Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 PC

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5644 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Very disappointing game. The SP is bland, linear, and boring. The story is also very confusing, and it's obvious they paid no attention to the campaign portion of the game. The graphics are horrible for a AAA title in 2011, they look exactly the same as in MW2. The Multiplayer, although with new content, offers nothing new or refreshing. They even reuse architecture from COD4 and MW2 inVery disappointing game. The SP is bland, linear, and boring. The story is also very confusing, and it's obvious they paid no attention to the campaign portion of the game. The graphics are horrible for a AAA title in 2011, they look exactly the same as in MW2. The Multiplayer, although with new content, offers nothing new or refreshing. They even reuse architecture from COD4 and MW2 in some of the maps. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Same old story.
    Why is this not a dlc ? And why is this the only game on PC that cost 60 euro. I have all the other COD´s.
    i give it 1, because i think they are cheating people for money. a good thing is new maps.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    YOu know people say that sequel is worse than the original but MW3 is different. It exactly the same. Nothing has changed at all. Absolutely. They just made bunch of new maps for a multiplayer, wrote **** scenario(and if MW2 scenario was good MW3 scenario is much worse. Even worse than Black Ops) and released it as a new game. Graphics is absolutely the same. NOTHING HAS CHANGEDYOu know people say that sequel is worse than the original but MW3 is different. It exactly the same. Nothing has changed at all. Absolutely. They just made bunch of new maps for a multiplayer, wrote **** scenario(and if MW2 scenario was good MW3 scenario is much worse. Even worse than Black Ops) and released it as a new game. Graphics is absolutely the same. NOTHING HAS CHANGED ABSOLUTLEY. Ofcourse Activision had paid a lot of money to get high scores in the reviews but MW3 doesn't deserve 9.0 it deserves 7.0 at best and as a simple map pack it doesn't worth 50$. Don't spend your money on it unless you are one of these blind CoD fans. + bugs lags and freezes @ PC version that holds any other moder FPS at 60 fps. What the **** MW3? Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Well, I wasn't expecting much, but this is a disappointment even for my now-lowered expectations for this franchise. There is essentially NO difference between this and MW2. The other thing that pisses me off is that COD4 was a grittier game that made you feel like a special ops badass. MW2 and MW2: Operation Steal Your Money are games that completely remove that immersion factor andWell, I wasn't expecting much, but this is a disappointment even for my now-lowered expectations for this franchise. There is essentially NO difference between this and MW2. The other thing that pisses me off is that COD4 was a grittier game that made you feel like a special ops badass. MW2 and MW2: Operation Steal Your Money are games that completely remove that immersion factor and are essentially Unreal Tournament with real guns. Not only that, but the killstreaks and perks are complete crap, they have been mutated and twisted from a cool semi-realistic add on into this RPG-like fantasy gimmick that somehow is MORE popular than the original system. This game is complete and utter trash and the criminals at Activision have pulled it off again. Also, the engine they continue to use without improvements is completely outdated and is far inferior to the likes of the continually supported and updated Unreal Engine 3, the innovative and pretty (but buggy) Frostbite 2 Engine, and the gorgeous CryEngine. It's really a shame and I feel cheated that I was tricked into spending my hard-earned money on this expansion pack. That said, it's still a (kind of) fun shoot-em-up that has it's moments, and if you take it for what it is, it's not a bad game. But still, I don't see myself playing this NEARLY as much as I would have played a real successor to MW2 (updated engine, reworked and WELL THOUGHT OUT multiplayer without stupid gimmicks, and a SP campaign with some effort put into it). This game is most certainly being run into the ground by the thieves at Activision and I will not buy another COD game unless it's been thoroughly reworked. It's a darn shame that Activision, instead of a patient and supportive publisher, has the rights to this game. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's the most disgusting game that I've even seen. I do not wanna even support this MoneyMakingMilking machine! The engine is terrible, the sound is the worst for the game of 2011. Activision can't even make a new engine as fans asked. They just build the game for people who has 7 years old PCs. Even Crysis 1 in 2007 looks better then this MW3 crap
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Game is awful, it like mw2.5 its just a mix between mw2 and black ops with a little extra added on top, they really need to make a new engine and improve the bandwith. But i havent played it yet so :)
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    very dissapointed the same game again and again year after after year. basically a cod4 map pack. dont get this youl be dissapointed, 0/10. the user reviews are spot on the critics were paid to give good reviews
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    To be honest, it's not *bad*, but it's just repetition and regurgitation of the previous incarnations. Terrible and cliched campaign, same old multiplayer with one of the worst online communities and bland maps, same old weapons made to appeal to tacti-cool geardo kids, over-the-top and unnecessary scenes done probably just for publicity, buggy, unoptimized, and overmilked. The campaignTo be honest, it's not *bad*, but it's just repetition and regurgitation of the previous incarnations. Terrible and cliched campaign, same old multiplayer with one of the worst online communities and bland maps, same old weapons made to appeal to tacti-cool geardo kids, over-the-top and unnecessary scenes done probably just for publicity, buggy, unoptimized, and overmilked. The campaign itself is predictable. Captain Price dies. Soap lives. Yuri dies. Price kills Makarov. Being predictable won't be so bad if it was executed well, but it was not. Cliched. Over-the-top. Like it was done with a rejected B-grade movie script. Multiplayer offers nothing different either. To boot, this game has what could contend to be one of the worst communities ever. Nothing new. Recycled and regurgitated content. Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    GFX are outdated.... Multiplayer matches are too quick.... No real change from the previous Modern Warfare... Very disapointing. I think the developer is scared to try some new features for fear of loosing the masses that have bought the previous versions.... It may just be saturation of the COD brand but I was not impressed with the latest installment. I think they need to take some timeGFX are outdated.... Multiplayer matches are too quick.... No real change from the previous Modern Warfare... Very disapointing. I think the developer is scared to try some new features for fear of loosing the masses that have bought the previous versions.... It may just be saturation of the COD brand but I was not impressed with the latest installment. I think they need to take some time off (every 6 months...?) and work on adding features to make for a new experience... These just feel like an expansion pack starting from COD4. Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Like others, I was on board the hype train, right up until I played the game myself. I was disgusted by what I was looking at...I didn't spend $60 on this reused rubbish! The single player was awful! Story was absolute crap and the characters were just flat. I was hoping the graphics was going to get an upgrade judging from the videos and screens before release but ending up being staleLike others, I was on board the hype train, right up until I played the game myself. I was disgusted by what I was looking at...I didn't spend $60 on this reused rubbish! The single player was awful! Story was absolute crap and the characters were just flat. I was hoping the graphics was going to get an upgrade judging from the videos and screens before release but ending up being stale just like the previous CoD games. They need to take advice from DICE who have made an exceptionable engine with superb sound effects. I recommend not buying this rubbish and keep playing MW2 AS ITS THE SAME GAME! Spend your money on Skyrim or BF3 as they are bound to be effortlessly better in all aspects. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game doesn't deserve all the hate BF trolls give it lol
    Too bad they are just jealous and they do not play their own game because...it sucks?
    CoD may have **** graphics,but the multiplayer and the single player is so far the best in the series...
    Just tell s...What change dou you want,apart from graphics?I bet you cannot say any normal stuff.
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    Let's be honest, no game deserves a 0. Nice single campaign, but the multiplayer experience is practically the same as MW2. So, in my opinion, not worthly of paying $59.99 for basically a cloned game.
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    while the new streak packages and classes are a welcome change, its not enough! this game is all about running and spraying ur weapon whenever an enemy appears on your crosshair. not to mention the naderpg spam. for PC gamers since MW2 the series has been a slap to the face. Blops gave us back Dedi servers but the overall game itself was really lacking on the PC, with the game in anwhile the new streak packages and classes are a welcome change, its not enough! this game is all about running and spraying ur weapon whenever an enemy appears on your crosshair. not to mention the naderpg spam. for PC gamers since MW2 the series has been a slap to the face. Blops gave us back Dedi servers but the overall game itself was really lacking on the PC, with the game in an unplayable state for the first month past release and Wager matches only playable with stupid sucky matchmaking and limited to 6 people! here comes MW3, another slap to the face, do they give us Dedi servers? yes!!! but wait!!! they forgot to mention that all dedicated servers will be UNRANKED(!) and if u want to play on ranked servers and rank up and unlock stuff u'll have to resort to matchmaking ala MW2!! not enough that this game is using the same engine from CoD4, some say its "improved" but to me its just smokes and mirrors. this was once a beautiful series, strong on both PCs and Consoles. now its just a yearly cash-in for Activision. im sure this game will succeed in sales, there are alot of not-so-smart 12yrs old out there waiting to get there hands on it. but for me, i'll stick to other shooters Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    I held off until I'd played for a while until I wrote this so I could give it my full opinion.
    The engine is exactly the same. Models are copy pasted from MW2. The singleplayer is rout with bugs, poor graphics and mechanic issues. Geometric glitches prevent some movement, team mates cannot hit targets and they push you from cover. The spec ops missions are fairly all right, but the
    I held off until I'd played for a while until I wrote this so I could give it my full opinion.
    The engine is exactly the same. Models are copy pasted from MW2. The singleplayer is rout with bugs, poor graphics and mechanic issues. Geometric glitches prevent some movement, team mates cannot hit targets and they push you from cover. The spec ops missions are fairly all right, but the survival mode is really good considering the rest of the game. The multiplayer has been destroyed by the fact that iwnet still exists. Games automatically matchmake with level 50's, and from different countries. It also preferences games over 100ms ping. The game feels very rushed and seems to be because the developers wanted to compete with bf3. They should NOT have attempted to release the game in such a poor state. They should have utilized the PC as the platform of choice so that they could then downsize the graphics etc for consoles. That way the game would have potentially had good competition against BF3. Instead the game is cliche, recycled and carelessly created. Sad, it had potential.
    Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Awful game.

    All they have done is reskinned blackops and added a few gimmicks. Blackops was a reskin of mw2. They publish half arsed games every year just to capitalise on sales. Only sheep would buy such a game. Awful campaign, again. All they have done is port the game over. No console, lean, configs, etc.
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Pathetic, same game, nothing new, nothing has changed. They even made something impossible to do. After 4 years they managed to make the COD serie WORST, they managed to sell so much games without bringing real new gameplay improvements. They single player, pathetic storyline. The gaming industry is dead, thank you Activision, FPS will never be what it used to be.
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    The campaign of the game is not as innovative as it has been in the past, this is a big let down. The multiplayer of the game seems like a re-release of MW:2 with a few tweaks and the game feels generally unsatisfying.
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Pretty sure I've already played this game.

    This is absolutely shameful. I expect better from the games industry, at least some originality. I thought Battlefield 3 was a bit of a disappointment, but Christ. How do they get away with rehashing the same game every year? They shouldn't.
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This FPS has just released? In 2011? Let me laugh !! There is no evolution since CoDMW... Just a new campaign, heavier textures and new weapons, not a new game. More than $15 for this, it's just a joke ! There is no game development and no expensive work to release this game.
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Cheesy storyline, cheesy everything. I have every Call of Duty in the series, and this is the last one I've bought. I've had enough of this overhyped **** If you can and want to live off of excited, ignorant children, then fine. You're losing hardcore fans. No, you already did. See you later, I hope so atleast.
  21. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I will be honest. My expectations for this game were not very high at all. Like many people here I am one of the ones who feel constantly let down with the direction the series has taken. COD 1, 2, 4, and WaW are some of my most played and favorite games of all time. MW2 and Black ops were a huge letdown to me but even they still had things that set them apart. To me it seems thatI will be honest. My expectations for this game were not very high at all. Like many people here I am one of the ones who feel constantly let down with the direction the series has taken. COD 1, 2, 4, and WaW are some of my most played and favorite games of all time. MW2 and Black ops were a huge letdown to me but even they still had things that set them apart. To me it seems that Activision spent more money on advertising and marketing hype than development. (Then again what do you expect rushing to finish every game in 12-24 months) Anyhow where to start. Single player... A three hour campaign in any blockbuster title is an insult. One that could be forgiven if the multi-player was not a cut and paste of the same game we all forked 70 bucks for two years ago. The SP suffers from the same "infinite enemies until you move 2 ft forward" problem that plagued all of the previous games. It's incredibly linier which was to be expected. It tries to replicate Die Hard with over the top explosions and This years attempt at controversy is kind of cliche' Overall I felt the SP was a massive waste of 3 hours. As mentioned before the multiplayer is Copy-pasta from previous games. Do not expect the level design quality of IW or even treyarch in this title. It's obvious that it was done by a rookie studio. The maps feel cramped and the spawnpoints are still terrible. If you enjoy getting noob tubed in the face on spawn. Then you will likely enjoy this game. I have thus far not mentioned the main competition BF3, but now I feel I must. While I am a PC gamer and enjoy BF3 on PC. I also play COD on my 360 with coworkers and friends. I cannot comment on the console port of BF3 as I have not played it on consoles. I do know that of the 5 of us who bought the game after work last night 4 of us plan on returning it to gamestop later today and getting the console versoin of BF3. Graphically, do not expect anything different. It's still running on a heavily modified Quake 3 engine that is seriously showing its age. I think its time for the guys to build a new engine unfortunately none of the original talent remains employed at activision. I'm sorry Activision. You have milked this one to death. Please stop making these **** expansion packs and marketing them as new games. It's okay. Take a few years build a new engine we will wait. Expand
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's a copy of Modern Warfare 2, nothing new, looks like a DLC. Such games like Shooters require a lot of changes for new chapter of it. For example could be taken L4D and L4D2, cuz L4D2 wasn't so good critisized by community
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Ok, so based off the game as if it were the first time we've ever seen this...

    3 single player 3 multiplayer 3 graphics 1 yes it's replayable Overall = 10 Now, lets break it down some The single player, while giving twists and turns and some iconic visuals, doesn't expand on what the series has already created. The campaign is shorter, and it seems to feel even more linear
    Ok, so based off the game as if it were the first time we've ever seen this...

    3 single player
    3 multiplayer
    3 graphics
    1 yes it's replayable
    Overall = 10

    Now, lets break it down some

    The single player, while giving twists and turns and some iconic visuals, doesn't expand on what the series has already created. The campaign is shorter, and it seems to feel even more linear than the rest of the COD series.
    -2

    The multiplayer, while enjoyable to those who love the run and gun, no holds bared, everyman for himself gameplay aspect of mw3, it lacks any type of change. It feels more like an expansion on mw2 with new weapons, playstyles and perks. Honestly, these 3 things are the only reason why you can even consider it a new game. During mw1 and 2 and even with World At War, the fun and gun play style was rather enjoyable, but it seems that activision decided to narrow their play base to the pure close quarters players because the mutliplayer maps seem to have gotten much smaller than they already were, almost completely eliminating snipping as a viable option. The lack of bullet physics such as drop lead off mean that it's still possible to snip, but you'll have to have very fast reflexes and a close quarters site.
    The aspect of "he with the fastest internet connection, trigger finger, gun, and lowest recoil (which isn't a huge issue this close quartered) reign supreme.
    Unlike BF3, which seems to have ever more influenced players to work as a team, mw3 seems to have pushed players to even work less as a team.
    Even with the newest, and most enjoyable playstyle, kill confirmed, it's still a mad scramble to out do everyone else.
    You'll find yourself letting someone else go first just so he'll get killed and you can make points off retrieving his dog tags, then you'll race to pick up the dog tags that another teammate gunned down, again, so you'll get the points. While it cuts down on the amount of camping, that's only because you're trying to scramble around and collect more dog tags than anyone else. Dog tags equal points, points equal ranks. Once everyone is ranked up, then expect much more camping. While watching the review on game trailers, you'll see that even they have noticed the best way to get kills is to use a set of tags as bait. (I.E. camping). While again, the multiplayer would have been good had it been something new and interesting, it's nothing more than mw3 with a couple new weapons, gadgets, perks, and maps. Not to mention the extremely overpowering kill perks.
    -2

    The graphics of the campaign do seem to stretch the capabilities beyond what other cod's have, it's only because they cram more into the field of view. Take away an explosion here and there(cause there's a lot of them) and you'll begin to realize that the grpahics are exactly the same as they were before, but perhaps with a little better fps. The graphics in the multiplayer seems to have taken a twist similar to what bf bad company 1 and 2 had. While the cod series used to be good at exstending the awesome graphics into the multiplayer, giving it a look and feel that somewhat surpassed the competition of battlefield multiplayer, they seem to have taken a step in the wrong direction. The graphics in multiplayer seem to have been dumbed down compared to the single player, and they seem to have cut back on coloring and gone more with grey coloring and darker tones, perhaps to give it a more gritty feel. Well, it is more gritty just not in a good way. It actually takes away from the serealism that you got from other cods. Overall, while the graphics are pretty, they're either nothing new, or a step back.
    -2

    For those of you wondering. Is it still replayable? Yes it is, but it would have been a lot easier to enjoy had they just placed it as a stand alone expansion to mw2 and perhaps sold it for around 30 bucks or less as compared to the 60 they're getting just for putting a 3 on it.

    Little more in depth, while I personally am a battlefield fan, it's only because I've been with battlefield since 1942.(pun for those bf fans). However, I enjoyed the cod series quite a bit, and even more so than the battlefield series until the release of black ops(which i traded in my copy cause i broke my copy of bad company 2).
    I figured I would give mw3 a try. While It's not a bad game and can be somewhat enjoyable if you're 100% into that "one man on top" gameplay style, then you'll enjoy it, however, I don't feel you'll think it's worth 60 bucks either. Personally, I'm trading it in and putting the money down on Skyrim, but until then, I'll grind out as much Battlefield 3 as possible.
    Sorry it didn't work out for you Activision.

    Single player 1
    Multiplayer 1
    Graphics 1
    replayable 1

    OVERALL = 4
    Expand
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Fail of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 [PC version]

    This is the worst COD ever.. I've bought and played all Cod games since COD 2.. Cod 2 it was good, Cod 4 it was even better (because I like modern fps), cod 5.. it was good.. Cod: Mw2, it was ok for the time, COD: BO it was better than mw2, but I also didn't like many stuff.. COD: MW3 itâ
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Can't even tell the difference between this and original modern warfare. There's a reason they come out with so many games and so many map packs...its because they want one thing, and it looks like an "S" with a vertical line through it.
  26. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Compared to Console version, PC version has no differences in graphic quality.

    Like someons says, in this board, it is absolutely disgusting graphics. Treyach never, would not make PC version like this.....

    Sledgehammer should take after the policy of Treyach for the PC version Call of Duty.
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Modern Warfare 3 tries soooo hard to refine its gameplay experience by combining aspects from black ops and mw2 and ends up creating an even more ridiculous, completely unbalanced, unrealistic, unimpressive ctrl-c, ctrl-v. character animations have been stagnant since modern warfare 1, gun models look like plastic toys, the sense of scope is tiny, and the fact that they actually ask gamersModern Warfare 3 tries soooo hard to refine its gameplay experience by combining aspects from black ops and mw2 and ends up creating an even more ridiculous, completely unbalanced, unrealistic, unimpressive ctrl-c, ctrl-v. character animations have been stagnant since modern warfare 1, gun models look like plastic toys, the sense of scope is tiny, and the fact that they actually ask gamers to pay 60 dollars for this is absurd. then on top of that they throw in this "premium service" called call of duty elite. its a stat tracker with some clan management and a discount for their crap map packs that they release monthly. that is 50 dollars a year. they have taken what was once a great series stripped it of its roots and used it as a cash cow. mw1 great, mw2 mediocre, blops horrible. mw3 for 110 dollars? an abortion. Expand
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's not that Call of Duty is necessarily a "bad" game, per se. The mechanics are sound, the gameplay is polished, the graphics are good. The problem is they billed it as "the most anticipated game in history" and then gave us the same exact thing as the previous game. No innovation. Crap story. Rehashed multiplayer. No depth. No thought. The only time this game pushes the envelope is whenIt's not that Call of Duty is necessarily a "bad" game, per se. The mechanics are sound, the gameplay is polished, the graphics are good. The problem is they billed it as "the most anticipated game in history" and then gave us the same exact thing as the previous game. No innovation. Crap story. Rehashed multiplayer. No depth. No thought. The only time this game pushes the envelope is when it attempts to be controversial, in what are CLEARLY cheap attempts to grab media headlines - they understand that any attention is good attention in the gaming business. At this point, the so-called "critic" reviews are a joke. They may go through and give you a rundown on the game's faults, realize that the game's good points are few and far-between, only to completely reverse direction at the end and say, without any trace of self-awareness, "9/10." Because god forbid they be blacklisted from reviewing the next mega-hit that the company puts out (which, ironically, is a trend that they are helping perpetuate). At this point, we as gamers really need to step up and take notice of bias in our gaming sites. We as gamers need to do a lot of things, actually. Most importantly, we have to stop letting them shove media hype down our throats. Is MW3 ACTUALLY bad enough to warrant the zero I give it? No. In reality, it should be more like a three. But we can't compromise anymore. We can't allow constant headlines on IGN to dictate our purchases. We can't allow companies to sell us generic, shallow crap and get away with it. We can't allow companies to copy (more or less verbatim) previous formats and shove them down our throats. It's time that we, as gamers, finally take a little pride for once in our chosen lifestyle and tell the gaming industry that we're not gonna to take it, no, we ain't gonna take it, we're not gonna take it, anymore. Innovation should be celebrated, not labeled as dangerous and used sparingly. And certainly not completely absent, as it is in Modern Warfare three. So when you're at Wal-Mart, or Gamestop, or where ever, do the industry a favor: Do not buy this game. Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    After paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on theAfter paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on the internet like Destructoid's own Jimmyx Sterling getting paid big bucks to give it high review scores. Expand
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 2.5 should be the name of this game. Or "how to loose 60 euros like a boss".
  31. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Great game. I can say that because I actually played it. I like the new point/killstreak system. It really benefits the objective based game type player.
  32. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    I give it a one for being a good game...several years ago!! Somehow they managed to make the graphics worse than Black Ops, AND MW2!!!! What the heck happened?!? Had they made the graphics impressive, that alone would have at least eased my pain. But no...we simply have a couple old tricks such as an aa12 shotgun, CounterStrike riot shield, and an EMP grenade as if it was some big freakin'I give it a one for being a good game...several years ago!! Somehow they managed to make the graphics worse than Black Ops, AND MW2!!!! What the heck happened?!? Had they made the graphics impressive, that alone would have at least eased my pain. But no...we simply have a couple old tricks such as an aa12 shotgun, CounterStrike riot shield, and an EMP grenade as if it was some big freakin' deal...IT WAS IN 2142! They didn't even bother to change the majority of in-game sounds, effects, voices, etc... They down-sized just about every map to dinky little squares.... BF3 looks 10x better than this and it handles 64 players! I shouldn't even have to compare this to another game...this should not have happened! Now I WILL NOT purchase the next generation Activision game. Not until hell freezes over and they fix the 14GB mess they had me put onto my computer. Expand
  33. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Not as bad as a zero but not a ten also, Single player ties the story up and is ok but not worth £40 if all your doing is single player. Multiplayer will give you enough hours of fun though and from what i have played so far it seems good, yeah it's like MW2 but what do all expect all FPS games are the same... point, shoot, kill is BF3 any different at the core?

    But yeah i
    Not as bad as a zero but not a ten also, Single player ties the story up and is ok but not worth £40 if all your doing is single player. Multiplayer will give you enough hours of fun though and from what i have played so far it seems good, yeah it's like MW2 but what do all expect all FPS games are the same... point, shoot, kill is BF3 any different at the core?

    But yeah i still play MW1 and BF 1942 (DC Mod rules!!)
    Expand
  34. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    The game offers little innovation overall, both the singleplayer and multiplayer dont offer anything new. The overall balance of multiplayer matches did not hit the spot, like mw 1. I regret ever spending 60 dollars on this game. Although unlikely i hope activition offers a ****ton FREE maps or atleast some interesting multiplayer modes.
  35. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game has been copy and pasted since 2007. The campaign is standard for a game in this series, linear and predictable. Nothing significant has changed in the multiplayer. The quality of the graphics has not changed. Still no full co-operative mode.

    As a consumer, I am insulted by the lack of innovation that has been made in this series. 4 years is a significant period of my life,
    This game has been copy and pasted since 2007. The campaign is standard for a game in this series, linear and predictable. Nothing significant has changed in the multiplayer. The quality of the graphics has not changed. Still no full co-operative mode.

    As a consumer, I am insulted by the lack of innovation that has been made in this series. 4 years is a significant period of my life, spent waiting for something, ANYTHING to happen with this series, that I will never get back. And here I am once again, disappointed with this November's rehash of the game that came out in 2007.
    Expand
  36. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Hi, CALL OF DUTY has lost its meaning, its no longer about the game-play and innovation, now its just about money after piling "bunch" of **** to keep people paying for this addiction called "MW", since "cod 4" nothing is getting better, its just getting WORST!!!
    don't waste your money...
  37. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I'm not gunna lie, this game is highly disappointing. Also, I've noticed a trend in all the cod reviews. It's basically paid critics vs user reviewers. Obviously the paid ones are going to give the game a much higher score even though it's **** and the users are going to give the game the score it deserves.
  38. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The worst version of one of the worst games ever made. Congrats IW. You've managed to fail even harder somehow. Big Rigs=Black Ops> Justin Bieber>MW2>MW3
  39. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The 1/10 - Fanboys
    The 0.4/10 - I dont Know
    This is a Mw2 DLC , we can made this bull**** with a modtool (radiant)
    The DLC contais :

    New Maps
    New Weapons **
  40. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Only single player?Nope, sorry.I only giving 1 for MW 2.5.I knew that.They need to change this game, or reviews will be same.We are not BF fanboy, but seriously, they need to change this game.
  41. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I played mw3 for about 6 hours already and I can say only this - epic same **** fail of the year. Game itself is not bad it's horrible pretty much look like mw2 and black **** boring maps gameplay feels like joke no realism at all more like arcade for kids to milk hard even more rip off than any game I can imagine so please dont waste ur money
  42. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Man what a disappointment. Shooting feels weak, maps don't feel right, animations are cluncky. I don't understand how we are suppose to pay more for this when it is clearly not what we promised when pre-ordering. Single-player game is so boring after just a little bit. Multiplayer is horrible with maps feeling cheap and firing your weapon is no fun. It's the same badness on PC andMan what a disappointment. Shooting feels weak, maps don't feel right, animations are cluncky. I don't understand how we are suppose to pay more for this when it is clearly not what we promised when pre-ordering. Single-player game is so boring after just a little bit. Multiplayer is horrible with maps feeling cheap and firing your weapon is no fun. It's the same badness on PC and console, just utter crap. Expand
  43. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Most people will say "Just like every other game" but in fact I say "take a backwards step". This game does in fact look, feel and play like a console port, Even down to the broken server search (or lack there off), multiplayer level design is small, uninspiring and will do little to emerse you. the multi seems to try and play out like a bad version of UT or Quake in a MW Skin and whatMost people will say "Just like every other game" but in fact I say "take a backwards step". This game does in fact look, feel and play like a console port, Even down to the broken server search (or lack there off), multiplayer level design is small, uninspiring and will do little to emerse you. the multi seems to try and play out like a bad version of UT or Quake in a MW Skin and what they havent taken from every other COD title feels cheap and not thought out. The graphics are substandard at best in the current generation, They do nothing to inspire ore captivate the player. It's a shame the Activision have not used this opportunity to move forward a deliver a game that innovates and captivates, Intsead they choose throw big parties and port the game driect from 360 to PC, this game may deliver on all your expectations if you are playing it on console, But as a PC owner/player you will be left not with a feeling of satisfaction but great dissapointment. If you are after an experience the is upto date with the times choose BF3 if fast pased multiplayer is your thing stick with COD Black Op's. Expand
  44. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    What a joke. Seriously, this is a map pack for Modern Warfare 2, if that. The multiplayer remains uninspired. COD4 was a classic. Ever since then we've been paying for remakes that contain no innovation. This is a wake-up call to those who continue to buy these games; you're paying $60 a year for an update that should be free.
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I paid an extra $50 for the Hardened edition and all I got was this fake matchbook. Also I lined up for it for four hours and when I got home to play it I thought I had left MW2 in by accident. They're the same thing :(
  46. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    It's COD...it's the Madden of FPS games. Meh, the SP was nice, but didn't like the change in voice actors for Captain price, at least he sounded different, I believe Bill Murray (no not the guy from ghost busters) did the original voice. But honestly what do you expect with he Head of the ORIGINAL Infinity ward is no longer working on the product. (Thanks activision....)
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Very disappointing game. The SP is bland, linear, and boring. The story is also very confusing, and it's obvious they paid no attention to the campaign portion of the game. The graphics are horrible for a AAA title in 2011, they look exactly the same as in MW2. The Multi-player, although with new content, offers nothing new or refreshing. They even reuse architecture from COD4 and MW2 inVery disappointing game. The SP is bland, linear, and boring. The story is also very confusing, and it's obvious they paid no attention to the campaign portion of the game. The graphics are horrible for a AAA title in 2011, they look exactly the same as in MW2. The Multi-player, although with new content, offers nothing new or refreshing. They even reuse architecture from COD4 and MW2 in some of the maps. Expand
  48. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Pathetic, is a fraud game that have four years old. I never buy a game but more than cod. . Online is laggy and the campaign is tedious. reasons can not remove the music. the graphics are for the spectrum. I am very angry and disappointed.
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's the same crap, different day.

    They even recycled content from CoD4 and put it into MW3, they know they don't have to put much work into this, as soon as they put "Call of Duty" on it they know the mindless fanboy sheep will buy it.

    This game is -GARBAGE- and fails by the sheer fact of it's unoriginality, reused content and the same dribble over and over again.
  50. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I pre-ordered both BF3 and MW3, trying not to be a fanboy to either in this comparison.

    BF3 isn't perfect but MW3 is a complete joke, especially on PC. If you are even thinking about MW3 on PC, forget it, just buy MW1 or Black Ops and have at least a 10x better experience. No ranked dedicated servers? Check. No adjustable FOV? Check. No real innovation from MW2? Check. I'm not really
    I pre-ordered both BF3 and MW3, trying not to be a fanboy to either in this comparison.

    BF3 isn't perfect but MW3 is a complete joke, especially on PC. If you are even thinking about MW3 on PC, forget it, just buy MW1 or Black Ops and have at least a 10x better experience. No ranked dedicated servers? Check. No adjustable FOV? Check. No real innovation from MW2? Check.

    I'm not really one to care about graphics, but MW3's graphics are just laughable considering this is 2011. Comparing MW3 graphics to BF3 graphics is like comparing speed between a 1990 Neon and a 2012 Bugatti Veyron. BF3 gets huge props for their innovation in this department.

    Audio is even worse than graphics. As another poster pointed out, the guns literally sound like paintball or BB gun. Again, a joke when compared with BF3 which makes huge innovations here again.

    MW3 does have a much better campaign than BF3 though, and BF3's SP was disappointing considering what they could have done with all the new tech. Not sure how long MW3's campaign is though as I haven't finished it yet.

    Post-launch support from DICE has already been fantastic, and they do truly listen to the community on changes. I remember in BFBC2 Beta, I had an issue specific to my PC relating to low CPU usage, and I got an email from a dev who personally worked with me to resolve it. This fix was including with the final game. I don't have a lot of experience with Activision, but from what I've heard the only post-launch support they give is in paid DLC's.

    Overall, BF3 is definitely worth $60 where MW3 is definitely not worth $60.
    Expand
  51. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This is not a new game, this is an expansion. Infinity Ward has cheated on me, making me believe I was buying something different from what I already bought two years ago.

    60â
  52. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    There's not much to say about the Call of Duty series any more. They have used the same engine for years, the game itself offers nothing to the FPS industry, let alone the gaming industry apart from disappointment. MW3 seems more of a fix for the previous games and to correct the imbalance during online gameplay. If you ignore the statements above and look at the current state of the gameThere's not much to say about the Call of Duty series any more. They have used the same engine for years, the game itself offers nothing to the FPS industry, let alone the gaming industry apart from disappointment. MW3 seems more of a fix for the previous games and to correct the imbalance during online gameplay. If you ignore the statements above and look at the current state of the game it seems they have been aiming more towards the casual audience with more perks for ease of play that will drive some hardcore players over the edge and seeking other FPS games. Expand
  53. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have bought every copy of COD since COD 4 - after playing MW2, i stopped playing cod all togther. When black ops came out, i thought eh, ill give it was 2nd try. I played the game maybe for 2 weeks. Never even thought of looking up this game. tested it out at my buddies place and saw that game has not changed since MW2. Same old run and gun. The skillcap is so low that anyone can get theI have bought every copy of COD since COD 4 - after playing MW2, i stopped playing cod all togther. When black ops came out, i thought eh, ill give it was 2nd try. I played the game maybe for 2 weeks. Never even thought of looking up this game. tested it out at my buddies place and saw that game has not changed since MW2. Same old run and gun. The skillcap is so low that anyone can get the highest kill streaks. Guns sound like a hammer hitting wood. 1/10. Sorry that so many ppl will buy this though. Sorry, Activision but you won't get my money this time around. Expand
  54. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    So here we are, MW3 is here, right next to BF3. Being a multiplayer FPS gamer couldn't get any better right? Well, I wouldn't be so sure.

    MW3 seems to be what MW2 should have been, and rather then patching MW2 to be more balanced, they'd rather ask you to rebuy it with zero DLCs and will no doubt have to buy the countless map packs to carry on playing on the popular servers. All that
    So here we are, MW3 is here, right next to BF3. Being a multiplayer FPS gamer couldn't get any better right? Well, I wouldn't be so sure.

    MW3 seems to be what MW2 should have been, and rather then patching MW2 to be more balanced, they'd rather ask you to rebuy it with zero DLCs and will no doubt have to buy the countless map packs to carry on playing on the popular servers. All that money and time invested in MW2 with it's 2 DLCs down the drain.

    At least BF3 had the courtesy to give us a new engine to enjoy, MW3 looks dated and very inferior when played right next to BF3. Teamplay is very minimal and the only lasting appeal is unlocking the goodies.

    It's a shame, they should have given something new for MW3, but instead, we got a cheap remake of MW2 at the full asking price.
    Expand
  55. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    COD:MW3 is pretty much the same game as MW2, and quite similar to MW1. The graphics are similar to MW2, the gameplay is essentially unchanged, and there's nothing else to speak of that is different. That doesn't mean the game is unplayable. To the contrary, its a smooth FPS, but entirely mechanistic: you might as well be shooting pop-up targets in between cutscenes.

    The graphics are
    COD:MW3 is pretty much the same game as MW2, and quite similar to MW1. The graphics are similar to MW2, the gameplay is essentially unchanged, and there's nothing else to speak of that is different. That doesn't mean the game is unplayable. To the contrary, its a smooth FPS, but entirely mechanistic: you might as well be shooting pop-up targets in between cutscenes.

    The graphics are pretty bad. I don't know why its so hard to simply produce high quality textures and graphic components and then downscale for the obsolete consoles, but it seems that this game takes the opposite approach: which is why a graphics card that you could buy for $50 four years ago (the Nvidia 8600) is still the required card. Despite what the "recommended" stats might suggest, there's no more eye candy for those with a better system- just higher framerates for those who see 60 frames per second and up. This wouldn't be such an issue if the gameplay or story was involving, but its not.

    Overall, a mediocre if competent clone.
    Expand
  56. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    I've seen DLC that has more content than this installment. Professional game reviewers giving this game 80-90 reviews really makes me question the state of the industry. I wouldn't even bother wasting bandwith on the 'download' of this game.
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    this game is an absolute rubbish. the maps are cluttered and there are too many hiding places. making it a camper's heaven. the sound effects is just like black ops ; UNINSPIRING(like you are shooting MATCHSTICKS). in fact everything about is looks and feel so blackopish. it feels like it was made by treyarch rather than infinity ward.spawning is bad (all over the place)and the action isthis game is an absolute rubbish. the maps are cluttered and there are too many hiding places. making it a camper's heaven. the sound effects is just like black ops ; UNINSPIRING(like you are shooting MATCHSTICKS). in fact everything about is looks and feel so blackopish. it feels like it was made by treyarch rather than infinity ward.spawning is bad (all over the place)and the action is not continuous because you keep looking for your opponent who is camping.
    the reason why i prefer mw2 is that those hiding places are limited and you can easily flush out the campers. a good sniper is usually enough for tubers.the maps are not cluttered with trucks ,crates etc.
    while trying to make the game feel real, the makers have failed to remember one important thing. it is only a game and the enjoyment factor is the reason people buy games.where do i start if i wanted to build a game
    start with mw2 ,limit the no of tube grenade per match to 10. power down some of those weapons like g18, make it harder to hack,new maps and weapons,limit kill streak rewards to one of each per match, include new modes and maybe you will get some good feedback.
    for me in terms of enjoyability mw2 trumps blackops and mw3 because the action is continuous and your choice of weapon , perks and attachment really matters in the game. in mw3 ,the weapons all have the seem to be deadly. you get little feedback when you are being shot at.you are dead before you are able to react. bullet go through all materials in the game etc.i can gop on and on. i can go on and on.
    activision is making the same mistakes EA made with command and command 4. they rip the soul out of it , exploited it and left it a shell of its former self. for me, the £40 spent was a waste of money.
    Expand
  58. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bought the game. Played it for 2 hours, extreme disappoint. Sent game back to store...The game is just another copy of it's predecessing games, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and Modern Warfare 2. Infact, it's just the two of them fused together to make one bastard child of a game. The story is linear and the writing is terrible, along with the game being so goddamn generic, it's quite unbelievable. The multiplayer is a joke, just good old Modern Warfare (2) jacked up with more useless **** that isn't needed and some absolutely excellent maps to go along with it! /sarcasm. Spec-Ops is back, amazing, who really gives two **** if the game is still **** retarded in terms of game mechanics? As mentioned by many other reviewers, there is no way to change the origins of your guns like you used to be able to so, you're pretty much forced to use the **** origins they give you. And as well, the graphics look quite outdated and boring, switch to another goddamn engine you lazy ****. Terrible bugs from the past games still not fixed and / or made worse with the new additions, great job at coding! So in the end totally predictable ending, shameful game mechanics, previous bugs in the predecessors not fixed or maybe made even worse, and a terrible PC port to boot. Thanks, guys, you really outdid yourselves this time.

    P.S. Battlefield 3 is not much better, so pull your heads out of your asses and play a game that is actually worthwhile.
    Expand
  59. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Dire game. Just a £40 map pack of MW2. Graphics aren't impressive then again that doesn't surprise much. BF3 in comparison is far better. Granted it does use origin but gameplay wise it's a different game that's improve upon it's predecessor. This hasn't. Given the fact the MP is the same as MW2, if you must play the SP, just torrent the game. Save your money becauseDire game. Just a £40 map pack of MW2. Graphics aren't impressive then again that doesn't surprise much. BF3 in comparison is far better. Granted it does use origin but gameplay wise it's a different game that's improve upon it's predecessor. This hasn't. Given the fact the MP is the same as MW2, if you must play the SP, just torrent the game. Save your money because Activision doesn't deserve it what so ever. Expand
  60. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Im not a fanboy of Battlefield , and also not of call of duty , but the fact is i got all Battlefields and Call of Duty's and i get more and more sick of it, same engine as Call of Duty 2(with some small textures and light updates), dont you really think its not outdated??! i get pissed since MW2 i was a little disappointed there because it wasnt that good anymore like it was in 4 but itIm not a fanboy of Battlefield , and also not of call of duty , but the fact is i got all Battlefields and Call of Duty's and i get more and more sick of it, same engine as Call of Duty 2(with some small textures and light updates), dont you really think its not outdated??! i get pissed since MW2 i was a little disappointed there because it wasnt that good anymore like it was in 4 but it was okay but this, pls dont buy any activision titles anymore and for me call of duty is about to die if Respawn interactiv is not picking it up, dice do so much better job then iw and treyarch :/ and the nowaday titels are the best proof for it Expand
  61. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The game has not changed in a major way since CoD4!!!!!

    I was expecting a brand new game, but I was in for a big shock. I wish I could get my money back.
  62. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    What the **** did you all expect? a new and original game? you idiots will keep buying this **** and these guys will keep bringing em out because people are dumb and will pay Ã
  63. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Just another cash in of a tired old franchise. Re-releasing a video game every year and making millions is just a slap in the face to real developers who actually take the time to make a decent video game, with a good engine, great online, and a good story.
  64. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Absolute crap. Don't buy this game or even rent it. I wouldn't even be willing to pay $10 for this garbage let alone $50. There's so much recycled stuff from sound to graphics and even the buildings
  65. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is a joke and I'm a COD Fan Boy. COD 4 and MW2 was the best thing to have happen and the release of MW3 is like playing COD 4 all over again. The graphics have taken a step back since MW2 and the textures look like powder even with settings maxed out. I wasn't expecting much from this game yet I at least figured the graphics would be like MW2. Sigh***
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Heard that Schofield is "begging" for reviews to bolster bad ratings ( http://xbox360.ign.com/articles/121/1212113p1.html ). @ Bobby Kodick... Guess firing West and Zampella wasn't such a good idea after all eh ? At least those guys had self-respect and could crank out a good game. @ the guys who stole 6k MW3 copies off that truck last weekend.... At least you didn't actually PAY for this game.
  67. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Basically this game is MW 2.1 or 2.5 as spec ops is very enjoyable. Single player campaign is a tired, used, and put away wet rehash of past WM titles. My main complaint is how short/easy (even on the hardest lvl). Finally and most disappointing MP is just plain dated; Black Ops could teach this game something in all aspects (balance, maps design, and getting the most out of the graphicsBasically this game is MW 2.1 or 2.5 as spec ops is very enjoyable. Single player campaign is a tired, used, and put away wet rehash of past WM titles. My main complaint is how short/easy (even on the hardest lvl). Finally and most disappointing MP is just plain dated; Black Ops could teach this game something in all aspects (balance, maps design, and getting the most out of the graphics engine). It is glaringly obvious that with the departure of the core members of Infinity Ward the "sledgehammer" (aka EA retreads) team assembled in haste was not up the task of creating a "new" CoD experience. In all honestly; considering the leap from World ar War to Black Op's (let's face it Black Ops MP trumps MW2); Treyarch would have been a much better team to tap; even though Activision's payout would have been delay. If you are looking for a $60 (low end and I truly do feel for the hardened Ed ppl) expansion then you will enjoy this game. I admit I too fell for the hype plus boredom of needing a new quality FPS fix; but came away with the feeling my score was cut to nothing. I worry with Activision's rush to cash in on the best FPS name in the market; the series will die out. I do hope their greed, lack of innovation, and pushing out unpolished games to meet quarterly profit goals; does not infect their only remaining quality game developer Blizzard. In closing; please do not lose heart or faith that Treyarch can somehow make a worthy game out of these dated graphic and shell of a stand alone sequel. Expand
  68. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This is a disgrace. How can they be cheating the people, to keep remaking this. 12yo have no brain capacity keep playing it over and over again.

    DO NOT BUY A 4 YEAR OLD GAME!!
  69. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I thought of writing a good explanation on why this game is awful; but it's not even worth it. It's just god awful. The critic reviews have given this game good reviews because Activision paid them out. The game is awful.
  70. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    terrible. same old same old garbage. wake up players. I bought this title with the intention of getting a game that was worth $60. Turns out that it was just a waste of money. Activision should have just released this game as DLC for MW2, because thats basically what it is. Don't waste your money with this game.
  71. Rp4
    Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's aways the same thing. Same sounds from the guns, same buildings and... same game (and in this time, we even have the same menu!).
    I think Activision is thinks that our money grow up in trees.
  72. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This isn't worth the 60$ price tag, it's basically an expansion pack. I guarantee within a couple months there will be MW3 maps on CoD4, which will be more fun than playing it on MW3. Modders on CoD4 did it with MW2 maps // guns, I expect the same to happen again.
  73. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Same game as before. For new players just buy MW1 or 2 for cheap and it looks and feels like the same game. Don't you fanboys get it... they just want your money. COD elite, map packs, new game same **** every year. They are just like any greedy company. Don't be fooled by the media exposure and celebrity promotions. All this money they are spending on promoting the game won't fool realSame game as before. For new players just buy MW1 or 2 for cheap and it looks and feels like the same game. Don't you fanboys get it... they just want your money. COD elite, map packs, new game same **** every year. They are just like any greedy company. Don't be fooled by the media exposure and celebrity promotions. All this money they are spending on promoting the game won't fool real gamers into buying this copy and pasted game. Expand
  74. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Aside from being literally EXACTLY the same cookie-cutter, generic first person shooter that the product-sponge of society has come to love so dearly, Modern Warfare 3 is probably the letdown of the century. Having bought every Call of Duty game (which has become as much of an annual release as the sub-par sports games that mar the industry) since Call of Duty 4, I can honestly say nothingAside from being literally EXACTLY the same cookie-cutter, generic first person shooter that the product-sponge of society has come to love so dearly, Modern Warfare 3 is probably the letdown of the century. Having bought every Call of Duty game (which has become as much of an annual release as the sub-par sports games that mar the industry) since Call of Duty 4, I can honestly say nothing has been changed. MW3 could have easily been boxed up and sold as an expansion pack. Literally no improvements were made, and the graphics were actually DOWNGRADED to even muddier and more lackluster textures than Black Ops and MW2. The multiplayer consists of a few new maps and guns, but that is it. The HUD has had NO changes at all, which is disappointing considering the ease and thoughtlessness with which something original could have been implemented. Gun sounds and many models were dug out of older game files and stuck directly into MW3 with new skins. The singleplayer campaign mode is nothing new for CoD games--a linear hallway with meaninglessly controversial and "shocking" plot twists, the corpses of which have been beaten to death by CoD developers so much that the plot in its entirety was easily assumable based on prior knowledge of the excuse for a "plot" that older CoD games have. It even included a now-obligatory slow motion section after many illogically unsurvivable "intense" moments. The final moment of the game could possibly be meant to come across as "epic conclusion, look at what just happened," but passes off for little more than a juvenile attempt at being edgy and brutal. Many of its elements are torn directly out of other popular media such as other movies or games, and it saddens me that society will gluttonously devour this ruined ramshackle husk of what was once a series with some potential.

    TL;DR: Modern Warfare 3 contains literally zero new elements, no innovation, and is/was marketing solely on the underwhelming achievements of its past. It is a reskinned expansion pack to Modern Warfare 2, and its commercial success is sickening.
    Expand
  75. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I didn't expect much as the 'franchise' has been in decline for some time, but MW3 falls so far below the bar in just about every regard it's quite literally shocking. The disparity between 'professional' reviews and would be Fans, is all but spelled out in the iteration of canned 'talking points' we see from the shill game press, and just shows to go ya what money can buy. Quit simplyI didn't expect much as the 'franchise' has been in decline for some time, but MW3 falls so far below the bar in just about every regard it's quite literally shocking. The disparity between 'professional' reviews and would be Fans, is all but spelled out in the iteration of canned 'talking points' we see from the shill game press, and just shows to go ya what money can buy. Quit simply this game is awful... Expand
  76. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    If your looking to run and gun this is a total frag fest and you'll get your fix for sure. Looking for anything else forget it cant help feeling like you've seen it all before and well you have if you weren't told it was MW3 you would be forgiven for thinking this was MW2 or even Black Ops. A little bit of a disappointment and with no elite for pc gamers max FOV of 65 and a whole host ofIf your looking to run and gun this is a total frag fest and you'll get your fix for sure. Looking for anything else forget it cant help feeling like you've seen it all before and well you have if you weren't told it was MW3 you would be forgiven for thinking this was MW2 or even Black Ops. A little bit of a disappointment and with no elite for pc gamers max FOV of 65 and a whole host of other PC issues I'm afraid this isn't worth the money I don't see myself playing this in six months time and yet I am still playing Call Of Duty 4 everyday. Expand
  77. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    If any of you folks were considering buying Modern Warfare 3, don't. It's a horrible, embarrassing pile of trash. The game is so bad that it has retroactively eliminated all of the fun I had in the COD franchise since the first game. It's graphically dated, the animations are beyond horrible and the combat sound feels lifted straight out of a free to play browser FPS.

    It's a complete
    If any of you folks were considering buying Modern Warfare 3, don't. It's a horrible, embarrassing pile of trash. The game is so bad that it has retroactively eliminated all of the fun I had in the COD franchise since the first game. It's graphically dated, the animations are beyond horrible and the combat sound feels lifted straight out of a free to play browser FPS.

    It's a complete embarrassment for a series that despite its naysayers would consistently put out a quality product. It's a marked step down from Modern Warfare 2 and somehow looks worse than it's predecessor. It plays like a Chinese free-to-play knockoff of a Quake game running a second-rate mongoloid-coded Modern Warfare mod. Nothing about this game feels even remotely like a Triple A Call of Duty title. I am physically and emotionally stunned by how bad this game is and feel as though I cannot fully articulate it's badness without resorting to bloodshed.
    Expand
  78. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    As previously mentioned by other reviewers here, there are more than a few "niggles" with this game in terms of everything, from FOV, graphics quality, innovation, game play and even the way multiplayer games are supported and created.

    Textures and sound effects seems to have been ported directly from MW1 and COD 4, no exaggeration intended here, I genuinely think this has been the case.
    As previously mentioned by other reviewers here, there are more than a few "niggles" with this game in terms of everything, from FOV, graphics quality, innovation, game play and even the way multiplayer games are supported and created.

    Textures and sound effects seems to have been ported directly from MW1 and COD 4, no exaggeration intended here, I genuinely think this has been the case. Resolution has no scaling, so playing at anything above 1920x1080 yields nothing more than stretched textures and strained eyes. Even if graphics or resolution doesn't usual play a part in your gaming experience, it will matter to you after you witness the eyesore that is MW3 (on PC).

    Gameplay looks and feels clunky, with no real changes what so ever over the previous 4 COD titles in terms of weapon feel, movement or even kill-streaks. All aforementioned characteristics have only changed very slightly, or not at all.

    Servers are Peer to Peer, which while OK some of the time, means that if the host has a house-mate taking a trip to Facebook or Youtube, the whole server will lag out, and spoil the game for everyone. Peer to Peer is a good idea on paper, but in practice it is severely flawed for FPS titles.

    Compare this game to BF3... Well what is the point. One is built on an entirely new engine, has optimised the lighting, shadows and smoke / explosion physics with near perfect results. While the other has re-spun the same garbage engine for the last 5 years.

    This game is nothing more than MW1 in a new box, with a USD$100 (I live in Australia) map pack. Well done Activision, you just killed your own franchise with greed.
    Expand
  79. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Look at it from a different point of view. This game has spent 2 years in development! And this is the best they can come up with. Christ! my Nan could make a better go at a MW then IW. To start with the maps are as small as my back garden and encourage camping the the nth degree. Noob tubes have been toned down (thank god) but corners have been increased (not good). The guns feel sluggishLook at it from a different point of view. This game has spent 2 years in development! And this is the best they can come up with. Christ! my Nan could make a better go at a MW then IW. To start with the maps are as small as my back garden and encourage camping the the nth degree. Noob tubes have been toned down (thank god) but corners have been increased (not good). The guns feel sluggish and weak and with a level cap of 80 is going to be hard to hit with out going crazy. In the time it would take to get to level 80 I would recommend learning and instrument or something because its not worth it. Maybe the first 50 levels, but it gets old fast. Dont like comparing other games to this but BF3 creams all over this title. Expand
  80. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I started the campaign on this game today. I beat the first couple of missions and then I realized I had played this game two years ago, and I quit.
  81. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    -Graphics 4/10
    Outdated. The game has no place on PC with its current price. However, it's well made within its current limitations. On the pc, it's still unacceptable in 2011, almost 2012.
    -Sound design 5/10 Outdated. We've already heard these sounds in cod4 and all of its sequels. -Music, Voiceacting 8/10 Solid music. Solid voiceacting. -Story 0/10 Personally, I don't like it. It's the
    -Graphics 4/10
    Outdated. The game has no place on PC with its current price. However, it's well made within its current limitations. On the pc, it's still unacceptable in 2011, almost 2012.
    -Sound design 5/10
    Outdated. We've already heard these sounds in cod4 and all of its sequels.
    -Music, Voiceacting 8/10
    Solid music. Solid voiceacting.
    -Story 0/10
    Personally, I don't like it. It's the typical american over-the-top slapstick war movie. It makes no sense. At one point, you're wasting the life of dozens of people in an attempt to save one guy. IW also has no dignity whatsoever, killing off a child simply to cause controversy and gain attention in the media. Disgusting and disgraceful.
    -Interface 7/10
    Intuitive. Solid.
    -execution of singleplayer 5/10
    It's a railshooter with no freedom. There are infinite spawns, everything is heavily scripted and the NPCs are incredibly stupid. That being said, it's still enjoyable, like playing time crisis in an arcade with lightguns.
    -execution of multiplayer 5/10
    It's solid but nothing to write home about. The unlocks feel tedious and kill the fun, the maps are mostly corridors. I miss big open areas. But, it accomplishes what it tries to accomplish, being a run&gun, brain-off shooter.
    -special mention 1/10
    The game is accompanied by a horrible infantile community that likes to trashtalk and is incredibly annoying. Previous titles have been plagued and ruined by hackers. The singleplayer is incredibly short and easy, even on veteran.
    -Price 0/10
    Frankly, on PC, with this price, it's a scam.

    -Conclusion 3.8/10
    It can be a fun time killer. It has heavy flaws and lags behind technologically. The pricing is unacceptable.
    Expand
  82. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Wow! Horrible game, that's putting it lightly. Trust me, I am no BF fan/troll whatever. I have always been loyal to the CoD series, but after this release of garbage, I won't buy another one. It's like they just copied everything from MW2 and added new maps. Might as well call it a DLC for MW2! The sounds are horrible, sound like something out of Sega Genesis time frame. I actuallyWow! Horrible game, that's putting it lightly. Trust me, I am no BF fan/troll whatever. I have always been loyal to the CoD series, but after this release of garbage, I won't buy another one. It's like they just copied everything from MW2 and added new maps. Might as well call it a DLC for MW2! The sounds are horrible, sound like something out of Sega Genesis time frame. I actually like Black Ops better than this release. At least in BO you had RANKED dedicated servers, free stats, graphics were not too bad. In MW3 there are so many flat surfaces....a lot of linear....and gray. Washed out and horrible port. InfinityWard and anyone associated with the release of this on PC should be ashamed. This is not why I have a nice gaming rig! Save your money, or at least rent before buying. IWNet plain out stinks. Expand
  83. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    I was a black ops fan boy. I disliked MW2 in every way, but I really enjoyed black ops. This game feels like MW2.5, simply an expansion. The sound is terrible, the gameplay erratic, and just not much fun. I'll be sticking to battlefield 3, and I never played much of the battlefield/bad company games.
  84. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is probably the worst video i have ever played. First of all, I couldn't fit the game inside my PC. I did everything I could to try to get it to work; Then it turned off my computer. I was so mad, and being a responsible person i took the right action of breaking the disk. I called a repair guy to fix my computer, costing me another 60 dollars, and finally iCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is probably the worst video i have ever played. First of all, I couldn't fit the game inside my PC. I did everything I could to try to get it to work; Then it turned off my computer. I was so mad, and being a responsible person i took the right action of breaking the disk. I called a repair guy to fix my computer, costing me another 60 dollars, and finally i figured you had to place the disk it. But it was broken! Worst game ever. Expand
  85. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    One word sums it up: rehash. Everything has been done before; not just by other games (which would be awful in its own right) but by the same series! If you value the video game industry, your money and your intelligence please don't make the same mistake I did and buy this game.
  86. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Do not innovated anything. Except in merchandise! The producer could invest more into the coop and multiplayer! Thanks for the excellent hihistória certainly worth a hollywood movie! I hope that the franchise is renewed! Graphics similar to the previous engine and identical!
  87. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    For a Call of Duty 1, United Offensive, Finest Hour, 2, 3, 4 and WaW fan, Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3, you got to call it some slack, even though it's the same, it's kind of fun with the diverse perks. There were MAJOR problems with the game when I saw it thought. Same as before, Modern Warfare 3 failed to provide a deep impact into my gaming career, and such, I decided to throw is asideFor a Call of Duty 1, United Offensive, Finest Hour, 2, 3, 4 and WaW fan, Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3, you got to call it some slack, even though it's the same, it's kind of fun with the diverse perks. There were MAJOR problems with the game when I saw it thought. Same as before, Modern Warfare 3 failed to provide a deep impact into my gaming career, and such, I decided to throw is aside like Black Ops (Should be called Deniable Operations), and Modern Warfare 2.

    Singleplayer: They pulled a McDeath, literally. The storyline did not have much connection with MW2, and the style were REALLY repetitive. I defiantly HATE the direction call of duty's storyline is headed. They need to start putting characters that feel like part of a brotherhood, like Call of Duty 1 (All expansions, ESPECIALLY Finest Hour), 2 and 3. The storyline was way too easy, it had to be like Finest Hour difficulty to provide a emotional relief and happiness to realize you accomplished something. The thing that punched me was the flow of carelessness that went into the story, it was like something hastily made, chewed up, and regurgitated. They need to bring back WORLD WAR 2, not WORLD WAR 3. Bring back reality, the emotional stories of Stalinglad, or make a story in WORLD WAR 1, heck, forget World War 3, it did not happen, it breaks the traditional sense, and it DESTROYS the purpose of storyline in combat, for honor and glory, not for revenge. The second part is that it was mostly run and gun, no stealth, no support, no battle in front lines as a normal soldier, just a super soldier who runs and guns everything.

    Multiplayer: Downright copy from Modern Warfare 2 with guns that seemed to be just skinned with different sound clips. Don't get me wrong fanboys, I like they actually did something. They added New perks, gameplay styles, and guns. Still, they have same graphics(Really don't care), same achievement easy-go-lucky style I hate, and mostly, unbalanced gameplay. One person gets lucky, everyone else in enemy team is screwed. The achievement system, it felt like too easy, like they were spoonfeeding you, unlike Call of Duty 1, where you work as a team, and once you destroy that freaking Panzer Tank, your teammates felt almost like warriors of god, destroying everything in your wake.

    Improvements: Next time, go to World War I and II, go to the past PLEASE.
    Make a new system that is improvement to Call of Duty 1 or 2.
    And finally, make balanced kill streaks that strategize yet keep with the fast-paced action.
    Singleplayer? MAKE IT REALISTIC, like a soldier in the front lines fighting with comrades... like STALINGRAD COMRADES!

    CHARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGEEEEEEEE!
    Expand
  88. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Dead franchise won't die I said black ops would be my last cod game I purchase cuz it was rip off but I anyway gave mw3 try and I regretted fully same game copy and past overall game look like **** 60 $ for dlc comon guys kids getting milked hard if u new to cod games u might like it but if you real fps gamer I would reccomend you to stay away from mw3.
  89. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Please Activision, don't let Infinity Ward make another Call of Duty, stick to Treyarch and ditch those Infinity Ward losers. I'm serious, this game is aweful - I want my money back, I regret every dollar.
  90. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Wow, this game is the same thing, over and over again. MP offers zero competition. 10 year old kids might enjoy this game, but other than that? Steer clear.
  91. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    The glory days of Cod 2 seem so long ago. Why FourZeroTwo and his cronies insist on giving pc gamers less than IW gave 5 years ago is beyond me. SP campaign is as linear as BF3's except misses out on the great tank levels, is just one interactive cut scene followed by a corridor, then a shooting gallery then repeat till end of level. Its DULL. The AI is beyond retarded, even worse thanThe glory days of Cod 2 seem so long ago. Why FourZeroTwo and his cronies insist on giving pc gamers less than IW gave 5 years ago is beyond me. SP campaign is as linear as BF3's except misses out on the great tank levels, is just one interactive cut scene followed by a corridor, then a shooting gallery then repeat till end of level. Its DULL. The AI is beyond retarded, even worse than Crysis. I dont know how a company can screw up a franshice as great as the first 2 Cods were but IW managed it with aplomb, at least MW1 had a great SP, this game has nothing, except a cut n paste building from MW1 (the African level).

    Utterly dreadful. Maybe the mp can give it a little pickup, but if its anything like the perk / killstreak driven nonsense previous MW's have been, I very much doubt it.

    A dire, dull, drab, console orientated shooter with less complexity than 1993's Doom.

    Hell, even their website forum sucks ass.

    Door
    Expand
  92. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Bought this game on steam and was really looking forward to play it, but boy was i WRONG. Its actually a copy pasta of MW2 with just a new packaging, They charge us $99 for the same game just a few extra maps dont even get me started on the campaign its an absolute JOKE! Oh did i mention you will expect to pay $15 for 3 new maps that they will so called release? Dont waste your money.
  93. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    I've always thought that every game has something new to offer. I was mistaken. I never thought a game could possibly not bring anything new to the table. Seriously, this is the exact same game as Modern Warfare 2, and the first Modern Warfare. I would consider it DLC. The audio is the same, the graphics are the same, the gameplay is the same. There is literally no innovation in this game.I've always thought that every game has something new to offer. I was mistaken. I never thought a game could possibly not bring anything new to the table. Seriously, this is the exact same game as Modern Warfare 2, and the first Modern Warfare. I would consider it DLC. The audio is the same, the graphics are the same, the gameplay is the same. There is literally no innovation in this game. The worst part is, a lot of critics are saying that this may be a good thing. I'm starting to think these critics are paid off by big gaming companies... If there were no innovation in video games, we may as well be playing pong still.

    Each part of a game is unique though, there are graphics, gameplay, storyline, multiplayer, and an underlying feel to the game that is created by how much work a developer put into it, and how the engine runs.

    The graphics in Modern Warfare 3 are astounding.... For a game based on an engine written at around 2005. Nothing new here. The graphics are about the same as CoD4, from 2007. Infinity Ward needs to write a new engine already. Compared to the brand new Frostbite 2 engine, the iw5 is just way too outdated to be useful anymore. The textures are blurry and the scenery looks flat. It's just not good looking enough to be considered modern looking in 2011. Plus, to be quite frank, the audio sucks. All the guns sound like paintball guns and the reload sounds sound pretty crappy. This is even on my 100$ turtle beach headset. It was also lazily done, as a lot of the sounds seemed like they were from previous CoD games.

    The gameplay is okay. Although, it's the same gameplay we've been getting since CoD4. Again with the innovation issue here. As I ran around with my UMP45 it felt just like Modern Warfare 2. Had I wanted to play Modern Warfare 2, I would have. There is literally nothing new.

    The storyline in this game is similar to those of Michael Bay movies, which gross millions of dollars at the box office because of hot women, big explosions, and epic battles. Modern Warfare 3 only delivers on two of these promises. The storyline is infested with plotholes, and generally it is unexciting as Infinity Ward tried to get us to care about the characters. The needless explosions are overdone too. If you try to play any singleplayer, it's like the whole level is ridden with explosions and shotguns. Overall, CoD's storyline is to gaming as Michael Bay's movies are to television. Neither offer any compelling storylines or genuinely well done scenes, and both just throw in what Amerians like to see. It's the same crap they throw at us every year.

    The multiplayer in CoD was fun. In CoD4. At this point I just see more of the same, just like with everything else in this game. The multiplayer is a rage inducing, 12 year old populated nightmare. In every CoD game, there is something that people find that ruins the whole game. For example, quickscoping and noobtubing. The one thing that CoD did get right was replay ability. Although now I think everyone's gotten tired of the franchise, and the replay ability has died.

    Although CoD has a decent underlying feel, I think that it's easy to tell that the developers did not put much work into this. Now i'm not sure if this is because Activision likes to rush one game a year, just to milk the cash cow more, or if the developers are truly lazy... But it definitely has an impact on the game. It just feels wrong. All in all this game offers nothing new, and fails to deliver on all aspects. To be honest I've seen DLC, or title updates with more new content than Modern Warfare 3. I hope the average gaming consumer brightens up, and realizes what they're buying into, so that this detriment to gaming culture will just die already. I feel like the regime of CoD as the top player is about to topple, as their games get worse and worse. It's just like the Star Wars prequels. There is no innovation. There should be no real reason for anyone to buy Modern Warfare.

    I mean 3.

    Also for credibility's sake, i've been a fan of CoD since CoD2, and enjoyed it up until WaW. I've played A LOT of games, and am pretty sure i'm not a fanboy, for I enjoy many games.
    Expand
  94. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    This game is immense. I was never a fan of Modern Warfare 2, but everything has been improved in this game. The Single Player storyline is fun, and easy to follow. Less gimmicks and more realism compared to the previous games (Treyarch and Infinity Ward additions included). The Multiplayer, from the few hours I've played so far seems solid and balanced. Yes, the game has only been out 24This game is immense. I was never a fan of Modern Warfare 2, but everything has been improved in this game. The Single Player storyline is fun, and easy to follow. Less gimmicks and more realism compared to the previous games (Treyarch and Infinity Ward additions included). The Multiplayer, from the few hours I've played so far seems solid and balanced. Yes, the game has only been out 24 hours and there are niggles which will be addressed in future patches, so I'm not going to adjust my score with regard to them. Worth the £40/$60 price tag just for the London-based level alone. That was beautiful. Expand
  95. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Uh.... Hear me out lol. This isnt because of some fanboy thing. Truly, considering the roughly 500 developers, that they would pull through. make it better you know? Of course, the campaign still hits you dead on; its fun and stuff, but its the same thing. The multiplayer is.... wrong. The gun perspectives look strange, animations are stale, and the sounds are horrible. Elite isntUh.... Hear me out lol. This isnt because of some fanboy thing. Truly, considering the roughly 500 developers, that they would pull through. make it better you know? Of course, the campaign still hits you dead on; its fun and stuff, but its the same thing. The multiplayer is.... wrong. The gun perspectives look strange, animations are stale, and the sounds are horrible. Elite isnt revolutionary enough to need a whole team behind it. Expect the exact same game, with similar animations etc. I guess you could say that you will pay to keep playing MW2 with a new campaign and weapons. DLC material. Too short, a little lacklustre. Dont believe the reviews, I reckon that they are payed and they kind of tricked me. I knew this was coming and i got it cheap but I still feel a little wronged . Of course, I still have BF3 to keep me busy, but expect similar problems (except with multi and coop, they are flawless) but the campaign was a ltittle strange. I wont elaborate on the IW engine and the Frostbite 2 one, because this is not a rant, although i dont give details. The IW engine is borderline ok; it still looks fine, and there is a clear 60fps being consistent , but it shows that its a bad effort, as the swift controls and user friendly design was done badly on MW3.
    Look at the user reviews; take away around a quarter from pos and neg and you get rid of the fanboy crap. Still its bad. Activision knew that this would happen, considering Black ops had also bombed in actual worthiness so they hyped up MW3 with advertising and paying off reviewers eh.
    Expect a **** of kids who will infuriate you with obviously better guns. Expect to be screaming at the tubers and cheap deaths. Instead of ridding the MW franchise of the stupid kids its embellished it. If you love to the point that its all you talked about on Nov 7, buy it, Otherwise dont. It couldve been so much more, but it wasnt. (the console versions suffered more, i heard) Kids will flood it, ruin it, but if you are 12 go nuts.
    Expand
  96. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Be warned, there is no ranked play on dedicated servers. What this means is that the majority of players will be using the public matchmaking system and cheating will be as rampant as it was in MW2. I wasn't aware of this when I pre-ordered this game, had I been I would have not ordered it. Black Ops has actual decent multi-player, so when they said MW3 was going to have dedicatedBe warned, there is no ranked play on dedicated servers. What this means is that the majority of players will be using the public matchmaking system and cheating will be as rampant as it was in MW2. I wasn't aware of this when I pre-ordered this game, had I been I would have not ordered it. Black Ops has actual decent multi-player, so when they said MW3 was going to have dedicated servers I was hopeful, however this one piece of information was held close to the chest until just weeks before release.

    Also the campaign takes about 3 hours to beat and isn't really worth spending $60 for alone. It's impossible to justify buying the game without a viable multi-player mode.
    Expand
  97. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Terrible game, i couldn't believe it, i am shocked as a loyal fan to be given this effortless game. this was so boring and to add to it far too short. multilayer is aim, nothing has Benn revolutionized.
  98. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    What a deception ! it's again the same **** ! how the hell this game could be rated 90 ?? In 2006 this game would be awesome.. in 2011 it's the crappiest thing i have ever seen... so lame!
  99. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    It's just plain a waste of money now, I've bought all the COD from the first one up until black ops and this time it's not even worth spending the 65$ to play the same game i already bought. The campaign is the only thing keeping people attracted to this series but once that's over you have to deal with the crap that is the multiplayer
  100. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    Modern Warfare 3, i was waiting for it, and now i see, the same as Modern Warfare 2, without Nuke and **** " point streaks " come on point streaks ? Just a waste of time and money, i am a big fan of Call of Duty and because of this my score is 4.0. I really hope that activision update de game with killstreaks and some graphics
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]