Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Jan 24, 2014
    95
    I haven’t felt this surge of nostalgia and excitement about a game in a long time, and I truly think Broken Age will be looked back fondly as one of the greats. That being said, the first Act is only a few short hours and ended on a nail-biting cliffhanger with no word on how long we’ll be waiting for the rest of the game.
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    95
    An absolute joy of an adventure. It’s filled with unforgettable characters, incredible puzzles, and one of the most gorgeous worlds you’ll find in games. It culminates with an effective cliffhanger that has me counting the days until I can finish Vella and Shay’s adventure in Act 2.
  3. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    A game that will resonate with you and make you nostalgic for something that you might not even remember forgetting.
  4. Jan 29, 2014
    90
    It's a shame, Broken Age seems to have been aimed at a more casual gamer whereas most of its backers are hardcore adventure game fans.
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    90
    An adventure you must play. And read. And listen to. And have a good time with it.
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    90
    This game could have come out ten years ago, and it would have been great then, but it's great now too. That's the very definition of timeless.
  7. Jan 20, 2014
    90
    Regardless, the experience of Act 1 is enough to recommend outright — don’t hesitate to add this title to your library.
  8. Jan 18, 2014
    90
    Broken Age tells a concise, clever story and, more importantly, knows exactly where to leave off. There’s a sense of accomplishment and closure in the final moments of Act 1, but it still leaves you itching to know what’s coming next.
  9. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Broken Age may be unfinished, but it's also delightful, beautiful, utterly charming and you really should play it right this second.
  10. Jan 20, 2014
    89
    Broken Age is the graphical adventure that we all have been waiting for the last 15 years. A great story with a great cast, pictured with stunning visual style, makes us wait eagerly for the Act 2.
  11. Feb 25, 2014
    88
    I enjoyed my time with Broken Age. I found the story to be compelling, and I kept coming back to play the game in much the same way I keep making time to read another chapter in a book that's hard to put down.
  12. Jan 22, 2014
    88
    The Broken Age will win you over in minutes, and what it lacks in length or difficulty it makes up for in pure personality.
  13. Jan 17, 2014
    88
    There may not be much actual “game” in Broken Age Act 1, but as a window into two interesting and charming adventures it easily fulfills the Kickstarter promise.
  14. Feb 19, 2014
    87
    I cannot wait for the [free!] update that will bring on Act 2. I also cannot wait to see if Broken Age ushers in a new era of the point-and-click genre.
  15. Feb 16, 2014
    87
    A shorter first act than is ideal, but Broken Age's world is not to be missed. [March 2014, p.78]
  16. Jan 15, 2014
    87
    A great graphical adventure, modern and old school at the same time, beautifully written and with such incredible style and personality. But if you're looking for high difficulty puzzles, look elsewhere.
  17. Feb 6, 2014
    86
    Broken Age looks, sounds and plays so great that you can recommend it to anyone.
  18. The adventure genre is not dead! Brilliant voice acting, humorous dialogue and a different approach on graphics, Broken Age is bound to be a classic among adventure gamers.
  19. Jan 15, 2014
    86
    Like a reunion concert of a band you once loved, or a candy shop selling a particular brand of candy that brings to mind childhood summers of sun and sea and all that other cliched crap, Broken Age is a well deserved chance to remember the old days and realize that they're still closer than they might sometimes feel—even if the second part is a little further away than intended.
  20. Mar 5, 2014
    85
    Tim Schafer’s Kickstarter game is finally here and it does not disappoint. After finishing Broken Age I spent an hour coming up with theories on how the story will unfold in the second act – and that is the best recommendation. [03/2014, p.70]
  21. Double Fine has produced a high-quality game of decent length with terrific audio and visual production and an engaging, twist-filled and idea-laden story read by an outstanding cast. Look no further for evidence of its compelling nature than the strength of your yearning for the concluding act to be delivered as quickly as possible.
  22. Jan 22, 2014
    85
    Double Fine at its best. Too bad you can complete this first branch of the story in just 4 hours.
  23. Jan 22, 2014
    85
    Broken Age - Act I snaps closed just as things are heating up with a twist that I thought I'd figured out but then there's another twist that has me anxious for Part II. I haven't felt this kind of anticipation since LOST — I need to see what happens next!
  24. Jan 21, 2014
    85
    The standard-bearer for Kickstarter funding does not disappoint, Double Fine providing us a game within a traditional genre that manages to feel both fresh and significant.
  25. Jan 21, 2014
    85
    This is not Grim Fandango, not Full Throttle, not Monkey Island. This is Double Fine at its best, with a Point & Click adventure that mixes the magic from those SCUMM masterpieces of the genre and the unique visuals of Tim Schafer's imagination and studio. Maybe it's short and the decision to break the game into two Acts is not the best for the game due to its low difficulty, but Broken Age is what it is: A journey that evokes that magic we thought was lost.
  26. Jan 17, 2014
    85
    Not exactly difficult when it comes to puzzles, but still permeated by the same magic we used to find in the great point-and-click adventures of old. Its only problem, really, it's that you'll be left wanting for more. DESPERATELY wanting for more.
  27. Jan 15, 2014
    85
    For any fan of classic adventure games, playing Broken Age will be like wrapping yourself in a big, comfy blanket made of pointing, clicking, and a whole lot of laughs.
  28. Jan 14, 2014
    85
    Broken Age is the best venue I’ve seen for Double Fine’s twisted sensibilities in a long time. They’ve crafted two unique worlds, ­filling them both with just enough silliness to be fun without overwhelming the characters and their ultimately touching journeys.
  29. 80
    We expected Tim Schafer to deliver the unique and we weren't wrong. Broken Age stands on the threshold of a classic adventure and a tablet game while retaining a lot of soul. [Issue #239]
  30. Mar 2, 2014
    80
    There’s an adherence to old design tropes throughout much of Broken Age, but there’s also a yearning to find a way to tell this fun story.
  31. Feb 6, 2014
    80
    This first act of Broken Age is easily worth your time for the fantastic writing and brilliant presentation alone, but here’s hoping they can really go wild with interesting puzzles and challenges in the forthcoming second act.
  32. 80
    It's hard to recognize Schafer in the game, he is more mature now, and so are we. This is noticeable on each interaction, each dialogue, and more importantly, in the way the game uses humor, the obviousness and the absurd to make a stand, through the eyes of two characters designed with heart.
  33. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    Act 1 of Broken Age is a point and click adventure game in heart and soul, but doesn’t reach the heights of the LucasArts games of old. The game is beautiful and tells a great story; a snack to drift off to during these dark and dank days.
  34. Jan 30, 2014
    80
    In some ways it’s surprising that - despite being traditional - it doesn’t feel like a Lucasarts game. That’s likely what backers wanted, and whilst those elements are there, this is a Double Fine game to the final letter. It’s gentle, loving, and fun; not a Grim Fandango rehash, but the gaming equivalent of a petting a kitten. If your eyes are not welling up with sheer joy at such a thought, then perhaps Broken Age is not for you.
  35. Jan 29, 2014
    80
    The puzzles, while never exactly difficult, are for the most part clever and satisfying. But just as Vella finds a way to confront the maiden-eating monster, and just as Shay starts to unravel the truth behind his space-faring daycare, and just as we start to see how these two wildly different worlds might be connected… boom, the first act comes to an abrupt end.
  36. Jan 29, 2014
    80
    Backers will get exactly what they wanted: a beautiful, funny and well-written adventure game that feels like LucasArts. This is just the first act and it's already difficult and painful to wait for the conclusion to the story of Vella and Shay.
  37. Jan 28, 2014
    80
    The lack of challenge and a dearth of branching dialogue (sorry – these dialogue trees resemble bamboo shafts) disappoint, yes, but Broken Age always elicits a smile and a desire to continue.
  38. Jan 28, 2014
    80
    Worthy for its story and world, Broken Age could use more interactivity and more challenging puzzles in Part 2.
  39. Jan 26, 2014
    80
    Broken Age: Act 1 is an amusing game, but it’s not a great game, and it’s a little disappointing given its pedigree. It has all the charm and personality in the world, but the puzzles are so lukewarm and obvious that they drag down everything with them.
  40. Jan 24, 2014
    80
    This is only Act 1, of course, as an agonising cliffhanger reminds us, and as such this can only be regarded as a very promising start.
  41. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    I can't say if Broken Age is all that you hoped it would be. I for one found that this first act juggles its serious core story, humor and absurdities splendidly. My backer dollars seem very well invested, indeed.
  42. Jan 21, 2014
    80
    Whimsical, witty, and beautiful: this is a sumptuous adventure with all of Double Fine's usual care and attention lovingly lavished throughout.
  43. Jan 21, 2014
    80
    Apart from the ending of course, which I’m thinking about a lot. Broken Age: Act 1 is a wonderful piece of work, well worth the time and money put into it, an excellent piece of videogame fiction, but it just needs some work being an actual videogame.
  44. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    Arguably the biggest Kickstarter story sticks its first landing. Broken Age is a cute, colorful tale about growing up. While the 'game' part of the experience is pretty straightforward - like an old-school adventure game - the world is full of charming and unique characters. Sit back, figure out some puzzles, and experience the wonderful little tale that Double Fine has crafted.
  45. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    If it does away with verb-based actions, it's in the hopes of emphasizing the joys of exploring these two worlds rather than the frustrations of a pixel hunt.
  46. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    It has a beautiful world populated by a colorful cast of characters and an alluring mystery that doesn’t unfold in the way you expect it to. This is Double Fine Productions at its finest, and it’s on track to finish strong with Act 2.
  47. Jan 18, 2014
    80
    Of course, that is assuming the second act can satisfactorily tie everything together. Act 1, if played at a relaxed pace while exploring every dialog possibility, is about a three-hour adventure.
  48. Jan 17, 2014
    80
    It feels more like an interactive cartoon than a classic Lucasarts game, but providing you’re aware of that Broken Age delivers a jolly nice time. It’s just lovely. That shouldn’t be enough, but in this case – it really is.
  49. Jan 16, 2014
    80
    Act One of Broken Age starts off strong, with an incredibly well-written storyline that props up some occasionally weak puzzle work. Let's hope Double Fine can follow through with Act Two when it arrives later this year.
  50. Jan 15, 2014
    80
    Broken Age: Act 1 is all about the slow build. Slow isn't boring, however, and a wonderful job is done of carefully constructing the pace while keeping the audience amused. It's a strong start that concludes in a way that makes me desperate for more.
  51. Jan 15, 2014
    80
    Double Fine’s adventure is confident and charming, the studio feeling its way to a comfortable mid-point between the desires of adventure-game fans and its own motivation to move the genre forward – even if only by a small increment.
  52. Jan 21, 2014
    79
    When does this game start in earnest? The puzzles are so easy and the story so superficial that it feels like an intro to a game - until die credits roll. It's fun, but lacking substance.
  53. Jan 20, 2014
    76
    The first chapter is a charming adventure game, featuring a short, but interesting story, great voice actors and a beautiful soundtrack. The puzzles however are too simplistic and most of the side characters get brushed aside too soon. It's still fun, for sure, and some of these issues might be fixed in the second chapter, but so far Broken Age is not the classic we hoped for.
  54. Jan 21, 2014
    75
    Almost 25 years after The Secret of Monkey Island, Tim Schafer proves that point'n click games are still very lively. Even if it's not completely finished, Broken Age deserves his successful campaign on Kickstarter. We can only hope that the second part of the journey, in April, will be as good as this one. If it could resolve some technical problems and level up the challenge, it could be really great.
  55. Jan 24, 2014
    72
    A charming first act that gives you an outlook into interesting storylines. But since puzzles are too easy and it is rather short all the hopes lie on the conclusion.
  56. Mar 9, 2014
    70
    Well written and charming but Broken Age plays it too safe to be particularly memorable. [Apr 2014, p.67]
  57. Feb 16, 2014
    70
    Broken Age is in many ways an amazing adventure. It offers a unique style and has dialogues which in most cases are of very high class. Unfortunately, the story fails to engage to the point that you have to play on, which is a problem considering that this is only the first of two parts. In combination with a gameplay mechanic suffering from lack of new ideas, the game fails to climb higher on the rating scale. But for the genre buff, there is no reason to keep the pennies.
  58. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    Clever, funny, and thought-provoking, but even without the weight of expectations this is a surprisingly insubstantial and ephemeral experience.
  59. Jan 22, 2014
    70
    Perhaps when Broken Age is complete, it’ll feel like a stronger offering — it was never meant to be divided in half anyway, and the forced split feels like it comes just as the game finally hits a comfortable stride. But for a game about young people striking out on their own, made by a developer that set out to gain the financial freedom to do exactly what it wanted, Broken Age feels like it plays it safe; a cushy adventure game with some heart, but absent any sharp edges.
  60. Jan 21, 2014
    70
    Beautiful art style, well rounded characters, familiar humour, and heart. At first glance, Broken Age is a visually stunning, polished homage to the adventure games of the past. But it’s over all too quickly, without enough challenges to satisfy, or enough innovations to drive the genre forward.
  61. Jan 21, 2014
    70
    Broken Age does a fine job of creating an outlandish world populated by interesting characters, but is let-down somewhat by its core gameplay.
  62. Jan 16, 2014
    70
    Pleasant but undemanding, gorgeous but lacking in depth - fans will be forgiven for expecting something a little more chewy, a little more experimental, from a developer who made his name by turning adventure games upside down. Here's hoping Act 2 builds some gameplay muscle to go with the supermodel looks.
  63. Jan 16, 2014
    70
    The narration is excellent and the presentation very charming, but the puzzles are not even moderately challenging. A good adventure, just not the masterpiece everyone was waiting for.
  64. Jan 15, 2014
    70
    Broken Age's world may be fun to explore, but don't get too comfortable. Just as you fall into a steady groove with its story and puzzles, the game ends. Thankfully, the ending provides some resolution while also leaving you excited for the second act.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 285 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 69
  2. Negative: 10 out of 69
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    From the art style to the music to the voice acting, Broken Age proves to be a solid game with a lot of personality on its own. The fine humor on the dialogues make for an unique experience, from start to finish.

    Puzzles are logical, so an experienced adventure gamer won't be stuck so easily. Some people will find it too easy, some people will get stuck on one or two of them, but will quickly find the answer, for sure.

    The interface is simple yet elegant. Based on a touch screen UX, it does not do any favor to PC gamers. Dragging and dropping items is not exactly the best solution for mouse support, but it is not a deal breaker at all.

    At some point later on the game you will realize that you are looking to a classic point and click, witch a beautiful landscape, some backtrack action and amazing character personalities. I played this game with a smile on my face from the beginning to the end (4 hours long), and one cannot ignore this.

    It is not Tim Schafer's masterpiece (yet), but its characters and the story makes this one of the best out there.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    God, I need to vent this. Broken Age is a REALLY bad game; bland as hell. Basically they **** up everything. Not only is it a bad, boring and shallow game, but it becomes glaringly obvious that it is a big step back from LucasArts games.

    There's no look/take/use/etc. Only left click and everything will be conveniently solved for you. The problem with this is that the game lacks the descriptions you would get by looking at stuff in the backgrounds; plus there hardly is anything to interact with. This sadly means that a big part of the charm - listening to humorous or moody phrases or one liners is absolutely gone.

    But the worst part is not the controls, or the easy as **** puzzles.

    As Ron Gilbert recently said in an interview with Tim Schafer, adventure games are really an excuse to look at pretty sceneries and listen/read good writing. Well, the game **** fails to deliver any of these.

    It's so goddamn bland and uninspired that you can almost taste the unmotivated design team.

    The sceneries are devoid of any real detail. Yes, they look pretty, in a gay-as-hell-21st-century-progressive-fairytale sort of way. There just isn't anything of interest to look at. Forget the interiors and computer huds from Full Throttle.
    Also, the characters don't show any **** emotion. The voice acting is the typical sedated crap you get nowadays. It's almost like the developers tell the actors to not put themselves into the characters, but instead make them all sound the same. Plus, as the expressions from the characters' faces change pretty much NOTHING, the game doesn't really put a definite emotion through.

    The game world is simply not interesting. Other thing that bugged me was when they zoomed the characters' faces in the dialogues; you can see the poor quality of the backgrounds up close: blurry, not very defined; you can pretty much tell they were made with photoshop in a hurry. I'm certain that if they had pixelated everything in the game it would all look sharper, and well, better.

    Music was pretty off too. At times it felt pointless and irrelevant. At others, strangely out of mood.

    And the writing is as bland as everything else. Not funny, not moody. This guy **** lost it. Forget the "nerd" 1990's-Simpsons humor you would find in DotT, you'll find none of that.

    What else can I say, I did not expect too much when I saw the first screens they released way back, expecting a sort of snuggle-feel-good game, but hell this was really mediocre. What the **** did they do all this time? Were did all the money go, to voice actors?
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    7
    Tim Schafer's first adventure game after many years is finally here, and it looks and sounds fantastic! The art style is unusual, but charming and the animations are all very well done. The music and voice acting is spectacular, too, both on a level that we haven't see before on adventure games. I also enjoyed the storytelling and the characters, although some of them are rather flat and one-dimensional (as often in Shafer's games). The one that stands out as extraordinarily well done is the enigmatic "wolf", Marek. The world and locations overall are fairly interesting, although some of it seems rather randomly packed together (e.g. the lumberjack, who is funny, but doesn't appear to fit into the story at all).

    The one point where the game fails to deliver is the puzzles. They are simply way too easy. I didn't even get stuck once in the entire first act and basically played it through in one go. It felt more like a click-through animated story than an adventure games at times, there was really no challenge at all. Even the somewhat more difficult ones were all run-off-the-mill adventure game puzzles (e.g. combining two items in the inventory, the star map pattern matching). This is regrettable as the makers should have known that their core audience (the KS backers) are seasoned adventure gamers. What made it worse is that the game was repeatedly telling me what to do before I even had a chance to explore and think about the puzzles myself. In that way, it robbed me of the sense accomplishment of finding the solution by myself. Maybe a choice of difficulty at the start (enable/disable hints) could have improved the experience for me.

    The game also lacked some depth. The first act felt short (partially because it was too easy) and had few rooms, few items, and too little dialog. It felt like too much effort was spent on art, animation, music and voice acting, and too little on actual game play and creating a rich and deep world.
    Full Review »