Borderlands PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1395 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DesmondL
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    Good game, but not that very enjoying to play. The game is lack of storyline and the graphics is not that great. The co-op multilayer is kinda "cheating" to me, you can just use weak level to join higher level player, you only just wait the experience level from the higher level. I love the combination of FPS and RPG, but I think it not that enjoy to play.
  2. Jonathan
    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    Here's the low down on the good, the bad and the ugly of borderlands for pc. The Good: -Lots of weapons many used in different scenerios -fairly easy to follow questline with side quests -the action is fast paced and set in sections -the rpg and fps are fairly well mixed with the fps taking priority and rpg added in -the graphics are great and with some bosses to fight lots of fun Here's the low down on the good, the bad and the ugly of borderlands for pc. The Good: -Lots of weapons many used in different scenerios -fairly easy to follow questline with side quests -the action is fast paced and set in sections -the rpg and fps are fairly well mixed with the fps taking priority and rpg added in -the graphics are great and with some bosses to fight lots of fun -co-op is challenging and well based the bad -getting into games for co-op is hard -the requirements to run the game let alone server make the online version very choppy unless you got the best of the best to host the game -poor item add in(if you have a new gun you don't know how it really compares to your last gun or bomb mod or class mod due to no stats change in the game) - multipule problems with the game in many spots such as connecting, some quest pointers, menus are hard to use) the Ugly This game is alot of fun if the cards fall right for you but horrible if they don't. first person isn't as fun as co-op so beware. Expand
  3. LeahR
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    Borderlands is a surprisingly good arcadey FPS with a mediocre RPG element, in contrast to a game like Mass Effect, which is a great RPG with a mediocre FPS element. As a single-player game, it's reasonably entertaining, if repetitive, during the first run-through, but the game truly shines in co-op mode. Points taken off for some major design flaws (revolvers are better for sniping Borderlands is a surprisingly good arcadey FPS with a mediocre RPG element, in contrast to a game like Mass Effect, which is a great RPG with a mediocre FPS element. As a single-player game, it's reasonably entertaining, if repetitive, during the first run-through, but the game truly shines in co-op mode. Points taken off for some major design flaws (revolvers are better for sniping than sniper rifles...huh?; the special abilities of two classes are extremely useful, while the other two are mostly useless; repetitive quests and enemies; etc.), but the slick art direction, tight FPS gameplay, ridiculous diversity of loot, and the murderous mayhem of playing co-op push this title up to a respectable score. More, please, Gearbox! Expand
  4. Kelu
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good direction), incredibly fun 4 players co-op, satisfying level-ups and... style. Borderlands is not perfect, but I think of it as a gaming milestone and instant classic that I'll cherish in the years to come. Expand
  5. FrankZ
    Nov 7, 2009
    1
    PC review Boringland the game is advertised as a mutiplyare RPG. as it is now it's not. the multiplayer takes allot of work to make it playable. if your hooked up to a router (which just about every PC is now) you will need to know how to forward ports to be able to join a game and even then many games will be un-joinable and friends my not be able to join a game you host. on top of PC review Boringland the game is advertised as a mutiplyare RPG. as it is now it's not. the multiplayer takes allot of work to make it playable. if your hooked up to a router (which just about every PC is now) you will need to know how to forward ports to be able to join a game and even then many games will be un-joinable and friends my not be able to join a game you host. on top of the that the gameplay is very linear there is no build up or excitement to be had anywhere in this game . overall it's very very boring and add to that some bad level design where you can get stuck allot and have to restart because there is no save system other than auto save there are allot of bug with character lose . so yo might play for 20+ hours and lose you character at some point which is not fun. overall though the frustration of dealing with the software problems and player mechanics problems you realize your not having any fun playing the game itself . it's extremely repetitive and no NPC charterers you meet ingame are worth remembering . overall it's Boring-land Expand
  6. Dave
    Oct 26, 2009
    2
    Art style is unique and fun. That's about it. Gameplay is boring. The FOV is too narrow and makes me nauseous. The co-op aspect of the game is broken and bulky. The only way this game is going to survive the test of time is through Hamachi. I don't feel satisfied with what I got for the amount of money I shelled out.
  7. RomanZ
    Oct 27, 2009
    1
    Played the PC version and it is a horrible, horrible, horrible console port. Game is EXTREMELY repetitive, has annoying tutorials you cannot turn off and awful multiplayer system. Do not buy this game for the PC.
  8. SlamU
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    I have clocked over 300 hours on this game so far. It is by far the best game i have played in a long long time. There truly is a bazillion guns and that is a bazillion different ways to frag things.
  9. DarthVadar!
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end with no sight of anybody(pretty creepy). This game also has the quest system of STALKER and Fallout 3, where you can take any mission any time, anywhere. What makes this game great for casual players is that you can pretty much just jump in because missions are straightforward with no complexity, which is of course good and bad. The good is that you won't get confused with what to do, and the bad is that the storyline is not very in depth. The only reason I give this a 9 and not a 10 is because of the somewhat frail srotyline. Other than that, i'd say the graphics are very unique, something you don't see often(or at all), gameplay is pretty addicting because the enemies pretty much get stronger as you level up meaning there will not be a moment where your enemies are no match for you.I''d say this game is glitchless as far as I see, but that might not be true for someone else. I have to say my FRS is really good on this game(around 40-50), and it does not crash on my computer. I run this game from steam with a nvidia GTX275 and a 2.4 duo CPU(it's overcloaked, the real CPU is 3.08 duo) and 6GB of memory. I said this so in case anybody is wondering what systems will support Borderlands well(these 3 parts are probably enough info I don't think I need to tell you my motherboard or power supply etc.) Expand
  10. kevinl
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    this game is so awsome the graphic the system and the FPSRPG thing is so AWSOME
  11. BobbyB
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Love it. Slower paced than I expected but that adds to the fun as it creates a certain tension. Guns, guns, and mo guns are a blast!
  12. SteveJ
    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    This is strictly a multiplayer game. The single player is horrible due to character balance issues and plain boredom because it is so repetitive. There are also a number of bugs including dynamic shadows being incorrectly implemented so you have to turn it off. This is a bad port from console to pc, and you can tell they did not put much effort into the pc version.
  13. mrt
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    amazing game very fun, its very fun to blow everything you see to the sky
  14. GregB
    Jan 4, 2010
    6
    A great concept but poorly executed. The numerous guns they boasted are only there because of a randomized stat generator, every mission is a gather this, kill this, find this mission, and while the level up system looked promising, it ended up bland and unoriginal. It has some character in the comical way characters react and speak, but they are all cardboard cutouts; not reacting when A great concept but poorly executed. The numerous guns they boasted are only there because of a randomized stat generator, every mission is a gather this, kill this, find this mission, and while the level up system looked promising, it ended up bland and unoriginal. It has some character in the comical way characters react and speak, but they are all cardboard cutouts; not reacting when you shoot them, not responding to events around them, and only having 1-2 lines before repeating what they said. I played through about level 30 before becoming absolutely bored of the grind-ish feel to the game so I tried some multiplayer. While I expected greatness, it ended up feeling the exact same, except, with another human present. Maybe if you had four very good friends playing and you all made jokes and fooled around it would be fun, but that isn't really relevant to the game. You can do that with any game. While it looked promising, it failed to deliver the FPS/RPG I had been waiting for due to oversimplification of the RPG elements and a general grindfest feel to the FPS. Expand
  15. MiscHief
    Jan 4, 2010
    5
    It really does have great potential, and it's fun killing stuff with friends for a while, but it's main shortcoming is how it is aimed for the console market, sloppy ported to PC for some extra cash. It is far too easy (to make it playable for someone playing on console with a gamepad I guess) I ran straight through the entire game and was like "...what ...this is it?" The story It really does have great potential, and it's fun killing stuff with friends for a while, but it's main shortcoming is how it is aimed for the console market, sloppy ported to PC for some extra cash. It is far too easy (to make it playable for someone playing on console with a gamepad I guess) I ran straight through the entire game and was like "...what ...this is it?" The story sucks - it completely fails to draw you in, repetitive missions. Also that its full of cheaters that run around with haxed huge inventories swiping all the loot if you host and allow people to join your game, again due to it being a poor console port, what was this "optimizing for PC" about again? I am sick of good games being ruined because every developer wants to milk money out of the console market and see PC as a secondary platform just for extra cash, and although I really enjoyed this game for a little while, I don't think It was worth the money I forked out for it, and I will think twice before buying from Gearbox again. But as I said it's not something new, a lot of developers are following this trend now, and the true good pc titles seem to be more and more rare. Expand
  16. BrandonL
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems and connecting with others was easy enough to be done in seconds. Expand
  17. DaveS
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a discerning gamer! DK. Expand
  18. Praxisq
    Jan 7, 2010
    8
    Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a distance. This game is a good game, the mechanic works great, its solid, its the grind though not so hard of a grind to lvl up. looking at the base or core of the game i see there are many directions they could have taken. why they decided on this exact end model of the game suggest t me they seek to set them selves apart with origionality..yes these mechanics have always been in games..but when was the last time you have seen them. esapecially executed properly. i dig it..good game for multiple players 4 player co-op is fun. i would not however recomend this for a single player experience. i gave it a rating of 8.. but i want to give it out of a 100 score so..its an 88/100 and a nice game containing throwback drop system for the old school grinder gamers. Expand
  19. LiasM
    Apr 12, 2010
    8
    Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more work, but it still is a fun ride. Expand
  20. dxemonj
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    My gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurtMy gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurt a lot of peoples' opinion of the game. i hope this franchise lasts a long time and that they fix the only real fault i see which is multiplayer online connectivity. Expand
  21. JohnP
    Apr 16, 2010
    7
    Great game, for me it would be perfect if they change one thing or another, like: -Every character has only one skill, the other skills are ALL passive, but I can live with that. -The way the storyline is told, I mean you have to "click" on the npc and a window shows up with a mission and the "story", if you're in a multiplayer you're more likely play without reading anything Great game, for me it would be perfect if they change one thing or another, like: -Every character has only one skill, the other skills are ALL passive, but I can live with that. -The way the storyline is told, I mean you have to "click" on the npc and a window shows up with a mission and the "story", if you're in a multiplayer you're more likely play without reading anything that npcs says, would be better if all of them talks to you like the Guardian Angel. -Better Quests, would be nice too. -And dedicated servers maybe? Expand
  22. DallasR
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    10 Might seem like too high a rating for any game. However this is the first game in a while that really makes me want to keep playing it, even though some of the levels seem a bit repetitive. It's just good ole fashion gaming fun done really cool!!
  23. DougC
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash bug and a fairly limited variety of enemies. Expand
  24. Fidel
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, roughly 25 hours worth, and that was litteraly every quest you could do. Kind of a shame, but other than that there is nothing wrong with the game. Great Job! Expand
  25. RadleyS
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game that introduces completely new game play aspects even in late game. The first grenade mod I got (Explosive MIRV), I threw it at the ground to see what exactly it did. A cluster grenade?! Why don't other games have cluster grenades!! It's great that a game finally understands you can make a cooler weapon by not just making it more powerful, but making it shoot differently. My level 45 Siren has a super fast SMG that can unload the full 80 rounds in just under 3 seconds, and in the next slot a fairly accurate explosive SMG with 4.5x zoom! However, the entire game was not all full of joy. It upset me that character skills were all passive but the action skill - which makes sense for a console game (sigh...). I picked the Siren because she looked like a caster. Elemental weapons are kind of like spells... But I would appreciate a skill where my bullets could do a chain-lightning effects. Playing as the siren, most abilities don't exactly make sense. Damaging enemies while stealthed, not so useful... Dazing enemies isn't effective in a "hack and slash" type of game. The melee wasn't satisfying. It was sad that there were no melee weapons but the bladed pistols, which had an absurdly slow attack speed. I was also upset that there was only one vehicle - but the small amount of customization was still nice to have. I hope that the next in the series will be more PC-based. I would love to have a Skag or Sythid as a pet, or add a plow to my vehicle to reduce damage taken from explosive enemies... I hope there are more random weapons with special effects like T.K.'s Wave. - a shotgun which shoots blue bullets in a wave-like effect (Fun, but not practical - which is fine!). I still plan to do a few more playthroughs with this game to get the full experience, but I have very high hopes for Borderlands 2. I just need to keep my fingers crossed for the next few years. Expand
  26. JayJay
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    Brilliant game! Very enjoyable, lots of memorable moments, loads of guns to choose from (maybe too many variations lol), varied missions (unlike Far Cry 2 *yawn*), great graphics (maybe a little to much cell shading), good voice acting and music, very hard bosses unless you know how to take them down with ease, or know the position to stay in where it confuses the AI. What could be Brilliant game! Very enjoyable, lots of memorable moments, loads of guns to choose from (maybe too many variations lol), varied missions (unlike Far Cry 2 *yawn*), great graphics (maybe a little to much cell shading), good voice acting and music, very hard bosses unless you know how to take them down with ease, or know the position to stay in where it confuses the AI. What could be improved is the Map system, sometimes its hard to navigate and you are constantly opening the map. There is no onscreen map which is a shame, and the Map is missing labels, so its easy to get lost or confused. Plus the Mission listing doesn't tell you where the mission is, or where the mission-giver is located. Gun names and categories and color coding can get confusing, it can be tedious when you are selling guns.. it takes a long time to determine which guns to keep and which gun to sell. You should be able to auto-pickup items on the ground (except for guns), rather than spend ages manually filtering the things you pickup. The Console->PC port is actually ok! Its hard to fault except for one or two little mouse glitches in the menu. Being open ended (but not sandboxed unfortunately - there are plenty of load points but load times are short at about 10-15 seconds), you can choose your own adventure and toughen up before entering a boss area, and wander off searching for better guns and shields. Sometimes it takes forever to kill some enemies, even if you have powerful guns. I found myself shooting some enemies with 100 powerful SMG fire-element bullets in the head and they still had 50% energy (this is in Playthrough2 through). And some bosses literally take half an hour and 1000+ bullets to kill. Overall its an enjoyable polished game that can be challenging at times and has 30 hours+ gameplay. I think most people will like this game since there is almost always action, unlike FallOut3 where you could walk for 10 minutes and literally do nothing but walk. Expand
  27. JonnyG
    Dec 1, 2009
    8
    I rarely finish games, but I had to play this one through to the end. The gameplay is smooth - never once had any issues. The enviornments lack some diversity, and the ending was anticlimactic, but overall it was an excellent game.
  28. Nut
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    This game has internet check. I have to crack my own legal copy. Idiots. How are you going to play this 10 years from now? These checks ain't going to affect piracy but they will affect every legal customer. It's annoying enough that games have dvd checks. Ain't going to buy anything with internet checks ever again.
  29. OrenI
    Oct 26, 2009
    0
    I would rather take off my pants and have Saddam Hussein cut my penis off than play another second of this game. I DID NOT USE ALL CAPS!
  30. tak
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    just awsome any one with probs just needs to fix there computer . only minor prob is co-op online but easly fixed
  31. NateS
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    It's a great game, graphically, gameplay, but i shaved 8 marks off mainly because the game is advertised as a co-op game, yet connecting to online games turned out to be a pain in the butt. The one week delay to optimize the PC version turned out to be a big sack of lies. Nothing was optimized for PC. This game is a console port. 90% of the in game menus are NOT mouse supported. For It's a great game, graphically, gameplay, but i shaved 8 marks off mainly because the game is advertised as a co-op game, yet connecting to online games turned out to be a pain in the butt. The one week delay to optimize the PC version turned out to be a big sack of lies. Nothing was optimized for PC. This game is a console port. 90% of the in game menus are NOT mouse supported. For example, if you get into an online game, you can't kick some from clicking their name, you have to use arrow keys and select them. The online backbone of the game is even more crappier. Of all online gaming infrastructures Gearbox decided to use Gamespy... I pretty sure a lot of FPS gamers moved away from Gamespy back in 1998. So in the end if you want a Online CO-OP game. Do Not Buy this game, it's not a co-op game if you have a hard time connecting to other players. Probably better off purchasing Left 4 Dead 2. Gearbox Software is only good at bring PC ports to consoles, NOT the other way around. Save your money, this game is not worth it. Gearbox only released this game on PC to make some quick cash. They haven't even acknowledge on there official forums that there are a lot of problems. Sure they're could be fixing it, but easing your customers minds goes a long way. Once again DO NOT BUY! Unless you are only going to play single player mostly. Expand
  32. GraydonA
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    A good RPG/FPS hybrid that is fun to play and has an awesome art style. Playing co-op with friends online is fun, and collecting loot is a blast. It doesn't deserve a perfect score either as there are a few small bugs that keep it from a 10.
  33. SteveA
    Dec 9, 2009
    8
    Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I think that it's overshadowed by the good concept and a utopian-like setting and interesting missions. Some would criticise the missions to be a bit too repetitive but each one has its own challenges and therefore proves to be different to the others. It's definitely worth buying for the PC, though if you're in Australia you might have to get some friends together for multiplayer action since the closest multiplayer peers are in China, which provides for very laggy gameplay Expand
  34. Brad
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    I honestly love the game. Despite people saying the Solo playing is boring, it is just as rewarding as Multiplayer. The artwork is very unique, and grabs your attention at certain scenes. Also, they sure as heck were not lying about a million bazilion guns...ok, maybe a little bit, but there are more guns then you could ever hope for. The FPS is set pretty well, although I have I honestly love the game. Despite people saying the Solo playing is boring, it is just as rewarding as Multiplayer. The artwork is very unique, and grabs your attention at certain scenes. Also, they sure as heck were not lying about a million bazilion guns...ok, maybe a little bit, but there are more guns then you could ever hope for. The FPS is set pretty well, although I have experienced it being a bit weird attempting to get head shots, but other than that its fine. The RPG element in Borderlands is quite effective, with many of the guns perks or traits making almost each gun you find unique in its own way, and that you can give "Mods" to your grenades, making them instantly teleport to their target (Longbow Mod), and even offering "Class Mods", so you gain a title under your experience bar (AN example would be for Mordecai: Gunslinger) that improves your style of play with that character. The nice thing about the quests in Borderlands is that its not the type of grind you would actually think of it to be. Often times, you get to explore areas of the map you typically don't visit, and fine some nice loot to make your character even stronger. Overall, the negatives in this game are greatly overshadowed by the immense amount of fun you will be having playing this, and the game will be worth every single penny you invested in. Expand
  35. Ted
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Absolutely superb game. My major gripes are that they delayed the release on PC a week? I actually went into the shop and they told me they had neglected PCs... AGAIN (seems a reocurring theme for devs these days) So I Pirated it! Yes I downloaded it for a week, and it even worked for co-op. However It is SO good I still bought it when they released it. It is clearly a console port which Absolutely superb game. My major gripes are that they delayed the release on PC a week? I actually went into the shop and they told me they had neglected PCs... AGAIN (seems a reocurring theme for devs these days) So I Pirated it! Yes I downloaded it for a week, and it even worked for co-op. However It is SO good I still bought it when they released it. It is clearly a console port which annoys me, but I can't fault the actual game. There are a few exploits I found to farm guns and experience and to make bosses easier, But all that goes out the window when you reach the credits... 2nd playthrough, They didn't just increase the mobs damage, they actually replaced earlier mobs with later ones to get a better continuous feel. I hope they patch the bugs and make co-op better (do away with gamespy?) Expand
  36. pipelinecache
    Oct 30, 2009
    7
    Borderland is a fun but simple first person shooter. It's quite clear that Gearbox had the consoles in mind and didn't spend too much time on the PC version. The coop mode is fun to play with friends but any public hosted game will turn into a ninja loot chaos party as there's no such thing as round robin looting. You can of course play it offline in a single player mode Borderland is a fun but simple first person shooter. It's quite clear that Gearbox had the consoles in mind and didn't spend too much time on the PC version. The coop mode is fun to play with friends but any public hosted game will turn into a ninja loot chaos party as there's no such thing as round robin looting. You can of course play it offline in a single player mode but if that keeps you glued to your keyboard for long compared to the other FPS out there. Expand
  37. AndrewA
    Oct 30, 2009
    8
    The coop fps/rpg of the game is very fun with friends. The random gun drops system is very deep. Art direction is unique and the game looks great. But you can tell that the console releases were the main focus. From things like not even exposing options to turn off the auto-detect voice chat in the settings, to mouse smoothing being on by default and also not exposed in settings, to the The coop fps/rpg of the game is very fun with friends. The random gun drops system is very deep. Art direction is unique and the game looks great. But you can tell that the console releases were the main focus. From things like not even exposing options to turn off the auto-detect voice chat in the settings, to mouse smoothing being on by default and also not exposed in settings, to the very limited number of abilities/actions per class (for a PC game), more could have been done to make this game shine on PC as much as possible. Gamespy is a sub-par choice for helping me get in games with my friends or pugs online, even just going with Steamworks for this would have been preferable. Characters being stored locally means a very hackable game for those concerned with everyone online playing fair. If you just play with friends this may not be a concern. Hopefully a patch for the PC version is released soon that fixes some of these issues and some bugs that can be fairly bad. Expand
  38. Shanghaied
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    For a first attempt at this type of genre Gearbox did a very, very good job. Cries about the PC version being a port, problems with the UI, menus, and video customization are all well taken, as they cut corners here and it's obvious. Using gamespy for multiplayer support was absolutely misguided; there was simply no excuse for this and it really hurts this title. The gameplay For a first attempt at this type of genre Gearbox did a very, very good job. Cries about the PC version being a port, problems with the UI, menus, and video customization are all well taken, as they cut corners here and it's obvious. Using gamespy for multiplayer support was absolutely misguided; there was simply no excuse for this and it really hurts this title. The gameplay however, is phenomenal. Borderlands as a new IP is off to a great start. The loot system is better than I expected and addicting. The actual shooter gameplay is very, very robust and well executed. Happy with my purchase, just hoping for some multiplayer polish from a future patch. Expand
  39. gregorye
    Jan 11, 2010
    2
    After purchasing multiple copies of this game to play with friends, I was satisfied by the solo content but appalled at the near impossibility of hosting/joining a co-op game. After hours of research and non 2k games related fixe, I gave up. With multiplayer working this could have been a decent game. Without it is a pale and derivative echo of Fallout 3. A major dissapointment, given the After purchasing multiple copies of this game to play with friends, I was satisfied by the solo content but appalled at the near impossibility of hosting/joining a co-op game. After hours of research and non 2k games related fixe, I gave up. With multiplayer working this could have been a decent game. Without it is a pale and derivative echo of Fallout 3. A major dissapointment, given the angle of the marketing as a multiplayer experience. Expand
  40. WyattR
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    I think this is the NEW big type of game setting the curve for rpg and then online play also carracter and vehichle custminsation i can't stop play it and can't wait for more downloadable content thanks to all the people that worked on this game
  41. GordonF
    Jan 11, 2010
    6
    this is a release that console gamers can lay full claim to and i'll be glad to give it to them. the idea is fantastic - rpg leveling with great sounding & looking guns, lots of ammo and enemies to unload on, but it really becomes a grind after the first 2 hours or so. I don't even bother to read or appreciate the npcs thereafter anymore because there isn't any character this is a release that console gamers can lay full claim to and i'll be glad to give it to them. the idea is fantastic - rpg leveling with great sounding & looking guns, lots of ammo and enemies to unload on, but it really becomes a grind after the first 2 hours or so. I don't even bother to read or appreciate the npcs thereafter anymore because there isn't any character development in it. the kind of graphics used only works for Team Fortress 2, after a while it actually looks quite childish to me and i'm somewhat annoyed that the graphical scaling doesn't allow for higher settings to utilize my hardware. All that is fine, but biggest sign that it's a console game isn't the somewhat substandard graphics, it's the shitty implementation of controls and multiplayer! I actually had to press the "Page Up/Down" button to scroll through text in the game, and the damned multiplayer doesn't work by default, i actually had to go google for solutions. Expand
  42. PhilupD
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated whiite (common), green (uncommon), blue (rare), purple (epic), and gold (legendary). Online playability makes it so fun to play as the class you selected. Level your toons with a group of three others, and have fun kicking @$$ with others online. Share loot and make friends as you blast, slash, spray, and pummel you way through BorderLands. If you haven't picked this game up for the fear of the game sucking cause of the graphics. Than your a noob and your missing out on the best FPS-RPG in the history of gaming!!! If you don't believe me. Then go to a friends or family members house that has the game and play it up. Don't be the only kid on the block that doesn't have this game. Expand
  43. EdgarM
    Jan 13, 2010
    8
    Very Nice Game, the new Innovation of RPG-Shooter :) But it had a disappointing end for me.
  44. KenF
    Jan 21, 2010
    7
    This game has all the trappings that made Blizzard's Diablo series a hit, and keeps all it's flaws. You'll enjoy your first playthrough on any of the games four classes, then likely lose interest in performing most side quests for your second, allowing you to realize there is really not much to this promising game.
  45. MartyS
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    Excellent for what it is, which is an extremely competent shooter. Not innovative at all, but a fun experience. The grinding is fun, the weapon randomisation, and enemy variety, however, are lacking, and playing online is a pain (and people use hacked weapons profusely. My recommendation: buy it if you're into looting and shooting. Cheers!
  46. OveM
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Great game! Tons of guns and a simple but cool RPG system. The only ting i can say negative about the game is that it is way to easy. Other than that its quite amazing and good. Its on the Unreal 3 engine and it looks very good!
  47. CaseyD.
    Jan 29, 2010
    7
    A 7.5 rating would be more appropriate. The concept of the game is great. The game itself tends to get a little repetitive, however. After about 3-4 hours of game play, everything seems like it has been done before. I would recommend this game, but not with a 50 dollar price tag. If we see a second Borderlands, lets hope for more content and not just more weapons.
  48. RobertM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Great game. A blast to play both in single and multiplayer.
  49. AnonymousMC
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Amazingly fun game. Couple of bugs from the port onto PC. You can tell that it was made for consoles. Add to that a somewhat buggy multi player (Gamespy?) and the score drops from 10. But the bugs never really affected my play, so I forgive them. Borderlands is still a massively addicting take on the genre. Loot system is well-done, the weapons are creative, the artwork is capturing, the Amazingly fun game. Couple of bugs from the port onto PC. You can tell that it was made for consoles. Add to that a somewhat buggy multi player (Gamespy?) and the score drops from 10. But the bugs never really affected my play, so I forgive them. Borderlands is still a massively addicting take on the genre. Loot system is well-done, the weapons are creative, the artwork is capturing, the jokes are funny and the gameplay is enthralling. Once you start, you just want to keep doing one more quest. I'd recommend it, especially if you got a buddy to pair up with. Definitely worth at least a 9. Maybe up to 9.5. Expand
  50. DavidR
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I am giving this a 10 because I found it to be the best PC FPS released this year. Being a PC gamer who loves first person shooters, I am glad to see gearbox supporting their PC community. The gameplay is fun, the loot is excelent and co-op is a blast. The story is a bit shallow and gamespy is as big of a pain as ever, but Borderlands sure beats the crap out of Modern Warfare 2 for my FPS I am giving this a 10 because I found it to be the best PC FPS released this year. Being a PC gamer who loves first person shooters, I am glad to see gearbox supporting their PC community. The gameplay is fun, the loot is excelent and co-op is a blast. The story is a bit shallow and gamespy is as big of a pain as ever, but Borderlands sure beats the crap out of Modern Warfare 2 for my FPS of the year. Expand
  51. SamuelH
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    This is truly a great game. If you're a FPS fanboy like me, you'll get a kick out the hundreds of guns there are in it. The roleplaying aspect is just shy of perfect. There is some annoying fetch quests, but that's my only complaint. The leveling up is awesome, giving you a skill point to use towards increasing your aim, or damage of one of your favorite guns. There is also This is truly a great game. If you're a FPS fanboy like me, you'll get a kick out the hundreds of guns there are in it. The roleplaying aspect is just shy of perfect. There is some annoying fetch quests, but that's my only complaint. The leveling up is awesome, giving you a skill point to use towards increasing your aim, or damage of one of your favorite guns. There is also a nice variety of enemies waiting to be turned into piles of meat. Some of the guns are practically the same, but with a ton to chose from, who cares? The story is engaging, if you can keep track of it... Overall an awesome game, lets hope for some multiplayer patches in the future. It can be buggy at times. My best advice, BUY THIS GAME! You won't regret it. Expand
  52. PeterO
    Nov 17, 2009
    7
    It's okay, the millions of guns are fun, but you'll find a good one and use it for a long time. The plot wasn't great and the side quests are even more pointless. The online for the PC version is fucked because of the lack of dedicated servers, but i still go back to it now and then because the frantic combat and millions of guns do appeal to me in the least complex sense.
  53. Woody
    Nov 20, 2009
    0
    Games Great, but steam stuffed up the initial pre-load for Aussie's with the censored version, then to make it even better, a couple of weeks after the release, they upped the price from $45 to $79, and said "They fixed the price and have now released it at a discount" Steam treats Aussies like crap!, taking advantage of our strong dollar and what we usually pay in shops. I would Games Great, but steam stuffed up the initial pre-load for Aussie's with the censored version, then to make it even better, a couple of weeks after the release, they upped the price from $45 to $79, and said "They fixed the price and have now released it at a discount" Steam treats Aussies like crap!, taking advantage of our strong dollar and what we usually pay in shops. I would boycott if i didn't already purchase it for $45. Surely they'd drop the price if suddenly they had zero sales in the Australian market. Expand
  54. jimbojett
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    Buggy but when it works, it's a blast in co-op. Graphics are amazing if you change the FOV to 100-105 in the .ini file. Good solid diablo2 gameplay.
  55. BastiK
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    i've bought this game and played for at least 15 hours and think its great!! online and singleplayer!
  56. CourtneyH
    Nov 2, 2009
    5
    This game was fun while it lasted but I as extremely disappointed how easy everything was. The end game was lack luster'ed and disappointing. Cool guns.... Not worth the money I spent on it.
  57. JeffB
    Nov 3, 2009
    8
    Great game. Just shy of getting a 9 due to silly things the devs could've sorted. For example, the none skippable movies, not being able to turn off ingame voice and connection issues that need ports opening to sort. Bad news for a multiplayer game. The good things far our weigh the bad though. Has that "One more mission" thing that keeps you on. The graphics are superb. Wasn't Great game. Just shy of getting a 9 due to silly things the devs could've sorted. For example, the none skippable movies, not being able to turn off ingame voice and connection issues that need ports opening to sort. Bad news for a multiplayer game. The good things far our weigh the bad though. Has that "One more mission" thing that keeps you on. The graphics are superb. Wasn't sure about the cell shading but it looks great. Thing about getting it? Do it, you'll love it. Expand
  58. BTDRocketScience
    Nov 4, 2009
    7
    Nice game, art style is a plus; single player mode is ok, challenging when you are high level, co-op is very enjoyable, but it is repititive which makes it boring when you get your character to lvl 50. What I'm hoping for is they add new content - like new environments so that players wouldn't see the same setting time after time (barren land), and maybe players can get all Nice game, art style is a plus; single player mode is ok, challenging when you are high level, co-op is very enjoyable, but it is repititive which makes it boring when you get your character to lvl 50. What I'm hoping for is they add new content - like new environments so that players wouldn't see the same setting time after time (barren land), and maybe players can get all skills for all classes, more interactive npcs and player environment. Expand
  59. AaronS
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    This is definitely one of the best action RPGs in the past 5 years. it doesn't have as much RPG elements as for instance Fallout 3. but this is an action game with very strong RPG elements. the best part of it would have to be the loot lust. this wins game of the year from me!
  60. RichardS
    Nov 6, 2009
    7
    Gearbox did a very good job on this game. Combat is interesting and most things seem to be implemented with much consideration. Humour in the game however is dark and Gearbox has a really perverted sense of it, it's really grotesque at times. There really isn't any true relationship between you and any of the characters as your avatar is quite mute, whatever there is is quite Gearbox did a very good job on this game. Combat is interesting and most things seem to be implemented with much consideration. Humour in the game however is dark and Gearbox has a really perverted sense of it, it's really grotesque at times. There really isn't any true relationship between you and any of the characters as your avatar is quite mute, whatever there is is quite distanced. Roland will taunt people after he's killed them which is stupid it is own right. The multiplayer portion would possibly work quite well if everything works properly to connect. Unfortunately the gun drop system makes it all too easy for everyone to become greedy and start walking over everyone elses shoes. Making it more of a grab-all game rather than a lovely multiplayer coop. The core gameplay is good and it's obvious that the developer Gearbox has learned and taken from many games over the years as it shows in the gameplay mechanics, and music. At times the music takes on a tone that is almost completely the same as some scores found in planescape torment. 7/10 Expand
  61. anon
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    an interesting concept. very fun in co-op. kept me playing for a while until i found out you could edit your saves. then it was just a hack fest not really that much fun anymore sort of deal. up until that though it was fun
  62. KarlN
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    This game is very well done. While normally I don't prefer the "cartoon" like graphics I made an exception and I was quite impressed. To say the least if this was an MMO I would play it.
  63. VincentW
    Dec 30, 2009
    1
    The game is good but I would never buy another game from Gearbox ever again. There is absolutely no multiplayer available because you'll be spending time looking for games to join. If you do get in one, wait 5 minutes and press CTRL ALT DEL to close it. Enjoy?
  64. TimL
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    A game well worth playing. Single player rocks, and multiplayer is fun as long as you play with friends not plebs
  65. nathanm
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    this game is awesome very nice graphics very different then other games and its unique. but the only flaw is the multi player. other than that this game is fun and addictive.
  66. ChadS
    Dec 4, 2009
    3
    There are not many game i regret buying but this is one of them. as others have reviewed, this game was released half broken or half working whichever you prefer. the online game play is heavily lacking in the network/connection department. you're lucky if you can get this game to consistently connect to your friends and family. One day it will be working great, the next it wont. i There are not many game i regret buying but this is one of them. as others have reviewed, this game was released half broken or half working whichever you prefer. the online game play is heavily lacking in the network/connection department. you're lucky if you can get this game to consistently connect to your friends and family. One day it will be working great, the next it wont. i also found BL will crash while i have norton 360 install regardless if the tools are activated or not. if you are thinking of buying this game, move on, its not worth the frustration. Expand
  67. JosephS
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Borderlands is everything I wanted out of Fallout. A first person shooter with RPG elements and an unintrusive story. The only thing it's lacking is the early levels could use an option to turn off tutorials.
  68. DerekW
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    Fun and addictive game play, can get a little lackluster after several levels solo, but Co-op is a a blast.
  69. SeanBest
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Game is amazing. Really interesting. Story is weird gameplay is intense. Commercials looked lame, but I was really surprised.
  70. RichF
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This game is amazingly fun with buddies. Play it. GotY, for sure.
  71. RobertL
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    As a Co-op experience, its hard to beat. The loot system is great. Game play is fast paced and the difficulty is just right. People who don't like the graphic style should just find another game. Realistic graphics are great but I like this cell shading almost more, I get a great frame rate that never dips and everything still looks freaking awesome.
  72. NoCanDoSorry
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    Interesting game, although the true potential lies in it's co-op online mode. Playing solo can be pretty dull at times and quite quickly boring. The story could be better, and the map management truly need improvement. Overall a pretty amazing game!
  73. TimP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Wow, Prob the best game of the year if you like css cod4 and fallout3 they just made a baby and its bloody fps coop heaven! Its just downright fun to play!
  74. AnnaM
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    A solid, fun game. This game is everything that it promises in advertisements, but don't expect more than what you're told. The story isn't as deep as a FPS like Dues Ex or a RPG like Final Fantasy, instead this is more like an arcade version of Fallout 3. It is entertaining, and definitely challenging as I constantly found myself scrounging for clips or health packs, and A solid, fun game. This game is everything that it promises in advertisements, but don't expect more than what you're told. The story isn't as deep as a FPS like Dues Ex or a RPG like Final Fantasy, instead this is more like an arcade version of Fallout 3. It is entertaining, and definitely challenging as I constantly found myself scrounging for clips or health packs, and never could fight a boss head on without using tactics or having friends join the party. The graphics are smooth and cell shaded, and if it doesn't play smooth on your pc you can drop the resolution down, which makes the textures blur kind of like a coloring book instead of a comic book, but i've yet to find one game bug or issue I didn't like. My final opinion, Borderlands may not be the best game of all time but it definitely deserves a spot in any gamer's collection as it is another game blazing it's own trail and doing it well. Expand
  75. BrixQ
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    Near perfect, deserves a 90/100 but has room for basic touch ups such as AI and smarter item menus. The action and game play are top notch and I'd recommend this to any shooter or RPG fan.
  76. FedericoG
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Well speed rush guns and splatter i loving it !! Rpg elements give another chance I've tried coop , very funny.
  77. Jexter
    Oct 27, 2009
    7
    Style on this game does deserve 9 or even 10. It looks and plays well. I do like the art direction they went. The gameplay itself is not something I personally prefer. I was never fan of Diablo series. Borderlands is an action RPG that follows similar type of gameplay. So if that is your cup of tea, I would recommend trying this title out.
  78. AlexS
    Oct 28, 2009
    7
    I got this game on steam, with 3 friends in a 4-pack, while the Canadian dollar was at a high, costing me only 35 bucks, half of what a brand new game usually is. I can count right now 11 people who I could play it with. It's a blast to play, the graphics are great, the environments are awesome, it has a great feel. But this is coming from someone who got it for a steal and has a I got this game on steam, with 3 friends in a 4-pack, while the Canadian dollar was at a high, costing me only 35 bucks, half of what a brand new game usually is. I can count right now 11 people who I could play it with. It's a blast to play, the graphics are great, the environments are awesome, it has a great feel. But this is coming from someone who got it for a steal and has a bunch of friends to play with. For someone who doesn't have a group of friends to play Borderlands with, or is about to buy it for more than 45 bucks Canadian (I guess around 40 USD), I say to you, pass. A list of my experiences thus far: -The AI is kinda lacking, it just doesn't do anything special or noteworthy like try to flank you, or run for cover. -The leveling is way too quick, I got to level 30 in three days of 2-3 hours a day. -The guns suffer a lot from what Diablo 2 weapons suffered from, and that is that when you find an amazing weapon, you will stick with it until you find another amazing weapon. Yeah, more than 17 million unique guns, 95% of which you'll leave on the ground or use to fatten your wallet. -Playing with anyone but your friends is usually out, because of how greedy people get over guns, and how eager they are to let you bleed out and die. -The ending is less than thrilling and pretty much makes no sense. -The first time the environments are definitely awesome the first time, but I could see myself getting bored of them after that. It's a good game, but I get the feeling that I only enjoy it because I am always with 3 good friends, and I didn't put much money into it, so I can feel alright about not playing it too much. In conclusion, what I am trying to say is buyer beware; if you have friends that you know will play with you, and you guys are getting this cheap, go for it, you'll like it, it really is new and refreshing. Otherwise, pass it for now. Wait for some DLC, or until it is cheaper, then consider it. Expand
  79. MinOh
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    It was awesome!!!
  80. ZAQ
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    The core game is fantastic, and runs very well on my modest system (AMD 3500+, 8600GT). What brings down this game is the use of Gamespy for the co-op matchmaking, which is a HORRIBLE system to use and I wish Gamespy would just die already. Connecting to a game is very difficult, and it is lacking some very basic features such as the ability to mute other players and the ability to sort The core game is fantastic, and runs very well on my modest system (AMD 3500+, 8600GT). What brings down this game is the use of Gamespy for the co-op matchmaking, which is a HORRIBLE system to use and I wish Gamespy would just die already. Connecting to a game is very difficult, and it is lacking some very basic features such as the ability to mute other players and the ability to sort games in the lobby. On top of that the UI was clearly designed for consoles and is very unintuitive on the PC. Despite the faults I'm having a lot of fun playing it so I give it an 8, which is a shame because if Gearbox would have spent a bit more time on the PC version it could easily have been a 10. Expand
  81. MadL
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Bloody brilliant game, loads of content (guns, upgrades, quests, enemies), single player lasts long, which is good as the game is fun. The game also has 4 player online also, which is very fun once again and i love the overall design of the game and the humor. A game i would wholeheartedly suggest to a friend.
  82. HaqeemA
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Borderlands is incredible, really distract my attention from Modern Warfare 2 and Left 4 Dead 2. Featured with cool and smooth graphic and "outline" styling (artwork ftw!) just like Prince of Persia, up to 4 player in multiplayer mode (more epic than those zombies shooting title) this product is worth every penny! I can't write more about this game cause this too awesome!
  83. FezzT
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    From the art style to the gameplay, to the voice acting, this has been a game to remember. I'll be honest when i say that in begining, i was reminded of fallout 3, which i thought was extremely boring but had so much work done to it. but this game delivers so much more excitement and the visual style is enjoyable. 4 player co-op is incredibly fun, but you must all be at the same part From the art style to the gameplay, to the voice acting, this has been a game to remember. I'll be honest when i say that in begining, i was reminded of fallout 3, which i thought was extremely boring but had so much work done to it. but this game delivers so much more excitement and the visual style is enjoyable. 4 player co-op is incredibly fun, but you must all be at the same part of the game for this to work. Still this game is amazing Expand
  84. LauritsN
    Oct 31, 2009
    5
    As much as i see potential in this game, i just don't think it does a good enough job with the RPG element. Most of your skill ups are used in passive abilities, and therefore i find it to be too much of a FPS game with one special ability per class, that a real RPG.
  85. StevenI
    Oct 31, 2009
    7
    A game with a lot of potential, but potential is the key word. The PC version is a horrible port of a console game with limited support for everything has changed within the last 10 years of online gaming. To heavily market a game based on its online experience, only to provide an utterly shambolic system to provide it, is embarassing. They couldnt even be bothered to make the intial A game with a lot of potential, but potential is the key word. The PC version is a horrible port of a console game with limited support for everything has changed within the last 10 years of online gaming. To heavily market a game based on its online experience, only to provide an utterly shambolic system to provide it, is embarassing. They couldnt even be bothered to make the intial loading screens (necessary only for the console version) skippable. Expand
  86. GM
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    I love this game. Yeah, its a little repetitive, like a hack'n'slash kinda like diablo versions. But the graphics are crazy (in a good way), the mind numbing variation of weapons you can use however you game (power over accuracy, visa-versa, etc). Different game, pretty awesome. You oughtta try it, especially if you can find it on sale. I love it!
  87. Xiru
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    10 without a second thought. The minor flaws of the PC version are completely overshadowed by the highly addictive gameplay, engrossing atmosphere and incredible variety. This game, without a doubt, offers an astounding experience to anyone even a little familiar with either shooters or RPGs - while fans of the two genres are in for a very, very special, unforgettable treat.
  88. ChrisT
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    I've been a gamer all my life, growing up i'd play on the Amiga then on a Pentium 1 200mhz and upgrading ever since. I've played a insane amount of games, recently however I have been growing tired of the games coming out as they don't seem to offer anything new. I was hesitant of getting this game but I am really glad I did, I haven't really got this hooked on a I've been a gamer all my life, growing up i'd play on the Amiga then on a Pentium 1 200mhz and upgrading ever since. I've played a insane amount of games, recently however I have been growing tired of the games coming out as they don't seem to offer anything new. I was hesitant of getting this game but I am really glad I did, I haven't really got this hooked on a game for awhile, its insanely addicting. The way I would describe it is like Diablo hack and slash style but instead its first person run and gun. Loot is almost exactly like diablo, randomly generated guns and items that drop from your kills. The also also somewhat like WoWs items as they are rated in quality (white to purple) Also the quests are kinda like wow as well as you get them from NPCs and have to kill, obtain, other stuff... however its soo much more funner as you have tons of guns to test out on your enemies. Also getting critical hits takes accuracy (headshots and other places depending on the enemy) and is not a percentage like WoW. I have been playing single player the whole time and I usually only play multiplayer games which is weird for me, shows how good of a game it is imo. I think this game would be twice is bad ass if you team up with a friend, asd I plan on doing that soon. Also the AI is pretty cool, as they zig zag, sidestep, strafe, so they are challenging to hit. Heads can get blown off as well as limbs and they can even gib given the right weapon. The NPCs are funny as hell too. Expand
  89. JamesL
    Jan 12, 2010
    6
    This game is ok, except for some major balance issues. I have found random things in boxes and crates that stack on your shields that you can repeatedly drop and pick up to gain hp and shields. I didn't know this but now i just noticed my hp is around 1000000. These things add money and are random finds. I loved everything about this except for that. Overall, this is an ok game.
  90. ArielH
    Jan 15, 2010
    4
    After a while, you'll come to realize the claims they make about this game are fantastically blown out of proportion.
  91. RivanF
    Apr 26, 2010
    9
    I keep going back to it. Need I say more? I'll say what I didn't like since the list is smaller: Enemies were pretty easy. Their difficulty is based more on how many hitpoints they have rather than being actually "skilled". IE, moving around for cover, trying to out maneuver you, etc... Would like to see a PvP system better instilled. Some weaponry is crazy powerful and make PvP I keep going back to it. Need I say more? I'll say what I didn't like since the list is smaller: Enemies were pretty easy. Their difficulty is based more on how many hitpoints they have rather than being actually "skilled". IE, moving around for cover, trying to out maneuver you, etc... Would like to see a PvP system better instilled. Some weaponry is crazy powerful and make PvP pretty pointless, unless there's some way to better level the playing field. Perhaps in a further patch (if this were figured out, I could imagine a Borderlands MMOFPS that would be extraordinarily fun). Also, obviously, the weapon hex editing would need to be stopped... Parts were rather repetitive, but yet I still go back. Expand
  92. LysanderS
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    Great game, offset by a terrible and weak storyline. As an RPG it's pretty average, and as an FPS it's pretty great. With a ton of weapon and enemy types, you won't get bored easily. Sexy graphics forced me into an 8, otherwise it would be a 7 because of the weak story. Basically, you have to find a vault filled with "riches". Besides that, each character is supposed to Great game, offset by a terrible and weak storyline. As an RPG it's pretty average, and as an FPS it's pretty great. With a ton of weapon and enemy types, you won't get bored easily. Sexy graphics forced me into an 8, otherwise it would be a 7 because of the weak story. Basically, you have to find a vault filled with "riches". Besides that, each character is supposed to have it's own story, with Lilith seeking out another "siren", Brick looking for revenge on the person who killed his dog, Mordecai looking for his old mentor and the x-crimson lance Roland looking for...well i haven't a clue. Each character is supposed to have had it's own quests in the game, but was for some reason scrapped, meaning each playthrough with either of the characters is exactly the same. That makes replayability suck, and means the single storyline is the vault. Once you complete the game you're given the chance to playthrough again giving you more powerful enemies, but there's not much of a point as it's just the same quests again. The whole game, including each side quest and a bit of grinding took me...exactly 24 hours and 1 minute. So it's not as long as other RPGs but much longer than other FPS's. Signs of a clear console port are the serious problems with controls, such as toggle crouch and steering with the mouse rather than the normal WASD. Also a number of interface issues and multiplayer connectivity problems. Overall definitely worth a go, you don't want to miss out on this game, but be prepared for a weak story and some much needed patching. Especially for the PC...*shudders* Expand
  93. jackh
    Nov 1, 2009
    6
    This game looks very nice, has lots of guns and is pretty fun of course. But, there are a lot more problems with this game than you'd guess. First of all there are 2 types of games, one which ends once you complete the game, and one which doesn't end. This game ends once you complete the game, its quests are very repetitive and are all "Grind" quests. Even though you can replay This game looks very nice, has lots of guns and is pretty fun of course. But, there are a lot more problems with this game than you'd guess. First of all there are 2 types of games, one which ends once you complete the game, and one which doesn't end. This game ends once you complete the game, its quests are very repetitive and are all "Grind" quests. Even though you can replay the game in a harder mode, i just don't see any fun in it at all as you would only be Re-Grinding the boring quests you have already done before. However if this game had a big multiplayer setup like on Counter-Strike or Left 4 Dead it would definitely get a straight 10/10 because it would pretty much eliminate all of the problems which are current. So only buy this game if you have 3 more friends you would want to play with, it is not worth the money to play it for a few days on your own, complete it and then never look at it again. Expand
  94. JoeK
    Nov 17, 2009
    5
    I am very disappointed with the PC support of this game. It is obviously a rushed port of the console version, and lacks push to talk. There remain numerous bugs even after a 3 week late patch, which was expected at launch. The game itself is wonderful, skill and equipment progression are very well done. Combat is superb. If the PC support were there, I would have no reservations about I am very disappointed with the PC support of this game. It is obviously a rushed port of the console version, and lacks push to talk. There remain numerous bugs even after a 3 week late patch, which was expected at launch. The game itself is wonderful, skill and equipment progression are very well done. Combat is superb. If the PC support were there, I would have no reservations about this game, however, due to the lack of customer support from Gearbox, I will not be buying any DLC or future PC games from them. Expand
  95. BinaryClock
    Nov 2, 2009
    7
    I originally thought this game was going to be like Fallout 3 and I was quite geared up to play it. The intro was great and a pretty neat way of introducing you to the game. However it all fell apart as soon as I stepped off the bus (stepping off the bus gives you your first control of the player in the beginning of the game.) The field of view is way too close/narrow, and makes you feel I originally thought this game was going to be like Fallout 3 and I was quite geared up to play it. The intro was great and a pretty neat way of introducing you to the game. However it all fell apart as soon as I stepped off the bus (stepping off the bus gives you your first control of the player in the beginning of the game.) The field of view is way too close/narrow, and makes you feel very dizzy and disorientated. I looked in the settings where I may change the FOV setting, but there was none. The settings looked very limited and this is when the red flags started to go up for me. The game itself feels like every other shooter. Graphics are sub-par for a PC release for end of 2009, but still rather good and the art style is neat. The sound effects are pretty good, and I love how they introduce the characters. There has been quite a bit of thought into the characters and their personalities which makes the world a very interesting one to explore. The questing system is odd with it's big betters for your quest description and you need to use page up and page down to scroll through the quest description if it doesn't all fit on the screen, which is most quests. This is obviously due to a sloppy, non-thought-out port from a console version. Overall it is these type of things that are an insult to the PC gaming world. We don't need or want a 96pt font and pageup/pagedown quest interface. It may be a small thing, but adding mouse scroll function goes along way. The sound selection is original and done quite well, however I found it annoying because it would come on at odd times during a fight so I ended up turning it down to 30% of its normal volume. Overall, it seems like it has potential in the console, but when PC users has more in depth feeling games with better graphics and interfaces, it's going to be a hard sell. 7/10 because it's a great game, but for PC it didn't really impress me with the lack of settings/options, and overall feel of the interface and game. Expand
  96. KevinC
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    All in all, a fun little game. The action is fast paced and a steady stream of rewards keep you moving from area to area. Also, I found the robot NPC genuinely amusing, which is very rare for a video game character (most comic relief NPCs are cloying or distracting, but this little guy's ADHD made me smile). What really hurts this game is GameSpy's matchmaking service which is All in all, a fun little game. The action is fast paced and a steady stream of rewards keep you moving from area to area. Also, I found the robot NPC genuinely amusing, which is very rare for a video game character (most comic relief NPCs are cloying or distracting, but this little guy's ADHD made me smile). What really hurts this game is GameSpy's matchmaking service which is tragically flawed. Despite many attempts, I have never been able to join a friend in game. I hope someone from GameSpy reads this because I'm very disappointed in your company's service and you guys need to do better than this. Expand
  97. SpencerC
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    worth it. Its a full rpg that HAPPENS to use guns, not a fps with some rpg in it. multiplayer is accesible and multiplayer (among other things) make this game timless. You WILL be playing this game 5 years from now, even if you abandon it for 3
  98. PaulL
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. I love the Diablo-like looting and leveling mixed with the action of a fps. This is the most fun I've had with a game all year.
  99. DavidD
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    Great Game in Co-Op/Multi, but in Single Player make the game not so much fun, because its too easy in single and thats make it boring...
  100. Gashx
    Dec 27, 2009
    0
    Unfortunatly, not only can I not recommend this game, but I actively recommend you do not buy it. I have found it to be one of the poorest value for money games I have bought in recent time. The reasons are as follows: at launch match making was very poor with myself and many friends being unable to reliably connect to games. After the first patch, the shadows suddenly didn't work Unfortunatly, not only can I not recommend this game, but I actively recommend you do not buy it. I have found it to be one of the poorest value for money games I have bought in recent time. The reasons are as follows: at launch match making was very poor with myself and many friends being unable to reliably connect to games. After the first patch, the shadows suddenly didn't work properly. And after the 2nd patch character models didn't display properly. The sum total of my purchase is a broken and unplayable game which I struggled through a few hours of and sepnt more time trying to get working than actually playing - AVOID. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.