Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1022 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two sons must set out on a perilous journey to bring back the Water of Life to their ailing father.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    The brothers' commitment to their goal and to each other is so strong, the various parts of this game so superbly crafted and woven together, that it's hard not to feel deeply touched when you finally reach the end of the road and see how deftly this game marries its gameplay to its themes in a way few have before.
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is an exquisitely told story set in a world overflowing with personality. It’s an immersive, emotional gem that’s not to be missed.
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    It’s easy to overlook a lot of what makes Brothers unique from first glance, its unassuming style belies a title with a lot more on its mind. But stick with it and you’ll be rewarded with something really quite special.
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    This is a breakthrough in what interactivity can accomplish with little aid from more traditional storytelling mechanics – its resulting importance to this medium is no exaggeration.
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    90
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is a true marriage of gameplay and narrative, and it is frankly a complete triumph.
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    85
    A gorgeous world, bursting with personality. Great storytelling makes up for the short length and unchallenging puzzles.
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons shows that huge budgets aren’t needed to thrill players and say something about the human condition using an interactive medium.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 208
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Great storyline, it speaks to me like no other game I've played so far. Really connects the player to the game and makes you feel somethingGreat storyline, it speaks to me like no other game I've played so far. Really connects the player to the game and makes you feel something special all thru every second of it! Love Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    All I will say about this game is, play it on your own in one sitting (2-3 hours). Stick with it, let yourself become immersed in the world.All I will say about this game is, play it on your own in one sitting (2-3 hours). Stick with it, let yourself become immersed in the world. Enjoy it and see it through to the end.

    I feel sorry for the reviewers on here who did not grasp the significance of the ending. Most will, however, and (although I won't spoil anything) I will say that no game I have ever played in over 20 years has had such an emotional effect on me. You have to experience it for yourself to understand.
    Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    1 2 братьев.
    Уверяю 300 игры.
    Более
    1 2 братьев.
    Уверяю 300 игры.

    Более сайте.

    Так
    Collapse
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    A beautiful and emotional game that perfectly merges story telling and gameplay. My only gripe would be that it is too short to get fullyA beautiful and emotional game that perfectly merges story telling and gameplay. My only gripe would be that it is too short to get fully emotionally involved with the characters, there also are some bad textures but all that does not matter much as this is one of the best story driven games I've ever played. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    This game is a gem. i didn't expect to like it so much. The story and ending are simply amazing. I recommend this game to anyone who likes aThis game is a gem. i didn't expect to like it so much. The story and ending are simply amazing. I recommend this game to anyone who likes a good adventure. The game is only 3 hours long and there is not too much of a challenge but overall it's an awesome experience. i enjoyed this more than any of these recent blockbuster games. Yes it's that good. 9/10 Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    Wow. What an amazing experience. The premise that you control each brothers with a thumbstick is genius. It makes your connection to themWow. What an amazing experience. The premise that you control each brothers with a thumbstick is genius. It makes your connection to them (through gameplay) even larger. The story itself isn't really something we haven't seen before, but the presentation of the story is so engrossing with it's minimalistic approach. Quite frankly, a very unique and spectacular game. I also thought the lenght of the game was perfect, clocking in at about three hours. Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2015
    1
    Brothers is a game you want to like and love, but unfortunately, it just doesn't carry the epic weight you expect it to. It looks nice, itBrothers is a game you want to like and love, but unfortunately, it just doesn't carry the epic weight you expect it to. It looks nice, it sounds nice, and it feels nice, but the story is short, uncomplicated, and anticlimactic. If you're a 10 year old who suffered from a family that fell apart and you're looking for a coping mechanism to help get over it, this would be a decent experience, but aside from that, it will leave you empty, vain, and asking for a whole lot more. The game's for free right now in the first half of February on XBox 360's Games with Gold, so download it if you're curious about the hype, but definitely don't buy it. Expand

See all 208 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.