Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    Enjoyable but highly flawed.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a dinosaur of the game industry. Because of its great multiplayer game along with the faithful fans with their immense interest in it, the game is nowhere near its end, yet. However, it's about goddamned time to reach some evolution. Unfortunately, the newest installment wasted its potential.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    67
    I don’t doubt that every gun, perk, and killstreak reward in Ghosts was implemented and tweaked with a fine brush, but painting in every individual eyelash of the Mona Lisa wouldn’t make it a better painting. That’s what’s been happening to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare since 2007—little bits have been scraped off and painted over again and again. With a broader brush, Activision and its studios might stop noodling around in the corners of Modern Warfare’s greatness and paint something actually modern.
  4. Nov 16, 2013
    66
    Call of Duty Ghosts fires some rounds, hits the target, just not a bullseye.
  5. 60
    Nothing to see here in terms of innovation: the campaign is dull, the multiplayer fun. But this time, the air of sameness is a little bit too much. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    60
    It's the perfect example of a video game status quo being maintained if I've ever seen it, and if there's one game series that desperately needs better than that after nearly a decade, it's Call of Duty.
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    57
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is yet another homogenized mishmash of mediocrity catering to the most lowbrow gamers, a short-lived product that will be long forgotten come November of 2014.
User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    1
    This is a step back from Black Ops 2 in almost every way. No FoV slider on PC version, or FPS cap setting, both of which were present in BO2.This is a step back from Black Ops 2 in almost every way. No FoV slider on PC version, or FPS cap setting, both of which were present in BO2. Bugs in MW3 that were addressed in BO2 are now somehow back in Ghosts, for example the random jumps in mouse sensitivity that happen if certain programs are running in the background (such as FRAPs). Theater mode, one of the best features of recent Call of Duty games, has been removed. Optimization wise, my computer runs Battlefield 4 on max settings at higher frame rates than Ghosts. Image quality defaults to 'high', which causes upscaling of resolution like a console game rather than rendering at your chosen resolution. Sound effects sound like they were taken straight from MW3. Sad. Full Review »
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    The graphics are even worse than the transition from Cod 2 to 3. I am so glad I didn't buy any of the map packs or expansions. This will beThe graphics are even worse than the transition from Cod 2 to 3. I am so glad I didn't buy any of the map packs or expansions. This will be the last CoD I ever buy. I mean honestly PayDay 2 has better graphics. I thought it would be cool that you could customize a character and become a woman. I think thats the only improvement this game has made. Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    It's one big fraud. 6 Gb RAM in requirements, "nextgen" engine, "awesome" graphics. Minimum of efforts. Maximum of income. It's policy of Activision.