Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 29, 2014
    93
    Every aspect of Child of Light has an unmistakably artisinal, organic feel to it.
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    85
    Ubisoft has decided to make an experiment, and Child of Light is their first, successful creature. The French developers showed not only knowledge of the basics of the JRPG genre, but also the ability to reshape and merge them into a bewitching and artistically beautiful product.
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    82
    It's a magical 2D RPG you just have to love. The art style and the fitting characters create a visual highlight.
  4. May 15, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is one of the most attractive, beautiful and atmospheric games I have played in recent years. The fairytale script is good enough to travel you back to your childhood, filling you with nostalgia, the art direction can leave you speechless, as well as the amazing soundtrack. If you are willing to ignore the low difficult level, you will enjoy one of the most honest and full of soul games ever. However, if challenge is what you seek, then it is better to look somewhere else.
  5. May 5, 2014
    78
    A game with a tremendous, top notch style but a distinctive lack of depth, Child of Light is a fragile and ephemeral dream.
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    69
    A beautiful game to look at, and wonderfully polished, but a thimble-deep RPG.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    Child of Light perhaps doesn't shine as bright as it might, but it's nonetheless quite a dazzling sight.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    At least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go please and play TitanFall. Brutality awaits you. Expand
  2. May 8, 2014
    10
    Having played many indie games from Binding of Isaac and Bastion, to Mark of the Ninja and Dust an Elysian Tail, I've played the majority of the best indie games out there, so it takes a special sort of game to get me interested to begin with as you can imagine. Child of Light not only interested me from when i first heard about it, but it blew me and my expectations away after the first 5 minutes and every minute since. The beautiful watercolour art style, the gentle and mesmeric poetic story telling, the majestic sounds as you flow through different parts of the world, the variety of interesting characters and enemies, and the deep and refreshing combat system, these are what Child of Light brings to the table, the table where not only the indie games sit but so do the AAA games, and believe me when i tell you Child of Light puts all others to shame. Easily contender for Game Of The Year already and one of the best games i have ever played on any system. Expand
  3. May 13, 2014
    10
    Should you buy this game?
    Are you conflicted in how you feel?
    I think so, yes. At $15 it is a steal.

    The art style is homey as well as
    awing.
    The music, fantastic works of art.
    A fine RPG with interesting platforming.
    And not without story,
    A fight of light and dark.

    Don’t listen to the haters.
    Don’t listen to those bad men.
    Listen to me instead.
    This game is a 10/10.
    Expand
  4. May 19, 2014
    9
    Excellent, beautiful game. Perfect to play with your children, it is a tale made videogame. It gives me that good old FFVII feeling. Good content for the price of it. A bit lacking pc optimizacion though, few ralentizations here and there. If you like hand drawn graphics and RPG, get it. Expand
  5. May 4, 2014
    9
    Fantastic game for all ages. Well balanced game play, interesting graphics, and a sturdy plot.

    My 8 year old daughter and I play this game
    together. She plays all the main characters and I play the helpful faery(blinding and healing).

    Worth the $15 price tag? ABSOLUTELY!
    Collapse
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    7
    I saw the trailer on steam and I fell in love with the graphic style of the game, I read it was hand drawn and this is enough to buy it, it simply stunning.
    I've been playing for 3 hrs and it seems really good so far; however, in my opinion, it lacks some basic RPG mechanics, like equipment choice and a wider range of abilities of magics and skills, but i don't expect it to be very long, so this might not even be a bad thing. The trailer said it was a jrpg, but apart from the combats, which reminds me of some Final Fantasy games, CoL is just a simplified version of a rpg; still, the game strength lies in its beautiful graphic and in the rhymed dialogues.
    Is it worth 15€ ? more yes than no.
    Expand
  7. May 3, 2014
    0
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Bad PC optimization, cliche story. Gameplay wise... well I didn't get to it 'cus of the bad optimization!
    Expand

See all 64 User Reviews