Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 283 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first graphic adventure by Tim Schafer in 16 years, Broken Age began with the help of a record-breaking Kickstarter campaign. Broken Age is a timeless coming-of-age story of barfing trees and talking spoons. Vella Tartine and Shay Volta are two teenagers in strangely similar situations, but radically different worlds. The player can freely switch between their stories, helping them take control of their own lives, and dealing with the unexpected adventures that follow. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Jan 24, 2014
    95
    I haven’t felt this surge of nostalgia and excitement about a game in a long time, and I truly think Broken Age will be looked back fondly as one of the greats. That being said, the first Act is only a few short hours and ended on a nail-biting cliffhanger with no word on how long we’ll be waiting for the rest of the game.
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Broken Age may be unfinished, but it's also delightful, beautiful, utterly charming and you really should play it right this second.
  3. Feb 6, 2014
    86
    Broken Age looks, sounds and plays so great that you can recommend it to anyone.
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    80
    Act One of Broken Age starts off strong, with an incredibly well-written storyline that props up some occasionally weak puzzle work. Let's hope Double Fine can follow through with Act Two when it arrives later this year.
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    Act 1 of Broken Age is a point and click adventure game in heart and soul, but doesn’t reach the heights of the LucasArts games of old. The game is beautiful and tells a great story; a snack to drift off to during these dark and dank days.
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    I can't say if Broken Age is all that you hoped it would be. I for one found that this first act juggles its serious core story, humor and absurdities splendidly. My backer dollars seem very well invested, indeed.
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    70
    Broken Age's world may be fun to explore, but don't get too comfortable. Just as you fall into a steady groove with its story and puzzles, the game ends. Thankfully, the ending provides some resolution while also leaving you excited for the second act.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 69
  2. Negative: 10 out of 69
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    If you like point n' click adventures I can highly recommend this game.

    Some old school fans have some qualms, a lot are complaining that
    it is too easy, which it's not super hard I guess sure, but I personally thought some of the frustratingly difficult hair pulling puzzles of 90's games were effing annoying and not at all conducive to a fun gaming experience, I will say I think they are harder than the Telltale games (Which isn't saying much because those are really aimed at being super easy to bring in the broadest audience). It is short, only around 4 hours, but this is just the first half, the second should be released sometime later this year.

    But while short, it's a coherent, fun, engrossing story with characters that you really connect to and love even in the few hours you are with them.

    The voice acting is incredible and done by an all star cast and the score is magnificent, and the score is fantastic, I didn't really know about Peter McConnell before but I am definitely going to watch his work more closely after this.
    Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Broken Age (a.k.a., the Double Fine Adventure) just cemented how much I miss adventure games. After years of FPS and RTS (and years of not playing much of anything), playing Broken Age was a breath of fresh air -- the story is great (nicely done Mr. Schafer), the art and effects are the best I have seen in this genera, and the animation and controls feel like I remember (though part of me misses the old talk/use/put control options and the often funny dialog that came from them, these new controls will work much better on tablets). My only downside is that the puzzles were easier than I hoped, which moved me through areas too quickly to enjoy the work that went into them -- I'm confident Act II will beef up the complexity. Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    From the art style to the music to the voice acting, Broken Age proves to be a solid game with a lot of personality on its own. The fine humor on the dialogues make for an unique experience, from start to finish.

    Puzzles are logical, so an experienced adventure gamer won't be stuck so easily. Some people will find it too easy, some people will get stuck on one or two of them, but will quickly find the answer, for sure.

    The interface is simple yet elegant. Based on a touch screen UX, it does not do any favor to PC gamers. Dragging and dropping items is not exactly the best solution for mouse support, but it is not a deal breaker at all.

    At some point later on the game you will realize that you are looking to a classic point and click, witch a beautiful landscape, some backtrack action and amazing character personalities. I played this game with a smile on my face from the beginning to the end (4 hours long), and one cannot ignore this.

    It is not Tim Schafer's masterpiece (yet), but its characters and the story makes this one of the best out there.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    After the long wait and years of waiting, Broken Age is finally complete. Although perhaps not the wild innovation some were expecting, it seems that without a doubt it was overall worth waiting for.

    Broken Age is the traditional point-and-click adventure game refined, polished, and taken to a better form that makes it seem better than any adventure game has in a long time. The art and score are both extraordinary, and the voice acting is phenomenal. As usual with Double Fine, the script is witty and original while remaining coherent, and the plot leaves you wanting more at the ultimately climactic cliffhanger ending.

    Puzzles are often challenging, but rarely impossible, and, while old-school adventure fans may gripe about the reduced difficulty, they seem to hit a happy medium that should please both adventure fans and gamers trying the genre for the first time. The interface is streamlined and intuitive, and gameplay was highly enjoyable.

    All in all, Broken Age is hardly a revolution in gaming, but it is an excellent point and click adventure game that hits all the right marks. It is recommended to fans of the genre and those who are interested in the gameplay concept, or simply in a game with fantastic art, music, plotting, and dialogue.
    Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Nice story, I look forward to the next chapter. Great voices, especially the computer/mother. Puzzles a bit 'too easy, it seems to play the easy version of "Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge" Unfortunately, in this game, you can not choose to play the full version with all the puzzles as they did in Monkey Island 2. Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    This game is pretty good. I love the art style, the game itself is pretty easy, BUT the story is just great. I think this is one of the best story game I ever played. The voice actors are really good and you have two main character which I both really like. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    God, I need to vent this. Broken Age is a REALLY bad game; bland as hell. Basically they **** up everything. Not only is it a bad, boring and shallow game, but it becomes glaringly obvious that it is a big step back from LucasArts games.

    There's no look/take/use/etc. Only left click and everything will be conveniently solved for you. The problem with this is that the game lacks the descriptions you would get by looking at stuff in the backgrounds; plus there hardly is anything to interact with. This sadly means that a big part of the charm - listening to humorous or moody phrases or one liners is absolutely gone.

    But the worst part is not the controls, or the easy as **** puzzles.

    As Ron Gilbert recently said in an interview with Tim Schafer, adventure games are really an excuse to look at pretty sceneries and listen/read good writing. Well, the game **** fails to deliver any of these.

    It's so goddamn bland and uninspired that you can almost taste the unmotivated design team.

    The sceneries are devoid of any real detail. Yes, they look pretty, in a gay-as-hell-21st-century-progressive-fairytale sort of way. There just isn't anything of interest to look at. Forget the interiors and computer huds from Full Throttle.
    Also, the characters don't show any **** emotion. The voice acting is the typical sedated crap you get nowadays. It's almost like the developers tell the actors to not put themselves into the characters, but instead make them all sound the same. Plus, as the expressions from the characters' faces change pretty much NOTHING, the game doesn't really put a definite emotion through.

    The game world is simply not interesting. Other thing that bugged me was when they zoomed the characters' faces in the dialogues; you can see the poor quality of the backgrounds up close: blurry, not very defined; you can pretty much tell they were made with photoshop in a hurry. I'm certain that if they had pixelated everything in the game it would all look sharper, and well, better.

    Music was pretty off too. At times it felt pointless and irrelevant. At others, strangely out of mood.

    And the writing is as bland as everything else. Not funny, not moody. This guy **** lost it. Forget the "nerd" 1990's-Simpsons humor you would find in DotT, you'll find none of that.

    What else can I say, I did not expect too much when I saw the first screens they released way back, expecting a sort of snuggle-feel-good game, but hell this was really mediocre. What the **** did they do all this time? Were did all the money go, to voice actors?
    Expand

See all 69 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.