User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2272 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 1, 2016
    4
    Disclaimer: Single-player only. If your a CoD fanboy, this review is not for you, just vote it down without reading, and move on.

    I normally play more realistic or story focused shooters, but with most CoD fans saying this is the best one in the series, I thought I'd try it (single-player) with modest expectations. It was still a mild disappointment. Production values were fairly
    Disclaimer: Single-player only. If your a CoD fanboy, this review is not for you, just vote it down without reading, and move on.

    I normally play more realistic or story focused shooters, but with most CoD fans saying this is the best one in the series, I thought I'd try it (single-player) with modest expectations.
    It was still a mild disappointment. Production values were fairly mediocre, not what I was expecting from a highly praised big-budget game.

    Graphics are ok, but nothing special, even for 2007 (inferior to Arma1, Stalker1 and Crysis which all came out the same year). Some level environments are quite nice, but most others are fairly bland and a bit too linear. Sound design is also nothing special, and lacks oomph.

    The story is ok, but the missions are a very mixed bag. Almost all of them suffer from rinse-and-repeat enemy AI waves. Its all scripted, and seems to be aimed at instant gratification console peasants of below average intelligence. The US infantry missions are just a tedious shooting gallery with a shallow narrative tacked on. No matter what instructions you get from your officer, chances are they are not practical for the situation in front of you. If you deviate from the script even slightly, like attempting to flank where your not supposed to, the mission gets stuck or you get punished. At least there are a few missions with more interesting mechanics (like firing canons from a plane). The only decent conventional mission was “All gullied up” - much more atmospheric and better paced. If only the other missions were as good. You only get to do a (highly scripted) sniper shot once in the game, and only at about 150m. The campaign is quite short at 4-8 hours. The only really good thing was the few jokes your squad make now and then.

    Open combat mechanics are not fun - arcade and bland. Almost every time you shoot an enemy a new one spawns right behind him, just around a corner. This creates the ludicrous consideration where you may not want to bother shooting someone to avoid dealing with the near infinite replacement enemy spawns. Weapons look nice and have great reload animations, but lack realistic power. Quite a few times the AI would ignore a bullet to the head or multiple rifle shots in the chest. Certain enemies are immune to damage if they are not “supposed” to die at that time - eg: hit a helicopter with anti-tank RPG and nothing happens. This punishes any player initiative. Enemies move without inertia. This makes aiming at them a pain. The AI will tend to just run at you mindlessly. Enemies throw grenades with machine-like accuracy and occasionally seem to be able to track your movement through walls. during training you are instructed to shoot through weak cover, but I encountered many weak surfaces that seemed to be just as effective as concrete. Friendlies are either invincible bullet sponges or get in your way (example: grenade falls at your feet and AI is blocking the only door exit).

    Overall CoD4 is a fairly mediocre game (but not quite “bad”). How this became the No.1 FPS franchise seems to have little to do with merit.
    Expand
  2. May 29, 2014
    4
    Mediocre game all things considered. While the game has some excellent set pieces and fun sequences it ultimately doesn't make up for the incredibly stupid A.I. and the extremely cheap deaths you will experience. The gameplay can easily descend into you picking off incredibly dumb enemies as they respawn and run to the same pre-determined spot over and over, even as their dead bodies pileMediocre game all things considered. While the game has some excellent set pieces and fun sequences it ultimately doesn't make up for the incredibly stupid A.I. and the extremely cheap deaths you will experience. The gameplay can easily descend into you picking off incredibly dumb enemies as they respawn and run to the same pre-determined spot over and over, even as their dead bodies pile up to the ceiling while your allies fire inaccurately at them refusing to push forward. When you do push forward the game becomes very difficult as enemies really only pose a threat at close range when you get in the way of their precious pre-programmed spots as you can easily find yourself taking fire from several directions at once, this wouldn't be a problem if friendly NPCs supported you when you advance, but since they don't enjoy getting turned into Swiss cheese. Like I said there are some excellent sequences, but ultimately the game feels like a few very talented people trying to make up for the incompetence of several others, and that is how the game plays, some good sequences trying to make up for some awful gameplay. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2014
    3
    Okay, let me explain my rating. This game was probably the greatest Call of Duty game I've ever played. The multiplayer was great. The maps were great, I played it for 2 hours straight once I bought it on sale on steam.

    The problem is, that was the only time I was able to play it. Okay, so maybe it is my fault for having windows 8.1 and not checking for compatibility issues, and
    Okay, let me explain my rating. This game was probably the greatest Call of Duty game I've ever played. The multiplayer was great. The maps were great, I played it for 2 hours straight once I bought it on sale on steam.

    The problem is, that was the only time I was able to play it.

    Okay, so maybe it is my fault for having windows 8.1 and not checking for compatibility issues, and maybe I can't blame them if I'm trying to run an old game on windows 8.1. However, It doesn't work with me on windows 8 or 8.1 (Because I tried both). I will give it a 3 because of how much fun it was until it stopped working. I wouldn't have even done the review, but I wanted to point out to anyone interested that it doesn't work with 8.1 (at least for me).
    Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    1
    Just irritating and annoying. This was my first intro to CoD. What a crock of bleh. If this game was written to show how miserable it is to be in war, it succeeded. The single player missions have semi random checksaves that force you to relive scenario after scenario even if you are literally backed into a corner. The NPCs scream the same annoying comments again and again and thenJust irritating and annoying. This was my first intro to CoD. What a crock of bleh. If this game was written to show how miserable it is to be in war, it succeeded. The single player missions have semi random checksaves that force you to relive scenario after scenario even if you are literally backed into a corner. The NPCs scream the same annoying comments again and again and then you have the sheer joy of quicksaves when dogs show up. Even with infinite reloads, this was just an unpleasant experiance I'd rather not repeat. Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    4
    I already reviewed the Xbox360 version giving it a 10, however in that case I have only played the multiplayer on PC, since there is no 'Find match' option, you are forced to look for servers, many of which aren't what you want to play, and are too many players in the lobby for it to be as exciting as the Xbox version, that and the fact that I have found some hackers, and the connection,I already reviewed the Xbox360 version giving it a 10, however in that case I have only played the multiplayer on PC, since there is no 'Find match' option, you are forced to look for servers, many of which aren't what you want to play, and are too many players in the lobby for it to be as exciting as the Xbox version, that and the fact that I have found some hackers, and the connection, even though it is all dedicated servers, is still flimsy. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2011
    4
    Call of Duty 4 is not a good game. The best parts about the game are the sounds (pretty good); however, the rest of this game is painfully average. Half-Life 2 which was released 2 or 3 years before this has similar graphics and much better level design and story. Another good point is that the game is length being short so I do not have to force my self to continue its repetitiveCall of Duty 4 is not a good game. The best parts about the game are the sounds (pretty good); however, the rest of this game is painfully average. Half-Life 2 which was released 2 or 3 years before this has similar graphics and much better level design and story. Another good point is that the game is length being short so I do not have to force my self to continue its repetitive gameplay. The bad parts of the game? well, first the game is completely uninvolving or say not interactive and mostly because of its linear story and average level design. This game consists many levels in which you have to shoot tons of enemies. This makes game extremely repetitive. Also there are no interesting characters in this game and most time it just direct the player to a certain way with no intriguing or complex levels. Yet the game really does not have any story whatsoever. The online part is okay, although generally I do not like this kind of mindless shooter. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    4
    This is the malefic game that has started the most sold out genre of games. This is the game that has started two sagas, one of the worst sagas ever made, called Modern Warfare and Black Ops. If CoD 4 didn't exist, these 2 sagas didn't. Bad gameplay, bad multiplayer, bad-medium graphics, semi-good plot and OK sound. I can't say that graphics are bad/very bad because they're only on theThis is the malefic game that has started the most sold out genre of games. This is the game that has started two sagas, one of the worst sagas ever made, called Modern Warfare and Black Ops. If CoD 4 didn't exist, these 2 sagas didn't. Bad gameplay, bad multiplayer, bad-medium graphics, semi-good plot and OK sound. I can't say that graphics are bad/very bad because they're only on the other games like CoD MW2, MW3, BO, BO2, etc. Anyway, they're not so good, because this was out on 2007, and on this year Crysis was already out, which has much better graphics. Actually, I don't care about graphics, but, since I'm reviewing a game, I have to rate them. The gameplay is very slow and boring, and it isn't competitive. The multiplayer is closed (I mean that you can't make your own scripts, maps, gametypes, etc., like on Quake 3), and there's not SDK, etc. (OF COURSE!). The singleplayer lasts just a bit. You can complete it in 4 hours. Semi-good plot, because it can be good, but it's not deep. 3.75, for me. Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2013
    3
    I'm sorry folks but this game is entirely overrated. People like to claim that this was the last good Call of Duty, when in fact this is not a very good game. My main beef is with the mutliplayer. In all reality, the singleplayer is great, and typically is with any Call of Duty game, but that's not why you buy COD. You buy COD for multiplayer, and this games multiplayer is terrible. IfI'm sorry folks but this game is entirely overrated. People like to claim that this was the last good Call of Duty, when in fact this is not a very good game. My main beef is with the mutliplayer. In all reality, the singleplayer is great, and typically is with any Call of Duty game, but that's not why you buy COD. You buy COD for multiplayer, and this games multiplayer is terrible. If it's not some kiddies with ACOG snipers tryharding, it's really bad sounding and feeling guns. The dedicated server system is trash in comparison to Black Ops or World at War. You are also stuck with only three killstreaks, in comparison to the newer games. The maps aren't too bad, and the graphics are standard among Call of Duty games, but I just don't like the feel of the multiplayer. This game is overrated, and even MW3 of all the COD games is better than this. Expand
  9. May 8, 2012
    4
    Cod4's immorally short 4 hour campaign has lowered the bar such that multiplayer games now feel that it is okay to settle for short, poorly made campaigns. To nitpick this game to death, allies always get into your way and absorb some of your bullets because they look like your enemies. Respawning enemies make the combat quite futile. There are a large number of mechanics that are usedCod4's immorally short 4 hour campaign has lowered the bar such that multiplayer games now feel that it is okay to settle for short, poorly made campaigns. To nitpick this game to death, allies always get into your way and absorb some of your bullets because they look like your enemies. Respawning enemies make the combat quite futile. There are a large number of mechanics that are used only one time, such as ONLY ONE mounted sniper rifle which is affected by wind. The game is determined to never calm down, making it even more frustrating trying to divine the developers' will as the game tries to stomp on your free will.
    The second worst aspect is the attack dogs that will tear your aorta out unless you press the melee attack button at precisely the right time, which I can never manage. You will be sent back to the last save point to keep an extra close watch out for the aorta-fiends.
    The worst part is the fans, which all sound like "y ar u runing intothe rooom sprayying bulets like that man? hav u no skil man???"
    Activision has since released about four copies in addition to all the competitors.
    Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    A shooter made for the hanidcapped and babbies. There is no pre-requisite of aiming so I guess this makes sense. If hitboxing jockery is your sort of thing, then I guess this game was ok. But if you have any expectation of a game that requires skill and has a skill curve that rewards practice, then you'll be disappointed. Dumb.
  11. Jan 10, 2011
    4
    The game's single player is okay. Ordinary and uninspired, it left me bored half-way through missions. The graphics are fairly good (I'm not picky in that respect), but otherwise it was rather disappointing in terms of gameplay. It also felt too dramatic, but I've never liked cheesy action movies personally.

    The multiplayer is bland and uninspired as well, but it dares to include an
    The game's single player is okay. Ordinary and uninspired, it left me bored half-way through missions. The graphics are fairly good (I'm not picky in that respect), but otherwise it was rather disappointing in terms of gameplay. It also felt too dramatic, but I've never liked cheesy action movies personally.

    The multiplayer is bland and uninspired as well, but it dares to include an idiotic RPG item unlock system as well, ruining any chance of the game being played competitively by new players. Only in graphics does it improve upon the experience furnished by Quakeworld (my multiplayer "benchmark" game), though that's easily counteracted by the unfortunate experience>skill system and a weapon set too focused on low-skill high-damage hitscan weapons, making the game much too campy for my tastes.

    3 points for a mediocre single player campaign; 0 for a dysfunctional grind-based instagib multiplayer experience (which has drawn the gaming industry AWAY from the "right direction"); 1 for spawning a WWII-set clone/sequel with a decent zombie-killing mode in it.
    Expand
  12. cod4overraed
    Jan 19, 2008
    4
    The single player campaign is an utterly scripted corridor affiar with inifite respawning AI. It looks pretty and gives you that feeling of being in the middle of a war, but once you start to actually play a bit it just feels so frustratingly restrictive and BS. There's no point sniping from range because the AIs keep respawning in the same place, and keep throwing grenades in the The single player campaign is an utterly scripted corridor affiar with inifite respawning AI. It looks pretty and gives you that feeling of being in the middle of a war, but once you start to actually play a bit it just feels so frustratingly restrictive and BS. There's no point sniping from range because the AIs keep respawning in the same place, and keep throwing grenades in the same spots (PRE-SCRIPTED waypoint BOTS AIS!!!!). To demonstrate just how crap the experience is, most of the time you can just run forward rambo style, camp behind a crate, which doesn't move because its fixed geometry, and let ur buddies do the killing. Since ur in the most forward position the AIs won't respawn, if you hung back a bit they would have .... Special squad mates don't die, shoot captain price in the head and he'll give you a bit of an insult, but thats about it. When you evac, its no point taking your time, due to BS respawn and immortal squad mates, just run through the whole map to the helicopter, and wait for ur buddies to get shot to bits and still survive. In the sniper mission however you have to wait for the copter. The best strat is to camp at the AI respawn points to prevents a BS infinite waves of bots swaping you down. Bullet penetration is the only real physics you get, just about all the objects in game don't move unless its part of some linear scripted sequence. You can only jump over fences when the game lets you. All vehicle missions bits are prescripted, you cant move the vehicles around, you just shoot. Replay the mission and you'll shoot at exactly the same places. Multiplayer is quite addictive I must admit as a run and gun spam fest, can play this stuff for hours. The generals have the advantage though pwning all the noobs with BS perks and guns. Expect a lot of deaths to air strikes and helicopters, and expect a lot of trash talk from guys with self esteem problems. Character customisation would have been nice ... no female solder option either, so don't expect any ladies playing this. Overall very OVERRATED ... a multiplayer only game for me, the single player campaign nearly made me wanna quit playing games. Expand
  13. Luis-Anon-
    Mar 15, 2008
    0
    Found the game in special edition for 20 bucks XD (normally 70) Singleplayer was ok, but since im only interested on Multiplayer i gave it a try. I hated it, grenade spam is worse than Team fortress classic you cannot spawn without getting blown apart by either a grenade or a helicopter, To make things worse spawning is near impossible as spawn camping is constant. To make things worse theFound the game in special edition for 20 bucks XD (normally 70) Singleplayer was ok, but since im only interested on Multiplayer i gave it a try. I hated it, grenade spam is worse than Team fortress classic you cannot spawn without getting blown apart by either a grenade or a helicopter, To make things worse spawning is near impossible as spawn camping is constant. To make things worse the upgrade system, yea to dis-encourage me even further all the ones who are good have the good guns, what a balance :(, thus making them near impossible to defeat and ruining the game for you, while you are stuck with the same useless gun for almost the whole time. I dont understand how i empty 2 full clips in their back while using sights only for then to turn and fire 3 shots to headshot you. I just wish i could get my 20 bucks back. If you wan't a good fps get the orange box. Expand
  14. Mar 28, 2014
    0
    Singleplayer is a total joke. The SP is a linear rollercoaster from start to finish, enemy is stupid as a log, weapons offer no variety.

    Multiplayer is skill-less punching around. You heal by sucking your thumb behind a cover, you have to aimdownsights and stop to hit **** you call killstrikes and use weaponloadouts. Noob gaming at it's best. Call of **** 4. This is the same as Call
    Singleplayer is a total joke. The SP is a linear rollercoaster from start to finish, enemy is stupid as a log, weapons offer no variety.

    Multiplayer is skill-less punching around. You heal by sucking your thumb behind a cover, you have to aimdownsights and stop to hit **** you call killstrikes and use weaponloadouts. Noob gaming at it's best.

    Call of **** 4. This is the same as Call of **** 2. Copy paste at it's best. Steer clear.
    Expand
  15. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    Ok, this game is just the worst excuse of an FPS. Bad graphics, small maps, no weapons, hackers, glitches, bugs, After all, this game is not good. This game got a high score because all the CoD fanboys thought that this was the best CoD, let me tell you one thing: It's NOT. There are much better FPS's with much lower scores that deserve a higher rating. Activision paid reviews good, IOk, this game is just the worst excuse of an FPS. Bad graphics, small maps, no weapons, hackers, glitches, bugs, After all, this game is not good. This game got a high score because all the CoD fanboys thought that this was the best CoD, let me tell you one thing: It's NOT. There are much better FPS's with much lower scores that deserve a higher rating. Activision paid reviews good, I see. Just a terrible game, from Single Player to MP. Expand
  16. TKSTKS
    Dec 5, 2007
    4
    As Ry B said there is no tactics involved. It's like playing a part in a movie, which is kinda cool but a bit too boring for my taste. Graphics are great and it is amusing nonetheless. The most annoying thing to me is that I can't help but feel that the change over from WWII to this "Iraq-esk" warfare is simply propaganda from a $$ source promoting the Iraq/Iran/middle East war As Ry B said there is no tactics involved. It's like playing a part in a movie, which is kinda cool but a bit too boring for my taste. Graphics are great and it is amusing nonetheless. The most annoying thing to me is that I can't help but feel that the change over from WWII to this "Iraq-esk" warfare is simply propaganda from a $$ source promoting the Iraq/Iran/middle East war machine". I can't prove that but the implication is valid and irks me. A steller "4" for this annoyance and lack of tactics. Expand
  17. OliverD.
    Feb 6, 2008
    4
    Most average game I have ever played. It bored me to sleep. Too easy, no improvement on the others (which were already average) and it has no innovative new features. I was almost bored too sleep. A woeful over hyped game.
  18. AaronL.
    Jul 23, 2008
    2
    Disgustingly overrated, yet another boring first person shooter with no attempt whatsoever in improving gameplay, it feels almost like the first one with better graphics and different models. I would be kicking myself if Crysis didn't come out, as it would mean that I upgraded my computer just for DOD4. If you are a beginner for shooters? Then this might be an option, but if Disgustingly overrated, yet another boring first person shooter with no attempt whatsoever in improving gameplay, it feels almost like the first one with better graphics and different models. I would be kicking myself if Crysis didn't come out, as it would mean that I upgraded my computer just for DOD4. If you are a beginner for shooters? Then this might be an option, but if you've played fps for over 10 years? Then this would simply be awful. "Nice" features: Fairly flashy graphics, bullet - wall penetration system (wow, valve did that with counter strike 10 years ago). Multiplayer is fun for the first few plays, so I guess that might be why I gave it a 2 instead of a 0. Expand
  19. ElimG.
    Sep 4, 2008
    3
    Played single-player. Worst single-player game that I've played in a long time. Infinite enemy spawn? Really? And how do you get that commander guy to shut up - I don't want to do that, get lost! Basically, for single player there is very little interesting. The graphics are pretty, but the gameplay is really annoying, for many, many reasons. The story is boring. Don't give Played single-player. Worst single-player game that I've played in a long time. Infinite enemy spawn? Really? And how do you get that commander guy to shut up - I don't want to do that, get lost! Basically, for single player there is very little interesting. The graphics are pretty, but the gameplay is really annoying, for many, many reasons. The story is boring. Don't give a damn. Got a cheat, will finish it to see what happens, but other than that - whatever. Expand
  20. KevinS
    Sep 5, 2008
    1
    There are a couple problems with this Game, 1)The story is completely linear, just the same point A to Point B Call of Duty has always had. 2) Multiplayer is terribly shallow, it is easier to kill firing from the hip than actually aiming, and there is no realy point to the prestige mode, besides having to do all those crappy challenges all over again, all just for a shiny icon, and is There are a couple problems with this Game, 1)The story is completely linear, just the same point A to Point B Call of Duty has always had. 2) Multiplayer is terribly shallow, it is easier to kill firing from the hip than actually aiming, and there is no realy point to the prestige mode, besides having to do all those crappy challenges all over again, all just for a shiny icon, and is really only fun for people looking only for cheap thrills and and unchallenging gameplay. 3) The graphics, which are nice, probobly the only reason I gave this game a 1, cover up the fact that the gameplay feels the same since the first call of duty, only with new guns and enviroments. 4) The search and destroy game mode is a worse version of the counter-strike game mode, and feels like your team really isnt need to achieve victory, there isnt much tactical thought needs to be put into this games multiplayer to win, just killing someone, as some one earlier may have said, killing someone faster than they can kill you. This game may be worth the hours spent on it at first when you buy it, but it really is just repititve gameplay and old formulas that are just covered up by improve graphics and enviroments. Expand
  21. RyB.
    Nov 29, 2007
    3
    It's a Borrrring Single Player for those of us who like a little tactics in our FPS. COD4 does have great graphics and the scripted set pieces are some of the best, but I don't just want to watch an action movie. I want to be able to scope out an area and decide what kind of approach to take and what gear to equip and where to find cover and when to strike and when to retreat. It's a Borrrring Single Player for those of us who like a little tactics in our FPS. COD4 does have great graphics and the scripted set pieces are some of the best, but I don't just want to watch an action movie. I want to be able to scope out an area and decide what kind of approach to take and what gear to equip and where to find cover and when to strike and when to retreat. This FPS leads you around to waypoints where you shoot fish in a barrel and wait for someone to tell you to move on to the next scripted sequence. Yawn! Let the console-couch-potatoes enjoy the ride. Expand
  22. faciaL.Agonyok
    Dec 14, 2007
    4
    i agree with the other 6 and below voters on the single player mod. As for multi player mod its a joke if your any good at fps you will wreck the entire team with air strikes and helicopters while chasing them from 1 spawn to another i think i will stick with Counterstrike Source. But if you have $50.00 and dont care what happens to it you can buy this already been seen b4 game that wasi agree with the other 6 and below voters on the single player mod. As for multi player mod its a joke if your any good at fps you will wreck the entire team with air strikes and helicopters while chasing them from 1 spawn to another i think i will stick with Counterstrike Source. But if you have $50.00 and dont care what happens to it you can buy this already been seen b4 game that was clearly over hyped by non-gamers Expand
  23. JustinR.
    Apr 16, 2008
    3
    This game is terribly addicting but offers nothing new at all to pc FPS. Multiplayer is pretty much another counter-strike style action fps. I play this game all the time only because multiplayer TDM is fun and it took counter-strike's spot. Still waiting for an FPS that offers much much more the just open fields (BF2) and pretty graphics (COD4). Now I would like to see an FPS that This game is terribly addicting but offers nothing new at all to pc FPS. Multiplayer is pretty much another counter-strike style action fps. I play this game all the time only because multiplayer TDM is fun and it took counter-strike's spot. Still waiting for an FPS that offers much much more the just open fields (BF2) and pretty graphics (COD4). Now I would like to see an FPS that requires team orientation, Awesome graphics, Nice large multi routed maps yet not over huge like BF2, indoors and outdoors in one map, and finally....perfectly balanced and truly realistic. In short, if you want another run and gun game with real nice graphics, buy this. If you are waiting for something new and amazing, save your money. Expand
  24. MickN.
    Nov 13, 2007
    1
    Yet another mindless corridor shooter. Criminally short, zero interaction with your squadmates. Doors that can't be opened. Windows that can't be broken. 1 metre high boxes that you just can't quite muster the strength to climb over. Worthless drivel.
  25. MikeC.
    Mar 12, 2008
    3
    how the hell is this game rated so highly ... totally dull, linear dross .... multiplayer felt so restricted and cramped, so much so that i found it more advantageous to stay put in some green house waiting for some noob to run around and blast em.Compare the multiplayer to battlefield 2, where you feel part of a team ,you have a few square miles of landscape in which to plot and develop how the hell is this game rated so highly ... totally dull, linear dross .... multiplayer felt so restricted and cramped, so much so that i found it more advantageous to stay put in some green house waiting for some noob to run around and blast em.Compare the multiplayer to battlefield 2, where you feel part of a team ,you have a few square miles of landscape in which to plot and develop some team tactics, I have played battlefield for years and had a great time ... played cod 4 for about a couple of weeks and boy was i bored how can anyone rate this game highly, even in the single player mode I could just sit down and allow my squad to do most of the arse kicking. I really worry about who rates games these days ... a score of over 90 i always thought of as an all time classic ... this is most definitely not ... an easily forgettable, linear, hectic, same old run of the mill war game that looks good ... anyone else feel that most game designers are just milking us.... try and think back through your gaming life history all those special experiences that you and your console or pc had together ... would this even dare to share the same shelf space ...arghhhh I hate this game. Expand
  26. N/aN/a
    Jul 7, 2008
    0
    This is such a flawed game it make windows vista look like the best OS eve.r
  27. SJT-Ruler*
    Feb 7, 2009
    0
    So, since I played CoD1, it's expansion and CoD2, I did want to know how CoD4 was like. At first, I have to inform you that I was disappointed about Call of Duty 2, the story made even less sense and it was the same basic gameplay. It was still fun, but it had no new gameplay whatsoever. So, then came CoD4. To begin with, I don't give anything about the setting, if it's WW2 So, since I played CoD1, it's expansion and CoD2, I did want to know how CoD4 was like. At first, I have to inform you that I was disappointed about Call of Duty 2, the story made even less sense and it was the same basic gameplay. It was still fun, but it had no new gameplay whatsoever. So, then came CoD4. To begin with, I don't give anything about the setting, if it's WW2 or Modern, I don't care. As long as the game is fine, the setting is fine. So, singleplayer. It's what we all have been used to by now, it's just CoD2. With respawning enemies and, this time different weapons. It's the same thing, go to objective this, objective that, just beat all the respawning enemies and we love you. That's what the game tells you in singleplayer. The graphics, poor. I remember gameplay trailers from Call of Duty 3, that game had an overdosis of lightning. Everything was glowing, everything. Just, really annoying. CoD4 took this to the next level and made this glow EVEN WORSE. At first, you may think that this looks great, but walk up to random people or walls. You will notice that the textures are just extremely low resolution textures, even Call of Duty (1) looks better than that! They simply used light effects to distract the player from the poor textures. Not to mention, this game itself is a bit poor and suspicious, an American anti-terrorism shooter in the age of the war against Iraq? Yes, you see where I'm going with this. Anyway, multiplayer. Just boring. Just singleplayer, but then with perks and rankings. We've never seen rankings in a game before, have we? Also, there is basically ONE new thing about the gameplay. An integrated wallhack. To be honest, this does the gameplay much more bad than good, simply because it only does bad and no good at all. You can shoot through walls, if you are a gamer you know this is hell for everyone. The noobs will enjoy it, real gamers don't. In the end, CoD4 equals CoD2, but now it also got rankings and an integrated wallhack. POOR EFFORT! People that buy this, are just so stupid. It's basically CoD2 in a different setting, even a mod for CoD2 would've been more enjoyable. And you ALL have been tricked in buying it. Well, Activision, IW, too bad. This game is the biggest failure in the history of gaming in a long time! Expand
  28. ZackH
    Sep 1, 2008
    0
    Single player is horribly linear. Even when entering an open space, the AI and game simply forces you into moving a specific way. Multiplayer is even worse. Most of the maps are Call of Duty 2's MP maps in Middle Eastern disguise. The overall experience is a chaotic, unfocused and independent spraying spree with little heed to true physics. Most of the weapons have similar recoil, Single player is horribly linear. Even when entering an open space, the AI and game simply forces you into moving a specific way. Multiplayer is even worse. Most of the maps are Call of Duty 2's MP maps in Middle Eastern disguise. The overall experience is a chaotic, unfocused and independent spraying spree with little heed to true physics. Most of the weapons have similar recoil, which is almost non-existent, and hardly requires the iron sights to be used, just fire from the hip and the entire magazine will hit the intended target thrice over. Ranks are virtually pointless because you cannot elevate higher than level 55, and then just to work the same tired challenges up again in 'Prestige Mode'. I give it a 0 because the MP quality is so jaw-dropping lacking and dull that it can't be described in words. It's a run and gun 'Halo' shooting spree that deserves none of the overhyped bs. Save your money and keep playing Counter Strike. Expand
  29. JoeC.
    Aug 29, 2008
    2
    I thought COD4 was too unrealistic, catering to the shallow tastes of those who have no realistic representation of real world combat. Multiplayer is a joke, it's just a spamfest full of people who complain when you use a more effective way to kill them then they used against them, claiming they have more skill than you although they clearly lost. "In war, if you have to fight fair, I thought COD4 was too unrealistic, catering to the shallow tastes of those who have no realistic representation of real world combat. Multiplayer is a joke, it's just a spamfest full of people who complain when you use a more effective way to kill them then they used against them, claiming they have more skill than you although they clearly lost. "In war, if you have to fight fair, you are doing something wrong" is something I tell them that usually shuts up the smart ones. The single player mission, while having a new and innovative story-line was full of Hollywood-style ya-ya's, utter crap. The producer clearly catered towards the "WOW" effect and not the, "Let's get this right effect". I feel that they should have done their research and put out a title that would be a solid representation of what our service men and women endure every day, as a window to the world of what these people do for their countries. Not some spamfest Hollywood bullcrap spree. Expand
  30. K.G.
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    The single player campaign serves as a really nice mod for COD2 (graphics really haven't improved since), but come on asking full price for the same old tired linear gameplay and contrived story? MP is a little better but still suffers from being overly arcadey.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. PC Gamer UK
    85
    A beautifully crafted first-person shooter, but without a compelling context. How much does that matter? To me, a little. Not a lot, but it nags. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  2. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  3. It’s absolutely relentless in its assault on the senses and never lets up until the last trigger has been squeezed. The multiplayer is even better, with the perks and weapon upgrades acting as a balance to the lack of vehicles.