Brutal Legend PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 387 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 387

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2013
    4
    I really enjoyed this game... for about two hours. The idea is fantastic, the humor is top-notch, the world is interesting and the voice acting is surprisingly solid (I fully expected someone like Lemmy to phone it in but he really doesn't). The actual gameplay, however, gets old very fast. Fights require little more than just button mashing, the whole RTS element just flat out doesn'tI really enjoyed this game... for about two hours. The idea is fantastic, the humor is top-notch, the world is interesting and the voice acting is surprisingly solid (I fully expected someone like Lemmy to phone it in but he really doesn't). The actual gameplay, however, gets old very fast. Fights require little more than just button mashing, the whole RTS element just flat out doesn't work, the side missions will bore you to tears, the car somehow manages to be both slow and difficult to drive, and, worst of all, exploration is tedious since there's no minimap or compass (in fact, there's no HUD at all), and the main map isn't all that great either. There's just nothing good about the gameplay at all. It's the very definition of style over substance. And let's not forget how slapped-together the port is: right now the game has 14 updates, one of which supposedly increases performance by 20% (did anyone actually test this game?), and it still doesn't run all that great on my low-end machine despite the fact that it looks positively Medieval. A pretty big disappointment. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    2
    Complete waste of money. Unbelievable heavy metal, Spinal Tap-esque game w/ Jack Black packaged in possibly one of the worst technical messes in history. Play a game like Arkham Asylum and get 60+ FPS at full max settings and then stare in utter and complete disbelief at this game which looks like something out of 2002 (literally) and has trouble running at 10-15 FPS. Your eyes willComplete waste of money. Unbelievable heavy metal, Spinal Tap-esque game w/ Jack Black packaged in possibly one of the worst technical messes in history. Play a game like Arkham Asylum and get 60+ FPS at full max settings and then stare in utter and complete disbelief at this game which looks like something out of 2002 (literally) and has trouble running at 10-15 FPS. Your eyes will bleed at how badly this game runs. As bad as I wanted to continue the story I had to shelf this game after about an hour just due to how badly it runs. I had to lower this game to absolute minimum settings at -640 by 480- resolution to get anything playable and that is like 30-35 fps and needless to say it looks so bad it makes your eyes bleed. Maxing out the settings and it looks like something not bad out of say 2006 and runs at like 5 FPS. It seems the problem has to do with having a vast game world with all kinds of little things going on... in any case this for me, turned out to be a big waste of money. Art direction, music, writing are top notch.. but I wouldn't buy this game w/o trying a demo first unless you have no problems whatsoever with absolute minimum settings and running at 640 resolution like something out of 1999. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    I WOULD NOT TRUST METACRITIC ON THIS ONE ....Is someone paying people to rate this game well? Not to mention only 17 actual USERS on PC took the time to review it. I got this game for free, and i don't know what to do... i really wish i hadn't even spent accepting the gift and installing it to my computer because it was NOT worth it, even for free. The game has NO replay value whatsoever,I WOULD NOT TRUST METACRITIC ON THIS ONE ....Is someone paying people to rate this game well? Not to mention only 17 actual USERS on PC took the time to review it. I got this game for free, and i don't know what to do... i really wish i hadn't even spent accepting the gift and installing it to my computer because it was NOT worth it, even for free. The game has NO replay value whatsoever, and not even any true game value either it is an over produced FLOP. THIS NEEDED TO BE SAID, AND I WILL BE VERY SUSPICIOUS (and probably not surprised) IF THIS COMMENT IS NOT ALLOWED OR TAKEN OFF. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    2
    Played this for about an hour and uninstalled it... THought it looked interesting because I like this sort of music but seriously the graphics and gameplay are very poor... I don't know how this has scored so well...
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    4
    Good music dont heal your frustration from bad game playing machanics when this game often ruins your hard try because it dont handle right. full of bugs
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    1
    Apart from the music, this game is dreadful. The story is basically non-existent. The gameplay is clunky and the RTS elements are just confusing and detract from whatever game there is here. Would probably appeal to juvenile metalheads.
  7. Jun 10, 2014
    3
    Pese a que tenía muy buena pinta creo que se queda lejos en todos los aspectos deseables de un juego que pretendía ser un AAA. A menos que te llame mucho, mucho la atención yo no lo compraría.
  8. Jun 20, 2014
    3
    I play both sandbox action adventures and strategy games a lot, and even though this should be a perfect game with the style and all that, it's just unplayable.
  9. Nov 20, 2014
    4
    Terrible RTS elements ruin what could have otherwise been a pretty good game. The hack and slash combat is good enough. Combine that with the rock soundtrack and famous voice actors and you have yourself a game destined to be popular. However, they added some RTS gameplay which takes up the majority of your time later on in the game and it's not fun and quite annoying. There is also a goodTerrible RTS elements ruin what could have otherwise been a pretty good game. The hack and slash combat is good enough. Combine that with the rock soundtrack and famous voice actors and you have yourself a game destined to be popular. However, they added some RTS gameplay which takes up the majority of your time later on in the game and it's not fun and quite annoying. There is also a good amount of stability problems and framerate issues. A better tutorial to all the gameplay elements and RTS mode would have helped greatly. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    70
    If you look at its style and atmosphere, Brütal Legend is the amazing journey into the depth of the metal fan's soul. However, the game itself is not so special - stereotypical missions, not very optimized controls but mainly its malfunction game mechanics preventing Tim Schafer to reach the Metal Mount Olympus. Anyway, the game is working and entertaining at the same time. And that is the most important thing about this game title.
  2. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 10, 2013
    91
    It’s like a frantic, crazy rock festival: you might have lost your shoes, you might have fuzzy recollections of vomiting, but you can’t wait to go back right in, as soon as possible. That’s what Brutal Legend’s all about. [April 2013]
  3. May 20, 2013
    85
    I'll readily admit that I think Brutal Legend's style outweighs the substance of the game, but dammit, why should apologize for liking it more than I probably should?