Borderlands PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1392 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. anon
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    an interesting concept. very fun in co-op. kept me playing for a while until i found out you could edit your saves. then it was just a hack fest not really that much fun anymore sort of deal. up until that though it was fun
  2. KarlN
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    This game is very well done. While normally I don't prefer the "cartoon" like graphics I made an exception and I was quite impressed. To say the least if this was an MMO I would play it.
  3. TimL
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    A game well worth playing. Single player rocks, and multiplayer is fun as long as you play with friends not plebs
  4. nathanm
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    this game is awesome very nice graphics very different then other games and its unique. but the only flaw is the multi player. other than that this game is fun and addictive.
  5. JosephS
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Borderlands is everything I wanted out of Fallout. A first person shooter with RPG elements and an unintrusive story. The only thing it's lacking is the early levels could use an option to turn off tutorials.
  6. DerekW
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    Fun and addictive game play, can get a little lackluster after several levels solo, but Co-op is a a blast.
  7. SeanBest
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Game is amazing. Really interesting. Story is weird gameplay is intense. Commercials looked lame, but I was really surprised.
  8. RichF
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This game is amazingly fun with buddies. Play it. GotY, for sure.
  9. RobertL
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    As a Co-op experience, its hard to beat. The loot system is great. Game play is fast paced and the difficulty is just right. People who don't like the graphic style should just find another game. Realistic graphics are great but I like this cell shading almost more, I get a great frame rate that never dips and everything still looks freaking awesome.
  10. NoCanDoSorry
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    Interesting game, although the true potential lies in it's co-op online mode. Playing solo can be pretty dull at times and quite quickly boring. The story could be better, and the map management truly need improvement. Overall a pretty amazing game!
  11. TimP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Wow, Prob the best game of the year if you like css cod4 and fallout3 they just made a baby and its bloody fps coop heaven! Its just downright fun to play!
  12. AnnaM
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    A solid, fun game. This game is everything that it promises in advertisements, but don't expect more than what you're told. The story isn't as deep as a FPS like Dues Ex or a RPG like Final Fantasy, instead this is more like an arcade version of Fallout 3. It is entertaining, and definitely challenging as I constantly found myself scrounging for clips or health packs, and A solid, fun game. This game is everything that it promises in advertisements, but don't expect more than what you're told. The story isn't as deep as a FPS like Dues Ex or a RPG like Final Fantasy, instead this is more like an arcade version of Fallout 3. It is entertaining, and definitely challenging as I constantly found myself scrounging for clips or health packs, and never could fight a boss head on without using tactics or having friends join the party. The graphics are smooth and cell shaded, and if it doesn't play smooth on your pc you can drop the resolution down, which makes the textures blur kind of like a coloring book instead of a comic book, but i've yet to find one game bug or issue I didn't like. My final opinion, Borderlands may not be the best game of all time but it definitely deserves a spot in any gamer's collection as it is another game blazing it's own trail and doing it well. Expand
  13. BrixQ
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    Near perfect, deserves a 90/100 but has room for basic touch ups such as AI and smarter item menus. The action and game play are top notch and I'd recommend this to any shooter or RPG fan.
  14. FedericoG
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Well speed rush guns and splatter i loving it !! Rpg elements give another chance I've tried coop , very funny.
  15. ZAQ
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    The core game is fantastic, and runs very well on my modest system (AMD 3500+, 8600GT). What brings down this game is the use of Gamespy for the co-op matchmaking, which is a HORRIBLE system to use and I wish Gamespy would just die already. Connecting to a game is very difficult, and it is lacking some very basic features such as the ability to mute other players and the ability to sort The core game is fantastic, and runs very well on my modest system (AMD 3500+, 8600GT). What brings down this game is the use of Gamespy for the co-op matchmaking, which is a HORRIBLE system to use and I wish Gamespy would just die already. Connecting to a game is very difficult, and it is lacking some very basic features such as the ability to mute other players and the ability to sort games in the lobby. On top of that the UI was clearly designed for consoles and is very unintuitive on the PC. Despite the faults I'm having a lot of fun playing it so I give it an 8, which is a shame because if Gearbox would have spent a bit more time on the PC version it could easily have been a 10. Expand
  16. MadL
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Bloody brilliant game, loads of content (guns, upgrades, quests, enemies), single player lasts long, which is good as the game is fun. The game also has 4 player online also, which is very fun once again and i love the overall design of the game and the humor. A game i would wholeheartedly suggest to a friend.
  17. HaqeemA
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Borderlands is incredible, really distract my attention from Modern Warfare 2 and Left 4 Dead 2. Featured with cool and smooth graphic and "outline" styling (artwork ftw!) just like Prince of Persia, up to 4 player in multiplayer mode (more epic than those zombies shooting title) this product is worth every penny! I can't write more about this game cause this too awesome!
  18. FezzT
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    From the art style to the gameplay, to the voice acting, this has been a game to remember. I'll be honest when i say that in begining, i was reminded of fallout 3, which i thought was extremely boring but had so much work done to it. but this game delivers so much more excitement and the visual style is enjoyable. 4 player co-op is incredibly fun, but you must all be at the same part From the art style to the gameplay, to the voice acting, this has been a game to remember. I'll be honest when i say that in begining, i was reminded of fallout 3, which i thought was extremely boring but had so much work done to it. but this game delivers so much more excitement and the visual style is enjoyable. 4 player co-op is incredibly fun, but you must all be at the same part of the game for this to work. Still this game is amazing Expand
  19. GM
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    I love this game. Yeah, its a little repetitive, like a hack'n'slash kinda like diablo versions. But the graphics are crazy (in a good way), the mind numbing variation of weapons you can use however you game (power over accuracy, visa-versa, etc). Different game, pretty awesome. You oughtta try it, especially if you can find it on sale. I love it!
  20. Xiru
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    10 without a second thought. The minor flaws of the PC version are completely overshadowed by the highly addictive gameplay, engrossing atmosphere and incredible variety. This game, without a doubt, offers an astounding experience to anyone even a little familiar with either shooters or RPGs - while fans of the two genres are in for a very, very special, unforgettable treat.
  21. ChrisT
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    I've been a gamer all my life, growing up i'd play on the Amiga then on a Pentium 1 200mhz and upgrading ever since. I've played a insane amount of games, recently however I have been growing tired of the games coming out as they don't seem to offer anything new. I was hesitant of getting this game but I am really glad I did, I haven't really got this hooked on a I've been a gamer all my life, growing up i'd play on the Amiga then on a Pentium 1 200mhz and upgrading ever since. I've played a insane amount of games, recently however I have been growing tired of the games coming out as they don't seem to offer anything new. I was hesitant of getting this game but I am really glad I did, I haven't really got this hooked on a game for awhile, its insanely addicting. The way I would describe it is like Diablo hack and slash style but instead its first person run and gun. Loot is almost exactly like diablo, randomly generated guns and items that drop from your kills. The also also somewhat like WoWs items as they are rated in quality (white to purple) Also the quests are kinda like wow as well as you get them from NPCs and have to kill, obtain, other stuff... however its soo much more funner as you have tons of guns to test out on your enemies. Also getting critical hits takes accuracy (headshots and other places depending on the enemy) and is not a percentage like WoW. I have been playing single player the whole time and I usually only play multiplayer games which is weird for me, shows how good of a game it is imo. I think this game would be twice is bad ass if you team up with a friend, asd I plan on doing that soon. Also the AI is pretty cool, as they zig zag, sidestep, strafe, so they are challenging to hit. Heads can get blown off as well as limbs and they can even gib given the right weapon. The NPCs are funny as hell too. Expand
  22. RivanF
    Apr 26, 2010
    9
    I keep going back to it. Need I say more? I'll say what I didn't like since the list is smaller: Enemies were pretty easy. Their difficulty is based more on how many hitpoints they have rather than being actually "skilled". IE, moving around for cover, trying to out maneuver you, etc... Would like to see a PvP system better instilled. Some weaponry is crazy powerful and make PvP I keep going back to it. Need I say more? I'll say what I didn't like since the list is smaller: Enemies were pretty easy. Their difficulty is based more on how many hitpoints they have rather than being actually "skilled". IE, moving around for cover, trying to out maneuver you, etc... Would like to see a PvP system better instilled. Some weaponry is crazy powerful and make PvP pretty pointless, unless there's some way to better level the playing field. Perhaps in a further patch (if this were figured out, I could imagine a Borderlands MMOFPS that would be extraordinarily fun). Also, obviously, the weapon hex editing would need to be stopped... Parts were rather repetitive, but yet I still go back. Expand
  23. LysanderS
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    Great game, offset by a terrible and weak storyline. As an RPG it's pretty average, and as an FPS it's pretty great. With a ton of weapon and enemy types, you won't get bored easily. Sexy graphics forced me into an 8, otherwise it would be a 7 because of the weak story. Basically, you have to find a vault filled with "riches". Besides that, each character is supposed to Great game, offset by a terrible and weak storyline. As an RPG it's pretty average, and as an FPS it's pretty great. With a ton of weapon and enemy types, you won't get bored easily. Sexy graphics forced me into an 8, otherwise it would be a 7 because of the weak story. Basically, you have to find a vault filled with "riches". Besides that, each character is supposed to have it's own story, with Lilith seeking out another "siren", Brick looking for revenge on the person who killed his dog, Mordecai looking for his old mentor and the x-crimson lance Roland looking for...well i haven't a clue. Each character is supposed to have had it's own quests in the game, but was for some reason scrapped, meaning each playthrough with either of the characters is exactly the same. That makes replayability suck, and means the single storyline is the vault. Once you complete the game you're given the chance to playthrough again giving you more powerful enemies, but there's not much of a point as it's just the same quests again. The whole game, including each side quest and a bit of grinding took me...exactly 24 hours and 1 minute. So it's not as long as other RPGs but much longer than other FPS's. Signs of a clear console port are the serious problems with controls, such as toggle crouch and steering with the mouse rather than the normal WASD. Also a number of interface issues and multiplayer connectivity problems. Overall definitely worth a go, you don't want to miss out on this game, but be prepared for a weak story and some much needed patching. Especially for the PC...*shudders* Expand
  24. KevinC
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    All in all, a fun little game. The action is fast paced and a steady stream of rewards keep you moving from area to area. Also, I found the robot NPC genuinely amusing, which is very rare for a video game character (most comic relief NPCs are cloying or distracting, but this little guy's ADHD made me smile). What really hurts this game is GameSpy's matchmaking service which is All in all, a fun little game. The action is fast paced and a steady stream of rewards keep you moving from area to area. Also, I found the robot NPC genuinely amusing, which is very rare for a video game character (most comic relief NPCs are cloying or distracting, but this little guy's ADHD made me smile). What really hurts this game is GameSpy's matchmaking service which is tragically flawed. Despite many attempts, I have never been able to join a friend in game. I hope someone from GameSpy reads this because I'm very disappointed in your company's service and you guys need to do better than this. Expand
  25. SpencerC
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    worth it. Its a full rpg that HAPPENS to use guns, not a fps with some rpg in it. multiplayer is accesible and multiplayer (among other things) make this game timless. You WILL be playing this game 5 years from now, even if you abandon it for 3
  26. PaulL
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. I love the Diablo-like looting and leveling mixed with the action of a fps. This is the most fun I've had with a game all year.
  27. DavidD
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    Great Game in Co-Op/Multi, but in Single Player make the game not so much fun, because its too easy in single and thats make it boring...
  28. YannickL
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    This is the best game! It's like Diablo But one skill and it's first person shooter! It's awsome
  29. TannerG
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    Very fun game, too bad the mutiplayer you have to open ports to get to work or else i would give it a ten
  30. ThiagoM
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    If you're fan of Diablo and fan of a Post Nuclear World (Liek Fallout) then you will love Borderlands... The game has a linear storyline, but it gives you an universe of Skills combination that you aquire along your levels of experience. It has very different classes which gives you a reason to start another game just to play as other character. The multiplayer its very simple and If you're fan of Diablo and fan of a Post Nuclear World (Liek Fallout) then you will love Borderlands... The game has a linear storyline, but it gives you an universe of Skills combination that you aquire along your levels of experience. It has very different classes which gives you a reason to start another game just to play as other character. The multiplayer its very simple and cool (The only prob is realeasing the right firewall ports). So, if you ready to collect hundreads of different weapons, build characters in different levels and smash Hundredes of monsters with Rocket Launchers, Sniper Rifles, Machineguns and Grenades, Borderland is your game!. Expand
  31. ChrisS
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    I've played this game at a friends house on the 360, and I must say we had a blast playing this game. The true fun comes from the coop game play. Playing by yourself can be ok if you wanna level your character up and take it to the multi, but with no Friendly AI in single, its not the main fun point of this game. There are many guns and pickups the game play was smooth, but smoother I've played this game at a friends house on the 360, and I must say we had a blast playing this game. The true fun comes from the coop game play. Playing by yourself can be ok if you wanna level your character up and take it to the multi, but with no Friendly AI in single, its not the main fun point of this game. There are many guns and pickups the game play was smooth, but smoother on pc. The enemies and animation were great! Overall, If you get this game and enjoy the rpg elements fused with fps, then you will not be disappointed. Expand
  32. VincentC
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    Excellent game, fun, easy to get into, but the customization has depth, and it is fast paced when your playing with 3 friends! I personally love the graphics, I was upset when i first saw the change, because I had been following this game forever, but once I booted the game and saw the images up close and personal I can tell you it is beautiful. Good call visually!
  33. AdamS
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most fun and addictive games I have played in ages. It has the action RPG elements of Diablo and the FPS elements of Halo. The Firefly-esque Sci-Fi/Western feel works to blend these genres well. This is the most addictive game I've played since WoW and I can't believe I'm taking the time to type this rather than playing it right now!
  34. NatoT
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    As a game, Borderlands is an easy 9/10. Fallout 3's action was too slowly paced for me, but Borderlands is much faster. The world feels a little constricted, in that you can't see as far as you can in Fallout 3. Also, there are chasms and cliff faces which prevent you from going to the distant places that you can see. This are both problems with the otherwise excellent Unreal As a game, Borderlands is an easy 9/10. Fallout 3's action was too slowly paced for me, but Borderlands is much faster. The world feels a little constricted, in that you can't see as far as you can in Fallout 3. Also, there are chasms and cliff faces which prevent you from going to the distant places that you can see. This are both problems with the otherwise excellent Unreal Engine that the game utilizes extremely well in all other aspects. As a product, Borderlands falls a a bit short. There are some menus (in-game journals, quests) which cannot be scrolled with the scroll wheel on the mouse, for instance - you must use the page up/page down keys. This is one example where the UI behaves in annoying non-standard ways, and was clearly made for use on a console. There also doesn't appear to be any support for anti-aliasing, another limit from the console development which harms the game visually. So averaging 9/10 as a game and 7/10 as a PC product, Borderlands is overall an 80% from me. Expand
  35. JackJ
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    So much fun!
  36. DontouchMeThere
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    This game is AMAZING, Well worth the money, lots of interesting dialogue, and TONS of weapons. This is everything I'd ever wanted in an RPG/FPS hybrid, the combat is smooth, the enemies are challenging, and the humor... is humorous!
  37. MooMan
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    If you like RPGs, this game is for you. If you like FPS, this game is for you. Although this game was made for x-box, they did a fairly decent job making it usable for PC although it "reeks" of x-box. This game deserves a 8 but i like it so much i'll give it a 9. Most of the "ba zillion guns" are crap white.
  38. Philip
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Superb FPS gameplay, addictive loot and level-up mechanics, and kick-ass art style! Solo or co-op, this game is awesome! Post-apocalyptic Diablo with guns, more please!
  39. JasonC
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    I've nearly completed the game and it has been a blast. I enjoyed the game's creative level designs. Also, the sheer number and variety of guns is amazing. Borderlands is the most fun when shared with friends. There are only a couple minor negatives points to the game. First, on a PC, the game is hard to network. You need to open up ports on your firewall and finding that I've nearly completed the game and it has been a blast. I enjoyed the game's creative level designs. Also, the sheer number and variety of guns is amazing. Borderlands is the most fun when shared with friends. There are only a couple minor negatives points to the game. First, on a PC, the game is hard to network. You need to open up ports on your firewall and finding that information was a pain. Second, the game is clearly a port from the consoles because the item select screens don't always let you use your mouse to click things. Hopefully, with a patch or two, they can fix these issues. With that said, this is one of the best games that I have played this year. I think the co-op action is more fun than Left4Dead. The unique mix of RPG elements into a solid co-op FPS makes for a truly compelling game. I highly recommend it. Expand
  40. KevinR
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    This game is ridiculously addicting and satisfying at the same time. Playing a coop online rpg/fps is too fun. The online system is terrible...and that's the reason I wouldn't give this game a 10. Replayability is great and the weapons and firing mechanics are tactile and exhilarating. Its fun to play a shooter that has bosses like in a normal RPG/MMO. So you have to use a good This game is ridiculously addicting and satisfying at the same time. Playing a coop online rpg/fps is too fun. The online system is terrible...and that's the reason I wouldn't give this game a 10. Replayability is great and the weapons and firing mechanics are tactile and exhilarating. Its fun to play a shooter that has bosses like in a normal RPG/MMO. So you have to use a good amount of skill on top of your traits and xp. All in all and beautifully crafted game with a very unique art scheme. Expand
  41. H@rlequin
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    Its not often i rate a game at 10 but borderlands blend of fps and rpg was done very well. Although it is clearly a port from the console and doesn't work well when trying to triple screen because of the locked FOV it is a well rounded game. I think it would have really excelled if there was more of a diversity in the monsters. Its to damn hard to find any eridian weapons to, i have Its not often i rate a game at 10 but borderlands blend of fps and rpg was done very well. Although it is clearly a port from the console and doesn't work well when trying to triple screen because of the locked FOV it is a well rounded game. I think it would have really excelled if there was more of a diversity in the monsters. Its to damn hard to find any eridian weapons to, i have a level 36, 32 and 18 characters and i have only found 3. Expand
  42. ScottS.
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    this game is an addictive role playing shooter i can not get enough of. I hope 2k games makes another like this awesome game
  43. NinjaHedge
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    Lots of plain stupid fun. Plenty of references (if you listen to comments), jokes and other goodies. (Soldier saying "Heals here" is the same voice actor as L4D black dude..... at least in pitch, tenor and delivery!! ;) ) It takes some time, however. The skills are also a bit weird and unassociated with the categories they place them in. There are PLENTY of missions to finish, and it is Lots of plain stupid fun. Plenty of references (if you listen to comments), jokes and other goodies. (Soldier saying "Heals here" is the same voice actor as L4D black dude..... at least in pitch, tenor and delivery!! ;) ) It takes some time, however. The skills are also a bit weird and unassociated with the categories they place them in. There are PLENTY of missions to finish, and it is fun oto play through several times (both with high level chars and other classes). I wold recommend the Siren and Berzerker as the best solo players, and guys like Hunter and Soldier can be a real help to a group. That is the other strong point, a FPSRPGMPG. So few are like that. TF2 is GREAt, do not get me wrong, but there is no plot, no goal, and no scads of bad guys to shoot w/o you dying. The only thing missing on this is Vs..... Downside? Having to use a Gamespy ID, WTH? You HAVE steam, why force another? (I had one already anyway from the ORIGINAL Quake days, so...). Also, SecuRom on the addon? Why on the addon and not on the original? What gives? Aside from that, I REALLY recommend finding three friends and getting the 4 pak through Steam. Expand
  44. JakeU
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    Awesome gameplay, storyline is a little off balanced in some parts, but generally its a good RPG hence they are using some of the mechanics from the Diablo series, overall a great game
  45. JacksonG
    Dec 27, 2009
    9
    Good Game over all. not alot of depth in npc characters(you could basically replace them with cardboard and you'd be none the wiser). At first, you may say" hey, theres not alot of loot at the start." once you hit level five, you literally turn a corner and you just pick up five shotguns, twelve pistols, 2 smgs, 3 combat rifles, 5 snipers, and 1 rocket launcher. and thats not even Good Game over all. not alot of depth in npc characters(you could basically replace them with cardboard and you'd be none the wiser). At first, you may say" hey, theres not alot of loot at the start." once you hit level five, you literally turn a corner and you just pick up five shotguns, twelve pistols, 2 smgs, 3 combat rifles, 5 snipers, and 1 rocket launcher. and thats not even half of the crap you found. Your relationships with guns are basically like a one night stand. you will find so many guns you have to constantly check and see if your guns are 1) best of the crop 2) arent wasting VERY small backpack space and the optional 3) does it look badass. the environments are to drool over, just as long as you get used to after loading a new area the weird " graphic blur". Online co-op ( as of 12/27/09) ranges from shabby to alright at least on pc. one time my freind and i played together and had a blast looting, but other times we had to struggle with forwarding the ports on his and my computer. add that and a very interesting roundup of dlcs coming this wy, its a holiday must for any console gamer, but for pc, anyone who likes diablo or fallout series will have a blast. except if you want to play online. i still have nightmares. Expand
  46. DaleT
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    As a fan of the Firefly and Serenity franchise, i found a lot of this game familliar which of course indeared it to me immediatly. with the DLC's very much coming from the minds of the players as much as the designers, Gearbox has plenty of fresh free feedback to build from. This one is worth your time.
  47. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Borderlands' versatility and the ability to go your own personal way is suite to fit any type of gamer willing to take on a challenge or play it easy and kick ass on your skill level. Because of its muti-player feature being sub par to other co-op games, Borderlands is usually trashed around because of its lack for easy access to the not so vast community of players. Sure i can agree. ButBorderlands' versatility and the ability to go your own personal way is suite to fit any type of gamer willing to take on a challenge or play it easy and kick ass on your skill level. Because of its muti-player feature being sub par to other co-op games, Borderlands is usually trashed around because of its lack for easy access to the not so vast community of players. Sure i can agree. But not to the point that i don't want to try to get a game started with some people. I have the choice between two options. Let me jump into my singleplayer game allowing anyone to join in at a random time. Or joining someone's current game. This is helpful when i'm feeling in the mood to go my own path or earn xp and help a fellow gamer throughout his campaign at the same time. No choice is the wrong choice. I'm Just left with options. I also have the option to get separated from one's game and fight leveled beasts throughout. Borderlands adds a great feature to its mutiplayer experience. Dual mode. You can go up to a player in the party, melee them, giving them the option to melee you back, initiating a duel between the two players. This is available on the spot at anytime you want to duel. There are also duel arenas located around the map for a better experience in a 1 on 1 fight. The gameplay experience itself is one of a kind.Its a shooter RPG that offers so much more than the competing Mass Effect or GTA 4. Around every corner, a new weapon is lurking in that weapons crate behind that building, or in that monster that you have to defeat. After you beat the game, you have an option to go through it again with the same level and equipment you had before, except the monsters are all on a different, more challenging level. Not to mention each cause has an effect. If you do one thing a certain way. It can unlock different things than if you did it a different way on your first play through. The AI are adaptable and can give you a challenge when you need one, or they lower their guard enough for you to kick ass. The characters throughout the story can give you laughs every minute you talk to them, or be serious enough for you to pay attention at certain times. Overall, borderlands is a visual masterpiece in its own way. The animation is unique to the game giving the unreal engine a great game to base its engine on. With a Nvidia Geforce 8800 GT card, it looked like the visuals were popping out and hammering into my soul with every model detail. Not to mention the soundtrack can have you from suspenseful moments of uncertainty, to a tribal instinct to kill everything in sight. The AI's voice tracks can get annoying after a while. You will start to hear the same thing being said over and over, as well as a few glitches and bugs to give a little frustration. Altogether, this game did not fail to impress, it deserves all great remarks it is given. Only a few things could be fixed to give it perfect playability. Excellent job. Playability: 9.5. Graphics: 9. Sound: 8.5. Replay value: 9.5 If anyone has any questions, please email me at MRarmy12@aol.com. Expand
  48. Oct 8, 2010
    8
    A fun game to play with your friends, You can try playing solo but the game was definitely made to be enjoyed with a friend so if you ask me that kind of holds it back. It would be great if they some how made a demo for this so that people can kind of get a feel for it before going out and buying it. its good value at the current price its at (29.99 on steam)
  49. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    The Good: Fantastic gameplay, infinite amount of guns, smart AI and in general a solid game. The RPG elements are solid, if nothing spectacular, but nothing to complain about either. A good variety of missions that supplement the plot. The co-op makes the game about ten times better than it is on single player. it's challenging enough to be fun, but its not so hard that you die every 5The Good: Fantastic gameplay, infinite amount of guns, smart AI and in general a solid game. The RPG elements are solid, if nothing spectacular, but nothing to complain about either. A good variety of missions that supplement the plot. The co-op makes the game about ten times better than it is on single player. it's challenging enough to be fun, but its not so hard that you die every 5 minutes.

    The Bad: driving can be tough since there's not much interaction with the environment. you either drive over something or it stops you with no damage to the object or vehicle. The default buttons are somewhat funky (crouch is C instead of Ctrl for some reason) but those are easily changeable. There's no mini-map, only a compass, so constantly pausing to check the map can get annoying.

    The Graphics: (Disclaimer: some of this may depend on how fast your computer is) Some people will love the art, others will hate it (i for one, love it). Graphics are slick, depth of field looks cool if you turn it on. Don't play this on anything less than a Core 2 Duo or else it will look like crap. Occasionally you or enemies can get stuck inside something but it's easy to get out and it happens rarely. when you respawn you wait a little bit to let your computer render the level: like 5 seconds (it's kinda cool. you can actually see the render happen). All in all, a great game with minor issues that keep it from earning a 10
    Expand
  50. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    Wow. I've never really played a game in the genre, "Role-Playing Shooter," but Borderlands was absolutely amazing. The game boasts about having hundreds of thousands of guns, and that is no lie- you'll be looting thousands of treasure chests before you finish your second playthrough (Yes, I just said SECOND playthrough!) and by the time you hit the last boss for a second time, you'll beWow. I've never really played a game in the genre, "Role-Playing Shooter," but Borderlands was absolutely amazing. The game boasts about having hundreds of thousands of guns, and that is no lie- you'll be looting thousands of treasure chests before you finish your second playthrough (Yes, I just said SECOND playthrough!) and by the time you hit the last boss for a second time, you'll be geared up with some amazing guns. In the beginning, you pick one of four characters, each having it's own gun specialization and ability. Of course, you can say, "Screw it," to the gun specializations and use whatever type you want, but usually the class has abilities that only alter those types of guns. Also, some weapons have, "Types," like Corrosive, Fire, Explosive, and Electric. Electric is great against shields, Fire is amazing against health, Explosive is just effing fun to use, and Corrosive is cool too. The story isn't as strong as you might think; it's just you as an explorer trying to reach The Vault, which is supposedly filled with guns, riches, power, etc. but since the story is kinda weak the twist-ending won't exactly thrown you off your chair. But one of the great things is once you've beaten the game you can start over with all your equipment, money, and experience. In the second playthrough, enemies are tuned to your level, so the standard level 2 Skags outside Fyrestone will be cranked up to around level 30. Also, you can play the game in online with three other players to help them out with quests. The more players you have with you, the harder the enemies get. Of course, the more players you have, the more loot you get, so it makes it an intense and entertaining experience. There are few who would dislike this game, and it is a must-have for the PC. Expand
  51. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    OK, I know I'm coming late to the show with this one, but had to put in my two bits. I really enjoyed this game - it felt quite a bit like the original Far Cry. The cell shading graphics are an interesting twist and in some cases flat-out beautiful. Love all the weapons - TONS and TONS of different weapons. Wish the inventory system was a little less clunky, but you get used to itOK, I know I'm coming late to the show with this one, but had to put in my two bits. I really enjoyed this game - it felt quite a bit like the original Far Cry. The cell shading graphics are an interesting twist and in some cases flat-out beautiful. Love all the weapons - TONS and TONS of different weapons. Wish the inventory system was a little less clunky, but you get used to it after an hour or so. Really nice unique skills for each type of character. All in all, it's a tidy package and gives you a good 40+ hours worth of entertainment. These days it's selling for $20 and I would wholeheartedly recommend it for that price. Expand
  52. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    This game felt like World of Warcraft met Fallout.
    For an FPS/RPG type game it had a really good feel to it. The leveling system was a simplified tech tree like World of Warcraft on a minuscule level. The weapons are well balanced. I found myself using the different guns equally. I also liked the random and entirely unique gun drops. The abilities were pretty sweet. The co-op was
    This game felt like World of Warcraft met Fallout.
    For an FPS/RPG type game it had a really good feel to it. The leveling system was a simplified tech tree like World of Warcraft on a minuscule level. The weapons are well balanced. I found myself using the different guns equally. I also liked the random and entirely unique gun drops. The abilities were pretty sweet. The co-op was really fun if you had a friend. The vehicles were a very nice touch, they handle well and are easy to use. As far as controls go, they did an excellent job. The map design was also really nicely laid out. For those who were bashing the graphics, they used cell-shading. It has a very cartoony feel to it, but it was meant to be that way. I have no qualms with cell-shading, it worked well in Team Fortress 2 and it works well here.
    Now for the downside. The quests are as repetitive as World of Warcraft and similar MMOs. They felt original at first, but after going through the entire game they seemed to run out of new material. The difficulty in co-op mode did not scale when adding friends. The boss fights were extremely easy to begin with. When in co-op we killed bosses in half a minute, that's just lame. The bad guys continued to spawn in annoying places, forcing you to kill a bunch of low-level guys repeatedly. Overall I really liked the game, the replay value is very iffy, I probably won't touch it again unless I find someone else to play it with.
    Expand
  53. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Very Nice and Crazy Game. I like playing in Coop. Every Time you play it you´ll find something new. Its one of the BEST COOP Games ever. I´ve every DLC and still waiting for more !
  54. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    This game is a blast! I love that you can use your single player character on multiplayer servers so your character progression is consistent. I would have given this a 9 or 10 if they had a cover system. You have to hide behind something or strafe left and right in order to dodge or lack there of.
  55. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This is Good Game guys.. I played it on Xbox 360 game.. I love it all of them...
    But These not having cheats on Xbox 360 :(

    Please make more game on this game..
  56. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    Do you like rpg in your shooter? Then this is the game for you, at least if you also like multiplayer. You'll get the same enemies over and over with different prefixes and get loot accordingly (which copied the WoW colors for loot). The classes are interesting, and the class mods that let you completely change parts of them are a great addition and I wish they'd be copied into otherDo you like rpg in your shooter? Then this is the game for you, at least if you also like multiplayer. You'll get the same enemies over and over with different prefixes and get loot accordingly (which copied the WoW colors for loot). The classes are interesting, and the class mods that let you completely change parts of them are a great addition and I wish they'd be copied into other games too, but there's just no getting around the repetitive gameplay. Expand
  57. ave
    Mar 7, 2016
    8
    It's not really an evaluation, much more a tribute for a game I played a lot and still enjoy playing it :)

    Even if replaying it kinda feel repetitive, after a while you just feel "cosy at home". Even if the enemies sometimes lacks variation, hunting for your favorite set of weapons and exploring new builds is still fun. On my own, I mostly play Mordecai with a rapid-fire Torment
    It's not really an evaluation, much more a tribute for a game I played a lot and still enjoy playing it :)

    Even if replaying it kinda feel repetitive, after a while you just feel "cosy at home". Even if the enemies sometimes lacks variation, hunting for your favorite set of weapons and exploring new builds is still fun.

    On my own, I mostly play Mordecai with a rapid-fire Torment repeater, a multi-pellet Masher revolver and an explosive Wrath sniper rifle. Once I got these three, the whole game is a joyful ride (plus, repeaters and revolvers feed the same weapon skill bar, so why not taking advantage of it?)

    I also found the "alternate stories" really interesting each one on its own. I really love the mood and pacing of Jacob's Cove (the zombiesque twist on Borderlands).

    Even if the more recent instances of the title (namely Borderlands 2 and Borderlands Prequel) are better balanced and provide more challenges, the original title is still strong on its feet.
    Expand
  58. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Well I liked it.... Picked it up while it was on sale because it looked like a good game. Mixing RPG elements with FPS make a very good game. Sometimes the weapon types and all the are confusing, but overall great game that shouldnt be missed by any FPS fan and many RPG fans should give this game a chance too.
  59. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is probably not what most people expect: The RPG part is very weak and it is not really a Sandbox game. Nevertheless, if you like a relaxed FPS with some fun character building, you'll enjoy this game. Even the single player is a lot of fun for quite a few hours. Sadly I cannot try the multiplayer (moving to south america kinda spoiled my online fun), but judging from the gamesBorderlands is probably not what most people expect: The RPG part is very weak and it is not really a Sandbox game. Nevertheless, if you like a relaxed FPS with some fun character building, you'll enjoy this game. Even the single player is a lot of fun for quite a few hours. Sadly I cannot try the multiplayer (moving to south america kinda spoiled my online fun), but judging from the games concept it'll probably rock. The whole concept is a bit like dungeon siege with guns. :P (Dungeon Siege ONE, mind you :) Expand
  60. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    I feel like this game was really underrated. Although it starts out painfully slow, the game picks up quickly once you beat the first boss. The story isn't the best I've experienced in a game, but it's pretty sufficient for an FPS RPG. The re playability of this game is great, after playing it 4 times I wanted to play it all over again. Also the DLC for this game is superb. It adds so muchI feel like this game was really underrated. Although it starts out painfully slow, the game picks up quickly once you beat the first boss. The story isn't the best I've experienced in a game, but it's pretty sufficient for an FPS RPG. The re playability of this game is great, after playing it 4 times I wanted to play it all over again. Also the DLC for this game is superb. It adds so much more to the game, increasing the level cap, adding new maps, enemies, and weapons. I wish more people played this game. Expand
  61. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    Personally, I loved Borderlands. I'm actually more of a Role Play Game (RPG) type of person rather than a First Person Shooter (FPS) type but the unique graphic style and great humour in Borderlands kept me coming back for more. The premise of Borderlands is pretty basic, follow the main storyline and pick up side missions along the way all of which require you to kill, kill, and thenPersonally, I loved Borderlands. I'm actually more of a Role Play Game (RPG) type of person rather than a First Person Shooter (FPS) type but the unique graphic style and great humour in Borderlands kept me coming back for more. The premise of Borderlands is pretty basic, follow the main storyline and pick up side missions along the way all of which require you to kill, kill, and then kill some more which would seem very repetitive but the mission voiceovers are so good that I felt compelled to finish missions just to hear them tell me what to do next. (I laughed so hard at one point snot came out of my nose.) I definitely would not recommend this game for children (or the politically correct) due to the graphic violence and gore, but for the rest of us listening to the death cries of your victims burning or being corroded to death by acid is a satisfyingly guilty pleasure. Did I mention the graphics? Stunning in a dark comic book kind of way with amazing detail yet very easy on your video card allowing smooth gameplay no matter how many moving bad guys on the screen. The only reason I did not award Borderlands a 10 is because once you've completed the main storyline you are pretty much done and there is no open-ended game play afterwards. Expand
  62. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    I got quite surprised when I started to play this game: it's nothing new in the fps area, but it still delivers what many shooters don't: a lot of content. First of all, you got 4 classes to choose with 3 talent trees to choose, which actually can vary the gamestyle (but not a lot, and I will explain in a minute) Each class have an inventory which you can carry quite a lot of weapons (SoI got quite surprised when I started to play this game: it's nothing new in the fps area, but it still delivers what many shooters don't: a lot of content. First of all, you got 4 classes to choose with 3 talent trees to choose, which actually can vary the gamestyle (but not a lot, and I will explain in a minute) Each class have an inventory which you can carry quite a lot of weapons (So far, I can carry over 30 of them), but also grenade's mods, which will change the property of your grenades, and also class mods in which you'll obtain various benefits and bonuses for specific talents and skills. Honestly all of this is very well though because mods are very handy and the talents can make things go better if you have a proper grenade mod (like dispersion, or sticky), but still I gotta admit one thing: the talents aren't a big deal. They differ the gamestyle yes, but still they aren't a BIG difference: each class can equip any weapon for example and even if a soldier has more bonuses while using shotguns and rifles, you'll be free to use any other weapon as you want, because the bonuses aren't a HUGE bonuses: they feel more like "useful perks". On the other side, you can only use the "perk'd" weapons and forget the rest: you're good with those basically, and the only benefit of using many weapon is that the more you use an SMG, stronger the damage you'll do...but it's not, again, a big difference, and there's too much freedom in my opinion. The rest of the talents are handy, but I still haven't seen any proper difference, except for the main skill, which are the main and biggest difference among the 4, and I apologize for the abuse of the words "difference", because that's what I felt while playing.. The game is structured like a RPG due to the levels (50, 69 with the dlc), loot system (with color-based grades), quests, dungeons and a plot, with respective end bosses and so on, All of this is actually fun to do because it's not linear and you can also re-do the dungeons for more weapons, and the quests are kinda quick and easy to do. The plot however is one of the biggest trolls I've ever seen (but I dare to say in a good way). The areas are many and actually huge and in fact you'll use vehicles very often to travel in order to reach the next points,although the driving sections are a bit clunky and hard to drive at times. The online co-op is nice but it lags a lot on my computer for some reasons and I never managed to make it work properly (it is the only game i own that lags this much online, so it's not me!). I should mention also that the DLC are actually more like "expansions": they add new areas, new weapons, new vehicles and one of them adds also more levels, and the prices for them were very good (I hardly buy DLCs, but these were a very nice addition). I honestly hated the first points I mentioned, because it doesn't make you replay another class due of their lack of "differences", but except for that I really have no complains: it's probably one of the longest and actually content-filled shooters I've owned, and even if the flaws I've mentioned are a bit annoying the game still remains huge for a shooter (i've finished it in about 20-30 hours, plus 10 hours more for levelling and doing the dlc's). Definitely a good shooter with a very high longevity, worth a good try if you ask me. Expand
  63. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Great game, had loads of fun with, and there is quality DLC to have fun with also! The system is a great mix of FPS and RPG elements and although many people may not be able to grasp how this game works, hopefully it can open new doors to other crossover games to do the same.
  64. May 14, 2011
    9
    I was surprised how much I enjoyed this game. While not my usual style of game, it's so well put together I couldn't help but get totally sucked in by it. While I might have liked more of the mission text to have been voice acted, that is a minor quibble. It's not an elegant shooter (relying far more on picking the right weapon than highly strategic play), but it kept me coming back forI was surprised how much I enjoyed this game. While not my usual style of game, it's so well put together I couldn't help but get totally sucked in by it. While I might have liked more of the mission text to have been voice acted, that is a minor quibble. It's not an elegant shooter (relying far more on picking the right weapon than highly strategic play), but it kept me coming back for more, and the character progress was very well balanced. I always felt a sense of forward momentum, and rarely felt like I was simply grinding for cash or xp. I think replay value is limited, but the first play-through was well worth the price of entry. Expand
  65. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Played it through with a couple of friends. With one friend it was fun up till level 14, after that it's the same crap over and over. You notice the story element and interaction of your muse completely disappears after level 13 or so and it's just shoot, find weapons, rinse repeat. Many of the quests are broke when you try to play together so it's hard to sync up where you should playPlayed it through with a couple of friends. With one friend it was fun up till level 14, after that it's the same crap over and over. You notice the story element and interaction of your muse completely disappears after level 13 or so and it's just shoot, find weapons, rinse repeat. Many of the quests are broke when you try to play together so it's hard to sync up where you should play together unless you do literally every quest together.

    End boss is a joke, it shows how they put all their ideas and development into the first 14 levels and after that got under a production timeline and had to squeeze it out.

    Lots of profanity so not good for little ones and clearly a console port game if you are getting it for the PC be prepared for clunky menus and interactions.
    Expand
  66. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    There is not enough to say for this game. It is amazing in everyway imaginable. In case if you guys are late for the party, this game showcases more than 100,000 guns. Yeah. You read right. Also, the graphics are cool because it kinda is cartoonish, but not as cartoonish as Team Fortress 2. Its like cartoon violence, yet there is blood. As you level up in the game, you get better andThere is not enough to say for this game. It is amazing in everyway imaginable. In case if you guys are late for the party, this game showcases more than 100,000 guns. Yeah. You read right. Also, the graphics are cool because it kinda is cartoonish, but not as cartoonish as Team Fortress 2. Its like cartoon violence, yet there is blood. As you level up in the game, you get better and better guns. Like, I went to the place where you start the game (Arid Badlands) and my character was extremely overpowered against the other enemies because I was a higher level up. It provides some pretty funny and gruesome deaths. Also, the playability is really good. You'll catch on as the game goes. However, the lack of tutorials made the game wierd at first, because when you reach level five or something, you get ability points that you can assign to different areas (e.g. stealth). But, I didn't know how to put them on my character.Then my friend told me how.But, it is a great game. Don't miss out on it. Expand
  67. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    This really is a fantastic game, I was lucky enough to pick this up in a Steam sale for around £6 including all the DLC which for such a large game offering so many hours of play is a bargain.

    Graphically the game is beautiful with a unique stylised look to the art, music is quite low key but fits the mood and cranks up when necessary for particular areas and challenges. The
    This really is a fantastic game, I was lucky enough to pick this up in a Steam sale for around £6 including all the DLC which for such a large game offering so many hours of play is a bargain.

    Graphically the game is beautiful with a unique stylised look to the art, music is quite low key but fits the mood and cranks up when necessary for particular areas and challenges.

    The AI isn't super smart and can have a few off moments but overall is challenging, enemy characters will advance and use cover quite effectively in the many firefights I've encountered.

    The hardest and most difficult thing is trying to keep all my fav weapons and items in such a small inventory (though this can be expanded by completing side missions). The randomisation of guns is great, for a while I'll be sniper only picking off targets from afar then will come across a devastating new type of shotgun or SMG and will proceed to rush headfirst into danger in a hail of bullets!

    I wanted to love Fallout 3 as was a massive fan of Oblivion but it just didn't work for me on many levels, Borderlands isn't as deep as Oblivion but is a hell of a lot of fun.
    Expand
  68. May 5, 2011
    8
    I should've gotten this game a long time ago! Diablo 2 and Doom/Quake/Halo (take your pick) went and had a beautiful, beautiful baby. That baby is Borderlands. A few minor elements are irritating at times (why do shields even exist, and why can I snipe better with a sub-machine gun than a sniper rifle?) but overall they have not impacted the game enough to make it completelyI should've gotten this game a long time ago! Diablo 2 and Doom/Quake/Halo (take your pick) went and had a beautiful, beautiful baby. That baby is Borderlands. A few minor elements are irritating at times (why do shields even exist, and why can I snipe better with a sub-machine gun than a sniper rifle?) but overall they have not impacted the game enough to make it completely unenjoyable. The DLC packs are worth it too, though unless you *really* want a small storage bank, skip Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot - it takes all of the irritating elements of the game and lumps them together while giving you handicaps.
    Solo is fun, and co-op is even more fun - having others to watch your back while you fill a boss full of holes creates a camaraderie that can't be beat.
    Expand
  69. May 10, 2011
    9
    The ability to develop a character (RPG style) and continually find better equipment (Diablo style) integrated seamlessly into an FPS made for some of the most fun 200+ hours of gaming I've ever had. They did so much right here in the original game, that I can almost forgive them for the expansion packs which were absolutely horrid (with the sole exception of Knoxx which was great). TheThe ability to develop a character (RPG style) and continually find better equipment (Diablo style) integrated seamlessly into an FPS made for some of the most fun 200+ hours of gaming I've ever had. They did so much right here in the original game, that I can almost forgive them for the expansion packs which were absolutely horrid (with the sole exception of Knoxx which was great). The scripting was hilarious and the premise of the game incredibly enjoyable, though fishing porn mags out of dumpsters and other lame-o missions may have needed some polishing. I was constantly questing to get new and better equipment and kept finding myself coming back to the game for more, long after I'd beaten it more times than I'd care to admit. Now for the bad news: I have two major issues with the game. First, the class balancing needed some major tweaking, and the enemy AI was never more than a minor challenge. I understand that it was meant to be more "arcade style," but the game offered almost no resistance as I blazed my way through the artistically stylish campaign. I loved the integration of coop (when the server worked properly) and enjoyed the game immensely, but it was just a tiny step away from a classic. Can't wait for Borderlands 2! Expand
  70. May 12, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is an amazingly-unique game. There have been many FPS games that use RPG elements (Mass Effect), but this one has been noticed mainly for it's cartoony art style, millions of randomized weapons, and great Co-op. The classes in the game are what you may expect from an RPG: An ex-soldier with a sentry gun/shield; a "Siren" who can warp between dimensions; a "Brick" characterBorderlands is an amazingly-unique game. There have been many FPS games that use RPG elements (Mass Effect), but this one has been noticed mainly for it's cartoony art style, millions of randomized weapons, and great Co-op. The classes in the game are what you may expect from an RPG: An ex-soldier with a sentry gun/shield; a "Siren" who can warp between dimensions; a "Brick" character (a.k.a. a "Tank"-type) with a knack for punching things; and a sniper with a pet bat/hawk thing. The story is rather clichéd but the characters are rather varied. But, then there's ClapTrap: One of the most annoying characters EVER. You might think he's funny at first, but his lines and actions get repetitive and annoying. However, the voice acting for all the other characters are pretty good and the sound is great, from fast-paced firefight BGM to the opening theme "Ain't No Rest For the Wicked" by Cage the Elephant. The leveling system is nice but some of the "abilities" you get aren't very noticeable. Also, while some quests are enjoyable (like driving a car over a canyon), most of them get boring and repetitive. But, get together with a few friends and this will be one of the best Co-op shooters you'll ever play. Expand
  71. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    I've had more fun playing this game than I have any other FPS style game ever. The humor is campy which I love and the cell shader art is excellent. It also has some of the best music I've heard in a game and it fits the style perfectly. The DLC's are great too! The Zombie Island DLC dialog is genius and made me burst out laughing several times. Borderlands 2 is out soon and I hope it canI've had more fun playing this game than I have any other FPS style game ever. The humor is campy which I love and the cell shader art is excellent. It also has some of the best music I've heard in a game and it fits the style perfectly. The DLC's are great too! The Zombie Island DLC dialog is genius and made me burst out laughing several times. Borderlands 2 is out soon and I hope it can live up to its little brother's fun factor. Whoever said this game is like FPS Diablo with guns hit the nail on the head. Good times! Expand
  72. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This is a great game with an Art style that may at first seem strange but it really adds detail to the whole thing. The enemies consist mostly of Bandits, Psychos and Skags which are great to look at let alone fight, They have some funny one liners and some great and cinematic deaths when set a flame or shocked. The boss fights do come quite rare but are fantastic, They are colourful andThis is a great game with an Art style that may at first seem strange but it really adds detail to the whole thing. The enemies consist mostly of Bandits, Psychos and Skags which are great to look at let alone fight, They have some funny one liners and some great and cinematic deaths when set a flame or shocked. The boss fights do come quite rare but are fantastic, They are colourful and full of life and do require a bit of a set-up too get to them and while some of the quests seem a little repetitive, They soon pick up and you'll find yourself in car boosting over fantastic jumps and squishing enemies under your tyres. But Multilayer is where it really hits off. The classes combine together great (Berserker is just running in and taking off heads in close combat while solider is a more strategy styled game play) Although I was quite bored and lonely when I played single player as there isn't really anyone to talk too and your stuck in a barren wasteland. So not recommended for lone wolves or people unable to play online. Summary: A great FPS with a Great mixture of RPG magic, Grab a team-mate. Grab one of the Billions of guns, and face the madness! Expand
  73. May 10, 2012
    9
    Yes, it's flawed - The AI is terrible, the fetch quests can be dull, etc. But the charm, backdrop, story, and undeniable fun of looting and shooting make this a great entry into the shooter genre. The depth of the characters you'll encounter alone make this game fun enough to play.
  74. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    What a nice surprise! I waited for this one to go on sale, but I shouldn't have. This one is definitely a diamond in the rough. If you like FPS combined with elements of RPG (character development). Here's why I liked Borderlands so much:
    - great graphics that appears to look like a hand-drawn comic book - it's not your typical FPS which tries to mimic reality. You're on a totally
    What a nice surprise! I waited for this one to go on sale, but I shouldn't have. This one is definitely a diamond in the rough. If you like FPS combined with elements of RPG (character development). Here's why I liked Borderlands so much:
    - great graphics that appears to look like a hand-drawn comic book - it's not your typical FPS which tries to mimic reality. You're on a totally different planet anyway.
    - well balanced character development system
    - amazing DLC add-on packages
    I did not give it 10 because you need to register account with GameSpy to start playing multiplayer.
    Beware! This game is highly addictive!
    Expand
  75. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    I loved the blend of RPG and FPS elements in this game. The storylines are pretty decent, and the expansions give a lot of quality gameplay. The end could've been so much better though, it was really disappointing. After winning the game, I really didn't feel like I'd accomplished anything; not to mention the fight was all too straightforward. I played through on solo and multiplayer, andI loved the blend of RPG and FPS elements in this game. The storylines are pretty decent, and the expansions give a lot of quality gameplay. The end could've been so much better though, it was really disappointing. After winning the game, I really didn't feel like I'd accomplished anything; not to mention the fight was all too straightforward. I played through on solo and multiplayer, and I can definitely say that if you're going to get this game, get a friend to join you. As for the bits about the guns, all I can say is that they're randomly generated, so get used to the idea of some weird combinations. By the end of my game, I had a sniper that thought it was a shotgun, a shotgun that thought it was an SMG and a pistol that thought it was a sniper. Didn't bother me at all! Expand
  76. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    I almost didn't buy this game, and what a mistake that would have been! The trailers and screen shots don't do it justice. Never mind for now about the look of the game or any of the details. Bottom line: this game is FUN! You can play it for hours or just pop in for 10 minutes. How you play it, how long you play it, where you go... it's all under your control. And it's not just fun, it'sI almost didn't buy this game, and what a mistake that would have been! The trailers and screen shots don't do it justice. Never mind for now about the look of the game or any of the details. Bottom line: this game is FUN! You can play it for hours or just pop in for 10 minutes. How you play it, how long you play it, where you go... it's all under your control. And it's not just fun, it's also funny. You can try not to laugh, but they'll eventually throw something at you that will crack you up. It's been said many times, but one of the great things about this game is the almost infinite selection of gear. You often have to pick between two very similar items that trade off one advantage for another, but often enough to keep you interested, you come across that item that outshines everything in its class and you go, "Oh, yeah, baby! You're all mine!" The world is so rich in loot that you're guaranteed to run out of inventory space and shed a tear as you leave behind a shiny new Vladoff that you could have sold for a small fortune. I usually hate cartoonish games. Except for masterpieces like Machinarium, I find that they detract from the atmosphere of the game. But Borderlands got the semi-cartoonish look so right that it feels like living inside a comic book. If you get this game -- and great Scott! why wouldn't you? -- do get the DLCs also. "The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned" DLC turns this into an awesome and bizarre zombie shooter that easily doubles the value of the game all by itself. I'm probably not the first to say this, but graphics aside, Borderlands is what I had hoped that Rage would be like. Expand
  77. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Fun with friends, boring alone. There's technical issues here and there, don't mind the graphics, but overall it's a nice time sink waiting for Skyrim.
  78. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    I really enjoy this game and I've played so many hours of it but it's ruined once you get t0 around level 45 or so because the enemies do so much damage that you have no choice but to hid and pop out and shoot them, then wait for your shield to recharge. It ruins the fun of the game at the end which makes it not fun to play at the end of the second play through and subsequent DLC.
  79. May 13, 2016
    10
    Why would anyone give it a lower score?
    There really is no other game like it unless you are talking about it's sequels.
    Highly polished game, thoroughly enjoyable, tonnes of loot, great gun play, excellent design and well made.
    10/10 would bang again.
  80. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    You play this game in 1st person, but its truelly an RPG and feels that way. Play as one of the four classes available, Really recommended to play co-op with your friends.
    Visually this game looks really artistic with all the hand painted textures, the enemies all fit right in and overal it kinda feels like a comic book (in a GOOD way).
    Cause of the random weapon generation system
    You play this game in 1st person, but its truelly an RPG and feels that way. Play as one of the four classes available, Really recommended to play co-op with your friends.
    Visually this game looks really artistic with all the hand painted textures, the enemies all fit right in and overal it kinda feels like a comic book (in a GOOD way).
    Cause of the random weapon generation system litterally thousands type of guns can drop.
    The quest require you to do all kinds of stuff for lazy ass questgivers like any RPG.
    Fun enemies, fun quests, great graphics, awesome world.
    Must have if you enjoy co-op RPG's
    I would go with a 10 if it wasnt for some pesky console remnants
    Expand
  81. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    love this game. enormous world, endless play-ability, tons of enemies, an infinite amount of guns, (no joke, the game uses a script to randomly generate guns with different specs) plenty of hilarity and bad humor to go around, and quite the frontier game for going with the cartoon-y graphics. i have a copy of this game on my PS3 and the PC, and it is beyond amazing, i have yet to finishlove this game. enormous world, endless play-ability, tons of enemies, an infinite amount of guns, (no joke, the game uses a script to randomly generate guns with different specs) plenty of hilarity and bad humor to go around, and quite the frontier game for going with the cartoon-y graphics. i have a copy of this game on my PS3 and the PC, and it is beyond amazing, i have yet to finish every DLC and every side mission with a single character, although i have played parts of it with different characters here and there. the class customization and variety are plentiful, and if you buy this game, you are bound to NOT be bored by it's repetition, because it contains none. Expand
  82. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    One of the most fun games I have ever played. Can't wait for Borderlands2. The Multiplayer aspect is incredible. About 15 of my friends bought this game on a Steam Sale...played it for months. Lots of different ways to play the game...tech trees, classes etc.

    This game is all about intese battles....bullets, blood, and lots of it. The only time that I didn't like the game was when
    One of the most fun games I have ever played. Can't wait for Borderlands2. The Multiplayer aspect is incredible. About 15 of my friends bought this game on a Steam Sale...played it for months. Lots of different ways to play the game...tech trees, classes etc.

    This game is all about intese battles....bullets, blood, and lots of it.

    The only time that I didn't like the game was when someone would join your game with a character much higher level than yours and would go around killing all the enemies on you...or if you were playing with someone who would run ahead of you (easy to do with Beserker/Siren) and steal all the loot. The quality of this game is unsheathed by the quality of people that you play with.

    A must buy. A "wish I had bought the game the day it came out" game.
    Expand
  83. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    I really enjoyed this game. The characters were so different from each other, you could play each of them and it would create a completely different experience. Yes, the game play is grindy. But for a game based on the premise of you being a mercenary searching for treasure on an alien planet that was sparsely inhabited, what more do you expect? Still, the missions require more thanI really enjoyed this game. The characters were so different from each other, you could play each of them and it would create a completely different experience. Yes, the game play is grindy. But for a game based on the premise of you being a mercenary searching for treasure on an alien planet that was sparsely inhabited, what more do you expect? Still, the missions require more than standing around shooting at things and the frenzy at which they throw things at you in different ways require that you change things up or die. Also, the weapons create a different play style based on who you are playing and what you find. If you find a gun that is really accurate and has a really high firing rate, it completely changes what skills you put your points into and how you play as opposed to finding a power house that blows people away but takes a long time between shots. The game is very good and the DLCs are fun. Playing co-op is the way to go in this game! Expand
  84. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    Damn epic Mix of RPG, FPS and a true open World where you can do anything. (Open World is like that of Elder Scrolls and Fallout). Only annoying aspect is when your try and play with your friends online, once in a blue moon the game disconnects you and when you restart a online game it is in at the nearest station that you used not the zone where you ended. But over all a VERY SOLID GAME.Damn epic Mix of RPG, FPS and a true open World where you can do anything. (Open World is like that of Elder Scrolls and Fallout). Only annoying aspect is when your try and play with your friends online, once in a blue moon the game disconnects you and when you restart a online game it is in at the nearest station that you used not the zone where you ended. But over all a VERY SOLID GAME. P.S. has a damn good story as well. Expand
  85. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Amazing cartoon game style, one of my best purchase, co-op system to up to 4 players a lot of weapons and enemy to kill, some extreme vehicles which you will love to drive around the giant maps of the game while playing with a friend, lots of achievements and a nice stories, plus DLC's which add a lot of new content, looking forward to Borderlands 2.
  86. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    This first person shoot-n-loot ARPG brims with a charm and humor that are complimented by an engaging combative exploration experience and hindered only by an unfortunately flawed PC port and multiplayer connectivity issues.
  87. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    I don't know what so special about this game. I just feel this game is fun. I have all four characters got to maximum lvl. I enjoyed playing it. Worth playing!
  88. May 15, 2014
    10
    Claptrap is the name of the robot you meet in the game if his name doesn't get you to play this amazing game with insanely beautiful graphics and comical back and forth between the characters then I don't know what will.
  89. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite games to play with a group of friends. There’s enough unique loot to keep you going from start to finish and the comic book/cartoon visual style with it's hand drawn textures looks amazing. The plot isn't great, but it doesn't take away from the experience since all I ever wanted to do was run around and shoot things anyway. Plus, even the DLC is worthwhileThis is one of my favorite games to play with a group of friends. There’s enough unique loot to keep you going from start to finish and the comic book/cartoon visual style with it's hand drawn textures looks amazing. The plot isn't great, but it doesn't take away from the experience since all I ever wanted to do was run around and shoot things anyway. Plus, even the DLC is worthwhile (aside from General Knoxx’s Armory and, to a lesser extent, Moxxi’s Arena). Definitely worth looking into if you don’t already have it! Expand
  90. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    This is a fun game, until about 3/4 of the way through then it gets repetitive, Then weapons vending machine/store does not give very good weapons. The charterers are unbalanced and in multi-player you can really see the differences. Playing in Co-op makes the game more challenging and I like that other than the characters unbalance issues. The best thing about this is that Borderlands 2This is a fun game, until about 3/4 of the way through then it gets repetitive, Then weapons vending machine/store does not give very good weapons. The charterers are unbalanced and in multi-player you can really see the differences. Playing in Co-op makes the game more challenging and I like that other than the characters unbalance issues. The best thing about this is that Borderlands 2 seems to have addressed these issues. Expand
  91. Nov 26, 2016
    10
    The game that started it all, this game is not as big or as good as borderlands 2, but it's still Borderlands and it's still great after so many years, especially if you play with friends.
    If you want to have some wild coop fun and visit Pandora again or for the first time, borderlands 1 is a great game to play.
    Features: Tons of weapons, Lots of crazed bandits, Boss fights, Alien
    The game that started it all, this game is not as big or as good as borderlands 2, but it's still Borderlands and it's still great after so many years, especially if you play with friends.
    If you want to have some wild coop fun and visit Pandora again or for the first time, borderlands 1 is a great game to play.
    Features:
    Tons of weapons,
    Lots of crazed bandits,
    Boss fights,
    Alien creatures,
    The legend of an alien chamber ,
    Irreverent humor as always.
    At a great price now, it will quench your borderlands thirst until BL3 comes out ;)
    Always borderlands, always the best!
    Expand
  92. Mar 3, 2017
    8
    It's really nice game, combining FPS and RPG was a good idea, it's not ideal but for the first time it's enough. The world is beautiful, when you walk across the map you just stop from time to time to just look and enjoy amazing views. After all the story is not the best, the DLC's are much better. What I don't like is really weak bosses, they have simple mechanics and easy to defeat. IIt's really nice game, combining FPS and RPG was a good idea, it's not ideal but for the first time it's enough. The world is beautiful, when you walk across the map you just stop from time to time to just look and enjoy amazing views. After all the story is not the best, the DLC's are much better. What I don't like is really weak bosses, they have simple mechanics and easy to defeat. I recommend this game, I enjoyed it trought whole gameplay. Expand
  93. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    I thought that this game will be mediocre based on reviews that I have read.I was wrong.This game is perfect.Too much fun.The only negative that I could find is that the scenario could be better but in this game you just don't care.Keep shooting and looting brothers!
  94. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    I played this game way after it came out, so being able to talk about the online play will be nearly impossible. However I do find that the single player was done just right. If you hate RPG games that make you do grind quests or random tasks, then this might not be the game for you. Another problem is the plot, I guess that I was partially enthused with the Idea of finding "The Vault"I played this game way after it came out, so being able to talk about the online play will be nearly impossible. However I do find that the single player was done just right. If you hate RPG games that make you do grind quests or random tasks, then this might not be the game for you. Another problem is the plot, I guess that I was partially enthused with the Idea of finding "The Vault" This mysterious treasure trove of weapons, however I stopped to think to my self "What would I do with all those guns" so at that point the story went out the window. However the bread and butter of this game is the guns and the game play. It is a wonderfully stylized FPS with a large load of RPG elements placed in it. The hordes of weapons you collect, buy, sell, drop, and keep are all really interesting. When you find a weapon that has a better fire rate, is more powerful, and is more accurate it really feels like a victory. And constantly finding weapons and checking and comparing states had me excited about this game. After I beat the game I was hungry for more so I bought the DLC for it, I can't wait to play them. Overall I find that Borderlands is a very fun game and is worth a purchase. Expand
  95. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    The best multiplayer Co-Op game ever made, period. Nothing comes close (except for Borderlands 2). If u want to have an LAN party or sit on a sofa with a buddy, if you long to play a game with your friend on his team rather than against random jerks online, then this is the game for you.
  96. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    An incredible game. Satisfying kills, a plethora of guns, enjoyable levelling, an interesting open world with non-grindy quests.

    This is a game you could spend hours and hours playing and still want to play more. Even in 2014 it doesn't feel dated.
  97. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    It looks like a douchey "shoot everything" game, but it's actually one of my favorite games. There is some hilarious dialogue, super fun missions, leveling up is really awesome, and playing with a friend is the best. The only reason I didn't give it a ten is because some of the special abilities weren't all that useful (such as the siren phasewalk), and also because I recently startedIt looks like a douchey "shoot everything" game, but it's actually one of my favorite games. There is some hilarious dialogue, super fun missions, leveling up is really awesome, and playing with a friend is the best. The only reason I didn't give it a ten is because some of the special abilities weren't all that useful (such as the siren phasewalk), and also because I recently started playing the second one and realized how much better it is. Still, give this game a chance, it won't let you down. Unless you've already played the second one, haha. Expand
  98. Oct 8, 2015
    8
    Borderlands is funny, weird, kind of repetitive, sometimes even frustrating. However, when you get used to the game's messy outer layer, it's not so bad after all.
  99. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Unique game. Lots of innovation in the game play and graphics. It is not heavy for the PC.
    Story line is funny, attractive and not short.
    Totally recommended.
  100. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closerThis game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.