Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 484 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is a real homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventure made of memorable encounters unveils the untold truth behind some of the greatest legends of the Old West. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 30, 2013
    90
    Other western games may better capture the grandeur of the American West, but pure, outlandish spaghetti western gunfights have never been more thrilling than they are in Call of Juarez: Gunslinger.
  2. May 28, 2013
    86
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is essentially a shooter, but it is a good shooter for any fan of the Wild West. The story is enjoyable and the little twists and turns along the way keep it interesting and even funny even though you are basically doing the same thing over and over again: shooting at minions until you get to the final encounter of each scene.
  3. May 27, 2013
    85
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is a funny game and a satisfying romp, with clearly influenced ideas that all have their own unique little spins. I'll fully admit that I went into it expecting another damp squib, but came away thoroughly impressed.
  4. May 20, 2013
    80
    Missing this game for just 14.90 Euro's would be like not robbing a stagecoach pulled by a pair of ill horses.
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Call of Juarez Gunslinger is Techland at their best and the most fun I have had with a western experience since Red Dead Redemption.
  6. May 31, 2013
    80
    In its heart it's an easy, pleasantly non-revolutionary, intense and a hell of a lot of fun shooter video game with western spice that is plentiful.
  7. May 20, 2013
    50
    The broad stylistic flourishes do a fair job of masking the underwhelming reality of much of the gameplay, but once Greaves’ tall tale is told you’re left with a pretty linear, whack-a-cowboy shooter in a no-horse town.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 103
  2. Negative: 7 out of 103
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    antastic shooting, decent voice acting (better than BiB), and great environmental and sound design. It's got a silly and fun story with Baston-style narration.This is a good arcade shooter with not too much seriousness but enough blood to make it fun :D Expand
  2. May 25, 2013
    10
    I dont understand how all the game magazines could rate this game 70 I just dont get it. This game has GREAT western story telling and incredibly fun gunplay, good music and a great song on one part of the story.. rating the whole package 70 is just plain wrong. Its like not honoring a cream cheese bagel it is AT LEAST 80... I wonder what IGNorants are going to say to the pc version For me, i love everything about this game and so should you! Expand
  3. May 23, 2013
    10
    This is a good arcade shooter with not too much seriousness but enough blood to make it fun :D
    Controll is good, cell shaded graphics
    perfect. and light story.
    Arcade mode and duels more hours fun.

    Tarantino style actions :D
    Expand
  4. Vex
    Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Fantastic gameplay and great atmosphere. I haven't had this much fun with a shooter in ages. Even though the game resembles a cartoon/comic in many ways, it doesn't fail to provide a genuine western experience. The gameplay mechanics are great and shooting feels very smooth and rewarding. This game goes for only $15 on Steam and yet it managed to impress me more than than some "AAA" titles this year (I'm looking at you Bioshock). Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    Sometimes you stumble upon a game without any expectations toward it and come away all the better for it. I think trying to describe this game in detail ends up being a disservice to it, because there's a very simple thing that makes this game tons of fun: the fact that you enter a world where history and historical fiction blend together, allowing you to step into the Old West as the one pivotal character that gets to interact with all of the great legends of the Wild West.

    The rest of the experience, IMHO, becomes secondary to the joy of being able to have a shootout with any famous name from all the books and movies you already know. That said, the hits and misses still come out on the positive end. Of the Juarez games, this ended up being my favorite without a doubt.
    Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    Call Of Juarez: Gunslinger has a really cool and new storytelling-style. It's has also a really good feedback of hits, so you are really motivated. The gameplay features are pretty cool. You feel like a cowboy, but not like a real. You can't ride on horses or something like that. If there were more western features, it would be one of the best and coolest yeah!) first person shooters, I played! Expand
  7. May 22, 2013
    0
    No FoV options.perfomance issues on some Nvidia cards,disastrous port.
    This is all there really is to say.
    This isn't the first time
    Techland releases a terrible port. Expand

See all 103 User Reviews