User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5524 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    6
    Let's get one thing straight, gentlemen and gentlemen; Call of Duty is a franchise that cannot be changed, no matter whatsoever. The games are repetitive, the single player is unispired, terrible lag servers are spread across the internet.... But then, there are the **** idiots like me who still enjoy and embrace the decent resolution and gun control of the game. I really hate ActivisionLet's get one thing straight, gentlemen and gentlemen; Call of Duty is a franchise that cannot be changed, no matter whatsoever. The games are repetitive, the single player is unispired, terrible lag servers are spread across the internet.... But then, there are the **** idiots like me who still enjoy and embrace the decent resolution and gun control of the game. I really hate Activision for all the **** they made, but think about this; we really have no choice; take it or leave it. For me, I'm taking this **** Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    MW3 MULTIPLAYER ONLY REVIEW. Wow, what a shame. When MW2 hit in 2009, it came just at the right time and felt completely fresh. It had nearly the same effect as CoD4, bringing innovation and excitingly fast-paced multiplayer to the fore. Did Activision seriously think that, giving IW only a year, they could work the same magic? By the time Black Ops had been announced, MW2 was almost deadMW3 MULTIPLAYER ONLY REVIEW. Wow, what a shame. When MW2 hit in 2009, it came just at the right time and felt completely fresh. It had nearly the same effect as CoD4, bringing innovation and excitingly fast-paced multiplayer to the fore. Did Activision seriously think that, giving IW only a year, they could work the same magic? By the time Black Ops had been announced, MW2 was almost dead when people discovered how unbalanced it was. Now, we have this. The traversty known as Modern Warfare 2.5. Where do I begin? Well, there's the maps. What was admirable about Black Ops was how every match was EXACTLY the same because the spawns and maps were logical. Here, every match is the same as well, but by that I mean it's just you spawn, get killed by hacker, spawn get killed by killstreak, spawn get killed again. Quite simply, the maps and spawn have no logic or consistency. Granted neither did MW2, but on MW2.5 the maps and spawns are game breaking. It appears that they were purely designed to look good on trailers. Speaking of which, isn't it embrassing that a GT 430 1GB can run the game on highest graphics and texture settings at 1920x1080 resolution and still get 50+ FPS? As far as weapons go, they're all the same. Sniper rifles have still not been fixed. Equip Sleight of Hand and Quickdraw combined with a bolt action and you're guranteed to win every firefight at anything above knifing range. Well, there goes the aim assist arguement. Quick scoping on PC MW3 is even easier than MW2 on console. Further still, every hit is 90% chance of being one hit kill regardless, or so it seems that way. The game is very fast, but not organized. It's a mess. All MW3 is is MW2 with more quantity. And more quantity of what? All the things that were wrong with it. What killed CoD for me was killstreaks, but at least Black Ops had the decency of 1) making the balanced and 2) leetting you play Barebones Pure right from the start, with no perks, equipment, killstreaks, deathstreaks etc. Gun on gun, you're done. In MW3, it's an "Advanced" game mode which is unlocked at Level 20. What were they thinking? Black Ops was a masterpiece in every sense and even if it was boring to many people, I'd rather play a game that's boring but functional than one that's fast-paced but broken. Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer really messed up big time. Not a single map in MW3 is thought out proper.y. Every single one is exactly the same- too small and chaotic. Yes, MW2 was a fantastic game but IW should have realised that although they did a great job in MW2, MW3 should have aimed to give a refined, balanced multip[layer experience. Instead, all they've done is make the game even more broken. I only give zeroes to games like Minecraft just to hate on them, but in this instance, MW3's multiplayer truly deserves it for the simple reason that it is not functional. It doesn't work. Not a single thing about the game is logical. And that makes it the most dissapointing tragedy in FPS history. Call of Duty built its title on intense gameplay, fun matches, great campaign and most of all, the multiplayer. In all aspects, CoD has always been an innovator (ever since CoD4 anyway) so for them to add nothing new or even improve upon established foundations is what really makes MW3's multiplayer a failure. All Robert Bowling had to say for himself is that Commando, Last Stand and One Man Army have been taken out of the game. In that case, why didn't you just patch MW2 in the first place? MW3 had potential to be another solid masterpiece to join the ranks of CoD4 and Black Ops. As far as I can work out, the multiplayer is the biggest step backwards in Call of Duty's history. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    I went into MW3 expecting just a copy-paste of MW2 (which I honestly enjoyed). What I got was something much, much worse. I play CoD for the story, and the singleplayer in MW3 lasts all of 4 hours and the story itself is totally uninteresting. There were just 1 memorable mission in MW3 that I may go back and play again, compare that to 5 or 6 in the previous installments. The spec ops hadI went into MW3 expecting just a copy-paste of MW2 (which I honestly enjoyed). What I got was something much, much worse. I play CoD for the story, and the singleplayer in MW3 lasts all of 4 hours and the story itself is totally uninteresting. There were just 1 memorable mission in MW3 that I may go back and play again, compare that to 5 or 6 in the previous installments. The spec ops had a lot of promise, I really enjoyed it in MW2. Unfortunately it is done very poorly in MW3. Again, there are no memorable missions, and the missions themselves basically require you to play with a partner. Add that to the fact that CoD matchmaking and latency is god awful, and you have a terrible experience. Survival mode was a good idea, but again, the matchmaking system completely ruins it. I'm not even going to talk about Multiplayer because we all know that it has always been completely broken garbage. I have played every single CoD game (dating back to the PC exclusive original) and I can honestly say that MW3 is the worst. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2014
    9
    Modern Warfare 3 is the last part of the trilogy made by Infinity Ward Modern Warfare, in collaboration with Sledgehammer Games and published by Activision. Modern Warfare 3 stand a tad better story to Modern Warfare 2, you discover more and more once you progress in the story. The only problem ... the game is very short, I one I finished in 5:30hours. The graphics is good, pretty good.Modern Warfare 3 is the last part of the trilogy made by Infinity Ward Modern Warfare, in collaboration with Sledgehammer Games and published by Activision. Modern Warfare 3 stand a tad better story to Modern Warfare 2, you discover more and more once you progress in the story. The only problem ... the game is very short, I one I finished in 5:30hours. The graphics is good, pretty good. For me, as I struggle in some of the major cities throughout the world ami makes the game much better. The sound is also good, quite good. Gameplay is ok, I have not encountered problems during the game, and still do a good job, is COD. Too bad that the game uses the same engine of Modern Warfare 1, but anyway, improved. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with a half good product. CoD is value for money but is lacking in original creativity. The special Ops is well done, the story pretty much sucks (no excuses - it sucks and you have brain damage if you think it's a good story), and the multiplayer isThe Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with a half good product. CoD is value for money but is lacking in original creativity. The special Ops is well done, the story pretty much sucks (no excuses - it sucks and you have brain damage if you think it's a good story), and the multiplayer is the same as ever with little innovation. I do recommend MW3 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2013
    1
    Terrible, there is nothing about good about MW3 AND ITS $60! There is a terrible campaign, bugs in multi-player, poor graphics and awful voicing. And i thought that MW2 was bad!
  7. Apr 27, 2012
    3
    Once again, I'll skip the single player, since...well, I'm actually playing the multiplayer due to a promotion and this is a review made in about 48 hours of gameplay (not literally, but I think it's enough, and I'll explain why). So let's go to the multiplayer...and well, once again, you can see the effort put into this game, because there is little or none of it. Personal criticismOnce again, I'll skip the single player, since...well, I'm actually playing the multiplayer due to a promotion and this is a review made in about 48 hours of gameplay (not literally, but I think it's enough, and I'll explain why). So let's go to the multiplayer...and well, once again, you can see the effort put into this game, because there is little or none of it. Personal criticism apart, I knew this game wasn't going to be any good at all, and for many reasons. First of all, lots of stuff is blocked from the very start, and I mean LOTS (even playmodes...really?), making you play for unlocking first the class customization, then modes, and veeeery slowly the weapons, perks, and so on...Didn't I see this game somewhere? But really, I can't stand a game where you have to play so much for unlocking FEW things, and those few things so far very USELESS (i've unlocked about 3-4 perks, and none of those were any useful, and the few weapons I've got I barely used half of them) and since now the levels are 80 (without counting the 20 prestiges), the grinding will be immensive. The arenas are...actually kinda better than the previous game; they aren't great but I really didn't complain so much about them than the previous game, and some of them are also good for different modes. Too bad campers still exist, and they'll exploit, once again, any blind corners in order to easily win, and once again if they try to say that this was actually planned, then I'll continue to say that they should think twice. And make much better maps. Ok, a good improvement are the levels on the weapons: the idea is very nice and actually makes you want to improve that particular weapon, but as I said I've been using a total of 3-4 weapons, and they were a lot similar to each others. I don't like to compare to other games, but this is basically the same game once again, and as I said before even though I played for a little time, I could see the major similarities between this and the previous game (which I played for about 4-6 months), with so few changes that it's hard to not notice; I would have highly suggested this game if it wasn't for the HUGE price and if it costed like 20 or 30 euros, but really, for 60-70 euros/dollars for a game that barely lasts one year and also for a game that rarely gets cheaper, I'll strongly advise to skip it and spend that money for any other game: it will be worth of your money. Expand
  8. Jan 14, 2013
    7
    Easily the worst COD game Ive ever played, Boring and uninspiring campaign, One of the worst PC ports for a shooter(feels like a last min port), And the game looks and feels like MW2, Least its got an addictive multiplier, and the characters feel alive( Not wooden)
  9. Aug 8, 2012
    4
    After playing this game on the xbox360, I only played Multiplayer on PC, therefore I am giving the rating on that, the connection is just as bad as the connection you generally get on Xbox360, unless you play on the dedicated servers, which actually only play as 'private matches' which aren't ranked, this + the review I gave for the xbox360 version.
  10. Dec 18, 2012
    1
    Should I copy and paste the same review as Modern Warfare 2? Well, I try to make it different, but I'll say the same things. This game engine is the same as the CoD 4 Modern Warfare from 2007, nothing has changed, nothing has been optimized. The game is the same as any other post CoD-4 CoD. The gameplay sucks, the singleplayer sucks, the multiplayer sucks, the graphics sucks. The plot isShould I copy and paste the same review as Modern Warfare 2? Well, I try to make it different, but I'll say the same things. This game engine is the same as the CoD 4 Modern Warfare from 2007, nothing has changed, nothing has been optimized. The game is the same as any other post CoD-4 CoD. The gameplay sucks, the singleplayer sucks, the multiplayer sucks, the graphics sucks. The plot is enough good, but not good, since it's not deep and mature. The sound is OK. Avoid these games. There's a CoD every half year (yeah, not even every year, since every 6 months you see a "new", bad, and sad CoD). Sold out games. I do not give this a 0 just because this is not as bad as Call of Duty Black Ops Declassified (45 minutes of SP). CoD MW3 = 0.75, for me. Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    I honestly don't understand why there is so much hate for this game. That's not to say that it's amazing, but I wasn't really disappointed. The single player plot is pretty bland for being SO over-the-top, but if you don't think about it too much, it's fun to play. My favorite part has got to be the single player survival mode: it provides countless hours of additional gameplay with plentyI honestly don't understand why there is so much hate for this game. That's not to say that it's amazing, but I wasn't really disappointed. The single player plot is pretty bland for being SO over-the-top, but if you don't think about it too much, it's fun to play. My favorite part has got to be the single player survival mode: it provides countless hours of additional gameplay with plenty of challenge. MW3 continues the trend of being basically a multiplayer game with a short campaign and some extras thrown in, but at this point I can't complain: you know what you're getting. Expand
  12. Aug 18, 2013
    2
    The singleplayer is ok, they have improved it a little bit but the campaign is still very short (6 hours) and the multiplayer is just a joke. I hate the feel of it, and everything is just unbalanced such as the spawn points, weapon damage, and so on. The only thing I really enjoyed was the survival and challenges. But thats it.
  13. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    I did it again!!!! After terrible release of Black Ops I though they will fix gameplay and create again good game. For me graphics is not main feature in games, so will not complain about graphics which BTW looks like from 2002.
    But they didn't fix anything. Whole game ooks exactly same.. More like level pack.
    Singleplayer is boring and on multiplayer you can have fun is you love to be
    I did it again!!!! After terrible release of Black Ops I though they will fix gameplay and create again good game. For me graphics is not main feature in games, so will not complain about graphics which BTW looks like from 2002.
    But they didn't fix anything. Whole game ooks exactly same.. More like level pack.
    Singleplayer is boring and on multiplayer you can have fun is you love to be shot from the back each time and never able to see what's happend. No matter what's your skill game will respawn enemy ALWAYS behond your back.
    Expand
  14. May 10, 2013
    0
    Lets start the story, first i love fps games, but since CS i stoped play. Last year I buy BF3 and CSGO, but I was willing some COD, becouse that franchise are so famous.

    This weak i play this game for free, and cant belive why people buy so much this game. The gameplay are horrible, the character moviment is a joke. The animations is like games from 10 years ago. The weapon is so
    Lets start the story, first i love fps games, but since CS i stoped play. Last year I buy BF3 and CSGO, but I was willing some COD, becouse that franchise are so famous.

    This weak i play this game for free, and cant belive why people buy so much this game. The gameplay are horrible, the character moviment is a joke. The animations is like games from 10 years ago.

    The weapon is so artificial, Battlefield is so much professional than COD. COD has the worst fake gameplay ever. Dont buy this game just becouse that is famous.
    Expand
  15. Apr 29, 2014
    6
    I'll start with the campaign. I've always enjoyed CoD's story lines, but this one was sadly disappointing. Coming off of the outstanding MW2, I expected a lot, but got a cliché' "take the fight to Europe, destroy a few big cities, kill a bunch of people, and walk off feeling epic" game. Then another thing: the entire game is one color. The cities are entirely gray, even the people. TheI'll start with the campaign. I've always enjoyed CoD's story lines, but this one was sadly disappointing. Coming off of the outstanding MW2, I expected a lot, but got a cliché' "take the fight to Europe, destroy a few big cities, kill a bunch of people, and walk off feeling epic" game. Then another thing: the entire game is one color. The cities are entirely gray, even the people. The African scenarios are entirely tan. It gets really annoying after a while. Now I'll move on to the multiplayer. I've always hated CoD multiplayer, and this is no exception. Ridiculously hacked lobbies, glitchy games, and a bad community all make it more and more miserable. Expand
  16. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    A lot of people thought this game of 2011 is worse than DNF, but technically that is wrong by far. Although there's nothing significantly new with recycled content from the previous MW game, the big upside is the popularity of this game overhyped by players giving low scores. This game could beat the most popular movie of all time which is Avatar. But the only features that owe up theA lot of people thought this game of 2011 is worse than DNF, but technically that is wrong by far. Although there's nothing significantly new with recycled content from the previous MW game, the big upside is the popularity of this game overhyped by players giving low scores. This game could beat the most popular movie of all time which is Avatar. But the only features that owe up the obsolete content in MW3 are dedicated servers and modding support. Overall this game isn't worth the $60 price tag with additional cost on future DLC. Expand
  17. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    Disgusted with the latest COD games, in SP you have more and longer cut scenes instead of fighting.. One of the worst games I played, I can't even connect to the MP servers cause my ping is so high BUT when i play any other COD except for any of the MW series, the MP works great. I'm giving this game a: 0
  18. Mar 27, 2013
    0
    Not only this game has no improvement in either graphic or element from previous installment, it is also a poor console port. Just check for the DirectX error for this game in steam or other forum. It is a random error which causes crash to players, in either single or multiplayer. What a shame, especially for such a price! Will never buy this series anymore!
  19. Apr 18, 2014
    8
    I can see that Activision is making some progress, but slowly. The campaign is short, and the scenario is not too rich. But there's a few clichés which will stick in mind. The Spec Ops missions are more interesting. The multiplayer is great, with the new weapons. And lots of well organized perks and stuff. The new Infected mode is crazy. Like hide and seek. The maps are not so cool. ButI can see that Activision is making some progress, but slowly. The campaign is short, and the scenario is not too rich. But there's a few clichés which will stick in mind. The Spec Ops missions are more interesting. The multiplayer is great, with the new weapons. And lots of well organized perks and stuff. The new Infected mode is crazy. Like hide and seek. The maps are not so cool. But the multiplayer in general is a real fun. The game engine is still the same, but improved. The audio is still unclear and unintelligent. Bullets sound for example doesn't change according to different places. But the game in overall has the face of a victor. Expand
  20. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    MW1 was the game I bought an Xbox360 to play.MW2 and 3 were pretty much the same game with different maps. I don't play online much as all the geeks online don't do much other than swear at each other, so the single player game is quite important to me. Its not bad. Its too short and a bit too 'supersoldier' - but aren't all the shootemups these days? Basically, if you liked MW1 and 2MW1 was the game I bought an Xbox360 to play.MW2 and 3 were pretty much the same game with different maps. I don't play online much as all the geeks online don't do much other than swear at each other, so the single player game is quite important to me. Its not bad. Its too short and a bit too 'supersoldier' - but aren't all the shootemups these days? Basically, if you liked MW1 and 2 you'll like this. So to end with a question for the developers. We have single player story mode, we have online multiplayer mode - why never any modes with battlemaps, two sides, a single player and loads of bots? Collapse
  21. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    I have enjoyed the cod series over the years and love MW1. When MW2 was released, the series started to lose my favor due to the companies aparrant inability to get rid of the hackers. It was a shame, I loved the maps. Back to MW1 I went. I enjoyed Blackops but that was a different developer. Watching the commercials for MW3 I must admit, I was pretty excited. I finished the totallyI have enjoyed the cod series over the years and love MW1. When MW2 was released, the series started to lose my favor due to the companies aparrant inability to get rid of the hackers. It was a shame, I loved the maps. Back to MW1 I went. I enjoyed Blackops but that was a different developer. Watching the commercials for MW3 I must admit, I was pretty excited. I finished the totally bland sp in just over 4 hours.... Wtf? Okay, I was feling rather let down at this point so I fired up mp. After checking to make sure my graphics didn't accidentally get set to low, I realized the game looked like MW2, but not as good. Yes, I started up MW2 to check. I played for 2 days trying out the game modes and have come to the conclusion that I have been suckered. If they would have just patched MW2, and offered a map pack, it would have been better. I feel dirty. I am certain that I will make more stupid mistakes in life, but buying another MW title will not be one of them. Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2012
    5
    Sum up MW3 in one word? Lazy, probably. Back in the days of the first Modern Warfare, the campaign was well-paced and only had the occasional set piece to awe you; whilst in MW3, you can't go 5 minutes without a building, plane or train falling and crashing six inches away from your face. The game becomes exhausting to play and then just turns out to be boring. It's not that I think theySum up MW3 in one word? Lazy, probably. Back in the days of the first Modern Warfare, the campaign was well-paced and only had the occasional set piece to awe you; whilst in MW3, you can't go 5 minutes without a building, plane or train falling and crashing six inches away from your face. The game becomes exhausting to play and then just turns out to be boring. It's not that I think they should revolutionize the graphics every time a new game comes out, but this game does very little new, even story-wise. The story is even more disjointed than MW2 if you can believe that; with a half-hearted structure and poorly developed characters. Do I even need to be babbling right now? Just don't buy this game, unless you're willing to part with £30 for what essentially amounts to just a boring campaign and dull maps. And no, I don't like Battlefield 3 either so let's just drop this argument. Expand
  23. Jan 16, 2012
    6
    The single-player that was once innovative and memorable is now banal and repetitive. None of the moments in Modern Warfare 3 will be as eternal as when you first sneaked by enemy gaurds with Cpt. McMillan or when you first took controls of the guns behind an AC-130. While it's still fun and well-polished, it lacks the excitement "edge-of-your-seat" excitement of Black Ops. Furthermore,The single-player that was once innovative and memorable is now banal and repetitive. None of the moments in Modern Warfare 3 will be as eternal as when you first sneaked by enemy gaurds with Cpt. McMillan or when you first took controls of the guns behind an AC-130. While it's still fun and well-polished, it lacks the excitement "edge-of-your-seat" excitement of Black Ops. Furthermore, none of the multiplayer improvements in Black Ops like character customization or creative game modes make a return in multiplayer. However, the new Survival mode is a blast to play with a friend, as you level up and buy weapons and killstreaks as the game goes on. This instills an excellent feeling of progression that most survival modes lack. However, Survival mode is only playable with two people, which is a shame considering how much more fun the game would be with four. Overall this game is definitely not worth the $60 price tag, but if you've got a friend who you'd like to blast AI buddies with, maybe pick it up after a price drop. If you're looking for a better multiplayer mode however, you won't find much here that's better than Black Ops, likely worse. Expand
  24. May 31, 2012
    7
    When it comes to competative multiplayer, I'm much more of a Battlefield guy. But when it comes to singleplayer, MW3 wins. I also enjoy the Spec Ops and survival mode, but nothing beats zombies. So I still play Black Ops for that.
  25. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    Well... this game is really only fun if you're trolling. i had no fun with the gameplay at all. this game rewards camping it is really bad. same stuff as we have seen before.
  26. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't know what's up with the negative reviews here. The game is a most profitable production in the history of gaming while everybody here are complaining. I get it that it's action and explosion all around and everybody already seen that in the previous reveals of this franchise but... so #@% what?! The game is FANTASTIC! Campaign is absolutely jaw-dropping and the multiI honestly don't know what's up with the negative reviews here. The game is a most profitable production in the history of gaming while everybody here are complaining. I get it that it's action and explosion all around and everybody already seen that in the previous reveals of this franchise but... so #@% what?! The game is FANTASTIC! Campaign is absolutely jaw-dropping and the multi allows you to fight, fight, fight rather than run, run, and die as in the BF3... Though it's less realistic for me it's much more fun to play! Expand
  27. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    MW3 is the most addicting, balanced, and content-packed CoD yet. Some haters ignorantly say it's just MW2.5, but MW3 is truly a complete sequel that combines all new content with an updated and improved version of MW2's core gameplay. Hence, MW3 is the kind of sequel that gives you even more of what you love and enough clever new things to make you fall in love with it in its own right.MW3 is the most addicting, balanced, and content-packed CoD yet. Some haters ignorantly say it's just MW2.5, but MW3 is truly a complete sequel that combines all new content with an updated and improved version of MW2's core gameplay. Hence, MW3 is the kind of sequel that gives you even more of what you love and enough clever new things to make you fall in love with it in its own right. ++++ If you loved MW2, MW3 will feel like embracing an old companion, who's been genetically enhanced to be friendlier, better looking, smarter, and simply more awesome than ever before. ++++ I rate games based on "fun", and MW3 is a very good time. So how can I not be very pleased with a game that provides me with 200+ hours of enjoyment? Score: 9.5 rounded to 10. Expand
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As much as die hardcore fan of CoD i consider myself, this time i decided to step back after learning my lesson with Black Ops and its pathetic ammounts of DLCs.
    I'm sick of Activision's moneygrub, i'm sick of the overpriced DLC's that offer little almost nothing and i won't support ELITE!.
    That being said, its time to put a stop to this madness. Their greediness has to stop. I can only hope for this franchise to end up like games such as THPS or Guitar Hero.
    Expand
  29. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    incredible story, good addictive multiplayer for players elite excellent especias operations so the problem seems very mw2, even graphic, same weapons some ways changed
  30. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    60 Dollars for this? Why did I make the mistake even though my instincts told me to save my money?! This game doesn't even have improved graphics! It's just MW2 all over again with an extended story, but in essence the SAME GAME! You just payed full price for a second copy of MW2 which basically what this is! Plus, if the singleplayer wasn't bad enough the multiplayer wouldn't be so60 Dollars for this? Why did I make the mistake even though my instincts told me to save my money?! This game doesn't even have improved graphics! It's just MW2 all over again with an extended story, but in essence the SAME GAME! You just payed full price for a second copy of MW2 which basically what this is! Plus, if the singleplayer wasn't bad enough the multiplayer wouldn't be so terrible if the servers were not filled with 7th grade fanboy kids who apparently know everything. Expand
  31. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    This used to be a really enjoyable shooter series. Now the only remotely use it has left for sane individuals is a reminder on what marketing does to the quality of games thanks to greedy publishers. Way to go Activision. I can only truly hope that you people will never figure out how to repopulate.
  32. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    And finally came the long-awaited FPS, competitor BF3. The campaign may appeal to many but for me, however, is worse than in the previous sections. Cool story shows less and no longer makes such entertainment. I really like the introduction of special missions and survive so that our enjoyment of the game takes longer. Multiplayer, however, for it is the same as in previous parts of soAnd finally came the long-awaited FPS, competitor BF3. The campaign may appeal to many but for me, however, is worse than in the previous sections. Cool story shows less and no longer makes such entertainment. I really like the introduction of special missions and survive so that our enjoyment of the game takes longer. Multiplayer, however, for it is the same as in previous parts of so many of you may not like it. For me, the new call is a really good game but the only good ... My rating 7.5 Expand
  33. Feb 25, 2012
    0
    Yet another review, which rants about the CoD franchise? Oh yes! There has been very many studios working on the game and it still hasn't changed enough to feel like a new game. The graphics are outdated, though even very bad computers can run it. The multiplayer maps have way too many corridors and such. The damage is annoyingly high, you don't need skill anymore to play the game. SameYet another review, which rants about the CoD franchise? Oh yes! There has been very many studios working on the game and it still hasn't changed enough to feel like a new game. The graphics are outdated, though even very bad computers can run it. The multiplayer maps have way too many corridors and such. The damage is annoyingly high, you don't need skill anymore to play the game. Same old crap, even worse than before. Expand
  34. Feb 9, 2012
    1
    A series of games that has gone down hill fast since 1 and 2, with the aim of getting as much money as they can out of the gaming community. Except this time hardly anything has changed. You are playing absolute top price for a game that is just rewashed, lazy and not up to par with any video game of the time. Whether you can blame the developers for this or not is debatable consideringA series of games that has gone down hill fast since 1 and 2, with the aim of getting as much money as they can out of the gaming community. Except this time hardly anything has changed. You are playing absolute top price for a game that is just rewashed, lazy and not up to par with any video game of the time. Whether you can blame the developers for this or not is debatable considering people will buy the Call of Duty series no matter how bad it is, so I guess it isn't in their interest to put any work into the game. The PC version of this game is much much worse, being a bad port, no dedicated servers STILL (learned nothing) and no adjustable field of view options. It is debatable to say that this is better than Black Ops, another horrible game, but it doesn't exactly matter. Personally I wish the series would just hurry up and die, it is a horrid insult to any gamer. Expand
  35. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    I dont know why this game has had such horrible reviews. I think MW3 is what id expect after MW2. like did you really want it to change so much? Those companys like command and conquer who make a strategy game and change it into more of an rpg (no building for example) pissed alot of people off same with Dawn of War 2.

    Ive played every call of duty game since CoD 1 and i cant find
    I dont know why this game has had such horrible reviews. I think MW3 is what id expect after MW2. like did you really want it to change so much? Those companys like command and conquer who make a strategy game and change it into more of an rpg (no building for example) pissed alot of people off same with Dawn of War 2.

    Ive played every call of duty game since CoD 1 and i cant find anything wrong with MW3 the story is sort of here and there and doesnt hold your attention, i dont know about you guys but who gives a Sh@^ about the story, i just want some CoD action which i find this delivers. What are people expecting? some kinda revolutionary game upgrade like Avatar 3D did to the movie industry? common......the games the same as the others yes...and thank god. If MW3 changed, id be dissapointed. i think its a fun game, for a measly $60 ya its worth it....if you like FPS games

    I havent tryed the multi-player so no comment on that.
    Expand
  36. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    hollywood strikes again, delivering us yet another copy and paste game.
    yeah you got record sales? so did justin bieber. does that mean anything? nope.

    ugh, so upset i wasted my money on this console game.
  37. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    Call of Duty®: Modern Warfare® 3

    Being my first Call of Duty game, it was definitely fun... For that first 100 hours, despite me playing for almost 400+ hours on record. You might always here people whining and b*tching about it, but it was really a good game in overall. I still remembered playing it on my old laptop (AMD 6470m) that broke down not long ago, and it ran smoothly and had
    Call of Duty®: Modern Warfare® 3

    Being my first Call of Duty game, it was definitely fun... For that first 100 hours, despite me playing for almost 400+ hours on record. You might always here people whining and b*tching about it, but it was really a good game in overall. I still remembered playing it on my old laptop (AMD 6470m) that broke down not long ago, and it ran smoothly and had good visuals. However, the FoV feature not being added in the PC was really a distaste to player's mouths, but did not stop third party programs from arising and changing it for us.

    It certainly does deserve the rating, but of course the stories about the "LEGENDARY FMG-9" was real. And that thing really hurts a lot. All the pistols in the game was full-auto if i wasn't wrong and it is really a pain in the butt. Full auto WITH INCREDIBLY HIGH RoF.

    The best guns or every shooter game's "tryhard" weapon is of course the old Heckler & Koch MP7 as well as Remington ACR.

    If somebody were to ask me if it really deserves a high rating by critics on the PC, i can honestly say that the critics hadn't had enough time with the game yet.
    Expand
  38. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    3 hour campaign with lots of breaks... nuff said considering the price. play tribes: ascend when it's out, the cbt destroys this "complete" game for half the price.

    Oh and I don't play BF3 so all the fanboy spazzes, you can rest easy. Price to value ratio, this game is triple-bunk. Shoulda spent the marketing campaign funds on a single player campaign, remember when they didn't used to
    3 hour campaign with lots of breaks... nuff said considering the price. play tribes: ascend when it's out, the cbt destroys this "complete" game for half the price.

    Oh and I don't play BF3 so all the fanboy spazzes, you can rest easy. Price to value ratio, this game is triple-bunk. Shoulda spent the marketing campaign funds on a single player campaign, remember when they didn't used to just be tutorials but actual stories? Wait til its 3$ on steam sale one lonely afternoon in the next few months.
    Expand
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Modern Warfare 3 tries soooo hard to refine its gameplay experience by combining aspects from black ops and mw2 and ends up creating an even more ridiculous, completely unbalanced, unrealistic, unimpressive ctrl-c, ctrl-v. character animations have been stagnant since modern warfare 1, gun models look like plastic toys, the sense of scope is tiny, and the fact that they actually ask gamersModern Warfare 3 tries soooo hard to refine its gameplay experience by combining aspects from black ops and mw2 and ends up creating an even more ridiculous, completely unbalanced, unrealistic, unimpressive ctrl-c, ctrl-v. character animations have been stagnant since modern warfare 1, gun models look like plastic toys, the sense of scope is tiny, and the fact that they actually ask gamers to pay 60 dollars for this is absurd. then on top of that they throw in this "premium service" called call of duty elite. its a stat tracker with some clan management and a discount for their crap map packs that they release monthly. that is 50 dollars a year. they have taken what was once a great series stripped it of its roots and used it as a cash cow. mw1 great, mw2 mediocre, blops horrible. mw3 for 110 dollars? an abortion. Expand
  40. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    The game satisfied me completely. It is, as always, cool and full of action. I've replayed it twice already, and will do this many times in future. Thanks devs for giving ability to see the end of the trilogy on my PC, which I upgraded specially for the first MW. You ROCK guys!
  41. Mar 2, 2012
    2
    COD 4: MW I really enjoyed. MW2 was alright but given that I basically can't remember it can't have been that great. With that said I did get a strange sense of deja-vu playing MW3... If Activision can't be bothered to come up with reasonable plot I can't be bothered to finish writing this... Utterly whatever.
  42. Jul 22, 2014
    3
    A disappointing entry into the call of duty series. It marks the beginning of the end for the call of duty franchise. Maybe advanced warfare can turn things around. Don't buy this.
  43. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    The game is fun and fast-paced, but if you aren't good at the game, it won't be fun. On PC it's a whole different thing, because of the dedicated servers. If you just want to play around without having to worry about your K:D and stuff, you can go and play on dedicated servers!

    Kill Confirmed was a great invention for MW3, it's extremely fast-paced and you get a lot XP each match.
    The game is fun and fast-paced, but if you aren't good at the game, it won't be fun. On PC it's a whole different thing, because of the dedicated servers. If you just want to play around without having to worry about your K:D and stuff, you can go and play on dedicated servers!

    Kill Confirmed was a great invention for MW3, it's extremely fast-paced and you get a lot XP each match. Definitely one of Infinity Ward's (and SHG's) good ideas! At first the game seems fun, the first 5-7 hours - then (in most cases) you feel "fed up", you start to feel annoyed and unsatisfied. But this effect will fade out after some sleep!

    In general I would describe MW3 as a good candy in an old wrapper. It's like your friend played a joke on you and but your candy in an old wrapper, to make you believe it's bad and you don't want it. But after playing MW3 you realize it plays like MW2 but it's a whole different game. It even looks like MW2, but it's not.

    A game definitely worth the money!
    Expand
  44. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    MW3 is a good, a good game. If you disagree I hate you. It is better than other ones. NOT as good as ModernWarfare. I like the Spec ops in this game. That was good not like the Black Ops 2 zombie rubbish. It was a good defence and co-op mission game. The campaign was good. It rounded off the MW3 series VERY well. It was a good sotory in my opinion. Multiplayer was okay. The maps were good.MW3 is a good, a good game. If you disagree I hate you. It is better than other ones. NOT as good as ModernWarfare. I like the Spec ops in this game. That was good not like the Black Ops 2 zombie rubbish. It was a good defence and co-op mission game. The campaign was good. It rounded off the MW3 series VERY well. It was a good sotory in my opinion. Multiplayer was okay. The maps were good. The gameplay was rubbish but the guns felt real. REAL. I could never get the kid working. But I could mute the squeakers. Yay!

    Overall:
    -Good Spec Ops.
    -Very Good campaign.
    -Okay Multiplayer
    Score: 72/100
    Expand
  45. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    I gave it a shot, and as soon as I started.. BOOM; it felt very stale from the get go. However, they do know how to suck you in and do a great job of creating over the top action. The flaw is, MW4 wasn't this over the top. It had good pacing and felt smart. MW3, on the other-hand is like a kid with AA that keeps talking and jumping around. I get bored of playing it quick, because it justI gave it a shot, and as soon as I started.. BOOM; it felt very stale from the get go. However, they do know how to suck you in and do a great job of creating over the top action. The flaw is, MW4 wasn't this over the top. It had good pacing and felt smart. MW3, on the other-hand is like a kid with AA that keeps talking and jumping around. I get bored of playing it quick, because it just doesn't stop yelling at me. The missions feel for the most part, to short and just to much **** going on to take anything in. All the games like usual have some great ideas and gameplay moments, its just sad to see them all wasted in this game. Expand
  46. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be brief: i am deeply disapointed! MW is a great franchise and i have played most of their games. Activision has unfortunatelly a pure money driven institution more and more neglecting their clients. MW 3 is - at their best - a MW 2 1.5 trying to make up for an old engine with spectacular scripts, but that is, sorry to say, not enough.

    Especially compared to rival Battlefield 3 the decision for me was easy: i switched to Battlefield which engine is providing players with incredible sound, dust and light effects with bullets whistling next to your head making the adventure so real.

    Forget MW3 buy Battlefield 3. Enter the war and feel it.....
    Expand
  47. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    What a bad game. The singleplayer is 4 hours long and the multiplayer is exactly the same **** that the other CODs since Modern Warfare 1. I wouldn't even pay $10 for this piece of crap. Also, no control support, DLCs with 3 maps for $15, the Activision support is **** etc. If you find this a good game, you seriously need to shoot yourself.
  48. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    Overall Disapointing. This is Clearly MW2 redone. Many error messages refer to MW2 when it crashes, many of the ini files still say MW2. The graphics are now dated, and nothing has been done to improve them since MW2. the SP story is still as inane and bizarre as always, and very short, it only took me 3 hours or so to complete it. MP is okay, pretty much the same as blops with some newOverall Disapointing. This is Clearly MW2 redone. Many error messages refer to MW2 when it crashes, many of the ini files still say MW2. The graphics are now dated, and nothing has been done to improve them since MW2. the SP story is still as inane and bizarre as always, and very short, it only took me 3 hours or so to complete it. MP is okay, pretty much the same as blops with some new perks and maps. More of the same so many will likeit.

    Over all i dont think this was worth £40, it feels more like a map-pack and new scenario.
    Expand
  49. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    On my mind, CoD 4 is the best game in this series. New game from IW haven't many originals moments, than MW or MW 2. It is a good shooter with interesting multiplayer. But I hope, that singleplayer of MW 3 will be better. But, but, but... It is Call of Duty. It is the most popular game in the world on this moment.
  50. Dec 6, 2014
    6
    MW3 is more of the same. Continuation of the story from MW2. My breakdown is as follows:

    1. Graphics: 6/10 - great, but the improvement from MW2 is minimal
    2. Gameplay: 6/10 - more of the same
    3. Story: 7/10 - the finale of the MW series, satisfying ending
    4. Multiplayer: 4/10 - unchanged

    Nothing innovative here. Overall, average game.
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    MW1 was great, MW 2 a bit less great, and MW3 a bit less great. Still a nice game if you've never played MW before. This is more of a nice expansion to MW2 really. Not worth the full game's price or title.
  52. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    first off. Since MW2 my love for call of duty has gone downhill, but when i was told by many people how good MW3 was, i just had t ogo and get it. and to my complete and utter surprise, i found it was actually quite good. the single player was tight, bug free and apart from the COD 4 story, was wonderful, bringing back some amazing moments.
    as for the multiplayer, well i haven't touched
    first off. Since MW2 my love for call of duty has gone downhill, but when i was told by many people how good MW3 was, i just had t ogo and get it. and to my complete and utter surprise, i found it was actually quite good. the single player was tight, bug free and apart from the COD 4 story, was wonderful, bringing back some amazing moments.
    as for the multiplayer, well i haven't touched that, and it would be a bit bias as i know i will be rubbish at it.
    Expand
  53. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    Singleplayer was average. The compaign was repetitive and unoriginal, Spec Ops missions were better, but nothing overly special. Survival however, is amazing. And makes up for the weakness of the rest of the singleplayer experience. And then there's multiplayer, which had it's unoriginality, but with that aside, was amazing. There's something for every FPS fan here. I see why there areSingleplayer was average. The compaign was repetitive and unoriginal, Spec Ops missions were better, but nothing overly special. Survival however, is amazing. And makes up for the weakness of the rest of the singleplayer experience. And then there's multiplayer, which had it's unoriginality, but with that aside, was amazing. There's something for every FPS fan here. I see why there are negative user reviews here, but I personally love it (Apart from the campaign and spec ops missions, which were still good) Expand
  54. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    The only good about this game is the story on single player
    the graphics and the UI is like the old mw2 COD just dont care about anything anymore they just make a game fast and then they place it on stores for a lot $$$ yeah
    i am glad i didnt pay for this **** i have play it for 2 hours on my friends pc and i saw a lot of hackers on multi.... not fair game.... i am glad i buy bf3 for half
    The only good about this game is the story on single player
    the graphics and the UI is like the old mw2 COD just dont care about anything anymore they just make a game fast and then they place it on stores for a lot $$$ yeah
    i am glad i didnt pay for this **** i have play it for 2 hours on my friends pc and i saw a lot of hackers on multi.... not fair game.... i am glad i buy bf3 for half money it is just perfect and i will get the new dlc for free what more can i ask for?
    Expand
  55. BMF
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    How about you make a new game someday instead of rearranging CoD4 over and over with new box art to make a quick buck. Modders and unpaid map makers do more work then your terrible cash grab of a company and this is what you get for spitting in your consumers faces... a metascore of 1.7. Maybe your console zombies will finaly realise they have been being duped every year and stopHow about you make a new game someday instead of rearranging CoD4 over and over with new box art to make a quick buck. Modders and unpaid map makers do more work then your terrible cash grab of a company and this is what you get for spitting in your consumers faces... a metascore of 1.7. Maybe your console zombies will finaly realise they have been being duped every year and stop supporting this $60 map pack garbage you call a full release! Im sure CoD MW 4 is already on the way with its token one feature change and new box art but I think I speak for all the intelligent people out there when I say take the whole franchise and stick it up your greedy corporate asses! Expand
  56. Jun 25, 2013
    2
    Meh...

    This was nearly identical to MW2. Literally, I think they copied some of each level layout. Not only that, but the game is an awful port. We're locked at a console FOV, with poor optimization on high-end hardware. There are no dedicated servers, cheaters and lag abounds, and if my sticky reticule pops to one more enemy automatically I think I'm going to ceremoniously burn this
    Meh...

    This was nearly identical to MW2. Literally, I think they copied some of each level layout.

    Not only that, but the game is an awful port. We're locked at a console FOV, with poor optimization on high-end hardware. There are no dedicated servers, cheaters and lag abounds, and if my sticky reticule pops to one more enemy automatically I think I'm going to ceremoniously burn this game. There is no reason on the PC to make the game aim for the player.

    Multiplayer has literally not advanced at all. Graphics are poor, the engine is out of date. There's nothing but lag, cheaters, and kids whining and screaming over their microphones every time they die. There are no new modes, and no unique guns. You get to choose between slightly different re-skins of the same gun, pretty much, because they're all equally bland and stiff to use.

    There are no advanced physics to enhance dynamic gameplay, still no vehicles, and the killstreaks are more cheap than fun at this point. Who likes to join a match where half your team is just getting insta-killed by a helicopter above the map? Roll the dice. You might not randomly die, between the latency, the aim assist, and the 20 foot knives.

    That's pretty much all this game is. Random death. Grenade spam, camping, quickscope abuse, and lag all contribute to one pathetic package of random death.

    It gets 2 instead of 0 because it's a functional game, and not a pile of slag that nukes your HDD.
    Expand
  57. Nov 30, 2012
    5
    I pre-ordered MW3 back then only because I wanted to know what was going to happen to Markov. I don't play multiplayer mode. The single player campaign has no innovation, and parts of the storyline and character are ridiculous. This is a disappointment to the franchise.
  58. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    In 2011, 18 player MP with , no lean/peek, reduced playability of S&D. This game is 'consolized' beyond recognition.

    For this price, thanks, but no thanks.

    Moving over to Red Orchestra 2.

    Adios CoD/MW! Until CoD4MW it was nice knowing you.
  59. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    I used to be fan of COD since COD2. But I am sorry enough is enough! This game is just same ol same! I may as well play MW2 and have exact same experience! Save your money and don't buy this game or you will be sorry as I am. P.S.
    It's looks like we are back in to 2007. Graphics are horrible for 2011!!!!!
  60. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    The Good: Spec Ops/Co-Op, LAN support, Multiplayer, the improved strike packages and general optimization of the game.
    The Bad: Tired franchise that has been milked dry for PC & matchmaking (no proper ranked dedi's)
    As much as I enjoy the multiplayer, besides the strike packages there really isn't enough new features to make this 'Ground Breaking'. I've been a fan of COD since MW2 and
    The Good: Spec Ops/Co-Op, LAN support, Multiplayer, the improved strike packages and general optimization of the game.
    The Bad: Tired franchise that has been milked dry for PC & matchmaking (no proper ranked dedi's)
    As much as I enjoy the multiplayer, besides the strike packages there really isn't enough new features to make this 'Ground Breaking'. I've been a fan of COD since MW2 and didn't mind the game play its just the stupid choices of the devs that ruin it. Matchmaking isn't a good feature for PC players ffs, it should have stayed on the consoles only. If PC players don't know how to use a server browser to join a game, then they shouldn't be playing on a PC at all.
    Expand
  61. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    This is essentially CoD Black Ops with a different storyline. It plays smooth and the single player experience goes from one "over the top" moment to another. However, that is pretty much all it has going for it. Gaming atmosphere is ok. Story is pretty bad. Graphics are average and pretty bad in comparison to BF3. Not sure how the magazines are doing their reviews if they don't see that.This is essentially CoD Black Ops with a different storyline. It plays smooth and the single player experience goes from one "over the top" moment to another. However, that is pretty much all it has going for it. Gaming atmosphere is ok. Story is pretty bad. Graphics are average and pretty bad in comparison to BF3. Not sure how the magazines are doing their reviews if they don't see that. On the technical side MW3 is far behind BF3. I especially like BF3's environment damage, but they also make good use of elements like smoke and light to add new tactical options.
    Multiplayer has turned into a circus for players not meeting the age requirement of MW3.
    Expand
  62. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    Wow, quite the negative feedback. I got this game a few weeks back on a steam 50% off sale and for 30 bucks, not too bad. Sadly, so many cheaters and the devs do so little to fix this. I rarely play the story mode when it comes to CoD, I love the multiplayer aspect and if you can find a good hack free environment, it's fairly entertaining. Maybe I'll try the story mode this weekend...
  63. Apr 1, 2013
    1
    Just another COD game. Bad, unneeded campaign that most people won't even play, because they're too busy on Multiplayer or Zombies. Both of which are filled with annoying children who don't know what they're doing. All it is, the entire game, mindless shooting. You WILL get the SAME EXPERIENCE every time you play the god damn game. And there is no more skill involved than in that ofJust another COD game. Bad, unneeded campaign that most people won't even play, because they're too busy on Multiplayer or Zombies. Both of which are filled with annoying children who don't know what they're doing. All it is, the entire game, mindless shooting. You WILL get the SAME EXPERIENCE every time you play the god damn game. And there is no more skill involved than in that of peeling a banana. Some people may like that, but I don't. I guarantee you, the only reason the Metascore is so low on this game is because everyone who loves it are too stupid to find out how to start a Metacritic account, or too naive to know that this even exists. Expand
  64. Dec 17, 2014
    2
    Even worse than MW2, with more hand holding gameplay, QTEs, bloody screen

    It's like repackaging the same game every year.

    Activision likes to make casual games.
  65. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Stop rating the innovation. Now stop comparing bf3 to MW3 (cause are different styles of cames [arcade, realistic]). Ok, now the game deserves 9. Its funny. The game is the most played game in PSN, LIVE and steam (losing only to elder scrolls 5), and got THIS amout of negative reviews. too many haters?
  66. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Multiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do notMultiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do not penetrate thin walls or wooden crates but can penetrate 12 inch thick titanium steel. Character control in general feels a clumsy. Weapons are awkward to work with. Maps are the typical MW maps you'd expect if not worse. Unimaginative, bland, and with bad spawn points. Kills do not feel as rewarding as before and kill streaks are not as amusing. It's a great fast paced game but in general most of it feels like a rehash of MW2 with a blend of terrible Black Ops maps. Single Player: Same old cliche story suitable for people/children who need explosions and chaos to obtain an orgasm and deem it a good game or movie. I was in pain trying to finish this game, instead of enjoying it. I just wanted to get this garbage story to end and to my surprise; the expected MW ending. The AI of this game like always, using the same bad programing can cause some what of a humor. Small scaled linear pathway maps like usual. In conclusions, this game is nothing but a rehash of the old game (including Treyarch's Black Ops) with the number 3 stamped in front. Save your self $60 and keep on enjoying MW2. Expand
  67. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    CoD seems to be stagnated on time. After the great CoD MW (2007) this game have been stuck in a loop of of copies of itself without bring anything new if not minor changes wich could simply be sold as dlc. overexpensive, graphics are outdated, storyline the same old thing and multiplayer barely changed since 2007. If you want a good multiplayer and campaign, save some money and buy Call ofCoD seems to be stagnated on time. After the great CoD MW (2007) this game have been stuck in a loop of of copies of itself without bring anything new if not minor changes wich could simply be sold as dlc. overexpensive, graphics are outdated, storyline the same old thing and multiplayer barely changed since 2007. If you want a good multiplayer and campaign, save some money and buy Call of Duty 6 modern warfare, its better and cheaper! Expand
  68. Jul 12, 2012
    5
    off all my fps's this is one of my least favorites( i have crysis to half life ) thank god i got it for half off :). But ok yes almost everything is recycled from mw2, ive played mw1, mw2, black ops , and now mw3, black ops had zombies the only thing i liked, the story in this is good but very linear but better then black ops there is no saving cod from quick snipers and noob killers plusoff all my fps's this is one of my least favorites( i have crysis to half life ) thank god i got it for half off :). But ok yes almost everything is recycled from mw2, ive played mw1, mw2, black ops , and now mw3, black ops had zombies the only thing i liked, the story in this is good but very linear but better then black ops there is no saving cod from quick snipers and noob killers plus horribly done game play in multiplayer but i think it is worth 20$ but for 30 it is ok Expand
  69. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    This is the worst **** ever.I mean it is the same thing as the otheres games! When you get stabbedn for behind is just ....Last chance (or something like that) , i mean , hackers , they use aim-boot , there are so many hackers on Mw3 ! (on pc) , I asked my friend if he could borrow Mw3 , its was super - cool on the first 3 days! Then it is just **** , its just boring , I DO NOT recommendThis is the worst **** ever.I mean it is the same thing as the otheres games! When you get stabbedn for behind is just ....Last chance (or something like that) , i mean , hackers , they use aim-boot , there are so many hackers on Mw3 ! (on pc) , I asked my friend if he could borrow Mw3 , its was super - cool on the first 3 days! Then it is just **** , its just boring , I DO NOT recommend buying mw3 Expand
  70. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Sure it's like mw2 and mw1, but its still tonnes of fun. I'd recommend buying this game on sale on steam when on sale. Don't get blops 2 because that's complete trash.
  71. Nov 9, 2011
    3
    This franchise is a total disgrace from it's roots. After COD 4 it has gone straight down hill. This use to be the best modable game for FPS shooters.. it's now no skills needed run and gun and die on the smallest maps you ever seen.. terrible DLC looking games being released as FULL over priced games on a yearly basis. They need to fire the whole lot and get back to what made the seriesThis franchise is a total disgrace from it's roots. After COD 4 it has gone straight down hill. This use to be the best modable game for FPS shooters.. it's now no skills needed run and gun and die on the smallest maps you ever seen.. terrible DLC looking games being released as FULL over priced games on a yearly basis. They need to fire the whole lot and get back to what made the series popular.. community mods and servers with actual content and cutting edge additions. You can sell ferilizer all day at the flower shop markets..looks like fertilizer is now sold daily in the video game market as well. Wait a few years and see if they return to their senses. Expand
  72. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    I give average 8. For both single and multiplayer. I like the game, a lot. Aint so bad like so many people likes to say, campaing was awesome in my opinion, but multiplayer lacks biger maps and wider ones. Special Ops are fun, campaing was ton of fun. Multiplayer is fun, but like mw2...mw3 suffers greatly from hackers. Which i hope will be taken care of and fast. I thank developers becauseI give average 8. For both single and multiplayer. I like the game, a lot. Aint so bad like so many people likes to say, campaing was awesome in my opinion, but multiplayer lacks biger maps and wider ones. Special Ops are fun, campaing was ton of fun. Multiplayer is fun, but like mw2...mw3 suffers greatly from hackers. Which i hope will be taken care of and fast. I thank developers because they didint completly overhaul the game. This is sequel, not an entirely new game. I regret buying Black ops and was haping this game isn´t like it...In summary, graphics arent nothing new but for me they are eye candy. I dont expect to see awesome game engine on every new cod. Gameplay wise it´s more than i hoped for. I just hope in future they add wider MP maps that doesnt have ton of visual graph in it. Little less and it will be perfect. I wont compare this game to Bf3, havent tried it yet. It´s awesome for certain but aint my type of an game...Got enough in bad company 1/2. Expand
  73. Nov 20, 2011
    3
    This is the best map pack yet for modern warfare 2, it comes with an all new campaign and spec ops missions and about 8 new multiplayer maps, yes they are all new and dont use any of the same layouts or buildings as call of duty 4 at all. The thing i like best about call of duty is how easy the multiplayer is, i just sit in a corner and fire until i run out of ammo, you have to buy thisThis is the best map pack yet for modern warfare 2, it comes with an all new campaign and spec ops missions and about 8 new multiplayer maps, yes they are all new and dont use any of the same layouts or buildings as call of duty 4 at all. The thing i like best about call of duty is how easy the multiplayer is, i just sit in a corner and fire until i run out of ammo, you have to buy this game to see its amazing visuals, probably the best ever visuals you will see on an IPAD ever, i dont get how they got this to work its amazing. Expand
  74. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    It's basically same as MW:2... cmon this game is not even worth 10$. It sucks so much that i even dont have words to describe how much it sux. Better buy Batllefield 3, its worth every penny!!
  75. Jun 26, 2014
    0
    Rehashing the same formula works, but that doesn't mean you've made a good game in the process. Just like MW2, this focuses on making as much money as possible. Unlike MW2, it ruined any fun CoD had left and brought IW to a new low.
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    Yet again rate " professional critics " this game very high while we consumers , in general , think it sucks. These reviewers have lost all perspective and insight in what their readers think and expect . The argument now by "professional reviewers" is that "fans"of BF3 are posting negative comments . I am 35 year old consumer who buys games and am no fan of any corporate entity orYet again rate " professional critics " this game very high while we consumers , in general , think it sucks. These reviewers have lost all perspective and insight in what their readers think and expect . The argument now by "professional reviewers" is that "fans"of BF3 are posting negative comments . I am 35 year old consumer who buys games and am no fan of any corporate entity or product. If the games are good they get a high score, if they suck they get a low score. I think that counts for most reviewers here as we just want to keep others from spending 60 bucks on a bad product . A computer game is not like buying another product. WE find out after we already paid that we got screwed Expand
  77. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    I have a multiple points of view on this COD. First is the gameplay and whole "feeling" from game. Its great, the story, the feeling, its like you play a movie. A true cinematic experience in your control. For that i give 8/10. But that is all. What is much worse is graphic. and inovations in this game Horrible resolution of textures, awful 2d background, 2d fences. My god is this a 2011I have a multiple points of view on this COD. First is the gameplay and whole "feeling" from game. Its great, the story, the feeling, its like you play a movie. A true cinematic experience in your control. For that i give 8/10. But that is all. What is much worse is graphic. and inovations in this game Horrible resolution of textures, awful 2d background, 2d fences. My god is this a 2011 game? Indie game developers with much less budget can create graphics better than this. Another problem is MP. Nothing new, just recycled previous COD. I believe if they spend more time on the technical side of this game, i would give it 9/10, but for this "dinosaur" graphic and no inovation im giving 4/10. That graphic is just LOL, 2004 games have much better graphics like this. nobody wants crysis graphics, but they should give us at least graphic from this decade, not from the last 00s. Expand
  78. Feb 17, 2012
    0
    Been playing CoD since number 1, and honestly have to say, the series is dead now.

    First I played the campaign, and the standout points are none. The graphics looks the same as MW2, the story is very boring and feels like they have just tried to compete with the epic moments of MW1, but instead, they just put in the exact same cliched moments we have seen in every CoD game since MW1. The
    Been playing CoD since number 1, and honestly have to say, the series is dead now.

    First I played the campaign, and the standout points are none. The graphics looks the same as MW2, the story is very boring and feels like they have just tried to compete with the epic moments of MW1, but instead, they just put in the exact same cliched moments we have seen in every CoD game since MW1.
    The campaign was very short, generic, familiar and the AI are SOOOOOO stupid. Your AI Team Mates will always look like they are shooting the enemy, but are really just shooting the wall next to them.
    and they bought back quick scoping, and its a bad choice. Just because Infinity Ward made bad Maps, doesn't mean that it has to support the people who are to stupid to realise that it's a bad idead to run around the map with a sniper.

    So far I have played about 4 hours of Multiplayer and can't play a game without thinking about how much Infinity Ward just ruined this game. The guns all feel familiar with the same recycled sound effects and design, and not many new or interesting weapons have been introduced. Weapons are very, very unbalanced to the point where it actually ruins the whole online experience. For example, Sub Machine Guns are far more superior then assault rifles, regardless of the distance. Heavy Machine Guns are just a waste of time using cause they have no advantage, shotguns are a guaranteed kill when in close quarters combat, and I don't see the point of the Sniper Rifle with these Map Designs.

    The Perks were all in MW2 or Black Ops, leveling up doesn't really have any excitement anymore since every time I level up, I unlock a perk that I've used for the past 2 CoD games, and if you know which perks to use, you can become undestructable from using a combination of perks.

    The Killsteaks are just plain and simply unorganized and unbalanced again. They bring back the AC130, which from what I can remember in MW2, would single handily win the game for the team using it.
    On top of that they added about 5 new killstreaks that just are crap or aren't fun or usefull.

    The Attachments are all the same, nothing interesting, and less customization then Black Ops. Again, more mad news, Infinityward brought back the heartbeat sensor. Now that attachment ruined alot of games in MW2 because people using it would just camp and camp waiting for the enemy, plus its like having the UAV Radar 24/7.

    I have to say, the one thing I hate more then anything is the Weapomns leveling up, now that did sound awsome before you play the game, but it actually turns out bad. It leaves loads of guns unused throughout your playthrough because you cannot be stuffed having to unlock all the attachments again. So really you only use a few weapons from each class of weapons before you prestige, and honestly prestige isn't as fun as what it used to be.

    Now the Map designs are very, very bad and familiar again. It doesn't feel like a single map in this game is designed for Snipers at all, leaving the whole Sniper Class useless, and camping is a bigger problem then ever because of the bad map designs.
    Plus the game is very buggy. All up the game is very, very, very bad. You can't make up your mind about which killstreaks or perks to use cause they have been overused from previous games, or they are just crap. The Weapons are seriously unbalance and everything and I mean everything in this game has been re-used from the previous games. Its become obvious that Activision and Infinity Ward care more about making there 1 Billion dollars in 16 days then they do about Customer Satisfaction.

    WARNING! If you buy this game you will be very unhappy about spending that money. Don't complain about it when you buy it, cause you read all these negetive comments and still buy it.

    Can't wait for them to fail again when they release the Rumored Black Ops 2 this year. Can't wait to see that. lol
    Expand
  79. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    No matter what this game is good!
    Although the graphics so lame.
    But my Call of Duty®: Modern Warfare® 3 love story!
    It seems to me the following year, this game will get much better ratings!
    I also want to mention this game is one of the best in steam on kraynimeree in sales!
  80. Jan 27, 2012
    2
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2.5 - Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (Version 1.3) - Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Map Pack #2: Only $59.99! - Call of Duty: Modern Douchebags - Call of Duty: Part 8 - Call of Duty: A Modern Waste of Your $60.
  81. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    Nice game, good story, i don't understand why are there so many people gave it a bad rate. If you gave it a bad rate, what do you think the story should be?
  82. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    There's only one phrase that explains what this game is=Copy&Paste. This game is comparable to Twilight in theaters. I'm sick of same chite every year. Be creative god dammit! I'm pretty sure my dual core smartphone can run this game if there was an x86 emulator for ARM platform. PS2 grade graphics really.
  83. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    i give this game a 10/10 for quicky yearly releases and a 0/10 for being totally uncreative and boring. its a cut and paste version of another COD MW.
  84. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    While the successful formula is still there, this game is just plain lazy. Sorry. Graphically the game hasn't gotten any better since CoD4 (if not worse). The SAME sounds, SAME animations, SAME guns, and almost everything is recycled and it's painfully obvious. It's sad because it's even more recycled than previous CoDs whereas Black Ops actually looked quite a bit different, there is noWhile the successful formula is still there, this game is just plain lazy. Sorry. Graphically the game hasn't gotten any better since CoD4 (if not worse). The SAME sounds, SAME animations, SAME guns, and almost everything is recycled and it's painfully obvious. It's sad because it's even more recycled than previous CoDs whereas Black Ops actually looked quite a bit different, there is no difference between this and previous titles in the series. I mean, it's a fun formula but this kind of laziness is inexcusable. Expand
  85. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I see that Activision have bought out the media...What a joke. This game brings nothing new to the table and the critics are praising it. The critics also do a wonderful job of dodging criticising the games flaws (something they have no problem doing to their competitors games) so they can justify their inflated, down-right misleading scores. When the user score is this low, you reallyI see that Activision have bought out the media...What a joke. This game brings nothing new to the table and the critics are praising it. The critics also do a wonderful job of dodging criticising the games flaws (something they have no problem doing to their competitors games) so they can justify their inflated, down-right misleading scores. When the user score is this low, you really have to wonder what is wrong with this industry. Activision are just cashing in on the success of MW1 and have milked this franchise to death. Expand
  86. Nov 24, 2011
    4
    I will be very honest with this game.
    firstly it runs great on my pc and is very well optimised.
    The bad things are everything else. There is no dedicated servers, people are already hacking and their are many prestige 10 people after 3 days!!. I have gotten to level 40 (rank) in multiplayer and have had such a frustrating time due to the same old thing as MW2. Example:
    I will be very honest with this game.
    firstly it runs great on my pc and is very well optimised.
    The bad things are everything else.
    There is no dedicated servers, people are already hacking and their are many prestige 10 people after 3 days!!.
    I have gotten to level 40 (rank) in multiplayer and have had such a frustrating time due to the same old thing as MW2. Example: Tubes,UMP,prestige 10 hackers,wallhacks and general disregard to any pc user in this modern day and age.
    The graphics are ok but nothing new.
    The gameplay is mediocre due to it been the same as MW2.
    I wanted something different like black ops was to MW2, but no they failed with this release.
    Only true die hard fanboys and kids with no sense will play this game all the way through.

    For the above reasons this game scores a 4 out of 10.
    Expand
  87. Oct 2, 2012
    5
    When I first brought Modern Warfare 3 and played it, I very much enjoyed it but as time went on I got more and more bored of it, the reasoning why is because it
  88. Nov 12, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I agree with some of the criticism offered by some users. Yes, MW3 doesn't feel like a new game: it's more like an expansion pack for MW2. Yes, the graphics don't look that great for a game released in 2011. Yes, the gameplay is not innovative, but this is not necessarily a bad thing: both MW2 and its carbon copy MW3 have great gameplay. I have only 2 issues with MW3: 1) US$ 60 for a MW2 expansion pack (i.e., MW3) is a rip-off, and 2) despite of my system configuration (I7-2600, GTX-580, 8GB RAM, Creative Labs Titanium discrete audio card, 25Mbps/25Mbps broadband), the game lags too much when I happen to be the host (MW2 had the same problem due to P2P). These are the only 2 reasons for me to give it a 7 out of 10. Another thing: If IW ever releases a paid Elite service for PC, just pass - it's not worth 50 bucks. Expand
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The only statement or what is has confirmed is the absolute lack of reliability professional game reviewers hold. A social commentary, of the degradation of the human race. The reason PC gamers judge call of duty so harshly and more than console gamers is the fact that they're is just countless games on the PC that provide actual quality entertainment unlike COD.
  90. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I feel cheated. I played this game last year. Also two years ago. Even three, damn, four years ago! Why the hell, Activi$ion, don't you innovate in this game?! You win so much money each day because of those mindless buyers and you don't even manage to have a proper code nor connection. I'm done with this charade. Count me off from this stupid game.
  91. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    After thinking about the original score I gave this (a zero) I decided to at least be nice and award it a 5. Five because you will have fun (just don't buy it at 60 bucks) but its something we've seen before (and something we'll see in 2012 as Activision ALREADY announced the new one). Some would say, don't fix something that isn't broken but there must be something wrong if people areAfter thinking about the original score I gave this (a zero) I decided to at least be nice and award it a 5. Five because you will have fun (just don't buy it at 60 bucks) but its something we've seen before (and something we'll see in 2012 as Activision ALREADY announced the new one). Some would say, don't fix something that isn't broken but there must be something wrong if people are giving it such a low rating. If you respect the gaming community (by not milking money out of us) we'll respect you, a pretty easy concept to remember Expand
  92. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I expected more from Activision... I expected more from this franchise. This game feels like it was made 3 years ago. The graphics are lackluster.. functional... but not ambiguous at all. Nothing has changed since MW2. I have enjoyed the previous games in the franchise, but now i'm just bored of the game play style. On top of this we all know they are going to release 4 - 5 dlc packsI expected more from Activision... I expected more from this franchise. This game feels like it was made 3 years ago. The graphics are lackluster.. functional... but not ambiguous at all. Nothing has changed since MW2. I have enjoyed the previous games in the franchise, but now i'm just bored of the game play style. On top of this we all know they are going to release 4 - 5 dlc packs that will be over priced and under developed. PASS ON THIS ONE. Battlefield 3 or Skyrim will be worth the money and time instead. Expand
  93. Nov 28, 2011
    3
    Though not as bad as I thought it would be, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 was just as disappointing as the rest of the Modern Warfare franchise. It all follows the same pattern: some action, something happens, mediocre slow mo, repeat a few times, then the slow mo ending. It lost its luster two Modern Warfares ago. That is only the single player. The multiplayer is nowhere near as good asThough not as bad as I thought it would be, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 was just as disappointing as the rest of the Modern Warfare franchise. It all follows the same pattern: some action, something happens, mediocre slow mo, repeat a few times, then the slow mo ending. It lost its luster two Modern Warfares ago. That is only the single player. The multiplayer is nowhere near as good as the other two Modern Warfare's multiplayer (if you really want to call those good either.) It is nowhere near as fast paced as most multiplayer games. In fact, I would prefer to play Team Fortress 2 to this P.O.S. multiplayer. To the overall: I was severely disappointed with the graphics. Even run at the maximum graphics, the graphics are still nowhere near what I would expect from a game with so much hype as its predecessors. I was able to run it with minimal issues on an Intel H.D. Graphics card at 256 MB (for those slightly tech challenged: that is complete **** I may be nit picking with such a small thing like that, but game like this released in 2011 should have much better graphics than it does. Expand
  94. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They killed soap so it accomplished everything I wanted to. Thank you. The game play is exactly the same since the first game so dont expect anything new. Expand
  95. May 13, 2012
    0
    This game sucks!!!! It has horrible graphics and everything is the same as the other MW games. You will like it for the first week but then it is stupid.
  96. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    I can understand why people have given low scores for this game. People just hate CoD series and want to lower his reputation. I have played +300 hours in that game's MP so far. And it does not bore me at all, actually. On the other hand, there are many cheater in Domination, TDM and Ground War game modes.
    Also "Mission" and "Survival" modes are 9/10. You can spend lots time with your
    I can understand why people have given low scores for this game. People just hate CoD series and want to lower his reputation. I have played +300 hours in that game's MP so far. And it does not bore me at all, actually. On the other hand, there are many cheater in Domination, TDM and Ground War game modes.
    Also "Mission" and "Survival" modes are 9/10. You can spend lots time with your pals.

    Overall, MP does not give different game playing than other CoD games and i recommend you to NOT to waste your money FOR BUYING DLCs.
    Expand
  97. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I was willing to give IW the benefit of the doubt in their claims that the game was vastly improved, and the new features breathed new life into the game.. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. I can't help but feel like the game I'm playing would be better labeled an expansion pack for MW2, or just MW2.5 at best. IW seems to content now to rehash the same thing year after yearI was willing to give IW the benefit of the doubt in their claims that the game was vastly improved, and the new features breathed new life into the game.. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. I can't help but feel like the game I'm playing would be better labeled an expansion pack for MW2, or just MW2.5 at best. IW seems to content now to rehash the same thing year after year without really aiming to do anything new. Such a shame to see this happen to a once great series. Expand
  98. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I thought it was impossible to screw further the MW series after MW2. Oh boy, was I wrong. MW3 doesn't even look like MW2, it looks uglier. It takes skill to mess up a game like that. Hell, even the music from the lobby is a cheap ass soundtrack from a 70thies Chuck Norris movie. Really, Zero as score is still overestimating. Pathetic.
  99. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    wow a new MW. and it's so over used and dated. to top it off the MP is so lame nothing new about it. my god can we think of something better then that crap. we all know those critics are being paid to write great reviews for this game since it is a pile of crap
  100. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is just another death knell of the FPS genre. Activision is riding previous success by releasing yet another clone that adds nothing progressive to the series. It's unfortunate that the massive amount of money they make is not being used to create something new. It appears this time they didn't even bother to update the graphics, despite the amazing graphics in their competitor'sThis game is just another death knell of the FPS genre. Activision is riding previous success by releasing yet another clone that adds nothing progressive to the series. It's unfortunate that the massive amount of money they make is not being used to create something new. It appears this time they didn't even bother to update the graphics, despite the amazing graphics in their competitor's Battlefield 3. There are many great games coming out in the following months, don't waste your money on this one. Expand
  101. Apr 24, 2012
    0
    MW1 was the game I bought an Xbox360 to play.MW2 and 3 were pretty much the same game with different maps. I don't play online much as all the geeks online don't do much other than swear at each other, so the single player game is quite important to me. Its not bad. Its too short and a bit too 'supersoldier' - but aren't all the shootemups these days? Basically, if you liked MW1 and 2MW1 was the game I bought an Xbox360 to play.MW2 and 3 were pretty much the same game with different maps. I don't play online much as all the geeks online don't do much other than swear at each other, so the single player game is quite important to me. Its not bad. Its too short and a bit too 'supersoldier' - but aren't all the shootemups these days? Basically, if you liked MW1 and 2 you'll like this. So to end with a question for the developers. We have single player story mode, we have online multiplayer mode - why never any modes with battlemaps, two sides, a single player and loads of bots? Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. 80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]