Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: George Stobbart and Nico Collard reunite for a new adventure in Broken Sword: The Serpent's Curse.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    In its current form, The Serpent’s Curse is half finished. The second episode isn’t due out until sometime this month but do not fear, episode one is pretty substantial and ends with a satisfactory cliffhanger.
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    80
    Fans of the series shouldn’t hesitate – this is the Broken Sword you know and love – but I can understand other people being wary.
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    80
    There may be some complaints about the game being a linear affair, with nothing in the way of free-form exploration. Those complaints are absolutely accurate, but I hardly view it's linear approach as something to whine about. It lets the story run it's course without the chance of the player running off the rails trying to dig around through a branching story.
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    70
    It's a real pleasure to meet again with George Stobbart et Nico, above all when it's in a 2D game, which cleverly comes back to the origins. But let's face the truth : Broken Sword 5 is a very nice point'n click, but it's still not perfect. Puzzles are too easy and the game is technically old fashioned.
  5. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    I love Broken Swords and this one returns to the tradition of the first two games, which are the best in the series. If only this new sword were longer... [02/2014, p.64]
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    60
    Broken Sword 5 could be a nice dip in the past, but the puzzles are too easy to solve and the story waits long before due time to get interesting. There’s the second episode to hope in but perhaps, as in the case of the relationship between Nico and George, letting go of the past could really be for the best.
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    50
    The Serpent's Curse plays like a classic point-and-click adventure, but the story takes too long to get interesting, the characters are quite implausible and the puzzles are hardly a challenge.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    Really dont get the critics reviews all 60% are they copying and pasting from each other? Ratings make no sense when a playable beautifullyReally dont get the critics reviews all 60% are they copying and pasting from each other? Ratings make no sense when a playable beautifully crafted game like this gets 60% and an unplayable mess like BF4 gets 83% or more. As for my review of the game I'm not that far in but very happy with what I've seen thus far.

    It's much more in line with the first 2 Broken swords beautiful hand drawn 2D graphics and enjoyable *if not overly difficult puzzles'. I hope this is a big success and Beneath a Steel Sky 2 is equally successful the original is one of my favourite games of all time.
    Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Soy un gran fan de Broken Sword, los 2 primeros juegos de la saga, por historia y por jugabilidad están por encima de los 2 siguientes (BS3 ySoy un gran fan de Broken Sword, los 2 primeros juegos de la saga, por historia y por jugabilidad están por encima de los 2 siguientes (BS3 y BS4).

    Doné 175$ para que viera la luz este nuevo capítulo y estoy disfrutando del juego, aqui dejo mis impresiones.

    Pro BS5 La esencia del primer Broken Sword está presente en Broken Sword 5: La maldición de la Serpiente ya que se recupera la jugabilidad, la inmersión en la historia, los dialogos, el colorido y los puzzles, juego a la altura de los primeros.

    Contras: Puzzles demasiado faciles, no me gusta la separación en capitulos.

    Salah eh din
    Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    I like this game and hope it will more BS in the future. The graphics is fantastic and the story is very well built. It is time to come backI like this game and hope it will more BS in the future. The graphics is fantastic and the story is very well built. It is time to come back to a meaningful games and stop playing stupid violent shooting an exploding games. The critics were not professional at all by rating it 6/10. They are just supporting the stupid shooting over rated games. We have to understand that this kind of adventure games should be supported and not discourage them. Over all fantastic game and go ahead guys. good job. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    I'm often amused by how, for some games, the "official critics" response to a game can be far from the general public appreciation. My guessI'm often amused by how, for some games, the "official critics" response to a game can be far from the general public appreciation. My guess is that, two main factors are responsible for this. The first is that, nowadays, as games are being touted as a serious art form, it seems that critics feel as if they now must theorize on what makes a good game, they built up expectations on what a game should be and in some places, the meeting of this expectation simply replaces sheer enjoyment and appreciation. The second factor is that, most critics don't have the time to properly review all the games that come out and they simply "inspire" themselves from other "reputable" opinions. Actually, concerning the Broken Sword 5, I wouldn't be surprised if most of the mixed reviews we see are just clones of the RockPaperShotgun's appreciation.

    As for myself, as most of the other reviewers around, I feel that that Broken Sword 5 is on par with the first two games of the series. The story unfolds in very natural way and is punctuated with glimpses of the same silly humour that made Broken Sword 1 & 2 so enjoyable. I felt that the intrigue, while verging on the mystic and mysterious, was told in credible and enticing way. As a first episode of two, by definition, it is incomplete and somewhat of an intro to the whole story but it sure got me hooked into playing the second act.

    On the technical side, the graphics are mostly very well done. Every background is hand-drawn and they all are, with respect to the series, colourful and lovely detailed. As for the characters, while being 3D rendered, they do integrate very well with their surroundings but to be honest, the animation part is 70% of what it should have been. (The main problem is that most of the characters have very limited movement routines and it sometimes leads to situations where you really feel like playing with cheap puppets). Most of voice acting was equally good with the notable exception of Nico - her accent is just off and her intonations are often misplaced. As for the music, it does the job well enough (nothing overstated).

    In the end, if you enjoyed the first Broken Sword games, chances are you'll really appreciate this one. And if you're somewhat new to point and click adventures, I guess this would be a good title to begin with (in my opinion, it surely is far more appreciable then most of that Daedalic have done in last few months)!
    Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    The serpents curse returns in this excellent sequel, broken sword 5. Serpent must navigate his way through many challenges in this point andThe serpents curse returns in this excellent sequel, broken sword 5. Serpent must navigate his way through many challenges in this point and click adventure wich will have viewers on the edge of there seets in suspense, reccomended to people who like adventures. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    One of the most beautifully drawn point & click game I've seen so far. The backdrops blend nicely with the character model. The familiarOne of the most beautifully drawn point & click game I've seen so far. The backdrops blend nicely with the character model. The familiar character voices are great. However, the head scratching starts at here: I don't know. The story didn't excite me as I hoped for. The dialog, although well delivered, it didn't feel inspiring. I planned to play through it without any guide, but got stuck a few times and had to look up the solution; usually, the solution was to use some item I somehow managed to not use with everything else, or a talk option has show up by someone. Part one completed, George was more in the center of events than Nico. Hopefully, part 2 will balance things out for Nico. The game came with exclusive first day bugs; scenes crashing, cutscenes not playing, etc.; but at least the autosave saves the day. I can't understand why studios release their game on Thrusday or Friday, so they are unable fix the most annoying bugs due to the weekend? Despite the shortcomings, I'd recommend this game; buy it now, wait for the free update and play it as a whole. I would give this game 7.5 so far. I'll revise my score once the second half is out. Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2013
    1
    This game was so disappointing that I don't feel as if I'd played a new Broken Sword at all. The thing I found the most disturbing was the wayThis game was so disappointing that I don't feel as if I'd played a new Broken Sword at all. The thing I found the most disturbing was the way George and Nico's characterisation in The Serpent's Curse was absolutely different to that of the first two games. In the new game, they appear to lack ideals, critical faculty and their humane, ironic sense of humour. The way Nico is presented in the new game seems misogynist, she has no ideas of her own and the new actor plays her insipidly. Most of the female characters are man-hungry caricatures. The actual plot, dialogue and characters are childish and amateurish.
    I honestly love George and Nico in the first two games, and that's why I'm not looking forward to the second half of this one.
    Expand

See all 44 User Reviews