Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    100
    It absolutely harkens back to my own time as a tabletop gamer, with both D&D and CCGs, and its story treats those memories like they’re a treasure, rather than a punchline. Will you enjoy it as much if you don’t have those memories to draw on? Well, if you like fun, and can stomach learning something new, then I don’t see how you get out of this without having at least a little.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    100
    Card Hunter gets it right in every which way that matters, and even in some of the ways that don't. It's geeky, goofy tabletop fun remade for the modern web browser: brilliantly designed, highly appealing and top-notch fun.
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    If you’re a tactics nut like me, Card Hunter is wonderful stuff. Deep, smart, and lovingly crafted - this is proof that free-to-play can work even without costumes and hats.
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    90
    It’s even more remarkable that all of this exists in a browser-based game.
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    89
    A must play for SRPG fans and wistfully nostalgic D&D enthusiasts.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite F2P game right now. It is really addicting. You don't need to play it everyday, but once you start playing it you can't put it down. I have several friends who are also now hooked on this game. Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I've been hooked on Card Hunter since beta. I'm hoping the game comes to mobile devices soon. The only thing I would like to see a longer campaign map. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    This game is all kind of amazing, except one. It has lots of charm, stylish graphics, engaging rules, geeky semi-story, but all the time, it teases the player with more and more virtual things he could obtain if only he paid more and more money through micro-transactions. Full Review »