Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PC

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6502 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattW
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    COD is all about multiplayer. The ability to play with regular players on a server - to specific rules you like. Instead you getting spoonfed a generic anonymous MP experience. Really bizarre decision IW to remove stable professional servers and run everything on p2p from users home computers....If you're new to COD buy COD4. The multiplayer on this latest game will be dead quite COD is all about multiplayer. The ability to play with regular players on a server - to specific rules you like. Instead you getting spoonfed a generic anonymous MP experience. Really bizarre decision IW to remove stable professional servers and run everything on p2p from users home computers....If you're new to COD buy COD4. The multiplayer on this latest game will be dead quite quickly as you can't play internationally with the same players - COD4 and COD WAW will still going due the community they created and the ability to play however suits YOU the player (the customer - remember!). Expand
  2. PatrickB
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Rehash of MW1 and nothing new at all. Internet revews were obviously payed by Activision / Bobby Kotick (Satan) to give this game a high score. Everything is exactly as it was in MW1 except a few things were left out like lean, etc. Dumbed down and for the same price. Disgraceful.
  3. WolfeP.
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Horrid game, What the heck IW? No dedicated servers? No lean? No modding support? We need all this stuff for people to even be fun. No browser just laggy matchmaking? No taking ahold of the pc? No console? This is a PC, we need these to survive. Don't buy this on the PC you will be disappointed.
  4. MikeO
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    Lets see, where to begin: Lag - Unbelievably horrendous at times. Last night, there were 12 players playing, and 6 of those twelve had yellow bars. It was like something out of Star Trek - people warping around the map, skipping, emptying clips into someone and not getting hit blips, etc. At one point a player actually JUMPED over 2 bullets from my .50 Cal. Yessiree bob. IW.NET sure Lets see, where to begin: Lag - Unbelievably horrendous at times. Last night, there were 12 players playing, and 6 of those twelve had yellow bars. It was like something out of Star Trek - people warping around the map, skipping, emptying clips into someone and not getting hit blips, etc. At one point a player actually JUMPED over 2 bullets from my .50 Cal. Yessiree bob. IW.NET sure leveled the playing field. Matchmaking: OH yeah! I love this matchmaking! Not being able to kick jackasses who like using words like "spic", "nigger" and/or "kike" because the person isn't playing the way they want to play. Not being able to go spectate in the middle of a match if something needs your attention around the house. The only option is to leave, which affects your score - you get docked if you leave a match early. The only recourse you have is to file a "report" (which, I have yet to find out how) which after you do, it'll probably take Valve/IW/Activision 2+ weeks to take action, if they decide to take action at all. Don't bother buying it. There are a ton of good alternatives coming out within the next 6-7 months: BF:BC2 & APB are two that immediately come to mind. Expand
  5. MikeK
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    I have yet to even buy this game, but I already give it a 0. See i was considering going and buying the game, despite THE ANGER i feel after I knew they removed dedicated servers, and all the other mess, plus jakcing up the price. But when I learned that also the game for Pc is reduced to 9 v 9 I RAGED SO HARD. Please people, do not support these jackasses for making such a horrible pile I have yet to even buy this game, but I already give it a 0. See i was considering going and buying the game, despite THE ANGER i feel after I knew they removed dedicated servers, and all the other mess, plus jakcing up the price. But when I learned that also the game for Pc is reduced to 9 v 9 I RAGED SO HARD. Please people, do not support these jackasses for making such a horrible pile of trash. Instead of using those 65$ to buy this garbage, use the money to blow your nose or wipe your ass. You would atleast get some use out of the money that way. I wish i could punch the VP in the face right now. Expand
  6. ChrisS
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    I'm sure it is a great single player game. However, all the planning and preparation that my clan has done was for naught. Infinity Ward cares more about soft core gamers than the hard core. Lets see how long the soft core's interest holds. Me and Mine will be keeping our money, waiting for the next developer that listens.
  7. TerryS
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Has the potential to be a good game, however lack of the following things basically tie the hands of the competitive online multiplayer scene; No console Record function Dedicated servers Mod tools.... It's time IW listened to their supporters and financers.
  8. KentH
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The PC version of the game is a poor port of it's console cousin. Everything besides graphics has been dumbed down from it's predecessors. Online matches are p2p based: your gaming experience will depend on how good (or bad) the host's connection is. And the 9v9 limit is less than the smallest games we used to play online.
  9. Alex
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    It is very unfortunate that PC is now equated to the basic world of consoles. Not only do we pay the same ridiclous price, we also have to make do with no dedicated servers, outdated graphics, and a game which hasnt been changed all that much. I want my money back.
  10. FrancoisS
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    The gaming industry has become a breeding ground for Greedy corporates. First they make Console games almost double the price of pc games, then remove the father of Gaming (pc) by demoting it to console level and charging the same price. The greed continues in milking the industry for lack lustre DLC which should be either included in the game, and or editors made available so the The gaming industry has become a breeding ground for Greedy corporates. First they make Console games almost double the price of pc games, then remove the father of Gaming (pc) by demoting it to console level and charging the same price. The greed continues in milking the industry for lack lustre DLC which should be either included in the game, and or editors made available so the community can make their own content. Oh and dedicated servers have been available on all platforms, but only provided by Companies who care about the game and the industry more than their pockets. Expand
  11. SeiferA
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    This was probably the most horrible game I have seen in some time. No dedicated servers and no support for competitive gaming at all. Good job making this disaster. Worst game in years.
  12. BarryK
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    Almost identical to the last game, I'm not too happy with paying $100+ AU for a game that is the same as one that I already own. If anything, this version has less features on the PC. My ping is through the roof due to no dedicated servers and controls like lean no longer work. The single player campaign lasted around 5 hours, and since the multiplayer is useless to me because of the Almost identical to the last game, I'm not too happy with paying $100+ AU for a game that is the same as one that I already own. If anything, this version has less features on the PC. My ping is through the roof due to no dedicated servers and controls like lean no longer work. The single player campaign lasted around 5 hours, and since the multiplayer is useless to me because of the horrible lag (I cannot connect to any games close enough not to be 200+ MS behind everyone else) I think I need to take this back to the store for a refund. If someone can patch in dedicated servers then this game may be a 6 or a 7 (its still just a rehash of an old game) but until then, its just 5 hours of play before its useless. Expand
  13. B
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Way to completely cripple this game for PC users, IW. The price got raised up on the game and stripped of features like dedicated servers. I don't get why they'd cater to the PC crowd for CoD4 then completely backstab them with MW2.
  14. JoshuaD
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    I won't even be buying this game because of the lame multiplayer for the PC. I was kinda excited to jump on board with a new shooter, but once I heard there would be no dedicated server support, no mods, and an 18 player limit. I decided to pass. If i want a controlled, non-customizable, game with just a few people I would buy an xbox and Halo. I play games on my pc for all the I won't even be buying this game because of the lame multiplayer for the PC. I was kinda excited to jump on board with a new shooter, but once I heard there would be no dedicated server support, no mods, and an 18 player limit. I decided to pass. If i want a controlled, non-customizable, game with just a few people I would buy an xbox and Halo. I play games on my pc for all the reasons that have been removed from this game. Thanks for saving my 60 bucks Infinity ward! Expand
  15. PirateIt
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers, no mod support, 9v9 dm, laggy online mode.... defeats the purpose of playing on the PC. Im giving the FU to IW and Activision by pirating the game. Very sad since I bought the PC and console versions of the first MW.
  16. JoaoR
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    "It's impossible to describe MW2, it's impossible to explain why it's a must-have game for everyone. I just call it EPIC. Yes, the story is short, but holy shit, it's intense. Take your favorite movie, add about 5 twists to the plot, and imagine you're controlling 3 or 4 of the major characters throughout the story. That's Modern Warfare 2. And I didn't "It's impossible to describe MW2, it's impossible to explain why it's a must-have game for everyone. I just call it EPIC. Yes, the story is short, but holy shit, it's intense. Take your favorite movie, add about 5 twists to the plot, and imagine you're controlling 3 or 4 of the major characters throughout the story. That's Modern Warfare 2. And I didn't even try the multiplayer yet." Yes Daniel, had you tried multiplayerd you woud have given it a 5. Expand
  17. MarkH
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    A true destruction of what was once a 21st century PC gaming classic. No leaning, no innovation, no dedicated servers, and an inflated pricetag. The purest slap in the face to the PC gaming community. Keep matchmaking on the consoles, developers. PC gamers don't need it and DEFINATELY don't WANT it.
  18. ZackB
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers, max player count 9v9, default and LOCKED FOV of 65, leaning around corners removed, shitty matchmaking service, no mods possible..... Why has Infinity Ward alienated the PC Gamers who are responsible for CoD being a successful franchise in the first place? Take everything logical and great about CoD 4 and throw it out the window.... thanks to consolized bs, this is No dedicated servers, max player count 9v9, default and LOCKED FOV of 65, leaning around corners removed, shitty matchmaking service, no mods possible..... Why has Infinity Ward alienated the PC Gamers who are responsible for CoD being a successful franchise in the first place? Take everything logical and great about CoD 4 and throw it out the window.... thanks to consolized bs, this is essentially a crappy console port. I want to love this game, I really do, in fact have been looking forward to it since it's announcement.... but how could they DESTROY the PC community like this, they obviously don't care and want to cater to the hordes of 360 halo nubs that don't know what a real FPS is. Expand
  19. AeviaA
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Lack of dedis, lack of modding, lack of games larger than 9v9, lack of a long lasting single player, lack of dev console, price increase, mandatory steam install, same engine as cod4.. not even worth a punchline.
  20. VinnieM
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    They really screwed up the PC version. Don't trust the magazines and online sites that just slop up and repackage whatever their advertising department tells them to. With this game, Inifinity Wards sent one message to the PC community: "f**k you" I, for one, am going to send the same message back and not buy this piece of garbage.
  21. Karacan
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    With the multiplayer being a horrible experience for anyone outside the US (because you WILL get paired with US players all the time thanks to their automatic matchmaking), I honestly can't condone the game (the Single Player's length is a joke I hoped to never see again since that Unreal game where the main char kills himself at the end... failing to remember the name!) . With the multiplayer being a horrible experience for anyone outside the US (because you WILL get paired with US players all the time thanks to their automatic matchmaking), I honestly can't condone the game (the Single Player's length is a joke I hoped to never see again since that Unreal game where the main char kills himself at the end... failing to remember the name!) . It's quite clear that ActiVision paid their way into the high ranks. Disappointing for the integrity of the gaming industry. Expand
  22. JackS
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Wow. Just wow. The single player is great don't get me wrong but the main thing that kept me playing COD4 was the fantastic multiplayer and IW just ****ed that up for this one. If I wanted a console online experience I would have bought this for my 360. 9v9, peer to peer, no mods and no dedicated severs is pathetic. I don't know how they could have made such a huge downgrade Wow. Just wow. The single player is great don't get me wrong but the main thing that kept me playing COD4 was the fantastic multiplayer and IW just ****ed that up for this one. If I wanted a console online experience I would have bought this for my 360. 9v9, peer to peer, no mods and no dedicated severs is pathetic. I don't know how they could have made such a huge downgrade from COD4. I hope the inevitable MW3 doesn't lower the bar again. Expand
  23. StuD
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Worthless MP...9v9...seriously? P2P networking?? Glad to see the dumbing down of the world has extended itself to the PC community. It's like the developers watched the movie Idiocracy and decided it would be a good idea to emulate that philosophy in this game. If ever there was a failboat it is IW and Activision.
  24. AllisonM
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    This rating is completely based on PC multiplayer only. IW has insulted the PC community, the ones who have made the COD series a hit. I'd like to see some real critic reviews here, not ones that completely avoid all talk of multiplayer. This is pathetic, but it deserves a zero in my books.
  25. DerikS
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    No dedicated servers, a cap of 9v9, a mandatory download of Steam, and overall standard FPS gameplay makes this game not worth buying on either console or PC. The single play is less than 5 hours long and the "co-op" is only mission based. Since there's no mod/custom map support the re-playability of this game is next to none and so $60 for a game that's only going to give me No dedicated servers, a cap of 9v9, a mandatory download of Steam, and overall standard FPS gameplay makes this game not worth buying on either console or PC. The single play is less than 5 hours long and the "co-op" is only mission based. Since there's no mod/custom map support the re-playability of this game is next to none and so $60 for a game that's only going to give me about 8 hours of mediocre enjoyment is absurd! By far one of the biggest let downs of the year. Expand
  26. KossakKossak
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    Greedy IW disabled mods/maps made by community to charge us PC players for their DLC. No way - they won't get any money from me. Besides the game doesn't have much new content in comparison to cod4, for me it's not worth buying.
  27. IanH
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Single player is fun, I really enjoyed the maps, great for a blast through in an evening. The only problem is that once you run out of single player, you will be tempted to play online and then you get to discover what everyone is upset about. Multiplayer is awful.
  28. thorlord
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    I bought this garbage to find that online play was disgustingly laggy, had fewer players per map, and no real customizations of gametypes provided by either me or the server (or lack of one) what baffles me is why a stripped down version of a potentially amazing game, costs $10 more than other games on the PC. patches wont save this garbage, the structure of its online play is flawed and I bought this garbage to find that online play was disgustingly laggy, had fewer players per map, and no real customizations of gametypes provided by either me or the server (or lack of one) what baffles me is why a stripped down version of a potentially amazing game, costs $10 more than other games on the PC. patches wont save this garbage, the structure of its online play is flawed and will soon drive gamers wanting an engaging, captivating experience to other FPS games offered. the single player is fun yes, but the CoD games used to be known for their amazing multiplayer games. its sad to see something so great fall so hard. Expand
  29. Mike
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Infinity Ward treats the PC version and community like garbage. This is by far worse than any EA DRM such as Spore. What they did was gut all features that made the PC version of any game special, such as Dedicated Servers, Mod tools, Modifications period, and the graphic tooling a PC version gets. Instead they locked down everything in the name of IWnet so they can sell you DLC or map Infinity Ward treats the PC version and community like garbage. This is by far worse than any EA DRM such as Spore. What they did was gut all features that made the PC version of any game special, such as Dedicated Servers, Mod tools, Modifications period, and the graphic tooling a PC version gets. Instead they locked down everything in the name of IWnet so they can sell you DLC or map packs, and force you into DRM, controlling everything you do. Oh and they raised the price, did I mention that? Do not pick this up on PC! Expand
  30. ChrisP
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    I don't know why this game is getting good reviews. but here are the main points you need to consider before buying this game - single player is fun i guess BUT IT ONLY LASTS 5 HOURS. if single player means that much to you then by all means spend $90 usd - MP is s*** 6v6 is not good (seriously 6v6 at least give us the choice to player in big servers). maps feel empty. terrible lag. I don't know why this game is getting good reviews. but here are the main points you need to consider before buying this game - single player is fun i guess BUT IT ONLY LASTS 5 HOURS. if single player means that much to you then by all means spend $90 usd - MP is s*** 6v6 is not good (seriously 6v6 at least give us the choice to player in big servers). maps feel empty. terrible lag. HUGE hitboxes. this is such a downgrade from modern warfare in every respect. - iw.net is a fail. no choice for host or game options. no future mods this game will be dead in a couple of weeks. THIS IS A BLATANT CONSOLE PORT and a terrible game to boot. I'm seriously happy i didn't buy this game (birthday gift) don't buy into all the reviewers hype the game just isn't worth 90 bucks. If this is what pc games are turning into then god help us. Expand
  31. SamM
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    It's not that bad of a game. No really, it's not that bad if you put on goggles that make you think a piece of crap is a piece of candy. The Single Player makes no sense at all. Everything happens to fast with no explanation, it's just ridiculous. The multiplayer is flawed on the PC and the PS3, who didn't see that coming? even after that deleted post by an Infinity It's not that bad of a game. No really, it's not that bad if you put on goggles that make you think a piece of crap is a piece of candy. The Single Player makes no sense at all. Everything happens to fast with no explanation, it's just ridiculous. The multiplayer is flawed on the PC and the PS3, who didn't see that coming? even after that deleted post by an Infinity Ward developer saying the PS3 is a turd? This game was simply made to give IW and Activision big bucks so they can ruin the industry even more than it already is. Expand
  32. ShoneL
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    60 bucks for 4 hour SP and unusable MP. And once again holly and God given US Army is saving world form evil and satanistic russians or whoever is not with USA. How much money did IW get for this propaganda...I wish them very short carrier after this.
  33. TimB
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Their is no raisin to play this game at all. it doesnt have servers and the only thing it has over 360 version is mouse control. if i wanted to control a mouse id just go to an animal testing lab with an anal mind probe or something. 360 version is better but still sucks. most fps suck ass except halo so thats not surprising. call of duty has always been a casual game played by only kids Their is no raisin to play this game at all. it doesnt have servers and the only thing it has over 360 version is mouse control. if i wanted to control a mouse id just go to an animal testing lab with an anal mind probe or something. 360 version is better but still sucks. most fps suck ass except halo so thats not surprising. call of duty has always been a casual game played by only kids and useless old fart world war 2 veterans. Expand
  34. MC
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Short derivative singleplayer campaign and multiplayer features that have gone backwards since MW1 for more than a full price game? This is barely an expansion pack. This isn't MW2, it's MW1.2. No, wait, multiplayer's been downgraded so it's MW0.8. Save yourself some money and stick with MW1, you won't regret buying MW1.
  35. OshiZ.
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    SP is great but MP was fail, alot of great features has been throw away. when host leave game stop 5 sec to restart, 9v9 cap, when change host sometime lag sometime not, no lean, no mod. If you enjoy large battle like me in CoD4 I suggest you to find other game or stick with CoD4.
  36. JohnL
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Pros - ummm.... Cons - Very short campaign (pay more get less?) no lean in multiplayer (pay more get less?) no dedi servers for mp (pay more get less?) no mod tools (pay more get less?) realistically, they raised the price cause they knew it would be a "hit" game, and completely skewed the pc community over. Yes, there are the select few who are completely oblivious to the drawbacks of Pros - ummm.... Cons - Very short campaign (pay more get less?) no lean in multiplayer (pay more get less?) no dedi servers for mp (pay more get less?) no mod tools (pay more get less?) realistically, they raised the price cause they knew it would be a "hit" game, and completely skewed the pc community over. Yes, there are the select few who are completely oblivious to the drawbacks of not having dedicated servers or very basic features in games, those are the people that try to ruin it for the rest of us. We as a pc gaming community deserve better than this hogwash. It dosent matter how good a game is in theory, take all the good things out of it and your left with a bucket full of fish... official reviews rank this game as 94 overall, the user score is 1.3 after 866 votes, that says it all in my opinion. Expand
  37. IWSucks
    Nov 12, 2009
    3
    I got this game for free, Dont ask. I had previously cancelled my pre order but free is free so I gave it a try. Single player is great alot of fun, visually one of the best games out there and it runs flawlessy on a one year old system. Now Multiplayer, while it is fun and you could see the potential of what this game could have been. I love team death match but come on capped at 6 vs 6 I got this game for free, Dont ask. I had previously cancelled my pre order but free is free so I gave it a try. Single player is great alot of fun, visually one of the best games out there and it runs flawlessy on a one year old system. Now Multiplayer, while it is fun and you could see the potential of what this game could have been. I love team death match but come on capped at 6 vs 6 the maps are clearly large enough to support double that. This will offer some fun but that will wain pretty quickly with no mods, no console, no servers no CONTROL over anything. I had to go to the bathroom during a match but couldnt, I am still waiting for a email from IW for permission to wipe. Another thing is that the game is already hacked, there are videos out there showing it, I have already experienced as because of the match making service I am playing with the same 20 people all the time and just have to tolerate the hacker its quite annoying. For free this is not that bad of a game, If is was my money I was spending it would have been placed on Bad Company 2. Dice still embraces the PC community. Expand
  38. Azakiel
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    Terrible plot, high production values. Mutliplayer on PC is terrible. Makes me wish for the days of Counter-Strike 1.3, back when games were good and not filled with random acts of console madness (ie everything explodes). VAC - its joke (wallhack working).
  39. ToddL
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    I purchased this game hoping it would be a successor to earlier versions. However, the campaign was quite short and the multi-player is so ill equipped it made for no replay value. If you get in a game, it's usually very laggy, you jerk around the screen. If you manage to get a host, you can't really kill him much or he'll just quit, then you're back to square one I purchased this game hoping it would be a successor to earlier versions. However, the campaign was quite short and the multi-player is so ill equipped it made for no replay value. If you get in a game, it's usually very laggy, you jerk around the screen. If you manage to get a host, you can't really kill him much or he'll just quit, then you're back to square one finding a new game. Infinity Ward forgot to make anti-cheat protection and there's rampant 'wall hacking' and 'aimbotting' going around. It's not worth it. I would suggest trying Modern Warfare 1, it's of higher quality than this. Expand
  40. VincentC
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Singleplayer is pretty, and the shortest damn thing you will every play, multiplauer is choppy, does not feel like a PC shooter, with out leaning those who are experienced CS or CoD players will feel an entire level of your strategy is missing, there is absolutely server lag, so the entire purpose of IWnet is obviously not to best serve the gamer, but IW.
  41. DavidA
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    Wow, for a moment there... I almost considered paying $59 for a PC game. If I was to base my decision on critic reviews only, I would have made a huge mistake. Thankfully, I was able to rely on the reviews of those who unfortunately were blindsided by Infinity Ward. I own both COD4 and COD5 (COD4 being the best) with both games being purchased for the sole purpose of playing online Wow, for a moment there... I almost considered paying $59 for a PC game. If I was to base my decision on critic reviews only, I would have made a huge mistake. Thankfully, I was able to rely on the reviews of those who unfortunately were blindsided by Infinity Ward. I own both COD4 and COD5 (COD4 being the best) with both games being purchased for the sole purpose of playing online matches. I would have purchased this game as well; if, the online component was at least comparable. Seriously, no dedicated servers? Mods? 18 player limit? Perhaps those who pre-purchased on Steam can request a refund and buy a good game such as L4D2... and save $15 in the process. Expand
  42. IWFails
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    IW is now subject to bean counters and stuffy execs who don't give a damn about actual gaming but only how they can milk every penny out of you. Now they just have a bunch of angry customers who have a choice to go elsewhere and are doing that. EPIC FAIL IW. I hope IW doesn't keep making PC games, until they can deliver what the PC market is asking for loud and clear. These IW is now subject to bean counters and stuffy execs who don't give a damn about actual gaming but only how they can milk every penny out of you. Now they just have a bunch of angry customers who have a choice to go elsewhere and are doing that. EPIC FAIL IW. I hope IW doesn't keep making PC games, until they can deliver what the PC market is asking for loud and clear. These include.. Dedicated servers, anti cheat, advanced server console with banning/kicking/voting, mod support, demo recording and remote TV, good server browser, etc etc.. IW treats us like 3rd class citizens. Just don't buy MW2 unless you only care for the adolescent single player on rails with lots of fake-looking explosions. Note, it's rather obvious a lot of the review sites are shills for IW and the rest of the gaming industry. I am not angry at review sites for trying to make a living and selling their review score but just don't trust their reviews and obviously biased statements which gloss over the very flawed MP parts of this game. I really hope this trend of consolifying PC games does not continue. I won't buy this game and I insist that IW correct their mistakes. Expand
  43. ReneV
    Nov 13, 2009
    1
    Played multiplayer 2 hours straight and completed the campaign in 7 hours on the 'Veteran' difficulty (the hardest). Multiplayer is utter shite. Automatically chooses to connect to random people around the world within decent ping range (100+/-ms). You get no choice, no dedicated servers, nothing. It's always random whom you end up playing with. Seriously, give us back the Played multiplayer 2 hours straight and completed the campaign in 7 hours on the 'Veteran' difficulty (the hardest). Multiplayer is utter shite. Automatically chooses to connect to random people around the world within decent ping range (100+/-ms). You get no choice, no dedicated servers, nothing. It's always random whom you end up playing with. Seriously, give us back the standard SERVER BROWSER for shite sake! It is such a common standard to include a server browser in ANY type of PC game with online multiplayer. If steam gave refunds, I'd take it for this game and buy Modern Warfare 1 instead. I am seriously dissappointed in Infinity Ward and Modern Warfare 2. The campaign was decent though with lots of good moments - but it's WAAAAAY too short! Should have been a cheap expansion for the original Modern Warfare instead of a 'full' 60 dollar game... Not impressed. Expand
  44. AkihiroK
    Nov 13, 2009
    4
    The tenth comes around the corner and gleefully I await the release of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. I don't go online to see what people are saying about it. I don't read the petitions about not buying the game. I usually do, so why don't I this time. Well, it's simple, I trusted Infinity Ward. Notice I said trusted, not trust. That would be long in the past. The The tenth comes around the corner and gleefully I await the release of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. I don't go online to see what people are saying about it. I don't read the petitions about not buying the game. I usually do, so why don't I this time. Well, it's simple, I trusted Infinity Ward. Notice I said trusted, not trust. That would be long in the past. The single player campaign was an interesting experience, drawing you into the story in the beginning. It seems to start off where its predecessor left off. Terrorist, check, secret military organization, check, lots of violence, double check. The story starts to make no sense about half way through, falling into chaos by the end. You beat one of two majorly bad men, but that leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. You only get to kill one of the two, seemingly leaving it open for a sequel. How long does this campaign take? For me around three hours at the default difficulty. If one only bought the game for the single player experience, they would be very disappointed with the bang they got for the buck. But that isn't the case for the cod series. I know I bought them for the multiplayer. At least since COD4. All in all id rate the single player experience at a 5 out of ten. I was not overly impressed, but it's not as bad as it could have been. Now for the multiplayer review. I would have to say, I am not impressed. For now let us set aside all of the debates about dedicated servers, and all of the controversy over the decision to cut it. I began my first match of multiplayer fairly fast. The matchmaking removed the ability to search for the best server, instead it "automated" this. Fine, i'd prefer to search for one, but I am willing to give this a shot. I sit an the lobby for about a minute and I am in my first Free-For-All game of COD:MW2. The pace seemed slow, but I attributed that to my lack of playtime. Somehow, I ended up first in score, I win the match. Great, no. Not really. I wasn't excited, but again I blamed this on my lack of play time. Two days later, I write this review. I see all of the negative comments being made, and if you haven't, I recommend going to the Infinity Ward forums and seeing what the people are saying in the pc section. It's amazing how slighted alot of PC Gamers feel. Admittedly IW said there would be dedicated servers. They didn't deliver this, instead you're hosting off of one of the people you're playing with. This causes issues of course, especially lag. Hopefully when your playing, the host doesn't leave. If they do you have in my experience a fifty fifty chance of the game ending. Not so good. I also noticed some issues with host migration, in fact when you see this error. It will direct you towards an Infinity Ward web page, explaining that your router may be the cause. What they aren't saying on there is, that it may have selected a host other than yourself who hasn't left their computer completely open to the wilds of the internet. Now, for all of the anger and hatred being directed at Infinity Ward. I understand some feel mistreated, especially since IW got it's start and popularity from the PC Gaming community. But don't forget, they are a business first and foremost. This means that alot of people got together and made this decision before launch. That being said, removing the ability for the community to create content is, in my humble opinion, a mistake, and one that you will see with future releases. I won't take the time to argue why or why not dedicated servers are important. I will just say that they are a better idea than peer-to-peer, and client hosting. I wait and hope that like left for dead, they patch and allow us to have dedicated servers that we may pick from. I will also say, that since I purchased this game and have played it online, I am very disappointed with the community I have played with. While there are a few people that understand teamwork, they are few and far between. When I play any of the First Person Shooters that I own, which is alot, I have the ability to play one specific servers, and take part in many communities. I have the choice, I am not lumped in with people I don't know, I am allowed my choice of map, settings, ect. This is a blow to the PC Gaming community, in an epic way. I suppose I will finish this thought with laughter at the quote I recently read from an interview with IW staff. While I won't post the quote here, you must be crazy to think that gamers want to play a game exactly how YOU think they should, not how they want to. We don't live in a communist dictatorship. We can choose a different company's game. Overall I would give the multiplayer portion of COD:MW2 a very low 3.5 out of 10. This brings the average and overall score for the game to a 4.25. Expand
  45. NhoyB
    Nov 13, 2009
    4
    I bought the game; I had the previous COD4:MW title, and I'm really dissapointed. For $59.99 and a 5hour campaign in Normal, that would have been fair enough for me, considering the Multiplayer experience on the previous one; now all that FUN is now replaced by frustration and connection problems on IWnet. In my experience, always had this high ping which is represented by short red I bought the game; I had the previous COD4:MW title, and I'm really dissapointed. For $59.99 and a 5hour campaign in Normal, that would have been fair enough for me, considering the Multiplayer experience on the previous one; now all that FUN is now replaced by frustration and connection problems on IWnet. In my experience, always had this high ping which is represented by short red bar, and I'm always being redirected to a new Host; like for every 10mins which is very annoying. It really takes the FUN out. For 59.99 with a short campaign and no dedicated server support. It's too much. In my eyes the Graphics and Sound isn't that much of a change from the previous one. The campaign is kinda exciting though, and you will surely be wanting more. Expand
  46. JoshL
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Ignore the critic reviews, The single player is great, 5 hours of solid gameplay The multiplayer is not so great... No lean, no dedicated, its a direct console port to the PC, its just horrible and IW has really screwed the PC over, I was really hoping to mod/map for this game, but nevermind.. You cant! There isn't even a decent menu/graphic settings and there is not even a console Ignore the critic reviews, The single player is great, 5 hours of solid gameplay The multiplayer is not so great... No lean, no dedicated, its a direct console port to the PC, its just horrible and IW has really screwed the PC over, I was really hoping to mod/map for this game, but nevermind.. You cant! There isn't even a decent menu/graphic settings and there is not even a console to change my FOV from the standard xbox version to 90.. Game is worth atleast 20 dollars not 60 thank you Expand
  47. TS
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    IW got greedy and lazy with the PC version and no one should be supporting them until they fix this mess. Its sad how this game is #1 seller on steam atm i doubt the people who bought it looked into the comments about the unforgivable lack of dedicated servers. All i can say is shame on you IW for scamming us PC gamers and then charging us more for less features. Shame.
  48. SanS
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    A beautiful (but short) single player campaign, followed up by one of the worst multiplayer experiences I've ever encountered in a PC fps. This will be a hard learned lesson for many who purchased MW2 based on expectations from the first MW.
  49. tuboffat
    Nov 13, 2009
    1
    Let's put it this way. Once a franchise gets into it's 6th installment you have to make a decision. A. Buy the same game you've played 5 times before. or B. Buy 6 packs of cigarettes. I'm regretting not choosing B. I'm a gamer who has over 100 games on my steam account and has played another 100 on disk. Needless to say, This is garbage. When a game costs $60 I Let's put it this way. Once a franchise gets into it's 6th installment you have to make a decision. A. Buy the same game you've played 5 times before. or B. Buy 6 packs of cigarettes. I'm regretting not choosing B. I'm a gamer who has over 100 games on my steam account and has played another 100 on disk. Needless to say, This is garbage. When a game costs $60 I expect at least 12 hours of single player action.($5 an hour)You know, to justify the cost since a 2 hour movie only costs $5 to rent. I've always felt that multiplayer should be not taken into consideration of a games worth because the majority of normal people have lives and do not waste hours of there day trying to get good at online games. (Underage gamers aside of course) Most people i've encountered are casual gamers who enjoy a good story that they can play through over the course of a week. No competition, just fun. So is $10 an hour worth it? When the recession is upon us and most of us can't afford to pay bills? Wouldn't it be nice if developers could make something that lasts 2 weeks so you would be able to enjoy a game between paycheques? Expand
  50. BrianH.
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    Everyone else said this was a bad thing, and just like idiot republican blaming everything on Obama instead of thinking for myself, you know I have to jump off the metaphorical bridge with the rest of the tin-foil hat brigade. "WTF IW! You only gave us a great game that doesn't live up to our imaginary hype!"
  51. EzdarothThegreat
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    To sum it up, Infinity Ward replaced the game server provider rack servers with 100 mbit upload bandwidth with some random guy's laptop with 1 mbit upload. They also killed the mod community and don't allow us to even perform the very basic tweaks every PC-game needs. A smart PC-gamer doesn't pay for this, since a game like this encourages other developers to drop proper To sum it up, Infinity Ward replaced the game server provider rack servers with 100 mbit upload bandwidth with some random guy's laptop with 1 mbit upload. They also killed the mod community and don't allow us to even perform the very basic tweaks every PC-game needs. A smart PC-gamer doesn't pay for this, since a game like this encourages other developers to drop proper PC-support and focus on the more profitable console versions. Expand
  52. GeorgeM
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    This game is largely a rehash of CoD4 and in my opinion, not worth the money. Having played CoD4 online for nearly 2 years I was frowing bored with it, I'm not sure why Infinity Ward though people who are bored of a game would like to play an almost identical one for another 2 years but whatever. The singleplayer is decent but far, far to short (a good player can easily round it up This game is largely a rehash of CoD4 and in my opinion, not worth the money. Having played CoD4 online for nearly 2 years I was frowing bored with it, I'm not sure why Infinity Ward though people who are bored of a game would like to play an almost identical one for another 2 years but whatever. The singleplayer is decent but far, far to short (a good player can easily round it up in UNDER 5 hours). The multiplayer suffers from a lack of dedicated servers. I picked it up at midnight and wasn't able to play last night because the game simply wouldn't connect, IW didn't see fit to tell us which ports the game uses so that we can open them up in our router. Also, the game fails to reconnect every time host migration occurs. IW also lied to us by saying that the game was 9v9 when in actuallity it's 6v6 with just 1 game mode as 9v9. To sum it up: been there done that. Expand
  53. TomP
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    this game has no creativity at all. did all the money for this go into marketing? the only mode that will last you more than 5 hours is the multiplayer, which is in essence the cod4 multiplayer, with a few bells and whistles attached. this is as lame as sequels can come out to be. i guess activision cant buy out the pc community like they have with the press.
  54. JosephS
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Short single player campaign No dedicated servers Peer to peer hosting 100ms as standard Host has the latency advantage ~10 second pause when the host disconnects No custom content like maps, mods Forced DLC with a price tag 9v9 max 65 FoV No console No recording No lean 'Tactical' nuke All of this for just $60. Although it does have some great features such as mouse support, Short single player campaign No dedicated servers Peer to peer hosting 100ms as standard Host has the latency advantage ~10 second pause when the host disconnects No custom content like maps, mods Forced DLC with a price tag 9v9 max 65 FoV No console No recording No lean 'Tactical' nuke All of this for just $60. Although it does have some great features such as mouse support, in-game text and graphics options. Expand
  55. SwollenBeef
    Nov 14, 2009
    0
    The single player while entertaining, is only good for one play. There is zero replayability here. The story line jumps around way too much and ends in a way that would make the Soprano's ending look good. The AI is horrible. If you just sprint to the objectives never slowing down at all, you will run past the enemies as they spawn in allowing you to move through the game unchecked. The single player while entertaining, is only good for one play. There is zero replayability here. The story line jumps around way too much and ends in a way that would make the Soprano's ending look good. The AI is horrible. If you just sprint to the objectives never slowing down at all, you will run past the enemies as they spawn in allowing you to move through the game unchecked. You really never have to fight anyone you are not required to. Multiplayer feels as if its just an updated MW patch. There is more to do, but when you boil it down, its the exact same game. IW did nothing to innovate the game. It is more of the same told in a different way. Expand
  56. Wm.K
    Nov 15, 2009
    3
    If your looking for the a Modern FPS this one maybe not for you. It appears to have been made for a very immature audience. It
  57. EH
    Nov 15, 2009
    3
    The multiplayer of this game is clearly a farce but that is not the reason I bought this game. Infinity Ward have always created powerful Single Player stories that they have told to great effect in their games but this one falls short. Sure, the voice acting is great and the plot is ballsy and well though out but the on-rails, Virtua Cop style pop-up bad guys are just laughable while the The multiplayer of this game is clearly a farce but that is not the reason I bought this game. Infinity Ward have always created powerful Single Player stories that they have told to great effect in their games but this one falls short. Sure, the voice acting is great and the plot is ballsy and well though out but the on-rails, Virtua Cop style pop-up bad guys are just laughable while the boring, ugly, repetitive and staggeringly unrealistic surroundings are pathetic. This game is well below the acceptable par for PC in every respect from length of gameplay to graphics to longevity and the fact that it is the single most highly priced game on the platform and comes with non-functioning multiplayer is just a kick in the teeth. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  58. JanD
    Nov 15, 2009
    1
    Well about 4hrs of single player for $60?? Gives you the feeling they just removed stuff to add later with over-priced shitty DLC. For PC no mods/customization or dedicated servers? They removed YEARS of free content. Now they charge $60 it's a really bad deal. Don't buy it until price drop or mod/dedicated server support. Hopefully both so that it can compare to the average PC game.
  59. JellO
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers? LAUGH. 9v9 max? Hmm maybe since the maps are so shitty and small that seems the most balanced number.No reason to buy this game if you have any fps with dedicated servers. Battlefield Bad Company 2 on the other hand looks like it is going to be taking alot of my time.
  60. johns
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    Now before all the fan boys go zomg this was the best stuff ever, i bet half of the people that bought this never played cod1 now that was a great game and this has set a new low to their franchise. The single player is less than 5 hours if you good maybe less than 4 so thats about 15$ an hour to play and the multiplayer is same with new guns and a few new modes. O did i mention the Now before all the fan boys go zomg this was the best stuff ever, i bet half of the people that bought this never played cod1 now that was a great game and this has set a new low to their franchise. The single player is less than 5 hours if you good maybe less than 4 so thats about 15$ an hour to play and the multiplayer is same with new guns and a few new modes. O did i mention the graphics are the same as cod4 and it only makes me thing some of these reviewers were payed off i mean a 95 you've got to be kidding me. Expand
  61. EricP
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    Looks like Activision have tried to ruin the COD franchise for PC gamers: -No dedicated servers. -Using VAC for banning cheats is useless cheats are already out, VAC does not work. -Lack of Punkbuster and dedicated server has made it impossible to keep tab on hack and ban them. -Same tired game engine as the previous COD's.It's full of cheats already available...So how did they Looks like Activision have tried to ruin the COD franchise for PC gamers: -No dedicated servers. -Using VAC for banning cheats is useless cheats are already out, VAC does not work. -Lack of Punkbuster and dedicated server has made it impossible to keep tab on hack and ban them. -Same tired game engine as the previous COD's.It's full of cheats already available...So how did they expect to be " cheat free " ? -Single player campaign is too short. Expand
  62. TranD
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The game designers/makers should hang their heads in shame at what they have done here. Their actions are a sin in the heaven that is PC gaming. Calling basic features any and all pc games possess such as Mouse Control, or text chating as "Special Features" just boggles the mind. Combined with the lack of dedicated servers this game gets no support from me or anyone I know. Good job.
  63. LCaz
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    Well the single player was okay as usual - mostly repetitive gameplay with a few interesting sequences. But not many people would spend £35 for the single player anyway as that's not where the fun really lies! Obviously I didn't realise until after I'd purchased the (unfortunately non-refundable) game that the multiplayer aspect had been neutered and, honestly, it Well the single player was okay as usual - mostly repetitive gameplay with a few interesting sequences. But not many people would spend £35 for the single player anyway as that's not where the fun really lies! Obviously I didn't realise until after I'd purchased the (unfortunately non-refundable) game that the multiplayer aspect had been neutered and, honestly, it really breaks my heart. With pings above 100ms as standard it is like multiplayer gaming has gone back 10 years! Perhaps IW feel that new guns and more complicated perk systems can disguise the fact that the game now has a simply bad online experience. Ultimately it's all very trivial, unless they reintroduce the multiplayer functionality - a necessity to PC gamers not a privilege - then I won't be buying another of their games and will simply move onto the next company to produce a decent fps. I imagine alot of other people will too. The problem is that with gaming becoming more mainstream (and focused more on the consoles than the pc) IW can afford to shortchange PC customers as they know that console gamers are their main market now and will pick up the slack. Even with the furore I don't expect IW to reintroduce the dedicated servers. As someone already mentioned they are likely doing this as to slowly integrate console functionality to the pc - a two tiered system. First you pay to buy permission to play the game, then you pay monthly to play it. It's a sad indication of the way gaming is heading - it's now no longer a niche market supplied by eager, honest companies but big business akin to hollywood or the music industry. Easy money. Expand
  64. KaneR
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    Lack of dedicated servers has destroyed an otherwise flawless IP. People don't buy these games for the singleplayer aspect, and if you do, why would you waste an extra 10 bucks on a 5 hour game? Terrible value for money and a lackluster, thoughtless multiplayer experience, doesn't merit this game above what I've given it.
  65. JohnK
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    overrated piece of turd with p2p and 4 hour single player campaign and with a 18 player multiplayer limit not to mention im sure PC will be excluded from bonus content and DLC's in the near future. skip this shitty console port unless they decide to add xbox players to the PC p2p network so you will have anyone actually playing this game. I recommend skipping this console port thats overrated piece of turd with p2p and 4 hour single player campaign and with a 18 player multiplayer limit not to mention im sure PC will be excluded from bonus content and DLC's in the near future. skip this shitty console port unless they decide to add xbox players to the PC p2p network so you will have anyone actually playing this game. I recommend skipping this console port thats just a map pack with new weapons. Expand
  66. JohnO
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    Let's see here, what's new in MW2. Two things. Co-op mode and price gouging ($10 more, because Activision can and really likes money!). The single player experience is shorter than ever (took me 8 hours on hardened so expect 5-6 hours or even less on normal for experienced gamers). So does that $10 get you a longer game? No sir. The graphics aren't a huge improvement but Let's see here, what's new in MW2. Two things. Co-op mode and price gouging ($10 more, because Activision can and really likes money!). The single player experience is shorter than ever (took me 8 hours on hardened so expect 5-6 hours or even less on normal for experienced gamers). So does that $10 get you a longer game? No sir. The graphics aren't a huge improvement but it's noticeable. Sound effects seem to be unchanged. Lots of explosions and team chatter. Multiplayer is also more of the same and of the 3 or so hours I've spent so far, it does seem more balanced. At least now. Wait a couple days for the hacks to come out. But wait IWNET is here to save the day! (haha yeah right). So for $10 more you get an even shorter single player experience than MW1, NO DEDICATED SERVERS, no developer console, and only 9v9 during team deathmatch. Nice console port. I'm surprised the PC PORT even allows mouse and keyboard play, to be honest...Activision are the new EA. The game would deserve a 9 or 10 because it is insanely fun and offers a lot of variety, but because of the absolute kick to the nuts of the PC community and price gouging for no other reason than to line their pockets, it deserves no better than a lowly lowly 4. Expand
  67. Macca
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    Reading the "professional" reviews at the top of the page giving 90-100 and stating that this game is a no-brainer if you want multiplayer, it is clear to me and many other PC gamers which magazines are clearly taking some sort of back-hander from certain developers. What a let down and a waste of money this game is to any gamer who likes to invest the time it takes to be decent online.
  68. tickedoff
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    PC gamers have been totaly shafted, since when does the PC become second fiddle to the consols. 9v9 multiplayer is the first insult, the second insult is that there are no mods/private funded servers amongst other things. The last time i was this pissed off was when EA released SPORE/securerom.
  69. CornelV
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Single player is fun sofar. I buy games for the multilayer side , that's why Ive got a PC. I was very upset when i heard the wont be dedicated servers.I bought the game to see if i might be wrong about how it plays. i wasn't , it sucks .Waiting 5 min to start a game , then when i start playing it lags like crazy, like 2 sec delay. I live in South Africa. So IW really don't Single player is fun sofar. I buy games for the multilayer side , that's why Ive got a PC. I was very upset when i heard the wont be dedicated servers.I bought the game to see if i might be wrong about how it plays. i wasn't , it sucks .Waiting 5 min to start a game , then when i start playing it lags like crazy, like 2 sec delay. I live in South Africa. So IW really don't care about there costumers. Ive always bought legal copies of PC games and hated people for buying the pirated games. In this case i dont blame them. i hope somebody finds a way to crack the system so we in "nowhere" countries can also play multiplayer .Why should suffer we play even more then the people living in the USA. The people in my country,including me ,like there competitive clan matches , with promod, now this is out the window ass well. Who ever thought of this idea is really stupid. And there is rumors that we will be paying for the patches coming in the future. How stupid is that. now they can make a game full of bugs from the beginning and we just have to pay more and more to get a product that's should be working from the beginning . Expand
  70. ANtonioA
    Nov 18, 2009
    0
    The worst lag in Multiplayer that I have experienced in many, many years. The decision to get rid of Dedicated servers is the worst decision that Infinity Ward could have made during the creation process of this game. This game will die very quickly if the multiplayer is not fixed soon, and if there will never be custom mod support. Although, the single-player experience is definitely one The worst lag in Multiplayer that I have experienced in many, many years. The decision to get rid of Dedicated servers is the worst decision that Infinity Ward could have made during the creation process of this game. This game will die very quickly if the multiplayer is not fixed soon, and if there will never be custom mod support. Although, the single-player experience is definitely one of the greatest SP FPS experiences I have ever had (Next to the Half-Life series). Expand
  71. greinkez
    Nov 18, 2009
    0
    For a game whose main appeal is mp, IW sure put it in the back of the PC community without KY. The multiplayer is a joke. The matchmaking system is a joke. The lack of dedicated servers is a joke. Taking out things like lean because pc users have the 'advantage' of using mouse and keyboard and graphics is ridiculous. It's very obvious that this a very sloppy port of the For a game whose main appeal is mp, IW sure put it in the back of the PC community without KY. The multiplayer is a joke. The matchmaking system is a joke. The lack of dedicated servers is a joke. Taking out things like lean because pc users have the 'advantage' of using mouse and keyboard and graphics is ridiculous. It's very obvious that this a very sloppy port of the xbox version and IW doesn't care about the pc community. Infinity Ward/ Activision really need to set their stuff straight. Expand
  72. DavidV
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    No custom maps, no dedicated servers, limited to 9v9, removing console, no immediate banning of hackers/cheaters. Also, 4 hour single player campaign? are you kidding me? I have been looking forward to this game since COD4. Having played every other COD game, I feel very disappointed by them for essentially dumbing down the PC version to a console.
  73. LukeP
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    The ridiculously short length of the otherwise well executed singleplayer game does it no justice. The complete inability to adjust the game to run well and display properly on my modern system is laughable, but worse yet, the atrocious balance of the multiplayer game, coupled with it's complete instability warrants it an entirely missable experience.
  74. NoogsG.
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    Good single player experience, true to Infinity Wards style, they have delivered a truly cinematic experience BUT the score has been halved due to what has happened to the multiplayer. This used to be the core experience of the previous MW games but due to the changes (I'm sure we have heard them all, I don't feel I need to reiterate them) there have considerable constraints on Good single player experience, true to Infinity Wards style, they have delivered a truly cinematic experience BUT the score has been halved due to what has happened to the multiplayer. This used to be the core experience of the previous MW games but due to the changes (I'm sure we have heard them all, I don't feel I need to reiterate them) there have considerable constraints on its playability. Don't get me wrong, for a quick and dirty (some might say generic though) MP experience it still has all the bells and whistles that we have come to expect but without the COMMUNITY foundations that were unfortunately eviscerated with the MP changes. In the end, while the single player modes are great, much of the longevity of the game has been dampened and we end up with a soulless, more arcade experience. In closing, MW2 can be likened to a bucket of KFC - great for a short time but all that you are left with are greasy fingers and the nauseating feeling that in your stomach saying 'maybe I should have picked something else....". Expand
  75. lolcopterm.
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Hahah, look at all those game rating websites giving this game a high score. Oh please. No dedicated servers? No console commands? You have to be kidding me! Well Activision / Infinity Ward, you've lost my money. Guess where I'll be getting it from? And on what sort of servers I will be playing on? Yes, that's right.
  76. TraianPop
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Big dissapointment on the PC side. Repeated crashes and a broken, incomplete, laggy multiplayer system. I am not interrested in single player, bought this for multiplayer, huge downgrade from COD4.
  77. AndrewT.
    Nov 19, 2009
    1
    It's a really good game. Single-player is really similar to Call of Duty 4's. That's not a bad thing but I wish they could have made it a little better. The online multiplayer is extremely enjoyable. There's so many unlockables and the maps are fun to play.
  78. KyleC
    Nov 19, 2009
    1
    IW clearly lost its soul with this installment... its not about gameplay or fun anymore... just about making as much money as possible... it seems they looked for the most retarded person and then designed the game for that person. the cut of ded. servers because it was to "difficult" to navigate... the created a storymode that is full of follow that guy and protect this one... youre IW clearly lost its soul with this installment... its not about gameplay or fun anymore... just about making as much money as possible... it seems they looked for the most retarded person and then designed the game for that person. the cut of ded. servers because it was to "difficult" to navigate... the created a storymode that is full of follow that guy and protect this one... youre constantly getting thought what exactly u have to do. if you run to far away from your objectiv you'll get an instant death penalty... i guess the next step for IW is to build a railshooter with autoaim, so also youre pets can buy and play a copy of the next cod Expand
  79. JonT
    Nov 19, 2009
    2
    SP is too short, MP is fun but full of childish swearing idiots. When you can even get a game that isnt rubber banding all over the place or not seem to connect and other random excuses. Annoying because this game couldve been one of the best MP games ever.
  80. JohnnyM
    Nov 20, 2009
    0
    A PC disappointment before it even got out of the gate. In an attempt to cut back on costs (by selling a MORE expensive game) we have been treated to less features... not to mention that the CFO of Activision at a BMO conference recently stated that we ought to start expecting World of Warcraft style of monetization models... "Our gamers are telling us there's lots of services and A PC disappointment before it even got out of the gate. In an attempt to cut back on costs (by selling a MORE expensive game) we have been treated to less features... not to mention that the CFO of Activision at a BMO conference recently stated that we ought to start expecting World of Warcraft style of monetization models... "Our gamers are telling us there's lots of services and innovation they would like to see that they're not getting yet. From what we see so far, additional content, as well as all the services Blizzard is offering, is that there is demand from the core gamers to pay up for that," Uh, yes. Please make us pay more money for shorter games that don't allow dedicated servers or mods. Ridiculous. Expand
  81. killerDJMW
    Nov 20, 2009
    1
    I loved CoD4:MW. Single player was amazing, online multiplayer was amazing. They took the Single Player, and kept it good (been playing it on buddies console) but ruined multiplayer. 9v9 ONLY? Really? I know IW can do much better. When this game gets released with the same multiplayer features as CoD4:MW, I will purchase it. Until then, I stand by my stance that this is a console game I loved CoD4:MW. Single player was amazing, online multiplayer was amazing. They took the Single Player, and kept it good (been playing it on buddies console) but ruined multiplayer. 9v9 ONLY? Really? I know IW can do much better. When this game gets released with the same multiplayer features as CoD4:MW, I will purchase it. Until then, I stand by my stance that this is a console game PORTED to PC. The kicker is the "exclusive" features to PC: -Adjustable resolution -Keyboard and mouse support (thought this was a requirement for a computer game). Regardless, I'm giving this game a 1 for the incredible (albeit short) single player and 0 for the multiplayer which they had pretty good (minus the grenade spam) and decided to completely throw it out. Expand
  82. mikel
    Nov 20, 2009
    4
    Single player is very good, and that is were it ends, I was playing or trying to play, the two player special ops and could never connect, getting time outs, connection lost, etc etc, even when we did manage to connect, some maps would freeze and then kick us both out. I am using the Steam to play it and am very disappointed with everything except the single player.
  83. DirkD
    Nov 20, 2009
    1
    Its a great game considering graphics, sounds and atmosphere. The single player campaign is quite short but of good quality. But all this is messed up by the terrible multiplayer concept, due to lack of dedicated servers. When our clan is trying to have a game together, we neeed 5 to 10 tries before we are able to play with 8 friends in the same match. A lot of fallbacks, disconnects and Its a great game considering graphics, sounds and atmosphere. The single player campaign is quite short but of good quality. But all this is messed up by the terrible multiplayer concept, due to lack of dedicated servers. When our clan is trying to have a game together, we neeed 5 to 10 tries before we are able to play with 8 friends in the same match. A lot of fallbacks, disconnects and other strange things happens which makes it impossible to have a larger group playing togehter. That needs us 15 to 20 minutes try and error before we can play a match of 5 minutes which is extremly laggy then. That suxx! I only can advise IW to bring a dedicated server asap. This p2p host concept is defintily not working. Expand
  84. BloodCrow
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    no dedicated servers and on top of that we will have to pay for content thats already in the game to be unlocked once more which i will not be doing once u buy a game and whatever is in the game should be free not purchased since it has already been payed for prety lame wasnt worth my 60 to be honest...the multiplayer setup is horrible you have to leave your nat open in order to host no dedicated servers and on top of that we will have to pay for content thats already in the game to be unlocked once more which i will not be doing once u buy a game and whatever is in the game should be free not purchased since it has already been payed for prety lame wasnt worth my 60 to be honest...the multiplayer setup is horrible you have to leave your nat open in order to host making you a given target for hackers id say over all IW has did a very poor job thinking this out. Expand
  85. FrankV
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    I did not buy this game, but I did play the entire single player campaign all the way through - very good single player, but very short!! The multiplayer blows! The lack of dedicated server support means that I have to play with 12 year-old, bunny-hopping, foul-mouthed smacktards! I will not even play the Multiplayer UNLESS there is a dedicated server patch released for the PC!
  86. MichaelP
    Nov 25, 2009
    2
    dumbed down for consoles and it shows, add certain perks and you can shoot through most anything, now this may be necessary for controller users on console but for PC gamers it's simply NOT required. Watch in surprise as you take cover only to find the player with an assault rifle shoot you through the wall from the other end of the map. Infinity Ward it's pitiful.
  87. Slawo
    Nov 26, 2009
    2
    I announced I would buy the game this week to my colleagues... I was frowned upon for that... They let me try the game and guess what... it's a decent shooter... But it's not really what you would expect of a real COD. It's more like a mod, with no dedicated servers and no proper controls (no leaning etc...). I feel sorry for the devs who had to work on that.
  88. David
    Nov 26, 2009
    1
    Awful single player with more holes in it than the titanic. Modern Warfare 2 adds a whole new trick of "Nikolai Ex Machina" and Nikolai will come forth and hence save the day. Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. The plot of the story is laughable on the second playthrough. Also, the Multiplayer is laggy and has an unsurprising amount of hackers and pirates who have managed Awful single player with more holes in it than the titanic. Modern Warfare 2 adds a whole new trick of "Nikolai Ex Machina" and Nikolai will come forth and hence save the day. Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. The plot of the story is laughable on the second playthrough. Also, the Multiplayer is laggy and has an unsurprising amount of hackers and pirates who have managed to find their way on to abuse you. Of course there are a few, but there we go. Many players claim they have next to no lag, and have the full proverbial bars. Compared to a dedicated server, these things happen ny on never. Oh yes, I play in England. Why the hell have I been auto connected to people playing in Vietnam? To hear people say that "It's matchmaking system is FINE" with the big unpopulated maps and lag is laughable. The longevity of Call of Duty 4 will hopefully outlast this and the people daft enough to pick up a copy are to be pitied. It's a sad day when one of the biggest games of all time turns out to be a flop and people are in heavy denial that it's sub-par. Would be a four, but averaged for the amount of "OMG EXCELLENT BESTEST GAME EVUR!!!111" people. Expand
  89. Brian
    Nov 29, 2009
    0
    So infinity ward decided to force the same experience on pc gamers that the 360 masses are limited to? Ridiculous. If I wanted to play console games i would own a 250 dollar console and not a 3000 dollar gaming pc. Fortunately they havent really forced me into anything as they will not be seeing a penny of my money for this garbage. Just glad I had a friend let me experience it on his So infinity ward decided to force the same experience on pc gamers that the 360 masses are limited to? Ridiculous. If I wanted to play console games i would own a 250 dollar console and not a 3000 dollar gaming pc. Fortunately they havent really forced me into anything as they will not be seeing a penny of my money for this garbage. Just glad I had a friend let me experience it on his xbox so i knew not to purchase it for my pc. Guess I will stick to COD4 and COD World at War until Infinity Ward gets its head out of its fourth point of contact. Nuff said! Expand
  90. IvanTBB
    Dec 11, 2009
    1
    It is not a big step forward from cod4. Also removing the servers was a bad move since a lot of people play this game for customization. It is time for the game makers to do some fan service.
  91. WillM
    Dec 11, 2009
    0
    Graphics are unstoppable. Story line is OK. But as a gamer who has been playing war games since Atari 2600 (embarrassing), I find the NO RUSSIAN scene to be WAY over the line. I'm not going to waste time going over ridiculous arguments that use words like "context of the narrative", "art" or "statement". Once I got to the NO RUSSIAN scene, I deleted the game from my computer. It was Graphics are unstoppable. Story line is OK. But as a gamer who has been playing war games since Atari 2600 (embarrassing), I find the NO RUSSIAN scene to be WAY over the line. I'm not going to waste time going over ridiculous arguments that use words like "context of the narrative", "art" or "statement". Once I got to the NO RUSSIAN scene, I deleted the game from my computer. It was sickening and unnecessary. It's that simple. I will not buy another Infinity Ward game. Expand
  92. SebastianK.
    Dec 1, 2009
    4
    The game started awesome to me. Always heard good things about CoD4, so I thought I'd give MW2 a try. Single player campaign was fun, though short, but than some friends had me start in the multiplayer part... What a laugh, people shout LAG at each other all the time (which is oh so true), Servers get you kicked out all the time, connection problems all over. Reading some of these The game started awesome to me. Always heard good things about CoD4, so I thought I'd give MW2 a try. Single player campaign was fun, though short, but than some friends had me start in the multiplayer part... What a laugh, people shout LAG at each other all the time (which is oh so true), Servers get you kicked out all the time, connection problems all over. Reading some of these comments I saw some of the console probs with P2P and looking into the MW2 folder there really is stuff about the dreaded P2P. WHY ON EARTH did Infinity Ward turn their backs on PC gamers? We're the ones who made CoD4 a BIG hit! Anyways, don't think about buying it. Enough people already made that mistake. Better wait untill some better features are implented (Free features; not the aweful DLC packs which cost you even more money) Expand
  93. A.B.
    Dec 11, 2009
    0
    That's the biggest fail of a game in PC games history. The multiplayer part is a joke looking from a competetive gamers perspective. Wasn't even bothered trying the single player campaign since i simply couldn't care less..
  94. [ANONYMOUS]
    Dec 1, 2009
    1
    The 1 is for the multiplayer. No dedicated servers = no map choice, no kicking/banning hackers, random lag and stability issues as each game is hosted by a player, and did I mention the hacking players that you can't get rid of?
  95. KaballeroR
    Dec 12, 2009
    0
    We're in 2009 and we still get graphic technology from back 2004. Multiplayer.... BIG MEH! Even CS:S is better. Bad Company 2, anyone?
  96. Talented
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    I'm sorry, but you can't put multiplayer in the hands of hosts without servers. Period. It's stupid to think otherwise with a worldwide base of players. That shouldn't even be an oversight as much as just laziness for a blockbuster game.
  97. FrankA
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    VAC fails. Wall hacks, aimbots, Cheaters in 9 out of ten games. This game has atracted every wannabe troll to the game to just use there leet aimbot and wall hack skills to ruin the game for others. Then there are the griefers who do it because they dont have dedicated servers. this game is an Epic Fail No more money for IW.
  98. BjornH
    Dec 15, 2009
    1
    Overall a disappointing game. Short, loud, pointless. Offers little in single player mode and not a lot more in multiplayer. Like many of my fellow users here I sense a professional reviewer conspiracy.
  99. ChrisB.
    Dec 1, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers meaning lag, no mods, having to play with perks, no competetive scene. Not a fan of IWNET and have already lost interest in this game. Back to cod 4.
  100. LauraD
    Dec 17, 2009
    3
    Good games but not on multi with no dedicate server on pc!
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.