Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PC

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6497 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IWNETFAIL
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    worthless pile of @#$%. do not even bother. i cannot believe i wasted my money on this. i was scammed. the single player is ridiculous, even more so the multiplayer. iwnet = FAIL
  2. DT
    Dec 18, 2009
    4
    I have to give this game a 4. 2 points for the single player (Good action, storyline and gameplay mechanics, but the campain was short and there were some graphical glitches that interfered), 2 for the Spec Ops (Good concept, but no option for a random parter incase you have no friends wanting to play), and 0 points for the MP (No Dedi servers, Hackers Galore, lagbombs, Poor host I have to give this game a 4. 2 points for the single player (Good action, storyline and gameplay mechanics, but the campain was short and there were some graphical glitches that interfered), 2 for the Spec Ops (Good concept, but no option for a random parter incase you have no friends wanting to play), and 0 points for the MP (No Dedi servers, Hackers Galore, lagbombs, Poor host migration, Lobbies with LONG 'Intermissions', rediculous killstreaks, unbalanced weapons, etc) Expand
  3. JackG
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    A truly horrible game. The Campaign was too short and made no sense at all. Multiplayer is just .. offensive to PC gamers. No dedicated servers? Who's great idea was this?! No admins either to get rid of these constantly encountered hackers. 50 GBP is a complete rip off for this sack of crap. Don't waste your money on this, don't believe the critic reviews, don't waste A truly horrible game. The Campaign was too short and made no sense at all. Multiplayer is just .. offensive to PC gamers. No dedicated servers? Who's great idea was this?! No admins either to get rid of these constantly encountered hackers. 50 GBP is a complete rip off for this sack of crap. Don't waste your money on this, don't believe the critic reviews, don't waste your time on this Sh**! Expand
  4. lolz@IW
    Dec 2, 2009
    3
    so many glitches in MP javelin glitch , care package infinite glitch , Care package sprint glitch. They even posted them all on youtube and linked it to IW forums and the moderators dont even delete the topics so like 1/4 games i get into someone is trying to glitch with those or get under the map... SP is alright i guess its short story is sorta wierd but its a amazing experiance first so many glitches in MP javelin glitch , care package infinite glitch , Care package sprint glitch. They even posted them all on youtube and linked it to IW forums and the moderators dont even delete the topics so like 1/4 games i get into someone is trying to glitch with those or get under the map... SP is alright i guess its short story is sorta wierd but its a amazing experiance first time threw. They need to fix MP and BALANCE it cause atm it feels like Modernwarfare beta 2.0 Expand
  5. AaronW
    Dec 25, 2009
    0
    Worst Call of Duty yet. The whole game is completely off balance compared to cod4. And without dedicated server support games are very laggy and I've even seen it where a hacker gets picked as host. There are also a ton of other little things like just the fact that when i started to play earlyier today it took literaly 3min to find a lobby that didn't close for whatever reason.
  6. StefanvanR
    Dec 26, 2009
    1
    Bad things: - You can try for hours sometimes to connect to your friends and when you are finally connected, then you can wait another 15 minutes before you can finally play. - Just 12 (or 18) players per so called 'server'. - Maps are too big for 12 players, in the time you runn to the other side were the enemy is, the spawn points have changed and you can runn to the other Bad things: - You can try for hours sometimes to connect to your friends and when you are finally connected, then you can wait another 15 minutes before you can finally play. - Just 12 (or 18) players per so called 'server'. - Maps are too big for 12 players, in the time you runn to the other side were the enemy is, the spawn points have changed and you can runn to the other side again. - Nukes??? Wtf? You get 25 a killstreak and win the game?? You should be able to mod those things out, or switch it of on your server, but you can't.. - You play one gametype all the time, while I like to play Sabotage, the next round TDM, then DM, S&D, etc. - When you are tired of the maps in game you can't download others and play there. - Lag, my ping is 75 and up all the time, while it was between 40-50 average in CoD4. - Hitboxes are very very crappy, you can shoot someone from 20 or so meters with a double shotgun and kill himk. Headshots are also completly random (unless you use a sniper). - No mod's. - The singleplayer is just shooting, shooting, shooting and more shooting whitout a really good storyline and characters get killed very easy. - You can't bann hackers (and VAC neither will do it for you). Good things: - Lots of weapons. Expand
  7. JasonK
    Dec 20, 2009
    3
    IW supposedly 'balanced' MW2 multiplayer, but the end result was anything but balance. Tactical nukes in less than 1 minute of game play is not balanced. COD4 and COD5 are balanced for the most part and allow 48 player games. I have been playing on the PC and every time I play I see multiple 8th-10th prestige mode players in game. The only game type that has enough players is IW supposedly 'balanced' MW2 multiplayer, but the end result was anything but balance. Tactical nukes in less than 1 minute of game play is not balanced. COD4 and COD5 are balanced for the most part and allow 48 player games. I have been playing on the PC and every time I play I see multiple 8th-10th prestige mode players in game. The only game type that has enough players is Ground War. How can you release a shooter in 2009 that only allows 18 player games? Expand
  8. TheCapulet
    Dec 20, 2009
    0
    Single player was a string of repetitive cliches with no real story telling element. Your only clue to what's actually happening is the unimportant loading screens. Not only that, the SP lasts only 3.5 to 4 hours for even semi experienced players. Multiplayer resembles something that a game developer went out of their way to destroy before the game was even out of the gates. If Single player was a string of repetitive cliches with no real story telling element. Your only clue to what's actually happening is the unimportant loading screens. Not only that, the SP lasts only 3.5 to 4 hours for even semi experienced players. Multiplayer resembles something that a game developer went out of their way to destroy before the game was even out of the gates. If you're planning on getting this game, don't. Expand
  9. andrewk
    Dec 29, 2009
    1
    I can't give it a 0 because admittedly I did enjoy the single player regardless of the silly plot. But at the end of the day I bought the game chiefly for the multiplayer, and with no dedicated servers and horrible matchmaking BS, I just can't enjoy it at all. Hardcore players beware. If you enjoyed the MW1 multiplayer, then you're better off just continuing to play that. I can't give it a 0 because admittedly I did enjoy the single player regardless of the silly plot. But at the end of the day I bought the game chiefly for the multiplayer, and with no dedicated servers and horrible matchmaking BS, I just can't enjoy it at all. Hardcore players beware. If you enjoyed the MW1 multiplayer, then you're better off just continuing to play that. This is worse in almost every way. And for $60? It's a pure waste of money. Expand
  10. BillV
    Dec 31, 2009
    0
    Mulitplayer is filled with hackers, and neither valve nor VAC nor IWnet do anything to help stop it. The matchmaking system is horrible and can end up playing the same map over and over with random people who never talk. All they need to do is get dedicated servers where you can choose what map you want and where admins can ban the hackers. This, however, is probably not going to happen Mulitplayer is filled with hackers, and neither valve nor VAC nor IWnet do anything to help stop it. The matchmaking system is horrible and can end up playing the same map over and over with random people who never talk. All they need to do is get dedicated servers where you can choose what map you want and where admins can ban the hackers. This, however, is probably not going to happen ever. 2/3 of the time this game is a 10 out of 10, that other 1/3 of the time when hackers are trying to out hack eachother makes this game a 0/10 Expand
  11. Vince
    Dec 31, 2009
    4
    COD6 is way too short. When I played this game on hardened, its so freakin frustrating, no leaning!!!. How could they remove leaning as it helps the player to avoid heavy fire from the enemies on the game. what is activision or IW thinkin bout this? and anyways the story for the SP is good. im shocked when I saw price was still alive. multiplayer content is sooooo horrible! no dedicated COD6 is way too short. When I played this game on hardened, its so freakin frustrating, no leaning!!!. How could they remove leaning as it helps the player to avoid heavy fire from the enemies on the game. what is activision or IW thinkin bout this? and anyways the story for the SP is good. im shocked when I saw price was still alive. multiplayer content is sooooo horrible! no dedicated servers, no good anti cheat systems. and btw why do they sell this in the 60 bucks range?! its darn expensive and we players expected alot from this game. oh my... IW let us down for the first time. its better playing MW1 for multiplayer or SP. Expand
  12. Anon
    Dec 3, 2009
    0
    Anyone who gave this game 8 or higher is obviously an xbox fanboy or a noob to pc gaming. You kiddies shouldn't even be playing an M rated game anyway. The game's single player is just a rail-shooter disguised as an fps. The multiplayer is terrible, it's understandable that console kiddies need a one button procedure for joining games because a server browser is "too Anyone who gave this game 8 or higher is obviously an xbox fanboy or a noob to pc gaming. You kiddies shouldn't even be playing an M rated game anyway. The game's single player is just a rail-shooter disguised as an fps. The multiplayer is terrible, it's understandable that console kiddies need a one button procedure for joining games because a server browser is "too complicated" for them, but why did they bring this failed model to us PC gamers? This game's been totally nerfed and dumbed down for the masses of casuals and retards out there, sadly they don't know any better and have no idea what they're missing out on. Another IW ruined this game is so they could force PC gamers to pay $10 for every new map pack and other lame DLC. I guess game developers are getting greedy after seeing how much money can be made off of xbox kiddies who use mommies credit card to buy DLC, so now they are trying to milk money out of PC gamers too. Sorry IW, your scam isn't going to work, PC gamers know better amd are not as stupid as xbox or ps3 gamers. Expand
  13. BrianS
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    MW2 Is nothing but WORTHLESS garbage! Their example of exciting and different from the console version was "KEYBOARD AND MOUSE SUPPORT!!!" for crying out loud games 20 years old had that! I loved COD4:MW because you could host your OWN servers, mod the game (SUCH AS THE STARWARS GALACTIC WARFARE MOD!!) to play how you wanted to play it, make it YOUR game, play with your own friends and MW2 Is nothing but WORTHLESS garbage! Their example of exciting and different from the console version was "KEYBOARD AND MOUSE SUPPORT!!!" for crying out loud games 20 years old had that! I loved COD4:MW because you could host your OWN servers, mod the game (SUCH AS THE STARWARS GALACTIC WARFARE MOD!!) to play how you wanted to play it, make it YOUR game, play with your own friends and have FUN, not some predesigned bullcrap that IW is trying to force on PC users. Expand
  14. RenewN
    Dec 3, 2009
    4
    The Sp is short but good like a portal game the spec op is good and can give replay value but most people buy the game is for the multiplayer the vac system is alittle bad and hackers are problem but geting rid of dedi got rid of basicly the community sure it made every one go to a some what even playing field but some people want to play better people to get better and some people play The Sp is short but good like a portal game the spec op is good and can give replay value but most people buy the game is for the multiplayer the vac system is alittle bad and hackers are problem but geting rid of dedi got rid of basicly the community sure it made every one go to a some what even playing field but some people want to play better people to get better and some people play to talk to people somtimes i sometimes go to servers and go to spec just to talk and geting rid of lean was bad to me because i like lean and geting rid of the 60 max is bad because some people like the game to be chaotic and want large team battles but other then that they improved the MP they made the perks better customization of kill streak is cool no more martygrom spaming and the knife is not so glitched before so if your a player who like a even game dont like to talk and live in a populated place then go a head buy it if not then dont i gave it a 4 because it is a HUGE change and the negitives outweigh the postitives if you do not reach the requirement said 2 sentances ago then dont buy. Expand
  15. Alexa
    Dec 3, 2009
    0
    This is just another one of those games that all the fags who are too insecure in their own masculinity to buy real video games, much less talk to girls, gets. I think the fact that people "don't care" about the un-dedicated servers issue just proves that they either have no spine, no brain, or no dick. Anyway you put it, they're not worth listening to.
  16. FrazerS
    Dec 3, 2009
    0
    As Yahtzee said in his review about this game; "it's about 6 hours long but cutting out all my deaths, all the plot points which didn't make sense and all the time hiding behind walls waiting for blood to fall off of my face and it comes to about 15 minutes". For the price it is, it's terrible in value for money and i'm sure i'm not the only one who realises that As Yahtzee said in his review about this game; "it's about 6 hours long but cutting out all my deaths, all the plot points which didn't make sense and all the time hiding behind walls waiting for blood to fall off of my face and it comes to about 15 minutes". For the price it is, it's terrible in value for money and i'm sure i'm not the only one who realises that masking a game in good graphics doesn't make the gameplay any better. The fact that dedicated servers aren't around clearly shows that Robert Kotick, the CEO of Activision Blizzard, has finally gone insane and wants to drain as much money out of this dying cash cow as possible while saving as much money as possible such as putting no effort into the PC version and keeping it as a console port. Last time i buy a Call of Duty game, i'm going back to Battlefield. Expand
  17. marine0352
    Dec 4, 2009
    3
    It's very meh. The single player was okay, nothing to write home about. Graphics looked nice I suppose. Total lack of flexibility in multiplayer, no dedicated servers, its all been said in other reviews, but still true.
  18. NiklasKnipschild
    Dec 4, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers complete fail.
  19. JDS
    Dec 5, 2009
    0
    horrible game, visually it looks unfinished, single is way to short less that 4 hours... and the unbalanced play of multiplayer is quite frankly rediculous. IW had a great well balanced game with COD 4 and then they release pile....what were they thinking. I'm sorry i bought this game, and i will definately be thinking twice the next time IW releases a title.
  20. Anonymousderp
    Dec 6, 2009
    1
    Single player was nice, but multiplayer was devolved console crap. A slap on the face for the PC crowd.
  21. OskarK
    Jan 11, 2010
    0
    Single player: Short, story is a joke, but enjoyable 3/5 Spec-Ops: I'm pretty impressed with it, its cool 5/5 Multiplayer: Worst multiplayer i've ever seen.. Bad map design, this leads to millions of campers, the players are noobish (about 70%) they cant even play on an objective based game with teamwork. Matchmarking FAILS.. akimbo g18, akimbo model 1887 is too overpowered and Single player: Short, story is a joke, but enjoyable 3/5 Spec-Ops: I'm pretty impressed with it, its cool 5/5 Multiplayer: Worst multiplayer i've ever seen.. Bad map design, this leads to millions of campers, the players are noobish (about 70%) they cant even play on an objective based game with teamwork. Matchmarking FAILS.. akimbo g18, akimbo model 1887 is too overpowered and unskilled, spawning system sucks.. when I kill someone, that guy spawns behind me and shoots me... The multiplayer is especially made for noobs... It's really unenjoyable, fustrating, and 0% of fun. Multiplayer mode is a JOKE! + no dedicated servers?.. I'd rather play MW1 then this rubbish.. 0/5 Did IW really thought that PC gamers will be pleased with this?.. Fail Expand
  22. DavidN
    Jan 11, 2010
    0
    Multiplayer doesn't meet standards of this millenium. MW2 is bad console convertion. How can IGN say it's all about multiplayer and give 94 for game that only has 9vs9 games, no dedicated servers, only p2p horror servers, etc... BOYCOTT!
  23. AlfredE.
    Jan 11, 2010
    0
    failed console port. a bad joke for pc vets. dont buy before it gets fixed. ie. dedicated servers, pb etc
  24. PeterJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    2
    Just another Hollywood game, good graphics, terrible history and gameplay and remembers me of a game like this in 2007. The first one is certainly better, but dont buy it for the multiplayer wou will get really disappointed.
  25. NathanM
    Jan 12, 2010
    0
    Absolute crap. Lacks some of the most basic FPS elements that are to be expected in PC gaming. The most notable is obviously, the lack of dedicated servers. Host migration and matchmaking have never worked in the past, and IW didn't make any effort to try to improve upon the software for this. SP campaign is shorter than the average pickup driver's penis. Spec ops was okay at Absolute crap. Lacks some of the most basic FPS elements that are to be expected in PC gaming. The most notable is obviously, the lack of dedicated servers. Host migration and matchmaking have never worked in the past, and IW didn't make any effort to try to improve upon the software for this. SP campaign is shorter than the average pickup driver's penis. Spec ops was okay at best. and when you actually play, it's just a huge noob-toob fest. basically, whoever looks at the other first gets the kill. A teamwork element is basically thrown out the window. Speaking of teams, there is a smaller cap on number of players that can play in a mp game. I'm sure most of you already know that mw2 downgrades CoD4 in almost every way, for a further list see here. http://www.vgchartz.com/forum/thread.php?id=91331 But really what is the most infuriating aspect of this game? It's how Infinity Ward released it. How dare they release such a piece of crap and call it so good that they can not only make it 10 bucks more expensive than every other PC game, but make it steam powered so you can't sell it back to anyone. It's like IW was trying to see just how much they could get away with Unless you want to waste 60 bucks, don't get this game, save a few dollars and buy CoD4, or wait for Bad Company 2. But then again I bought L4D2 and thought that it shouldn't be DLC or an Expansion Pack, so apparently I'm a retard! Expand
  26. RobJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    2
    There are way too many hackers in the multiplayer! This game could be great if IW just went back to dedicated servers and punk buster.
  27. KarlS
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    i would give it a heartful zero for ruining the most anticipated game i ever wanted with no dedicated servers. then again i bought it, and wish i never had, farewell to lag-free environments.. welcome to money sucking wards
  28. Logan
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    Many glitches and exploits which make the game unfairly played. Also the choice of host must be done by a person with downs syndrome, I've often playd laggy games for 8 minutes till a new host is chosen.
  29. ChuckF
    Jan 14, 2010
    1
    Graphics are good. Singleplayer storyline is short. Multiplayer is a joke. Hackers roam freely. Often you will enter a game where there are intentional TK'ers, and there is no way to get rid of them because you cannot kick or votekick players. No dedicated servers. No mods. No customized play. If you do find a decent game where there aren't 10 people tubing every 2 seconds, Graphics are good. Singleplayer storyline is short. Multiplayer is a joke. Hackers roam freely. Often you will enter a game where there are intentional TK'ers, and there is no way to get rid of them because you cannot kick or votekick players. No dedicated servers. No mods. No customized play. If you do find a decent game where there aren't 10 people tubing every 2 seconds, intentional TK'ers, hackers, or extreme lag, then usually you will find the game "switching hosts" every 2 minutes, making the game unplayable. Unless you are buying this game soley for the single player option (you must be connected to the internet in order to even access single player), then don't waste your money. Stick with COD4 as it is superior in every aspect. If you already own this game and are dissatisfied you can call your CC company and file a complaint to get your money back. Then go file a BBB complaint. Expand
  30. Steveb
    Jan 14, 2010
    1
    The single player one is not bad, but story is totally unbelevable. What's more, the most damn thing is the multi-player. just one word, it sucks.
  31. EdH
    Jan 15, 2010
    1
    names went from shit like smith, collins, to "ghost" and "roach", its all "one man army" bullshit for the console faggots. I bought a computer game, not a console, also same generic shit everyone else said, no dedicated, campaign was just a rehash of the same one from mw, TDM has a max of 12? wtf, i remember playing in servers with max of 120 on cod:mw and games prior. Pissed off pc user here.
  32. MarkF
    Jan 17, 2010
    1
    Infinity Ward totally ruined this game. When World at War was released I just thought that was a mess and I really went to bat for Infinity Ward and how much better they implement COD. But this is a total letdown. They have let the people down that made this game what it is. The PC Multiplayer people. This will backfire - Most of the PC people are older and they are the ones purchasing Infinity Ward totally ruined this game. When World at War was released I just thought that was a mess and I really went to bat for Infinity Ward and how much better they implement COD. But this is a total letdown. They have let the people down that made this game what it is. The PC Multiplayer people. This will backfire - Most of the PC people are older and they are the ones purchasing the XBOX and PS3 games for the younger group, one day Infinity Ward will want them back once they realize what they did. It is all money and Hype. Money for Activision and they used the Hype from the previous versions to sell this one - won't happen again. I know I bought a PC version and a PS3 and an XBOX version. Big mistake. The dedicated server issue, no leaning, no Hardcore mode, Cheating is ridiculous, the matchmaking and Steam are just terrible. I have tried to avoid steam for years. Now we are not given a choice. Just think about it - the PC user was used to make the game popular the way it was - now we have been abandoned for the XBOX and PS3 tweeny type games. Expand
  33. SomeGuy
    Jan 17, 2010
    0
    IWNET is pure fail, lag everywhere. No dedicated servers, LAN or mods has killed the community and to put it simply IW should burn in hell for this dishonour to a franchise that originated on the PC.
  34. DrewS
    Jan 18, 2010
    1
    Single player is the only good thing about this game. Almost impossible to have a good fair game with 1/2 the people using aimbots, wall hacks and lvl hacks. Dont even get me started on the lag. All lag all the time. If there were dedicated servers then this game might be ok. I suggest you look into Battlefield 2.
  35. dw
    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    without experienced HUMAN admins this game is very close to unplayable. too bad, it could have been the best ever but it is just too hard to overcome the mic spamming, aimbotting little kids that seem to fill out most of the servers.
  36. BillW
    Jan 19, 2010
    2
    Aside from the usual gripes (no lean, no dedicated servers, IWNet is a joke, etc.) this is an ok game. The single player is great but the crippled multiplayer significantly takes away from what PC gamers expect from a Call of Duty title. It's disappointing, if you want this game buy it for the xbox, because that's where it belongs. Stick to Call of Duty 4 if you enjoy a Aside from the usual gripes (no lean, no dedicated servers, IWNet is a joke, etc.) this is an ok game. The single player is great but the crippled multiplayer significantly takes away from what PC gamers expect from a Call of Duty title. It's disappointing, if you want this game buy it for the xbox, because that's where it belongs. Stick to Call of Duty 4 if you enjoy a customized server with admins who have the ability to kick hackers and disruptive users. The single player is awesome. Expand
  37. LukeG
    Jan 21, 2010
    4
    Its fun sometimes but full of hackers the maps arent to good the game is unbalanced. Only thing good is that its fun to get the nuke
  38. JoeJ
    Jan 21, 2010
    0
    Dont listen to the spammers trying to up the score by posting 10's claiming the best game/graphics ever, they obviously work for Infinity Ward. Play Crysis from 2 YEARS AGO... Better graphics, argument over on that subject. This is down right the most overrated and overexposed game of all time. There is not single player to speak of, its over in 4hrs while it holds your hand the Dont listen to the spammers trying to up the score by posting 10's claiming the best game/graphics ever, they obviously work for Infinity Ward. Play Crysis from 2 YEARS AGO... Better graphics, argument over on that subject. This is down right the most overrated and overexposed game of all time. There is not single player to speak of, its over in 4hrs while it holds your hand the entire time so you dont get lost during your straight lined path from start to finish. I didnt even bother beating it. It was too stupid. Random, nothing makes sense. One minute, your here, next in some snow, 4 seconds later, IN A CASTLE! Spec Ops is boring. Multiplayer is a rehash-copy and paste from cod4... in fact, this entire game is. At least 60% of this game is at least. Reused textures, menus, text, sound, voices, guns, trees, ect... were all spoted by my eye. Thats just lazy. What took 2 years to make when they just copied everything to make an expansion pack? Environments are completely static as I've seen posted before, its true. NOTHING MOVES on screen. No body or limb damange, or dismemberment. Just blood splatters, cause you know, thats realistic. Stupid multiplayer that I spent about 4 hours in. Glitch fest, twitch gameplay at its finest. Takes zero skill to play this game. Just make your fire, grab some smores, and camp... cause thats all this is, a campfest... (actually making a fire would be fun and require thought and design, something Infinity Ward lacks). Maps are poorly designed, game is horribly unbalanced, laughable physics and lag. I've never played a game where I literally hated the menus. Well, this is a first. Advoid this, or if you've been sucked in by corporate greed and propoganda, burn this... I know I am. Support companies pushing the envolope of gaming, who are trying to redefine genres, or are releasing genuine effort sequals (like Bioshock 2 or Assassins Creed 2)... not some bullshit like this - a copy/paste job with nothing new or innovative period, unbalanced, ugly, and stupid. Made for purely profit, and nothing more. They sure had alot of commercials on tv for it tho...Glad I'll never see another. Expand
  39. Luke
    Jan 24, 2010
    4
    Well, the singleplay ain't half bad, it's short but pretty hard hitting. That is where the game stops being any good.IWNet is the dumbest idea ever, you should have just called it "Couldn't be bothered to do dedicated servers so we gave you the Xbox's excuse for online game play" No dedicated servers make this game's online no better than Halo's. To be honest Well, the singleplay ain't half bad, it's short but pretty hard hitting. That is where the game stops being any good.IWNet is the dumbest idea ever, you should have just called it "Couldn't be bothered to do dedicated servers so we gave you the Xbox's excuse for online game play" No dedicated servers make this game's online no better than Halo's. To be honest Halo is more realistic... The guns do no damage, I've stopped using them altogether and just use knifes now, people shoot me but thanks to regerating health I don't die. The bullet physics are so wrong it's unbelieveable, and dual weliding shotguns... this game just seems to be a practical joke. Well, that is what it is, a cash cow, a milking machine on the CoD franchise. IW just want money and that's just what they got. Thankfully not all the money is in their pocket from Razor and Skulptura and Skidrow (they even named a map after Skidrow for cracking their game, how thoughtful) because this game certainly isn't worth more than £10. Expand
  40. AlexP
    Jan 24, 2010
    0
    This game was utter crap, avoid it at all costs, shortest singleplayer campaign ever, broken multiplayer, and The knife is an instant kill, You would be better off gettig modern warfare 1
  41. MarekLL
    Jan 25, 2010
    2
    Totaly screwed up multiplayer, no dedics, no map choose, no players count choose, no mods, no customs, no ping choose, no voting, bunch of cheaters playing, vac full of holes and many many more. Just an arcade "nintendo" game. Pity.
  42. JamesW.
    Jan 26, 2010
    3
    I foolishly thought that I would be able to play this game online hosted on a fast dedicated server without hackers & people using (built in) speed hacks and have a decent latency whilst doing so. Nah. You've revolutionised the gaming industry by offering one product to all platforms and targeted it casual gamers and aliened your old audience. If you want to release console games do I foolishly thought that I would be able to play this game online hosted on a fast dedicated server without hackers & people using (built in) speed hacks and have a decent latency whilst doing so. Nah. You've revolutionised the gaming industry by offering one product to all platforms and targeted it casual gamers and aliened your old audience. If you want to release console games do it on a console or at least put a warning on it. Expand
  43. TomW.
    Jan 28, 2010
    0
    What can i say? the graphics are nothing special, the money they had to make this game was insane but what do they do with it... basicly make CoD 4 again with a expansion pack and got rid of the dedicated servers and put IWNET in which is shite and you cant join half the games even with open nat, camp of duty is getting the 0 it deserves. Next CoD is not on my christmas list.
  44. joep
    Jan 31, 2010
    1
    A great game ruined by hacks, IW complacency, failure to listen to valid criticisms about a lack of dedicated servers, no ability to vote kick, horrible server performance, horrible match making, unbalanced mp maps, horribly placed capture points in some game types, and what seems to be an unfinished multi player.
  45. HariH
    Feb 12, 2010
    2
    The single player mode is a mixed bag for me. I love the cineimatics but the storyline is vague and disjointed. Fun anyway. As someone who has been with the COD series from the start I cant tell you how frustrating I have found MW2 MP. Someone else in this section wrote " A great game ruined by hacks, IW complacency, failure to listen to valid criticisms about a lack of dedicated servers, The single player mode is a mixed bag for me. I love the cineimatics but the storyline is vague and disjointed. Fun anyway. As someone who has been with the COD series from the start I cant tell you how frustrating I have found MW2 MP. Someone else in this section wrote " A great game ruined by hacks, IW complacency, failure to listen to valid criticisms about a lack of dedicated servers, horrible server performance, horrible match making, unbalanced mp maps, horribly placed capture points in some game types" I couldn't agree more with these points. I have invested a large sum of money on my end to get the best gaming equipment andhighest speed internet connection only to get poor perfomance from Steam/IWNET. I doubt that I again will spend money for any COD series game. Expand
  46. RogerD
    Feb 14, 2010
    0
    This game has some much potential, but with the amount of lag, getting booted while in games and while waiting to get into a game, it really loses it. Plus with all the hacking and nothing being down about it, it makes this the most frustrating game I've ever played. Well done Infinity Ward for losing a large customer base.
  47. georgew
    Feb 14, 2010
    1
    The single play is AWESOME!!! I finished the single player with hopes that the multi player would be alot like CoD4 but i was wrong. the first thing i see is a blank steam page and than the game never loads due to a steam server connection issue. i have not been able to resolve this problem and feel as though i have wasted my money and i will be less willing to buy another gme from IW ever again.
  48. BananaMan
    Mar 15, 2010
    0
    If your looking for the single player aspect of the game you will be disappointed. The single player lasts about 3-4 hours, which is very short for a pc game. The game is too point to point and not as open as the first one. It holds your hand though it all. As for multiplayer, it gets stale quickly. Someone with wireless internet or a P4 computer shouldn't host. But due to the If your looking for the single player aspect of the game you will be disappointed. The single player lasts about 3-4 hours, which is very short for a pc game. The game is too point to point and not as open as the first one. It holds your hand though it all. As for multiplayer, it gets stale quickly. Someone with wireless internet or a P4 computer shouldn't host. But due to the game's auto choose program it happens alot, which means laggy gameplay. Also the auto matchup does a poor job of putting you into a game. It will put you at the ending of a match, rather then finding a new one for you. As someone else mentioned there are a lot of hackers in game. IW has yet to do anything about it. All in all the game is not worth the 60$ pricetag due to the huge step back IW took. 30$ yes 60$ no Expand
  49. MW2SUX
    Mar 18, 2010
    1
    Single player is awful. I don't mind short games. I love them (i.e. MW1, Portal, the list goes on). This single player campaign was forgettable. In the first MW I was really getting into it, and really wanted to go back and get those intels to get unlimited ammo after i finished because im not good enough to beat it on veteran. That made it fun too. No cheats, awful single player, Single player is awful. I don't mind short games. I love them (i.e. MW1, Portal, the list goes on). This single player campaign was forgettable. In the first MW I was really getting into it, and really wanted to go back and get those intels to get unlimited ammo after i finished because im not good enough to beat it on veteran. That made it fun too. No cheats, awful single player, multiplayer is fun until youre watching killcams track and shoot you through walls. IW fired the top two guys and rightfully so. MW1 was a great, exciting experience with a campaign that left you wanting more. This campaign was painful to play through. I felt like Shepard was a metaphor for infinity ward... a hero the first time around thinks he can get away with anything the second time around... They better make the next COD:MW have good Rights Protection because im telling all my friends to steal it. Campaign FAIL. and multiplayer... thanks for porting an xbox game to pc NOT... Go you know what yourselves IW you $60 PC Game with HORRIBLE CONTENT MONEY GROVELING you know what. Expand
  50. Kylek
    Mar 29, 2010
    3
    Infinity Ward you blow. I have always been a call of duty fan, and a gamer at heart. I loved the fact mw2 came out but then when i got it, it was shit. Every game you go into theirs a hacker aimboting with a rpd and shootin threw the whole map. Single player is to short. No DEDICATED SERVERS!? A perk that can teleport you halfway across the map with a knife? Over powered AA 12. Model 1887 Infinity Ward you blow. I have always been a call of duty fan, and a gamer at heart. I loved the fact mw2 came out but then when i got it, it was shit. Every game you go into theirs a hacker aimboting with a rpd and shootin threw the whole map. Single player is to short. No DEDICATED SERVERS!? A perk that can teleport you halfway across the map with a knife? Over powered AA 12. Model 1887 Range. NOOB TUBES WITH DANGER CLOSE? What was your idea of making this game a fun game or just a game to waste peoples money and have them buy it just to get pissed off and quit. If the single player mode is going to be so short then maybe the price should be cheaper. Expand
  51. JackofSpades
    Apr 15, 2010
    1
    I gave it a chance, because from what the trailers told me, it'd probably be worth the money... Well, if I only knew better... All I can say is, Single Player is too short and didn't have any replaying value at all, Spec Ops was really easy (except for some few missions, but yeah, overall it was easy, even on highest difficulty) and didn't deliver the replayability that I gave it a chance, because from what the trailers told me, it'd probably be worth the money... Well, if I only knew better... All I can say is, Single Player is too short and didn't have any replaying value at all, Spec Ops was really easy (except for some few missions, but yeah, overall it was easy, even on highest difficulty) and didn't deliver the replayability that they promised. The Multiplayer was cool at first, but the matchmaking system turned out to suck, I was pleased that they included Prestige for the PC on this one, but after some time it became really annoying. In addition to that, There is an increasing number of hacked matches going on, letting players jump to level 70 directly for killing only 1 player (thanks to an XP boost). That's not what the game was meant to be like, and I doubt IW will ever fix that. There were some good ideas that came into the game, but IWNet is far from being an improvement to me at all, I've seen less hackers in COD4, the games can be very laggy if the host sucks (and if that one doesn't want to leave the game for a better host, the game's already ruined for you). Another thing I am seriously angry about is that Akimbo stuff; half of the players in every match run around with an Akimbo G18, dual wielding shotguns, and so on... Was that really necessary? Even today, COD4 is the better option if you'd have to choose between MW1 or MW2. Expand
  52. TPower
    Apr 25, 2010
    2
    So, I get it; IW wanted this game to be a money maker, but for them to turn their back on all their PC fans that have built and supported their community from CoD1 is a low blow to all of us. Cons: - No dedicated server; personally, it almost always takes longer to find and enter a decent game with IWnet than it ever did with dedicated servers in their previous games - Hosting issues and So, I get it; IW wanted this game to be a money maker, but for them to turn their back on all their PC fans that have built and supported their community from CoD1 is a low blow to all of us. Cons: - No dedicated server; personally, it almost always takes longer to find and enter a decent game with IWnet than it ever did with dedicated servers in their previous games - Hosting issues and abundant lag - I really have no idea how it chooses a "best host", because it seems like we quite often end up with the worst host - No memorable maps - Terrible community - Perks are ridiculously unbalanced - No competitive play ... ever - Bad re-spawn system - Unbalanced team assign system - Run through steam externally ... Why? Pros: - Despite all its problems, multi-player is fun to pick up and play - Relatively few hackers; people will say otherwise, but I've seen maybe 10 tops, in a few months of playing - A few memorable moments and unique ideas in the campaign - Prestige is kind of fun, but loses its novelty quickly In the end though, it's a poor effort towards a game that should have been truly stunning, and not worth the 60$. In fact I find it's barely worth the packaging it came in. It's a console game, sold as a PC game and I sincerely hope that this doesn't turn into a trend amongst gaming companies. Unless there are some big changes underway for CoD series, I for one will not be supporting it any longer. RIP CoD... Expand
  53. ChrisK
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers. This game is useless to me in multiplayer which the only reason I play games these days. I can't give it a better score if I'm not going to even play. Might as well go play laggy pieces of crap like A.V.A. or Combat Arms and they are free.
  54. PedroN
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    No dedicated server support was the most idiotic move they could pull and they did it. No modding and P2P servers with less people are just not competitive in PC's gaming market. If you're looking for PC standard multiplayer action don't go for it, you'll get half the experience you're used to.
  55. BeerCamelB
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The biggest problem with this game is the lack of developer support for the fans. When you take a PC game that was as great as Modern Warfare and make a sequel we as fans want something as good if not better. When you take the player limit and reduce it by 3/4 and you do not allow dedicated server support even with the lower player numbers really slaps your dedicated fans in the face. The biggest problem with this game is the lack of developer support for the fans. When you take a PC game that was as great as Modern Warfare and make a sequel we as fans want something as good if not better. When you take the player limit and reduce it by 3/4 and you do not allow dedicated server support even with the lower player numbers really slaps your dedicated fans in the face. There will be those ignorant ones who buy this game, but I will not. Were it given to me for free I would not play it. There is no command console, no mods; two things which are central to PC gaming. When you take those out, you leave nothing special for which a PC gamer should be excited. Also charging another $10 over the normal price of a PC game is rather pompous. We WILL NOT take this insubordination and persecution. Infinity Ward and Activision has done something to the effect of corporate suicide by trying to force us gamers to take this. By changing a venerable series and turning it into a cash cow they have bitch slapped us. The retail release can play today but the steam edition cannot be played for another few days. If that isn't the biggest crock of shit I don't know what is. Fuck you Activision and Fuck you Infinity Ward, rot in hell. Expand
  56. GK
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Let's sum up Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: 1] Short single player campaign 2] Only 2 player cooperative for Spec-Ops 3] Only 9v9 matches on multiplayer 4] No "lean" 5] No "/record" 6] No "console" 7] Incredibly poor matchmaking 8] Heavy reliance on Steam 9] IWNet causing very laggy games A complete and utter disappointment on nearly every level. The franchise nowonly belongs on Let's sum up Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: 1] Short single player campaign 2] Only 2 player cooperative for Spec-Ops 3] Only 9v9 matches on multiplayer 4] No "lean" 5] No "/record" 6] No "console" 7] Incredibly poor matchmaking 8] Heavy reliance on Steam 9] IWNet causing very laggy games A complete and utter disappointment on nearly every level. The franchise nowonly belongs on console and I welcome Infinity Ward to develop only for consoles if this is the sloppy work that they put into PC titles. Laziness coupled with greed has led Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 to be a complete disappointment. Infinity Ward should be embarrased with the quality of the game they've turned out. Expand
  57. Kevin
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    No server browser, dedicated servers, mods, or LAN support... And then they figure it's a good idea to limit the servers to 18 players for a max of 9v9 games? What the heck were Infinity Ward and Activision thinking? We PC gamers have standards way above those of a mere console fratboy, making a PC port that's no better than the console game is insulting!
  58. TylerR
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Single player is ok but this game is all about the multi once the single player is dead and gone. Sad I can only play with limited people and it feels like I'm on Xbox live...sad it could have been epic.
  59. Colinb
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Modern warfare 2 single player campagne is good. Short but very fun. There are somethings I don't like about the game plat. But overall it is good. Now on to the bad. The multiplayer is horrible. The new balanceing stratagies are annoying but I might get used to them however, IWNET is terrible. I am a gaming clan leader and this is totaly bad for us. We have clan members all over the Modern warfare 2 single player campagne is good. Short but very fun. There are somethings I don't like about the game plat. But overall it is good. Now on to the bad. The multiplayer is horrible. The new balanceing stratagies are annoying but I might get used to them however, IWNET is terrible. I am a gaming clan leader and this is totaly bad for us. We have clan members all over the world. The play just fine on our dedicated cod 4 servers. But not iwnet. We can't play anymore at all. This mabey the end to out clan. We are not the crazy compettitive clan. We just play for fun. But not with mw2. Matchmaking is for consoles not PC. Please don't waste your time with this game. Unless you only want the single player. Then it's cool. Expand
  60. ShockLobster
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Not even going to be buying this. Boycotting it due to the absurd decision regarding PC community support, and dedicated servers. The $60 MSRP on the PC copy is ridiculous enough on top of this unnecessary breach of customer care. Should IW/concerned parties change their mind about this, I'll change my mind about not buying the game.
  61. KendallL
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    I absolutely hate the multiplayer portion of this game. I am not able to connect with friends, and the small 9v9 games are horrible. I need to play against more people. Single player is ok, but I beat it in one sitting, and won't play it again. Multiplayer is where it is at for me, but I hate the multiplayer.
  62. JoshS.
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    Giving it a two just becuase of a decent single player.. They got rid of dedicated servers, got rid of the console, got rid of mods, got rid of high player size, got rid of lean.. aka they made it an xbox port. This game does not deserve highr then a 2 rating!!!
  63. JustinA
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Awful multiplayer. Tiny boring games, packed full of lag and host swaps, no decent community (anyone that played any FPS ever online will remember having their own community of people on each server, just like a favourite pub / bar / club etc). Probably fine for consoles, but having learned how much FPS games suck on consoles I'll pass thanks. I'd like to add that all of the Awful multiplayer. Tiny boring games, packed full of lag and host swaps, no decent community (anyone that played any FPS ever online will remember having their own community of people on each server, just like a favourite pub / bar / club etc). Probably fine for consoles, but having learned how much FPS games suck on consoles I'll pass thanks. I'd like to add that all of the main reviews are not of the PC version exclusively. Expand
  64. AnthonyS
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    As we all know, in today's internet-age no game will survive without genuine & solid multiplayer gameplay. Sadly, the only life-force that would have held this game above water has sunk to the depths of the ocean. I hope infinity ward drowns in the misery of their money-centered decision making. The choice to remove dedicated servers from this game is the biggest flop since duke As we all know, in today's internet-age no game will survive without genuine & solid multiplayer gameplay. Sadly, the only life-force that would have held this game above water has sunk to the depths of the ocean. I hope infinity ward drowns in the misery of their money-centered decision making. The choice to remove dedicated servers from this game is the biggest flop since duke nukem forever. 0/10 stars, the game is miserable without the multi. Expand
  65. PPNSteve
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    I, as well, was highly anticipating this release on the PC. The news that dedicated servers was removed was like a blow to the heart. Come to find out a week or so later, the 9v9 cap, no lean NO LEANING for gosh sakes! the lack of 'normal' PC controls, i.e. console, /record or demo, and editable configure files, pushed this one over the top for me. I strongly advise hard core I, as well, was highly anticipating this release on the PC. The news that dedicated servers was removed was like a blow to the heart. Come to find out a week or so later, the 9v9 cap, no lean NO LEANING for gosh sakes! the lack of 'normal' PC controls, i.e. console, /record or demo, and editable configure files, pushed this one over the top for me. I strongly advise hard core gamers NOT to waste their money nor time with this terrible, letdown of a release. Expand
  66. SteveJ.
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    You can obviously tell Activison and Infinity Ward paid for the reviews there getting. This is no where near a solid game as they all claim. Campain is a meger 3hrs and is completely ridiculous, linear, and you have no options to do anything but what they tell you. Graphics are sub par. Multiplayer is unbalanced, small, and a lack of total players allowed when other games are at least at You can obviously tell Activison and Infinity Ward paid for the reviews there getting. This is no where near a solid game as they all claim. Campain is a meger 3hrs and is completely ridiculous, linear, and you have no options to do anything but what they tell you. Graphics are sub par. Multiplayer is unbalanced, small, and a lack of total players allowed when other games are at least at 32 players, if not more. Total disappointment, im forcing gamestop to give me my money back. Seeing as there all buddy buddy in this whole 'marketing scheme'. This wasn't a game release, they was just a money release, and they probably got alot of peoples $. Expand
  67. AndreasE.
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Pure shite on PC, 100% port, all multiplayer futures removed(server support). Happy matchmaking, no admins and cheaters whom cant be banned. They have RIPPED OFF MODDERS from COD 4 and then on top of that prevented any modding to MW2. No stay away from this piece of garbage.
  68. dwp
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    IW has taken a step backwards with this game. The matchmaking service and lack of non-dedicated servers has killed the experience for me. If IW wants to cater to the 12 year-olds and thier consoles, then they're going to loose me as a customer. Unless they will eat some crow and listen to thier customers, I'm never buying a game from them again.
  69. jamesc.
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    No dedicated servers = no buy for FPS on the PC. IW messed this game all up, people talked crap about OSDT being short, I don't hear them talking crap regarding this game, and it's just the same rehashed BS.
  70. DougS
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    alright, let me put this in terms anyone can understand. Me and my friends like to party. We aren't professional party-goers like Paris Hilton, but we party alot. I mean alot. So we go to this bar nearby and have fun and play our party games and everybody is pretty damn happy with this setup. You always know there would be someone from our group at the bar plus the usual assortment alright, let me put this in terms anyone can understand. Me and my friends like to party. We aren't professional party-goers like Paris Hilton, but we party alot. I mean alot. So we go to this bar nearby and have fun and play our party games and everybody is pretty damn happy with this setup. You always know there would be someone from our group at the bar plus the usual assortment of regulars, many of them are good friends too. In fact, the bar stays open pretty much thanks to my friends and me. Now we hear that this new version of a party game we like to play cannot be played at our bar. Instead we have to go to one of our guy's pads and party there. This is bad because: 1) the places we live at are too small to have a big party. And we like BIG parties, mkay? 2) you need to organize beforehand and all arrive at the same time instead of just showing up whenevr. 3) all kinds of random douchebags crash-in and there's no way to kick them out. 4) If cops show up and shut the party down everyone needs to go to a new place and that takes time and kills good vibes. Need I say more? This new party game is a non-starter for our group. We are gonna skip this BS altogether and stick to other stuff. Expand
  71. KevinB
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    The game has been ruined, Infinity Ward tried to shove a console shaped peg in a PC shaped hole. Lack of dedicated servers and overall respect for the traditions and fundamental values of PC gaming makes CODMW2 a very sad loss to the gaming community. What we all hoped would have been a knight in shining armor turned out to be a gross demonstration of commercialism and disregard for the The game has been ruined, Infinity Ward tried to shove a console shaped peg in a PC shaped hole. Lack of dedicated servers and overall respect for the traditions and fundamental values of PC gaming makes CODMW2 a very sad loss to the gaming community. What we all hoped would have been a knight in shining armor turned out to be a gross demonstration of commercialism and disregard for the original consumer. Expand
  72. AkagiS
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    This game is a direct console port with nothing added. In fact, everything that made CoD4 so great was deliberately taken from the game. There is no modding, no dedicated servers, no console, no lean, no real LAn play, and on top of that they charge an extra 20% over normal retail price. Completely ridiculous.
  73. JohnN
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    This game just is not what it was supposed to be, which is a better game than the first one. It's completely ruined by the lack of dedicated servers, the lack of CONSOLE and the lack of modding. The single player is too short and way too hectic and you don't get to enjoy the nice sceneries available because there really is no pause from the gunfights. Add to that the multiplayer This game just is not what it was supposed to be, which is a better game than the first one. It's completely ruined by the lack of dedicated servers, the lack of CONSOLE and the lack of modding. The single player is too short and way too hectic and you don't get to enjoy the nice sceneries available because there really is no pause from the gunfights. Add to that the multiplayer being only 9vs9 and most probably DLC on the PC which will not be free and you get a big failure of a game, which will sadly still sell too many copies for Infinity Ward/Activision to actually realize or learn anything. Expand
  74. TimG
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    If you want MW2, buy the console version, this is stripped of everything a call of duty game once was for PC. No custom maps, no mods, no 32+ player multiplayer. They want total control over this product, in order to finally charge money on the PC version for DLC. For people coming from console versions this might not seem like anything, but to people true to Call of Duty series from the If you want MW2, buy the console version, this is stripped of everything a call of duty game once was for PC. No custom maps, no mods, no 32+ player multiplayer. They want total control over this product, in order to finally charge money on the PC version for DLC. For people coming from console versions this might not seem like anything, but to people true to Call of Duty series from the first on PC this is a spit in the face to all of their fans. Expand
  75. MichaelN
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    They've removed just about every staple of PC gaming from this, save for mouse and keyboard control and text chat. Not only that, but they're charging $10 MORE(NONE of which will reach developers, as they were paid during development and when the game went gold) than ANY other PC game.
  76. ArtyA
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    I'm not sure what IW was thinking when they released this. I understand that quality doesnt always go up but how did they make a sequel thats entirely based on its previous title and manages to be this bad.
  77. GabeR
    Nov 11, 2009
    4
    I knew about the multiplayer change when i bought it, but i really wanted to try it still. There are alot of cool new features but nothing that couldnt have been patched into an older version. The multiplayer experience is OK about 60% of the time. There is a long lobby wait time, no way to ban cheaters, and flakey lag issues. When i shoot, see the other player run a bit then die, its I knew about the multiplayer change when i bought it, but i really wanted to try it still. There are alot of cool new features but nothing that couldnt have been patched into an older version. The multiplayer experience is OK about 60% of the time. There is a long lobby wait time, no way to ban cheaters, and flakey lag issues. When i shoot, see the other player run a bit then die, its clearly network lag. Also when i shoot at nothing and kill someone who runs by a second later its also bad. I honestly have never experiences that on random clan run servers. also clan run servers had admins that would toss cheaters in a heartbeat. Im really not happy with this. Expand
  78. AlexW
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    This title is a mockery, the multiplayer host system provided are an absolute discrace and everyone in the sessions i join have awful latency where as the host of the game has fantastic latency, well that is when we can get into game sessions as on most occaisions we get disconnected upon entering the game session due to host migration issues. The single player is faulty too as i crashed This title is a mockery, the multiplayer host system provided are an absolute discrace and everyone in the sessions i join have awful latency where as the host of the game has fantastic latency, well that is when we can get into game sessions as on most occaisions we get disconnected upon entering the game session due to host migration issues. The single player is faulty too as i crashed on the second mission and my save became corrupted and un-useable, now this is not my machine as many other people are experiencing the same thing. Thanks infinity ward for such a shambles of a game. No lean No dedicated servers No clan support No modding support Stolen ideas without crediting the correct modders Thanks but no thanks i will be retiring this game early and will return to Modern warfare 1... well that is until Battlefield 2 bad company is released. Expand
  79. AlexG
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Single player and co op are to "straight" yet again although it is still ok. The main part of call of duty is the online MP however in a couple of months I would expect people to get fed up with the matchmaking which according to Activision is the way forward. They state it improves the multiplayer experience but how does mid game pauses (due to host problems), lag in most games, lower Single player and co op are to "straight" yet again although it is still ok. The main part of call of duty is the online MP however in a couple of months I would expect people to get fed up with the matchmaking which according to Activision is the way forward. They state it improves the multiplayer experience but how does mid game pauses (due to host problems), lag in most games, lower player matches (due to no dedicated servers), no mods, bad and less customisable games and a all around bad experience. I personally love all the other call of duty series but this is a step in the wrong direction. Most of the ideas in there game were originally done by modders. Expand
  80. BobM
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Was heartbroken at the loss of Dedicated Servers, Mod Tools, and ~Console. Forced Steam Usage, IW.net, and the 3hr storyline killed the game for me. Anyone who said that this is the GOTY only played the console version. A great leap backwards for the PC version. After playing it at a friends house, I was throughly convinced not to buy the game. A terrible disappointment if you ask me.
  81. JamesF
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    The removal of dedicated servers and the console (the user of the ` key) is truly a shame. Custom maps, mods and gaming communities is part of what sets PC gaming apart from the consoles, makes PC games special. All of that is stripped in MW2. I hope the "dumbing down" of PC games stops with this title.
  82. RobertL
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    The game was absolutely horrible, no dedicated servers whatsoever, just crappy matchmaking like the consoles. The MP is completely unbalanced and plays like TF2, COD5 and COD4 all mashed together in one horribly stitched together nonsense. Already took both my xbox 360 version and PC version back to the store and complained.
  83. crovax
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Played/bought on both PC and PS3. PC version is superior to the PS3 version in every way from graphics to mouse and keyboard control which was what I expected and I needed both to play with friends who only had either a PC or PS3. Single player campaign is really short(applies to both versions). Spec ops is okay and fun on both versions. But who cares? My main concern is really the Played/bought on both PC and PS3. PC version is superior to the PS3 version in every way from graphics to mouse and keyboard control which was what I expected and I needed both to play with friends who only had either a PC or PS3. Single player campaign is really short(applies to both versions). Spec ops is okay and fun on both versions. But who cares? My main concern is really the multiplayer (3 or more people) and well...online multiplayer sucks in both PC and PS3 version. No dedicated servers. The latency advantage automatically goes to the host. When I am the host, multiplayer is pretty awesome. Otherwise its crap when someone else is hosting on their crappy dsl/cable (exception is when someone is hosting from their college/work internet connection like a T1 or OC3, lag seems fine then). Giving it a 1 because 0 is super harsh and I did enjoy what little there was of the single player and whenever I was the host in multiplayer. I really regret the 80+$ spent on both versions as well as not researching the game more since I didn't find out about the 'NO DEDICATED SERVERS" until after I had tried out multiplayer on the PC version and realized it used matchmaking. I already knew the PS3 wouldnt have dedicated servers because what console game has such a thing? But I was totally expecting dedicated servers from the PC version since Modern Warfare 1 for the PC had it. Never buying any more products from this company again unless they straighten out the multiplayer components for the PC version and I wont be buying any more of their games for my PS3 and future consoles just from principle. Expand
  84. RyanC
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    The single player is incredibly restrictive, linear, and completely rediculous... not to mention is lasts an amazing 4hrs. Email 402, the idiot behind all this mess that has no idea whats going on, to go by a number as a nickname should give you a hint twords his inteligence. - robert.bowling@hotmail.com - multiplayer is as bad as feared, unbalanced, and a complete lag fest. anyone saying The single player is incredibly restrictive, linear, and completely rediculous... not to mention is lasts an amazing 4hrs. Email 402, the idiot behind all this mess that has no idea whats going on, to go by a number as a nickname should give you a hint twords his inteligence. - robert.bowling@hotmail.com - multiplayer is as bad as feared, unbalanced, and a complete lag fest. anyone saying they have no problem with it, is because they are only 10 people playing, and there probably the one hosting the game, so they have the 0 ping advantage. I'll go spend my time else where with Dragon Age, an actual game that is worthy of its price even without multiplayer, and has a lasting, strong single player. Hope IW goes backrupt. Bad Company 2, prepare for some good sales. Expand
  85. Gregs
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    From a multiplayer view this game is years behind all current PC titles, it's a huge let down that such a well respected franchise could sink to this level and produce this peice of unplayable multiplayer garbage.
  86. NathanP
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    I concur with all the low user scores on here, and they've put it better than I ever could. The single player's far too short for the money and the multiplayer sends a clear signal, that IW is far too successful to care about the most passionate and loyal group of gamers out there.
  87. worst3W
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    To increase the price and take out all the best parts and make it a worse then a console game is just an insult and the way IW talked to there customers that felt that way, the game deserves a 0 even of it has a great single player. sad to see such a great game be ruined.
  88. TobyG
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    SP is good fun.... for 3 hours. WTF for $120 NZD and I can finish the game in 3 hours... wtf is with that?!?! and don't even start me on the P2P mp, its rediculous. i send more time trying to find a server thats playable on than actually playing.... I might go back to playing Dragon Age: Origins, more value for money there.
  89. DaveM
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    This is a horrible game. Not only did it install Steam on my PC, but it failed to activate multiple times. After contacting Steam, I managed to solve that issue. I quickly jumped in and tried the single player game, only to beat it 5 hours later... The story was somewhat good, but it ended in 5 hours? I didn
  90. FraserD
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Oh god, what have they done... turned a potentially fantastic PC FPS game into a XBOX360 kiddy console rip-off. Being honest IW couldn't give a damn about your game qualityexperience. All this stuff about IW-net "enchancing" your gameplay is a load of rubbish. The ONLY reasons they have implemented IW-net is to stop piracy (which i agree with) and for the downloadable content. But i Oh god, what have they done... turned a potentially fantastic PC FPS game into a XBOX360 kiddy console rip-off. Being honest IW couldn't give a damn about your game qualityexperience. All this stuff about IW-net "enchancing" your gameplay is a load of rubbish. The ONLY reasons they have implemented IW-net is to stop piracy (which i agree with) and for the downloadable content. But i tell you what, i laughed myself to sleep which i read an announcment by EA regarding their stance on dedicated servers. It pains me to say this but EA have got it right. People using consoles and IW themselves don't honestly realise how much dedicated servers enchance gameplay, 0 lag, good pings, able to kick cheaters and greifers off. If i were an FPS console gamer i would cut my left nut off to have the option fordedicated servers on a console but what i can't understand is why they just done implement BOTH systems... Matchmaking for people who just "wanna frag" and dedicated servers for people who run communities, clan etc. IW REALLY need to wake up and smell the coffee. We spend 1000's on our machines for the ability to play with more than 18 people and have NO lag, we spend 1000's on our machines so we can mod our servers and police them ourselves, we spend 1000's on our machines so we can run our communties not have them run for us, we spend 1000's on our machines so we can dictate OUR OWN gameplay. I hope to god that the PC version of this falls flat on it back, i really do. Expand
  91. PeteJ
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    The singleplayer part is short, but ok. Multiplayer is probably the worst experience I have had since... I actually dont remember having a worse experience. Lag, high ping, no server browser, no dedicated server, the list goes on and on and on....Save your money and avoid this game, unless you are only in it for the 5 hour singleplayer.
  92. InsanityWard
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    The reason people play pc games is because of the rich multiplayer elements that the community supports itself with. infinity ward is trying to turn the pc into a nickel and dime platform which the consoles have become accustomed to . i look for pc games with a rich mod community (95% of them do) and when a company is trying to make me pay for DLC when the PC community could easily make The reason people play pc games is because of the rich multiplayer elements that the community supports itself with. infinity ward is trying to turn the pc into a nickel and dime platform which the consoles have become accustomed to . i look for pc games with a rich mod community (95% of them do) and when a company is trying to make me pay for DLC when the PC community could easily make them for free, that my friends is crap! Expand
  93. ShaneB
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Disgusting, Awful, Pathetic. Just a few words I use to describe this garbage attempt at a port. If you use certain parts on a PC, you need to "trick your computer" into letting you play, after Steam spent 15 minutes trying to let me play, It decided to delete the 11gb download I just downloaded and try re-download this piece of garbage. I'll be complaining and getting a full refund Disgusting, Awful, Pathetic. Just a few words I use to describe this garbage attempt at a port. If you use certain parts on a PC, you need to "trick your computer" into letting you play, after Steam spent 15 minutes trying to let me play, It decided to delete the 11gb download I just downloaded and try re-download this piece of garbage. I'll be complaining and getting a full refund the moment i can. Pathetic. Expand
  94. NickO
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    They expect us to pay $10 more than the typical MSRP for a ruined multiplayer system, a shorter campaign, and several less important features that almost every game of the past decade has had? Well I'm not buying and I recommend that you don't either. It's not even worth the bandwidth, if that's where your mind is wandering. I almost feel bad for the developers being They expect us to pay $10 more than the typical MSRP for a ruined multiplayer system, a shorter campaign, and several less important features that almost every game of the past decade has had? Well I'm not buying and I recommend that you don't either. It's not even worth the bandwidth, if that's where your mind is wandering. I almost feel bad for the developers being forced by their bosses to pull this BS, because there is no way they couldn't know how wrong this is. Expand
  95. SteveR
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Second rate console port at best. IW has ruined the COD series with this garbage of a game. Multiplayer lags horribly when you can actually get into a server. This is suppose to be an experience? Its 2009, you need dedicated servers, your IWnet is a seriously flawed system. SAVE YOUR MONEY and spend it elsewhere.
  96. ColeR
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Looking at the reviews, its fairly clear to me who Infinity Ward has payed to review the game. 100 out of 100? Surely you must be kidding!? this Travesty of a joke of a game should be buried with Toxic waste, on top of magnets. I cannot begin to fathom the idiocy involved in taking away dedicated servers. And the hide of them, using Valve Anti Cheat, that excuse for a fair play system. Looking at the reviews, its fairly clear to me who Infinity Ward has payed to review the game. 100 out of 100? Surely you must be kidding!? this Travesty of a joke of a game should be buried with Toxic waste, on top of magnets. I cannot begin to fathom the idiocy involved in taking away dedicated servers. And the hide of them, using Valve Anti Cheat, that excuse for a fair play system. Its the worst possible choice they could have made. There are a few choice words i would like to use to express my feelings towards IW at the moment but I feel these words would be edited out, therefore I leave you with this sentiment. Hardcore gamers are the reason Infinity Ward and COD became popular, and to turn your back on us now is despicable. I hope you all choke. Expand
  97. alg
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    LIST OF THINGS WRONG: Audio settings only goes up to 5.1 setup. NO FOV change (clausterphobic feeling on big monitor). Some visual settings expected in a game as huge as this falls short(wheres my 16x AA?) No dedicated servers - (BIG error for PC) Person hosting a MP game leaves? Auto-pause game to change local host hands. (kills the experience it's a 5 to 55 second delay!) Pay no LIST OF THINGS WRONG: Audio settings only goes up to 5.1 setup. NO FOV change (clausterphobic feeling on big monitor). Some visual settings expected in a game as huge as this falls short(wheres my 16x AA?) No dedicated servers - (BIG error for PC) Person hosting a MP game leaves? Auto-pause game to change local host hands. (kills the experience it's a 5 to 55 second delay!) Pay no attention to OFFICIAL ratings, PC multiplayer is royally Fudged. Only saving grace is the SP. looks nice, but short story. Expand
  98. PeterH
    Nov 11, 2009
    3
    Mediacore at best, don't bother to waste $ on this, since MP is a joke on pc and SP campaign takes 3,5h to finish. I'd rather suggest buying something that's actually worth your money.
  99. JamesS
    Nov 11, 2009
    4
    I bought MW2 expecting the worst, but as you can see, I've rated it 4 rather than 0. There is some fun to be had with this game. I first jumped into a multiplayer match, if you can call it that, to find out the truth with regards to the alleged hosting and player cap issues. The game is riddled with latency problems, regardless of the quality of the host. In four hours of I bought MW2 expecting the worst, but as you can see, I've rated it 4 rather than 0. There is some fun to be had with this game. I first jumped into a multiplayer match, if you can call it that, to find out the truth with regards to the alleged hosting and player cap issues. The game is riddled with latency problems, regardless of the quality of the host. In four hours of multiplayer, just one match displayed a connection that was comparable to a local dedicated server. Pings were easily 100+ the entire time - atleast quadruple that of my average ping in CSS. It feels like I'm playing Gears of War (1 or 2, they're just as laggy as eachother) on my 360, with a host 10,000 miles away. Console gamers are unlikely to notice the difference - but I'm not playing on a console. The single player, however, is of a much higher standard than the multiplayer component; although to call it above average is perhaps too optimistic. Playing on Normal, the campaign was a forgettable 7 hours. It's not a bad story by any stretch of the imagination, but I kept thinking to myself "when this ends... I'm stuck with the multiplayer." As with CoD4, there's no point that you really want to replay just for the sake of "it's so cool", unlike the Russian campaign of the original CoD. Console gamers have the edge here; the game is worth replaying for them, to get their achievements/trophies for beating it on Veteran - if you care about that sort of thing. Considering the game is running on a (modified) 3 year old engine, it does very well visually. It's certainly not Crysis, but I wasn't expecting it to be. I experienced no glitches/bugs with the game whatsoever. Not much else to say. I hope InfinityWard learn from their mistakes with MW3. Expand
  100. NickOver
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Short singleplayer and not as epic as the first. IW.net sucks just as we assumed it would. Thanks IW for giving me time to player worthy games. BFBC2 was on the backburner to this but not anymore.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.