User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1229 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    THE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care orTHE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care or even know what is going on. Little to no interaction with NPCs. Wish it had more types of enemies (dogs, big dogs, even bigger dogs, fire spurting dogs just gets old fast). Expand
  2. BrandonL
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems and connecting with others was easy enough to be done in seconds. Expand
  3. DaveS
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a discerning gamer! DK. Expand
  4. Praxisq
    Jan 7, 2010
    8
    Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a distance. This game is a good game, the mechanic works great, its solid, its the grind though not so hard of a grind to lvl up. looking at the base or core of the game i see there are many directions they could have taken. why they decided on this exact end model of the game suggest t me they seek to set them selves apart with origionality..yes these mechanics have always been in games..but when was the last time you have seen them. esapecially executed properly. i dig it..good game for multiple players 4 player co-op is fun. i would not however recomend this for a single player experience. i gave it a rating of 8.. but i want to give it out of a 100 score so..its an 88/100 and a nice game containing throwback drop system for the old school grinder gamers. Expand
  5. LiasM
    Apr 12, 2010
    8
    Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more work, but it still is a fun ride. Expand
  6. JohnP
    Apr 16, 2010
    7
    Great game, for me it would be perfect if they change one thing or another, like: -Every character has only one skill, the other skills are ALL passive, but I can live with that. -The way the storyline is told, I mean you have to "click" on the npc and a window shows up with a mission and the "story", if you're in a multiplayer you're more likely play without reading anything Great game, for me it would be perfect if they change one thing or another, like: -Every character has only one skill, the other skills are ALL passive, but I can live with that. -The way the storyline is told, I mean you have to "click" on the npc and a window shows up with a mission and the "story", if you're in a multiplayer you're more likely play without reading anything that npcs says, would be better if all of them talks to you like the Guardian Angel. -Better Quests, would be nice too. -And dedicated servers maybe? Expand
  7. DougC
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash bug and a fairly limited variety of enemies. Expand
  8. Fidel
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, roughly 25 hours worth, and that was litteraly every quest you could do. Kind of a shame, but other than that there is nothing wrong with the game. Great Job! Expand
  9. GraydonA
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    A good RPG/FPS hybrid that is fun to play and has an awesome art style. Playing co-op with friends online is fun, and collecting loot is a blast. It doesn't deserve a perfect score either as there are a few small bugs that keep it from a 10.
  10. SteveA
    Dec 9, 2009
    8
    Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I think that it's overshadowed by the good concept and a utopian-like setting and interesting missions. Some would criticise the missions to be a bit too repetitive but each one has its own challenges and therefore proves to be different to the others. It's definitely worth buying for the PC, though if you're in Australia you might have to get some friends together for multiplayer action since the closest multiplayer peers are in China, which provides for very laggy gameplay Expand
  11. MartyS
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    Excellent for what it is, which is an extremely competent shooter. Not innovative at all, but a fun experience. The grinding is fun, the weapon randomisation, and enemy variety, however, are lacking, and playing online is a pain (and people use hacked weapons profusely. My recommendation: buy it if you're into looting and shooting. Cheers!
  12. BinaryClock
    Nov 2, 2009
    7
    I originally thought this game was going to be like Fallout 3 and I was quite geared up to play it. The intro was great and a pretty neat way of introducing you to the game. However it all fell apart as soon as I stepped off the bus (stepping off the bus gives you your first control of the player in the beginning of the game.) The field of view is way too close/narrow, and makes you feel I originally thought this game was going to be like Fallout 3 and I was quite geared up to play it. The intro was great and a pretty neat way of introducing you to the game. However it all fell apart as soon as I stepped off the bus (stepping off the bus gives you your first control of the player in the beginning of the game.) The field of view is way too close/narrow, and makes you feel very dizzy and disorientated. I looked in the settings where I may change the FOV setting, but there was none. The settings looked very limited and this is when the red flags started to go up for me. The game itself feels like every other shooter. Graphics are sub-par for a PC release for end of 2009, but still rather good and the art style is neat. The sound effects are pretty good, and I love how they introduce the characters. There has been quite a bit of thought into the characters and their personalities which makes the world a very interesting one to explore. The questing system is odd with it's big betters for your quest description and you need to use page up and page down to scroll through the quest description if it doesn't all fit on the screen, which is most quests. This is obviously due to a sloppy, non-thought-out port from a console version. Overall it is these type of things that are an insult to the PC gaming world. We don't need or want a 96pt font and pageup/pagedown quest interface. It may be a small thing, but adding mouse scroll function goes along way. The sound selection is original and done quite well, however I found it annoying because it would come on at odd times during a fight so I ended up turning it down to 30% of its normal volume. Overall, it seems like it has potential in the console, but when PC users has more in depth feeling games with better graphics and interfaces, it's going to be a hard sell. 7/10 because it's a great game, but for PC it didn't really impress me with the lack of settings/options, and overall feel of the interface and game. Expand
  13. Jan 17, 2013
    5
    Disappointment. I've played this game with great expectations, due to friends feedback and online reviews. In the beginning is funny to play, but then it become boring and repetitive. The plot is banal and bad narrated and seems generally only a mere trick to push you to play it. I've abandoned it after 15 hours, because I've read that it takes 25-30 hours.
  14. May 17, 2013
    5
    One of the game I really wanted to like but eventually gave up on halfway through. While it has some originality and appeal, the game-play is highly repetitive to the point of being a boring grind. Them 'RPG element' is half-baked at best and while it does boast a lot of guns, you soon realise that all are just minor variations of a theme and are randomly generated. Also the auto respawnOne of the game I really wanted to like but eventually gave up on halfway through. While it has some originality and appeal, the game-play is highly repetitive to the point of being a boring grind. Them 'RPG element' is half-baked at best and while it does boast a lot of guns, you soon realise that all are just minor variations of a theme and are randomly generated. Also the auto respawn of enemies in cleared areas soon becomes very tedious. Perhaps this would be of more interest in multiplayer. Expand
  15. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is half single player/co-op FPS, half Diablo, with four different classes, character progression and thousands of random guns and other loot options. Incredibly playable, moody setting, fantastic art style. Awesome in co-op, if you can get your friends past the tutorial section and the difficulty spike that comes immediately afterwards. I've sunk more hours into this thanBorderlands is half single player/co-op FPS, half Diablo, with four different classes, character progression and thousands of random guns and other loot options. Incredibly playable, moody setting, fantastic art style. Awesome in co-op, if you can get your friends past the tutorial section and the difficulty spike that comes immediately afterwards. I've sunk more hours into this than I'd care to admit, although Steam rubs my nose in it every time! Expand
  16. Jul 4, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is a great game. It's a blast to play with friends but a bit lacking in single player, but I think this applies to just about every game. For a game which attempts to merge to completely different genres, it does an impressive job, though it's more of an Action FPS RPG than a traditional FPS RPG, if that makes any sense. Bosses are killed simply because they are there andBorderlands is a great game. It's a blast to play with friends but a bit lacking in single player, but I think this applies to just about every game. For a game which attempts to merge to completely different genres, it does an impressive job, though it's more of an Action FPS RPG than a traditional FPS RPG, if that makes any sense. Bosses are killed simply because they are there and characters have about as much importance as any of the NPCs in Diablo II. However, I was fine with this as the main draw of this game is simply getting out there and blasting enemies with a wide array of sweet weapons. I'm not fond of the quest grind system and would have liked a different approach, but that's more because of the nightmares of WoW it brought back to me. Either way, it's definitely worth a purchase, and I hope to see a sequel soon. Expand
  17. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Great game system, nice ability tree but unfortunately weak characterization so you just end up playing because th mechanics are good rather than as part of the experience.
  18. Jan 21, 2012
    7
    When I first started playing this, it seemed like Fallout 3 but more cartoony to me. But pretty much everything other than the environment was different. I found the main quest quite fun, but once I got to the side quests, it started to get boring because one after another, it was either kill this guy, or kill this guy and bring back this item to me. And it kept getting boringer angWhen I first started playing this, it seemed like Fallout 3 but more cartoony to me. But pretty much everything other than the environment was different. I found the main quest quite fun, but once I got to the side quests, it started to get boring because one after another, it was either kill this guy, or kill this guy and bring back this item to me. And it kept getting boringer ang boringer until I couldn't take it more and just totally stopped. I found the game enjoyable, but it just got old after the main quest. Overall, if you like just playing the game's main quest or just enjoy repetitive side quests, then you would probably enjoy this game. Expand
  19. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    While the music and cel-shading graphics are top notch, the gameplay itself is nothing new (it's a sci-fi version of Diablo from first person) and the ending is pathetic. Not to mention the game was hideously buggy on release.
  20. May 20, 2012
    8
    Diablo with guns and a sense of humor. The landscape and the enemies can be a bit repetitive though the DLCs go a long way towards adding much needed variety. Vehicle combat while interesting isn't the greatest. Characters and weapon variety are some of the best you can find. This game shines best on multiplayer. It is easy enough for casual players to pick up and the random itemDiablo with guns and a sense of humor. The landscape and the enemies can be a bit repetitive though the DLCs go a long way towards adding much needed variety. Vehicle combat while interesting isn't the greatest. Characters and weapon variety are some of the best you can find. This game shines best on multiplayer. It is easy enough for casual players to pick up and the random item generation is highly addictive. If this included alll the DLCs, the game is worth a 9/10. Expand
  21. May 18, 2013
    6
    If I had to say anything about this game, I would say meh. That's exactly what this game makes me feel around every corner. For the first few hours, you will be fighting nothing but bandits and skags (dogs) and the only difference is one dog would run at you while the other would jump at you, then breathe fire at you. The enemies take too much damage, even for an RPG, It would make moreIf I had to say anything about this game, I would say meh. That's exactly what this game makes me feel around every corner. For the first few hours, you will be fighting nothing but bandits and skags (dogs) and the only difference is one dog would run at you while the other would jump at you, then breathe fire at you. The enemies take too much damage, even for an RPG, It would make more sense for a pistol to kill in one clip if its equally leveled with the bandit than it taking like 7 clips. The elemental guns are okay idea, not properly implemented. Some normal bandits will carry them, and when you are fighting a group of them then suddenly one pulls you a fire gun, then you start taking super high damage...it can get a little cheap when you die. Which brings me to my next problem: When you die in borderlands you will go into this mode where you are on your knees and have to kill another enemy to get your "second wind" When down, you cannot aim down the sites. That sounds great on paper, but now when I'm taking too many hits I just almost kill an enemy so when I go down I can get right back up with half health. The 100,000+ guns are just re textures of the same 20-35 guns, with the occasional effect added on to it. Expand
  22. Feb 28, 2013
    6
    A boring, shallow experience that is only made tolerable if you play it with friends, online. If my group is not online, I don't even bother running it. The kind of pedestrian thing like Diablo, World of Warcraft and such.
  23. Apr 6, 2013
    1
    Suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuucks
  24. LeahR
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    Borderlands is a surprisingly good arcadey FPS with a mediocre RPG element, in contrast to a game like Mass Effect, which is a great RPG with a mediocre FPS element. As a single-player game, it's reasonably entertaining, if repetitive, during the first run-through, but the game truly shines in co-op mode. Points taken off for some major design flaws (revolvers are better for sniping Borderlands is a surprisingly good arcadey FPS with a mediocre RPG element, in contrast to a game like Mass Effect, which is a great RPG with a mediocre FPS element. As a single-player game, it's reasonably entertaining, if repetitive, during the first run-through, but the game truly shines in co-op mode. Points taken off for some major design flaws (revolvers are better for sniping than sniper rifles...huh?; the special abilities of two classes are extremely useful, while the other two are mostly useless; repetitive quests and enemies; etc.), but the slick art direction, tight FPS gameplay, ridiculous diversity of loot, and the murderous mayhem of playing co-op push this title up to a respectable score. More, please, Gearbox! Expand
  25. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you haveThis game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
  26. SlamU
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    I have clocked over 300 hours on this game so far. It is by far the best game i have played in a long long time. There truly is a bazillion guns and that is a bazillion different ways to frag things.
  27. Jonathan
    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    Here's the low down on the good, the bad and the ugly of borderlands for pc. The Good: -Lots of weapons many used in different scenerios -fairly easy to follow questline with side quests -the action is fast paced and set in sections -the rpg and fps are fairly well mixed with the fps taking priority and rpg added in -the graphics are great and with some bosses to fight lots of fun Here's the low down on the good, the bad and the ugly of borderlands for pc. The Good: -Lots of weapons many used in different scenerios -fairly easy to follow questline with side quests -the action is fast paced and set in sections -the rpg and fps are fairly well mixed with the fps taking priority and rpg added in -the graphics are great and with some bosses to fight lots of fun -co-op is challenging and well based the bad -getting into games for co-op is hard -the requirements to run the game let alone server make the online version very choppy unless you got the best of the best to host the game -poor item add in(if you have a new gun you don't know how it really compares to your last gun or bomb mod or class mod due to no stats change in the game) - multipule problems with the game in many spots such as connecting, some quest pointers, menus are hard to use) the Ugly This game is alot of fun if the cards fall right for you but horrible if they don't. first person isn't as fun as co-op so beware. Expand
  28. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Borderlands is a tricky game to nail. When I was first playing it - I was loving it. The inventive look, feel, combination of diablo and halo, the style, the humor. Even while playing the game for extended lengths I felt so incredibly comfortable mindlessly ticking off quests and collecting loot. It's a very simple and primal game. Looking back on borderlands leaves less of an impressionBorderlands is a tricky game to nail. When I was first playing it - I was loving it. The inventive look, feel, combination of diablo and halo, the style, the humor. Even while playing the game for extended lengths I felt so incredibly comfortable mindlessly ticking off quests and collecting loot. It's a very simple and primal game. Looking back on borderlands leaves less of an impression than actually playing it however. The game has a kind of emptiness to it. A void that leaves no impression. For me emotions leave the strongest memories (I don't know if it's just me?) and the generic nature of borderlands story and quests makes the game feel a lot like high powered junk food. You enjoy it while you are munching on the fat and sugar - you feel kind of depressed and regretful after. My time in borderlands was fun - however fun itself is not exactly 'meaningful' in the same way discovering a talking dog in skyrim was, or experiencing a betrayal in the witcher 2, or choosing between destroying a colony or saving it in mass effect. If borderlands had more meaningful quests and a story - it might have left a mark. A fondness. However I can't give a game a 9/10 or a 8/10 if it simply fills my time, nomatter how mindlessly entertaining that filling was. I need something more. I hope borderlands 2 finds more of a compromise. Expand
  29. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Gearbox does it again! Surprisingly fun game with over 24 hours of pointless, meaningless (unless murdering things is like, something super enjoyable, you freak) fun! plus, the dlc's such as mad moxxi's underdome or jakobs cove increase the fun!
  30. GregB
    Jan 4, 2010
    6
    A great concept but poorly executed. The numerous guns they boasted are only there because of a randomized stat generator, every mission is a gather this, kill this, find this mission, and while the level up system looked promising, it ended up bland and unoriginal. It has some character in the comical way characters react and speak, but they are all cardboard cutouts; not reacting when A great concept but poorly executed. The numerous guns they boasted are only there because of a randomized stat generator, every mission is a gather this, kill this, find this mission, and while the level up system looked promising, it ended up bland and unoriginal. It has some character in the comical way characters react and speak, but they are all cardboard cutouts; not reacting when you shoot them, not responding to events around them, and only having 1-2 lines before repeating what they said. I played through about level 30 before becoming absolutely bored of the grind-ish feel to the game so I tried some multiplayer. While I expected greatness, it ended up feeling the exact same, except, with another human present. Maybe if you had four very good friends playing and you all made jokes and fooled around it would be fun, but that isn't really relevant to the game. You can do that with any game. While it looked promising, it failed to deliver the FPS/RPG I had been waiting for due to oversimplification of the RPG elements and a general grindfest feel to the FPS. Expand
  31. DarthVadar!
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end with no sight of anybody(pretty creepy). This game also has the quest system of STALKER and Fallout 3, where you can take any mission any time, anywhere. What makes this game great for casual players is that you can pretty much just jump in because missions are straightforward with no complexity, which is of course good and bad. The good is that you won't get confused with what to do, and the bad is that the storyline is not very in depth. The only reason I give this a 9 and not a 10 is because of the somewhat frail srotyline. Other than that, i'd say the graphics are very unique, something you don't see often(or at all), gameplay is pretty addicting because the enemies pretty much get stronger as you level up meaning there will not be a moment where your enemies are no match for you.I''d say this game is glitchless as far as I see, but that might not be true for someone else. I have to say my FRS is really good on this game(around 40-50), and it does not crash on my computer. I run this game from steam with a nvidia GTX275 and a 2.4 duo CPU(it's overcloaked, the real CPU is 3.08 duo) and 6GB of memory. I said this so in case anybody is wondering what systems will support Borderlands well(these 3 parts are probably enough info I don't think I need to tell you my motherboard or power supply etc.) Expand
  32. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    "Borderlands" is a game that is more of a FPS than RPG. The graphics aren't the best, but it's solid to entertain your eye. The missions are too repetitive and monotonous, which deducts the value of RPG. The variety of weapons and its uses, however, was the star of this game. There are MILLIONS of weapons that range from a pistol to a sniper. They all have diverse weapon stats, which is"Borderlands" is a game that is more of a FPS than RPG. The graphics aren't the best, but it's solid to entertain your eye. The missions are too repetitive and monotonous, which deducts the value of RPG. The variety of weapons and its uses, however, was the star of this game. There are MILLIONS of weapons that range from a pistol to a sniper. They all have diverse weapon stats, which is very fascinating and awesome. Overall not the best product of a RPG+FPS game that can be made, but enjoyable. Expand
  33. RadleyS
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game that introduces completely new game play aspects even in late game. The first grenade mod I got (Explosive MIRV), I threw it at the ground to see what exactly it did. A cluster grenade?! Why don't other games have cluster grenades!! It's great that a game finally understands you can make a cooler weapon by not just making it more powerful, but making it shoot differently. My level 45 Siren has a super fast SMG that can unload the full 80 rounds in just under 3 seconds, and in the next slot a fairly accurate explosive SMG with 4.5x zoom! However, the entire game was not all full of joy. It upset me that character skills were all passive but the action skill - which makes sense for a console game (sigh...). I picked the Siren because she looked like a caster. Elemental weapons are kind of like spells... But I would appreciate a skill where my bullets could do a chain-lightning effects. Playing as the siren, most abilities don't exactly make sense. Damaging enemies while stealthed, not so useful... Dazing enemies isn't effective in a "hack and slash" type of game. The melee wasn't satisfying. It was sad that there were no melee weapons but the bladed pistols, which had an absurdly slow attack speed. I was also upset that there was only one vehicle - but the small amount of customization was still nice to have. I hope that the next in the series will be more PC-based. I would love to have a Skag or Sythid as a pet, or add a plow to my vehicle to reduce damage taken from explosive enemies... I hope there are more random weapons with special effects like T.K.'s Wave. - a shotgun which shoots blue bullets in a wave-like effect (Fun, but not practical - which is fine!). I still plan to do a few more playthroughs with this game to get the full experience, but I have very high hopes for Borderlands 2. I just need to keep my fingers crossed for the next few years. Expand
  34. GordonF
    Jan 11, 2010
    6
    this is a release that console gamers can lay full claim to and i'll be glad to give it to them. the idea is fantastic - rpg leveling with great sounding & looking guns, lots of ammo and enemies to unload on, but it really becomes a grind after the first 2 hours or so. I don't even bother to read or appreciate the npcs thereafter anymore because there isn't any character this is a release that console gamers can lay full claim to and i'll be glad to give it to them. the idea is fantastic - rpg leveling with great sounding & looking guns, lots of ammo and enemies to unload on, but it really becomes a grind after the first 2 hours or so. I don't even bother to read or appreciate the npcs thereafter anymore because there isn't any character development in it. the kind of graphics used only works for Team Fortress 2, after a while it actually looks quite childish to me and i'm somewhat annoyed that the graphical scaling doesn't allow for higher settings to utilize my hardware. All that is fine, but biggest sign that it's a console game isn't the somewhat substandard graphics, it's the shitty implementation of controls and multiplayer! I actually had to press the "Page Up/Down" button to scroll through text in the game, and the damned multiplayer doesn't work by default, i actually had to go google for solutions. Expand
  35. PhilupD
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated whiite (common), green (uncommon), blue (rare), purple (epic), and gold (legendary). Online playability makes it so fun to play as the class you selected. Level your toons with a group of three others, and have fun kicking @$$ with others online. Share loot and make friends as you blast, slash, spray, and pummel you way through BorderLands. If you haven't picked this game up for the fear of the game sucking cause of the graphics. Than your a noob and your missing out on the best FPS-RPG in the history of gaming!!! If you don't believe me. Then go to a friends or family members house that has the game and play it up. Don't be the only kid on the block that doesn't have this game. Expand
  36. Jul 31, 2012
    2
    In 1-Player mode, is an extremely bored and repetitive game after only a few hours of gaming. Surely, it gains a lot of interesting features if played in coo-op mode.
  37. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Quite possibly one of the most overrated games of all time. I really don't find the entertainment value in this game. Perhaps I am crazy, or it's an issue with today's common gamer. This game is simply boring. There's nothing fun about it. That's a very bold statement, but I stand by it. The game treats you like you're a child with ADHD; there are flashy graphics, constant drops of itemsQuite possibly one of the most overrated games of all time. I really don't find the entertainment value in this game. Perhaps I am crazy, or it's an issue with today's common gamer. This game is simply boring. There's nothing fun about it. That's a very bold statement, but I stand by it. The game treats you like you're a child with ADHD; there are flashy graphics, constant drops of items and loot, and oh so silly jokes that would keep only those who find shows like Family Guy entertained. The game is an insult to my and, I would hope, most other gamer's intelligence. Yes, there is a lot of loot. And I found myself changing weapons and all my gear so quickly it'd make my head spin. The time I finally got a weapon I enjoyed using, another one would drop which was objectively better. This would happen throughout the game and it would happen multiple times in one hour. This leaves the whole looting system lose it's charm. While some would call it a rewarding system, I would argue it's the exact opposite. While it does make you feel good to upgrade a weapon, it happens so often that it just becomes a pointless mechanic. The game's humor is that on a 13 year old's who first started using curse words in front of his friends. The jokes are just dumb. Literally, just dumb. The multiplayer is just that, multiple people playing the same boring, dull, repetitive, and half-witted game. I am glad I got the game for free, but it's unfortunate I cannot get a refund. What a joke. Expand
  38. Dave
    Oct 26, 2009
    2
    Art style is unique and fun. That's about it. Gameplay is boring. The FOV is too narrow and makes me nauseous. The co-op aspect of the game is broken and bulky. The only way this game is going to survive the test of time is through Hamachi. I don't feel satisfied with what I got for the amount of money I shelled out.
  39. Feb 24, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have this really bad habit of writing reviews really late in the game. I suppose I gotta do Borderlands since its sequel is coming up soon. Now, Borderlands. This is a fantastic game until about level 25. There are many things this game did right to start off with. You immediately pick up its visual style. The cell-shaded look they go for here is awesome, it looks like you're playing a graphic novel of sorts. Secondly, they thrust you into this foreign world without much plot to go on except some hints about a treasure buried somewhere there. It's all very intriguing, and I loved it. It goes downhill from there unfortunately. The starting zone is great, but once you move on to some of the later areas, for some reason they just didn't click for me. Some of the later level areas especially got really drab and monotonous, and getting around was a chore, since you get the World of Warcraft wading-through-mountains-of-trash-mobs syndrome. Here's where I'm gonna get really spoilerish, not that it matters since this is a 3-year-old game anyways. The final boss completely disappoints. They set up the entire game getting you to anticipate this Vault they keep talking about with its treasures and such. You beat the final boss and you don't get anything. You never open the vault, you don't don anything with it. You don't even get a cool weapon for beating the final boss. It just ends. All you can do is go back and start the game over to try and hit level cap on a second playthrough. And they didn't even incorporate that into the story well. They hinted a couple time throughout the story about a bit of time travel and an enormous wink when your bus driver at the beginning says "I'm sure we'll be doing this all over again really soon." But instead of incorporating that restart into the story, it's just kinda there. So I guess if you like a cool graphical style and some cool FPS/RPG hybrid stuff, then this game is pretty good. The DLC added some interesting adventure as well, but for me, I really liked all that stuff, but in the end it just wasn't enough to get this above a "good" rating. It is definitely still worth trying if you haven't played it. Expand
  40. Aug 25, 2011
    6
    Some people didn't like this game. I can respect that. It is, at the core, a traditional and simplified Action-RPG game. The change to first-person bring some new twists, but a bit more issues than benefits.
    Firstly, long-walks in the desert are quite boring, but required. The game, due to the immense amount of guns and details, opted to reuse areas repeatedly, putting more missions in
    Some people didn't like this game. I can respect that. It is, at the core, a traditional and simplified Action-RPG game. The change to first-person bring some new twists, but a bit more issues than benefits.
    Firstly, long-walks in the desert are quite boring, but required. The game, due to the immense amount of guns and details, opted to reuse areas repeatedly, putting more missions in areas you previously completed. This wouldn't be so bad if travel between areas wasn't so long and boring. Dealing with the long clicky-walks in Diablo 2 isn't so bad when you're young and have time to waste, but this gets a bit old.
    Speaking of tiresome, the entire scripted tutorial intro system gets old IMMEDIATELY. These videos and sequences cannot be skipped, and thus you are punished by wasting several minutes doing basics and standing around waiting for the game to begin. Sequences can be good to add story, but ASK the player if they want to sit and watch them again on the next playthrough.
    Now, onto this 'RPG'. Most of the role-playing is playing a specific class. This game was clearly intended for co-op, and as such the single-player is a bit weak. However, they decided to throw in a load of story dialog and pop-up dialogs for missions, and as such the first playthrough can feel very overwhelming. Trust me, you aren't playing this for the story. Just let it pass. The leveling system is mostly in building gun expertise, but allows some stat improvements. However, classes have 1 ability. Not 'pick one from X number', ONE SINGLE ability. You can adjust the effects by getting items and skill points, but it's always the same skill. Leveling is slightly controlled by reducing XP gains from killing weaker enemies and killing them in easy ways (vehicles). Grinding becomes less effective, and thus pushes you to go forwards in the game, but enemies continue to spawn in every location forever. Even if you stay near their spawn points, given a few minutes, they will come back. It's ridiculous killing a spawn camp 3 times in a single mission, especially when they aren't worth much points but they still attack and annoy you. And then they don't reward ammo as much when they are easier, again punishing you for not rushing through areas and completing missions faster than enemies can respawn.
    What you DO get in this game is guns, gore, and addictive loot like most ARPGs. There are many areas to be improved, but the game is good fun with friends. Duels work better than other ARPGs, but Tank seems to be the best. Due to the lack of gun variety and skill options, most classes play similar, and you really don't have much reason to play the game multiple times. If you want RPG, go with Fallout. If you want loot, TQ, Grim Dawn, and even Hellgate London are good options. If you want a game to share with friends and combine all this, honestly look now to Borderlands 2 and be patient. I hope it fixes the issues of the first game.
    Expand
  41. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    Boring repetitiveness and the graphics absolutely suck. Somebody commented "fantastic art". Lol. Sure, if you never graduated from crayons as an art medium.
  42. Sep 8, 2011
    4
    This game is a very fun shooter, but with flaws. I'll go over the good first. The combat is entertaining and a touch different than other shooters. You get to tweak your character with different abilities to make unique builds which change how your character plays. The game randomly generates weapons so everything that drops is unique and a possible great find, it keeps you looking forThis game is a very fun shooter, but with flaws. I'll go over the good first. The combat is entertaining and a touch different than other shooters. You get to tweak your character with different abilities to make unique builds which change how your character plays. The game randomly generates weapons so everything that drops is unique and a possible great find, it keeps you looking for loot. These things make it fun to play and the graphics are done in an art style like animation cells which I really like, it looks superb. The bad things bring it down however. The game scales terribly. As you do quests and gain exp. you will level too fast and quickly become too powerful, tearing through groups of enemies far too easily. A second play through with tougher enemies is possible, but not fun. You will start much higher level than foes and there is no challenge. The game is lacking several graphics controls on the options menu, which is stupid because the devs put the coding for the controls in the files, they just didn't make buttons. You will have to edit the .ini file yourself to turn on things like v-sync and get a widescreen point of view. Very lazy on the devs part there. Instructions for doing this are easy to find and it's not hard to do, but I shouldn't have to. So, overall Borderlands is a fun game that ends up being far too easy to play and has some basic setup options missing, but obtainable with manual editing on the users part. Expand
  43. JamesL
    Jan 12, 2010
    6
    This game is ok, except for some major balance issues. I have found random things in boxes and crates that stack on your shields that you can repeatedly drop and pick up to gain hp and shields. I didn't know this but now i just noticed my hp is around 1000000. These things add money and are random finds. I loved everything about this except for that. Overall, this is an ok game.
  44. Fuz
    Nov 14, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game. Great graphics with a lot of style, absolutely amazing characters with witty and funny dialogues, good enemies variety with some very cool bosses and decent enough story (some people didn't like the ending, but I thought it was brilliant). The shooting mechanics are pretty good, and the loot search if awesome. The DLCs, contrary to most DLCs practice out there, are alsoFantastic game. Great graphics with a lot of style, absolutely amazing characters with witty and funny dialogues, good enemies variety with some very cool bosses and decent enough story (some people didn't like the ending, but I thought it was brilliant). The shooting mechanics are pretty good, and the loot search if awesome. The DLCs, contrary to most DLCs practice out there, are also absolutely excellent and a great added value to the original game.
    Note that it really should be played with friends, it gets even A LOT more fun.
    Expand
  45. Aug 17, 2012
    0
    Just the worst game I've ever played. BL is an example of anti-game. Not fun. Not entertainment. The idea was great, but in the end is just one more in a million.
  46. Kelu
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good direction), incredibly fun 4 players co-op, satisfying level-ups and... style. Borderlands is not perfect, but I think of it as a gaming milestone and instant classic that I'll cherish in the years to come. Expand
  47. Jun 13, 2011
    1
    The game is extremely repetitive and has little to offer in story or background. The ending is especially lackluster. The promised huge number of weapons amounts to basically same weapons with some slightly different DPS number on it. This game makes killing hordes of enemies boring. The fact it is considered an RPG makes me extremely sad. I was actually lucky to make multiplayer work andThe game is extremely repetitive and has little to offer in story or background. The ending is especially lackluster. The promised huge number of weapons amounts to basically same weapons with some slightly different DPS number on it. This game makes killing hordes of enemies boring. The fact it is considered an RPG makes me extremely sad. I was actually lucky to make multiplayer work and complete it with a friend and we both felt it was an absolute drag. Expand
  48. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    Tons of fun, great art design and wacky atmosphere, and multiplayer with friends is a blast. The most fun with one game I've had in years - I can't wait for the sequel. Definitely get the Knoxx DLC.
  49. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol).Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol). There are tons of quests, and the map is pretty much wide open so you can run around doing what you want, when you want. The charector progression, and multiple skill trees are fun, and you get better at using a particular weapon type the more you use the weapon type. I loved thinning out the mobs by popping head shots with a elemental sniper rifle from afar, and then going in, and cleaning up with an machine gun or automatic hand gun. Getting close to mobs using Liliths Pheonix skill is a riot too, especially in zombie land. Im a little more methodical than other players though. Some people Ive played with like to just wade in with a shot gun, or rocket launcher. There's also vehicle battles, and a thunderdome style arena where you have a ton of mobs thrown at you at once, under many different conditions, such as low gravity, faster speeds, or using specific weapon types for more, or less damage. Borderlands is simply one of those games just about anyone will love-trust me! The few people who gave it bad reviews...well, theres always gonna be a couple of people in every crowd who have to say the sky is red if you say its blue lol! Anyway, good luck! Happy gaming.... Expand
  50. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    I am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesomeI am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesome and when you think you have the best guns you're gonna find, there is a drop which is even better (though at higher character levels, you're probably going to have your gun preferences like me). It's more of a FPS and less of a RPG, pretty much an ARPG. Diablo was my favorite game ever (many sleepless evenings) and I can't say this game measures up to that time and excitement level, but it's really addictive and took me a while to finally stop playing it (months). Right now it's on sale at Steam and this is when I got it before. Well worth the original price let alone the sale price. Automatic buy. Expand
  51. dxemonj
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    My gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurtMy gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurt a lot of peoples' opinion of the game. i hope this franchise lasts a long time and that they fix the only real fault i see which is multiplayer online connectivity. Expand
  52. Aug 25, 2010
    7
    Pretty good game. Mildly enjoyable solo, quite fun with 3 friends. Weapon management is cumbersome, trying to decide what to keep/sell, with not a lot of inventory space I feel like most of my game time was spent looking through lists of weapon's stats.
  53. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best coop games out there.. to me it is the best we have had 400 hours of game time and still go on. The single player is fun and challenging and there are visrtually no bugs in the game. whoever tells you this game is flawed is a moron.. period. you will enjoy everty minute from the fps to character build and NPC's in the game. the goty edition is the way to go. ThisThis is one of the best coop games out there.. to me it is the best we have had 400 hours of game time and still go on. The single player is fun and challenging and there are visrtually no bugs in the game. whoever tells you this game is flawed is a moron.. period. you will enjoy everty minute from the fps to character build and NPC's in the game. the goty edition is the way to go. This game is in no way shape or form like Fallout your moron. i have every game in the Fallout series and how you compare them is insane. Expand
  54. May 2, 2011
    6
    Shooting bandits with fire, shock, acid, blasts is fun. I'll give that to Gearbox. Shooting the same bandits over and over and over no matter where u are or what level u are gets old. And the 'story' is an obvious last minute bolt-on for a mediocre repetitive shooter. The npcs have absolutely no character -- they dont even every move! They coudnt even manage to get the 'guide' intoShooting bandits with fire, shock, acid, blasts is fun. I'll give that to Gearbox. Shooting the same bandits over and over and over no matter where u are or what level u are gets old. And the 'story' is an obvious last minute bolt-on for a mediocre repetitive shooter. The npcs have absolutely no character -- they dont even every move! They coudnt even manage to get the 'guide' into the game - -she's just an overlay! The only reason i rated this above 5 is that i bought it for $20. Thats about all it was worth. Expand
  55. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Everything about Borderlands was brilliant, artstyle, gameplay, humor, characters, story and the amount of weapons. Can't really think of any real cons. The base campaign plus DLCs is about 60h long, but achievements and walkthrough 2 (hardmode) will keep you busy even longer. Definetly the best RPG-FPS to date.
  56. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Great game hands down. If you love RPGs and want more shooting action, then this will fit you perfectly. Though the game can obviously improve on things, this game is pioneering its way for a new genre in the gaming industry that makes it look really promising. All the elements and new ideas are brand new and something to appreciate and enjoy. There is nothing cooler then blasting enemiesGreat game hands down. If you love RPGs and want more shooting action, then this will fit you perfectly. Though the game can obviously improve on things, this game is pioneering its way for a new genre in the gaming industry that makes it look really promising. All the elements and new ideas are brand new and something to appreciate and enjoy. There is nothing cooler then blasting enemies with your friends for awesome loot and let me tell you.. the weapons and gear are NEVER seem to be the same. Every single item is always slightly different. Though the few bugs and short comings are apparent you cannot deny this game's innovation. 8. Expand
  57. Sep 7, 2011
    2
    This game is a great play with your friends. I really enjoyed it until the last boss fight. The ending is very disappointing. A giant middle finger to the player and the reason I give this a 2. It doesn't matter how you get there as long as you get there. This game didn't get there.
  58. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    This game was fantastic. The online modes are fun, the game itself is addictive, non linear, and open world (to an extent), and the enemies are fun to fight. All this, and them... boom. It was crippled by the absolute worst ending that I have ever seen in any game, book, movie, TV series... it was an ending that made me visibly mad at the developers. Even though I still had quests I couldThis game was fantastic. The online modes are fun, the game itself is addictive, non linear, and open world (to an extent), and the enemies are fun to fight. All this, and them... boom. It was crippled by the absolute worst ending that I have ever seen in any game, book, movie, TV series... it was an ending that made me visibly mad at the developers. Even though I still had quests I could do, the online modes are still fun, and I could see this game having replay value seeping from all parts, I have not been able to bring myself to play it since I beat it and experienced... that ending... It's worth buying, especially since it goes on sale every month on Steam, but prepare to be more disappointed than you have been with any game you have ever played. Also, some glitches here and there, a couple of story holes, and the fact that shotguns are just random damage generators irked me a little throughout the game, but not too horribly so. Expand
  59. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    I think it's a fairly enjoyable game when playing with friends. It's quite reminiscent of an arcade shooter, but it's executed well and has some interesting RPG elements to it. Some of the quests are fun and interesting, some are boring, repetitive quests that you would expect. I don't really like the loot system, the online lobby system is absolutely terrible, there are a lot of bugs, andI think it's a fairly enjoyable game when playing with friends. It's quite reminiscent of an arcade shooter, but it's executed well and has some interesting RPG elements to it. Some of the quests are fun and interesting, some are boring, repetitive quests that you would expect. I don't really like the loot system, the online lobby system is absolutely terrible, there are a lot of bugs, and it gets awfully repetitive at times. But at the end of the day it's a fun game to play when you have time to get your friends together. Expand
  60. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    Compatibility issues. Compatibility issues? Really? Borderlands was an interesting, albeit slow paced experience, from what I've played. Then, shortly after updating cpu drivers(as one should regularly), TADAAAA! "Borderlands has stopped Working" Now, this is not an issue of files installed incorrectly due to a pirated copy, so all you white knights and internet police officers calm down.Compatibility issues. Compatibility issues? Really? Borderlands was an interesting, albeit slow paced experience, from what I've played. Then, shortly after updating cpu drivers(as one should regularly), TADAAAA! "Borderlands has stopped Working" Now, this is not an issue of files installed incorrectly due to a pirated copy, so all you white knights and internet police officers calm down. It's that the game surprisingly enough can only run at all using dx9, or setting affinity to one singular core with updated drivers. This is a very prominent problem among Steam users as well, who have not seen any response at all from Gearbox on the issue. Besides the obvious problems of the game not working though, the gameplay was painstaking. GO HERE. COLLECT THAT. SHOOT FOUR F*CKING PEOPLE. Mission Completed! And the setting. Grey grey grey grey gray brown grey light brown grey yellow gray grey rust gray grey grey. The graphics? For a game made quite some time ago it lags, even with sub-par graphics that it has on low or high alike. Sure, the cartoony feel to it is appealing for some, but aesthetically, it does not work. And customization of characters is limited. And 3 hours of gameplay gets you nowhere. NO. no no no no no. Go buy S.T.A.L.K.E.R., or Fallout 3. Just stay far, far, farrrrr away from this poorly made rpg regurgitation. Expand
  61. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is a really well made game, but only if you play with your friend(s). It could be really boring if you play alone but this is a Co-op experience. With the awesome guns, the catch-a-ride, it's unique graphics it is a must play Loot-filled adventure.
  62. TaylorM
    Dec 9, 2009
    4
    It's got a good concept, but the story and all the side quests are so lack luster. Every single quest, including the main ones, consist only of going to a point, killing something, then coming back, over and over again. Unless the only thing you expect from a game is mindlessly killing waves upon waves of enemies who fundamentally act the same and completely "quests" that have no It's got a good concept, but the story and all the side quests are so lack luster. Every single quest, including the main ones, consist only of going to a point, killing something, then coming back, over and over again. Unless the only thing you expect from a game is mindlessly killing waves upon waves of enemies who fundamentally act the same and completely "quests" that have no content or story or dialog or ANYTHING, then avoid this game. Expand
  63. Mar 15, 2012
    4
    I don't know why I bought this game because i hated the graphics and I only play single player games. But anyway, I gave this game a chance and still hated the graphics and single player mode was a joke.

    I know i should not write this review because this game is mainly multiplayer games but lets this review be warning for people who is thinking to buy this game because of the single player mode.
  64. kevinl
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    this game is so awsome the graphic the system and the FPSRPG thing is so AWSOME
  65. BobbyB
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Love it. Slower paced than I expected but that adds to the fun as it creates a certain tension. Guns, guns, and mo guns are a blast!
  66. mrt
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    amazing game very fun, its very fun to blow everything you see to the sky
  67. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever,
    and if your one of those people who didnt like fallout 3 and think you wont like this still worth trying i hated fallout 3, but loved this there very little alike idk y ppl say there the same
  68. Oct 31, 2010
    4
    I can't undestard how you can call it an RPG... not all "experience oriented" games can be deifned as RPG... it's a arcade FPS, nothing else...

    Anyway: good graphics, average sounds, very boring and very repetitive gameplay.

    I uninstalled the game before reaching the end.
  69. May 26, 2011
    3
    First of all I'd like to point out that I didn't buy this game. It was offered in a bundle with other games, much more entertaining games but still I decided to try it out. The first hour of the game is quite fun, you shoot at stuff, collect guns and ammo, do a few missions and progress through the campaign all the while ignoring the terribly annoying storyline (and characters). Once youFirst of all I'd like to point out that I didn't buy this game. It was offered in a bundle with other games, much more entertaining games but still I decided to try it out. The first hour of the game is quite fun, you shoot at stuff, collect guns and ammo, do a few missions and progress through the campaign all the while ignoring the terribly annoying storyline (and characters). Once you get used to this game and actually get some decent gear you start noticing all the bugs and glitches, most notably the hit boxes. The one critical, essential, necessary game mechanic a shoot-em-up game must get flawlessly is the hit registration. You shoot people in the head point blank with a sniper rifle and it misses, you shoot em in the chest point blank and it misses. You goddamn purposefully shoot beside them and it hits... The storyline, characters and cutscenes are dreadfully annoying and also unskippable, therefore you're not playing this game for the plot. The game mechanics are riddled with bugs which render the game almost unplayable, therefore you're not playing this game for its gameplay. This game has terrible graphics, graphics that at first sight reminded me of a f2p game called Drift City(for those familiar), therefore you're not playing this game for the awe factor. A single question remains. Why are you playing this game?

    I give it a 3 out of 10 because 1. the game actually was capable of installing itself on my PC. 2. The splash screen pops up when you click the game's icon. 3. The .exe file actually works and the game launches. Otherwise it's worthless.
    Collapse
  70. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    borderlands is one of the best games out there, buy it you wont be disappointed, RPG and FPS work very well together, super addictive and excellent graphics, a good buy for any gamer.
  71. OrenI
    Oct 26, 2009
    0
    I would rather take off my pants and have Saddam Hussein cut my penis off than play another second of this game. I DID NOT USE ALL CAPS!
  72. SteveJ
    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    This is strictly a multiplayer game. The single player is horrible due to character balance issues and plain boredom because it is so repetitive. There are also a number of bugs including dynamic shadows being incorrectly implemented so you have to turn it off. This is a bad port from console to pc, and you can tell they did not put much effort into the pc version.
  73. FrankZ
    Nov 7, 2009
    1
    PC review Boringland the game is advertised as a mutiplyare RPG. as it is now it's not. the multiplayer takes allot of work to make it playable. if your hooked up to a router (which just about every PC is now) you will need to know how to forward ports to be able to join a game and even then many games will be un-joinable and friends my not be able to join a game you host. on top of PC review Boringland the game is advertised as a mutiplyare RPG. as it is now it's not. the multiplayer takes allot of work to make it playable. if your hooked up to a router (which just about every PC is now) you will need to know how to forward ports to be able to join a game and even then many games will be un-joinable and friends my not be able to join a game you host. on top of the that the gameplay is very linear there is no build up or excitement to be had anywhere in this game . overall it's very very boring and add to that some bad level design where you can get stuck allot and have to restart because there is no save system other than auto save there are allot of bug with character lose . so yo might play for 20+ hours and lose you character at some point which is not fun. overall though the frustration of dealing with the software problems and player mechanics problems you realize your not having any fun playing the game itself . it's extremely repetitive and no NPC charterers you meet ingame are worth remembering . overall it's Boring-land Expand
  74. MiscHief
    Jan 4, 2010
    5
    It really does have great potential, and it's fun killing stuff with friends for a while, but it's main shortcoming is how it is aimed for the console market, sloppy ported to PC for some extra cash. It is far too easy (to make it playable for someone playing on console with a gamepad I guess) I ran straight through the entire game and was like "...what ...this is it?" The story It really does have great potential, and it's fun killing stuff with friends for a while, but it's main shortcoming is how it is aimed for the console market, sloppy ported to PC for some extra cash. It is far too easy (to make it playable for someone playing on console with a gamepad I guess) I ran straight through the entire game and was like "...what ...this is it?" The story sucks - it completely fails to draw you in, repetitive missions. Also that its full of cheaters that run around with haxed huge inventories swiping all the loot if you host and allow people to join your game, again due to it being a poor console port, what was this "optimizing for PC" about again? I am sick of good games being ruined because every developer wants to milk money out of the console market and see PC as a secondary platform just for extra cash, and although I really enjoyed this game for a little while, I don't think It was worth the money I forked out for it, and I will think twice before buying from Gearbox again. But as I said it's not something new, a lot of developers are following this trend now, and the true good pc titles seem to be more and more rare. Expand
  75. Jan 17, 2011
    0
    It's obvious that this game was created for consoles. The menu handling on PCs is, to put it politely, braindead. It all makes sense instantly the moment you realize that it was originally meant for consoles.

    And the game remains consistent at this. The loading times between levels is, in one word, stunning. Usually enough time to get a new can of soda, just like you'd expect from a
    It's obvious that this game was created for consoles. The menu handling on PCs is, to put it politely, braindead. It all makes sense instantly the moment you realize that it was originally meant for consoles.

    And the game remains consistent at this.

    The loading times between levels is, in one word, stunning. Usually enough time to get a new can of soda, just like you'd expect from a console game that needs to load the next level from its DVD. But ... on a PC?

    Now, consoles do not have firewalls or other pesky things like this. Hence, Borderlands' multiplayer option refuses to work if you happen to consider security something that you might want on your PC. Only if you turn off every semblance of protection, forward a metric ton of ports and let everything and anything connect freely to your machine, you might be allowed to hope that maybe you could possibly be rewarded with a working multiplayer session.

    Ok, I take that 'working' back. It might connect. For how long, well, let's say it will be a surprise for you.

    When you finally get to play, it's FUN! For about 10 minutes. Then you notice that, well, you're actually doing the same crap over and over and over and over... and while that was fun for Diablo a decade ago, it kinda got old by now.

    It's not even fun as a shooter. This from someone who loves multiplayer shooters and adores the graphics of TF2 (one of the reasons why I bought BL, the graphics sure resemble those of TF2). It just is plainly and simply no fun. And it's not even that the enemies are "only NPCs", I love Left4Dead with a similar "us 4 against 100 enemies, we're soooo unfair!" feel to it. The Borderlands NPCs are just simply terrible. Either they are brain dead zombies (no pun intended) that look at you blankly while you take potshots. Or they have superhuman radar that makes "sneaking" up to them completely pointless since they seem to know just where you are on the map, all the time, whether they can see you or not. Essentially, that reduces the "shooter" element to "fire your gun in the general direction of the enemy, absorb the return fire (no need to duck or anything, it won't change a bit), then go and collect the trinkets. Rinse, repeat.

    Tactics? GROUP tactics?

    C'mon, it's so obviously a console shooter, you're expecting WAY too much.
    Expand
  76. Aug 28, 2011
    2
    Boringland could have bin great if it werent so repetitive and bland. I never felt I was in a wasteland, it didnt have that feel to it like STALKER has. What made it unplayable was that you couldnt turn the mics off so we couldnt use teamspeak. And on top off that the ingame sound quality was so bad that we had to plugg out the mics.
    How fun is a co-op game when you cant speak to each
    Boringland could have bin great if it werent so repetitive and bland. I never felt I was in a wasteland, it didnt have that feel to it like STALKER has. What made it unplayable was that you couldnt turn the mics off so we couldnt use teamspeak. And on top off that the ingame sound quality was so bad that we had to plugg out the mics.
    How fun is a co-op game when you cant speak to each other? Such a simple feature ruining he hole game and makes it unplayable.
    I would like to give it a higher score but without the possibility to turn of the mics it´s unplayable.
    Expand
  77. Sep 25, 2012
    6
    I was lured by the beautiful graphics and the fantastic settings, only to realize halfay trough that this game is just an empty grindfest. It plays nice, the mechanics are fantastic, very well done game, but it was meant for co-operative play. Don't even try to play for the story, and I do not recommend solo mode either.
  78. ArielH
    Jan 15, 2010
    4
    After a while, you'll come to realize the claims they make about this game are fantastically blown out of proportion.
  79. May 6, 2011
    0
    The game consists of circle strafing and utterly boring missions. The co-op is a huge hassle keeping people on the same pace, and god help anyone who decided to play this single player. I just can't see any real +ve to this game - a utter waste of money.
  80. Nut
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    This game has internet check. I have to crack my own legal copy. Idiots. How are you going to play this 10 years from now? These checks ain't going to affect piracy but they will affect every legal customer. It's annoying enough that games have dvd checks. Ain't going to buy anything with internet checks ever again.
  81. gregorye
    Jan 11, 2010
    2
    After purchasing multiple copies of this game to play with friends, I was satisfied by the solo content but appalled at the near impossibility of hosting/joining a co-op game. After hours of research and non 2k games related fixe, I gave up. With multiplayer working this could have been a decent game. Without it is a pale and derivative echo of Fallout 3. A major dissapointment, given the After purchasing multiple copies of this game to play with friends, I was satisfied by the solo content but appalled at the near impossibility of hosting/joining a co-op game. After hours of research and non 2k games related fixe, I gave up. With multiplayer working this could have been a decent game. Without it is a pale and derivative echo of Fallout 3. A major dissapointment, given the angle of the marketing as a multiplayer experience. Expand
  82. Nov 22, 2010
    5
    Borderland is not as ground-breaking as many people claim it to be. It's a combination of RPG and good 'ol fashion first person shooter(FPS). The only really new thing is the art style that borderlands utilizes, it's very unique and gives a nice look and feel to the game.

    This game wasn't originally made for the PC-market, but it was ported. However it's a fairly decent port, some of the
    Borderland is not as ground-breaking as many people claim it to be. It's a combination of RPG and good 'ol fashion first person shooter(FPS). The only really new thing is the art style that borderlands utilizes, it's very unique and gives a nice look and feel to the game.

    This game wasn't originally made for the PC-market, but it was ported. However it's a fairly decent port, some of the controls are objectionable, there are a couple of instances where you have to use your arrow keys to navigate through menus, something PC-gamers aren't very fond off. But in general it's no problems at all.

    The biggest problem with the fact that the game is ported, have to do with the game's difficulty.
    A direct effect of putting a console FPS game on a PC is that the game becomes ridiculously easy.
    The fact that the AI is incredibly dumb isn't making this less of a problem. The bots will continuously try to shoot you through objects, such as houses and metal walls. Some bosses I was able to take down by simply standing still, the final boss for instance.

    The class system is not very unique, not new in any way, shape or form. It saddens me that such potential got lost here. It doesn't really feel as if the classes make any particular difference whatsoever. Now one might argue that the ability to specialise(see spec), can counter weight this but in truth it doesn't. The classes is just a mare smoke and mirrors, there's nothing really special about the classes, maybe except for the soldier.

    The creeps look virtually identical throughout the entire game. You never get to see anything new.
    The same goes for weapons, there are pretty much 7 different kinds of weapons to chose from in the entirety of the game. The only thing being different is the stats, and sometimes the scope. That is artificial diversity as far as I'm concerned.
    The missions are also very similar, there are a few kinds of mission types(kill X of Y, collect X many Y etc.), but nothing above that. This makes for an extremely repetitive game, with almost no re-playability.

    On the other hand, there's a lot of good things with the game too. The story line is meagre but still bearable. The huge amount of randomly generated weapons makes looting a whole lot of fun.
    And to top it off, the networking worked superbly, no fuss at all.

    My conclusion is that this game is worthwhile playing if you got 2-3 friendly to play with and if you like repetitive games, with virtually no story attached to it.
    Expand
  83. Oct 26, 2011
    6
    I got this game because most reviews say it somehow combines FPS gameplay and RPG elements. However, the RPG elements in this game are nothing but improving your character's stats and mindless looting. It's essentially just a diablo game without even good story telling. the NPCs you interact with are mostly wooden and dull without any story behind or interesting personality. The game isI got this game because most reviews say it somehow combines FPS gameplay and RPG elements. However, the RPG elements in this game are nothing but improving your character's stats and mindless looting. It's essentially just a diablo game without even good story telling. the NPCs you interact with are mostly wooden and dull without any story behind or interesting personality. The game is also suffered from way too many fetch and simple killing quests which are pointless and tedious, and gives no immersion in the game world. The aspects of the game that I find fairly good are solid shooting mechanics and four distinct classes which gives you some fun time and replay values. The game provides tons of looting but I find it rewards the player so quick that you really can not feel any accomplishment. Comparing to Mass effect 2 and Deus Ex which perfectly integrate RPG story-telling and gameplay into a shooter based game, Borderlands just feels too un-inspired and bland. I seriously can not recommend this game to anyone, since it's just pure a waste of time. Expand
  84. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    That game is weird, stupid, pointless and looks like "backyard game". Why so good scores? I bought at steam and couldnt play more than 2 hours, really.
  85. RomanZ
    Oct 27, 2009
    1
    Played the PC version and it is a horrible, horrible, horrible console port. Game is EXTREMELY repetitive, has annoying tutorials you cannot turn off and awful multiplayer system. Do not buy this game for the PC.
  86. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Bonkers futuristic setting? Check. Cool bounty hunters storyline? Check. Wild West ethics? Check. Hilarious dialogue and other tidbits? Check. Endless replayability? Check. Massive scale gunfights? Check. Utterly epic random loot generator? Check. Skill trees that actually change gameplay? Check. Best coop mode ever? Check. I cannot sing enough praise for this game but then I don't have toBonkers futuristic setting? Check. Cool bounty hunters storyline? Check. Wild West ethics? Check. Hilarious dialogue and other tidbits? Check. Endless replayability? Check. Massive scale gunfights? Check. Utterly epic random loot generator? Check. Skill trees that actually change gameplay? Check. Best coop mode ever? Check. I cannot sing enough praise for this game but then I don't have to this thing is a legend. Definitely try it out if you have even the slightest bit of interest in it. Expand
  87. Dec 1, 2011
    2
    I do not like this game due to the fact that it's a complete rip off of the Fallout Series created by Bethesda. When I first played it I thought it was a pretty good game, it felt great playing it until I realised I liked this game because it was exactly like Fallout but then I realised of how a true rip off it was, it's terrible compared to Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas! How people callI do not like this game due to the fact that it's a complete rip off of the Fallout Series created by Bethesda. When I first played it I thought it was a pretty good game, it felt great playing it until I realised I liked this game because it was exactly like Fallout but then I realised of how a true rip off it was, it's terrible compared to Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas! How people call this game a good game? It's a complete rip off and I don't reccommend it to ANYONE but I wouold recommend the Fallout series to ANY gamer. Expand
  88. DesmondL
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    Good game, but not that very enjoying to play. The game is lack of storyline and the graphics is not that great. The co-op multilayer is kinda "cheating" to me, you can just use weak level to join higher level player, you only just wait the experience level from the higher level. I love the combination of FPS and RPG, but I think it not that enjoy to play.
  89. NateS
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    It's a great game, graphically, gameplay, but i shaved 8 marks off mainly because the game is advertised as a co-op game, yet connecting to online games turned out to be a pain in the butt. The one week delay to optimize the PC version turned out to be a big sack of lies. Nothing was optimized for PC. This game is a console port. 90% of the in game menus are NOT mouse supported. For It's a great game, graphically, gameplay, but i shaved 8 marks off mainly because the game is advertised as a co-op game, yet connecting to online games turned out to be a pain in the butt. The one week delay to optimize the PC version turned out to be a big sack of lies. Nothing was optimized for PC. This game is a console port. 90% of the in game menus are NOT mouse supported. For example, if you get into an online game, you can't kick some from clicking their name, you have to use arrow keys and select them. The online backbone of the game is even more crappier. Of all online gaming infrastructures Gearbox decided to use Gamespy... I pretty sure a lot of FPS gamers moved away from Gamespy back in 1998. So in the end if you want a Online CO-OP game. Do Not Buy this game, it's not a co-op game if you have a hard time connecting to other players. Probably better off purchasing Left 4 Dead 2. Gearbox Software is only good at bring PC ports to consoles, NOT the other way around. Save your money, this game is not worth it. Gearbox only released this game on PC to make some quick cash. They haven't even acknowledge on there official forums that there are a lot of problems. Sure they're could be fixing it, but easing your customers minds goes a long way. Once again DO NOT BUY! Unless you are only going to play single player mostly. Expand
  90. Woody
    Nov 20, 2009
    0
    Games Great, but steam stuffed up the initial pre-load for Aussie's with the censored version, then to make it even better, a couple of weeks after the release, they upped the price from $45 to $79, and said "They fixed the price and have now released it at a discount" Steam treats Aussies like crap!, taking advantage of our strong dollar and what we usually pay in shops. I would Games Great, but steam stuffed up the initial pre-load for Aussie's with the censored version, then to make it even better, a couple of weeks after the release, they upped the price from $45 to $79, and said "They fixed the price and have now released it at a discount" Steam treats Aussies like crap!, taking advantage of our strong dollar and what we usually pay in shops. I would boycott if i didn't already purchase it for $45. Surely they'd drop the price if suddenly they had zero sales in the Australian market. Expand
  91. VincentW
    Dec 30, 2009
    1
    The game is good but I would never buy another game from Gearbox ever again. There is absolutely no multiplayer available because you'll be spending time looking for games to join. If you do get in one, wait 5 minutes and press CTRL ALT DEL to close it. Enjoy?
  92. ChadS
    Dec 4, 2009
    3
    There are not many game i regret buying but this is one of them. as others have reviewed, this game was released half broken or half working whichever you prefer. the online game play is heavily lacking in the network/connection department. you're lucky if you can get this game to consistently connect to your friends and family. One day it will be working great, the next it wont. i There are not many game i regret buying but this is one of them. as others have reviewed, this game was released half broken or half working whichever you prefer. the online game play is heavily lacking in the network/connection department. you're lucky if you can get this game to consistently connect to your friends and family. One day it will be working great, the next it wont. i also found BL will crash while i have norton 360 install regardless if the tools are activated or not. if you are thinking of buying this game, move on, its not worth the frustration. Expand
  93. MinOh
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    It was awesome!!!
  94. LauritsN
    Oct 31, 2009
    5
    As much as i see potential in this game, i just don't think it does a good enough job with the RPG element. Most of your skill ups are used in passive abilities, and therefore i find it to be too much of a FPS game with one special ability per class, that a real RPG.
  95. jackh
    Nov 1, 2009
    6
    This game looks very nice, has lots of guns and is pretty fun of course. But, there are a lot more problems with this game than you'd guess. First of all there are 2 types of games, one which ends once you complete the game, and one which doesn't end. This game ends once you complete the game, its quests are very repetitive and are all "Grind" quests. Even though you can replay This game looks very nice, has lots of guns and is pretty fun of course. But, there are a lot more problems with this game than you'd guess. First of all there are 2 types of games, one which ends once you complete the game, and one which doesn't end. This game ends once you complete the game, its quests are very repetitive and are all "Grind" quests. Even though you can replay the game in a harder mode, i just don't see any fun in it at all as you would only be Re-Grinding the boring quests you have already done before. However if this game had a big multiplayer setup like on Counter-Strike or Left 4 Dead it would definitely get a straight 10/10 because it would pretty much eliminate all of the problems which are current. So only buy this game if you have 3 more friends you would want to play with, it is not worth the money to play it for a few days on your own, complete it and then never look at it again. Expand
  96. BO
    Dec 29, 2009
    0
    Doesn't work... Game crashes after about 5 minutes of play, and that was after having to install a 3rd party application just to get the multi-player to work AT ALL! If you just plan to play this game in single player mode then by all means gamble on whether or not it will lock up. Spent 5 hours trying to get it to work... maybe in a month or so the worthless publisher will put out a Doesn't work... Game crashes after about 5 minutes of play, and that was after having to install a 3rd party application just to get the multi-player to work AT ALL! If you just plan to play this game in single player mode then by all means gamble on whether or not it will lock up. Spent 5 hours trying to get it to work... maybe in a month or so the worthless publisher will put out a patch.. or not.. either way they burned me good. Expand
  97. StevenH
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    Completely absurd/awful story, barely functional multiplayer interface, poor enemy balance, but underneath it is a fairly addictive game and interesting concept. Leveling up is very satisfying.
  98. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    Nobody expected Borderlands to be a totally addicting and clever FPS/Diablo hybrid. But low and behold, it's a great shooter mixed with an addictive loot system, humorous characters and quests, and a big world to explore. Note this is primarily an FPS with quests/loot as a secondary system. But that's fine. Also, the interface is very poor and it does suffer from being a console port.Nobody expected Borderlands to be a totally addicting and clever FPS/Diablo hybrid. But low and behold, it's a great shooter mixed with an addictive loot system, humorous characters and quests, and a big world to explore. Note this is primarily an FPS with quests/loot as a secondary system. But that's fine. Also, the interface is very poor and it does suffer from being a console port. Nevertheless, this is a game I come back to now and then. So it's a very solid 8 "Great" score. Here's hoping Borderlands 2 is even better! Expand
  99. May 20, 2011
    8
    A perfectly mix of FPS and RPG elements make this game an addictive and enjoyable game that will keep you occupied for a very long time. And the GUNS! Sweet mother of God, what a **** of **** guns! If you can't find one that suits you then you should be dead. So if you are tired of mainstream FPS Shooters and had enough of those fantasy RPGs or if you just want to try something new, getA perfectly mix of FPS and RPG elements make this game an addictive and enjoyable game that will keep you occupied for a very long time. And the GUNS! Sweet mother of God, what a **** of **** guns! If you can't find one that suits you then you should be dead. So if you are tired of mainstream FPS Shooters and had enough of those fantasy RPGs or if you just want to try something new, get Borderlands or better yet get Borderlands GOTY Edition. You won't be sorry. Unfortunately the Skags will. Expand
  100. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    With borderlands, you get a lot of content/gameplay for your money, The co-op is very fun, and the graphics are neat. The only problem i have with the game is the rpg elements, a lot of the skills are kindof wierd, such as liliths phasewalk, I feel like they could have done a lot better job developing the skills for the characters. Besides that the story is fun, can be a bit boring atWith borderlands, you get a lot of content/gameplay for your money, The co-op is very fun, and the graphics are neat. The only problem i have with the game is the rpg elements, a lot of the skills are kindof wierd, such as liliths phasewalk, I feel like they could have done a lot better job developing the skills for the characters. Besides that the story is fun, can be a bit boring at times, Driving is almost flawless, and after you beat the game you can get the DLC which will add quite a bit of time to your gameplay. Expand
  101. May 26, 2011
    0
    First of all I'd like to point out that I didn't buy this game. It was offered in a bundle with other games, much more entertaining games but still I decided to try it out. The first hour of the game is quite fun, you shoot at stuff, collect guns and ammo, do a few missions and progress through the campaign all the while ignoring the terribly annoying storyline (and characters). Once youFirst of all I'd like to point out that I didn't buy this game. It was offered in a bundle with other games, much more entertaining games but still I decided to try it out. The first hour of the game is quite fun, you shoot at stuff, collect guns and ammo, do a few missions and progress through the campaign all the while ignoring the terribly annoying storyline (and characters). Once you get used to this game and actually get some decent gear you start noticing all the bugs and glitches, most notably the hit boxes. The one critical, essential, necessary game mechanic a shoot-em-up game must get flawlessly is the hit registration. You shoot people in the head point blank with a sniper rifle and it misses, you shoot em in the chest point blank and it misses. You goddamn purposefully shoot beside them and it hits... The storyline, characters and cutscenes are dreadfully annoying and also unskippable, therefore you're not playing this game for the plot. The game mechanics are riddled with bugs which render the game almost unplayable, therefore you're not playing this game for its gameplay. This game has terrible graphics, graphics that at first sight reminded me of a f2p game called Drift City(for those familiar), therefore you're not playing this game for the awe factor. A single question remains. Why are you playing this game?

    I give it a 3 out of 10 because 1. the game actually was capable of installing itself on my PC. 2. The splash screen pops up when you click the game's icon. 3. The .exe file actually works and the game launches. Otherwise it's worthless.
    Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.