Caster PC

Caster Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dash across Scenic Locations destroying bug like creatures called the Flanx using 6 Unique Attacks that include Massive Terrain Deformation and High Speed Barrages of Energy Blasts! Caster is an intense 3rd person action shooter experience with pulse pounding music that will keep you wantingDash across Scenic Locations destroying bug like creatures called the Flanx using 6 Unique Attacks that include Massive Terrain Deformation and High Speed Barrages of Energy Blasts! Caster is an intense 3rd person action shooter experience with pulse pounding music that will keep you wanting more! [Steam] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 2 out of 2
  1. PC Gamer UK
    46
    The result is the entire game feeling like a tutorial, with only one proper level to play at the end. [June 2009, p.93]
  2. PC Zone UK
    41
    The levels are uninteresting, the enemies unsatisfying, and the story non-existent. [Aug 2009, p.76]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 6 out of 10
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    This game is just straight up fun. It reminds me of robotron x (robotron 64) only 3rd person. has an arcade feel to it with new twists. ItsThis game is just straight up fun. It reminds me of robotron x (robotron 64) only 3rd person. has an arcade feel to it with new twists. Its kinda easy though. I wish there was more to it. Collapse
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    7
    Don't mind the corporate reviews, this game could really use a multiplayer mode but the skills, upgrades, and world have a unique 90s computerDon't mind the corporate reviews, this game could really use a multiplayer mode but the skills, upgrades, and world have a unique 90s computer world feel, which is a lot of fun. Playing high def games with playstation 1 styling is a lot of throwback fun and this game is a great time sink, albiet a little short. Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    7
    Pros: Fun gameplay, awesome mechanics, nice graphics

    Cons: Too easy (can't die) This game is a good throwback to make you nostalgic for
    Pros: Fun gameplay, awesome mechanics, nice graphics

    Cons: Too easy (can't die)

    This game is a good throwback to make you nostalgic for old arcade games.
    Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2015
    4
    Terra-Morphing Action Shooter

    Overall: 43% (51.9/120) Atmosphere 5.0/10 Graphics 1.5/10 Level Design 2.2/10 Sound
    Terra-Morphing Action Shooter

    Overall: 43% (51.9/120)

    Atmosphere 5.0/10
    Graphics 1.5/10
    Level Design 2.2/10
    Sound 3.7/10

    Balance 7.0/10
    Controls 3.0/10
    Mysteries 4.0/10

    Animations 5.0/10

    Replay Value 5.0/10
    Story 3.5/10
    Tutorial 4.5/5
    Variety 5.5/10

    Cost-Benefit Ratio 1/4
    System Requirements 1/1
    Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2015
    3
    While Caster can be fun some of the time, there's really no other value there. If all you want to do is spam overpowered weapons whileWhile Caster can be fun some of the time, there's really no other value there. If all you want to do is spam overpowered weapons while sprinting around at mach speed, this is probably the game for you. But if you like your games with actual value in them, actual story, playability, difficulty, challenge or what have you, then look elsewhere, because Caster lacks all of those and then some.

    The graphics are very outdated and the textures/models can be glitchy as they clip a good amount, but even if they don't they're still not pleasant to look at. The character isn't even aesthetically pleasing and that's the one thing you have to stare at the entire game. Not to mention his/her face is just down-right creepy at some angles. The balancing is dreadful, as you get a game-breaking weapon at about level two, and the difficulty spikes up and down more than a heart monitor. Also, once you max out your health and sprint ability (which can be done very early game, mind you), you can just sprint back and forth to avoid every projectile, while spamming you're broken weapon that shoots as fast as you can click (and if you're like me, that means it can be spammed at speeds that will melt bosses in no time).

    So there's no balancing and the graphics are bad, what else? Well, the story is worse than both of those cons combined. The easiest way to describe the story is by saying that there just isn't one. You're a new recruit and you're sent on missions to combat what seems to be an evil creature-empire that's expanding and trying to take over the world(?). You go place to place and just clear each level, there's no more objectives than that. Also, there's only like two themes of levels, and they're repeated over and over.

    Later game you run into a few levels that are almost impossible given the game's engine, where you have to keep a small ship out of the water even though it goes way faster than you can terraform the ground in front of it, and a boss battle that just drags on so long no matter how much damage you deal per second, and you just have to spam and dodge for like five minutes straight. The game is also very short.

    And last but not least, the developer decided to incorporate a destructible environment... everywhere. Weapons that deal a little bit of area damage will also chip away at the ground on every level, so if you max out your weapon and you're spamming like hell (as is the custom) the ground will basically meltdown out from under where you're aiming. It breaks the map and it breaks the game, even though it was already broken from all the other previously mentioned problems.

    When it's all said and done, I would not recommend the Caster to- well, anybody. The only reason it's not getting a 1/10 is because sprinting back and forth at mach speed while spamming your blaster like you have some sort of turrets is actually quite enjoyable in a weird way. So because I ran into a little bit of fun there, I give Caster a generous 3/10. That being said, do not buy this no matter what, not only because you'll waste money, but mostly because you'll just waste your time. I got it on sale for pocket change and I feel like I still got ripped off.
    Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    2
    The unusual gamepad controls in Caster made the game unenjoyable, and nothing in the tutorial or first level made me want to continue playing.The unusual gamepad controls in Caster made the game unenjoyable, and nothing in the tutorial or first level made me want to continue playing. The modern standard for video games is so high that Caster feels like an old Nintendo demo. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2015
    1
    This game was boring right off the bat, but it seemed to be getting more interesting so I kept playing. I finished the entire first campaign.This game was boring right off the bat, but it seemed to be getting more interesting so I kept playing. I finished the entire first campaign. It actually managed to get worse.

    Nothing in this game is done well. The combat requires no skill, just persistence. Instead of actually ramping up difficulty, the designer just made a tonne of bullet sponges. The various attacks and upgrade system are horribly imbalanced, with some things being almost completely useless. For example, the stun ability has an incredibly short effect time. The levels are horribly designed. There was one level where the mission briefing told me to eliminate all the enemies while climbing what was essentially a huge spiral staircase around a tower. It then allowed me to just run straight up the side of the tower, ignoring every enemy, and complete the mission by reaching the top. Of course, I'm sure I don't need to tell you that it looks like **** too. After all, you have eyes.

    I really cannot see how anyone would have terrible enough taste to recommend this. It's slow, easy, tedious, unoriginal, and ugly.
    It's trash.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews