User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaredT
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    This is an out an out arcade game representing excellent value for money, superb graphics and extremely addictive playability. Multiplayer is awesome and with over 50 missions has plenty of longevity. Highly recommended.
  2. TrevorB
    May 30, 2009
    9
    Great game, my only complaint is the inability to aim your cannons as destroying land targets is anoying.
  3. DanielC
    Jan 24, 2009
    9
    Great visuals, engaging single player gameplay, and the chance to sink friends and strangers alike in multiplayer play, all for a budget price. The single player campaign also has repeat playability, each time you can play the maps in a different order or try using different ships, and no two completed games will be the same. All in all very enjoyable and easily one of the best games Great visuals, engaging single player gameplay, and the chance to sink friends and strangers alike in multiplayer play, all for a budget price. The single player campaign also has repeat playability, each time you can play the maps in a different order or try using different ships, and no two completed games will be the same. All in all very enjoyable and easily one of the best games I've played in quite some time. Expand
  4. SallyG
    Jan 24, 2009
    9
    Bought Buccaneer as was bored, and it's a really fun game to play! Been coming back for weeks now 8) Made by two people too ! amazing !!
  5. Mehve
    Apr 6, 2009
    6
    Decent enough, but I can't help but feel that it's just trying to cash in on the pirate-craze. Very limited room for tactics in this game, to say nothing of the absence of concern for wind direction, and Age-of-Sail fans will probably find themselves wanting. A rather casual, almost arcade-ish sort of pirate game. Fine for some, I suppose, maybe I'm just spoiled by Decent enough, but I can't help but feel that it's just trying to cash in on the pirate-craze. Very limited room for tactics in this game, to say nothing of the absence of concern for wind direction, and Age-of-Sail fans will probably find themselves wanting. A rather casual, almost arcade-ish sort of pirate game. Fine for some, I suppose, maybe I'm just spoiled by similarly-themed offerings over the years. Definitely try the demo first. Expand
  6. AgentK
    Dec 12, 2009
    3
    I gave this game a 3 simply cause the graphics look amazing... Other than that i feel this game is un orginal and a complete rip off... Now some of you are thinking how is it an un orginal rip off, Its quite simple actually Google: Sid meiers Pirates... I happen to be a big fan of sids and i know him well, i love his orginal game pirates and I feel selling a game simular, Very simular to I gave this game a 3 simply cause the graphics look amazing... Other than that i feel this game is un orginal and a complete rip off... Now some of you are thinking how is it an un orginal rip off, Its quite simple actually Google: Sid meiers Pirates... I happen to be a big fan of sids and i know him well, i love his orginal game pirates and I feel selling a game simular, Very simular to his idea is outrageous... Expand
  7. DavidD
    Apr 30, 2009
    3
    The graphics are really good, the ship to ship combat isn't bad, and the music is decent. But good luck trying to hit anything smaller than a ship in many of the missions which require you to hit cannon batteris and such. The cannon spread is random and the trajectory is loosely based on the direction you are tunring your ship, so it is very easy for little cannons to chew your ship The graphics are really good, the ship to ship combat isn't bad, and the music is decent. But good luck trying to hit anything smaller than a ship in many of the missions which require you to hit cannon batteris and such. The cannon spread is random and the trajectory is loosely based on the direction you are tunring your ship, so it is very easy for little cannons to chew your ship to ribbons while you line up the perfect shot. If you do merchant missions over and over again, the game could be a good time-waster. If you like to be frustrated and angry, go ahead and play through the game. Expand
  8. JustinR
    Nov 16, 2009
    3
    It's a sailing game without wind! As a result, there are no tactics, just a slug fest. Whoever buys the strongest ship wins the slug fest. Other flaws (though I think the absence of wind seals it): You cannot board opponent ships. No swashbuckling for you! The cannons reload in seconds. There is only one type of shot (no chain or grape), and your crew is apparently unarmed. The ships It's a sailing game without wind! As a result, there are no tactics, just a slug fest. Whoever buys the strongest ship wins the slug fest. Other flaws (though I think the absence of wind seals it): You cannot board opponent ships. No swashbuckling for you! The cannons reload in seconds. There is only one type of shot (no chain or grape), and your crew is apparently unarmed. The ships are all invented, rather than using actual designs. Expand
  9. BadGame
    Jan 11, 2010
    0
    TL;DR? It's crap. Don't buy it. If you did I feel for you, I hope you got it cheap. Worst naval game ever. Its slow to play, having to sail off the map after finishing each level, the AI usually just runs away from you meaning you have to chase it around the map = wasted time. Aiming sucks. No way to see where shots are going beforehand, I could aim ahead and land shots, but the TL;DR? It's crap. Don't buy it. If you did I feel for you, I hope you got it cheap. Worst naval game ever. Its slow to play, having to sail off the map after finishing each level, the AI usually just runs away from you meaning you have to chase it around the map = wasted time. Aiming sucks. No way to see where shots are going beforehand, I could aim ahead and land shots, but the blast is random anyways and even when right next to a target (I mean so close you could board the other vessel if that was included in the game) at least one of the shots misses. Hitting stationary land targets from a stationary ship is broken. Period. Random. Boring (randomness makles it take a LONG time). Can be lethal, since land cannon have good accuracy since you usually have to sit still to shoot them. When you die, the game resets back to the main screen (including loading screen), meaning you have to reload your game entirely. Also, no autosave except immediately after you start a new game. Horrible voice acting and horrible written script. Annoying music, which still comes on at certain screens even after being disabled. Cannot unmap keys, suicide function is redundant because of afformentioned loading idiocy and time waste factor. LENS FLARE MOAR LENS FLARE!!!! Seriously the game is too bright. Sand looks like melted glass. Ocean has more white than blue (Geforce GTX 275, so thats running on max) Broken upgrade system. Bad controls, nothing in HUD to indicate tiller direction, makes lining up broadsides incredibly frustrating. "Fastest ship in the game" has a hard time catching up to fat merchantmen. I gave up when it told me to dock at some guys harbour and I spent 5 minutes trying every possible way to dock. Didn't work, I alt+F4'd and deleted it from my HDD. I'm glad i only paid 9 dollars for this glorified shitpile. I wish I had pirated it instead (Yar) Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. There's no big-budget fanfare for this title, no horde of developers, no committee meetings and embargo dates. Instead you have a clean, honest arcade naval shooter for a little over thirty bucks.
  2. Considering that Buccaneers was created by just two individual developers, the end result is quite impressive.
  3. Nothing deep here but even though the game has very arcade-like roots, taken as a package it works. The scored missions give a reason to try to achieve a quick and efficient solution. This may not be a game that you will sit down and spend hours with, but in increments you should walk away with a smile on your face.