User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 537 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 537

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2010
    4
    While an okay game, it tries too hard to be like Modern Warfare. For example, they attempt to create WW2 versions of most Modern Warfare killstreaks. Recon Planes replace UAV for example. The campaign was indded pretty good but I found that the enemy AI was lacking in their actions. Why would a Japanese soldier attempting to stab Americans with his bayonet run padt the 3 or so guys in front of em and attack me?! I'm only a regular soldier after all. Enemies focus on you too much. Another poor design choice was the decision to make grenades come out and try to kill you without being thrown form soemone if you stand in place to long. It just gets really annoying. I do enjoy the new weapons they put in such as the Flamethrower though. The multiplayer is a severe disappointment because it attempts to copy MW but the weapons don't feel right. Since when was a WW2 era SMG as accurate as a modern day Assault Rifle? The best part of the game is no doubt the Nazi Zombies. It's an interesting game where you get attacked by Nazi Zombies who have a crappy backstory. Honestly, it wasn't fun alone because I would always get overwhelmed. There should be bots that are able to play with you in case you can't go online because when you do Nazi Zombies Co Op and have good team mates is when Nazi Zombies really shine because it becomes very fun. Overall though, the online multiplayer and co op really aren't fun because even in the middle of the day at the most there will be 6 or 7 multiplayer servers but only some of them will actually have people playign in them. Co Op servers are even more rare with usually about 2 or 3 of them with them often full. The game is okay but NOTHING, I mean NOTHING, compared to MW or MW2. Treyarch needs to be original instead of trying to use the success of MW to help them sell the game. Din't believe the game box, this game isn't AT ALL "War liek you've never experienced it before". Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Nothing's new in "Call of Duty: World at War". The controls will be familiar to you if you play for like 5 minutes, but the muddy dark textures won't. The difficulty changes too much and too often. The multiplayer servers are emptier than a starving man's stomach. The only thing that enlightens me is the new zombie mode. It's enjoyable and well rounded. Overall there's not much to compliment about the product, but if you're a COD fan...buy it? (I guess) Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    It has a very Good campaign, but the multiplayer...
    its too much like COD4,
    though i got to level 40 in a few days, making it quite easy, not like COD4.
    One more thing: Underpowered Molotovs and overpowered machineguns makes the game quite unbalanced, but the rest is Pretty Good.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    I like this game. Its an solid WW2 shooter. With the decent COD4 engine. There are numerous WW2 games on the market. Yet i had most fun with this. It has that Cod4 feeling, simple to pick up and play. Single player was too short but at least it offered an Zombie mod. And lets be honest we all mostly bought it for multiplayer.
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    The game is now dead but it was very fun while it lasted.To bad though I got it around the release of MW3 (that HORRIBLE game) so I couldn't really find any matches for Zombies or coop campaign. The multiplayer is still active because of its quite amazing search (Used also in BO) for it. The zombies mode is still though somewhat active just it has mostly players (1-2/1-3) playing on modded maps/custom maps. The game is quite a nice game if you compare it to all their newer games.

    I miss this great series that had a few easter eggs and few ways to get to places. I do not hate BO but I do hate BOII for the overloaded repetitive insane amount of easter eggs that are basically essential for living in zombies mode.

    The multiplayer is quite ok and it is one of the last remaining good multiplayer CoD's along with CoD 4 (I personally don't really like cod 4) and maybe BO.

    The campaign mode is quite amazing since well you don't have a huge amount to work with since it was based in WWII and you had no real main ways other then boats and stuff to get places.

    I really do enjoy the zombies mode and I really do enjoy that it has coop which if you look at it no other CoD has (I am 95% sure). The zombies mode is quite refreshing since it never goes the same way since 95% of the time the people you play with have 200-400 ping and they don't speak English and they are 10-12 and have no idea how to play.

    Over all I give this game a 10 even though in reality I would give it a 9 (just to balance out the 69 trolls).
    Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2010
    8
    CoD;WaW has plenty of features, like zombies, co-op and multiplayer. Dedicated servers makes it a very enjoyable experience online. Going through the campaign with three of your buddies doesn't get much more epic than this. Definitely worth the money. Oh, and it's way better than MW2!
  7. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    How well you like this game will be determined by (as with all things) your taste in gaming. If you only heard about Call of Duty when COD 4 or MW2 came out, you will most likely hate this game. On the other hand, if you have been playing COD since COD1 and you think COD1 and COD2 are some of the best games ever made like me, you will love this game. World at War revisits the WW2 setting with a souvenir from COD4, the beautiful IW Engine 4.0. The pacific front is absolutely beautiful in the engine and the single player is gripping and exciting, just like early CODs. Characters are memorable, especially your Russian sniper friend Reznov, who leads you through a 'All Ghillied Up' styled mission, only in Nazi territory. Multiplayer is lackluster to me as with all COD games as none can really compare to the scale of the Battlefield series but the singleplayer was definitely worth it's money for me. Nazi Zombies however was a lovely addition to the game and it really shows how much care Treyarch has in trying to accomplish as much in a game as possible. All in all, Treyarch was unexpectedly capable of living up to the COD name and with Infinity Ward ruined by Activision, I would not mind having Treyarch take over. Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2010
    8
    There's a part of me that wants to score this lower because when will game designers learn to make checkpoints AFTER the speeches. It's frustrating to hear the same speech 100x when trying to pass a difficult scene - is this just meant to make you feel the pain of war more?!?! That said overall good game. I notice there are no friendly fire deaths with this which takes some of the challenge away but on the other hand i probably would have broken something out of frustration, so good call... Expand
  9. Nov 25, 2010
    5
    Call of Duty: World at War features a tired story. world war 2 has been done to death. Nazi zombies will be what most people play for and nothing else. not a good followup to Modern Warfare at all.
  10. Apr 4, 2011
    5
    Almost exact port to WW2 of CoD 4 MW.
    Good effort for the single player. Despite the 'on-the-rails' gameplay - it is the nature of CoD games...
    Multi-player is let down by the weapons - you can pick whatever you want...and even more by the add-ons - same as in Cod 4 only gnarled a bit to look like 1940s.
    Some model animation is outright silly - running for example - fail on both sound and
    animation.
    Some nice maps.
    Tanks.
    CoD UO is better.
    Expand
  11. May 17, 2011
    10
    Indeed the AI isn't great and the weapons too accurate but the single player and multiplayer is good and it has more realism than the other Call of duty games.I liked the campaign a lot and i felt even sorry when Roebuck died.10 from me.
  12. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. definetley ten amazing graphics awsome storyline and dont get me started ZOMBIES! i love it. Multiplayer is good (9) and sound gameplay good (7). Just they shouldve put an american german campaighn instead of russain one it would be fun to use samurai swords from dead japanese soldiers overall score is 10 Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    I am so torn when it comes to this game. I had some amazing experiences with it, and some terrible ones. Multiplayer was extremely fun, with the majority of maps being balanced and pleasing to the eye. Much more suited to smaller LAN parties than rammed 30+ player on-line games. The Zombie mode was amazing beyond words, and it's a shame most people have moved over to Black Ops zombies, as the mods, custom levels and community within this mode was perfect. The Single Player / Co-Op campaign is what lets this game down. It's hard to place your finger on exactly what you don't like, but it just doesn't feel like a Call of Duty title. More like a free-to-play game, with regards to maps, animations, and storyline. Saved from a yellow score, because it felt good to have my bolt-action rifle back again! Expand
  14. Dec 30, 2011
    7
    This is very much like an expansion pack to Call of Duty 2 with the same controls, same gameplay, fair graphics and a decent story. The weapons are more difficult to use than in the older COD games. The big owe up: playing skirmish maps with AI bots with the Pezbot mod.
  15. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    The best CoD for the PC because if you are a zombie player like me then get it you can even download your own mods and Zombie maps. it is not that good for any other system but you will want it for PC
  16. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    Call of Duty 5 is a competent first-person shooter that introduces some fun new features, namely co-op and the flamethrower, however this might not be enough impetus to encourage hardcore online players of other FPSs to take notice.
  17. Mar 12, 2012
    8
    this game deserves atleast 8 in my opinion..if you have played cod mw then you know what to expect from this game.but this game is amazing and its similar to modern warfare.
  18. May 3, 2012
    8
    When it comes to WW2 games, this has to be high up on my favourites list. However, there was many aspects I found quite annoying and somewhat of a letdown. Firslty, when a Japanese soldier is banzai charging, and he runs past half a dozen of your comrades to stab you. Second, I would of liked to see a more dragged out storyline, especially on Peleilu, where the beach assault is over in about 2 minutes. The aspects I enjoyed were how brutal both campaigns were, the Russian one in particular. There was also a lot more depth in it than past WW2 COD games in the characters.
    Honestly, I would like to see another WW2 COD game with some parts changed-
    *AI smarter and doesn't just look at killing you only.
    *The ability to fix bayonets not just pick up weapons with them fixed already.
    *A longer storyline with more countries.
    * Not as linear.

    COD World at War was a solid game, but i would like to see a new WW2 game that goes beyond the call of duty in shooter gaming.
    Expand
  19. May 14, 2012
    5
    Call of Duty World at War is the worst COD game ever made. But, It haves some cool extras, but I couldn't find the fun about the single player. The Nazi Zombies are a really great extra, so I decided to rate it 5 points. The graphics are well. SO the game is a disappointed, but it really addicted me with the Nazi Zombies. (5.5)
  20. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    Again, after taking the road of modern war, Call of Duty, came back at its roots, WWII, with great campaign, multiplayer, but maybe not so well filled with the aer of war, and more like the commercial shooter it began. After all, it came back at WWII and that makes happy and a little nostalgic any player who grew up with the franchise
  21. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    1) Call of Duty Modern Warfare
    2) Call of Duty + Cod UO
    3) COD2

    Really only 3 Call of duty games had even sense, it were this three.







    6786486488446 ) All others "COD`s" by copy/paste
    Period.
  22. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    World at War is without doubt the best version of Call of Duty so far. It leaves the later releases, MW2, MW3, Black Ops and Black Ops 2 in it's wake. Although the game is based on COD4 the attention to detail in maps, the excellent gore level and the inclusion of dogs and artillery were far superior to all the others versions. You can see how weak the later versions are by playing MW3 or Black Ops 2. They have nothing on World at War. Expand
  23. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    this is a epic game defiantly recommend the map packs for it the only problame about this when you are on zombies when you get hit you can get stuck with the zombie as a result they kind of pull you back so that really anit a problame but i find it a prob yep this is where zombies was born so give it a chance
  24. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    Ademas de teneruna gran cantidad de errores, las misiones son aburridisimas, y ensima manejar los anti aeroios, manejar el lanzallamas entre otras cosas, jamas pudo ser tan dificil e incomodo. Los enemigos son muy idiotas, te ven enfrente tuyo y si corres de ellos te empiezan a perseguir (sin dipararte) para clavarte un cuchillo que por alguna razon te mata de un solo golpe. La verdad es que soy fanatico de los juegos viejos de callof duty, pero cuando salio esto, empece a ver a todos los FPS de otra manera. Y encima el juego no supone ser un desafio, capaz las ultimas misiones te trabes un poco y mueras unas cuantas veces, pero todas las demas son extremadamente faciles. Una decepcion. Expand
  25. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    I seriously think World At War Is very overlooked. The campaign was the best of all the COD's because its real and doesn't involve mind bad Russians, and AI. The Gameplay is smooth and silk but that's every COD. Multiplayer is fun in my opinion and ive spent days on end playing it. The weapons are fun and the maps are my favorite. Zombies though was the best. World at war has done zombies the best and has my favorite maps. So in all WAW is the best cod. Expand
  26. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    World at War is a solid, good WWII shooter with plenty of possibilities. Treyach really managed to create a great WWII atmosphere in this game. Sadly, the campaign felt scripted and very linear. The multiplayer didn't achieve anything ground-breaking and also fell quite short. The part that really enlightens me about this game though, is the magnificent zombie mode! I found it to be a really fun CO-OP mode and there's also a huge mod community for it with custom-made maps to keep you entertained for hundreds of hours.

    World at War is far from perfect and has it flaws, but if you're a fan of WWII or FPS games, this game is definitely worth to check out.
    Expand
  27. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    Its a great game.A lot of opportunity's, a surroundingi so real. The best things are the flame throwers. The Only lack of the game is that she is short, to short and its to easy even one the HARD difficulty the good thing about the game is the final mission withe zhe ombies. IT rocks
  28. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    I'm giving this game a 10 just to even out the stupidly low score on this game. It's CoD4 with a World War 2 theme. The multiplayer is fun, the singleplayer has interesting moments. My real score of this game would be an 8 or a 9, but I just feel the need to even out the score that these "HURR DURR COD4 RIPOFF, SINGLEPLAYER NOT GOOD ENOUGH" morons gave it. Who the hell doesn't buy Call of Duty mainly for the multiplayer? You're playing the wrong game if you buy CoD for the singleplayer. Expand
  29. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Franšiza se vraća starom ruhu, odlična grafika i gameplay, raznovrsne misije, dosta zeleniša, odlično.................................................
  30. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    The best WWII Call of Duty around. There's not much to say, it's CoD 4 in the decorations of 1940s warfare. Now I complain that BO1 is CoD 4 in the Cold War decorations, and BO2 is CoD 4 in the future. But back then, only a year after CoD 4, it played well. Also it was the darkest and the most cruel CoD in the series... And I like that, because I like serious games. I can't say I've spent months in this one, but still a while. The Zombies mode was introduced, and it was very addicting as well as multiplayer, which remains the best in the franchise in terms of balance. Still, it had flaws. Even if CoD 4 formula wasn't annoying and repetitive back then, a WWII setting was boring. Tanks in multiplayer were unnecessary. The maps setting was pretty much the same, and even after jumping from the one map to another in multiplayer, I had the feeling I've been there just a minute ago. Still, great game and Treyarch's best effort in the series. Expand
  31. Nov 13, 2013
    7
    Call of Duty 5 World at War seems as it is the whole Call of Duty series before Modern Warfare combined! Call of Duty World at War's campaign was nothing special, but Zombies picked up the spot when they showed us round based survival! Multiplayer is very fun but unfortunately, hackers are all over multiplayer. I am giving a 7.3 because I thought that this game was not a "CoD Classic" but more of a expansion pack for CoD 2 and maybe CoD 3. Expand
  32. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    World at war is the 7th of the Call of Duty genre. It has kinda go worse from this point and I highly recommend you play this COD because it was a good one. Its campaign was okay and the multiplayer was 99x gorier then the other COD's. This one is set in WWII and has torture scenes, heads being cut off and generally a lot of swearing. This also was the first time they brought Zombies to COD. Its the best zombies yet. Why... Its what it used to be. Sitting in a corner with a ray gun shooting Zombies. Beautiful.

    Overall
    -Okay Campaign
    -Good Mulitplayer
    -Good Zombies Mode
    Score 87/100
    Expand
  33. Dec 25, 2013
    7
    I can't notice any changes or improvements in this Treyarch product compared to that of my favorite Infinity Ward. Apart from stunning graphics and bloody scenes aiming to truly describe the cruelty and horror of war, single campaign appears to be quite meaningless and, therefore, boring. With literally no story or plot, World At War is full of nothing but never-stop-shooting actions. For i greatly enjoy FPS games with good stories such as Infinity Ward's Modern Warfare trilogy and Brothers In Arms, Call Of Duty World At War is, for the most part, not impressive. Expand
  34. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome I think that this is the last good call of duty now look at what they are doing they are just doing some crap it was good but now it's an other story
  35. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    A great campaign, amazingly designed multi-player and very fun zombie mode. You can drive tanks in multi-player and there are infinite custom zombie maps to download. Amazing and historically accurate campaign. This is one of the best Call of Duties ever and you will not regret making this purchase. All 4 Zombie maps are included if you buy it off of steam (not sure about hard copy).
  36. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    Best game in whole Call of Duty Series, I love the story and it just a good experience. Sorry for the short review, there is just not much else to say about the game.
  37. Jul 18, 2014
    8
    Un bon call of duty en général : La campagne se déroulant pendant la seconde guerre mondial est très intéressante , ainsi que le mode zombie qui fait son apparition avec 4 map assez bonne en général .
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Treyarch came back this year with an excellent addition to the franchise. Many gamers may look at this game with an "I've been there, done that" attitude. I am here to tell you that this is the best WWII effort so far, as well as the best game in the franchise.
  2. 92
    This is a solid, confident shooter with plenty to offer the casual and hardcore alike.
  3. Overall the game feels a bit short but is not only a very tasty bit of eye candy, and a treat for the ears as well, but a briskly paced action-adventure that should please fans of WWII first-person shooters.