Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    Though at the risk of overcomplicating things at times, its robust multiplayer gameplay, surprisingly fun co-op modes, and lengthy, challenging, and varied campaign makes Ghosts one of the best Call of Duty games to date.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    If Battlefield 4 has only a terrific campaign, Call of Duty Ghosts is far more uniform. It's not such a beautiful game but the campaign is really breathtaking, and you have a large panel of ways to play online. For those who want to play together, there is Extinction mode ; if you're addicted, you can have your daily dose on your mobile ; if you're a noob, you will have the possibility to play with and against bots. A great and complete experience.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    It's exactly what fans of the franchise have grown to expect. No surprises here, folks. [Jan 2014, p.90]
  4. 79
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is exactly the game its fans wanted and its critics feared. As always, the multiplayer is perfectly balanced, the campaign nicely presented and the new features promise a lot of fun and motivation. On the other hand you get a short, lowbrow story and an engine that looks good, but not necessarily next-gen, even on PS4.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    75
    In an industry with dozens of titles vying for the top spot in their genre, stagnation is a death sentence, and I fear that without a change on par with the Modern Warfare revolution that rose the series to where it is, the spirit of Call of Duty is destined to soon become no more than a ghost.
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    Enjoyable but highly flawed.
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a dinosaur of the game industry. Because of its great multiplayer game along with the faithful fans with their immense interest in it, the game is nowhere near its end, yet. However, it's about goddamned time to reach some evolution. Unfortunately, the newest installment wasted its potential.
  8. Nov 6, 2013
    67
    I don’t doubt that every gun, perk, and killstreak reward in Ghosts was implemented and tweaked with a fine brush, but painting in every individual eyelash of the Mona Lisa wouldn’t make it a better painting. That’s what’s been happening to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare since 2007—little bits have been scraped off and painted over again and again. With a broader brush, Activision and its studios might stop noodling around in the corners of Modern Warfare’s greatness and paint something actually modern.
  9. Nov 16, 2013
    66
    Call of Duty Ghosts fires some rounds, hits the target, just not a bullseye.
  10. 60
    Nothing to see here in terms of innovation: the campaign is dull, the multiplayer fun. But this time, the air of sameness is a little bit too much. [Issue#236]
  11. Nov 13, 2013
    60
    It's the perfect example of a video game status quo being maintained if I've ever seen it, and if there's one game series that desperately needs better than that after nearly a decade, it's Call of Duty.
  12. Nov 18, 2013
    57
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is yet another homogenized mishmash of mediocrity catering to the most lowbrow gamers, a short-lived product that will be long forgotten come November of 2014.
  13. Nov 24, 2013
    40
    An utterly horrible PC port mars an otherwise very, very average Call of Duty game. Nothing to see here.
  14. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Most of the time it revels in being mediocre and cowardly by the numbers rather than outright terrible, though there are moments where it manages to be both. If this isn’t a wake up call, showing once and for all that churning out more or less the same stuff year after year only serves to dilute the quality of a franchise, then I don’t know what is. It’s completely shameless, and it’s undoubtedly going to sell phenomenally well.
User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 3105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    1
    This is a step back from Black Ops 2 in almost every way. No FoV slider on PC version, or FPS cap setting, both of which were present in BO2. Bugs in MW3 that were addressed in BO2 are now somehow back in Ghosts, for example the random jumps in mouse sensitivity that happen if certain programs are running in the background (such as FRAPs). Theater mode, one of the best features of recent Call of Duty games, has been removed. Optimization wise, my computer runs Battlefield 4 on max settings at higher frame rates than Ghosts. Image quality defaults to 'high', which causes upscaling of resolution like a console game rather than rendering at your chosen resolution. Sound effects sound like they were taken straight from MW3. Sad. Full Review »
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    The graphics are even worse than the transition from Cod 2 to 3. I am so glad I didn't buy any of the map packs or expansions. This will be the last CoD I ever buy. I mean honestly PayDay 2 has better graphics. I thought it would be cool that you could customize a character and become a woman. I think thats the only improvement this game has made. Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    It's one big fraud. 6 Gb RAM in requirements, "nextgen" engine, "awesome" graphics. Minimum of efforts. Maximum of income. It's policy of Activision.