Bulletstorm PC

Bulletstorm Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 751 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons,Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons, which in turn allows them to execute even more inventive moves and exaggerated skillshots. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    95
    An incredibly welcome breath of fresh air. Never underestimate the simple need to let loose and cause some mayhem, and the skill shot system is exceptionally done.
  2. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    With Bulletstorm we're talking about a shooter that makes fun of its own genre, and games as a whole. At the same time, it's extremely funny to play. That combo is just priceless.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    88
    A frantic run into the fighting madness with convincing visual effects. Great in single player, less long-lived in multiplayer, but always original.
  4. 82
    In the end, Bulletstorm will make you smile and also grin with an almost maniacal satisfaction. It's true that the colorful language gets annoying, the action is in the end repetitive and only the wish to unlock new Skillshots keeps you playing through the story, but you mustn't expect anything other than a first-person Gears of War with a touch of Serious Sam's humor and a little of Duke Nukem's personality.
  5. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    While I would prefer to do my shooting in a well-written comedy or a dark drama, the opinion that Bulletstorm fails at both doesn't invalidate the fact that its creative gameplay is new, refreshing, and a total blast to play.
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Does Bulletstorm revolutionize the FPS? Clearly not! Nevertheless, it adds a personal touch to the genre by making a real scroring game like in the old times. All of this in an adventure which is not perfect, but refreshing and fun at once... and the game system is really excellent. Frankly, if you like the genre, do not hesitate to make yourself happy!
  7. Mar 8, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 173
  1. May 18, 2011
    10
    I've waited for this game. This game is very very good, orginal - fresh and fun! Crass humor that's actually entertaining rather thanI've waited for this game. This game is very very good, orginal - fresh and fun! Crass humor that's actually entertaining rather than annoying, placed at all the right times. Expand
  2. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Bulletstorm is everything you want in a shooter and more. Great graphics, amazing set-pieces, and adrenaline fueled action. Away with theBulletstorm is everything you want in a shooter and more. Great graphics, amazing set-pieces, and adrenaline fueled action. Away with the standard aiming for the head like the majority of first-person shooters and bring on the skillshot system which is great for rewarding you with how inventive you can be with slaughtering the oncoming hordes. Nothing is more satisfying than seeing you setup a kill involving the deaths of 5+ enemies at once and seeing your entire screen explode with points which is used as currency for buying ammo and unlocking weapons and upgrades. I played the game on HARD which had the perfect balance of difficulty so that I could focus on killing things creatively just as equally as I had to focus on my own survival. The game has a great story, and the characters who at first may just seem to be loud, crass and two dimensional, slowly flesh out into surprisingly deep and likable characters. Bulletstorm is a lot more intelligent than it may appear to be, and at the end when the credits started rolling I was left wanting more. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I just love it! Finally something fresh and fun. Totally different to what we have been fed in last couple of years. Very nice graphics andI just love it! Finally something fresh and fun. Totally different to what we have been fed in last couple of years. Very nice graphics and vistas. Had a lot of laughs and I think I'll be playing it again and again. Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2015
    8
    this game is so cool shooter. and has unique game play. ex) sniping mode and leash. but, always shooting is a little boring. and there is nothis game is so cool shooter. and has unique game play. ex) sniping mode and leash. but, always shooting is a little boring. and there is no impression in storyline Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2012
    7
    A good game suffers from a bad port job. The first thing about this game that guided me down the road to realizing it was a bad port was theA good game suffers from a bad port job. The first thing about this game that guided me down the road to realizing it was a bad port was the necessity of signing into Games for Windows LIVE to play it. This isn't 2005, nobody uses that anymore. Use Steam. Secondly, and this was big for me, sniping is broke. You can't "free snipe" as you have to lock on to someone (the person you want to snipe) if you want to fire. And i found out that sometimes it doesnt lock on to anyone, especially on the later levels. Third, the story, though a decent length, still isn't something to marvel over and could have been longer. Multiplayer is boring and not worth your time. And on a side note, don't blame pirates for your game not selling well. Blame the **** job you did porting it over to PC. Now go sit in a corner and go think about what you've done. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    I picked this game up for $5, and this review shall reflect that. If I'd spent $40 or more on this game, it would definitely be rated lower.I picked this game up for $5, and this review shall reflect that. If I'd spent $40 or more on this game, it would definitely be rated lower. That being said, I thought this game was alright. Most of the parts came across as just mediocre, though. Some of the parts should have been awesome (remote control in particular), but for some reason they came across as annoying. The shooting mechanics themselves were pretty fun, but some of the skillshots are insanely hard to pull off, and forcing yourself to memorize a formula and try it out on a handful of enemies until you get it right more or less takes you out of the "fast-paced and frantic" atmosphere this game tries to pull off. Add that to enemies that can take INSANE numbers of shots, and a field of view so narrow that you won't be able to see jack money squat to your side, and a great game turns merely good. The graphics are alright and the sound was well done, but holy CRAP is most of the voice acting bad. Ishi is completely and utterly devoid of emotion, even though he has tons of emotional lines, and Sarrano's dialogue sounds like it was written by an 11-year old that just learned about swear words. Even Trishka's acting is bad, for the 2 lines in the whole game that she expresses something other than annoyance. Hunt was well-acted, although I'm not surprised since the voice actor is an absolute pro, and is in EVERYTHING. The second half of this game feels like it drags on forever, which is horrible, since Bulletstorm is NOT a long game by anyone's definition. Games for Windows Live (which is required even through Steam) is an absolute turd, and should never ever ever ever be used in a game again EVER. Overall, it was a fun little distraction, and aside from a few infuriatingly annoying parts, I had fun with it. I'm certainly glad I paid $5 for it though. I'd be upset if I had paid more than $10, honestly. Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    0
    bulletstorm is a great and unique game. the game is just fun and it doesnt take itself to seriously. the graphics are pretty good, especiallybulletstorm is a great and unique game. the game is just fun and it doesnt take itself to seriously. the graphics are pretty good, especially the backrounds. the game also uses colors pretty good. the killshot system and the items you get (like the leash and the guns) are really good and useful. the story is ok, and it serves mainly to forward the action. the characters are a bit boring though. the game does have some problems. the game is buggy! i found a lot of glitches and bugs. while they didnt break the experience, theyre still there and theyre annoying. the game also has a lot of invisible walls.
    overall a great game!!! if you want a different kind of shooter you should definetly check this out!!! buy it!!!
    Expand

See all 173 User Reviews