Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    90
    The best Broken Sword game since the original. [Issue#148, p.113]
  2. On the second part of the latest Broken Sword thriller The Serpent’s Curse, George and Nico’s journey continues from the point where they left. Great hand drawn 2D graphics and voice acting keeps on like the first part but there is a little bit lack on the storyline.
  3. 80
    Finally, everything that we love (and hate) about Broken Sword clicks together. Anyone who loves the series will be right at home. [Issue#242]
  4. May 1, 2014
    80
    The game does a good job of replicating the atmosphere of the first two two-dimensional Broken Sword games, successfully integrating new 3D modelling with traditional hand-drawn backgrounds and old-school point and click techniques.
  5. Apr 27, 2014
    80
    The fifth episode is one of the best entries in the whole series. George and Nico are more charming than ever and almost everything feels right. Nevertheless it's a pity that many players had to play it split in two.
  6. Apr 25, 2014
    80
    Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse is a witty adventure that follows in the footsteps of its forebears delivering a captivating story with great characters and humor.
  7. Apr 23, 2014
    80
    Splitting it into two parts didn't do it any favours, but when taken as a whole, Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse is a gorgeous, clever, and witty adventure that skilfully follows in the footsteps of its forebears.
  8. Apr 21, 2014
    80
    Played as a single game, it’s incredible, but as I was made to experience it, it falls a little short of greatness. I wish I were reviewing the full game, because the complete package deserves a higher score. The two halves compliment each other perfectly, but on their own, they are wanting.
  9. Jun 16, 2014
    78
    A mildly unsatisfying conclusion that still has enough charm and challenge to justify fans' faith in the project. [July 2014, p.88]
  10. Jul 3, 2014
    76
    Quotation Forthcoming
  11. May 7, 2014
    75
    Apart from those silly puzzles, a rushed ending and the absolute conviction that Revolution made a colossal mistake in splitting the game into two (and did it poorly anyway), Broken Sword 5 is still a good game and a worthwhile new chapter in the classic series.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    Now that both parts are released, it plays and feels like a good old point&click game. The voiceover feels a bit polished in the second part,Now that both parts are released, it plays and feels like a good old point&click game. The voiceover feels a bit polished in the second part, definitely packs more love than before. However, what I still don't get is why Nico is barely playable? The puzzles seemed to be more logical than I remembered, got stuck only twice due to missed hotspots. I would definitely support the next installment. Full Review »
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    9
    Revolution has finally made it: after 16 years of waiting we have a chapter of this great adventure which can stand toe-to-toe with the firstRevolution has finally made it: after 16 years of waiting we have a chapter of this great adventure which can stand toe-to-toe with the first two installments of the franchise. The graphic of the background and the characters is great. The story is interesting and accelerates from a quiet investigation toward a fast-paced journey around the world. The game is a little too easy, but in the second episodes there are a couple of very tough riddles. The voice acting is perfect, both in english and in italian. I seriously hope Revolution will continue on producing these games, because they're one of the few companies that still understand how an adventure game should be made. Full Review »