly improved on the game dynamics and interface over the original Borderlands. It's perfectly polished for the PC this time. The graphics are great and the DLCs are actually good enough to merit buying them. The storyline in conjunction with the models and voice acting is insanely compelling. You all rock, keep it up!
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    The replay factor is crazy: I"ve got characters of all classes and still haven't got tired of the game even playing single player most of theThe replay factor is crazy: I"ve got characters of all classes and still haven't got tired of the game even playing single player most of the time. The variety of missions and DLC makes the game live much longer. Story is cool, great voice acting, beautiful graphics, precise controls and and a serious pack of fun. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    After playing the game for a day - I'm impressed! The game very much sticks to the formula of the original - while polishing many aspects. IsAfter playing the game for a day - I'm impressed! The game very much sticks to the formula of the original - while polishing many aspects. Is this a bad thing? For anyone that didn't like the original or is new to the franchise and doesn't like this TYPE of game, don't write horrible reviews. For those others, I think they will find the mechanics, graphics, creatures and new aspects of the game to be tons of fun. Be prepared for lots of killing, plenty of new guns, great new creatures - and agonizing decisions about which skills you are going to pump up! Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    I loved the original Borderlands for so many good reasons: it was a innovative for a fps, with actually good mechanics of an RPG withoutI loved the original Borderlands for so many good reasons: it was a innovative for a fps, with actually good mechanics of an RPG without losing the fps touch at all. Add also a lot of exploration, a lot of black humour, gore, blood and whatever gets in your mind, no wonder Borderlands was a great game (not a master piece: it had some flaws and it was repetitive at a certain point). When this game was announced I was very curious and I couldn't wait to get it. In the end, I had to wait for a discount instead...but there are good things in the game anyway: the mechanics are almost the same, if not THE same as the previous, but with some good tweaks in controls, weapons (some have unique ways to shoot just like the previous game), classes and so forth. The new things are not a lot really: we got some more customzation, we have a bank and the possibility to store items for your alts, we got some better controls now and much more fluid (than the previous). Also the inventory is much better designed (ALWAYS than the previous game) and some better shooting (it's much more handy and less stiff). But there's not really much else to add really, because it's almost the same game.

    Except it's plagued with DLC.

    BUT WAIT, before anything else I want to say that I don't dislike the dlcs: I had all of them in the original Borderlands and it was fine. But here it's different, because the game was plagued from DLC literally from day 1 with an embaressing release of dlc in a very short time (first came out 21 september, the season pass, then 9 october, then 16 october, then 20 november and so on, until now). But again, as I said, Im not saying I'm against them...but I feel ripped off to the bones like this, because while they aren't relevant for the game, they tried to take away as much as they could from day one, and give it us back as DLC (and each dlc is 10 bucks by the way, so it's not cheap either). Sure, also the original game had dlc but they came out with good distance between them and I could play the game before trying the extra content. In here, it was so fast, I could barely keep up even when there was a discount and I at least wanted the 2 extra classes, which was 20 for both and 25 for the game when discounted. In other words, I felt ripped off from their greed and from a "humble yet innovative" game as Borderlands now we get a "hungry for money" game that whenever they can, they'll serve us another dlc for another 10 bucks. The dlc, in other words, may discourage you for the big amount of them, and I feel sad to see this game becoming a greedy franchise. Still a very good game and fresh to its core, but just too greedy to feel satisfied.
    Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2014
    0
    Die Grafik dieses Spiels ist ein Witz.
    Eine echte Frechheit angesichts dessen,das selbst 5 Jahre alte Grafikkarten hier vor sich hin
    Die Grafik dieses Spiels ist ein Witz.
    Eine echte Frechheit angesichts dessen,das selbst 5 Jahre alte Grafikkarten hier vor sich hin schnarchen.
    Man hat es geschafft eine gute Architektur (Spiel wie auch PC Hardware) auf billigst Daddelkisten Niveau zu drücken.
    Bäh !
    Für diese Optik investiere ich nicht hunderte von Euro in einen PC !!
    Dafür gebe ich nur eine 0 !
    Sowas will ich nie wieder sehen müssen.
    Expand

See all 500 User Reviews