User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 159
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MosstheBoss
    Apr 17, 2008
    7
    Good ambiance and mood all over. Story is well based on Lovecraft's literature with interesting additions. Voice acting and dialogs are good and reinforce the atmosphere and time setting in the early 20's. Concept is quite unique blending 3 or 4 major genres, and it is one of a very scant group of games based on the Cthulhu mythos. The "however" is that, at least once along the Good ambiance and mood all over. Story is well based on Lovecraft's literature with interesting additions. Voice acting and dialogs are good and reinforce the atmosphere and time setting in the early 20's. Concept is quite unique blending 3 or 4 major genres, and it is one of a very scant group of games based on the Cthulhu mythos. The "however" is that, at least once along the game, all of these genres perform ifalteringly when compared to the average of games using as their core one these styles. Puzzles unintuitive or strangely easy (you are done and do not realize it); shooter erratic and with an infinite amount of respawns; stealth with unreadable patrols to almost render this nice possibility unfeseable; etc. Anyway in most cases the game pulls through and no matter how frustrating it could become, and how close to real insanity it may push you towards, you very soon forget and forgive, since it has the virtue of truly making you curious of what is yonder the next, very dark, corner. Expand
  2. KlasP.
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    Unusually scary game. Good atmosphere. Slightly dodgy controls. Not, really, Cthulhu but as close as it gets in a computer game and that is good.
  3. MikeB.
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    I don't get all the negative reviews of this game. The story is phenomenal, the gameplay is simply riveting. Do you die and have to play a portion of the game over... yes. Is it that frustrating... no! The most I have had to re-do is a 5 minute section, and I needed to do it 3 times until I completed it successfully. So... if the game didn't have any challenging areas it I don't get all the negative reviews of this game. The story is phenomenal, the gameplay is simply riveting. Do you die and have to play a portion of the game over... yes. Is it that frustrating... no! The most I have had to re-do is a 5 minute section, and I needed to do it 3 times until I completed it successfully. So... if the game didn't have any challenging areas it wouldn't be fun! The mood is great, and the graphics are very good. Are they "oblivion" good, no, but they are still quite sharp and the environments are very detailed. This game is simply terrific. You can snag it in malls for $20 now... and for that price you won't be disappointed. The only thing dissappointing about this game is watching ther percent complete crank up towards 100! Expand
  4. NeptuneUK
    Jan 5, 2007
    8
    Fantastic game, lots of interesting gameplay elements and intelligent puzzles set it aside standard first person games. My only gripes with the game is the way the enemy corpses fade away quickly and then constantly respawn until you pass the area. This spoils the otherwise fantastic immersiveness of the rest of the game!
  5. JanosK.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    Wow! Really, scarry... i could not play it more than a hour. But now, it has some unseen addiction, that i must finish it! I'll recommend it to every horror-fan around the globe.
  6. MaartenV.
    Feb 8, 2009
    8
    awesome game. The story is filled with twists and turns and generally a lot of weird shit. Theres no hud wich makes things even nicer and theres this sanity thing wich is a very unique touch to the gameplay. It takes quite long before the action starts and you cant skip the cinematics wich could get annoying. Also the engine is well shaky, it just takes an alt-tab to crash the game. I awesome game. The story is filled with twists and turns and generally a lot of weird shit. Theres no hud wich makes things even nicer and theres this sanity thing wich is a very unique touch to the gameplay. It takes quite long before the action starts and you cant skip the cinematics wich could get annoying. Also the engine is well shaky, it just takes an alt-tab to crash the game. I lost count of how many times i crashed but i kept on playing it and playing it. The story makes up for the imperfections cause its just so surreal and you really want to see it trough to the end. Expand
  7. SebastianDahlM
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Would have been 10 if not for the amount of bugs. Headfirst Productions should have been given a little more time to finish it.
  8. GregoryW.
    Oct 12, 2006
    7
    Great atmospheric game with some intense action scenes. The story is really what drives the game; without it there would be little value to it. I kept playing through all the bugs and difficult sequences just to find out what happens to Jack. After finishing the game I am more interested in reading H.P. Lovecraft than playing another Lovecraft based game. Be warned this game is one of the Great atmospheric game with some intense action scenes. The story is really what drives the game; without it there would be little value to it. I kept playing through all the bugs and difficult sequences just to find out what happens to Jack. After finishing the game I am more interested in reading H.P. Lovecraft than playing another Lovecraft based game. Be warned this game is one of the more difficult out there. Many long portions are played over and over again due to save system. The save system is designed to make the game more intense, but in the end it make it more tiresome than anything. I ran into one big glitch while fighting the Great Ones on the ship. The Great Ones would stop coming, but all my shipmates would continue firing at nothing. For some reason the game would not go to the next portion. I had to restore to a saved game from just as I got on the ship to resolve the problem. Expand
  9. BellinoP.
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    Brilliant, This is the game I have been waiting for. Great story, Exploration and something totally different. It's not just another mindless shooter.
  10. KentB.
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    The game follows the Lovecraft style very well. The main character is influenced by the things he sees, and he gets (annoyingly sometimes) dizzy, hears voices, etc., as he "loses sanity". Find a quiet place to hide and you calm back down, so its generally not a problem, per se. The developers kept the screen clean, so there is no HUD or crosshair. You aim weapons with the metal sites that The game follows the Lovecraft style very well. The main character is influenced by the things he sees, and he gets (annoyingly sometimes) dizzy, hears voices, etc., as he "loses sanity". Find a quiet place to hide and you calm back down, so its generally not a problem, per se. The developers kept the screen clean, so there is no HUD or crosshair. You aim weapons with the metal sites that have become more popular recently (e.g., STALKER, COD4). The plot pulls from many different Lovecraft stories, but perhaps follows the Shadow over Insmouth most closely. If you are looking for a game that has a story to it, I highly recommend this one. Expand
  11. Bruno
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Best horror game, and best video game based on book story ever made. 10/10.
  12. Nardtre
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Yes there are a few shortcomings but a great story and great atmosphere. you don't even get a weapon till a third of the way through but this works very well. Lots of variation in gameplay from chase scenes both on foot and in vehicles. My niece wandered in and caught a glimpse of this game before I sent her out of the room. She didn't sleep for a week and now she seems slightly Yes there are a few shortcomings but a great story and great atmosphere. you don't even get a weapon till a third of the way through but this works very well. Lots of variation in gameplay from chase scenes both on foot and in vehicles. My niece wandered in and caught a glimpse of this game before I sent her out of the room. She didn't sleep for a week and now she seems slightly odd. Buy it. Expand
  13. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    First I must say, this is one of my favourite games. Despite its age, it's still a good game if you're looking for a horror game with a good story. The gun play might not be that good and the game does become slightly less good once you get a gun, but even there it's still above average. I expecialy liked the fact that they didn't add the crosshair, it really adds to the immersion andFirst I must say, this is one of my favourite games. Despite its age, it's still a good game if you're looking for a horror game with a good story. The gun play might not be that good and the game does become slightly less good once you get a gun, but even there it's still above average. I expecialy liked the fact that they didn't add the crosshair, it really adds to the immersion and difficulty. But I don't think that anyone would play this game because of the shooting part (btw you only get your first gun after about 40% of the game). The game really shines when you don't have any weapons and must use stealth and your wits to outsmart your opponents. It also isn't a game to play if you want to blow up some steam, because it also includes some "brain" because of the many puzzles you'll have to solve. Expand
  14. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Even many years later, this remains one of the creepiest, coolest and most fun games around. You don't have to be a Lovecraft fan to love the craft 9sorry) that has been put into this compelling story.
  15. CthulyDoo
    May 16, 2006
    7
    Graphics? Who cares? The graphics are on par with Call of Duty and there was nothing wrong with those or the fun to be had in that game. Don't get hung up on that. This is NOT a shooter, this is an adventure game, so if you want non-stop zombie killing this isn't the place to go. The game is creepy and does capture Lovecraft (almost). This isn't the early Alone in the Dark Graphics? Who cares? The graphics are on par with Call of Duty and there was nothing wrong with those or the fun to be had in that game. Don't get hung up on that. This is NOT a shooter, this is an adventure game, so if you want non-stop zombie killing this isn't the place to go. The game is creepy and does capture Lovecraft (almost). This isn't the early Alone in the Dark style...this is more horror movie based than fantasy. What bothers me, like Call of Duty did, is that the game appears "wide open" but in reality is restricted and has a "stiffness" to it where you need to stay near the path the game presents. The one other thing that bothers me like Call of Duty is that I get headaches from this graphic engine for some reason...no problems in any other first person games, just this style. I liked a lot of the atmosphere that was put into the game and it is fascinating at times with some of the creatures that appear. Having no HUD does make you feel like you are inside of the game world and when I got to Innsmouth and saw a guy peeing in an alley and another digging through the trash, that really suprised me and shows the depth these guys put into the game. Still it is difficult trudging at times through the game and I doubt I could feel motivated to sit all day and play; some of the "fun" is missing for me. Lovecraft stories aren't really about "fun" though, they are about the fantastic vs. puny humans. Yet at times I felt like this was more slaughterhouse than exploration of the quantum-occult wolrd that Lovecraft was best at telling. I give it a 7 (10 means perfection to me, which I think few games are)...not bad but the game needed a little something more to it. Expand
  16. Dec 30, 2011
    4
    It had a fantastic story but was ruined by frequent crashes. The no HUD is good for immersion but it would have helped so much during the times when i was getting shot at.
  17. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    this is my favourite game ever, a very atmospheric game with great story that gives u chills on your spine.i feel so sorry that the company who made this game is no more, i wanted more great horror
  18. Dec 26, 2011
    0
    I despise giving a game based on Lovecraft works a 0, but that's all I can do for this miserable pile of bugs and nonsense. Usually I can ignore bugs and compensate to deal with tiny issues, but this game was full of (as much as I hate this term) game breaking bugs. First off: CRASHES GALORE! I have never seen a game crash this much, even when it was patched. You can't alt+tab and comeI despise giving a game based on Lovecraft works a 0, but that's all I can do for this miserable pile of bugs and nonsense. Usually I can ignore bugs and compensate to deal with tiny issues, but this game was full of (as much as I hate this term) game breaking bugs. First off: CRASHES GALORE! I have never seen a game crash this much, even when it was patched. You can't alt+tab and come back or it crashes. I know this because of the many times I had to (regrettably) look at a guide for the game because what you were supposed to do was so incredibly unclear and ridiculous that I had no other option. A random crowbar the same color as the texture it's sitting on in a random location that is necessary to progress? Check. A conveniently carved out hole in the middle of a solid wooden crate for you to crawl through to get behind an enemy gunner? Check. The final blow for me was at the first appearance of a real monster: a Shoggoth. Straight out of Lovecraft, terrifying as hell, aaaaand bugged. To pass it, the monster must attack you with it's tendril, which is supposed to stick in place so you can run past the spot it was blocking. Instead, half of the time it will one shot you, the other half it won't stick, it'll just go back to the default position instantly and get you stuck. After 3 days of constant frustration, this is where I quit. The shooting is also absolutely horrendous (I felt like I was playing the first Medal of Honor game, but worse), and unfair (instant death by headshot is incredibly common and unpreventable). The only good thing about this game was the horror elements; The sanity effects, the eerie mood, the sounds, everything was pure Lovecraft and it was fantastic. Sadly, I never got to experience it in full, because between every 5 minute horror sequence was 2 hours of frustrating, buggy shooting and nonsense. So disappointing. Expand
  19. May 13, 2011
    2
    I couldn't figure out what the heck this game wanted me to do and was confused and frustrated right from the beginning. The art design seems great and the inspirationg from HP Lovecraft is awesome, but this game is just not any good. It's a real shame that it has to be such a vague, confusing, and bland adaptation of great ideas.
  20. Feb 3, 2012
    6
    Call of Cthulhu Dark Corners of The Earth (Steam PC) Released 2006 (Head First Productions / Bethesda Softworks)
    Played date 2012.02
    Genre: Horror Adventure Overall Score: 6 Controls: 7 Graphics: 7 Story: 9 Audio: 10 DRM: Steam [Playthrough] I was interested in getting to know about the Cthulhu World through the eyes of game artists but I had never read any of the books or played the
    Call of Cthulhu Dark Corners of The Earth (Steam PC) Released 2006 (Head First Productions / Bethesda Softworks)
    Played date 2012.02
    Genre: Horror Adventure

    Overall Score: 6
    Controls: 7
    Graphics: 7
    Story: 9
    Audio: 10
    DRM: Steam

    [Playthrough] I was interested in getting to know about the Cthulhu World through the eyes of game artists but I had never read any of the books or played the RPGs; I went in expecting nothing. I really enjoyed this story and the mood set by the game, in fact for the first four hours the game was freaking me out. All hell started to break loose in the game.... there are many difficult sequences that end in death and require reloading....but as I was in it for the game-story-environment so I held in there. I leaned heavily on a walk-through to get through the game - but I could never finish it.... the last sequence was just to hard ! ! ! Play this on â
    Expand
  21. Aug 1, 2013
    5
    I understand that its a horror game and all, but i HATE checkpoints. when the game crashes and you haven't been near a check point in a while, you will understand what i mean. this is a nice game with a nice story, but it is RUINED because it is dependent on finding a glyph on the wall to save. I am busy and have to stop what i am doing sometimes to do something important, and the checkI understand that its a horror game and all, but i HATE checkpoints. when the game crashes and you haven't been near a check point in a while, you will understand what i mean. this is a nice game with a nice story, but it is RUINED because it is dependent on finding a glyph on the wall to save. I am busy and have to stop what i am doing sometimes to do something important, and the check point system is garbage. SHAME ON THE DEVELOPERS. Expand
  22. Jul 9, 2014
    1
    With Call of Cthulhu (COC) appearing in so many "Top 100 Games Of All Time" lists, and as a huge Lovecraft fan, I was eager to play this game.

    Many people have discussed the game's instability and bugs, particularly on newer systems. This is all true, but the game's most major problem is poor design, pure and simple. The game commits numerous cardinal sins of game design that make the
    With Call of Cthulhu (COC) appearing in so many "Top 100 Games Of All Time" lists, and as a huge Lovecraft fan, I was eager to play this game.

    Many people have discussed the game's instability and bugs, particularly on newer systems. This is all true, but the game's most major problem is poor design, pure and simple. The game commits numerous cardinal sins of game design that make the whole experience a frustrating mess for the player.

    When the game works, as it does occasionally, it is extremely eerie and atmospheric. In particular, the hotel escape is an excellent recreation of a sequence from Lovecraft's writing. Some of the gameplay choices, such as the sanity system, are also quite daring. Unfortunately, the game's moments of brilliance are all too few and do not make up for its horrendous failings.

    Additionally once you acquire weapons the game attempts to become Half-Life, but without Valve's finesse. The shooting destroys the game's tension and the dialogue and design also seem to go downhill from this point. That parallel is not accidental by the way - if you know Half-Life, you will see some *very* similar areas and puzzles in COC.

    Here are some of the major flaws with this game that will make you tear your hair out:

    > Poor level design: A non-intuitive mess that will leave you wandering around levels aimlessly for hours. For instance, doors that you have previously tried and were locked will suddenly become open-able after you complete a seemingly unrelated task (e.g. turning the gas on in the next room).

    > Poor game design: Jumps that can only be completed from a precise angle. Objects that take five clicks to be picked up and added to your inventory. Traps that require in-human micro-second timing to avoid and are instantly fatal.

    > Poor puzzle design: Puzzles frequently require items to solve them. That sounds simple, but the game doesn't tell you what items you need, or even that what you are looking at is a puzzle at all. For instance, you might come across a heavy grate. If you have missed the crowbar earlier in the level (easily done thanks to poor level design and muddy textures) then you cannot open the grate. You will simply think this route is a dead-end and have no idea you need to find a crowbar, unless you read an FAQ. It's even possible to progress to a point where you cannot backtrack to get an item you need, making the puzzle unsolvable!

    To illustrate just how appalling these design problems are, here's an example of a typical COC experience. At one point in the game I spent about two hours trying to move past a street with several enemies in it. I tried sneaking. I tried fighting. Nothing worked. The reason? One of the enemies was invulnerable. Deliberately. This was how the designers chose to stop the player progressing in that direction. Instead of blocking off the street, they created an invulnerable enemy that looked like any other. As a result, many players will literally be throwing themselves against a brick wall. It turned out that I needed to pick up a certain object earlier in the level and then progress through a different area - but there was nothing to tell me this - no hint that I needed the item and no sign that the other route was the correct one. Welcome to COC!

    Add to these issues a waypoint saving feature that forces you to replay large sections when you die, unexpected game crashes and plenty of unavoidable "instant death" moments and you have a recipe for pain and frustration that will test your sanity more than your character's.

    All this leaves you facing two major irritations. One is that you will simply become lost, not knowing where to go or what to do next, and wander aimlessly until you stumble on the way forward by chance. The second is that you will know what you need to do, but the game's poor control systems will not allow you to do it. For example, you may need to crawl under a broken fan with split-second timing that takes 7-8 attempts - and each attempt requires you to reload and replay through the entire previous area.

    Bottom line: COC is not a diamond in the rough. It is a diamond in the septic tank, and I wish anyone who wants to try it the best of luck digging it out. If you are eager for the plot, watch a play-through on YouTube. Avoid this game at all costs.
    Expand
  23. Sep 3, 2012
    3
    I only dream of what this game was supposed to be. Originally, this game was supposed to be a much larger, non-linear RPG-type storyline, including more characters and locations, as well as a co-op system for up to four players. This would have enabled players to pick one of four characters and carry out their own investigation independently or team up with the others. A multiplayerI only dream of what this game was supposed to be. Originally, this game was supposed to be a much larger, non-linear RPG-type storyline, including more characters and locations, as well as a co-op system for up to four players. This would have enabled players to pick one of four characters and carry out their own investigation independently or team up with the others. A multiplayer version of the game would have allowed for on-line deathmatch battles in specifically designed levels. A lot of other features, such as high environment interactivity, were also scrapped due to budget and time constraints and problems with the level design. Multi-player would have drawn a larger interest from the PVP/PVE crowd who don't like single player games to enjoy with their friends. A larger RPG element and environment interactivity, along with editing tools would have created a community continuously willing to improve game play, graphics and providing new content to explore. This game has neither element. It's heavily scripted and very linear, with only one path through the chapters from start to finish. Lots of good things can be said, its scary, eerie and creepy. The sound quality is nice. Lovecraft's work in it. The graphics look nice. It has a small fan base to patch it well enough for playability, relative to other games currently available. The vanilla version is buggier than Virginia, USA in the summertime. The learning tutorial is non-existent, so you simply have to dive into the key mapping to know what you are doing. It's not the next best thing to propel the thriller/horror based video game genre to a whole new level. I am sad that Bethesda Softworks had anything to do with its release, because it's nothing like Skyrim or Fallout. It's Bethesda 'light'. No light deserves to be in a Cthulhu game. Expand
  24. JackH.
    Jun 11, 2006
    0
    If you want a terribly linear game with unskippable and extremely long cinematics that doesn't allow you to save, this is for you.
  25. H.Lokesz
    May 25, 2006
    6
    Nice athmosphere, bad gameplay. Looking for savepoints never worked before and never will do in the future. Without a quicksave some parts are too frustrating. This is an adventure but when you are chased there's no time to search for desired sequence of actions. So, you have to start over 20 times before you know where you should go. And don't make jumping errors. Bad purchase. Nice athmosphere, bad gameplay. Looking for savepoints never worked before and never will do in the future. Without a quicksave some parts are too frustrating. This is an adventure but when you are chased there's no time to search for desired sequence of actions. So, you have to start over 20 times before you know where you should go. And don't make jumping errors. Bad purchase. I'll wait for a quicksave patch or else I simply dump the game. Expand
  26. TheMagicalHippieKiller
    Aug 9, 2007
    3
    This game was not very well thought out at all. First off, the sanity level was completely useless most of the time. At first it was entertaining, but then you realize that most of the shocking imagery that you must avoid to keep your sanity detracts from the over all feeling of horror. You find yourself walking by corpses, not looking at them, and that actually makes the whole scenario This game was not very well thought out at all. First off, the sanity level was completely useless most of the time. At first it was entertaining, but then you realize that most of the shocking imagery that you must avoid to keep your sanity detracts from the over all feeling of horror. You find yourself walking by corpses, not looking at them, and that actually makes the whole scenario seem not as intense, not that I am a sicko and like to stare at mutilated corpses. I just feel that instead of the screen going crazy and the character killing himself, I feel that I myself would feel freaked out enough. Not to mention, this character has every single phobia in the book. He is afraid of heights, which is annoying because there are some parts where you need to look down to figure out on how to get back down to ground level. He has claustrophobia, which is a pain because you have to travel through vents. Had this been toned down in some areas and peaked in some areas, it would have been more enjoyable and freaky, rather then terribly annoying. The game is also easier to play on the x-box, being that the aiming is much easier. On the computer, the aiming is much harder, and very annoying. The ironsights aiming in other games, such as Red Orchestra, are far superior. It seemed as if I was playtesting a basic, earlier version of the game, in which all the bugs were not worked out yet. Trying to shift your aim slightly is near impossible, not to mention you cannot aim to great when leaning around corners, something that is possible, and I have done it while playing paintball. It can be done. The stealth would be better if you could move faster, instead of crawling slowly, and the stealth is near impossible at points because the game is so linear that you find yourself trying to hide while you and an enemy are both in a very tight hallway. It is much easier to overcome the whole idea of not killing every creature in a survival horror, which makes you not feel as fearful, being that you just blew away everything you are supposed to be afraid of (Food for Thought: Wouldn't killing everything affect your sanity more then looking down a ladder that goes down about ten feet? Wouldn't that kind of make you a gun toting psychopath? Especially if you beat them to death with Gordan Freeman's crowbar?) Many people complain that the NPC's are morons, and not the greatest fighters, even when armed, but this actually makes sense, don't you think? This is not some well trained army that you are fighting, just a bunch of idiot hicks. However, I did not think there be would be much gunfighting, more like shooting hordes of insane monsters with needle teeth and curved claws. And now, THE DAMN WALKING!!! What the hell?! There are man times where all you can do is hope that you are lucky and that you be able to run, ahem, WALK out of that collapsing building or away from the monster that can kill you with one hit. I could not beat the game until I read on how to hack the game and turn up the movement speed. Seriously, I think that is the only way to beat this game. The no HUD thing is pretty cool, as well as the health system (medkits only contain medical supplies such as splints, stitches, bandages, morphine, etc. which must be applied to a specific wound; your arm gets cut, bandage of stitch it, broken leg, limp to a safe spot and use a splint), but the game is far from realistic. First, why the hell can you not pick up guns from dead enemies?! How many times can I break my arm in a day?! I thought the damage through the whole game would accumulate or something, but now, once stick a splint on a broken limb, it magically is fixed and good as new, which is ridiculous. And back to the game be linear: it is annoying, and if you manage to do something very small yet outside the script, the whole game just freaks out. The game is loaded with an insane amount of other bugs, which can severely limit your experience. If this was a mod, I would be very surprised and more approving that a small independent team managed to make this on almost no budget. However, this was supposed to be a professional and well made game, and it simply wasn't. This is a game for people who are not associated with any of Lovercraft's work (because even so-so fans would s*** themselves at some of the more insane happenings later in the game) and want to have more of a semi interactive horror movie experience. That's how I think of it, as a movie, not a game at all. Expand
  27. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    So many bugs and the gameplay is boring and agonizing. I'm not sure how anyone could rate this game above a 1, with the amount of times you die because you go into an area with no escape due to bugs it's plain unplayable. I completed the game only because it was highly recommended by a friend, but I hated it all the way through.
  28. Aug 4, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I see this game as practically a prototype for survival horror games that have come since penumbra, amnesia, etc… although not in a good way but it does win points for it, like the first types of aeroplanes. The graphics are good for its time of release (but if you’re using a newer graphics card you might want to read up on installation) however the light effects are in summary “dark and light” this ruins a few of the stealth elements when there’s a light on and your staring eye to eye with an enemy that doesn’t notice you 2m in front of him. The gameplay is hit or miss depending on the level, the stealth and shooting is fine but without a sprint options all the chase scenes look like a corny silent film chase. Once you get the crowbar/guns it goes from being a Lovecraft survival horror game to Half Life in 1920’s New England, start off with the crowbar companions the die off all the time government conspiracy with alien portals better weapons industrial facility stationary claw/arm monster alien sea world vs. alien space world alien tech final boss that’s both easy and a letdown.

    Also there’s a game breaking glitch at the boat level when you need to shoot the island’s sages on PC with new graphics cards.
    Expand
  29. ChrisP.
    Oct 25, 2006
    0
    Too dark, too frustrating. Maybe if you like HP, but I never read anything by him.
  30. GregB.
    Apr 2, 2006
    6
    Very slow, and very dated graphics. Has some atmospheric moments, but for the most part, an difficult to push through game.
  31. Espltd
    Feb 23, 2007
    2
    DISSAPOINTING with a capital D When I found out Bethesda had an action survival horror type game out I jumped on this. I was immediately encouraged by the look and eerie feel of everything the lighting ,sound, intriguing story, all seemed to work real well. Then I waited and kept waiting for some action to start.... waited some more... through horrendously long cinematics. Then ohh cool DISSAPOINTING with a capital D When I found out Bethesda had an action survival horror type game out I jumped on this. I was immediately encouraged by the look and eerie feel of everything the lighting ,sound, intriguing story, all seemed to work real well. Then I waited and kept waiting for some action to start.... waited some more... through horrendously long cinematics. Then ohh cool some action starts but wait.... I have no way to defend myself, not even my bare fists. oh well I ll just run from the fishmen for know I m sure I ll find a knife or stick or something soon..... I gave up when I was a third of the way through the game still without any means to make all this running and hiding more fun, though at least they load you up on bullets for the oh so non existent guns. All I can imagine is that some fairly talented game designers worked on the graphic / story portion, and a crack team of baboons was put in charge of the actual gamplay / control portion of it all. Don t get me wrong I enjoy a solid story immersed within a game, it definitely makes a game worth playing. But when it makes the thing so linear I feel more like I m watching a movie than playing a game... well thats just not enjoyable. Far and above worst game I've ever played! Collapse
  32. TadasN
    Jun 19, 2009
    3
    Terrible shooting, very, very weak main character, the little variety of enemies. Disapointing. The beginning was interesting, but later game become clownade.
  33. ave
    Feb 11, 2015
    3
    I bought this game years ago and never finished it. I bought it back on Steam and played it again, confident in my ability to finish it.

    Since I read all Lovecraft novels as a teenager, and I appreciate today both first-person shooters and adventure games, this one started with the exciting promise of a truly horrific adventure game. The first 2 hours of the game put me in the mood,
    I bought this game years ago and never finished it. I bought it back on Steam and played it again, confident in my ability to finish it.

    Since I read all Lovecraft novels as a teenager, and I appreciate today both first-person shooters and adventure games, this one started with the exciting promise of a truly horrific adventure game.

    The first 2 hours of the game put me in the mood, with some thrilling and engaging moments in the retired city of Innsmouth. Unfortunately, I reached the "wake-up-in-the-hotel-at-night-and-get-the-hell-out-of-here" sequence in which I had to perform an escape with a non-human level of cold blood and accuracy.

    At first I told myself "Now, that's pressure! These guys aren't joking!" but after a dozen of attempts (assorted with the pain of viewing the preliminary cinematic) I ended up thinking it was a mix between sadism and sabotage.

    In a wicked way, the developers prefered to humiliate me instead of challenge me. Maybe some players do have the necessary level of insanity to pass this point, but this kind of test is not for me. The sad thing being that I could consider myself the target audience.

    So if you're a masochist gamer looking for a game that can torture you, this one is probably a great start.
    Expand
  34. May 9, 2012
    8
    Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth is a horror FPS game set in the mad world of H.P. Lovecraft's works. The player is a private investigator tasked with investigating a disappearance in the village of Innsmouth, which would be familiar to fans of Lovecraft.

    The game is heavily focused on the horror aspect - for the first long time you're not armed and merely have to explore or
    Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth is a horror FPS game set in the mad world of H.P. Lovecraft's works. The player is a private investigator tasked with investigating a disappearance in the village of Innsmouth, which would be familiar to fans of Lovecraft.

    The game is heavily focused on the horror aspect - for the first long time you're not armed and merely have to explore or avoid the locals, which makes for a mighty frightening experience. The game operates with a madness-counter of sorts, and the more mentally stressful things you see or experience the more this counter will rise. The result is some heavy blurring of vision and such, which is a very cool and very unwelcome effect in some challenging situation.

    The story is captivating and stays true to Lovecraftian horror - the main character commits suicide in the opening scene after which the game jumps back six months and accounts the events that led up to the suicide. The game has no HUD but rather communicates though sound, post processing and such, which adds a lot to the feel of the game.

    There are flaws in the game though. Whereas the first couple of acts have a very high quality the quality drops around the middle of the game. The story makes less sense, the environments are less inspiring and you get the impression that it's added merely increase game time. The quality rises again near the end though and delivers a satisfying conclusion after some of the more mediocre parts. The game operates with save points, so you will find yourself doing the difficult parts of the game over and over. Also it won't run on some video cards (google it before you buy it). This is a problem that won't ever be fixed as the developer is not in business any more.

    Definitely one of the better games I've played in the genre, and one of the only ones I think captured the spirits of Lovecraft's works.
    Expand
  35. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    a very linear game with not that good story and very weak and boring gameplay the graphics as well are not good the only good thing about this game is the atmosphere other than that nothing special here
  36. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    An awe inspiring dark look on cults that worship beyond the world of our own. Call of Cthulhu offers everything a horror gamer could ask for from terrifying fish people of innsmouth to the creatures from another dimension.

    9 out of 10
  37. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    Amazing, old game, one of the first Scary games, didn't get why here it's as 2006 game, I have disc purchased in February of 2004 and can say it was really great games, never see so deep story in most of modern games, also it's FPS, if you love classic really can recommend it, it's not too expensive on Steam, but find disc will be really hard nowadays.
    I can say that it's classic in
    Amazing, old game, one of the first Scary games, didn't get why here it's as 2006 game, I have disc purchased in February of 2004 and can say it was really great games, never see so deep story in most of modern games, also it's FPS, if you love classic really can recommend it, it's not too expensive on Steam, but find disc will be really hard nowadays.
    I can say that it's classic in genre, and really one of the best ones if compare to many modern games too.
    Expand
  38. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    Lots of ppl recommended the game, despite lots of awful bugs that happen often. Funnily enough, I didn't encounter any, except for some crashes (handful through entire playthrough). But that's not the problem: the whole rest is. Pretty much everything, from mechanics, controls to "brilliant" inventions (sanity meter isn't much more than pointless curiosity) is **** up. Game is so horribleLots of ppl recommended the game, despite lots of awful bugs that happen often. Funnily enough, I didn't encounter any, except for some crashes (handful through entire playthrough). But that's not the problem: the whole rest is. Pretty much everything, from mechanics, controls to "brilliant" inventions (sanity meter isn't much more than pointless curiosity) is **** up. Game is so horrible I practicaly had to force myself to finish it, and uninstalled it instantly afterwards. This is pretty much Chaser of the horror games. Yes, I am not exaggerating. Disgrace for this pile of turd to even mention H.P. Lovecraft as the source material! Expand
  39. MattZ.
    Apr 2, 2006
    9
    A Survival Horror game that actually induces panic! Great game!
  40. RIKB.
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    The graphics are not very fresh, the game "guides"you on a linear path, some of the action environments are bloody frustrating... so a low score then? Not one bit of it, this game is all about trying to keep your sanity, whilst following a dark and disturbing story. An absolute must for Lovcraft and horror fans.
  41. JohnI.
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    If you get hung up on 'how many polygons?' and 'does it have bumpmapping?' look elsewhere. If you think 'survival horror' means blowing away as many zombies as you can, this game is not for you. If you like the idea of getting into a good horror novel, or immersing yourself in a great movie that sucks you in. This game is what you want. It is an immersive If you get hung up on 'how many polygons?' and 'does it have bumpmapping?' look elsewhere. If you think 'survival horror' means blowing away as many zombies as you can, this game is not for you. If you like the idea of getting into a good horror novel, or immersing yourself in a great movie that sucks you in. This game is what you want. It is an immersive story about horror and fear. It is about the realistic fragility of man when faced with things he cannot understand. It's about true heroism. The heroism where you are terrified but still tentatively move foward. It's about stange goings on in a strange town, a dark, dank town, falling down at the edges. Otherwordly and yet of this world. You will meet horric monsters and see horrific things, but you will also meet brave, ordinary people trying to survive in the town of Innesmouth. You will replay sections like you used to in the golden days of gaming. You will not be led by the nose and run through the game in one go via saves every 30 seconds. You have the tension of finding the save location just like in real life you will find it tension filled to find a safe place to hide. The save is just that. A rare 'safe place'. This is the only game I have ever played where you have to run away from vastly more powerful entities, This the only game I have played where I really felt naked without a gun and yet was required to deal with the world for a long time without one. I was immersed in a game that denied me an on-screen HUD and gave my character vertigo and mental problems to make all jumps and high ledges an adventure, and being around horrific situations very mind altering (as it would!). These frailities make the character very believable and adds to the immersion. Don't buy this game because it's a great shooter, or a great sneak-em-up. Buy it because you want to support mature, adult gaming, great storytelling and ingenious innovations in gaming. I give it a solid 9.00 for all the great things this game IS, and not the small things it ISN'T, Expand
  42. MikeB
    Mar 11, 2009
    5
    Fascinating but buggy as hell. A good game ruined by bad QA.
  43. RalphW.
    May 29, 2006
    8
    It captures the essence of cthulhu very well. It's not the perfect game and boy do you wish you had a gun alot earlier in the game. Turn out the lights, leave a door to your back, and play for a few hours. It really is a creepy dark and forboding game with a great storyline.
  44. PauloR.
    Jun 13, 2006
    8
    The Graphics are a little dated, but what really sets this game apart from the rest is the sanity system. Its so good that it starts affecting you in real life... did you hear something? I thought I heard something. There are plenty of heart stopping moments... Their coming for me I can feel it... and the more tense the situation and the more gore you see the worse the effect on your The Graphics are a little dated, but what really sets this game apart from the rest is the sanity system. Its so good that it starts affecting you in real life... did you hear something? I thought I heard something. There are plenty of heart stopping moments... Their coming for me I can feel it... and the more tense the situation and the more gore you see the worse the effect on your vision and movement. If anything I think I'd like more horror and less combat but I'm looking forward to the sequel. Expand
  45. Jul 24, 2014
    5
    This is the same review I made for the Xbox version of the game, which is the one that people should play. The PC version is plagued by bugs, some of which utterly critical. Crashes are frequent. The game itself can not be recommended on this platform (tested on Windows XP SP3).

    An overall very interesting and worth being played game. Especially for H.P. Lovecraft fans. What works:
    This is the same review I made for the Xbox version of the game, which is the one that people should play. The PC version is plagued by bugs, some of which utterly critical. Crashes are frequent. The game itself can not be recommended on this platform (tested on Windows XP SP3).

    An overall very interesting and worth being played game. Especially for H.P. Lovecraft fans.

    What works:

    - A number of ideas: the sanity factor, the screen without HUD
    - The use of Lovecraft material for creating the game
    - The overall atmosphere of dread and isolation
    - The puzzles: they are often very well made and fairly engaging
    - The decision of relying on aiming down the sight (no in game crosshair)
    - The damage system being divided into 3 categories (bandage, splint, suture, antidote)

    What doesn't work:

    - The graphic is sometimes too blurry and muddy, making difficult to not only spot some items but even simple orientation
    - Respawn (I loathe it as game concept)
    - Lack of polish (it is obvious that corners have been cut and the ambition of the project reduced greatly from how originally anticipated)

    What is so-so:

    - The level design is most of the times very good and well focused (best chapters: Chapter 2 - Attack Of The Fuccing Fishmen, Chapter 3 - Jail Break and Chapter 7 - Dangerous Voyage) but sometimes there is an annoying lack of feedback about the need of backtracking (without much of a valid reason) while some other levels are much less spot on (Chapter 5 and Chapter 11 come to mind)
    - The AI: sometimes the enemies are in front of me but don't see me for some strange reason
    - Voice acting (some are good, wrong choice of tone for the protagonist who sounds too matter-of-face in most situations)
    Expand
  46. Oct 14, 2013
    7
    This game is very linear, and would have been better with a few more options. That being said, it is still an amazing horror game. It is very dark, and will have your heart pounding. For a game made in 2006 it's graphics are really amazing. Although there really are no graphic optimizations for PC (console port) it does look good. It doesn't have xbox 360 controller support either, muchThis game is very linear, and would have been better with a few more options. That being said, it is still an amazing horror game. It is very dark, and will have your heart pounding. For a game made in 2006 it's graphics are really amazing. Although there really are no graphic optimizations for PC (console port) it does look good. It doesn't have xbox 360 controller support either, much like most original xbox game ports.

    It does have a lot of bugs with windows 7. You can't alt-tab, or it will crash. Sometimes something important just flat out won't work. I was in a chase scene and a vital ladder was just impossible to climb. It ruins the immersion quite a bit repeating a chase just because a ladder did not work. That being said, it is still a lot of fun. Without the bugs I would have given a 9. I would love to see a remade version of this that was actually made for PC.

    I do think some of the negative reviews are a bit ridiculous in that they complain about gameplay. This game is mainly about being immersed in the horror story. It is a good thing that they kept everything else fairly basic. You aren't playing some black-ops sniper with perfect aim, mysterious auto-respawn powers, and no back story. And there is a dedicated cut-scene skip button... the people who are complaining about that simply haven't looked in key bindings.
    Expand
  47. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    It makes you suffer a lot...without help ( You tube) you won't get there at all...A great idea turning a HP Lovecraft's story into a game...What about Stephen king?
  48. Feb 5, 2015
    6
    A game that could have been so much more is what I can say about this video game....

    The atmosphere, the audio, just incredible. All through the first chapter of the game it dares you deeper and deeper into it's dark story and is one of the most unnerving video games I've played in the longest time. The gameplay in the first chapter is a First person clues to find, people to talk to
    A game that could have been so much more is what I can say about this video game....

    The atmosphere, the audio, just incredible. All through the first chapter of the game it dares you deeper and deeper into it's dark story and is one of the most unnerving video games I've played in the longest time. The gameplay in the first chapter is a First person clues to find, people to talk to investigation, teasing you with ammunition boxes scattered around the levels having the player eagerly anticipate when they'll finally get to use their first weapon. This, unfortunately is the worst element of the game. The gunplay,

    Once the player is given his/her first gun there is a heavy focus on it's gunplay, it incredibly awkward to aim and hit enemies and when you FINALLY accomplish killing said enemy another will regenerate in his place, meaning a lot of wasted ammo and no sigh of relief knowing that there's one less brute to deal with. There's a stealth mechanic but it's buggy,

    This game had so much potential, buckets of it. It's atmosphere is perfect, it's story progression is great, I'd say if it had ditched the gunplay/action sequences altogether and focused more on it's puzzle solving /clue finding it'd deserve a 7.5. but because of it's bug ridden and awful gunplay experience it gets a solid 6/10 from me.

    Oh, and the graphics are just fine, perfect for the game's mood.
    Expand
  49. May 15, 2015
    8
    Talking about a game like Call of Cthulhu it is no easy, because you know you talk about a great game but as in many other cases, it has been undermined by huge technical glitches. Those who have played it, they know what I'm talking about. But first the good things.

    The plot of Call of Cthulhu is fascinating, intricate and with dark and rotten tones. Unlike Eternal Darkness, which is
    Talking about a game like Call of Cthulhu it is no easy, because you know you talk about a great game but as in many other cases, it has been undermined by huge technical glitches. Those who have played it, they know what I'm talking about. But first the good things.

    The plot of Call of Cthulhu is fascinating, intricate and with dark and rotten tones. Unlike Eternal Darkness, which is simply inspired by the stories of Lovecraft, Call of Cthulhu is based on the stories of Lovecraft. It is important to remember that I am not a big reader, but the atmosphere recreated in the game with the town of Innsmouth, its citizens strange, the gray and dull haze that covers it, donated it a weird and gloomy aspect as it should be. History is full of surprises, with themes ranging from the madness to evil, from spirituality to the connection with other worlds, and I really enjoyed the ending despite not being easy to interpret.

    As for the gameplay, Call of Cthulhu is clearly a first-person shooter, even if it has some interesting mechanics: like every classic fps there is no automatic health regeneration system, and medikit must be used with caution to treat wounds through a complex system of medical care, and this thing I liked because it increases the challenge of the game. The feedback of weapons is quite good and there is also a stealth mode, however simple it may be. Another thing that the Call of Cthulhu has in common with Eternal Darkness is the sanity of the character. However while in Eternal Darkness mental health was indicated by a green bar, in this game there is no indication: when the character gets crazy, you see it on screen because the images are distorted, and the sounds become blurred up to flip the experience of the game ... and leading to game-over. It is something that while playing really bothers you, but in a good way, you really seems to get crazy. The puzzles are interesting, but some frustrating and, in my opinion inconsistent. However, generally speaking it is a game with a great gameplay, fun and balanced.

    From a technical standpoint Call of Cthulhu has an appreciable graphic, although it could be better. But what really ruined the game is the realization from the point of view of programming: I have no idea who has ported the game on PC, from Xbox version, but whoever did it, it did it so bad, ridiculous and indecent. The game is full of bugs of all kinds, of which at least 3 can prevent to finish the game. And I had to try in every way, so patiently, checking on the Internet, to go over these bugs. A scandal. Absurd. I came to a point where I did not want to finish the game anymore. But fortunately I finished it.

    So what can I say? Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth is a great game, a great survival horror, fun, with a unique and successful atmosphere. However the bad technical realization made it almost unplayable, and it is something I can not ignore. It is a game that I suggest to play, but you must have patience, you've been warned.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. PC Gamer
    55
    Fans of the Cthulhu Mythos may go straight to heaven with such a faithful adaptation of Lovecraft's spine-chilling years. Others may find that Call of Cthulhu drives them to the mountains of madness. [July 2006, p.55]
  2. An undeniable effort. It can be fulfilling and mightily rewarding, but there are too many frustrating moments to say it’s a classic.
  3. 70
    Despite the occasional missteps, Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth is a more than fitting tribute to its literary inspiration. It's also a great way for fans of real horror to give themselves the heebie-jeebies for a dozen hours or so. Just don't play it late at night, alone.