Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1752 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 440
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    What can I say about this game as a hardcore Borderlands fan, i spent countless hours on the game! Though i didn't like the story very much, the characters were a lot of fun(except Claptrap- that thing must die with its annoying voice) and the loot is awesome though there are some complaints with the loot from the raid bosses and the spawn rate of one in particular! But still i cant backtalk this game, a definite buy especially if you enjoyed the first game! Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    just buy this game! if you are thinking of buying this game just do it right now you will have hours of fun playing this game and the pc port is great i have had no problems Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. May 23, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 is with no doubt one of the most unique titles I've seen.
    It is very easy to get sucked into the world the game takes place in,
    as if you're there yourself.
    The whole way the game runs is unusual but very special and interesting.
    Unlike many modern games you only have to stick to a basic, far from reach objective, but no one tells you how, or when.
    It gives you freedom there are so many ways to get to the objective they set you, so many tactics each with it pros and cons and so many places and mini-quests to go through.
    Graphics are very nice and not too demanding (runs max on my mid-level PC), characters are clever and funny, AI gets increasingly good as the time passes and they actually pose a threat.
    Borderlands 2 is also stuffed with humor that will make anyone laugh.
    It runs smoothly and bug free.
    For those with creative thinking and a bit of patience, Borderlands 2 is one of the best games around.
    Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    I wanted this games ever since it was announced , I played about 80 hours of the first game and i liked it alot . I got the bl2 goty edition on steam and over a weekend I put in 60 hours , the most obvious thing they changed is that it actually has a story , with enjoyable characters and funny dialogue . I would never say any game is perfect and never will I give a perfect score , but I loved this game , so if you liked the first game , go ahead Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2012
    7
    it's ok, at around level 20 so far. played mainly with 3 other people i know.
    the start was way slow, but got a bit better.
    it just seems
    really similar to the original with more humor.

    solid, but somewhat regret buying it.
    Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    Can’t remember why I bought this game. Same tedious gameplay from the first game except the developers make you feel profoundly ineffectual. The gun goes bang but nothing seems to change except your ammo counter. 0/10 for some tedium. Expand

See all 440 User Reviews