Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the mind of Tim Schafer (Psychonauts, Grim Fandango) comes Brutal Legend, a heavy metal action game starring Jack Black (School of Rock, Tenacious D). You are heavy metal roadie Eddie Riggs, hurled back in time to the mythical Age of Metal when the world was formed and ruled by the power of Rock! Armed with a broadaxe, a guitar, and a big block V8 you set off on an epic quest to assemble an army of headbangers, hotrods, barbarians, demonic dominatrix and the undead. With the wings of a demon and the power of a Rock God, you must lead humanity in an epic war against its barbaric overlords, and carve your name forever into the Brutal Legend. In Brutal Legend, you'll roam through a massive open-world born from the hell fires of heavy metal. In this world you can rev up any vehicle, rock its weapons, and crush the enemies of metal. You'll also learn to devastate with your guitar, playing face-melting solos that actually melt the faces of your enemies, command savage armies, bang skulls in hand-to-hand combat, and rise like a bat out of hell to command blood-drenched action from above. As if that wasn't enough, you can slay your friends and foes online, then play guitar licks on their graves! Of course, Brutal Legend is only complete with the most ultimate heavy metal soundtrack ever assembled in a game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    100
    Brutal Legend is better than it’s ever been, both as a single-player open-world game unlike any you’ve ever played and as one of the best unique takes on real-time strategy since Sacrifice.
  2. May 20, 2013
    85
    I'll readily admit that I think Brutal Legend's style outweighs the substance of the game, but dammit, why should apologize for liking it more than I probably should?
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    84
    $19.99 USD is a more than fair price to ask for this game, and considering how Steam discounts usually go, it won’t be long before this title is an absolute must-have for anyone who can tolerate the curious RTS design decisions.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    Brutal Legend comes late to PC, but it doesn't matter. Even with its minor technological issues, Double Fine's game continues to offer a charming and humorous mixture of Sandbox, Real-Time Strategy and Hack and Slash.
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Brutal Legend is the same game somebody loved and somebody didn't on consoles almost two years ago with very few additions.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    75
    All in all, as a digital re-release for $20, you can’t go wrong with Brutal Legend PC. At the very least, you’ll appreciate its soundtrack, characters, and metal-inspired world… The game could be considered a bonus and it'd still be worthwhile.
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Brutal Legend's heavy metal take on real-time strategy makes a solid transition to the PC, though playing with a controller is still the way to go.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 59
  2. Negative: 8 out of 59
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Put simply, this is one of the finest games I've ever played. A solid third-person brawler with RTS and RPG elements, it tops off its winning formula with a killer soundtrack comprised of 70's metal and 80's hair band tunes that will be running through your head for hours after a play session. Look for cameos by major names in the music industry, including Ozzy as the Guardian of Metal! Main character Eddie, a rodie-turned-messiah, is voiced by Jack Black and is one of the most likable protagonists in years. The only flaw (and this is based on the PC version) is a wealth of annoying bugs, but the developers are working tirelessly to squash them. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    What they have done here is brought the platform game to the pc which in my opinion they should of done in the first place. if you love metal music you'll love this game and has jack black for comic relief. Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Awesome style, epic music, brutal gameplay! That game is perfect, and not laggin textures, not promblems with animation in cutscenes can't change my mind. Wery good, and orginal multiplayer. THIS! GAME! IS PERFECT! Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    Setting, action, strategy and of course rock all tuned well. It's really the sum of it's parts that make this game such a joy to play individually they're average but together...together they make one helluva brutal legend.

    That's something I think a lot of the reviews here haven't taken into account, this is a huge mashup of genres and each part taken in isolation is worse then games focused entirely on them...that should be obvious...but apparently it isn't. The sum is far greater then it's parts though and well worth a buy.
    Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    Brutal Legends greatest flaws are more based around poorly attempted RTS gameplay during massive battles as well as poor optimization and a bunch and a bunch of bugs, Yet despite all the flaws and sometimes flat dull humor the game manages to bring in this special kind of charming that compels you to continue playing with a very metal story line and great voice acting and cameos from some of the best well knowing metal artists, ozzy being one and having one of the BEST soundtracks ever created for a game, yet not quite as good as the soundtrack to hotline Miami i award Brutal Legend with a modest 7/10 for bringing back to the true Child of Stan for which i have kept buried until now. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    6
    I just finished the game. Though it is a great metal tribute the gameplay feels really messy to me. If you don't expect it to be a great game you will have lots of fun. Collapse
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    I WOULD NOT TRUST METACRITIC ON THIS ONE ....Is someone paying people to rate this game well? Not to mention only 17 actual USERS on PC took the time to review it. I got this game for free, and i don't know what to do... i really wish i hadn't even spent accepting the gift and installing it to my computer because it was NOT worth it, even for free. The game has NO replay value whatsoever, and not even any true game value either it is an over produced FLOP. THIS NEEDED TO BE SAID, AND I WILL BE VERY SUSPICIOUS (and probably not surprised) IF THIS COMMENT IS NOT ALLOWED OR TAKEN OFF. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews