Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 287 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first graphic adventure by Tim Schafer in 16 years, Broken Age began with the help of a record-breaking Kickstarter campaign. Broken Age is a timeless coming-of-age story of barfing trees and talking spoons. Vella Tartine and Shay Volta are two teenagers in strangely similar situations, but radically different worlds. The player can freely switch between their stories, helping them take control of their own lives, and dealing with the unexpected adventures that follow. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Jan 24, 2014
    95
    I haven’t felt this surge of nostalgia and excitement about a game in a long time, and I truly think Broken Age will be looked back fondly as one of the greats. That being said, the first Act is only a few short hours and ended on a nail-biting cliffhanger with no word on how long we’ll be waiting for the rest of the game.
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Broken Age may be unfinished, but it's also delightful, beautiful, utterly charming and you really should play it right this second.
  3. Feb 6, 2014
    86
    Broken Age looks, sounds and plays so great that you can recommend it to anyone.
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    80
    Act One of Broken Age starts off strong, with an incredibly well-written storyline that props up some occasionally weak puzzle work. Let's hope Double Fine can follow through with Act Two when it arrives later this year.
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    Act 1 of Broken Age is a point and click adventure game in heart and soul, but doesn’t reach the heights of the LucasArts games of old. The game is beautiful and tells a great story; a snack to drift off to during these dark and dank days.
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    I can't say if Broken Age is all that you hoped it would be. I for one found that this first act juggles its serious core story, humor and absurdities splendidly. My backer dollars seem very well invested, indeed.
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    70
    Broken Age's world may be fun to explore, but don't get too comfortable. Just as you fall into a steady groove with its story and puzzles, the game ends. Thankfully, the ending provides some resolution while also leaving you excited for the second act.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 70
  2. Negative: 10 out of 70
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    If you like point n' click adventures I can highly recommend this game.

    Some old school fans have some qualms, a lot are complaining that
    it is too easy, which it's not super hard I guess sure, but I personally thought some of the frustratingly difficult hair pulling puzzles of 90's games were effing annoying and not at all conducive to a fun gaming experience, I will say I think they are harder than the Telltale games (Which isn't saying much because those are really aimed at being super easy to bring in the broadest audience). It is short, only around 4 hours, but this is just the first half, the second should be released sometime later this year.

    But while short, it's a coherent, fun, engrossing story with characters that you really connect to and love even in the few hours you are with them.

    The voice acting is incredible and done by an all star cast and the score is magnificent, and the score is fantastic, I didn't really know about Peter McConnell before but I am definitely going to watch his work more closely after this.
    Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Broken Age (a.k.a., the Double Fine Adventure) just cemented how much I miss adventure games. After years of FPS and RTS (and years of not playing much of anything), playing Broken Age was a breath of fresh air -- the story is great (nicely done Mr. Schafer), the art and effects are the best I have seen in this genera, and the animation and controls feel like I remember (though part of me misses the old talk/use/put control options and the often funny dialog that came from them, these new controls will work much better on tablets). My only downside is that the puzzles were easier than I hoped, which moved me through areas too quickly to enjoy the work that went into them -- I'm confident Act II will beef up the complexity. Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    From the art style to the music to the voice acting, Broken Age proves to be a solid game with a lot of personality on its own. The fine humor on the dialogues make for an unique experience, from start to finish.

    Puzzles are logical, so an experienced adventure gamer won't be stuck so easily. Some people will find it too easy, some people will get stuck on one or two of them, but will quickly find the answer, for sure.

    The interface is simple yet elegant. Based on a touch screen UX, it does not do any favor to PC gamers. Dragging and dropping items is not exactly the best solution for mouse support, but it is not a deal breaker at all.

    At some point later on the game you will realize that you are looking to a classic point and click, witch a beautiful landscape, some backtrack action and amazing character personalities. I played this game with a smile on my face from the beginning to the end (4 hours long), and one cannot ignore this.

    It is not Tim Schafer's masterpiece (yet), but its characters and the story makes this one of the best out there.
    Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    Fantastic game that is a great first experience to adventure games or a welcome return for fans. The first act definitely teases how awesome the second act will be and is a ton of fun to play through. The worlds and art is incredible and unique. The score is on par with films and very well done. Loved the game and can't wait till act 2! Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2014
    8
    Broken Age act I is the first half of a point-and-click adventure game. Overall I really liked this game. It has some of the best storytelling I have seen in a video game of any genre. It also has fantastic art and voice acting. The music and sounds also are very impressive. The overall production values of the game are top notch. The only drawback for me was the difficulty level. It was a little too easy, especially the Shay half of the game. This may be partly because I have played a lot of adventure games, so I have come to expect a certain difficulty level. I think this is a good adventure game for experienced player, and an excellent game for players who are new to the point-and-click adventure genre. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    7
    Tim Schafer's first adventure game after many years is finally here, and it looks and sounds fantastic! The art style is unusual, but charming and the animations are all very well done. The music and voice acting is spectacular, too, both on a level that we haven't see before on adventure games. I also enjoyed the storytelling and the characters, although some of them are rather flat and one-dimensional (as often in Shafer's games). The one that stands out as extraordinarily well done is the enigmatic "wolf", Marek. The world and locations overall are fairly interesting, although some of it seems rather randomly packed together (e.g. the lumberjack, who is funny, but doesn't appear to fit into the story at all).

    The one point where the game fails to deliver is the puzzles. They are simply way too easy. I didn't even get stuck once in the entire first act and basically played it through in one go. It felt more like a click-through animated story than an adventure games at times, there was really no challenge at all. Even the somewhat more difficult ones were all run-off-the-mill adventure game puzzles (e.g. combining two items in the inventory, the star map pattern matching). This is regrettable as the makers should have known that their core audience (the KS backers) are seasoned adventure gamers. What made it worse is that the game was repeatedly telling me what to do before I even had a chance to explore and think about the puzzles myself. In that way, it robbed me of the sense accomplishment of finding the solution by myself. Maybe a choice of difficulty at the start (enable/disable hints) could have improved the experience for me.

    The game also lacked some depth. The first act felt short (partially because it was too easy) and had few rooms, few items, and too little dialog. It felt like too much effort was spent on art, animation, music and voice acting, and too little on actual game play and creating a rich and deep world.
    Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    God, I need to vent this. Broken Age is a REALLY bad game; bland as hell. Basically they **** up everything. Not only is it a bad, boring and shallow game, but it becomes glaringly obvious that it is a big step back from LucasArts games.

    There's no look/take/use/etc. Only left click and everything will be conveniently solved for you. The problem with this is that the game lacks the descriptions you would get by looking at stuff in the backgrounds; plus there hardly is anything to interact with. This sadly means that a big part of the charm - listening to humorous or moody phrases or one liners is absolutely gone.

    But the worst part is not the controls, or the easy as **** puzzles.

    As Ron Gilbert recently said in an interview with Tim Schafer, adventure games are really an excuse to look at pretty sceneries and listen/read good writing. Well, the game **** fails to deliver any of these.

    It's so goddamn bland and uninspired that you can almost taste the unmotivated design team.

    The sceneries are devoid of any real detail. Yes, they look pretty, in a gay-as-hell-21st-century-progressive-fairytale sort of way. There just isn't anything of interest to look at. Forget the interiors and computer huds from Full Throttle.
    Also, the characters don't show any **** emotion. The voice acting is the typical sedated crap you get nowadays. It's almost like the developers tell the actors to not put themselves into the characters, but instead make them all sound the same. Plus, as the expressions from the characters' faces change pretty much NOTHING, the game doesn't really put a definite emotion through.

    The game world is simply not interesting. Other thing that bugged me was when they zoomed the characters' faces in the dialogues; you can see the poor quality of the backgrounds up close: blurry, not very defined; you can pretty much tell they were made with photoshop in a hurry. I'm certain that if they had pixelated everything in the game it would all look sharper, and well, better.

    Music was pretty off too. At times it felt pointless and irrelevant. At others, strangely out of mood.

    And the writing is as bland as everything else. Not funny, not moody. This guy **** lost it. Forget the "nerd" 1990's-Simpsons humor you would find in DotT, you'll find none of that.

    What else can I say, I did not expect too much when I saw the first screens they released way back, expecting a sort of snuggle-feel-good game, but hell this was really mediocre. What the **** did they do all this time? Were did all the money go, to voice actors?
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.